NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS FROM THE SCRAPBOOK OF HARVEY
& E. LOUISE POMEROY SLINGERLAND
Below are transcripts of newspaper clippings that were saved by my grandparents, Harvey and E. Louise (Pomeroy) Slingerland. Nearly all are unidentified as to what paper they are from. I would assume most are Potter County papers.
Newspaper clipping - AGED RESIDENT OF ROULETTE PASSES AWAY AT THE AGE
Another clipping -- ANOTHER PIONEER PASSES AWAY SEVENTY-EIGHT YEARS
IN POTTER -
Newspaper clipping --- Seth Taggart was buried on Wednesday of this week. He was 69 years old, had resided on his farm, (the old Peet place) for about fifty years. In the early history of Potter the Taggart family were among the first, and yesterday they buried the last of the old and respected stock. All were influential in their day, all were men of sterling integrity industrious habits and worthy citizens, and it is a sad thought that the respected name is no longer with us; But the respected names of Judge Taggart, Sheriff, A. C. and Seth Taggart will long be remembered. Well may the distant relatives feel proud of the name. "Peace to their ashes." "Emulate their virtues."
HON. J. P. TAGGART -- It is with unfeigned regret and profound sorrow that we announce the death of Judge Taggart, which occurred on Monday morning last, at his residence in Eulalia Twp. His death was not unexpected, for we all knew that Consumption was slowly, but surely doing its fatal work upon him. The loss of such a man is not only an irreparable one to his wife and children, but is sadly felt throughout the entire community. His residence among us from boyhood, his pure integrity as a man, his justice and leniency as a public officer, together with his independence, firmness and honesty, secured for him the respect of all -- enemies, he had none. His friendship was true and ardent; revenge he did not possess. He discharged all public trusts with honor and fidelity, as scrupulously caring for the public interests as he would for his private ones. Public-spirited and generous to a fault, he was always ready to relieve the sufferings and wants of others, if in his power. While to our community the bereavement is sad enough, there are others on whom it falls with a far heavier and more heart crushing weight of sorrow. The grief of his neighbors is deep and sincere, but what must theirs be who now sit in sorrow around the woe-stricken hearth of that which, a few days ago, was his home? He died, we are assured, comforted and sustained by that faith which so deeply if us(can't read the word?) itself in his life, and afforded in him so bright an example of the Christian man.
Another clipping - - DIED TAGGART - On the 18th, of consumption, Hon. J. P. Taggart, aged 43 years, 8 mos, and 11 days. After a very lingering illness and suffering, at last the release came, and thus passed away from our community a highly esteemed citizen, a just Judge, and a mature Christian, in the prime of his life. As a fellow citizen he was always recognized as a man of great worth and pure integrity; of a modest and unobtrusive nature. It was always his disposition to lead a most quiet and domestic life. But chosen by the people of the County a one of them, a public officer of Justice, he wore the robes of office with great grace and acceptance. He was regarded by all as a man of good mind and excellent judgment, and justly acquired the reputation of a marked and strong character. He was strong in all his attachments as a friend, willing beyond his power to return a favor. No kindness done, no word of sympathy expressed, escaped receiving his gratitude. As a Husband and Father he was a great lover of family. He made his a model home; there every spare hour from his occupation and public service he delighted to spend. He always seemed to have their comfort and good in mind, and made more sacrifices of his strength by labor, and exposure, than he should have done. As a Christian and sufferer too much cannot be well said, of his patience and piety. Sustained with a bearing of extraordinary fortitude, the spirit of his resignation was perfect and most beautiful. No one during all his 14 months of confinement at his home and at times extreme suffering ever heard a work of murmur. He feared the temptation to do so as he spoke of the increasing pains. Though he was so abundantly prepared and willing to depart, he yet earnestly prayed he might "have grace" with patience to wait his time. So lived he the life of a good man full of integrity and usefulness and of Christian promise that his loss to his family and relatives and friends is all the greater. "But the voice at midnight came; He started up to hear; A mortal arrow pierced his frame, He fell, but felt no fear." "Redeemed from earth and pain, Ah! when shall we ascend, And all in Jesus' presence reign, With our translated friend?"
"PROMINENT ROULETTE LADY DEAD
Mrs. Jesse Pomeroy passed away at the Blossburg hospital on Tuesday morning, October 8, 1929 after a lingering illness of paralysis, with which she was stricken on July 2nd. Being unable to care for her at her home, she was taken to the Blossburg hospital for treatment and care. Mrs. Pomeroy was the daughter of Alfred and Jane Cool and was born at Andrews Settlement on November 12, 1871. She received her education in the Potter County schools and later was a very successful teacher in the schools of the same county. On January 1st, 1898 she was united in marriage to D. G. Pomeroy of Roulette, and since that time has been a resident of that place. Possessing a kind and sunny disposition she made a host of friends, being ever ready to assist those in need of assistance and by her sterling qualities was a most lovable wife and mother. She is survived by her husband and two sons and one daughter: Robert of New York City, Wilford a teacher in the high school at Corry, PA., and Mrs. Harvey Slingerland of Andrews Settlement; also three brothers, Walter Cool of Roulette; N. D. Cool of Drain, Oregon; and Will Cool of Angelica, NY. Funeral services will be conducted at the home Friday afternoon at 2 o'clock, Rev. Perkins of the M. E. Church officiating and internment will be made in the Roulette cemetery."
"DAVID H. VELEY
"The funeral of Mrs. Parmelia A. Reynolds, wife of Laderna Reynolds, was held at the Andrews Settlement church last Wednesday at 11 o'clock, Rev James Herrick, Universalist minister of Whitesville, officiating. The singing was beautifully rendered by George Forsyth and wife, of Whitesville. The floral offerings consisting of roses, carnations, and hot house ferns were very beautiful. There were a large number of relatives from other towns among whom we noticed Mrs. Marcena Coats and son, Charles and his wife, Harmon Coats, Cass Coats, and Mr. and Mrs. Vanderbeak of Whitesville; Wallace Gleason and wife, Mrs. Sam Coats and Mrs. Ella Allis, of Genesee, Robert Turner and wife, of Oswayo; Myron Reynolds and wife of Ellisburg; Melvin Reynolds and wife, Mrs. Melvina Reynolds,and George McKee and wife, of Whitesville; and others whose names we did not learn. Mrs. Reynolds is survived by her husband, who is in feeble health, and two sons George and Allan and one dagger Mrs. Kate Sykes and three grandchildren. Mrs. Reynolds will be greatly missed in her home for she was a devoted wife and mother. She will also be missed in the community for she was a kind and obliging neighbor." Hand written on the announcement is the year 1911.
"PROMINENT RESIDENT OF COUNTY DIES AT ANDREWS SETTLEMENT HOME. Elmer E. Slingerland died at his home at Andrews Settlement on the morning of June 20, 1925, at 2:30, after a long and serious illness. He was born near Hallsport, NY, June 5, 1861. His early childhood was spent near Wellsvile, NY with his parents. In the year 1883 he was married to Effie D. Hurd, to whom four children were born, three sons, Donald L, Harold H, and Harvey A. and one daughter, Florence J., two of whom are now living. All of his wedded life has been spent in and around this vicinity. Five years ago he, with his son purchased the Al Gardner farm where he lived at the time of his death. Mr. Slingerland was an industrious, hardworking man, a kind husband and father, and was always ready to help other in time of trouble. He is survived by his wife, Effie Slingerland and daughter, Florence, son Harvey and wife, and two grandchildren, Lowanna and Harold Slingerland. Also three brothers, Dever, of Portville, NY, Albert, of Sturgis, Michigan and Will, of St. Paul, Minnesota, and one sister, Mrs. Minnie Hurd, of Pasadena, California, and a host of friends to mourn his death. Funeral services were held at Andrews Settlement church with Rev. Post, of Coudersport, officiating. Interment was made in the family lot, Hillside cemetery, Genesee, PA."
"DEATH OF MRS. MARSHALL GROVER
"IN LIFE'S MORNING HAROLD HURD SLINGERLAND DIES WHEN FUTURE SEEMS BRIGHTEST Andrews Settlement, Oct. 29 (Special to Enterprise) Harold Hurd Slingerland, whose serious illness we mentioned in last week's correspondence, died at the Wellsville hospital last Wednesday night. He had been employed in New York State for the past two months, and together with his brother Donald returned home on Wednesday the sixteenth inst., and was taken ill with the influenza on the next day, and typhoid symptoms appearing, made his case so critical that he was hurried to the hospital at Wellsville on Sunday night, but doctors and nurses seemed powerless to arrest the ravages of the disease, and he passed away on the above named date. Harold was born and lived nearly his entire life in this section and was only twenty two years of age, at the time of his death. He was the son of Elmer E. and Effie Hurd Slingerland and was well known to every man women and child in the vicinity, and his sad and untimely death casts a gloom over the entire community. He was married to Miss Arla James three years ago last April, and she with one little two year old daughter Lowanna, mourn the loss of a kind and loving husband and father. He is also survived by his father and mother, two brothers, Donald and Harvey, and one sister, Florence, all of this place, who have the sympathy of every one in their great sorrow. The funeral and burial, which is necessarily private, is being held at Genesee today (Monday), details of which will appear in next week's correspondence. The many victims of the Spanish influenza at this place are on the mend as far as is known to your correspondent except John Currier and his little daughter Hilda, the latter of whom is very low with pneumonia at this writing."
"YOUNG MAN DIES (handwritten date 1920) DONALD SLINGERLAND CALLED BY DEATH. WAS SON OF E. E. SLINGERLAND OF ANDREWS SETTLEMENT Donald L. Slingerland, oldest son of Elmer E. and Effie Hurd Slingerland, of Andrews Settlement, died in the General Hospital in Rochester, NY, Tuesday, February 3, at 4 pm from the effects of pneumonia and measles. His father and sister-in-law, Mrs. Arla Slingerland, hastened to Rochester on receipt of the message saying his condition was serious and were with him the last two days. They have only words of highest commendation for the hospital service and attention of the Rochester Odd Fellows. Owing to the very bad roads the body was not taken to the family home at Andrews Settlement, but on Thursday was taken to the home of his aunt, Mrs. Eliza Easton in Genesee, where the following day the funeral was held under the direction of undertaker Carter, of Wellsville. Rev. G. H. Carr, of Ulysses was the officiating clergyman and Mrs. Edward D. Daily and Miss Florence Reed sang two appropriate hymns. The Odd Fellows of Genesee, where he held his membership, attended in a body and the pall bearers were members of the organization. Burial was made in Hillside Cemetery at Genesee. Owing to much illness and the deep snow only a few from Andrews Settlement could come to Genesee for this service but the beautiful flowers which came from there were mute testimonies of the sympathy extended to the bereaved family. Besides his father and mother he leaves one brother, Harvey, and sister Florence. The family particularly feels this loss as it is only a little over one year since the death of the son Harold. Donald was born at Andrews Settlement, April 14, 1884, and that has always been his home with the exception of a part of the time during the last few years when he has been employed near Rochester. He spent one week at home Christmas time and expected to return the first of April to remain permanently and work with his father and brother on the farm recently purchased of Allen Garner. He owned a farm which joined this one and the two combined would admit of farming on a large scale and plans accordingly were being formulated. His love for home was especially; strong and he was looking forward to the spring with much pleasure as he felt the partnership was to be happy one."
"Died - In Genesee, March 8th, 1873, Mrs. Mary Pye, in the 89th year of her age. Another of the pioneers of Potter County gone to her rest. Mrs. Pye and her husband settled in Allegany Township nearly forty years ago."
"ANDREWS SETTLEMENT Feb. 20 With the passing of Harry Hurd we lose the last one of the old settlers of this community. He fell asleep last Saturday at 1 o'clock after two weeks' suffering with a fractured hip. Had he lived until February 24 he would have been 92 years old. His children and grandchildren were at his bedside and gave him the best of care. The funeral was held at Ellisburg church Monday at 11 o'clock, Rev Peacock, of Genesee, officiating. Mr. Hurd is survived by one son, Henry Hurd, with whom he has lived since the death of his wife ten years ago and four daughters, Mrs. Eliza Easton of Genesee, Mrs. Mary North, of Goshen, CT; Mrs. Elizabeth Downs of Ellisburg: and Mrs. Effie Slingerland, of Andrews Settlement; also twenty-three grandchildren and ten great grandchildren. The remains were taken to Genesee for burial."
Obituary of Jane Hurd. "ELLISBURG On Friday, Feb. 15th, 1901, Jane Hurd died of complications of the grippe. She was one of Genesee township's oldest residents. When about ten years old, Jane Pye came with her parents in 1835 from Courtland CO, NY and settled in Allegany township and with them shared the joys and sorrows of pioneer life. Many and enjoyable were the stories she could tell of the ox team visiting parties and what to us would seem lonely walks for miles through the forest primeval to see and gossip with a neighbor, or of the pathetic side, how neighbor shared with neighbor the half of the last peck of meal, or as medical attendance was almost an impossibility and her mother being a skillful nurse and well versed in root and herb remedies, of being wakened in the night by men on horseback, but more often on foot, carrying lighted pine torches, asking that the mother go with them, perhaps for miles through the woods to perform the last sad offices or to nurse their dear ones back to health and never asking in vain. Thus was Jane Pye early brought into touch and sympathy with (?) side of pioneer joy and sorrow, yes, and of sin, for she was one of the first, if not the first, person to arrive at the house after Potter county's first murder was committed and she helped care for the body and the young babe left motherless by that fatal bullet, and all these [hole in paper here] circled her home. Her charity for the erring and her faith in the good in all of poor, sinful humanity was good to see and now in these cynical days. Her religious convictions were as strong as the belief in the fatherhood of God and the brotherhood of man could make them and she squared her daily life in accordance with those convictions. In 1848 she married Harry Hurd and for more than fifty years she was a true wife, a loving mother, a true friend and a good neighbor, keeping in touch and sympathy with her circle to the last as it was not many weeks before she died that she and her husband attended surprise party for a neighbor's children, saying 'It will do me good to see the young folks kick up their heels again.' The life she lived cannot fail to effect for good the people who knew and loved her best and through them the generations that are to be."
Another reads DEATH AT ELLISBURG " Another of the old residents and respected and beloved early settlers of Genesee, has passed into the beyond. Jane Hurd died of a complication of diseases brought on from the effects of the grip Friday morning, February 15. She was born in Truxton, Cortland CO, NY in 1825 and came with her parents to Potter county about 1836. In 1845 she became the wife of Harry Hurd and for the succeeding 56 years has been a constant resident of Genesee township. 'Aunt Jane' as she was affectionately called by all who knew her intimately, was a woman of very marked character. Truthfulness, sincerity, charity and sympathy marked her intercourse with all. She was a model mother, a true friend and a good neighbor and lived and died, sustained and soothed by an unfaltering trust in the goodness and mercy of an all wise and loving God, and so she met the great change like one who wraps the drapery of his couch about him and lies down to pleasant dreams."
Another clipping "DIED AT ELLISBURG
ANTHONY ABSON, died at residence of his son, Walter, on Sat., Nov. 13, 1880, of consumption, age 56 years and 8 months.
JOHN ABSON died February 20, 1898 in his 46th year. He suffered for the last two or three years and a great deal for the past months. He was in Buffalo receiving hospital treatment, but no medical skill was able to stay the disease, which seemed to be a form of paralysis. He was a son of Edward and Anna (Pemberton) Abson, natives of England; born July 31, 1852. Two brothers, George and William and a sister, Mrs. Elizabeth Benson, survive. John’s third wife, Rose Griesel survives him and one daughter, Josephine, now in New York City. He was a good citizen, quiet, industrious and kind. Funeral at the residence on Oak St., Tuesday PM, Rev. Reese.
LAVINIA ABSON Died in Coudersport, Aug. 4, 1876, wife
of John Abson, age 24 years, 2 months, 29 days. (See miscellaneous for a poem written in her memory by
COL. HUGH YOUNG – Prominent Financier and Pittsburgher Passes Away in Home Town, Wellsboro, PA. Was in 80th Year. Had Been Active as President of the Federal National Bank. Col. Hugh Young, prominent as a capitalist and identified form many years with financial institutions of Pittsburgh, died October 20, 1912 at Wellsboro, PA, his home town, and where he removed about two years ago, after an active association with the affairs of Pittsburgh. Was in his 80th year and at the time of his death, was still chairman of the Board of Directors of the Federal National Bank, also a director in the American Waterway and Guarantee Company of Pittsburgh. He is the father of Robert Kennedy Young, Republican candidate for State Treasurer. He had been in failing health since leaving Pittsburgh. Was National Bank Examiner for a quarter of a century, holding this post through six administrations. His life was a varied one. He played successively the roles of student, teacher, bookkeeper, war correspondent, editor, soldier, legislator, and banker. He wrote much and contributed from time to time papers on economic and banking subjects. He was a member of the American Academy of Political and Social Science. In politics, after seeing actual service in the Civil War, he became a leader. In 1876 he accepted the nomination and was elected a member of the PA Legislature. Following year was appointed National Bank Examiner and served as such until March 1888 when he retired and established the Wellsboro National Bank, of which he became President. In 1891 was made National Bank Examiner for the City of Pittsburgh and served until December 1903, when he was elected president of the Federal Bank. Col. Young was also president of the Tioga County Savings and Trust Company of Wellsboro. Col. Young was always regarded as one of the substantial men of the city. He was of Irish origin, having been born in Killyleagh, County Down. His parents on both sides were descendants of the Scotch emigrants. After finishing a good school education, and reaching his eighteenth year, Mr. Young came to visit an elder brother, Robert Kennedy Young, who had settled in Potter County. It was his ambition to become a professional man so he stayed in America and spent a year preparing for college. Having an inborn desire to be self-supporting, he, in 1852, sought employment as a clerk in a general store. Then he determined to enter the law office of Hon. John S. Mann, as a student, and supported himself by doing occasional jobs as draftsman, surveyor, bookkeeper, and writing for newspapers. A few years later his inclination for journalism led him to become a correspondent for the New York Tribune during the warfare between the border ruffians of Missouri and the Free State settlers in Kansas. His letters from the field attracted wide attention. As a result when the Free Soil newspaper, known as the Herald of Freedom, which had been destroyed at Lawrence, Kansas, was reestablished, Mr. Young became its associated editor with George W. Brown, its founder. Col. Young continued to live in Kansas until after the presidential election of 1856, when he returned to PA, where he has made his home ever since. He had been a delegate from Kansas to the first National Republican Convention, held in Philadelphia, and had belonged to the old Whig party before the Republican party was formed. After that he was an ardent supporter of the new party. When the Civil War broke out, Col. Young took an active part in the raising of troops in response to the call of President Lincoln, and himself enlisted in Company F, 35th Regt., PA Volunteers, Infantry. He served with distinction. Col. Young was a Mason, an Odd Fellow, a member of the G.A.R., and was identified closely with various other fraternal, charitable, educational, and religious institutions. From his activity in all these lines, Col. Young had won for himself the highest respect. He married Miss Lois Ann Butterworth, daughter of Appleton and Mary (Wilmot) Butterworth, September 22, 1859, in Coudersport by Rev. J. Hendrick. Col. Young was editor of the Tioga Agitator at this time. He is survived by his wife, Mrs. Lois Young, and three sons, all of Wellsboro, Robert Kennedy, Thomas and Carl. A twin brother, Thomas L. Young, was a former Governor of Ohio.
Another obituary from the Potter County Journal:
One of the most distinguished of Northern Pennsylvanians died at his home in Wellsboro, Sunday morning, October 20, 1912, age 81. Was born in Killyleagh, Ireland, on December 14, 1832 and was a twin brother of the late Thomas L. Young, ex-Governor of Ohio. Came to this country in 1850 and lived with his brother, the late Robert K. Young, a prosperous farmer of Potter County. He came on a sailing vessel to Philadelphia and walked the entire distance from there to the home of his brother, Robert, on the Sinnemahoning. Wishing to become a professional man, he came to Coudersport, attended the Coudersport Academy, clerked in a store for a year, and for three years afterwards was a law student with the late Hon. John S. Mann, supporting himself by teaching and surveying. Not caring for the practice of law, he never asked for admission to the bar, but turned his attention to journalism. Writing his first letters to the New York Herald in 1853, describing the Norwegian Colony on Kettle Creek, the Fourth of July celebration at Oleona and Ole Bull’s Castle, which attracted much attention at that time. When the Border Ruffian troubles in Kansas were the subject of Congressional investigation, John Sherman headed the committee and Hugh Young accompanied him as a special correspondent of the New York Tribune, at the instance of Horace Greely. His letters to that journal did much in shaping its attitude and in revealing to the east the situation as it really existed. After the committee concluded its labors Mr. Young remained in Kansas, editing an abolition paper, whose owner was cast into prison for ‘seditious statements.’ Meanwhile, continuing his letters to the Tribune. He was elected a delegate from the territory of Kansas to the first Republican National Convention at Chicago in 1856, which nominated John C. Fremont for president. He returned to Coudersport and became bookkeeper in the office of the Bingham estate and remained till 1858 when he purchased the Tioga Agitator at Wellsboro. On September 22, 1859 he was married to Lois Ann Butterworth, daughter of Appleton and Mary (Wilmot) Butterworth of Coudersport. Mary Wilmot was a sister of David Wilmot. Later he engaged in the insurance business. He was then appointed a National Bank Examiner, which position he held many years. The last few years he was a special bank examiner for Pittsburgh. After retiring from government service, Col. Young was made president of the Federal National Bank of Pittsburgh till failing health caused his retirement. He was president of the Wellsboro National Bank till its merger with the First National Bank of Wellsboro, and was the founder and president of the Tioga County Savings and Trust Company, of Wellsboro, till in January, 1912, when his son, Robert K. Young, succeeded him. Colonel Young represented Tioga County in the House at Harrisburg and was a member of the Tioga County bar. He was a national delegate from this district to the Republican Convention, which nominated Benj. Harrison. Funeral services held Tuesday, Oct. 22, 1912 and interment in Wellsboro cemetery.
ALMON ALLEN, second son of Jacob Allen, was born in Mass. In 1798; he married Polly Bates, to which union were born seven children; Fordyce Almon, being the eldest. He came to Mansfield with his family in 1822, from Cummington, Mass., And in 1824, he and his brother-in-law, Solon Richards, erected a woolen factory in the village, which they operated several years and then sold. After living some time in Ohio, Mass., And Chautauqua County, New York, Mr. Allen returned to Mansfield, where he spend the remaining years of his life. He died in 1871, aged 73 years.
PROF. FORDYCE ALMON ALLEN, eldest son of Almon Allen, born in Cummington, Mass., July 10, 1820. As a boy attended the old plank school house in Mansfield, near the railroad bridge, on Wellsboro Street. His youth and early manhood were spent in Ohio, Mass., And Chautauqua County, NY. While in Mass., he learned the clothier’s trade. At nineteen he began life for himself, clerking in Coudersport, where he remained until 1844, clerking, attending school, and teaching. He next attended the classical school at Alexandria, NY, one year. In 1845 he married Sarah Caldwell, of Coudersport. One son, Clarence, was born, now of Elmira. (1897) From 1845 to 1848 he taught in the public schools of Jamestown, NY. In the latter year his wife died. He next filled the position of principal of the Fredonia H. S. At Fredonia, NY for two years and a half, resigning on account of ill health. Upon recovery he accepted principalship of Academy at Smethport, PA. On December 22, 1852, he married Jane M., daughter of Alexander and Eveline Martin, of McKean County, PA. Four children were born; two survive; Frederick M. and Stella R. In 1853, Prof. Allen became editor of McKean Citizen, and in 1854 was elected County Supt. of Schools of McKean County, the first to hold that office. In 1857 he was defeated for the office, and soon after assisted in the establishment of a normal school at West Chester. Was principal six years. In July, 1864, he came to Mansfield and took charge of the S.N.S. And was its’ principal for five years. He established the Soldiers’ Orphan School in the autumn of 1867, the management of which he retained until his death. In the fall of 1877, he again became principal of the Mansfield State Normal School, being elected for five years, and while still occupying that position, he died at his home in that borough February 11, 1880. As a conductor of teachers’ institutes, he achieved his greatest reputation. His services were in constant demand in all parts of the country. He devoted one winter to holding institutes in Wisconsin and the summer of 1869 and ’70 to the same work in Maine. In the spring of 1871, he held institutes in Vermont, New Orleans, Mississippi, and in 1876 in Virginia. In 1879, he made a trip to California and on the way home held institutes in Kansas. In early life he was an Abolitionist, and supported James G. Birney for the presidency. Later he was Republican. Member of Protestant Episcopal Church. His widow still occupies the family home in Mansfield, treasures among her most valued possessions the large and well selected library which her husband collected.
LIEUTENANT JACOB ALLEN was born in Mass. in 1763. He served as aide-de-camp to his father at the beginning of the Revolution, and after his father’s death in battle, he continued in the service until the close of the war. He was married in his native state and became the father of seven children. In 1818 he removed to Tioga County and settled on the old Elijah Clark farm, in Richmond Twp., Where he died December 11, 1836.
MARY BOWEN ALLEN entered rest September 28, 1889. Few will be more missed than this quiet, gentle woman. Born February 3, 1836, her whole life was filled with loving service to all. In early life she taught school in Mansfield, Jamestown, NY, and other places. Daughter of Benj. and Hannah C. Bowen, of Academy Corners, Tioga County, PA. Married to J. W. Allen on August 15, 1866, she has since resided in Coudersport. A faithful laborer in every good cause. Member of the Baptist Church. Leaves two sons and one daughter; John, Ezra and Lulu. Funeral at the family home in Tioga County where her aged mother yet resides. She was for three years President of the Coudersport W.C.T.U. And for two of those years, by appointment of the State Union, was President of the County W.C.T.U.
MRS. SARAH (CALDWELL) ALLEN died of consumption in Jamestown, Chautauqua County, NY, Friday, May 19, 1848.
AZRA (EZRA) ARMSTRONG died in Eulalia, Mon. Sept. 4, 1878 age 33.
FRED L. ARMSTRONG was born in Sugar Creek, Walworth County, Wisconsin, March 25, 1857. When nine months old, his parents returned to Coudersport where he lived until 18 years of age. During this time he worked for M. S. Thompson and Co. in the drug store a year and six months. In 1876 he went to New York City and was in employ of McKesson and Robbins nearly four years. From there he went to Pittston, PA and entered into business for himself in which he was quite successful; after a year and a half he sold out and came home to help take care of his father, who died in 1862. After his father’s death, Fred went to Eldred, PA and registered as a law student with E. R. Mayo, leading lawyer in that place. During first year of his studies he clerked for W. G. Robarts and then for one year he paid his whole attention to reading and was admitted to McKean County bar in 1884.
Fred L. Armstrong was taken sick June 2nd, 1887; after some time his friends removed him to his brother’s home, in Coudersport, Capt. C. H. Armstrong. He died Friday, September 18th, 1887. Buried here the 18th. Among friends from Eldred; A. Harman, E. R. Mayo, A. H. Mayo, W. H. Dodd, and Prof. T. J. George. Leaves wife and two small children.
ORLANDO E. ARMSTRONG died Monday morning, just before two o’clock, November 13, 1893. From his beautiful earthly home he has passed to the more beautiful one in the land beyond. Intellectually strong; fond of good books; mind well stored with historic facts and events of interest of his time. Always gentlemanly, cordial, honorable and true. For years was identified with M. E. Church in Coudersport. Would have been 39 the 21st of next December. Death a terrible blow to his wife and sad bereavement to his mother. In 1876 he married Miss Emma Loyster who survives him. Funeral Wednesday, November 15 at family residence, northeast corner of Borie and Oak Streets.
MRS. ELLEN M. ARNOLD of Port Allegany died December 5, 1898 at 12:40 noon. Born at Gloucester, RI, married July 10, 1817, she was 81 yrs., 5 mos., 18 days. (?) Sept. 11, 1831, Ellen M. Medbury and Aaron S. Arnold were married. Two children: Vilentia and Fitz Henry Arnold. Vilentia died in August 1850. Aaron S. Arnold died April 3, 1874 and the son, Fitz Henry, died January 17, 1891. Mrs. E. P. Dalrymple, only child of Mr.& Mrs. Fitz Henry Arnold, died five years ago, leaving two small children. High Arnold and Keith Edwin Dalrymple who alone represent the ancestry are prominent in the growth and development of Port Allegany.
WILLIAM AYERS (murder) On Wednesday, June 15th (1898), neighbors of Wm. Ayers, Wharton Township, noticed his domestic animals were being neglected. John Mahon and son, Warren, investigated. They found a ladder against back of house near window of room occupied by Ayers, in second story. Found the old man on the floor in his room, near the bed, head battered, bullet wound in temple and marks of throttling on throat. The house was ransacked from top to bottom to discover money he was supposed to have. Coroner Gustin notified and District Attorney Heck. On Thursday an autopsy was held. Bullet passed downward to mouth without touching a vital spot. Death caused by strangulation or blow on head. Mr. Ayers had a housekeeper, Mrs. Farley, but she had gone to a neighbor’s house Tuesday on account of a quarrel between the two. Her son, David Miller, about 20, had been making his home there, but had some trouble with Ayers and was working at a lumber camp in Mahon Run, near the Ayers farm. Arrested on Friday and given a hearing before Justice Seibert on Monday. Ayers was about 65 years; always lived on the farm where he died, on main road from Wharton to First Fork. The house, a comfortable modern farm house, situated near the road and but a few rods from dwellings of Warren Mahon and his father John Mahon, whose farm joins the old Ayers homestead where William was born. Deceased was honest, frugal and peaceable, in poor health from disabilities contracted in army, but with undue appetite for liquor, in which he had been indulging just before he was murdered. Been at Coudersport a few days before and received from his attorneys 200 on a debt due him. Not known how much he carried beside this. On return had visited Blowville, a lumber town on Bailey Run and exhibited some money while drinking there. In good circumstances, leaving property to amount of $2,000 at least. A will, made December 31, 1897, leaves all his property to his brother, S. Freeman Ayers, but the will is liable to be contested.
ELMER BAILEY – News came Monday, Oct. 14, 1898, that Elmer Bailey, well known in this vicinity, was dead and would be buried at Westport on Tuesday. He lived in Philadelphia the past ten years, where he was engaged in manufacturing an air gun, invented by himself. But, the last few months he had been suffering from nervous prostration, which ended in death on Saturday, Nov. 12th. He was the only son of Washington and Eliza (Williams) Bailey, whose home is on First Fork, Cameron County, where Elmer was born in 1860. Graduated from Lock Haven Normal in 1880, youngest member of his class and one of its best students. After teaching a few terms he came to Coudersport and entered pharmacy of M. S. Thompson as a drug clerk; by natural aptitude and close application to work, became one of the best druggists in the county. In 1886 joined his father in a lumber job on First Fork and while lumbering, invented an air gun that promised at one time to bring a large fortune. Went to Philadelphia to manufacture the product, but failed to realize on it what he had anticipated. About this time he married Cora Stewart, very estimable young lady of Westport. One child was born, but it died in 1897 and Mrs. Bailey, heartbroken, returned to her home where she has remained past year. As a boy Elmer was studious and ambitious, though somewhat indifferent to the finer amenities of life, was kind hearted. As he grew to manhood, he bent all his energies to individual success in whatever he undertook. Naturally impatient of restraint, he loved an indulgent Christian father and mother and was generous and unselfish toward his friends. As school mate, teacher, and neighbor the writer of the subject of this sketch, (M. J. Colcord), loved him for the many expressions of kindly and generous impulses that were a part of Elmer Bailey’s nature and remembers him with only the recollection of those thousand kindness’ that outweigh the few faults of a wayward, impulsive nature. We mourn with the wife, parents, sisters, and friends for the life, which held so much of promise, cut down in the noontide.
Elmer Ellsworth Bailey, born June 23, 1861, died Nov. 12, 1898 at his Philadelphia home of heart failure super induced by grip, contracted three weeks before. Ill in bed only five days. During this time had catarrh of stomach, caused by the grip, but had passed the crisis in this disease and was recovering from it when suddenly and unexpectedly to his wife and physicians and friends who were constantly in attendance, he died without a struggle. Was only son and eldest of five children of Washington and Eliza (Williams) Bailey of First Fork, Cameron County. Here he grew to manhood under influence of Christian parents from whom he inherited the honor and integrity, which has always been synonymous with the family name. He has a host of true friends. Owing to his brilliant mind and many accomplishments he was welcomed in the most exclusive circles while the most humble of his acquaintances also relied on him as a true friend. Was also a great temperance worker. Always bright and active, he eagerly grasped every opportunity to improve his mind and ambition that were far beyond the ordinary. For this reason he went to Philadelphia in April, 1892, to manufacture an air gun of which his own invention, which proved a success in every way and that found a ready sale through the U.S. and in foreign countries. Was associated with J. A. Barten, of Sixth and Arch Streets., In manufacture of these guns at time of death. Remains accompanied to Westport by his stricken wife and his partner, Mr. Barten, where he was buried by the side of his little son, Stewart Washington, who died July 10, 1897. Funeral Tuesday, Nov. 15. Rev. O. S. Oyler, of M. E. Church assisted by Rev. J. D. Cook, Presbyterian pastor, conducted service at home of his father-in-law. The father, two sisters and many other relatives and friends, but the mother and other living sister were detained by sickness. Pall bearers were M. S. Thompson, A. B. Mann, Coudersport; Thos. Collier, Bradford; J. L. Emery, G. W. Courter and G. W. Armstrong of Westport. Floral tributes were many and beautiful. Thus ends a noble life in its noontide. Westport, PA – December 20, 1898
BERTHA LYDIA BAKER – Tuesday morning, Mrs. Bertha Lydia Baker died at her home in Inez after a long illness. She was 77 years of age, and nearly all her life was spent in Coudersport and vicinity. She was a widow of S. W. Baker, a pioneer resident. The family formerly lived in Ladona but for more than twenty years they have resided in Inez, where they have always been among the responsible people. Mrs. Baker’s maiden name was Covey and she was a sister of the late John Covey, for many years a resident of Coudersport. One son, who with his family resides at the homestead, survives her. Funeral services were held today at one o’clock. G. H. Grabe and Son.
CLARISSA BAKER died May 2, 1888 at West Pike. Clarissa, wife of Jeremiah Baker, age 76 yrs. 4 mos. 3 days. Born in Susquehanna County, eldest daughter of Amos Knapp, who when in her childhood, removed with his family to Bradford County, where she lived with her parents till age of 20. She was married to her surviving husband. Was mother of seven children, five sons and two daughters, one son having died in infancy. In April, 1859 they, with five children moved to West Pike. Their eldest son, having married, was living in Williamsport. Their second daughter, Electa, died in January 1865, and their youngest son, George Baker of Coudersport in December 1881. In March, before her death, she wrote to her sister, Mrs. P.C. Slade, in Bradford county. Her surviving children are (save the oldest): Mrs. A. C. Perkins, of Coudersport and Fred, who reached her twelve hours before her death, of Penfield, Clearfield county, PA.
DANIEL BAKER died at his residence in Coudersport, Friday morning, March 22, 1889, age 65 yrs. 9 mos. 15 days. Born in Broome County, NY, came to Potter county in 1848 and soon after engaged in mercantile business with Elymus Hackett. In 1855 he married Kesiah Hackett, sister of Elymus. He built the store so long occupied by A. Bennett in Lewisville. In 1860 was elected Register and Recorder of Potter county, being at that time Justice of the Peace in Ulysses township. Reelected for several consecutive terms, serving till 1878. In 1871 he opened the Baker House in Coudersport, having purchased, rebuilt, and remodeled what was known as the Woodcock Hotel. It was originally the Old Hickory House, built in 1827 by Versel Dickinson. In 1872 he sold the Baker House to Brown and Kelly, and in 1876, having purchased a farm in Bingham Township, moved his family upon it and engaged in the dairy business. The butter of the Baker farm gained a high reputation for excellency throughout the county. In 1862 he was appointed County Commissioner’s clerk in place of W. W. Harvey, resigned, and moved his family to Coudersport. He held this position until the illness prostrated him, which caused his death. Leaves wife and five children, two boys and three girls. Mr. Baker was a fine penman, a good accountant, and a neat, systematic bookkeeper. Was frequently engaged as clerk to the Board of County Auditors, by which his services were deemed invaluable in promoting a dispatch of business in auditing the accounts of the various county officers.
JEREMIAH BAKER died at West Pike, October 4, 1863, age 84 yrs., 8 mos., 9 days. Born in Delaware County January 25, 1809. When a small boy his parents moved to Bradford County, PA, where he spend greater part of life. Came to Potter County nearly 35 years ago. Leaves three sons, one daughter: Amos Baker, West Pike; Fred H. Baker, of Slaughter, Washington. A son in Tennessee and Mrs. Almira Perkins, Coudersport. Funeral sermon at West Pike; Rev. O. L.. Hill, assisted by Rev. H. A. Stratton. Burial in Coudersport, Rev. C. T. Edwards.
HON. GEORGE A. BARCLAY died at his home in Sinnemahoning on November 25, 1900, age 83 years, 7 months, 18 days; for many years one of the most energetic and popular lumber men and business men in the state, being actively engaged in lumbering in Potter and Cameron Counties, and at same time conducting extensive lumbering enterprises in Michigan and other western states, accumulating considerable property. Located in Potter county and engaged in lumbering and farming until 1867 when he sold his business and invested his money in more western lands. At same time taking up residence in Cameron County where his sons, George B. and Chas. F. had actively engaged in lumber business at Sinnemahoning. Married at an early date and reared a family of three children: George B. Barclay, Charles F. Barclay and Mrs. Mary E. Roberts, of Knoxville, Tenn., all living. His wife died in 1884. Buried in family plot at Sinnemahoning. In 1884, elected member of Assembly by Republicans; served during sessions of 1866, 67, 68. In July 1893, health began to fail. Partial paralysis overcame him and he failed gradually. Funeral in Methodist Church at Sinnemahoning. Rev. M. C. Piper. Buried by wife.
JAMES L. BARCLAY died at Emporium, PA, January 10, 1890 from the effects of injuries received by the cars at that place. In 65th year of his age. Mr. Barclay left his home on Monday to settle with the auditors of Cameron County as he was one of the Commissioners of the Cameron and Wharton State Road. Arriving at Emporium on the rail, he went to the machine shop, which is near the freight depot, to have some work done. While there he attempted to cross over a train of cars standing on a side track. Seeing the engine on either end of the train, he took hold of the cars to assist raising himself up on the bumpers, they being a short distance apart. When his right leg was directly between the bumpers, the switch engine sent a car against the train with such force as to catch his leg and crush it in a frightful manner. He was immediately carried to the St. Charles Hotel where everything was done to alleviate his suffering. Monday evening a consultation of doctors was held and they decided that amputation would have to be performed, and on Tuesday Dr. Smith, assisted by Dr. Bardwell, amputated the limb. But his age was against him. He never seemed to rally from the shock and gradually sank until Friday morning when he passed away. He was a brother of Hon. A. G. Barclay of Sinnemahoning. He was born in the state of New York in 1826. Settled in Wharton, Potter County, about 1850 where he has resided ever since, being one of its prominent citizens of that part of the county. Leaves a wife and two sons. Buried on Sunday by side of his daughter. Rev. Weeks of Austin officiated at the funeral.
ELMIRA M. BASSETT – Wife of James Bassett, died Friday morning, June 10th, 1898 in her 80th year. Funeral at residence on Oak Street, Rev. W. H. Reese, M. E. Church, of which she had many years been a member, and Rev. McLatchey, pastor of the Baptist Church. Mr. Bassett, in 82nd year, is now very infirm; since last November, confined to his bed. One year ago they celebrated their 60th anniversary. She has suffered from consumption.
WILLIAM BASSETT died December 12, 1900. Born in Coudersport, March 30, 1856; lived here all his life. Industrious, upright and respected. Leaves wife, Orvilla Goodsell, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Albert Goodsell, and daughter, Mary Bassett, three and one half years old. Father, four brothers and four sisters. Died of slow and wasting fever.
Another obituary – William Bassett died at his home in Coudersport at 7 PM, December 12, 1900 from enteric (typhoid fever). Some days previous to the big flood, Mr. Bassett who had been very sick, had recovered sufficiently to be able to walk about the house that day. He exposed himself to the cold air by standing in an open doorway and suffered a relapse, which brought about his death. Born in Coudersport 46 years ago and with exception of ten years spent in Canisteo, where he learned the mason trade, has been a resident ever since. Twenty-two years ago he married Orvilla Goodsell, daughter of Mr.& Mrs. Albert Goodsell. She, with one daughter survive. Also, four brothers and four sisters and an aged father survive. Funeral held from house Friday, December 14. Greatly missed in this place.
N. B. BEEBE died at his home in Odin, PA, after a terrible illness of only six hours, on November 12, 1894, Mr. N. B. Beebe in his 68th year. Coming in childhood with his pioneer parents from New York State, he had few of the advantages of culture, Potter County now offers her young. But his was the conscientious energetic mind that must and will have knowledge, and he acquired much from books, ever remaining a devoted student. He spent many years as instructor in various public schools, teaching in Lewisville, this county, forty-six years ago. He was at one time a teacher for two years in the Academy at Woodhull, NY. For several years a resident of Deposit, he was their twice elected Justice of the Peace. Mr. Beebe was always an ardent supporter of morality, a man whose heart was most tender and faithful to the many friendships he formed among lovers of books and humanity, wherever he went. As a politician, he was sent as one of the delegates to the first National Convention of the Republican party, and remained in its ranks to the end, proudly casting his last ballot for the prohibitory law of Potter County, on the ticket for Mr. Leonard and Mr. Eaton. Yet, so great was his enmity to the saloon and the still – including in his charge of blood guiltiness even older – he often lamented the apathy of his party on the temperance question, fearing it would bring disaster to the country. Twice wedded, he leaves by his first marriage a son, Mr. H. H. Beebe, of Odin, PA, in whose family he found a dearly loved home, and by his second, a daughter, Mrs. Axtell of Lincoln, NE Mr. Beebe had but recently returned from along visit with devoted relatives and friends in Sylvester, Tioga County, PA. He had not seemed quite well for a few days, but breakfasted with the family as usual that morning. Soon after he was seized with a severe pain near the heart, which at 1:30, ceased to beat. Funeral services were conducted by the family pastor, Rev. C. T. Edwards, of Coudersport, assisted by Rev. Jordan of the U. B. Church of Odin, and the remains laid to rest in the beautiful cemetery in the forest, on the 14th inst., to await a glorious resurrection. A Friend.
SAMUEL BEEBE – One of best known citizens of Oswayo, died at his home in that place, Monday, August 31, 1896 after illness of ten days. Born at Columbus, NY, May 22, 1827. His family moved to Allegany County in 1835 and lived at Alfred several years. Previous to 1867, Mr. Beebe conducted a woolen mill at Independence. In that year he moved to Oswayo and entered the mercantile business. Soon turned his attention to the business of pension agent and justice of the peace and was known personally to nearly every old soldier in the county. His success in securing pensions was remarkable. He told the writer less than a year ago that there were sixty veterans residing in the town of Oswayo and that every one of them drew a pension that he had secured. Mr. Beebe was married in September 1847 to Dorothy Colvin, Of Independence and six children born to them. Mr. Beebe served one year as Associate Judge of Potter County, three years as county auditor. Beloved by all who knew him and his death will cause sincere sorrow at Oswayo. Was a genial, Kindly man whose example was worthy of emulation. (Ceres Mail)
FRANK BELL died Sunday, April 1, 1894 in Washington, DC, age 58. Born at Ceres of English parents, inclined to the Quaker faith. In spring of 1861 helped to raise and organize co. 1 of the 42nd PA vols., Col. Kane’s old Bucktails, of which company he was First Lieutenant, then Captain. Served with honor during whole of war, and retained in service during part of reconstruction era. Shot through the body at Antietam; one lung entirely destroyed; with this wound still open, he insisted in going into battle with his command at Gettysburg, where he lost a leg. Compelled to give up active military life, was transferred to the Veterans’ Reserve Corps. Was clerk in War and Interior Departments. For many years a special examiner of the Pension Bureau, serving in different parts of the country, from Kansas to Florida; in New York and Pennsylvania. Fine literary taste and has written many beautiful things, many of which have appeared in the Journal. One in this issue.
ISAAC BENSON died at his home in Coudersport Sunday morning, March 11, 1894, age 76 years, 7 months, 3 days. Born in Waterford, Erie County, PA, June 8, 1817. Attended academy at Waterford and studied at Warren, PA, and entered as student the office of Struthers, Johnson and Brown, attorneys at Warren. Admitted to the bar at that place in 1844. Began practice with that firm where he remained about a year. June 11, 1845, located in Coudersport and soon obtained a remunerative practice. In 1856 was elected to the state legislature and to the state senate in 1859. December 14, 1857, he married Eugenia Laura, only daughter of Pierre A. and Almira (Brundage) Stebbins, of Coudersport. She was born at Hammondsport, NY, November 17, 1832. Their only child, James Benson, born May 30, 1863. He graduated from the University of PA and was admitted to the bar in June 1884. On December 3, 1884, he married Miss Katherine Hodskin, daughter of Albert A. and Celina (Johnson) Hodskin.
JAMES B. BENSON died Saturday night, May 30, 1897. Only son of Isaac and Eugenia L. Stebbins Benson. Born May 30, 1863; classical education at Univ. of PA. Studied law with Wayne McVeigh of Philadelphia; admitted to bar in June 1884. From a boy was distinguished by his gentlemanly manners, dignified bearing, and rare intellectual attainments. Inheriting qualities of two families of high standing, had best of prospects. Married December 3, 1884 to Miss Kittie Hodskin, Coudersport. Three children.
ALICE L. BERFIELD (COLCORD) died in Homer, Sept. 20, 1879,31 yrs. 1 mo. 1 day. Joined Church nine yrs. ago. Leaves two bright little girls.
WILLIAM BINGHAM was born in Philadelphia on the 8th
of March, 1753. He was educated at the academy and college in that city.
On the 29th of November, 1768, he received a diploma, as Bachelor
of Arts, and on the 28th of June, 1771, a diploma as Master
of Arts. In 1778, Congress appointed him Consul of the United States for the
French West India Islands, resident in Martinique. In the spring of 1780
he returned to Philadelphia, and on the 26th of October of that
year he married Ann Willing, the eldest daughter of Thomas Willing, a merchant
in that city. The marriage was performed by the Rev. William White, Rector
of Christ Church, and afterward the venerable Bishop of the Pennsylvania
diocese. Mr. Bingham was, for several years, a member of the legislature of
his native state, and was Speaker of both Houses, the House of Representatives
and the Senate. From the 4th of March, 1795 to the 4th
of March, 1801, he was a Senator in the Congress of the United States,
and an ardent supporter of the administration of Washington, with whom
he was on terms of great personal intimacy. While the election between
Jefferson and Burr was the subject of contest, Mr. Jefferson did not take
his seat in the Senate, over which body he presided, as Vice-President
of the United States. In his absence, Mr. Bingham occupied the Chair as
presiding officer. Mr. Bingham was an enterprising and successful merchant; but he did
not confine his attention merely to mercantile pursuits. He had valuable
property in the city and county of Philadelphia, and large landed estates
in Maine, New York, and Pennsylvania. From the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
he purchased over a million acres. His title to those acres, lying chiefly
in the northern counties, was founded upon WARRANTS, granted to him by
the Commonwealth, in the years 1792 and 1793, upon SURVEYS, made by the
officers of the Commonwealth, and regularly returned by them into the office
of the Surveyor General, and upon PATENTS, issued to him, or to the Trustees
appointed in his will, and signed by the Governor or Secretary of the Land
Office. The evidence of this title is in the Surveyor’s Office at Harrisburg;
and any person who will write to the head of that Department for a copy
of any paper in his office, will be sure to get it in a week. The cost
for a copy of a warrant and survey is half a dollar each, for that of a
patent, seventy five cents. No one, then, need be in ignorance of the BINGHAM
TITLE, when he can satisfy himself upon it on terms so easy. Mr. Bingham died on the 6th of February, 1804, in the 51st
year of his age, having survived his wife, who died in May, 1801. His will,
bearing date of January 31, 1804, was duly proved and filed in the Register’s
Office in Philadelphia, and copies of it are upon the records of some of
the counties in which the lands lie. He delivered his Estate to five Trustees,
for the benefit of his son and two daughters, his only children. The Trustees
were his two sons-in-law, Alexander Baring, (afterwards Lord Ashburton)
and Henry Baring, and his three friends, Robert Gilmore, of Baltimore,
and Thomas Mayne Willing and Charles Willing Hare, both of Philadelphia.
These Trustees are dead, and the estate is now represented by five other
Trustees, appointed in the manner prescribed in the will. They are Joseph
Reed Ingersoll, and John Craig Miller, and three of Mr. Bingham’s grandsons,
William Bingham Baring, (Lord Ashburton,) Francis Baring, and Henry Bingham
Baring. Lord Ashburton and Francis Baring were born in Philadelphia. They are
both in the Parliament of Great Britain, the former in the House of Lords,
the latter in the House of commons. Mr. Ingersoll was, for several years,
the Representative of Philadelphia in Congress, and last summer the President
of the United States appointed him Minister to England. The other gentlemen,
from time to time, connected with the trust, were held in high estimation
in the communities in which they lived; and no person in Philadelphia has
a better reputation than Mr. Miller. Such are the persons who have represented
and do represent the large interests of the Bingham estate, as well in
Pennsylvania as elsewhere. The daughters of Mr. Bingham are dead. One died December 5, 1848; the
other, March 9th following. The son, William Bingham, born in
Philadelphia, on December 30, 1800, is living in Paris. (From People’s Journal, December 18, 1853) Editorial Comment: We
publish on the first page a short sketch of the life and character of the
late William Bingham, which we hope will receive the attention of every
MRS. CLARISSA BISHOP died in Hebron Twp., Feb. 13, 1877, age about 45, of organic disease of liver.
JOHN P. BREHMER died at his residence in Eulalia on Sunday last. Born in Prussia. Last 45 yrs. lived on farm where he died. Died Jan. 16, 1881, age 91 yrs., 1 mo. And 11 days. Born in Wetzler, Prussia, Dec. 1, 1789, came to US in 18--. Moved to Eulalia, Potter Co., 1840 Had been married 71 years. Wife survives.
MRS. R. JUDITH BREUNLE died at home of daughter, Mrs. George Brehmer, on Oak Street, Friday evening, May 4th, 1900. Age: 79 years, 8 months, 24 days. Strong and healthy until about a year ago when an attack of grip left her in failing condition. Slight stroke a week before her death. Born in Nuertingen, Kingdom of Wuertemberg, Germany on August 10, 1820; married to Christian F. Breunle in 1844. Emigrated to America in 1852. Lived in New York until 1857, then in Hastings-on-the-Hudson until April, 1859, when came to Potter County, settling on piece of land on South Hill, one and one half miles south of Coudersport, where by hard work and perseverance, characteristic of the Germans, they cleared a farm and built a good home which they enjoyed till death of her husband, October 10, 1880. Nine children, seven living: C.C. Breunle, Mrs. Anna Taubert, Mrs. George Brehmer, Carl F. Breunle, the latter twins. Lived on the farm with two younger sons until about two years ago when they sold it and moved to Coudersport. Since then she has made her home with her children until the time of her death, but made her home with her son, A. R. Breunle. Funeral held Saturday 2:30 at Lutheran Church, of which she was a member. Rev. I. H. Stetler. Burial in Eulalia Cemetery.
SARAH M. BRIGGS died at her home near North Bingham, PA, March 8, 1894, widow of the late Rev. A.H. Briggs. Sarah M. Potter born at Steamburg, Crawford County, PA, January 25, 1843. The only daughter of John and Thankful Potter. Father died when she was three; when she was nine her mother married and moved to Independence, Allegany County, NY.
She was married July 3, 1858 to A.H. Briggs; two children – Mrs. Ione B. Francis, and M. Grant Briggs. She was converted and baptized at age of 16. Member of W.C.T.U.
In January 1892, Mrs. Briggs was stricken with grip from which she never fully recovered. Sudden death of her husband on September 14, 1893, brought on nervous prostration from which she was too weak to rally. Leaves a daughter, son, two brothers, four half sisters and many distant relatives. Funeral at residence and the North Bingham Church. Rev. J, O, Potter assisted by Rev. B. E. Eggleston. W.C.T.U. attended in a body and furnished basket of flowers for the casket and floral pillow for the pulpit, with W.C.T.U., And beautiful pillow for casket with "Our Sister." North Bingham Cemetery.
CAPT. JOHN BROWNLEE died February 17, 1900. Had been about his work as usual; visited the grist mill about 11 o’clock. When called to midday meal by blowing of dinner horn, did not respond. Search revealed him lying in barnyard dead. Supposed to have been apoplexy. Was 73. Celebrated his birthday a few days before. Funeral Feb. 21st at 2 o’clock.
Born in Ballymena County, Antrim, Ireland of Scotch-Irish descent. In 1851 came to American and lived in NY for five years where he prospered, having several thousand dollars when he came to Potter in 1856. Purchased the farm at Costello where he died; built a saw mill, grist mill, and shingle mill and planing mill in what then was a wilderness.
Twice married; first wife, Ella Savage whom he married in Ireland and who bore him ten children. After her death he married Rebecca Courtney, of England, who survives.
Capt. Brownlee was well informed in every subject. Been an extensive traveler and a careful reader. His large family went out with a training that fitted then to take no mean place in the world.
Leaves three sons and three daughters. The three sons live on the old homestead. One daughter is wife of L. D. Ripple; other two live in Nova Scotia. Was a brother of Mrs. Jane McCormic, of Coudersport.
Early in life he learned the baker’s trade and for years followed this vocation. Was a baker on vessels and continued this after he came to New York.
MRS. CLARA BURT died at the Dean Sanitarium in Coudersport Wednesday PM, July 11, 1917, following an operation for gall stones. Was born sixty years ago at Ulysses, a twin daughter of Samuel and Kate Rathbone Monroe. Married to Clarence E. Burt. One daughter, Mrs. Nellie Wright of Petersburg, VA. Two sisters and one brother survive: Mrs. Silas Hurd of Genesee, Mrs. William Kelts of Okmulgee, and Sumner Monroe of Punxsutawney, PA. Funeral at the home. Burial at Ulysses.
T. W. BURT died at Ulysses, at 3 o’clock Saturday, November 24th, 1900. Pioneer. Born in Willett, Cortland County, NY, November 4, 1823. When nine years of age his parents moved within one mile of what is now the boro of Lewisville. In 1845 married Elizabeth Lewis, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Seth Lewis. He and wife settled on a farm adjoining the old Burt homestead where they lived until about 30 years ago when they moved to Lewisville.
Just six months to a day before the death of Mr. Burt, his wife died of the same disease, apoplexy. He had not been the same since her death. Two weeks ago while taking a car load of cattle to Buffalo was attacked by the first stroke at Lyons, NY. He was advised and returned home at once and from that time on gradually failed. Had two strokes after his return home.
His survivors are: Daughters; Mrs. John Stone of Coudersport; Mrs. C.E. Hosley of Lewisville; Sons: Charles M. Burt; Anson S. Burt, both of Lewisville; Clarence E. Burt of Coudersport. Sister: Mrs. Kate Edwards of Lewisville. Brothers: James T. Burt and W.F. Burt of Lewisville. Both of these gentlemen were ill and unable to attend the funeral. Buried in Ulysses cemetery.
Another obituary – Titus W. Burt died at his home in Lewisville, November 24, 1900 of apoplexy, age 77 years and 20 days. Born in Willett, Cortland County, NY; came to Potter County with his family when nine years of age. Settled in what is now Burt Street when all about was wilderness. Helped the old farm. In 1845 married Elizabeth Lewis, daughter of Seth Lewis. They took up a large piece of land adjoining his father’s farm, cleared it and raised six children, all of whom survive. All present at his death bed. Wife died exactly six months before him. Leaves two older brothers and a younger sister.
JAMES T. BURTIS died in Eulalia, Oct. 9th, 1878. He was the infant son of Woolsey and Sarah G. Burtis, 7 mos. and 21 days.
MRS. SARAH G. BURTIS – The remains of Mrs. Sarah Burtis of Knoxville, PA, were brought to Coudersport for burial May 17, 1917, accompanied by Mrs. Sarah Glover, a daughter, and Edwin Glover, Mr. and Mrs. Roy Edgcomb, of Knoxville, and John T. Olmsted of Harrisburg, grandchildren of the deceased.
Mrs. Burtis was born in Roulette in 1834, and was the daughter of Burrell and Dorcas Lyman. Married in 1857 to John Taggart who died in 1871. In 1876 she married Woolsey Burtis of Ulysses, and made her home in that place for a number of years. Since his death she has made her home most of the time with her daughters, Mrs. Glover of Knoxville and Mrs. Arthur Olmsted of Coudersport, until Mrs. Olmsted’s death a few years ago. For six years she has been confined to her bed. She was well known in Coudersport where she lived for many years on the Taggart homestead below town and she was highly respected much beloved by all who knew her.
MRS. ELIZABETH BUTTERWORTH – Mrs. Elizabeth (Wunder) Butterworth aged 87 years, widow of George H. Butterworth, (son of Appleton and Mary (Wilmot) Butterworth), died Monday morning at her home, corner of Morris Lane and Bacon Street. Born July 13, 1849, and died February _____ in Cincinnati, OH. Was an accomplished musician, being a graduate of the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music, where she was also a member of the faculty for a number of years. In her concert work at the Conservatory, she sang for many noted composers, among them, Anton Rubinstein.
Is survived by two daughters, Mrs. H.C. Young and Miss Mary Butterworth of Wellsboro, and two sons, Thomas Y. Butterworth, of New York, and George Butterworth of Lancaster, OH; two grandchildren, Philip S., and Miss Mary Jane Young, of Wellsboro and one great grandson, Philip Larsen Young, of Wellsboro. Funeral this afternoon at the home; burial in Wellsboro cemetery.
George Howard Butterworth was born August 30, 1845, died July 11, 1930. Married Myra Elizabeth Wunder, of Cincinnati.
In his father’s notable struggle against Andrew G. Curtin for the Senatorship in 1867, his son successfully directed the maneuvers in the legislature from start to finish.
Through his father’s influence with General Grant, he was appointed to fill a vacancy in the War Office in 1876, which he filled from May 22, 1876 to March 3, 1877.
When Hayes’ chances of winning the electoral votes in Florida and Louisiana were doubtful in 1877, Cameron placed Federal troops at the disposal of the Republican politicians in those states. For this service and for the assistance given to nominate Hayes in the Republican Convention, Simon Cameron and other Pennsylvania Republicans demanded that Don be continued as Secretary of War under Hayes. Hayes refused to appoint him. He disapproved of the Cameron methods and wanted an entirely new Cabinet. It was then Simon Cameron decided to surrender his own place as a consolation prize to his son.
Don Cameron took over the management of the state political machine with the aid of lieutenants like Matthew Quay, ran it skillfully and defiantly as long as he remained in public life. It enabled him to be returned to the Senate in 1879, 1885, and 1891. Chairmanship of the Republican National Committee in 1879 widened his influence in national politics. He joined with Konklin of New York and Logan of Illinois in a strenuous campaign to have Grant nominated for a third term. Shrewd plans were laid to control the convention of 1880, but their strategy was discovered and defeated.
Don Cameron never tried to be popular with people. Like his father, he worked behind the scenes and was a politician and not a statesman. At the end of his full third term 1897, possibly foreseeing defeat, he retired voluntarily from the Senate and spent the rest of his life at his Lancaster farm and houseboat on the Southern coast. Thoroughly honest in personal matters, he was held in high regard by his friends.
His first wife was Mary McCormick, who died in 1874. His second wife, whom he married in 1878, was a niece of John and William T. Sherman.
SIMON CAMERON was born March 8, 1799 and died June 26, 1889. Senator, Secretary of War in Lincoln’s Cabinet, diplomat. Born in Lancaster, PA, of Scotch and German ancestry, son of Charles and Martha (Pfouts) Cameron. Reverses and misfortunes in his father’s family cast him upon the world early and he apprenticed himself to a printer in Harrisburg, PA. In January, 1821, at solicitation of Samuel D. Ingham, went to Doylestown, PA., where he edited the "Bucks County Messenger," soon merged with the "Bucks County Democrat." On the decease of this paper at close of 1821, returned to Harrisburg, for a short time partner with Chas. Mowry in the management of the "Pennsylvania Intelligencer." During 1822 went to Washington to study national political movements and obtained work in the printing house of Gales and Seaton, who printed Congressional debates. Spent his spare time in the Houses of Congress and in making useful friends, among them Monroe and Calhoun.
About 1824 returned to Harrisburg, bought the "Republican" and was soon exercising considerable influence in state and national politics. Was staunch advocate of protective tariff. The remunerative position of state printer was given him and in 1826 was made adjutant general of the state. Newspaper editing did not hold him long.
As soon as his position was established and his purse sufficient, he left the press and entered pursuits which promised greater financial gain.
It was an era of internal improvements and he saw money making possibilities. Became contractor for construction of canals and began a network of railroads in Pennsylvania, which he later united in the Northern Central Railroad.
In 1832 he set up the Bank of Middletown with himself cashier, and soon entered the iron business. Subsequently engaged in insurance business and became interested in other projects. He managed all with skill and success and amassed a fortune. His interest in state and national affairs continued.
Partly through his efforts the state legislature in 1830, was induced to head a movement for Jackson’s re-nomination, and two years aided in having Van Buren nominated for Vice-president in place of Calhoun. It was also through his maneuvering that James Buchanan was sent to the Senate in 1833, just at the time when he despaired of political opportunities and was seriously considering a return to law practice.
Prior to 1838 Cameron held no public office except that of adjutant-general of Pennsylvania. But in that year was appointed Commissioner to settle certain claims of the Winnebago Indians, a place he acquired with Buchanan’s assistance. Considerable scandal arose because of his adjusting the claims by the payment of notes on his own bank, which enriched himself and earned him the title of "The Great Winnebago Chief." Following this, his political influence decreased for a time. But actually his career as a great politician was just beginning.
In 1845, by a coalition of Whigs, Native Americans, and Protectionist Democrats, he won a Senate seat vacated by Buchanan who resigned to enter Polk’s Cabinet. Buchanan was irritated by Cameron’s defeat of the regular party candidate, George Woodward, a free trader and the two men parted political company.
Alexander K. McClure, an old political foe, has written that from 1845 until Cameron’s death, "There is not an important complete chapter of political history in the state that can be written with the omission of his defeats or triumphs, and even after his death until the present time, (1905), no important chapter of political history can be fully written without recognizing his successors and assigns in politics as leading or controlling factors."
(Old Time Notes of Pennsylvania, 1905, Vol. I, page 96)
He won the victory of 1845 by fusion methods and incurred bitter Democratic opposition. In 1849 he failed to be reelected. In 1846 he made the one important speech of his career. It was in opposition to the Walker revenue tariff. In 1855 he attempted to return to the Senate with support of the Know-Nothing Party, but failed. He then decided to cast his lot with the new Republican Party, formed in 1856, and that year actively supported Fremont for President.
The following year, 1857, January 6th, Republican backing and three Democratic votes obtained by bargaining, enabled him to return to the Senate, where he became the implacable foe of President Buchanan. (Also, by the aid of Henry J. Olmsted, of Coudersport, who carried Isaac Benson on a bed to Wellsville, NY, there to take the train for Harrisburg to vote for Simon Cameron, and elect him Senator by one vote.
He remained a Republican the rest of his life and gave much of his time and energy to building up a smooth running party machine in Pennsylvania. In the management and control of it he was unequaled. His leadership was sometimes challenged, and he suffered subsequent defeats, but no one ever dislodged him from control of the organization.
In 1860 it helped him to make a presentable showing in the National Convention at Chicago, May 16th, when he was nominated for President and he received a complimentary vote. But he could not be nominated for President, but his henchmen traded Pennsylvania votes for Lincoln in exchange for a Cabinet post for Cameron. After much hesitation, Lincoln abided by the bargain his managers had made without his consent. Cameron resigned his seat in the Senate and became Secretary of War. The choice was most unfortunate. Although an able business executive, political considerations too often governed his judgment and his actions in departmental administration. He dispensed civil and military offices and army contracts in a notorious fashion. Corruption became rampant. It does not appear that he enriched himself, but others did shamefully. Complaints against his management and favoritism poured into Washington almost daily, and demands made for his removal persisted. In an effort to retrieve popular support, he advocated the freeing and arming of slaves, policies, which were rapidly gaining favor, but were not then acceptable to President Lincoln. He became such an embarrassment that in June, 1862, Lincoln appointed him Minister to Russia, to be rid of him.
Three months later the House of Representatives censured his conduct in the handling of contracts.
Cameron had no intention of remaining in Russia for long and was back to try for the Senate in 1863. He failed, but in 1867, after a struggle of unexampled desperation, was successful. For ten years afterward, he reigned supreme in Pennsylvania, and in 1873 returned to the Senate without a contest.
He also became a power in Grant’s administration, controlled the patronage of the state and , in 1876, succeeded having his son appointed Secretary of War.
When President Hayes, in 1877, refused to continue the son in that office, Cameron resigned his own place in the Senate, upon receiving assurances from the subservient Pennsylvania Legislature, that it would elect his son as his successor. With this bold stroke, he closed his political career. At the same time he handed over to his son the control of the state machine.
No politician of his generation understood the science of politics better than Simon Cameron; none enjoyed greater power. He studied and understood individuals who could be of service to him. He knew the precise value of men and could marshal them as occasion arose. His methods were often circuitous, the means employed were often questionable, but the end in view was always clear. Cameron was of broad intellectual force, if not of fine learning. He could be patient and conservative or keen and aggressive, as the situation demanded. Tradition and precedent were disregarded when new conditions and necessities arose. He lived in a time when men firmly believed "to the victor belongs the spoils" and to this doctrine he gladly subscribed. He built up a political despotism in Pennsylvania by patronage. With it he rewarded his friends and punished his enemies. It was said that he never forgot a friend nor an enemy. In his senatorial career there was little that was statesmanlike or brilliant. He had no oratory. He said little in public that was vital, but much in private that was practical, farseeing, and astute. His business in the senate was politics and he was governed accordingly.
He was tall and slim with a "marked Scotch face," keen, gray eyes, high, broad forehead, crowned with heavy hair. His manners and speech were kindly and gentle, and his genial democratic manner won many people to him. He prided himself on possessing the doggedness and determination of his German forebears and the aggressiveness of the "Scotch rebels." For twelve years after his retirement from the Senate, he lived on his farm at Donegal Springs, and saw his son elected three times to the place he had surrendered to him. He died in his 91st year. His wife, Margaret Brua, died several years before, leaving five children.
WILLIAM CARSONS of Portage, who died on August 23, 1880, was born near Belfast Ireland, in 1797. He was in his 84th year. One of the enterprising men who have so often made their mark in this country and in many instances gave a turn to its industries and destinies – the Scotch Irish. He emigrated to the US when about 24, leaving a young wife to follow when means to do so were earned in this country. He first settled in New Jersey where he worked at his trade of mill wright and machinist, being engaged much in cotton and woolen mills. That business then, was in its infancy and several of the earlier improvements in the loom were made by him. Mr. Webb, of Philadelphia, owned a large tract of land in this county and about 1830 induced Mr. Carson and several more to come on to it, Mr. Carson to build a grist mill, etc., for the aid of the settlement.
He built the mill, a log structure which may still be see on the farm of C. Burleson at North Wharton. This, I believe, was the first grist mill built in this county; at least it was used many years by the settlers on the Allegany and at Lymansville. (????)
A town was plotted and laid out with the commencement of the settlement and called Sylvania, but never got off the paper on which it was laid, except that one building, that may always be first seen in a Scotch settlement, was set upon a lot set off for that purpose, a school house. A grave yard now occupies some of the original town lots. Mr. Costello will occupy part of the old town plot with his tannery.
Mr. Carson’s home became the point of other members of the family from the old country among whom were Robert K., Hugh, and Thomas L. Young. Hugh is now bank inspector of Pennsylvania. Thomas, a member of Congress and ex-Governor of Ohio. For the past six years the misfortunes of his family have been conspicuous. His favorite grandson, William Young, died in 1874; the daughter, Mrs. R. K Young, dying two years later, whose death soon followed by Mr. Young in the Danville Asylum, since which two other members of the family and his wife have been buried. His only son, Matthew B. Carson died in 1863 in North Carolina, a soldier.
His house was a celebrated resort for trout sportsmen for forty years, some individual gentlemen resorting to it yearly for nearly the whole time. The annual visit of a party of clergymen gave it the name of "Saints’ Rest."
For many years Mr. Carson was an active man in the affairs of the county; was one of the jurors in the Jones murder trial in 1838. He was a good neighbor and warm friend and possessed a great kindness of heart, dying without an enemy and without reproach.
CELINDA CARTEE died in Coudersport, March 16, 1858, aged: 68 years, 7 mos., 16 days. Born in Shaftsbury, Bennington County, VT. At age of nine years removed to Onondaga County, NY, where she lived about 20 years. Then removed to Tioga County in the same state, and finally removed to Coudersport, where she lived until her death.
Her family made the first permanent settlement in the place, then an almost unbroken forest.
She was possessed of great energy and perseverance and bore up nobly under the toils and privations consequent upon settling in a new country.
Mrs. Cartee was one of a family of eleven children, nearly all of whom have attained to advanced years in life. Five of the family are still living.
She was twice married. First to Mr. John Knight and subsequently to Mr. John L. Cartee; was the mother of three children, two of whom survive her. The daughter, Mrs. Mary Ross, with whom she has lived for some time past and who kindly cared for her in her sickness, is a resident of Coudersport; the son is in the far west.
Immediately on her removal to Coudersport she connected herself with the first Methodist Society ever formed in the place, and has ever since remained a consistent member of the M. E. Church.
For a few weeks past her health has been failing. The last time she appeared in public was on a Sacramental occasion in May of 1857. Shortly after taken sick, did not again go out unless carried.
About March 5th, was confined to her bed by sickness, which she bore with fortitude and patience. During last few days was much of the time unconscious. In this bereavement, not only children, but grandchildren, and great grandchildren are left to mourn her loss.
MRS. CORDELIA KRUSEN CHAPMAN died at her home near Genesee, July 5, 1900, age 58. Acute Bright’s Disease. Born in Greenwood, NY, February 18, 1842; soon after her father moved to town of Willing, NY, where she lived till womanhood. In 1867 married Norman Chapman and removed to their present home where they since resided except two years spent in Wellsville. Member of Methodist Church for years; very active. Member of W.C.T.U.
Survived by husband and two sons, Bert L. and Guy, both of Genesee. Funeral from house July 8. Rev. Churchill of Stannards, officiating.
CAPT. DENNIS H. CHEESBRO - The funeral sermon of Capt. Dennis H. Cheesbro, killed at the Battle of Dallas, in Georgia, will be preached in the Homer school house on Sunday afternoon, at 2 o’clock, July 3, 1864.
ELLEN M. CHEESBRO died in Homer, Apr. 9, 1865, age 17 yrs. And 20 days.
MRS. LAVERNA HALL CHESBRO died in Homer, PA, Feb. 16, 1882, aged 59 years. Born in Groton, NY, and came to Potter County about 1828 and since that time has been a resident of the county. Began clearing a farm in which the mother assisted, also raising a family of children. Many days Mrs. Chesbro walked to Coudersport five miles, did a day’s work, walked back home and helped burn a fallow at night. Twenty years ago her husband became totally blind. Two sons died during Civil War. One of them a Captain of Infantry. A daughter died. Mrs. Chesbro was a member of Episcopal Church. (daughter of Dennis Hall, Sr.)
ROY C. CLAFLIN died recently at his home in Lyonhurst, VA. He had been afflicted several years with lingering illness and had tried climates of Arizona and New Mexico in vain search for restored health.
He was prominent in civic and educational affairs in District of Columbia and in 1911 founded the Columbia School of Drafting, of which he remained the head to the time of his death. Was a son of Fremont M. Claflin and a grandson of Rufus T. Claflin, former County Supt. of Schools of Potter. Was born 41 years ago in Nebraska. Was married twice, his first wife being Miss Edna Moody of Rixford, PA, by whom he had two children, Orrel Belle and Robert. Divorced from her, he married Mrs. Mary Magadalene Heinrichs of Baltimore, who survives him. (1925)
RUFUS T. CLAFLIN died at 12:20, March 14, 1893, at home of his son, R. M. Claflin, in Fremont, Nebraska, age 72 years 9 months. Was about home as usual early in the morning and half past six suffered a paralytic stroke from which he did not rally, although medical assistance was procured and everything done for his assistance. Became unconscious shortly after being stricken and remained so until the end.
Born in Massachusetts, boyhood spent in New England. Graduated A. B. from University of Vermont and was a classmate there with John B. Wentworth, the eminent Methodist divine, with whom he has been in correspondence the last two months.
Was early converted to Christianity and was a preacher in the Methodist Church. Also engaged in educational work during the active years of his life, and at one time was county supt. of schools in Potter County. (1863 – 1866)
About 23 years ago a great misfortune overtook him, the effects of which he never recovered. (mentally unbalanced) Father of six children, two of whom survive; F. M. Claflin, of Fremont, NE, And Jason L. of St. Paul, NE His wife also living in St. Paul.
On March 14th, F. M. Claflin received telegram from Loami, announcing death of his brother-in-law of that place. Chas. H. Kinney.
DANIEL CLARK died January 15, 1899 at 2 o’clock a.m. Resident of Hebron over 60 years. 86th year. Wife, three sons, two daughters. One of the first to locate on Crandall Hill where he has lived 83 years. (not consistent in time of life in Hebron) Funeral at Hebron Church, Tuesday, January 17th, 2 p.m.
LYDIA BAILEY CLARK – Mrs. James Clark, mother of Nate Ayers and his half brother, George Clark, died at Warren Insane Asylum, Saturday, March 31, 1888. Was taken there about four years ago. James Clark applied for divorce afterward.
Buried at mouth of Prouty where she had formerly lived. Was about 53 years of age.
(A correspondent from Borie states that her funeral was held in Moore’s Run school house by Rev. Weeks and buried in cemetery of that place. Was 57 years, 11 months, 21 days old. Leaves two sons and many friends. Loving mother, dear sister, a kind aunt, and loved by all who knew her.)
NELSON CLARK died at his home, Friday evening, January 20, 1893, age 85 years. Born in Mansfield, Windham County, Connecticut in 1808. Came with his father to Potter County in 1819, settling on the farm in Eulalia Township. County almost an unbroken wilderness. He afterward returned to Connecticut, attended school in winter and worked on farm in summer.
Came back to Potter County with his wife, whom he married October 15, 1829, Miss Mary L. Burrows. Ten children.
WILLIAM H. COATES died in Allegany, November 8, 1886. William H. youngest son of Charles and Elvira Coates age 29 years, 5 months, 6 days.
Went to Ellisburg on morning of November 1st. Returned in afternoon; did not feel well, and next day took to his bed, ill of malarial fever. Unceasing care was given and he seemed to improve. Sunday morning he seemed quite bright during the day, but one of the large arteries in his head burst and at 6:45 Monday evening, all was over.
Being obliged to assist in farm work, he could not always be spared to attend even our short terms at the district schools, and when he did go, often walked over two miles. Yet he had acquired a better education than most boys get who have better advantages, being a beautiful penman and quite proficient in bookkeeping and composition.
His highest ambition was to be better educated; realizing the surest way to get it was to do cheerfully the nearest duty, he worked at home with his father, patiently biding the time while improving every opportunity for study.
Funeral at Ellisburg. Rev. Kenyon, of Green’s Corners, preached from the text, "For me to live is Christ, but to die is gain."
EDWARD D. COBB died in Coudersport, infant son of Daniel H. and Nettie L. Cobb, age 4 mos. 4 days. Died Aug. 29, 1879.
MRS. LOUISE COBB, widow of the late Dr. A. H. Cobb died Thursday afternoon, February 15, 1917, after a long illness. Dr. Cobb died very suddenly of heart disease in December 1914. She is survived by two children, Attorney D. Raymond Cobb of Syracuse and Miss Aurelia Cobb, who lives at home. Also by the following brothers and sisters: Mrs. James Lewis, Mrs. Ruth Cobb, W. G. Raymond of Ulysses, Mrs. Minerva Lewis of Coudersport, Mrs. Pauline Reynolds of Spring Mills, and Mrs. J. Newton Peck of Philadelphia. She was 71 years.
JOSEPH CODDINGTON died suddenly from stroke of apoplexy at his home, south side, in Coudersport, Friday, Feb. 21, 1896, age 69. Born and brought up in Ulster county, NY. Came to Coudersport in 1869, and worked at his trade as a stone mason. In 1872 married Theresa Fisher, nee Fourness. Three children. Quiet and unobtrusive in manner, Mr. C. was a good citizen, kind husband, and indulgent father.
DELILA (KOON) COLE died Friday morning at 12:30, ?? 1925. Born at Knoxville, PA, September 27, 1847, and came to Coudersport when 19 years of age. Married Lewis B. Cole Jr., in June 17, 1867. Surviving are three sons and a daughter: William Burdette, b. May 17, 1874; Blanche, b. September 19, 1868; Fred Burnum Cole, b. December 9, 1872; Charles, b. June 9, 1876. Two sisters also survive: Mrs. T. J. Gilbert, of Andover, NY and Mrs. William Kimball, of Ayers Hill. Funeral at home on Maple St.
JOHN COLLINS died in Coudersport Mar. 31, of consumption, age about 22.
JOHN M. COVEY died in Pennsylvania Hospital, Philadelphia, November 17, 1886. Born in Triangle, Broome County, NY on November 30, 1844. Parents moved to Iowa in 1846, where both died a year or two after, leaving John and his sister, Mrs. S. W. Baker, of Lymansville, to the care of relatives. The children soon returned to Broome County. From 1855 to 1861, John lived with Dan Baker at Lewisville and attended the Lewisville Academy. Was studious and when he left in 1861, was at the head of class and far in advance of any student of his age.
Returned to Broome County in 1861 and when the 89th NY Regiment was being organized, he enlisted while under 16 years of age. Was accepted through influence of the Colonel and officers, all of whom had been acquainted with him since childhood.
Served through the war part of the time as orderly to the Colonel and later on the staff of different officers. Participated in all the battles, in which his regiment engaged, but never was wounded.
In 1870 married Miss Elsie Ashley, of Upper Lisle, NY, who with three children survive him. They soon removed to Coudersport and opened the Baker House. Covey acted as deputy sheriff a greater part of the time for six years previous to 1877, when he was elected sheriff. For the past three years had been landlord of the Nichols House, leaving the house in October after his health failed.
John was in poor health most of last winter, but did not give up and seek medicine until last March. Then had best medical attention in this section. Was in Buffalo Hospital and about three weeks before death went to Philadelphia, where he was under care of best physicians.
Postmortem showed hardening of liver and spleen disease of heart, kidneys and other complications. Erysipelas hurried the work of disease.
Member of Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar, of Bradford; Senior Warden of Eulalia Lodge; member of A. F. Jones Post, G.A.R., First Asst. Foreman of Hook and Ladder Co., Past Dictator of Coudersport Knights of Honor. In the latter had $2,000 insurance, also $1,000 in Connecticut Mutual.
Funeral in Court House. Rev. Wright. Organizations attended in a body. Room filled. Masonic burial.
NANCY JONES CRITTENDEN died May 7th, 1880 at her residence in Marathon, Cortland Co., NY, , wife of LeRoy Crittenden, age 37. Was niece of late Capt. Arch F. Jones and was for many years a resident of Coudersport.
CORA CROSBY, daughter of A. H. and Clara Crosby, born in Odin, PA, May 18, 1878. Died at Buffalo Women’s Hospital, just before sunset June 30, 1900.
Dependent entirely on her own resources, she had entered the class of 1893 at Scranton College of Commerce, afterward employed in office of W. H. Sullivan. Then accepted a situation in Buffalo; contracted measles. Partly recovered, but relapsed. Had united with Austin Presbyterian Church and when that was broken up had not yet chosen another. Funeral held July 3rd in the little Odin Methodist Church; Rev. Torkington preached from Rev. 22, part of 3rd and 4th verse. Interment at Inez, the old "Homer Cemetery" where the dust of four generations of her kindred mingle to await the resurrection.
SUSAN CROSBY, wife of W. A. Crosby and daughter of Seth Taggart, died at her home in Coudersport of consumption, Tuesday evening, Aug. 15, 1876. Funeral in M. E. Church Thursday morning, at half past ten.
WILLIAM CROSBY died in Homer, July 13, 1867, age about 66 years.
WILLIAM H. CROSBY – A life long resident of Homer Township died suddenly Sunday night, March 20, 1919. Funeral April 3 in public hall at Inez. Burial in Homer cemetery. Was eldest son of Abel and Mary (Evans) Crosby and a grandson of William Crosby, one of the early settlers in Coudersport and afterwards in the settlement called South Woods, where he was born in December 1850.
Lived on the homestead where he was born. His wife, Miss Alda Quimby, has been dead several years, and his only son, Herbert with wife and three children has lived with him in the old home. Members of his father’s family surviving are: two brothers, Austin H. of Odin, and Fred O. of Emporium, with three sisters, Jessie (Mrs. O. L. Hall) of Astoria, Oregon; Lydia (Mrs. John Quimby) of Elmira; and Libbie (Mrs. O. A. Kilbourn) of Wellsboro.
A. B. CROWELL – Aged Man Stricken with Apoplexy and Found Dead in His Barn.
Alanson B. Crowell, aged 78 years, an old resident of Potter county and for many years a resident of this boro was found dead in his barn between half past 4 and 5 o’clock, Tuesday afternoon, Feb. 2, apoplexy being the cause.
Mr. Crowell had seemed much stronger and better yesterday than he had in some time before, and about 4 o’clock went out to feed his horses. He had fed them the hay and was at the bin getting the oats when he fell. He had been out of the house about a half hour when his wife looked out of the kitchen window and saw him lying on the floor. She went to him and found him still alive. He opened his eyes and looked at her but could not speak. She ran and brought stimulants but all to no avail, for he died almost immediately, even before Drs. Reese and Ellison, who had been summoned, could reach him.
Deceased was born in New York State Aug. 28, 1826, and moved to Potter county with his parents when he was about 15 years old. He has lived in this county since that time, though he did not take up his residence in this boro until he built and became the proprietor of the Hotel Crowell, now the Hotel Crittenden.
He is survived by his wife, two brothers, N. Crowell, of Ulysses, and D. J. Crowell, of Buffalo, two sisters, Mrs. C. C. Searles, of Ulysses and Mrs. C. H. Armstrong, of the boro.
The funeral will be held Friday at 2 o’clock p.m.
CHAUNCEY G. CUSHING died, born in Ithaca, Tompkins Co., Aug. 22, 1828. Baptized in Ulysses Baptist Church April 18th, 1841, at age of 12 yrs. 7 mos. and 20 days. Elected chorister Feb. 12, 1859. Acted as chorister 18 yrs. And 7 mos. Died at residence in Ulysses, Sept. 12, 1877 at 3 PM, age 49 yrs. 20 days.
His father, Lucas Cushing, born in Worcester, Otsego Co., NY and removed to Ithaca where he and wife united with the Baptist Church. Rev. A. Coit, of Wellsville preached the funeral sermon, in absence of the Ulysses pastor
HARVEY CUTLER died at his home in Harrison Valley, May 19, 1899 from complications of diseases. Born in Otsego County, NY, March 14, 1820. On January 10, 1844 he married Harriet Welchem and removed to a farm in Bingham Township in 1856, where they lived most of time until recently. He united with Baptist Church at North Bingham in 1859. Wife, one son, and two daughters survive. Both sons, Romine and Fone were in Civil War. Fone lived but 20 days after leaving home. Romine was wounded. He and Josie continue to live at home and give their parents all necessary attention. The eldest daughter, Mary, Mrs. A. A. Raymond, of Coudersport, could not attend her father’s funeral because of illness, which was held in Baptist Church at Harrison Valley, May 21st. Rev. Beaman spoke from 2 Timothy 4:7. Buried at North Bingham.
JAMES GILLIS DARTT was born in Charlotte Township, Tioga County, PA June 6, 1822, son of James and Mary (Gillis) Dartt, pioneers of that township. On March 23, 1843 he married Emily Tipple of Verona, Oneida Co., NY. Ten children were born to them: 1) Ella, wife of David Dockstetter of Charleston Township 2) David, deceased, 3) Clarinda, deceased wife of James K. Austin 4) Robert, physician of Bellefonte 5) Orville, farmer 6) Alice, wife of Edwin Winters of Charleston 7) Fannie, wife of James K. Austin, Charleston 8) Emily, wife of Vine Losey of Charleston 9) Effie, wife of Edward Fleitz, also of Charleston 10) Sadie, who lives at home. (Lineage numbers: 21414 – 6458 –8214 – 17907)
COL. JUSTUS DARTT, a soldier of the Revolutionary and after that a Colonel in the VT military, settled in what is now known as Dartt settlement, Charleston Township, Tioga, PA in 1811. (Co. come in 1815) In 1817 appointed Trustee of Wellsboro Academy. When he came he purchased 160 acres of land, built a cabin, settled in ? forest. Followed lumbering and farming. Died July 5, 1838, 81 years old. His wife, Hannah died Jan. 14, 1844, 86 years old. They were the founders of the Dartt family of Tioga and have numerous descendants.
His wife died – married again Matilda Sweet, 1837
ii Albert; Elenora; Hannah
Cyrus died 1883 in Wellsboro
G. W. DAVIDSON died, at his home in Addison, in 39th year.
CATHERINE ANN DEVINS died at her residence in Homer Township, Potter County, PA, January 18, 1897, age 47 years, five months, and three days.
STERLING DEVINS, another of Potter County’s pioneers is gone. Age nearly 80. Died May 23, 1907. Lived for many years at Cherry Spring in West Branch Township, and kept hotel there. Married Kate Kimball. She died about twenty five years ago. For some years Mr. Devins has been living on his farm on Moore’s Run in Homer Township. Lived alone part of the time. Had no children. Leaves a good and considerable personal property as well as a farm. Funeral at his home. Interment in Chase cemetery in Sweden. Schutt and Gillon, undertaker. Cause of death, apoplexy.
LOETTA DICKENSON died at Ellisburg, Feb. 14, 1877 of typhoid pneumonia, wife of Versel Dickenson. Early settler, for many years a resident of Coudersport.
WATSON T. DIKE – Tuesday morning, November 9, 1915, after months of suffering with cancer, Watson T. Dike died at the family home on Third Street, at the age of 65 years. Mr. Dike was first taken ill bout two years ago, his ailment becoming more serious about last December and he has been confined to his bed for the past four months. The deceased bore his sufferings with great patience and only gave up when compelled by the ravages of the disease.
Watson T. Dike was born in Coudersport April 15, 1850, and was the son of Nathan L. and Mary (Ives) Dike. His mother was the only child of Hon. Timothy and Maria (Andrews) ives, who were among the early residents of Coudersport. When Mr. Dike’s mother died about 63 years ago, the Court House bell, which had been given to the boro by Judge Ives was tolled for the first time, it then not having been placed in the tower, but mounted on blocks to permit the ringing. Therefore on Tuesday morning, after the demise of Mr. Dike, it was a fitting tribute, when the bell tolled 65 times to announce the passing of the last member of the Ives family.
Mr. Dike was married in 1873 to Mary Carey and to them were born two children, Mrs. Nellie Follette and Charles Dike. The deceased engaged in different business pursuits in Coudersport nearly all his life and for a few years was in a hotel in Roanoke, VA, until compelled to give up on account of ill health.
The funeral will be held at the family home tomorrow at 2:30 PM, Rev. D. A. Bloss of the Episcopal Church conducting the services.
JOHN DINGMAN died Aug. 6, 1878, at residence of his son Henry, in Hebron, age 91.
WILLIAM DINGMAN, an old and respected citizen of Coudersport, died August 4, 1894, age 61 years, 4 months, 4 days. Enlisted in Co. H, 46 Reg. PA Vols. And marched with Sherman who had achieved such grand and noble victories. In 12 large battles and one time under fire for 60 successive days. Wounded in one leg in front of Atlanta and while there suffered from chill fever, smallpox, and mumps. In June, 1865 was sent home, a wreck of his former self and has been great sufferer at intervals ever since. For nearly four years has been an invalid confined to his bed.
Born in Roulette and in 1857 married to Miss L. Brook of Hebron; lived in Coudersport 24 years. Member of Seventh Day Baptist Church. Funeral at M. E. Church, Rev. Dennis officiating. G.A.R. assisted in service at grave. Leaves wife and one son, Frank, of Coudersport, Mrs. C. Toles, Mrs. L. L.. Gridley, of Alfred, NY, Mrs. Ed Griesel and Mrs. P. R. Matteson, who was widowed a few months ago, and little Miss Jessie.
KARL AUGUST DOERNER died June 8, 1899 after long, lingering paralysis which destroyed both body and mind. Came to Coudersport in 1861. All children and wife present when he died. Julius, of Buffalo and Carl, of Coudersport are the sons. Mrs. J. W. Rogers, of Omaha, Nebraska, (Amelia); Mrs. Amos F. Hollenbeck, of Trinidad, Colorado, (Mathilde); Mrs. Arthur R. Buck, of Austin, (Laura); Mrs. U.B. Russell, Friendship, (Eda); Miss Nelda and Miss Fannie, of Coudersport.
Mr. Doerner was a native of Elberfeld, Prussia, born in 1826, came to America in 1847. Prominent in business circles here for many years. Of superior intelligence, engaging manners, and industrious habits. Funeral at residence; Revs. Marshall and Toensmier. Burial in Eulalia Cemetery.
DELOS DWIGHT, former resident of Allegany Township, Potter County, died in Britton, Marshall County, Dakota, August 23, 1888, in 82nd year. Left Potter County 28 years ago. He settled and cleared the old Dwight farm in Allegany Township. Well and favorably known throughout this county.
MARY DWIGHT (copied from the Dwight genealogy) Mary Dwight, (daughter of Israel Dwight of Windsor and Sally Porter), born July 4, 1817. Has spent her life since 1836 in teaching at different places in NY and PA. Those places were, in order: Windsor, NY; Coudersport; Kirkwood; Addison; and Colesville, three latter places being in NY; Harmony, PA; Hancock, NY; Abigton, PA; Corning and Binghamton, NY, up to year 1855. From 1855 to 1868 was principal and proprietor of a Young Ladies Seminary at Hornellsville, NY. She has taught in all, some 3,000 or more pupils. She was in 1872-73 a teacher in the Collegiate Institute at East Greenfresh, NY, near Albany. She is now (1874) residing in Corning, NY.
No one has been of more assistance to the author of the history of the descendants of JOHN DWIGHT of DEDHAM than has Miss Dwight, with generous, painstaking, and unabated earnestness and good will.
Her brother, Norman Dwight, born May 5, 1819, married January 1, 1855, widow Harriett Weaver, nee, Chamberlain, born in Angelica, NY, April 12, 1819 (daughter of Elijah Chamberlain and Jane Reynolds. She was for several years a teacher in Allegany, NY, between her marriages. He is a farmer in Hebron Township and is engaged in lumbering
A NOTABLE WOMAN – Miss Mary Dwight died at the home of her sister-in-law, Mrs. Alva Andrews, Sunday morning, November 18, 1906 in the 90th year of her age. She had suffered a slight stroke about two weeks before her death, but had partly rallied from it until the last twenty four hours. There was some hope that her strong constitution might again tide her over the danger, as in so many illnesses before, but during Saturday night she became decidedly weaker, and at ten Sunday morning, her suffering ceased.
Something more than the announcement of the death is due when such a life passes. In many respects, Miss Dwight was a remarkable woman. She was born in Windsor Township., Broome County, NY, and was one of the large, sturdy family of Dwights, several members of which have been well known in Potter county. Her brothers, John, Alonzo, Norman, and Orson were all residents of this county as was her sister, Mrs. Judd, and all are remembered as positive, sterling characters. They were of the noble, New England stock of Dwights to which belonged President Timothy Dwight of Yale College, the two Theodore Dwights, and others whose names are illustrious as authors, missionaries, and teachers.
Miss Mary always manifested great pride in her name and lineage and few have better ground for pride. Her own tastes were literary and she availed herself of the best advantages of her time for education, studying in an excellent seminary in Binghamton, NY, and after she became a teacher, spending her vacations in Boston and other places where summer schools began to afford teachers opportunity for further culture.
Miss Dwight taught extensively in Potter county, but her best years had been given to her work in Hornellsville, NY, where she had a large private school and where she is still honored and loved by leading citizens.
Miss Dwight was of the "old school" both as to manners and morals; she could no more tolerate the flippancy and self assertion of young Americanism that she could forgive deceitfulness or any form of untruth. Those who knew her best were always conscious of genuineness and a loftiness of nature that no weakness of age could obscure, and as for the writer, this life long sense of Miss Dwight’s nobility was intensified by her face in death. Other faces have been as peaceful, but in this, all the dross seemed to have been refined away. The repose was not simply from the cessation of suffering, it was the look of dignity—I might almost say of majesty that is only born of victory and I turned from the casket on which fittingly lay great white chrysanthemums, saying to myself, "Miss Dwight has come to her inheritance." Potter County Journal.
NORMAN DWIGHT died at his home in Hebron Township, Thursday morning, February 4, 1886, in 57th year of age. Born May 5, 1819 in Windsor, Broome County, NY. Came to Potter about 1848 and remained here since, living until a few years past upon his farm in Hebron.
By untiring industry he amassed quite a fortune, the full enjoyment of which his sudden and painful death has unexpectedly defeated. He was one of a family of sixteen, five of whom are still living.
Funeral services attended by large congregation of old friends and neighbors on Saturday and burial occurred at Oswayo in afternoon of same day. Rev. Chas. H. Dodd officiated.
Mr. Dwight’s illness was caused by a train of unfortunate circumstances which culminated in a violent attack of pneumonia. His death followed in eight days after. It is believed the fatality of the disease was the indirect result of the blow which he received upon the breast by a falling tree a few weeks before his death. Subsequent exposure and protracted attention to his sick ward induced a weakened state of the system which finally culminated in the attack of pneumonia.
The deceased was widely respected for uprightness of character, genial and social virtues and sterling business integrity. His death leaves his place in the community unfilled. His suddenly stricken widow ill receive the deepest sympathy of all who know her.
MRS. VESTA C. DYKE died at her residence in this boro, on Friday evening last, June 21st, age 52 yrs. She was a sister of Dr. Amos French and came to Coudersport to live with him about 35 yrs. ago. About 20 years ago she entered the office of the Potter Journal and continued as an employee until about 1867, when in company with the present publisher of this paper (Wm. Thompson, Enterprise) she purchased the Journal. The partnership continued over three years, then Mrs. Dyke purchased the interest of the retiring partner, assumed entire control and management, continuing about two yrs. By her ability, untiring energy she made it a financial success. She sold the office to its present proprietor.
She entered the Enterprise office as a compositor when the paper was first started and continued until last Jan. when failing health compelled her to give up steady work.
She possessed more than ordinary ability, which coupled with great industry and frugality enabled her to acquire a fine property, which she left to her sadly bereaved daughter, Eva D. In her death our community has lost an excellent neighbor and citizen. In sickness Mrs. Dyke was always ready and anxious to lend a helping hand. She always sympathized with those in distress, and so far as she was able, ministered freely to their wants.
The deceased was a great sufferer for several weeks and not with standing the care of friends and neighbors and all that medical skill could do, received but little relief until death came. Her death causes great sorrow in our community, and she will be long and sincerely mourned. (She died June 21, 1878)
WALTER EDGCOMB died Friday morning, September 26, 1902, on Ayers Hill, after suffering in an unusual degree from cancer. Born at Ayers Hill, 1835. Edgcombs were a band of early settlers who settled in Homer Township. Walter and his elder brother, Harrison, were born there. Harrison died there some time ago, while his wife, Emma, now resides in Austin with her daughter, Mrs. Hopkins, in Snow Shoe.
Walter Edgcomb is survived by his wife, Mary Lathrop Edgcomb, and a daughter, Mrs. John Bloomer.
Mr. Edgcomb was at one time quite a large property owner in Austin, a large dwelling house on present site of Catholic Church was owned by him and was blown up by dynamite to start the great Turner Street fire, five years ago.
The Edgcomb house on Ayers Hill was noted for its hospitable entertainment and lost none of its prestige during Walter’s ownership as long as such accommodations were needed. Citizens of the present day cannot realize such a place as "Edgcombs" was 40 or 50 years ago. Asylum Peters, the little Negro slave of Mr. Braveau, the first colored person to live in the county, after growing to manhood, left Mr. Ayers (Major Lyman) and lived with Mr. Edgcomb until his death a few years ago. (First lived with Jonathan Edgcomb, Walter’s father). He had become the owner of considerable land and a property. Walter Edgcomb was noted for his integrity and kind actions. His word once given was sacred and he was respected accordingly. People acquainted with him will join in condolence to his amiable family and say, "Well done, thou good and faithful man." E.O.A.
ADELAIDE ERNST died March 17, 1876 at the home of her father in this boro, Coudersport, after an illness of nearly a year, wife of Frederick Ernst, and daughter of Edward Forster.
BENJAMIN EVERETT Sr. died in Portage Feb. 22, 1877, age about 70.
MRS. JOHN GOTLIEB FICKLER – For over a third of a century was resident of Coudersport died peacefully and painlessly at 10 a.m., Saturday, April 7, 1900; old age and dropsy. Suffered from the disease for last year, but her indomitable pluck and perseverance enabled her to keep about nearly all the time. Was in bed only two days. Was a wonderful, strong, active, industrious woman. Born in Germany in 1821; in company with husband came to this country in 1854; settled in Homer Township; came from there to this place about 35 years ago? Mother of eight children. Only two survive. Mrs. Harrison Lilly and Edward J. Fickler, both of Coudersport. Survived by husband, 85. Although eccentric in some ways, was a good kindhearted woman. Buried in Homer Cemetery. Member and regular attendant of Lutheran Church.
Journal: Mrs. Dorothy Fickler, wife of John Gottlieb Fickler, died at her home on corner of East and Maple Streets where has lived last 35 years, April 7th in the morning. Born in Oldenburg, Germany, in 1821; came to America with her husband and three children in 1853. Mother of eight children; her husband, now 85 years of age and two children survive her. Ed Fickler, as he is familiarly called, and Mrs. Harrison Lilly, both of Coudersport. Funeral in Lutheran Church; Rev. Stetler. She was a member of this church.
She had many distinguishing characteristics; of these were liberality, kindness, and unselfishness. Lived a very humble and plain life, denying herself many luxuries for pleasure of giving to others. Always ready and willing to lend a helping hand. Laid beside her children in the pretty cemetery in Homer. She was tired and ready to go, but we shall miss her.
MRS. XAVIER FLESHUTZ died at her home in Coudersport July 31, 1894, after long and painful illness. Age 60 years, 4 months. Born at Kempton, Bavaria, Germany, March 31, 1834; maiden name Geigher. In 1853 married to Xavier Fleschutz, at Paris, France. Soon after sailed for America. After long and tedious voyage arrived at New York, making it their home for number of years. Afterwards moved to Egg Harbor, NJ, then to Roulette, and in 1883 to Coudersport. Leaves husband and four children, three daughters and a son. Funeral at the home on Ross Street, August 2nd at 2 PM. Rev. C. T. Edwards.
EDWARD FORSTER died at his residence in Coudersport, April 9, 1891. Mr. Forster was born in Kammitz, Bohemia, Austria, December 3, 1821, where he was brought up and educated. In younger years was under the business influence of his father who planted the business ability and regularity in him which clung to him all his life.
He conducted business successfully in his native home until he came to this country in May, 1865, choosing Coudersport for his future home. Having no knowledge of the English language, he decided to settle on a farm where he spent two hard years.
Not being accustomed to that kind of labor he left farming and went to Baltimore, MD, December 3, 1867, where he engaged in a small business. But owing to the ill health of his wife, he decided to return to Coudersport, where his wife, who was a true and affectionate mother and was a long and patient sufferer, died September 16, 1870.
August 11, 1869 he entered into the grocery business, in which success followed him until the disastrous fire of May 1880.
It may be said that Mr. Forster was the pioneer of the grocery business in Coudersport. After the fire he retired from business, but at the same time doing his share in rebuilding the burned district, by erecting two fine brick stores, now occupied by Joseph E. Forster and S. Deiches.
But being of an untiring business nature he was not contented with a retired life, and decided to handle dry goods. On April 2nd, 1884 he opened a store which he carried on successfully until January 26, 1889, when he was compelled to retire from business on account of failing health, which had been gradual until death relieved him from his earthly labors.
He leaves a wife, two sons and four daughters who deeply mourn the loss of a good father. The funeral was conducted from his residence, attended by a large number of friends.
EDWARD FRANKE, an aged and respected resident of Sweden Hill died March 26, 1900 of pneumonia, after illness of four days. About 80 years of age. Native of Saxon Aldenburg, Germany, with his father came to this country fifty years ago. When young learned trade of locksmith; as there was more land than opportunity for his trade, he bought a piece of land in Sweden Township and built a log house. By thrift and industry, characteristic of the German race, he soon had a fine farm.
After coming to this country he married a lady of his own nationality, named Ernst, who survives; three children: Ferdinand, who occupies the homestead, Edward, who lives on an adjoining farm, and Mary, now Mrs. Huff of Ladona. Funeral at Sweden Hill schoolhouse today, March 28th, Rev. Ball, of Brookland. On the day of his death a son was born to his son, Fred. (Journal)
Written by one of his admirers in Sweden: Died March 26th, 1900; ill three days with pneumonia. Born July 20, 1821, in Saxon, Germany; In 1840 came to this country with father, brother, and sister. At once bought piece of land in Sweden and built log house. Endured hardships of early settlers. Peace loving, sober, industrious, and honest; won respect of his neighbors, associates and school mates. (?) Friends say he had not an enemy in the world. Did business over 50 years; not once did he sue a man. September 27, 1856, married Miss Catherine Ernst; three children; Mary, now Mrs. Huff, of Ladona, Edward C. and Fred W. Funeral, Wednesday, March 28th, Rev. W. Howells, of Brookland.
JAMES FREELAND – Pioneer settler of the town of Allegany, Cattaraugus County, NY, died at his home in that place, February 24, 1895, age 84 years, 9 months, 23 days. Born in the town of Caroline, Tompkins county, NY, May 11, 1810. On May 23, 1833 married Lucinda Norwood of Caroline, daughter of Jonathan Norwood. In 1836, with wife and two children moved into Cattaraugus County, settled upon uncultivated land about one mile west of Allegany, which at that time was called Burton. Lands were covered with pine and hemlock. The pine was worked into shingles and square timber and in the spring floated down the river to Pittsburgh. Mr. Freeland was an expert raftsman.
DR. AMOS FRENCH died May 15th in 79th year. Citizen of Coudersport 48 years. Came to Coudersport when 38 years old. Born at Chester, Hampshire County, Mass., April 7, 1808. When very young his father moved to Ontario County, NY and later to Allegany County, NY. There at age of 17 Amos was apprenticed to the mason trade. Helped to build first seminary building at Lima (?), an educational institution under control of M. E. Church. Professed religion at 23. Became communicant of above church. Two years following married Miss Sabra French of West Bloomfield, NY. Through her advice he entered the drug business of Dr. Richard Charles, of Angelica, as a pupil in medicine. Continued there three years when he was examined and granted a diploma by the Allegany County Medical Association, of which Dr. Charles was president.
At once removed his family to Coudersport, summer of 1838. Rode day and night over a 40 mile territory in every direction. Mrs. French took charge of the village school; Sobieski Ross and Lafayette Cartee were among her pupils.
During his last illness, last January he related the following: "I was once called to Cameron County to attend a patient for whom Dr. Darling had been originally summoned, but could not come. A dangerous operation upon one limb was to be performed. Nothing could be procured to do it with but a sash saw. The young man placed on a table and the limb taken off. A young man, a stranger to me, was standing by, and seemed very handy in the assistance he rendered. I remember the patient submitted to the operation bravely. The bone was sawed off twice. Years after, Dr. Freeman, of Smethport, visited me and told me he was the young man who assisted in the operation.
I was once called to attend a Mrs. Coleman who was very sick. After several visits Judge Sartwell went to the house and asked who was attending the lady. "Dr. French," was the reply. He got them dissatisfied and they called Dr. McCoy. When I again visited my patient and learned the situation I asked the friends of Mrs. Coleman if Dr. McCoy was a mason. Their reply was, "Yes, a good one." I then related that when we were young men together Dr. McCoy had carried hod for me while I was still working at my trade and said. Then I said, "Now take your choice, turn off the mason and take the tender if you choose." I was retained and the woman got well." C. H. Dodd
MRS. ELIZABETH FRENCH – The remains of Mrs. Elizabeth French who died at Warren, Thursday, August 15, 1912, arrived in Coudersport last Friday and were placed in the undertaking rooms of Schutt and Gillon. On Saturday morning a brief service was held in Eulalia Chapel by Rev. J. P. Leffer and interment made in Eulalia Cemetery.
Mrs. French whose maiden name was Elizabeth Shaffer was born March 15, 1828 at Sinnemahoning, PA. In 1853 she was united in marriage by Rev. Adam Haughenberry in Clearfield where they made their home for some time. Mr. Haughenberry died in 1855. This union was blest by one child, J. Lorraine who grew to manhood and died in 1902. In 1869 the deceased was married to Dr. Amos French and made her home in Coudersport for many years. To them was born one son, Frank French of Coudersport. In 1885 Mrs. French showed signs of mental derangement and it was necessary to have her taken to Warren where she has remained except on one or two occasions when she visited here and at Sinnemahoning.
MRS. SABRA FRENCH, wife of Dr. Amos French, died in Coudersport, evening of June 7th, in 54th yr.
ISAAC FRINK died July 6, 1887 after four days’ illness. Lived in Hebron Township. Born in Susquehanna County in 1812; came to Potter about 50 years ago. Settled near Andrews Settlement. About 35 years ago located on farm where he died. Leaves wife and five children.
MRS. ELIZABETH FULLER, SEVENTY THREE, SCHUYLER RELATIVE DIES
April 30, 1945: Mrs. Elizabeth A. S. Fuller, 73, of 2317 Ashmead Place, Washington, DC, died at her home after a long illness. She was the wife of Thomas J. D. Fuller, retired architect, and had resided in the District fifty three years.
She was born Elizabeth Ashmead Schaeffer, daughter of Charles Ashmead Schaeffer, dean of Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. Her grandfather, George Washington Schuyler, first treasurer and founder of the university, was a descendant of Philip Pieterse Van Schuyler, Revolutionary general, early United States Senator and political associate of Alexander Hamilton. She was graduated from Wells College, Aurora, NY.
In addition to her husband, Mrs. Fuller leaves two sons, Thomas J. D. Fuller, Jr., of Cambridge, Mass., And Col. Charles Ashmead Fuller, of Washington, DC and a grandson, S. Sgt. Charles Ashmead Fuller, Jr., serving in Germany with the First Army Infantry.
Private funeral services will be held at 2 PM tomorrow at the Oak Hill Cemetery chapel and burial will follow at Oak Hill Cemetery.
(Miss Katherine Swanson, of Coudersport, PA, married Charles Ashmead Fuller, Jr., on Saturday afternoon, May 6th, 1944 at home of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. Leon Swanson.)
MRS. T. J. GILBERT – Rose (Koon) Gilbert, born December 18, 1851 in Livingston County, NY, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Harrison Koon. Married T. Joseph Gilbert, June 4, 1875, at Coudersport. In August, 1907, she came to Andover with her husband, when he assumed the foremanship of the Andover News, and was resident there for nearly twenty years.
Six years ago suffered paralytic stroke and has been a semi-invalid. Devoted member of Baptist Church.
For past three and one half years, she with her husband had bee a resident of the I.O.O.F. Grand Lodge Home at Ithaca, NY, and she died there on Saturday morning, July 26, 1930. She died after a short illness of five days. Of her immediate family, she is survived by her husband, T. Joseph Gilbert, of Ithaca; one daughter, Mrs. Eloise Wellington, of Machias, NY; a grandson and two granddaughters; one sister, Mrs. Elizabeth Kimball, of Roulette, PA.
Prayer service at Ithaca and body brought to Andover where funeral held in Baptist Church, Rev. W. L. Greene. Buried in Valley Brook Cemetery.
Out of town relatives and friends in attendance at funeral: Mrs. R. D. Wellington and son, V. D. Wellington, of Machias, NY; Charles Cole and Mrs. W. B. Cole, of Coudersport.
JAMES GILLILAND died July 30, 1900 of bronchitis. Lived near Andrews Settlement. Born in Cuba, NY 73 years ago. 47 years ago married the wife at Oswayo who survives him. Her maiden name was Azuba Gale; settled on the farm where he died. Became ill last November. Following children survive: Charles, of Jersey City; William and Hudson who live near Andrews Settlement, and Mrs. Jane Wescott of Coudersport Buried in Andrews Settlement August 1.
JONATHAN GLACE died Friday morning, December 23, 1887, of Lymansville, age about 70 years. One of oldest residents, having lived here about forty years. Leaves wife and several grown children. Funeral from residence on Christmas Day.
CAROLINE MILLS GLASSMIRE, wife of D. F. Glassmire died in at home in Coudersport Nov. 18, 1880, 56 yrs., 9 mos., 19 days.
DANIEL FAYGAR GLASSMIRE (Obituary Blank filled out for the Enterprise, Coudersport, PA) Residence: Coudersport RD (Austin Rd.); Day of Death: September 1, 1949 Disease: Heart attack; How long ill: Sudden Where born: Coudersport, PA; When: September 17, 1884 Name of parents: Daniel F. Glassmire & Sophia Haven Married to whom: Jeanette Schuhmacher; Where: Wellsboro, PA Former places of residence: Mainly Potter County; Business followed: Farming How many children born: 7; Names and residences of children living: Jeanette Glassmire, NY City; Daniel F., Richland, Wash.; Eloise Cleaves, Coudersport, PA; John Glassmire, Crossville, IL; Walter Glassmire, Kansas; Lewis Glassmire, Coudersport; Frederick Glassmire, Crossville, IL Brothers and sisters surviving, with names and residences: Harry Martin Glassmire, Buffalo, NY Member of what church: Episcopal; What lodge: Potter County Historical Society, Masonic, Grange Date of funeral: September 4, 1949; Where: Shutt Funeral Home Minister: Rev. John C. Moore; Interment, where: Eulalia
NATHANIEL MILLS GLASSMIRE died in Coudersport June 12, 1899 of Brights Disease, age 54. Born at Pottsville, June 20, 1845; came to Potter County in 1851 with his parents Daniel Faygar and Caroline (Mills) Glassmire, one brother, Daniel Faygar, and one sister, Rebecca. Lived a few years at Colesburg and settled in Coudersport.
Nathaniel lived for a short time in Wellsboro where he met and married his wife, Georgia Leib and where their infant children were buried.
For many years proprietor of the Glassmire House in Coudersport. Member of Knights of Honor and of Maccabees. His wife, an adopted daughter, Ada, and one sister, Mrs. Rebecca Stebbins, survive. Funeral at residence on Allegany Avenue. Rev. W. H. Reese, M. E. Church. Remains taken to Wellsboro on June 14th for burial beside his children.
Noted for his jovial and whole solid disposition and of many distinguishing traits of character. Many kind deeds will be long remembered.
MARY GORDNIER, JENNIE H. CROSBY, LIZZIE HATFIELD
Mary Gordnier died Oct. 27, 1865 of scarletina, Mary, youngest daughter of W. B. And E. R Gordnier, of Coudersport.
Jennie H. Crosby -Same place, Nov. 5, 1865, Jennie H. daughter of Orson and Chloe Crosby, 3 yr. 5 mo. 2 day.
Lizzie Hatfield - Same place, Nov. 4th, 1865, Lizzie, daughter of Theodore and Aurelia Hatfield, age 1 yr. 9 mo. 26 days. The children above were cousins and grandchildren of A. S Armstrong.
WALTER B. GORDNIER died at his home June 16, 1892, age 65-9-22 days. Born in Covert, Seneca County, NY, son of Thomas Gordnier.
Brought up on farm; educated in common schools. At 21 engaged in peddling jewelry for some years. Took up joiners trade at Trumansburg, NY, Tompkins County. In 1851 came to Coudersport and engaged as Eli Rees as foreman of the joiners’ work on the court house. Continued with Mr. Rees for five years.
In 1854 married Lydia R. Armstrong. 1864 moved to Titusville, PA and embarked in oil business; was first to build up Pit Hole City. When this city collapsed, came back to Coudersport and commenced business, starting a machine shop, foundry, steam saw mill, etc.
Active in having wells drilled near Coudersport testing for oil and gas. Was outspoken and independent. Original in thought; unyielding in opinion.
J. CLARK GREEN died on Sunday morning, June 5, 1898 at home of his father on Fifth Street, Peter Green. Youngest son of Peter and Mary Judd Green; born in Hebron Township, November 9, 1868. Greater part of life spent near childhood home. Spent some time in Illinois and Ohio. Returned four years ago. Was for some time manager of the Café on Main Street, until health became so poor that his physician devised a change. Last fall went south, but consumption had firm hold on him and was advised to return home.
One of five children, three of whom, with their father, survive: J. Higley Green, Cross Fork; P. J. Green, Olean; Mrs. Eva Towner, of Towanda. Member of Knights of Phythias, of Painesville, Ohio, and of Minnewaski Tribe, I.O.R.M. under whose auspices funeral will be held at family home, at 2 p.m., June 8th. Rev. E. S. Toensmeier.
MRS. J. H. GREEN died Apr. 9, 1877, of consumption, at W. H. Hydorn’s in Hebron, daughter of W. H.Hydorn, age 39 yrs. 11 mos. 2 days.
MRS. PETER GREEN, daughter of George Washington G. Judd, of Allegany Township. News received Monday, November 21, 1887 of her death.
MRS. BETSEY ANN GREENE died at her home on Fishing Creek, September 3rd of complication of diseases, 1895. In 55th year. Born in Ontario, Wayne County, NY. Her father, Rev. Horace Maltby moved from there to Tompkins County when she was small and from there to Candor, NY where she spent most of childhood. Father in lumber business. Built sawmill on Shendagon Creek. Moved to Potter in 1856 on to the Maltby homestead on Fishing Creek, then almost a wilderness. She taught school on Fishing Creek at age of 14. Attended the Coudersport Academy and became a successful teacher. Taught 18 terms.
In February, 1861 married B. A. Greene, a native of Delaware County, NY and following spring began housekeeping on his farm, a small clearing. Lived here until October 1861 when he enlisted in 88th P.V.I. She returned to teaching and taught until his return in spring of 1866 (1865?). Three children born to them and one adopted. All are married and respectable.
Woman of marked intellectual ability, earnest worker in cause of suffrage. She died as she had lived, agnostic unbelief, submitting to the decree of fate without a murmur and willing to abide by the laws of nature and to take her chances with the rest of the human family. Peace and respect be with her memory. (B.A.)
MRS. JAMES R. GREENMAN died at her home in Hebron, August, 1893, of apoplexy, which occurred July 20, since which time she was mostly unconscious. Funeral held at Lamont schoolhouse, August 11; largely attended. Rev. H. P. Burdick conducted services.
Fannie Babcock was born at Independence, NY, November 4, 1826. Parents moved to Little Genesee when she was a child; there her mother died when she was 14, leaving her with care of younger brothers and sisters.
Married to Mr. Greenman April 26, 1856 and came to Hebron the following June. Became a member of the Little Genesee Seventh Day Baptist Church when a young girl, and has ever been an enthusiastic church worker there and in the First Church of Hebron, which she joined after coming here. Also, in the Hebron Center Church of which she became a member at the time of its organization in 1871.
Advised against use of tobacco and strong drink. Her ministrations in the sick room will be missed in many homes.
When she came here she brought with her roots and seeds to beautify the new home and they have always been given freely to brighten other homes.
JESSE M. GREENMAN – Another of Potter County’s heroes has passed away. Jesse M. Greenman died in Hebron December 18th in the 83rd year of his age. Born in Town of Stephenson, Rensselaer county, NY, February 23, 1796, and moved into Hebron, Potter County, PA, 48 years ago. He lived about two years on the lot now owned by Chas. Gorham. In December 1832, he contracted for one hundred acres of unimproved farming land, where he made it his home till he died. He built a log cabin and moved on to the land the same month. Raised a family of seven children, four boys and three girls, and cleared up fifty acres of land at the same time. Gave liberally to support of the church and gave time and money to the Temperance and the antislavery causes.
IN 1836 he helped organize the first Seventh Day Baptist Church of Potter County; was one of the charter members, and faithful and energetic in its support. Was a pledged Temperance man from the day he moved into the County to the day of his death.
The next year after he came to this County, in 1831, he was one of the men who pledged the whole of Crandall Hill Settlement to Nelson Clark to help raise his sawmill without whiskey. The pledge was kept and the mill was raised without whiskey; but, we are sorry to say, Coudersport and Lymansville furnished no aid to Mr. Clark in his noble work.
Mr. Greenman gave up the management of his farm to his sons several years ago, but continued to look after his orchard and a fruit garden with great success until August last, since which time he has been a great sufferer from a disease of the heart, preventing him from lying down, except twice, for a half hour each time.
We have been intimately acquainted with Mr. Greenman since 1841 and we count it a great privilege to have associated with so true and steadfast an advocate of the right. (J. S. Mann)
SILAS S. GREENMAN died at residence of his brother-in-law, G. W. Stillman, in Hebron Twp. April 29, 1875, after a lingering illness, age about 36.
WILLIAM R. GREENMAN died November 2, 1888. Son of Jesse M. and Elizabeth R. Greenman, who were among the early settlers of this county. Born January 11, 1834 in Hebron Township, Potter County, PA. Died at the home of his birth where he had always lived. Often said the time when he ought to have been in school was spent in providing necessaries for the family. When he was twelve, he gave his heart to Christ and joined the Seventh Day Baptist Church of Hebron.
February 20, 1858 married Harriet A. Lent who survives him. One son and two daughters. Man of few words and careful judgment. In addition to his labors as farmer and lumberman, he was almost constantly in the service in the town which he lived, being looked upon as a leader. Was elected commissioner in 1879. The day before he died he worked in the field until four o’clock, became tired, went to house and rested, then did his chores. Restless until midnight, then seemed to rest well. Arose at six and was persuaded by wife to rest till breakfast was ready. In about five minutes she saw him roll toward front of bed and went to him. He was unconscious and died almost immediately.
Funeral at the home, November 4, by Rev. Jared Kenyon, of Independence, NY. Text, James 4:14, "What is Your Life?"
ADNA A. GRIDLEY of Lewisville died Wednesday, July 4, 1894 at home of his son, H. A. Gridley in 92nd year. Had lived several years with his son-in-law, the late Don C. Larrabee. While visiting their daughter, Mrs. Mary J. Larrabee, in Coudersport, Mrs. Gridley was taken ill and died of pneumonia on May 31, 1891.
Gridley family among earliest settlers in New England. Jeremiah Gridley was called the father of Boston Bar. Thomas Gridley, grandfather of Adna, owned large tract of land in Farmington, but was impoverished by ravages of the Revolution. Thomas, father of Adna, enlisted when quite young and served till close of War. Part of time at headquarters of George Washington, where he was a general favorite.
Adna born May 12, 1803 at Farmington. When seven his father sold his property at Farmington and bought quite a large tract at Candor, Tioga County, NY. Here Adna spent nearly forty years. Had little opportunity to attend school, but with true Yankee aptitude, drew instruction for every source. Elected Town Clerk soon after reaching majority and held it as long as he wanted to. Was Justice of Peace. In 1830 married and lived on homestead with his father who was blind. On death of his father 17 years later he removed to Ulysses and settled on the farm, purchased from the late A. G. Lewis, on which a portion of the village of Lewisville was built. His family, wife, and seven children were welcome. His home became the center of refined social influences which were felt throughout the region. He was a skillful hunter.
LAURA E. GRIDLEY died May 19, 1900, born July 25, 1861. Second daughter of William and Mary Dingman. Most of early life spent in Coudersport November 3, 1880 married Loren L. Gridley and went to Alfred, NY where she lived till time of death. Leaves husband, four sisters; Mrs. C. J. Toles, Mrs. Edward Griesel, Mrs. May Bell Mattison, and Jessie Dingman, one brother, Frank, all of Coudersport; also her mother.
Funeral in Second Alfred Church of which she was a member, May 22, 1900.
MARTIN L. GRIDLEY died at his home, south west corner Mill and Second Streets, Sunday PM, about 3 o’clock, November 12, 1899, of cancer of stomach. Dr. Roswell Park, of Buffalo, called about two weeks ago and operation decided upon; but Mr. Gridley too weak to undergo the terrible ordeal.
Was son of Adna A. and Rodentha Gridley. Was born in Tioga County, NY, 1842. When six years old parents moved to farm in what is now boro of Lewisville; at that time only one house in sight from Gridley homestead. Here he grew to manhood. Having been appointed deputy sheriff he came to Coudersport in the early sixties. In 1863 enlisted in Co. F, 12th PA Cavalry, and served until 1865. Was with troops that laid waste the Shenandoah Valley at Battle of Berryville was wounded in head with shell.
In 1871 became proprietor of Coudersport Hotel, which afterwards burned. Later was proprietor of the Baker House, now the Van Buren House.
In 1882 he went into the flour and feed business. Last winter his store on the corner of First and Main Streets was destroyed by fire and a fine new brick building is now in construction on its site.
Mr. Gridley married Orrel Nelson, daughter of Judge Lyman Nelson, who survives him. Also one brother, Henry A. Gridley, Ulysses; Three sisters, Mrs. Sarah E. Lewis, widow of Seth Lewis, of Lewisville; Mrs. Burton Lewis, father of W. I. Lewis; and Mrs. Mary E. Larrabee, widow of D. C. Larrabee.
Was a prominent Mason of high degree; member of G.A.R. And of Coudersport Hose Company. Funeral, conducted by Knights Templar was held from late residence on November 15th and attended by many.
MRS. JOHN GROM died at her home on Second Street, April 17, 1898. Widow of John Grom. (Mrs. Katherine Grom). In 79th year. Leaves six children, all adults: Joseph, John, and Fred; Mrs. Karl Zimmerman, Mrs. Mary Lindsey, of Lockport, and Mrs. Theresa Matteson, Ladona. Buried in Eulalia Cemetery April 19th.
MRS. JOHN R. GROVES (CHARLOTTE) died Saturday, February 19, 1921. Funeral services at Presbyterian Church, Monday PM. The G.A.R. of which her late husband was a member attended in a body, as did the W.C.T.U. of which she was a charter member, a leader and a tireless worker.
Dr. Donehoo took for his text, second verse of 127th Psalm, "He Giveth His Beloved Sleep." Spoke of her sweet resignation to answer the last call as often expressed by her self during last illness. Was faithful member of Presbyterian Church. Burial in Eulalia Cemetery.
Charlotte E. Dowse was born at Brookfield, NY, March 20, 1844. Married John R. Groves December 4, 1873, three years after she was graduated from Alfred University, during which period Miss Dowse was teacher of languages in the University, while Mr. Groves was teacher of Mathematics in the same institution.
They came to Coudersport in 1875, Mr. Groves having been elected Principal of the Graded School here. While her husband was engaged in that work, Mrs. Groves devoted her spare time to tutoring students in language.
Perhaps no other person in this community exerted a greater influence in favor of college training than did Mrs. Groves, and her own children took the lead in acquiring a college education. With all her family cares, Mrs. G. found time to enter with fervent spirit into many activities, church Sunday school, missionary, and temperance; in fact her life was consecrated to the betterment of her race, her influence exerted in every worthy cause and her life devoted to service. Words fail us to fully convey our admiration of her nobility of character, her scholarly attainments, and her devotion to truth and right. We mourn her as a loyal friend, a model of literary excellence, and a coadjutor in every good cause.
Leaves to survive her (having lost a husband, one son and two daughters) four sons and one daughter: John D., Division Engineer for Board of Water Supply, NY City, stationed at Gibson, NY; James M., Industrial Secretary, Y.M.C.A., New Haven, CT and lecturer on Industrial Relations at Yale University; Mary M. G. Hansen, of Chico, CA; Robert L., Society for Savings, Cleveland; H. Lawrence, trade commissioner, U. S. Department of Commerce, now in Europe.
WILLIAM PARKHILL GROVES – February 14, 1917, the death of William Parkhill Groves brings to mind the club of young boys organized by Mrs. James L. Knox in 1896, known as the Excelsior Chautauqua Young Folks’ Reading Union. There were eighteen boys in the organization and the death of Mr. Groves is the first of the number. All but one or two are now married and have grown to be useful men in the business interests of their communities and although scattered, have personal ties that bring them back home.
The first officers of the society were: Major Seibert, president; Raymond Dieffenbacher, Vice-president; DeForest Scoville, secretary; William Groves, treasurer.
The members of the society were: William Groves, Almon Grave, Carlton Grave, Clarence Kiehle, Deforest Scoville, Robert K. McConeghy, Walter Joerg, Major S. Seibert, Raymond Dieffenbacher, Don Rounseville, Louis Faulkner, William C. Rennells, Guy O. Crosby, Rathbone A. Knox, Scott Sterner, lee Horton, Fay Glassmire, Arch Lyon, Robert Quick, James Quick.
William was one of the most earnest and conscientious workers in the little band and never failed to be present at a meeting. His appreciation of the work of Mrs. Knox was doing for the boys and his evident enjoyment of it, was characteristic of his thoughtfulness for the others, among he stood as an exemplary member.
Another obit: February 14, 1917 – William Parkhill Groves was born in Coudersport, December 26, 1882. Was never married. Since he was 21 has been afflicted with epilepsy which finally proved fatal. He traveled four times to the Rocky Mountains and twice to the coast for the sake of the out doors and worked a farm on Baker Creek with the same object in view, hoping to baffle the foe to health. Funeral services in Presbyterian church. Rev. Donehoo officiating.
GUSTAVE GUENTHER died at his home on South Hill Sunday at 11 a.m., September 9, 1900. Heart trouble; survived by wife and sons: Albert, Arlo, Clarence, and Carl. Age about 49. Came to this country in 1868; married Delia Breunle seventeen years ago. Funeral Tuesday in Lutheran Church.
DENNIS HALL – On Saturday, July 6, 1912, Dennis Hall, a well known pioneer of this county passed away at the Warren Asylum, where he had been for the past twenty three years. Remains were brought for burial in the Homer Cemetery, located on the farm which Mr. Hall cleared and resided on for many years. He was one of the first settlers in the part of Homer Township, known as South woods, where he reared a family and became a prosperous farmer.
About 1872, Mr. Hall went to Emporium and embarked in business in that new town, but a serious sunstroke, added to grief over the death of his oldest and of his youngest sons, finally dethroned his reason, and required his care in the asylum. He was quite violent for several years but of late has been feeble and quiet, dying at the age of 86.
Mr. Hall was the youngest of the children of Dennis Hall, an early resident of Coudersport; David T. hall, Maria, wife of Judge Lyman Nelson, Louisa, wife of Daniel Clark, Laverna, wife of Dennis Cheesbro, and Eunice, unmarried, constituted the family, all now dead.
Funeral services held at residence of O. L. Hall on South East Street, Coudersport, Tuesday, July 9th at 2 o’clock. Rev. Geo. P. Donehoo officiating.
ORANGE LEWIS HALL – An Old Resident of Potter County Dies in His New Home in Eugene, Oregon.
After a long and painful illness and an operation that disclosed the utter hopelessness of the case, Orange Lewis Hall entered into rest in the seventy first year of his life.
He stood the operation well and after a few days in the hospital went home to await the end which many cancers on the lower bowels made inevitable.
On September 6th, 1911 his feet which had trod many States entered the path that leads "through the valley of the shadow of death across the silent river to meet the loved ones gone before."
"May he rest his weary feet, By the crystal waters sweet, When the loved ones he shall greet Over Jordan."
O. L. Hall was born in Homer township, Potter county, April 18th, 1851. He grew up, married and lived in that locality ‘till he was about thirty years old than an hereditary trait, bequeathed him from both father’s and mother’s ancestry, set his feet in the path of the wanderer and from that time until his death he moved, --and then just for a change, moved again.
O. L. Hall’s paternal grandfather, Dennis Hall, Sr. was born and lived to about thirty near Groton, NY.
JOHN M. HAMILTON – Born in Philadelphia 1814; removed to Coudersport in 1847.
MRS. MILES HARRIS – Mrs. Anna Abson Harris died in Sweden, June 27, 1888. Born in New York City November 7, 1857, for many years a resident of Potter County. Leaves Husband and three children.
BURDETTE W. HARRISON died at his home in Coudersport, Saturday, July 6, 1895, age 47 years. 11 mos. 25 days. Born in Taylor, Cortland county, NY, July 11, 1847; came to Potter county in 1854 with his parents, Hubbard and Abba (Rockwell) Harrison who bought a farm in Harrison township, near Mills, and engaged in farming. Here Burdette was reared. Arriving at manhood he had a varied business experience in Cortland and Allegany counties, NY for 19 years. In 1888 returned to Potter and engaged in mercantile business at Mills. In fall of 1890 was nominated on Republican ticket for county commissioner and elected. Filled office for three years. Reelected. in fall of 1893 and although in feeble health performed his duties until a short time ago, taken to hospital in Buffalo where operation performed in which a portion of one of his ribs which had become diseased from a fracture, was removed. Rallied rapidly and returned home where he appeared to be better than he had been for months.
Going to his home he rested well through the night; on awakening in the morning, complained of pain in his side; thinking the bandages had been displaced, Dr. Ashcraft was sent for. On the doctor’s arrival he sat up and while talking with him, suddenly his head dropped forward, a gasp and he was dead.
Funeral services on Sunday at his home. Rev. Gurnsey of Baptist Church. Remains taken in charge by I.O.O.F. And conveyed to Mills, accompanied by 30 of his friends of Coudersport. Rev. S. L. Bovier, of Green county, a former pastor of the deceased, assisted by Rev. Grame, of Ulysses.
LUZERNA HAZEN, died in Roulette, Oct. 31, 1879, of consumption, wife of William Hazen, age 34 yrs. 10 mo. 27 days. Youngest daughter of late George Weimer.
J. H. HEGGIE was born in the town of Caroline, Tompkins County, NY, August 8, 1810, and died at the home of Consider Stearns on Friday, December 24, 1880.
When quite young he learned the clothing business and was considered to be an excellent workman. At age of 22 united in marriage with Miss Alice Lyman, of Berkshire, Tioga County, NY, she survives.
In 1831 Mr. Heggie removed to Elmira and from there in 1843 to Coudersport where he followed his trade. In 1874 he removed to Allegany Township and commenced farming, which he continued till his death.
My peculiar connection with the circumstances of Mr. Heggie’s death prompts me to write these lines. On Friday, December 24th, I was invited to conduct the funeral services of Mr. Horatio Nelson, of Lymansville. At close of service, I was seeking a way to get to Colesburg, where I expected to join my family, who had preceded me, and with them enjoy the Christmas-eve festivities, which were to be held at the Judd school house. My desire was made known to Mr. Heggie by some one and he immediately sought me out and said if it would be an accommodation to me, he would return home by the way of Colesburg and would see that I reached the place in ample time for the services in the evening. He appeared well, cheerful, and talkative.
After reaching a point two miles north of Coudersport he complained of being pressed for breath. I did not apprehend that the attack would prove serious until nearing the cheese factory (near Nelson Clark’s), he turned around and said, "I believe I am going to die." His struggles for breath are beyond description. He rose to his feet, pleading with me to drive as fast as possible to reach Mr. Stearns’. Fearing he would fall from the cutter, I grasped him round the waist with my right arm, spoke words of comfort and cheer until we reached the place he so earnestly longed for. With the assistance of Mr. Stearns we carried him into the house and laid him down upon the couch.
Dr. Ellison was providentially driving by at the time. All that could be done to alleviate his sufferings were resorted to by the physician and the kind family into whose care he had so providentially fallen. Nothing that human skill could do was sufficient to stay the fatal stroke.
At the expiration of fifteen minutes he requested to be raised up and when asked by the physician how he felt, he replied, "Everything is turning dark." Then we laid him down and without a struggle he passed away. (Rev. T. R. Stratton)
LEONTAS HENDRICK, died in Sweden Township, Jan. 2, 1876, in 80th yr. Member of Baptist church 60 years. Lived here 22 yrs. with his daughter, Mrs. Wm. Lyon (Julia). His three sons were with him. (Grandfather of Ed. Lyon, of Mill St., Coudersport).
MRS. MARIA L. (MERRICK) HERRINGTON, aged 81 years, widow of the late Deroy Herrington, who died in August, 1899, died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Milo G. Austin, on Central Avenue, last Thursday morning about 10 o’clock. Had been in poor health for several years, but was apparently as well as usual and was expecting to go out to dinner when she suddenly became very ill and passed away in a short time.
Ws a daughter of Israel and Julia Ann (Erway) Merrick and she was born in Wellsboro on Sept.. 30, 1827. After her marriage she resided on Pine Creek, near Ansonia until the death of her husband. Five children were born, three of whom are living: Mrs. Mary Petrie and Mrs. M. G. Austin of Wellsboro, and Mrs. Joseph C. Freidel of Hammondsport, NY.
Two brothers and one sister also survive her, Major George W. Merrick, Mr. Ellis J. Merrick, and Miss Ella Merrick, all of Wellsboro. Was member of First Presbyterian Church. Funeral Saturday, at 11 AM, at home of Mr. and Mrs. M. G. Austin on Central Avenue, Wellsboro. Rev. A. C. Shaw, D. D., pastor of Presbyterian Church officiating. Buried at family plot in Ansonia.
FANNY HOLLENBECK, wife of Wilson P. Hollenbeck died in East Hebron, Thurs. Feb. 22, 1877, age 27 years.
WILSON F. HOLLENBECK died at residence of Dr. Post on 12th of October, 1877. Born on Hebron Hill, son of John Hollenbeck, Feb. 10, 1846. In fall of 1876 entered Mansfield State Normal School with his brother, Hon. Conrad Hollenbeck, where he remained a year. At 23 he married Fannie Baker, of Roulette, purchased a farm on Fishing Creek. Sold farm in 1873, brought pine timber in Hebron, of Wm. Metzger; in company with his brother George Hollenbeck engaged in lumbar business until about a year ago when he sold his interest to George. On Feb. 22nd last his wife died of consumption, ill one yr. Left daughter, age 5. Last April contracted severe cold and sank in decline. Rallied in spring. Was living at his father’s home. About Sept. 1st began a select school at Raymond. Oct. 1st had hemorrhage of lungs, closed his school and started for home, getting as far as Dr. Post’s. Not finding the Dr. home, decided to wait for him. After a light supper, retired for night and never rose from his bed. Died on Oct. 12th in 32nd yr. Taught 10 terms of school in Potter Co. signed F.D.H.
ADA WALKER HORTON – In April 5, 1923 issue of Journal mention is made of this item copied from North American: "Died at Mansfield, widow of Elisha Horton, age 83. Taught district school at age of 16. Was mistress of Spring Mills Academy, at Academy Corners, and of Ulysses High School. Taught more than thirty years. Has sister 85 and brother 88. Husband died some years since.
CAPT. ALONZO B. HORTON, an employee of Erie Railroad at Johnsonburg, PA, died quite suddenly at home of his son in Blossburg, where he was visiting, Monday, August 13, 1900, age 58.
Born at Knoxville, PA, October 6, 1832. When a young man moved to Brookland, Potter County, where he engaged in mercantile business eight years. August 6, 1862, he enlisted as private in Co. G. 149th PA Vols. and on 30th of same month promoted to second lieutenant. March, 1863, made first lieutenant; April 4, 1865, made Captain. Badly wounded in Battle of Wilderness May 5, 1864. After remaining on battle field two weeks was sent to Libby Prison by rebels and held there prisoner for six months.
After the war returned to Potter County to reside and in 1868 was elected county treasurer. Only 12 votes being recorded against him. Moved to Wellsboro in 1871 and in 1883 elected county treasurer of Tioga County. In 1891 moved to Johnsonburg, Elk County, where has since resided. At Brookland, Potter County, about 1857 married Antonette Merrick, who survives with following children: Lou G. Horton, Blossburg; Merrick Horton, Bradford; Minnie Horton, Johnsonburg; Mrs. W. H. Davidson, Allegany City; Mrs. A. R. Baldwin, Hornellsville, NY; Mrs. A. R. Spicer, Hoytville; Mrs. George W. Williams, Wellsboro.
Of his brothers, the following are living: Elias Horton, Mansfield; Elisha Horton, Wisconsin; John C. Horton, Clearfield; Chauncy Horton, Lawrence; Miss Emma Horton, Lawrence.
ELIAS HORTON – Mansfield Advertiser – Son of Elias and Almira Knox Horton, born August 20, 1836, at Spring Mills, Allegany County, NY. Early education in the common schools and the Spring Mills Academy. Later graduated from the Poughkeepsie Commercial College. In 1862 enlisted as private in 130th NY Vols. And was promoted to the rank of Second Lieutenant. Contracted typhoid fever when his regiment was at Suffolk, VA, and a few months later was invalided home, subsequently resigning on account of ill health.
May 16, 1863 married Miss Ada M. Walker of Wellsville, NY, and together they conducted the Spring Mills Academy until the spring of 1864. In early fall of 1864 he recruited a company of infantry which later became Company L of the 189th NY Vols., being mustered in as their captain and serving until the end of the war. The history of the regiment compiled by its chaplain says of Capt. Horton: "He was an officer of decided ability and popularity – one never absent from his post."
After his discharge from the service he became owner and Principal of the Academy at Academy Corners, PA. This was the only institution of higher education available to the young people of a large section; and the influence of Captain and Mrs. Horton who was associated with him, was widely felt. Later Professor Horton was Principal of the public schools in various towns of Tioga and McKean counties and served for two terms as County Superintendent of schools in Tioga County. He devoted the best years of his long life to the education of young people, and it is as a teacher that he will be long remembered. A fine student, a lover of humanity, his inspiring influence upon his pupils through many years is immeasurable.
Captain Horton was a resident of Mansfield for twenty one years where the respect and affection of the community have always been accorded him in highest measure. He was just in human relations, gentle in manners and conversation, a man of fine caliber – an American gentleman.
He is survived by his wife, two daughters, Miss Ada M. Horton of Mansfield, and Mrs. Helen Horton Gamble of Vineland, NJ, and two sons, Commander Fred E. Horton, U.S.N. of Norfolk, VA, and Capt. Harry M. Horton of Washington, DC
SAMUEL HULL died at the home of his son, Mr. Joseph Hull, at Conrad, August 11th 1896, between 11 and 12 o’clock, p.m. About 10 o’clock he went to his room appearing to be in usual health. Some one, hearing a strange noise, went and found him in a dying condition. Joe Hull was at once called and went to the bedside of his father, who expired in about ten minutes.
Mr. Hull was born June 6, 1818 in the city of London, England. Came to America in 1832 when but 14 years old and was married in 1835. He and his wife lived happily for 35 years. The deceased was the father of two children, one having died some years ago, the other, Mr. Joseph Hull with whom the deceased made his home since the death of his wife in 1894.
Mr. Hull moved to this place in 1864 and worked hard in clearing up a piece of ground and called it Hulltown, which at the time of his death, is a thriving little place, the station being called Hulls, the post office, Conrad.
The deceased served twenty months in the late war, fighting bravely for his country. Mr. Hull was converted at a social gathering at the home of Mr. Daniel Williams, father of Mr. Moses Williams and where the latter now lives. The Methodist people often turned such gatherings into a prayer and praise service and Mr. Hull who had been seeking religion for some time had the light break in upon his soul at that time and was powerfully blessed. In 1870 he began to preach the Gospel and though not as eloquent as some ministers he was earnest and devout and for twenty years he was the instrument in God’s hands of winning many souls to the cross.
He was a man who was well thought of by all who knew him and will be missed, not only by his relatives, but by a host of people all over Potter county.
He was always kind, affectionate, and thoughtful and was a man who loved to talk about the Bible, Christianity, and his hope of eternal glory. Since the death of his companion, while he was submissive to God’s will, yet often longed to go home and be with her and all the redeemed host; and it is believed he has joined the great choir above where he will sing songs of Moses and the Lamb.
Mr. Joseph Hull and family have the sympathy of the community in this sad affliction. Funeral services were held by Rev. E. E. Mulliner, August 13th at the school house at Hulls, there being no church there.
HURD, L. M. died July 8, 1901 very suddenly of heart trouble, while Supt. of the Tannery at Falls Creek, NY. Born at Flushing, Long Island, In 1852. Married June 20, 1888 to Alice M., daughter of F. A. Hendryx, of Raymond. (She was aunt to Robert Hendryx). In 1891 he and wife moved from Harrisonville to Falls Creek, NY where he superintended erection of large tannery for L. E. Proctor; when that plant was merged with the trust he was appointed supt.; position since filled. Member of Episcopal Church. Funeral at house; Rev. Henry, of that Church, assisted by Rev. Bell, of Presbyterian Church. Buried in Flushing, NY.
WILLIAM H. HYDORN died Saturday afternoon, December 4th, 1897. Friends and neighbors followed the remains to Hebron where Rev. Kenyon preached the sermon and he was buried in the cemetery on the hill.
Born April, 1808; moved to Hebron 1833 where he had taken a farm two years before. Married Eleanor Burdick of Grafton, NY in 1832; six children. One, Louisa, Mrs. Sylvester Greenman, now a widow in Boulder, Colorado, is living. Cordelia, the eldest of the children, one of the most capable teachers for many years, died in Illinois in 1871. Jane Green died in 1877. Her daughter, Grace Green, has kept the cozy home in Coudersport where her grandfather spent his last days, giving him the kindest care. Charles, the eldest son, killed at Chancellorsville in 1863. Sullivan, the youngest, died at age of 22 and Mrs. Green are buried beside their father and mother.
Mr. Hydorn had high ideals and no man in the county was more zealous in the cause of education than he. His family imbibed the same spirit. He was extremely diffident and, hence, not prominent as many are who have less title to fame. He was a ready writer and a profound and accurate thinker. His contributions to the early Journal of which he was subscriber for nearly fifty years, bear testimony to his enthusiasm for diffusion of knowledge as well as his ability as a writer. Took great interest in political affairs.
TIMOTHY IVES was born Feb. 6, 1802 at Beecher’s Island, Tioga Co. and died in Coudersport Oct. 8, 1866, age 64. Most of boyhood spent on Crooked Creek in his native Co. where he attended the common schools. While but a boy his father became insane and Timothy, Jr. was dependent upon himself. At age of about 20 he taught a district school. 1823 m. Maria Andrews, daughter of Levi Andrews. Same yr. moved to Bingham Township. Where he lived until May, 1826. Having been appointed treasurer of Potter Co., he came to Coudersport when the village consisted of a single dwelling house and the Commissioners’ office. Afterward he was Justice of the Peace, P.M. and Associate Judge. Held latter office for nine successive years. In 1846 elected Rep. to State Legislature. Two years later elected State Senator. At end of his term he was appointed Supt. Of the Portage R. R Held position for two yrs. As a RR contractor, he built in company with Jas. McElrath, ten miles of NY and Erie RR east of Deposit. Built several miles of RR near Waynesboro, VA and seven miles of the Sunbury and Erie RR not far from Emporium. Was one of its first projectors. Completed contract on Pittsburgh and Erie Canal.
Another obituary: Hon. Timothy Ives was born in or near Beecher’s Island, Tioga County, PA, Feb. 6, 1802 and died in Coudersport, October 8, 1866 at the age of 64. Most of boyhood spent of Crooked Creek, in his native county where he enjoyed only the few advantages of an education which a common school at that day afforded. While still a boy, his father became insane, by which his son was cast upon the world with no heritage save his own inherent energies.
About the age of 20 he taught a district school. In 1823 he married Miss Marta Andrews and the same year moved into the township of Bingham where he lived until May, 1826, when, having been appointed County Treasurer, he came to Coudersport, at which time this village consisted of a single dwelling house and Commissioners’ Office. Afterward he was Justice of the Peace, then Postmaster, and next Associate Judge which office he held for nine successive years.
In 1846 was elected Representative in the State Legislature. Two years after, was elected State Senator. At expiration of this term, was appointed Superintendent of the Portage Rail Road which position he held two years. As a Railroad contractor, he built, in company with James McElrath, ten miles of the NY and E. RR east of Deposit, NY. Also built several miles of RR near Waynesboro, VA, and seven miles of the Sunbury and Erie RR not far from Emporium. He was one of the first projectors of this last mentioned RR He also took and completed quite a large contract on the Pittsburgh and Erie Canal.
NATHAN T. JACKSON died in Ulysses, Feb. 2, 1877, age 39 years. Born at Spring Mills, Allegany Co., NY, Feb. 22, 1838. Moved to Potter some years ago with his parents. Member of M. E. Church.
HONORABLE CHARLES S. JONES – DIED AT HIS RESIDENCE IN COUDERSPORT, OCTOBER 27, 1889, HON. CHAS. S. JONES, AGED 65 YEARS.
Was born February 24, 1824, in the town of Lisle, Broome County, NY. Parents from Connecticut, of that good old New England stock that has done so much in building up new communities and states. Received his education in the common schools and spent some years of his younger days in teaching school in his native town. In 1847 he and his brothers, Frank and Edwin, came to Coudersport and entered into the mercantile business in a building on the corner of East and Third Street, at present the site of the dwelling house of H. J. Olmsted. (Present location of George Grabe’s Funeral Parlors, 1942) They also engaged quite extensively in the lumber business.
The following year Charles S. Jones returned to Lisle and on November 9th married Miss Maria Johnson of that place. He brought his bride to Coudersport where he has since resided.
In 1861 was elected Associate Judge of the Courts of Potter County and served five years. In fall of 1872 was nominated by Republicans for Member of Assembly from Potter County, was elected and served his constituents acceptably in the PA Legislature for two years. (1873-1874) Was repeatedly elected fill important offices in the Borough of Coudersport.
In private life was an affable, devoted Christian gentleman, and his death, to the Presbyterian Church of Coudersport of which for many years he was an elder, is a loss of its main pillar of support.
A Memorial service held Sunday evening in the Presbyterian Church. Rev. C. T. Edwards said in part: "He had three children, Frank Lyman and Mary who both died in early maturity and Charles Storrs who died in youth. Became member of Presbyterian Church by letter from the Congregational Church of Lisle, October 15, 1859. On January 23, 1870 was ordained as a ruling elder. In 1880 the Presbytery of Wellsboro at frequent meetings of presbytery and synod, made him their Representative in General Assembly, the highest honor conferred on a Ruling Elder in our church. I have been told how again and again, month in and month out, he, alternately with his brother in the session, Wm. H. Metzger, would start off early Sunday morning with his bundle of kindling under his arm to start the fire and warm the church, then standing at the foot of the hill. Presently, when the time came, he would ring the bell and when the congregation were assembled, he would conduct all the service, reading a sermon. After the congregation were dismissed, he would lead the Bible class and take charge of the Sunday School, and return to his home after having gone through perhaps the hardest work of the week on what is for a business man, emphatically a day of rest."
C. STORRS JONES, Died in Coudersport Feb. 23, 1877 son of C. S. and Maria Jones of Cerebral Spinal "Meningitis." 8 yrs. 10 mo. 20 days.
CYRENUS JONES died in Coudersport, Saturday evening, November 21, 1885. Born in Waterloo, NY, December 31, 1818. In 1847 came from Dansville, Livingston County, where, as he was a consumptive, he was advised by physicians to go to a hemlock country. Came here and has resided here 39 years. Followed his profession of artist and produced some very fine portraits. Was son of Rev. Mr. Jones, a Baptist clergyman who lived in central New York. Funeral in rooms where he lived and died. Rev. Wm. Marshal of Episcopal Church. Rev. C. H. Dodd conducted burial service at Sweden Hill Cemetery.
Another obit: Cyrenus Jones died at 7:30 PM from pneumonia. Ill one week. Funeral in rooms where died, at 10 o’clock Monday morning November 23rd. Burial Service of Episcopal read by Rev. Mr. Marshall after which remains removed to Sweden where funeral sermon preached by Rev. C. H. Dodd. Burial in Sweden Hill Cemetery, family burying place. He was brother of Mrs. George Toombs of Sweden Township.
From early training inherited the tone of general refinement, gentlemanly habits, and liberal culture which characterized him. Had fine taste, devoted much time to painting in which he had points of excellence.
Came to Coudersport in 1847 for his health, at that time seriously impaired by incipient consumption. Life in open air and strong tenacity of will prolonged his days nearly to the allotted age of man.
Was quiet in manner, never taciturn, genial with friends, sympathetic toward all who had trouble and especially ready with his help among sick. Was marked by a generosity and kindliness of temper that made many friends among those who had known him well from the first.
A sufferer from ill health all his life, he lived in almost absolute retirement. Toward the end spending much time with his sister’s family, where he was a welcome and beloved relative.
MRS. FANNIE HOLMAN JONES died January 6, 1916 at her home on North Main Street. Was widow of the late Hon. William K. Jones, she was a victim of malignant tumor. Funeral Sunday at residence. Rev. D. A. Blose of Episcopal Church, of which she was life long member. Married Mr. Jones in 1877 and two sons survive: Dr. Ross H. and Archibald F. Age 72 years and 6 months.
FRANK JONES died in Coudersport March 24, 1881 of Bright’s Disease of the kidneys, age about 23, after an illness of two months. Was first taken with spinal meningitis. Was a graduate of Poughkeepsie Business College. Was connected with his father in mercantile business.
The Cornet band, of which he was a member, marched to the grave with instruments draped, at cemetery gate, played a funeral march and at the grave, a dirge. Five years ago the only daughter, Mary, died and three years ago Storrs, the youngest died. Frank is the last of the children. (Lived in the house located east of Second Street bridge, on the south side of the street, the first after crossing the bridge, going east.) – Son of Chas. S. Jones.
JOHN HOWE JONES – April 15, 1875 – From the Sheboygan Herald – Death of ex Senator Jones
John Howe Jones died at his home in this city, Friday evening, March 19, 1875 of consumption. Was born in Center Lisle, Broome County, NY, February 18, 1836, being the youngest of four brothers. (Frank Jones, Ed Jones, Charles S. Jones)
Early manifesting a love for study and an ambition to acquire a thorough education, he left his boyhood home in his fourteenth year and took up his residence with his brother, hon. C. S. Jones at Coudersport, PA, where at once entered Coudersport Academy for the purpose of fitting himself for college. Here he attended a school for two years, applying himself with so much diligence and earnestness that it told seriously on his health. (His constitution was never rugged) and it was thought he could not endure the hard work and confinement of a long college course, so his cherished plan of attending college was reluctantly given up.
But his love for books and study was too strong to overcome and soon after he left the Academy we find him studying law at Coudersport with Hon. A. G. Olmsted, late Speaker of the PA House of Representatives. He was admitted to the bar in the Circuit Court at Coudersport after passing a most satisfactory examination on the 19th of February 1857, one day after he had reached his majority.
Almost immediately after, he left for the West and settled at Sheboygan. Here commenced the practice of his profession with Hon. C. W. Ellis, formerly of Coudersport, with whom he continued in partnership until 1862 when Mr. Ellis moved from Sheboygan.
In October, 1865 he was appointed District Attorney of Sheboygan County, to fill a vacancy, by Governor Edward Saloman, and was again appointed to fill a second vacancy in the same office in July, 1864. Soon after this he received the Republican nomination for District Attorney and was elected to that office in the following November, and was reelected. in 1866 and again in 1868, thus holding the office for nearly seven years, during which time he performed its duties in a way most creditable to himself and satisfactory to the people of the county.
In the autumn of 1870 he was unanimously nominated by the Republican County Convention for State Senator and was elected to that office by over three hundred majority. During the two years that he served in the Senate he was recognized as one of the ablest and most trustworthy man in that body. He was Chairman of the committee of Incorporations (one of the most important committees) and was a member of the Committee on Judiciary and the Joint Committee on Charitable and Penal Institutions. He served the State as Senator with that faithfulness, independence, and loyalty to his convictions, which characterized his whole life. His minority report against the Madison gas monopoly and in favor of the incorporation of a second gas company in that city was probably the strongest and ablest document presented to the State Senate in 1872.
At the meeting of the Republican State Convention in August, 1873, he received a handsome complimentary vote for Attorney General.
During the next few months his health began to fail. Was attacked with hemorrhage of the lungs in November and was prostrated in bed for several weeks. He rallied during the winter and was able to ride to and from his office on pleasant days. In March, he went southeastern Kansas to escape the cold and remained till June. He returned home and spent a happy and comfortable summer. He gave up the management of his business to his partner, but was able to walk from his home to his office during most of the time.
He passed the winter in his home, going out but seldom, surrounded by every comfort. Was able to sit up until a short time before his death.
Funeral at his residence, March 23rd. Rev. O. C. McCulloch spoke briefly. Besides his wife, he leaves two children and three brothers.
Mr. Jones was singularly modest and retiring, sensitive and sympathetic, courageous, independent, and self-reliant.
LEWIS JONES died in Auburn, NY, Dec. 10, 1880, son of Frank L. Jones, in 19th year.
LUCIUS H. JONES, son of F. L. Jones, Esq., Warden of Auburn Prison, was born in Owego, NY on March 20, 1862 and died in Auburn December 10, 1880, in 19th year.
Spent early years in school or in family circle. Assisted his father in care of prison. In early part of 1880 united with Congregational Church of Owego, under pastorate of Rev. Mr. Schofield. Recently took trip to Nebraska. Returned feeling ill. After short illness died on above date.
MARY A. JONES died in Coudersport, Dec. 28, 1875, of consumption, only daughter of Hon. C. S. Jones, in 26th yr. She was born in Coudersport.
MRS. NANCY JONES died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. C. M. Allen, in Lewisville, March 23, 1889, of apoplexy, Mrs. Nancy Jones in 75th year of life.
Was daughter of Joshua and Dolly Colvin, born at Knoxville, PA, March 11, 1816. Was sister of the late Judge Gaylord Colvin and George W. Colvin, Esq., of Bingham.
When 12 years of age she removed with her parents to Spring Mills, NY where she resided till her marriage to the late Isaac W. Jones, February 7, 1830. He was an accomplished teacher of many years experience and she was a pupil in the school at Spring Mills where he then was teaching. Though scarcely fifteen years of age she was large in stature, graceful in bearing, and mature in character and intellect. Her precocious womanliness crowned so bewitchingly her youthful years that this educated gentleman, ten years her senior, was smitten with her charms and laid his heart at her feet, the youngest lady of acquaintance.
They began housekeeping at once on the farm in Bingham Township, now the residence of her son-in-law, C. M. Burt, the husband of her daughter, Kate.
With the exception of a few years spent at Sharon Center, where W. W. Jones had a large lumbering business and a few years spent at Spring Mills to give her children the benefit of the school at that place, she resided on the farm where she began her married life.
Of her eight children, four still survive. Mrs. A. A. Newton, of Sharon Center; Mrs. C. M. Allen, of Lewisville; Mrs. C. M. Burt, of North Bingham; and Mr. Horace Jones, of Wellsville, NY. Her daughter, Mrs. Mary Ransom, for many years an invalid, died several years ago and her youngest daughter, Delphine, died suddenly just as she was becoming a successful teacher and an accomplished woman.
The greatest sorrow came to her December 5, 1865 when, she lost her husband after 36 years of happy married life.
In winter of 1857-58, during a revival at Bingham Center, Mr. and Mrs. Jones experienced religion and joined the Methodist Church.
Joshua and Dolly Colvin were Quakers.
VIRGIL JONES died Sunday, October 22, 1899 after four months of patient suffering. Lived at Packer. Converted in 1896 at Nelson Run school house, and united with M. E. Church. Funeral in M. E. Church at Costello October 24. Services by E. E. Mulliner, of Cameron County assisted by Rev. Richard Mallalieu, of Costello. Was 72 years, 9 months, 21 days. Leaves aged wife and children.
WILLIAM K. JONES died in Syracuse, NY, February 3, 1900. About a week ago went to Albany, and other places in western NY on business connected with the Coudersport Manufacturing Company and was expected back Saturday. Word came to the wife in most distressing manner. Heard one man tell another on the street that Will Jones was dead. Thought only to reach home before the message had been carried there, to save her husband’s mother and her own delicate boy from effects of too sudden blow.
Telephoned at once to Syracuse to have body prepared there and forwarded to Wellsville and through kindness of Superintendent McClure, it was sent by special train. On Sunday morning Mr. McClure and a party of Mr. Jones’ life long friends went by special train to Wellsville and accompanied the body home. Heart failure, super-induced by quinsy, to which he was subject. Had sore throat before leaving, but did not give up until Friday evening when he reached the Congress Hotel where he summoned a physician. Died at three o’clock Saturday p.m.
Was only child of Arch and Mary Jones; born in Coudersport June 22, 1849. Educated at Coudersport and Collegeville where he remained two years. On reaching manhood, became associated with his father in mercantile business under name of Arch F. Jones and Son. No bank in Potter County and none nearer than Wellsville, organized a Bank of Coudersport in 1874 or 75. In 1894 owing to some unsuccessful investments the Bank was forced to suspend. Mr. Jones lost his entire fortune. Every cent he possessed he surrendered to his creditors. (How much did his mother have?) Set out to regain his fortune. Was general manager and cashier at the Coudersport Manufacturing Company, one of the most important enterprises of the town.
Was Republican; member of state legislature one term; in 1898 member of National Convention that nominated Harrison.
In 1877 married Miss Fannie Holman, a young lady of education and refinement. Two children: Ross Homan, now a student in University of PA and Arch, who because of delicate health, remains at home. Also survived by mother and aged grandmother. Prominent Mason. Funeral from home 2 o’clock Tuesday. Masons and Fire Department followed to grave.
WILLIAM T. JONES died September 17, 1889 at Costello after lingering illness. Age about 75 years.
Came to Coudersport from Almond, NY in 1842. Opened a store in a building built by Nelson Clark, near the corner of Main and Fifth Streets. (West side of street) soon established a flourishing business. Having taken his brother, Arch F. Jones, the firm, W. T. Jones and Bro. On 1844 built a more commodious place of business on corner of Main and Second, N. W. Corner, where no stands the store of P. A. Stebbins and Bro. He extended his field of operations, in manufacturing and buying of lumber, and furnishing supplies to lumbermen.
Confined themselves to no special line of trade in their store, but kept in stock nearly every variety of article that would be called for in a backwoods town, having no convenient access from to large towns from which to obtain supplies. These goods were hauled at great costs over poor roads from Dansville, NY, the nearest from Coudersport to which they could be shipped by Erie Canal. In exchange for these goods W. T. Jones and Brother took nearly every conceivable product of the county for which they could find a market at home or abroad. Lumber, ashes, or potash salts, grain, cattle, venison, skins, furs, and pelts, labor, etc.
The work attendant upon the collection of these articles and getting them to market was Herculean, and if hard work ever brought success, W. T. Jones and Brother deserved it.
But with a generosity, not always justifiable by results, from a strictly business stand point, few that came to them in the stress of need, but what received help and credits and, in a new country, as Potter County then was, there were many such. Often in those days has the writer known a poor man, a settler, to come to W. T. Jones and ask for help in tiding over the dark days that had come upon him and his family and receive in reply, "No, you can never pay me." He would turn to his clerk and say, "Give this man what he wants."
This generosity led to business complications and to the dissolution of the partnership and the closing up of the business. W. T. Jones was never able to regain his business standing. At one time thought to be the richest merchant in Potter County, he died poor. There will always be a warm spot in our hearts for the man who through generosity helped those in need.
GEORGE WASHINGTON D. JUDD died at his home on Turner Street, Austin, PA, October 13, 1887 at three o’clock AM. Born in Allegany Township, Potter County, May 6, 1842. Educated at Mansfield State Normal School. During oil excitement in the Bradford field he went there as a contractor. Came to Austin in March, 1887. Was employed by Hackenberg and Olmsted. Leaves wife and two children.
GEORGE WASHINGTON G. JUDD born Candor, NY, May 10, 1810, son of Rev. Gaylord Judd, of that place. January 31, 1832 married Lydia Dwight, daughter of Israel Dwight, of Windsor, NY. In 1836 or 37 moved with wife, daughter and two sons to Allegany Township; settled on farm where since resided, then a wilderness. Brought provisions with him to use until a crop could be raised.
Elected treasurer in fall of 1841 for term of two years. In settlement of his accounts and misfortune to find a number of receipts for monies paid out, missing, nor could he account for them; in consequence he was brought in debt to the county in quite a large amount.
He went to work with a resolution to pay his indebtedness and make up his loss. In this he was strengthened and encouraged by his patient and self-sacrificing wife without counsels and efficient aid, he must have wearied of the struggle before him.
In meantime he had respect and sympathy of all who knew him as no one ever doubted his honest and when, after some years the receipts for the money he had paid for the county were returned to him, their pleasure was only equaled by that of himself and family.
Full amount of his loss had not been returned, but the burden had been lightened by the recovery of the receipts.
JOSEPH DANIEL KENEALY- Engaged in the mill at Austin form some time when became victim of typhoid fever. Reported better, but relapsed and hemorrhage of bowels set in, death followed immediately. Remains brought to Coudersport, Tuesday, November 6, 1900; Funeral at Catholic Church Wednesday, November 7 at 11 o’clock. Burial in Wellsville. Born in Wellsville 31 years ago, son of Mr. & Mrs. Timothy J. Kenealy. Lived here since a little boy. Parents, three sisters, and five brothers survive. Probably died November 5th.
MRS. MARY KENT – After a lingering illness and gradual breaking down, due to old age, Mrs. Mary Kent passed away Saturday morning, August 22, 1903. She was one of the oldest of the present residents of Coudersport, being ninety three at the time of her death. She came to Coudersport in 1845, accompanied by her daughter, Mary Amelia, who survives her. Her husband, a Presbyterian minister, had recently died and the widow has supported herself with strict economy, being very industrious, and active and bright. She was uniformly thoughtful and courteous. Funeral in Episcopal church of which denomination she was a member. Mary T. Kent was born in 1812. (Tombstone)
MISS MARY AMELIA KENT died at her home on Main Street, north east corner of Main and Seventh Street, at 3:30, Tuesday afternoon, January 24th, 1905, after an illness of two months. She was in her seventieth year.
She accompanied her mother, a widow of Bloomer Kent, a Presbyterian clergyman from Delhi to Coudersport in 1842 when she was five years of age. Potter County at that time, was a wilderness and she has lived to witness its growth and development.
From the time of her mother’s death, August 22, 1903, May had lived alone in the old home. Since last December Miss Mary Dunn has been her constant companion, caring for her as tenderly as her own kin would have done. The neighbors also have been very kind, doing every thing within their power. Nevertheless, her death was pathetic, there being no one of her own blood with her when she was called home, in fact, there are no near relatives.
Funeral will be held in Christ Church, of which she had been a communicant for many years, Friday afternoon at 2 o’clock, Rev. H. Brownlee Smith, officiating. Interment in Eulalia Cemetery. Born in 1836. (Tombstone)
ABRAHAM KIMBALL – August 30, 1906 – This morning at five o’clock at the home of his son, Wm. Kimball, on Ayers Hill, occurred the death of Abraham Kimball. Was born in Sparta, NY, in 1816. Spent greater part of life in Potter County. Was for many years a Methodist minister, but more recently has inclined toward the Baptist faith. Several years ago went to Minnesota and engaged in farming. Survived by his son, William Kimball, who is very ill at his home, and by two grandsons, Arthur Kimball, of Ayers Hill and Sterling Kimball, of Coudersport, and one sister, Mrs. Louisa Shutt, of West Bingham. Funeral in Sweden Valley Church.
MRS. H. ELIZABETH (KOON) KIMBALL – May 8, 1934 – Mrs. H. Elizabeth Kimball died at the home of her son, Sterling Kimball, in Roulette, of pneumonia. Born in Waverly, NY and would have been 85 years old next July. She accompanied her parents to Roulette when a small child and lived all her life in this vicinity. She and her husband, William Kimball, resided for many years on Ayers’ Hill. Funeral in roulette and burial in Sweden Hill Cemetery. Survived by her son, Sterling, and three grandchildren: Mrs. Walter Bloomer, Mrs. Simeon Baker and William Kimball, also eleven great grandchildren. Another son, Arthur, died four years ago. Mrs. Kimball was a sister of the late Mrs. L. B. Cole and Mrs. Joseph Gilbert. Both former Coudersport residents.
JACOB S. KIMBALL died Sunday morning at the logging camp near Page, conducted by his son-in-law, Ben Thatcher, at 5 a.m. Mr. Kimball went to the camp a short time ago intending to spend the winter there. Was taken ill on Saturday. Dr. Olsen summoned, but he grew worse. Case diagnosed as kidney trouble.
Funeral held at family residence. Rev. D. P Olin officiating. Remains taken to St. Cloud for burial. Was a native of PA, born in that state in 1844 and was 61 years old. Resided in Mills, Lacs County past thirty five years. Survived by wife and three children and his father who is still living in PA, age 91 years. The children who survive are Mrs. Ben Hatcher, of Princeton; Wm. Kimball, of St. Cloud and Stephan Kimball of Harrisburg, Montana. (1906)
WILLIAM RILEY KIMBALL died at his home on Ayers Hill on Sunday following an illness of three years. Life long resident of Potter County. Was born on Sweden Hill, September 28, 1844. Married to Miss Elizabeth Koon, April 29, 1869. Two sons, Arthur and Sterling. Arthur resides in Roulette and Sterling on Ayers Hill. Survived by aged widow and four grandchildren. Services at the home, Tuesday PM, Rev. Gregson. Burial in Sweden Hill Cemetery. (Died August 3 or 5, 1924)
CAPT. LEVI H. KINNEY died at his home on Horse Run, Sharon Township, Sunday morning, December 15, 1895, age 76. Born in Old Sodus, Wayne county, NY, July 27, 1819, son of Barnabas and Hannah (Holcomb) Kinney, natives of Hinsdale, NY. Scotch descent on father’s side, his grandfather being Barnabas Kinney, a native of Scotland, who served through the Revolutionary War and participated in War of 1812. His maternal grandfather, Return Holcomb was a native of Connecticut who served in the French War of Canada and went through the Revolutionary War.
After five years of age Capt. Kinney was reared in Steuben County, NY, receiving limited education at the common school. In 1845 came to Sharon and hired out to work in a sawmill at $18.00 per month and board himself. In 1847 purchased a farm on Horse Run all of which he cleared and improved. Was for many years engaged in lumbering.
On outbreak of war, he raised in August, 1861, Co. D. 85th NY Vols. with he was mustered into service as Capt. And served three years until honorably discharged.
Was twice married. In 1839 married Mary, daughter of Caleb and Deborah Tylor, of Steuben County, NY. To them were born three children: Angie, Alanson T., and Brice B. Only Alanson survives, who served two years in Civil War with his father’s company, as a private, but was promoted to 2nd Lieutenant and went home and raised Co. T, 210 PA Vols., being mustered in as Captain. Brice B. was also a soldier and died of disease contracted in the service.
Capt. Kinney’s wife, Mary died during the war and in 1874 he married Clarissa Granger, of Sodus, NY and lived happily with her nine years. After her death he remained a widower.
Always took active interest in public affairs. Served three years as county commissioner. Was a staunch republican. In spite of limited education, he did extensive reading, which gave him a fund of useful, interesting, and informative knowledge. He was undoubtedly the best informed man in his township. Broadness of views and genial disposition won him many steadfast friends.
Brief funeral services at the house at 10 o’clock, Tuesday. Rev. R. S. Bell, M. E. pastor of Shinglehouse Church, delivered remarkably able discourse. Choir composed of Mrs. P. B. Woodard, Mrs. Frank Nichols, and Coleman Smith, sang several selections. A touching prayer by comrade Wm. Young, of Angelica, NY, who served under the Capt. In the war. The bearers, selected from the Grand Army Veterans were George W. Dodge, Dana Drake, R. D. McDonald, Charles Bridge, Frank Fuller, and Henry Terwilliger. Buried in family plot at Ceres. The G. B. Post acted as escort. Among those attending were Miss Martha Simpson, Turtle Point; (Mary?) Mrs. F. M. VanWormer, J. P. Herrick and Clarence Bissell of Ceres.
ALBERT KLESA died at his home in Homer, Thursday, May 24, 1900, age 72. Born in Letin, Bohemia. Came to this country in 1863; settled in Germania. After a residence of five years moved to a farm in Homer where he died of consumption. Eight children survive: Wenzel of Coudersport; John of Ayers Hill; Joseph of Sweden Valley; Frank of Homer; Dr. Wilhelm of Hornellsville; Mrs. C. F. Edwards of Homer; Mrs. Isaac Mitchell of Homer; and Mrs. C. A. Zacharias of this place. Was a good, upright, honorable citizen whose death will be mourned by many. (Moved on the John Baker farm in Homer in 1868 where he lived till too old to work)
CARRIE SIBLE KLESA died Monday evening, July 17th, 1899. Ill with typhoid fever and relapsed. Was about 24. Was daughter of Mrs. Frank Neefe of Coudersport, who married Mr. Neefe when Carrie was four years old. Funeral at M. E. Church on Thursday, July 20. Burial in Eulalia Cemetery.
ANNA M. KNOX died in Coudersport, on the 3rd inst. of typhoid pneumonia, wife of F. W. Knox, of Coudersport and daughter of Gen. Wakeman, of Great Bend, PA, age 48.
The deceased, blessed with abundance, large influence, and a wide circle of friends, was one of our most prominent citizens and her loss is no ordinary one to the community. Was a Christian lady of much culture and refinement with a heart and hand to help all in want or affliction. Some two years ago she was prostrated with a severe and protracted sickness from which, for some time, she was not expected to recover, but for the last half year her health had been unusually good.
LIBBIE D. KNOX, wife of F. W. Knox died in Richmond, VA, June 9th 1887 of Bright’s Disease. Remains brought here and funeral at her late residence on Saturday last. By advice of her physician, Dr. E. M. Moore of Rochester, NY, she, in company with her husband and little son went to Florida for the winter. She improved very much. About the first of May, on her way north from southern Florida, she caught a severe cold and chills followed. Was compelled to leave the train at Richmond, VA, and after five weeks of suffering, she passed away. She was a member of the Presbyterian Church. Was 46 years and 7 months old. Was daughter of William Dickinson, now deceased, of Hornby, NY. (b. Nov. 9, 1841)
(Married at the North Presbyterian Church of Buffalo, June 20, 1877, by Rev. Wolcott Calkins, F. W. Knox, Esq., of Coudersport and Miss Libbie Dickinson of Titusville, PA.)
Another obit: Libbie D. Knox, wife of Franklin D. Knox, died in Richmond, Virginia, Thursday, June 9th, of Bright’s Disease of the kidneys. She was brought here and funeral held at her late residence on Saturday, June 11th.
Last October, by advice of her physician, Dr. Moore, of Rochester, NY, she, in company with her husband and little son, went to Florida for the winter. The genial climate and out-of-door life made her comparatively well and it was thought she would return home in better health.
About the first of May on her way north, from southern Florida, she caught a severe cold and chills followed. Was compelled to leave the train at Richmond, VA and after five weeks of suffering, died.
By her intelligence, Christian character, charitable deeds, and pleasant homelike ways was esteemed and beloved by all who knew her.
She was 46 ears and 7 months old; was daughter of Wm. Dickinson, now deceased, of Hornby, NY.
OSCAR D. KNOX – Born at Knoxville, Tioga County, October 23, 1849; died March 11, 1885. His father, F. D. Knox moved to Coudersport when Oscar was a small boy. Educated in schools of Coudersport, Freeland Seminary, Montgomery County, PA, and at State College, Ann Arbor, MI.
Returning from college, entered his father’s law office, admitted to bar in 1870 at age of 21. Always pleasant and gentlemanly.
Married in Coudersport and fifteen years ago next month, left for south west Missouri, settled at Bolivar, Polk County and commenced practice of law. Was home once, in 1876, Centennial Year when he went with his father and family and spent some weeks in Philadelphia.
From the Herald of Boliver, MO: "It is painful duty of Herald to announce death of O. D. Knox which occurred Wednesday morning, 4:45, March 11th. Thirty days ago was taken sick with what proved to be Cerebal Hypriema, or excessive congestion of the brain, brought on by overwork during last year.
Was a native of Pennsylvania where his life was spent until his admission to the bar and his marriage in 1870 to Louise Wambold, daughter of David Wambold, of Coudersport. (Mary Louise Wambold) His father visited here in the fall of 1883.
Oscar Dewitt Knox came west in 1870, located in Bolivar and practiced law. Has been extensively engaged in real estate speculation and in various business enterprises. Has energy and business ability which, had he been spared would have won him a fortune.
Has taken an active part in politics, espousing Democratic cause and in every campaign has borne a part in the labor and counsels for the party. Though never a candidate for office he worked unremittingly for success of party, and has uniformly declined to hold public office.
Had been prominent in every public enterprise, giving time, means, and ability to the work of bettering the condition of our county. Circumstances brought him into intimate connection with various schemes for securing a railroad to Bolivar and he was prominent at the head of one of the factions into which the county was divided. His work in that connection brought him great difficulties and much opposition, but he lived to see the result and we do not doubt followed the course dictated by his belief of what was for the public good. In the building of the Springfield and Northern Railroad last summer, and in the questions arising in connections with it, he was an untiring worker and rendered valuable services.
In his death our city has sustained a loss which is severely felt and impossible to repair. Knox, as we loved to call him, is gone, but there remains his memory, which is a precious legacy to hundreds of those who knew and loved him.
Remains taken to his father’s home in PA yesterday for burial. Mr. James Knox accompanied them, though himself far from well, having been worn out in the care of his brother during his last illness. Dr. A. P. Mitchell went with Mr. Knox as far as St. Louis."
The Springfield Daily, the leading paper of the Southwest, editorially says, "O. D. Knox, a prominent lawyer and business gentleman of Bolivar, died yesterday morning at three o’clock. Had been sick thirty-one days and had received the best skillful treatment, physicians of this city being called to his bedside. All was vain. His death creates sorrow wherever his name is known, as he was a gentleman of fine abilities and excellent social qualities, which endeared him to all who were happy in his acquaintance. He was thirty-five years of age. Leaves wife and four children. The corpse passed over the ‘Frisco last evening, accompanied by members of the family and Dr. A. G. Mitchell, enroute for Coudersport, PA, former home of the deceased."
MR. HARRISON KOON died at the home of his daughter on Ayers Hill, March 10, 1902, age 85 years. Born July 16, 1817, at Springwater, Livingston County, where early part of life was spent. Married Miss Nancy Shay, June 20, 1846. Five children. Two died in childhood. Remaining ones are: Mrs. William Kimball, of Ayers Hill, Mrs. L. B. Cole, of Coudersport, and Mrs. t. J. Gilbert, of Smethport, PA. Mr. Koon came to Coudersport in 1868 where he resided at the time of his wife’s death in 1887. Funeral in Sweden Valley Church. Methodist minister of Coudersport. Buried in Sweden Hill Cemetery. Mrs. Cole absent from funeral because of illness.
MRS. HARRISON KOON – On Saturday morning, October 29, 1887, after a long and lingering illness of about three months, Mrs. Harrison Koon quietly passed away. Was born in Livingston County, NY, July 29, 1826 where she spent her younger days. Married Harrison Koon, June 20, 1846 and has resided in Coudersport since 1868. Leaves husband, and three daughters; Mrs. L. B. Cole and Mrs. T. J. Gilbert, of Coudersport, and Mrs. William Kimball, of Turtle Point, PA. Funeral service at her home on Sunday at one o’clock. Buried in Sweden Cemetery.
Another obit: Mrs. Nancy Koon died in Coudersport, October 29, 1887, aged 61 years and three months. Born in Livingston County, NJ, July 29, 1826 where she spent early part of life. Married Harrison Koon, June 20, 1846. United with Methodist Church when young. Was an invalid for many years. Mother of five children, two of whom (boys) died in childhood. The children who are living are Mrs. William Kimball, of Turtle Point, PA, and Mrs. L. B. Cole, and Mrs. T. J. Gilbert of Coudersport. Funeral at residence. Rev. K. P. Jervis, of M. E. Church. Burial in Sweden Hill Cemetery. (In Coudersport since 1868)
MRS. MARY J. LARRABEE died at the residence on West Street, Saturday, November 24, 1917. Mary J. Larrabee, relict of the late Hon. D. C. Larrabee, in the 78th year of her age. Funeral services at the home. Rev. Witham officiating. Burial in Eulalia. Schutt and Gillon. Solo by Mrs. Peffer.
Mary Jane Larrabee was born at Candor, NY, August 20, 1840. Parents were Adna and Rodentha (Hubbard) Gridley, of whose seven children, but three are now living: Henry A., Sarah E., widow of Seth Lewis, and Elizabeth W., widow of Burton Lewis, all of Ulysses.
Mr. and Mrs. Gridley moved to Ulysses when Mary was seven years old. There she grew to womanhood, attending the common schools and afterwards Alfred University. She was married to Don Carlos Larrabee, then a prosperous merchant in Ulysses in 1858 and when he was elected sheriff of Potter County in 1862 they moved to Coudersport where they resided up to the time of his death in 1889. She has since then lived in the Larrabee mansion house on West Street (now the American Legion Home) 1942. With her daughter, Carrie (Mrs. S. A. Phillips), who with the only son, Leon E. survives the distinguished father and sainted mother. One son Carlos, died young and Leon is now a trusted attorney for the Tidewater Pipe Company, living in Bradford. His son, Carrol, now somewhere in France, and Mrs. Phillips’ two daughters, Florence and Donna, will sorrowfully miss the companionship of grandmother Larrabee, for her heart kept young and she understood.
She was one of the few intellectual women of Coudersport to organize the first Chautauqua Reading Circle, and when that failed of proper support, and the present C.L.S.C. was formed in 1895, Mrs. Larrabee joined and graduated in the class of "The Patriots," after four years of diligent study. In this she kept her membership, until disabled last year, always contributing to the program with signal ability.
"None knew her but to love her, None named her but to praise."
ERASTUS DELANO LEWIS dies at his residence in Coudersport, Sunday, May 13th, 1888, of pneumonia. Born at Lewisville, August 18, 1833. Son of Orange Lewis, formerly of Lewisville. Erastus moved permanently to Coudersport about 1862. Was Deputy Sheriff to D. C. Larrabee and most of the time from then to 1881 acted as Deputy to the sheriffs of the county.
In 1881 elected Register and Recorder and reelected. in 1884. Although in receipt of a reasonable income and a man of economical personal habits, his generous impulses and open-handedness was an absolute bar to his financial property. Coudersport will be fortunate if it be not many a day before we "see the like of him again." Remains take to Lewisville Tuesday to the "village on the hill."
JOHN W. LEWIS was born in Brookfield Township, February 7, 1834; died at home in Hector, September 25, 1899. Buried in Ulysses Cemetery, September 28 by Masonic fraternity. July 27, 1858, married Adeline Monroe, of Harrison, by Rev. Thompson Jolly. Four children, three boys and one girl: John C. Lewis, died Jan. 29, 1886 at Jacksonport, Ark.; Villroy M. Lewis; Ada M. Lewis, wife of Frank Leffler; and Fred S. Lewis now survive.
Member of M. E. Church for 12 years; member of Minnewaski Tribe, IORM, Coudersport; A. A. Lewis Post, GAR, Ulysses; Ulysses Lodge, F. and A. M. #658. Elected Commissioner of Potter County in fall of 1890, served three years.
Enlisted in US Army, February 23, 1864; injured by being thrown from horse in Battle of Cold Harbor, VA, June 2, 1864. Mustered out at Elmira, January 21, 1865.
Was son of Simeon and Ruth Coon Lewis who settled in Hill Town, now known as Brookfield, about 80 years ago, which was then a wilderness. Survived by two brothers, Simeon C. Lewis, of Harrison, and Phineas B. Lewis, of Centre Junction, Iowa.
MRS. LUCRETIA R. LEWIS, wife of Willis Irving Lewis, died at her home in Coudersport Thursday, June 7, 1894, after long suffering. Maiden name was Rathbun; born in Cohocton, Steuben County, NY, and was motherless from a babe. An older sister, now Mrs. Helen Higgins, had her care which must have been excellent, as the child developed into a woman with character seldom met with. An earnest worker in every good cause in the community.
Graduate of Alfred University at which place she met her future husband. Leaves two children, Robert, age 13 and Margaret, born in the fall of 1893. Consistent member of M. E. Church into which were baptized on Sunday, the 10th, her loving, stricken husband and the infant daughter.
GEORGE LOGUE died at his home Thursday morning, November 25, 1897 at 2 o’clock. Was born August 11, 1814. Was 83 years, 3 months, 22 days. Lived at First Fork all his life except about ten years, when he lived at Moores Run. Man of good habits, loving father, and kind husband; never known to quarrel with his neighbors, tried to do to others as he would have them do to him. Father of six children, five boys and one daughter. One boy died when but six years of age and another when about 23. He was one of 13 children. Three brothers and three sisters survive him. Funeral Saturday, at 2 PM. Although it rained hard, schoolhouse was filled with relatives and friends come to pay their last respects to one they loved. Buried in First Fork cemetery. Rev. E. E. Mulliner. Text: "We do all fade as a leaf."
MARGARET BOOTH LOGUE died April 13, 1900, age 75 years, 11 months, 18 days. Funeral by Rev. W. S. Holland: the text, 1st. Corinthians 15th chapter, 19th verse. Sick but a few days. Lung trouble. Leaves three sons and one daughter. Husband died some time ago. (The above from Savoy correspondent.)
From First Fork correspondent: "We buried Aunt Margaret Logue yesterday. Short time ago she walked three miles, then did large washing, caught cold, took to bed and died nine days later. All children at her deathbed except Benj., who arrived a few hours too late. Her brother, Hugh Booth, of Hebron, could not attend funeral. Mrs. Matilda Havens, her daughter, is ill at her brother’s Mac Logue.
Journal adds: The death of Mrs. Margaret Logue of First Fork removes a woman of real worth, kind of heart, patient in adversity. Good neighbor, indulgent mother and faithful helpmeet, enduring the toil and suffering of pioneer life on the Sinnemahoning uncomplainingly.
TITUS LOSEY – One of Coudersport’s oldest residents died at 1:20 p.m., Friday, May 18th, 1900. Born October 1812. When a boy nine years of age was brought to this place by Judge Timothy Ives. (Wrong, Ives came in 1826) who reared him as a son. After Judge Ives’ death he remained with Mrs. Ives till her death. Was an extensive traveler, having circled the globe. Amassed considerable amount of money in California but afterward lost it and died as town charge. Was never married. A sister in Westfield and two brothers on Pine Creek survive him. Was in poor health last winter. In bed last three weeks. Death due to heart and lung trouble.
MRS. OLIVIA LOSSEY died at Pike Mills, Potter county, March 29, 1878, age 81 yrs. And 27 days. Born Olivia PHENIX, March 2, 1797. Her husband, S. M. Losey, now in 106th yr. Funeral sermon by Rev. Geroldman, of Gaines, from Job 10th, part of 20th verse. "Are not my days few?"
ALGERNON SIDNEY LYMAN died January 22, 1913. Just a week previous to his death he was the Installing Officer of the G.A.R. Post to which he belonged. Many remarked of his animation at that function in which he seemed to take renewed delight. M. J. Colcord describes him as "one of Nature’s noblemen."
Born in Rutland, Vermont, April 28, 1840, son of Eleazer and Mary E. (Hollister) Lyman. His father was a cousin of Major Isaac Lyman. In 1861 A. Sidney Lyman married Rachel Taggart by whom he had seven children; four of whom are now dead; living: Sarah Lyman, now widow of Byron B. Woodward, Hampton, NY., Seth T. Lyman and May Lyman, of Pelham, NY. After the death of Rachel A., Sidney Lyman married Mrs. Mary Dickinson, of Bath, NY 1883, They had one son, Roy, now of Millport, PA. After her death he married Alice Carroll Sayre (one reference calls her Alice Cary Sayre) 1891, she survives. In youth Mr. Lyman attended the Coudersport Academy; taught school many times, carrying on farming in the summer. In 1864 enlisted in Co. K of 12th NY Cavalry, serving most of the time in a hospital until end of war. He was devoted to Freemasonry and was a Charter member of several of the Bodies here. Was member of Methodist Church and served as tip-staff for 30 years, never missing a session. Funeral held in M. E. Church Jan. 22 Wednesday, having died Sat. Jan. 18. Rev. J. F. Lefler, officiating. Burial Eulalia Cemetery, with Knights Templar ceremony; also an impressive service by them in the church. G.A.R. Comrades were pallbearers.
ELEAZER LYMAN died at his home in Oswayo (Eleven Mile), PA, Feb. 4th, 1878, age 85 yrs. Born in Whitingham, Windham Co., VT, June 12, 1793, died Feb. 4th, 1878. Was a carpenter and joiner for 45 yrs. Soldier of 1812 as orderly sergeant, volunteer for the defense of Plattsburgh, NY. Married first, Mary Dudley, of Casterton, VT in 1815 by whom he had seven children. She died in 1832. Married Mary E. Hollister, of Pawlet, VT, March 6th, 1833 by whom he had five children. She survives him. One by first marriage and three by second are living. Moved from Hampton, NY to Oswayo in 1855 and since resided on farm where he died. Member of Episcopal Church. Member of Masonic Order for 60 yrs. Was honorary member of Wellsville Chapt. At time of death. Funeral at Oswayo village on Feb. 6th. Rev. Rumpff, Rector of St. John’s Church, Wellsville, officiating.
JOHN LYMAN died at residence of his daughter, Mrs. P.A. Webb, in Eulalia, March 8, 1880, age 90 yrs., 8 mos., 7 days. In 1811 assisted in surveying the Pine Creek Road and in 1816 the road from the point where the Genesee crosses the state line to Jersey Shore. Was son of Major Isaac Lyman.
LEA S. LYMAN died in Oswayo, Sept. 24, 1880, age 4 yrs., 3 mos. and 12 days. Also Sept. 30, 1880 Maude R. age 12 yrs. 6 mos. 22 days. They were the youngest son and oldest daughter of A. S And Rachel Lyman.
MAY ELIZABETH LYMAN died Mar. 22, 1875, at Oswayo, in 12th yr. of age, daughter of A. Sydney Lyman and Rachel Taggart Lyman.
CAPT. OTIS LYMAN died at Cambridge, Mich., Nov. 21, 1876, age 72 yrs. He was a brother of Burrell Lyman.
MRS. SOPHIA WOOD LYMAN was born August 25, 1816, in Hampton, Washington County, NY. She was married to Benj. F. Lyman on September 29, 1847. He died July 5, 1901. They lived together for about 54 years, passed on farms in Vermont, Pennsylvania and Kansas. Forty of those in the Eleven Mile Valley, Potter County.
In 1898 they took up their abode with their daughter, Mrs. Chas. Day, at Wellsville, NY, where she died June 19, 1905. She was the last survivor of a family of six brothers and sisters and was well preserved in looks and movements to be full ten years younger that the full 89, which she had nearly reached.
Sweet and saintly life; always cheerful and bright.
In last few weeks of her life, Mrs. Eugenia Crosby, of Coudersport, to whom she been as a mother in her childhood, assisted by her daughter and her family to care for her.
Three sons and one daughter, four grandchildren, two great grandchildren survive. Don F. in New Mexico; George H. in Kansas; Samuel F. at Chrystal, PA; and Mrs. Chas. Day at Wellsville.
Funeral at house, Wednesday PM, June 21; Rev. E. W. Beecher, Episcopal Rector. Burial Woodlawn Cemetery, Wellsville, beside husband. In 1904 was elected Honorary member of Catherine Schuyler Chapt. DAR, of Allegany Co., NY. Her grandfather, Edward Woods, Rev. soldier.
MATHIAS WILSON McALARNEY died December 5, 1900 at his home in Harrisburg. Son of John and Catherine Wilson McAlareney, born June 7, 1840 in Mifflinburg, Union County, PA. Educated at Bucknell. Learned the art of printing in the Chronicle office at Lewisburg. Then for six years published the Potter County Journal at Coudersport. During the war was appointed provost marshal of the 18th PA district.
After the war took up study of law with Hon. Isaac Benson; admitted to the bar, Feb. 27, 1867. In May same year removed to Harrisburg and entered upon practice of law. From 1874 to close of 1882 was more or less engaged in editorial work on Harrisburg Telegraph and in fall of 1883 purchased majority of the stock of the Harrisburg Pub. Co., of the Daily and Semi-weekly Telegraph, and from that date has continued as editor of the Telegraph and manager of the publishing company.
In 1867 married Ada, daughter of Jacob D. Hoffman. Two children: Martha Worden and John Hart. Three died in infancy.
Ambition of his youth, his early life’s dream, was to be managing editor of a successful newspaper.
WILLIAM McDOUGALL – Mr. Wm. McDougall, well known wealthy citizen of town of Willing, NY, died at 10:30, Sunday night, Feb. 6, 1881, age 75. Poor health for some time.
Born in Greenwich, Washington County, PA. At an early day moved to Tioga County, near Wellsboro. Between 40 and 50 years ago took up residence in Potter County, first at Coudersport, afterwards for many years at Oswayo. Was a surveyor and invested in wild land which later brought him a fortune. Owned valuable oil lands near Bradford.
JOHN S. MANN died in Coudersport April 12, 1879, age 63 years. Born in London Grove, Chester County, February 29, 1816. Educated at his father’s school at Mannington, Susquehanna County, PA. Taught several terms of school when a young man. Removed to Coudersport March 11, 1841. Resided here since (38 years, a month and a day). Studied law with Crosby W. Ellis, in winter of 1842. And was admitted to bar, practiced until his health failed about a year ago.
Married Miss Mary Williams King, daughter of John and Hannah (Clendenon) King on June 28, 1842, who survives and has ever been a helpmeet and encouragement to his best nature, and whose influence must ever have been for good. Two children: Arthur B. and Mrs. Cora Thompson (M. S. Thompson), both of whom reside in Coudersport.
Was never married. Successful business man. Was a Scotch Presbyterian, but a few years ago became a Seventh Day Baptist. Has a brother, two nephews and three or four nieces. Remains were sent to Salem, Washington County for burial, accompanied by his nephew, Mr. Alexander Robinson and Mr. Sidney Lovell, an old friend and business associate.
Mr. Mann was often selected to fill positions of trust. Often on the school board. He earnestly advocated good schools.
Served in House of Rep. at Harrisburg during 1866-68, ’71. Was active and prominent. Through his influence, in 1866 the law, prohibiting sale of intoxicating liquors in Potter County was passed. To him more than to all others combined may be ascribed credit of this legislation.
Was member of Constitutional Convention of 1873, labored for its best provisions, one being that of requiring the state to donate at least $1,000,000 per year toward support of common schools of commonwealth.
Was born of Quaker parents and many of the influences of this sect in his early life clung to him till his death. Politically, before the war, he was an Abolitionist. Many a poor bondsman, fleeing from the lash and a life worse than death to the land of, to them, freedom, Canada, were indebted to him for guidance and help. Since the organization of the Republican party he has acted with it and for it until his death, always taking a leading part in its councils and working earnestly for its success.
At time of death was Editor and proprietor of Potter Journal which he had owned for last five or six years, and of which he was one of the original founders over 30 years ago. Had been connected with it either as editor or contributor almost continuously since it was first issued. (note: error – was not one of the original founders – became associated with it Jan. 11, 1850)
During his early residence in the county, was injured in one limb by running away of a horse. When he recovered, found one limb to be shorter than other considerably, causing a limp in his walk.
In his death our county has lost an honored citizen, his family a kind husband and father, the temperance cause, an earnest and strong defender, and the Republican Party an able leader. He will be mourned most by those who knew him best. He was a man of strong will and unbending purpose. Whatever he believed to be right and just was advocated by him regardless of opposition and he never stopped to consider if it would be popular, but only, is it right? A good man has gone to his final reward and he will be missed long after the grass shall wave over the cold clay. His works live after him.
MRS. MARY W. MANN – On Monday evening, Jan. 16, 1899 there ended in her home in Coudersport the life of a good woman as ever lived. Her age was 79 years and one day. No sick woman or ailing child ever needed nurse, nourishment, or friend when Mrs. Mann was in health to help them. Her deeds of charity were so quietly performed, a sister of mercy, indeed, was she. In her modest Quaker dress, covering a true a Christian heart as ever pityingly throbbed in the bosom of a servant of God, would she, provision and clothing laden, seek out the worthy poor regardless of creed or color, and, entering their cheerless homes, would she brighten their dark world, and warm their hearts and hearths.
This universally loved and widely mourned woman was of English Quaker origin. Her father was John King, one of the early pioneers of McKean and Potter Counties. The Kings came from Philadelphia and were among the original settlers of Ceres. Here John King, with a small colony of his countrymen cleared farms and built homes. The King residence was commodious and noted far and wide for its ever open hospitality.
Hon. Rodney L. Nichols, of Coudersport, 57 years ago, was a frequent and welcome guest at the King home. Mr. Nichols’ home in 1842 was in Arcade, NY, near Buffalo, and the King family, were sometimes guests at his father and mother’s home. Mr. Nichols remembers Mary King and her sister, Elizabeth as fearless equestriennes –especially Mary, who was not afraid to ride the wildest colt on the farm. And many times in the heart of the wildest winter storms, did she ride through the then unbroken woods from Ceres to Coudersport and return. This was the girlhood characteristic of the brave young lady whose life then and thereafter was filled with the world’s most beautiful deeds of good to her needy fellow creatures.
On June 28, 1842, at her home in Ceres, Miss Mary W. King was married to John S. Mann. The young couple took up their residence in Coudersport. Their life here is the most interesting part of the town’s history.
John S. Mann was a gentleman in every way worthy of a noble wife, and never did the life of man and wife more devotedly harmonize than did theirs. Their home was ever open to all in need of help. The Mann home was a far-recognized "station" of the "Underground Railway," through which escaped slaves made their way to Canada and freedom. The King home in Ceres was the next "station" to the Mann home in Coudersport of the "Underground Railway." Pages could be written – and most interesting pages they would be – of Mrs. Mann’s daring work in helping with her own refined hands black men and women to escape the fate of slavery. And it was this grand woman, that a few years later, when the days looked dark for the Union with her own brave hands made beautiful loaves of bread here in Coudersport. She sold them to the people, and sent the money she earned by this labor of love to the sick soldiers of the North, her own boy, her only son, being one among the boys in blue.
On April 12, 1879, death parted her from her husband, as true a man in worth and principle, as Pennsylvania had ever known. With her children, Arthur B. Mann and Mrs. M. S. Thompson, her relatives in Potter and McKean counties and in the West, this community sincerely mourns. God bless her memory. At two o’clock today, spiritually directed by Rev. William Marshall, pastor of Christ Episcopal Church, the funeral was held from the home, Main Street. The remains were laid to rest by the husband’s side in Eulalia Cemetery.
LORENZO G. MATTESON died in Kansas City, October 18, 1899. Grew to manhood on farm of his father, John Matteson, near Colesburg, a tall, young, handsome, rugged man. Went to Michigan where for years was conductor on a railroad with headquarters at Muskegon. Later moved his family to Kansas City, still following railroad interests.
Visited Coudersport a few years ago and then evident he had consumption. His mother, Mrs. Elida Matteson, of Coudersport, went to Kansas this fall intending to pass winter with him, knowing well it would probably be last opportunity to see him alive.
Member of Horton Lodge, 326, F. and A.M. which took charge of his burial from residence on the 20th. Besides his mother, leaves five brothers: Barton, Will, Lewis, George, Fred, also four sisters.
MRS. JUSTUS MEHRING – Mrs. Margaret Mehring died at her home two miles below town Sunday, 6 p.m., January 1 (or 10), 1900. Born in Alsace, France, January 16, 1825. At age of five came to America with parents and in 1832 came to this county, where she has since resided. In 1844 married Justus Mehring who died in 1887. Two sons, Justus and Chris, one daughter, Miss Sallie Mehring, and two brothers, Fred and Chris Shadenberger, all of Eulalia.
ELLA J. MERRICK – Miss Ella J. Merrick, age 77, died Tuesday evening at home of her niece, Mrs. Milo G. Austin on Central Ave., Wellsboro. Daughter of Israel and Julia Merrick and the last of a large family of brothers and sisters. She was a sister of the late George W. Merrick, Ellis Merrick, and Charles Merrick, Mrs. Mortimer F. Elliott, Mrs. W. T. Mathers, Mrs. Deroy Herrington, and Mrs. Larrison.
Her health had been declining for several years. Was up and about the house until a few days previous to death. Cause of death, Bright’s Disease. Had lived in Wellsboro all her life, except short periods she spent with her sister in New Mexico, and her niece, Miss Larrison in Chicago, where she resided for eight years. Educated at the old Wellsboro Academy. Fond of good literature and was well informed on history and current topics. An interesting conversationalist. Came to live with Mrs. Austin four years ago, where she received every comfort and tender care. Member of Presbyterian Church. Survived by following nephews and nieces: Mrs. M. G. Austin of Wellsboro; Mrs. Joseph Fridel of Hammondsport; Mrs. Leon B. Ferry of Binghamton; Mrs. George B. Dusinberre, of Elmira; Miss Nellie Larrison of Chicago; Mrs. Anna Kibbe, of Wellsboro; Sarah, Ellen, Anna, and Ellis Merrick, Jr. of Williamsport. William Mathers of Hazelton; Horace Mathers of Wellsboro; and Charles Merrick, of Deerfield. Funeral at 2:30 at home of M. G. Austin on Central Ave., Wellsboro. Rev. Orrin G. Cocks, pastor of Presbyterian Church conducted service. Interment in Wellsboro Cemetery.
MAJOR GEORGE W. MERRICK passed away Friday morning about 6 o’clock, Feb. 11, 1916, at his home in Wellsboro. Suffered a paralytic stroke about five years previous, but regained health sufficiently to enable him to visit his law office daily since that time. A few weeks go suffered attack of grip, and took to his bed, failing until the end came.
George W. Merrick was born in Wellsboro, March 27, 1838, the son of Israel and Julia Ann (Erway) Merrick. His father was one of the early settlers of Wellsboro. George Merrick was attending school when the Civil War broke out. In the spring of 1861 he enlisted as a private in Company H, of the Sixth Regiment of the PA Reserve Corps, and served with it in the Battle of Drainsfield and the second Battle of Bull Run. In 1862 was honorably discharged on account of ill health.
Before he had fairly recovered he recruited a company for the first battalion PA Volunteers, six months men; was chosen captain of the same and went to the front and participated in the Battle of Gettysburg. At the expiration of six months he recruited company for three years service which became Company A of the 187th Regiment, PA Vols. He was subsequently commissioned Major and joined the army at Cold Harbor. He was in command of the regiment in the desperate action of June 18, 1864, in the assault upon Fort Hell, and received a gunshot in his right knee, rendering amputation of the leg necessary. This would disable him from further active military duty and the brave, impetuous and patriotic officer retired from the service. He returned home, studied law and was admitted to practice in the several courts of Tioga and adjoining counties in 1869.
Major Merrick was senior member of the law firm of Merrick and Young, his partner being his nephew, Hon. Robert K. Young, now State Treasurer. A few years ago, Thomas H. Crichton, of Wellsboro, was taken into partnership, the firm since being known as Merrick, Young and Crichton.
Major Merrick was appointed postmaster of Wellsboro Jan. 27, 1869, a few days before his admission to practice law, and held the office over thirteen years, resigning June 14, 1882 to accept the nomination of the Independent Republicans for Secretary of Internal affairs. He then opened an office in Wellsboro for the practice of his profession, and being a close and logical reasoner, a good advocate and public speaker, he soon ranked high among his brethren of the bar of Tioga County and wherever his business called him.
On Nov. 25, 1868, Major Merrick was married to Miss Ione Butterworth, daughter of Appleton and Mary (Wilmot) Butterworth, of Coudersport, who survives him together with one daughter, Mrs. George Brown Dusinberre, Louisa
Editorial Tribute: "The keynote of his character, as expressed by intimate friends, was his honesty, and his loyalty to the things he believed to be right. He was a true and steadfast friend, and was always courteous and friendly. He made his personality felt in every sphere in which he moved. A gentleman of strong and decided convictions of temperance principles, which he expressed freely when called upon or when the occasion required it.
Funeral held Sunday afternoon at 2 o’clock at the family home on Walnut Street. Service by A. C. Shaw, D. D., and P. H. Hershey, of the Presbyterian Church, and the G.A.R. ritual service was also observed. He was a member of the Odd Fellows, the Loyal Legion, composed of veteran military officers of the Civil War, George Cook Post, G.A.R., And the Union Veteran Legion, of Wellsboro.
(He read law with Henry W. Williams, later a Justice of the Supreme Court of PA)
Another obit: Major Merrick was son of Israel Merrick, who came into Tioga County about 1804 from Maryland, when fifteen years of age. Located in Delmar Township, where he experienced the vicissitudes of frontier life. Major Merrick attended the old Academy at Wellsboro.
He lost his leg at the assault upon the rebel works at Petersburg. Began study of law in 1866 with Judge Henry Williams of Wellsboro. He defended Mrs. Howell, charged with poisoning and secured her acquittal. Was an Independent Republican. Refused to be governed by the Quay machine. (This article says he married in 1866).
(That he was wounded at Fort Hell is disputed in this article as Fort Hell was not yet built. Henry C. Root who was a comrade in the same regiment with Major Merrick, is the authority for this.) Major Merrick was wounded at Petersburg. Henry C. Root spent his boyhood in Wellsboro – was living in Topeka, Kansas when Major Merrick died.
Still another notice: Married Ione Butterworth, niece of Hon. David Wilmot in Nov. 1868. She survives him. Of their four children only one is living, Louise, wife of George B. Dusinberre of Wellsboro; also one sister, Miss Ella Merrick of Wellsboro and one brother, Ellis J. Merrick, of Williamsport who has been a railway postal clerk for many years.
Major Merrick was the son of Israel Merrick, Jr., and grandson of Israel Merrick, Sr.
MRS. IONE BUTTERWORTH MERRICK, widow of the late Major George W. Merrick, who died Feb. 11, 1916, died suddenly yesterday morning (Jan. 1, 1918) of heart disease after less than an hour’s illness, aged nearly 80 years. Was born in Coudersport, Jan. 19, 1838, daughter of the late Appleton and Mary Wilmot Butterworth, her mother being a sister of Hon. David Wilmot, one of the foremost statesmen of his time. Married Major Geo. Merrick, Nov. 25, 1868. Three daughters and one son born, only one of whom, Louise, wife of Geo. B. Dusinberg, of Wellsboro survives. One sister, Mrs. Hugh Young, of Wellsboro and one brother, Geo. Butterworth of Harrisburg, also survive her.
Another obit: Wellsboro Junction, PA, January 1, 1918: Just as the dawn of the New Year was breaking, the death of Mrs. Ione Butterworth Merrick, 80 years old, came unexpectedly at the home of her sister, Mrs. Hugh Young, in Wellsboro. Had been in usual health, and last evening wrote New Year’s letters and walked to the office and mailed them. Was the widow of George W. Merrick, one of the most gallant soldiers, most brilliant of lawyers and publicists that Tioga County ever produced, who died two years ago.
She was a niece of David Wilmot, author of the Wilmot Proviso. Daughter of Appleton and Mary (Wilmot) Butterworth of Coudersport. Survived by an only child, Mrs. George B. Dusinberre, of Wellsboro, and her aged sister, Mrs. Lois Ann Young, widow of Hugh Young, and mother of Robert Kennedy Young, deceased.
JACOB B. MERRICK, born in Wellsboro, July 4, 1825, son of Isaac Merrick and grandson of Israel Merrick, Sr. Was a dentist. Married Lucy A. Burns, native of Fulton Co., NY. They had 3 children: A. R. Merrick, dentist of Millerton; D. O. Merrick, dentist of Blossburg; Walter T. Merrick, lawyer of Blossburg. (December 5, 1883, Ms. Merrick married second, Rev. Hiram Short, M. E. minister)
MARY GILLIS DARTT MERRICK – married second, Israel Merrick: daughter, Harriet Merrick, born July 30, 1825. Harriet married John Francis (born March 23, 1821), September 9, 1846. Isaiah Wilson, Esq. performed the marriage. Mrs. Mary Merrick was married first to James Dartt.
WM. MERRICK of Potter County, son of Moses Merrick, early settler of Middlebury Township, Tioga, Where William was reared to manhood. Died 1887, age 70. Wife was Caroline Whitney, daughter of Jeremiah Whitney of Middlebury Township. Five children: Fidelia and Erastus Rice; Wheeler O.; Bradford W.; E. Moses; Fannie, wife of Ira Mourey.
MRS. PAMILLA METZGER died on the 13th of 1882, aged 62. Wife of William Metzger and they were among the oldest inhabitants. One of her brothers died at Wellsboro on the 14th.
WILLIAM M. METZGER took his own life last Thursday morning, Sept. 7, 1899. 23 caliber rifle was used to end life that had become intolerable and the privacy of his room at six o’clock was the place and time chosen. Bought cartridges for the gun the day before.
Mr. Metzger’;s house was occupied by Charles Button with whom he boarded and the shot was heard by Henry Button, but he thought it was outside the house. As he did not appear at usual time, Mrs. Button went to awaken him. Discovered he was dead. The small gun lay beside him and the bullet hole in the center of the forehead told the story.
Coroner’s jury summoned by Justice Shear and verdict of suicide rendered. Was a native of this country and had lived here all his life, about 50 years. Admitted to the bar in 1873 and was District Attorney one term. He abandoned the practice of law soon after the end of that term and was engaged in business which was generally successful. An unfortunate accident when he was a boy cost Mr. Metzger one of his legs and the suffering incident to that and subsequent ill health deprived him of robust physique and mental resiliency so helpful in enduring the burdens of life. When trouble came he fell an easy prey to melancholy. Mingled but little among his fellows and took little part in public affairs. Loss of his wife, brooding over ill health, and loneliness and to ease the pain he suffered from dyspepsia, he resorted to opiates until he could not dispense with them.
But for his physical infirmities he might have enlarged the horizon of his life. So it is that an accident can turn the whole current of ones life.
One brother, Hon. Owen G. Metzger and one sister, Mrs. Theodore Cobb survive. A will made in 1890 bequeathed his property to his wife and in event of her death which occurred about two years ago, to the children of his brother, Own, naming their father as executor.
Funeral services at the house, Rev. Toensmeirer, on Saturday.
and seven children journeyed on alone.
Thirty three years ago he married Celestia C. Ford and for 30 years he and wife have been residents of Coudersport.
Five children born; four living, Louise, Harry, Nellie, Benjamin. Mr. M. was for years a faithful member of Baptist Church, good citizen, loving father, kind neighbor, etc. One brother and sister survive as well as wife. Both live in San Jose, CA. Funeral at 10 a.m. May 19th from residence. Rev. McLatchey. Burial in Ford Hill Cemetery in Allegany.
ALMERON NELSON died at Coudersport, September 26, 1896, of apoplexy, of Lymansville, in the 80th year of his age.
Such is the brief record of one of our best citizens. The suddenness of his demise made the blow more cruel to the family and friends. He was stricken with apoplexy while walking along the street in Coudersport and lived but a few moments.
Was a son of Cephas and Eunice Nelson and was born in Putnam, Washington County, NY, January 15, 1817. His mother was Eunice, daughter of Major Isaac Lyman. Cephas Nelson moved to Lymansville in 1820. Had six children: Horatio Admiral, b. Oct. 23, 1806; Henry, b. March 10, 1808; (His children were Ford, Festus, Charles, and Oscar); Charlotte, b. June 13, 1811, m. John Tompkins – went West; Lyman Nelson, b. Dec. 14, 1812, m. Maria Hall, sister of Dennis Hall; Almeron Nelson, b. Jan. 15, 1817, m. first Henrietta McClelland, daughter of Wm. McClelland. They were m. Aug. 27, 1844. She was b. Jan. 17, 1826 – died Oct. 2, 1866. Almira Nelson m. second, Elizabeth Ann Taggart, Nov. 27, 1867. She was b. March 9, 1831, daughter of George and Sarah Ann (Goodrich) Taggart.
Almeron Lyman was a member of the Methodist Church and Eulalia Lodge, 342. Buried at Ladona.
CHARLES H. NELSON died at his home in Coudersport November 14, 1891, age 35 years, 7 months, 3 days. Son of Henry and Speedy Clark Nelson; born at Colesburg, May 11, 1856. Educated in common schools and Coudersport Academy. Taught school several terms. Graduated 1881 from Lock Haven. Worked with engineering corps three years.
June, 1884, married Mary, daughter of John Evans, of Painted Post, NY. Came to Coudersport Opened meat market on Main Street. About a year ago entered into partnership with Dr. Chas. French in drug business; firm of French and Nelson.
Member I.O.O.F., Equitable Aid Union, and Coudersport Fire Company. Amiable disposition, courteous; sudden death loss to wife and to community.
GEORGE NELSON, December 20, 1877, of typhoid fever, eldest son of Allen and Alma Nelson, 11 yrs. 10 mos. 27 days.
HALL NELSON died Saturday, May 7, 1921 at his home on Ross Street. Was tenderly cared for in his last illness by his son, Harry, assisted by Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Herrington.
Funeral at the home; Rev. Henry A. Post of Christ Church; burial in Eulalia Cemetery.
Born June 6, 1844 on the homestead at Mina, son of Lyman and Maria (Hall) Nelson. Attended school in Eulalia Township, and finished fairly liberal education at Coudersport Academy under the late J. W. Allen. Enlisted in service near the close of Civil War, but was not called to the front. In 1869 married Miss Agnate Frames of Wellsville, whom he survived, but little more than a year. Two sons born, Fred, died in 1897, after reaching manhood; and Harry W. Nelson, the well known attorney.
Mr. Nelson engaged in the mercantile business for several years, was deputy sheriff under Dan Monroe, and served as court crier for thirty-six years, at the same time being active as expressman and in other lines of business. Was noted for energy, uniform politeness, and business integrity. Was a life long and staunch Republican, an active worker in many campaigns. Member of Methodist Church, and charter member of Odd Fellows Lodge.
The only survivors of the family of Hon. Lyman Nelson are the deceased’s two sisters, Mrs. Orrel Clark, now in Florida, and Mrs. Olivia Parks of Waverly, who was present during his last days on earth.
HENRIETTA NELSON died in Lymansville, Oct. 2, 1866, wife of Almeron Nelson, age 40 yrs.
HENRY NELSON died at residence Monday eve, July 2, 1888, age 80 years and 20 days. Born in Hebron, Washington Co., NY and when twelve years of age his father removed to this county and settled on farm now owned and occupied by Almeron Nelson, at Lymansville.
When 21, he shouldered his ax and with his young wife, left the old homestead to make home for himself. Settled just above Colesburg and cleared one of finest farms in Allegany Township.
In 1876 he removed his family to this borough. (Coudersport) Was quiet, unassuming, Christian gentleman, widely known and respected by all. By industrious habits and honorable dealings he accumulated considerable of this world’s goods and lived to enjoy them.
By his first wife, who was Speedy Clark, he left seven children. His second wife was Fannie White, no children.
JAMES NELSON of Sweden Township died October 23, 1900. Potter County has lost one of its pioneers and best citizens. Born in Washington County, NY, Nov. 5, 1814. Came to Lymansville, 1820. Was twice married. Last of the original family, which were among first settlers of the county. Greater part of life spent on farm in Sweden Township.
Last few years lived with his daughter, Mrs. M. E. White at Sweden Valley where he died. Survived by following sons and daughters: William and Willard Nelson; Mrs. M. E. White; Mrs. A. L. Herrington, all of Sweden Valley; Mrs. A. T. Herrington, of Bradford.
Another obituary: Died afternoon of Oct. 23, 1900. Had he lived till Nov. 13th would have been 86. Born at Lake George, Putnam Township, Washington County, NY in 1814. Later years spent in home of youngest daughter, Mrs. Hattie White. Buried at Lymansville. Rev. J. W. Torkington summoned from Harrison Valley to preach sermon.
JASPER NELSON died in Lymansville Feb. 4, 1877, age 48.
Another obi: Died in Lymansville, Feb. 4, 1877, Jasper Nelson, age, 43 years.
LEVINA J. MILLS died in New York, March 22, 1899. Was in poor health for some time and decided to acquaint her children with her disease, and accordingly started to New York two weeks ago. After an examination by physicians, an operation was deemed necessary. This was undergone at the home of her daughter, Mrs. John D. Archbold, her two sons and youngest daughter having been sent for. Peritonitis set in and she breathed her last after requesting that her body be conveyed to Coudersport where her husband and one daughter lie buried.
As Levina Jenkins, she was born in the city of Rome, NY, June 7, 1818, being one of a large family of brothers and sisters. Lived there until her marriage with Mr. Samuel J. Mills in Pottsville, PA in 1839 where they resided until they moved to Coudersport in 1851 and ran the Coudersport Hotel, standing upon the site of the Crittenden Hotel (1943). It was burned in 1880. After a few years they exchanged their hotel for a farm in Colesburg, owned by Daniel Glassmire, where they lived five years when they decided to start for the oil country from whence came such exciting tales of newly made fortunes. They traveled to Jersey Shore over the Pike and from there they went to Oil City. Shortly after, they moved to Titusville, and then to Meadville. They kept the first hotel in Bradford, known as the Farmer’s hotel. After many prosperous years they moved to Wellsville, NY and kept the Fassett House where Mr. Mills died in 1872.
After her husband’s death, Mrs. Mills returned to Coudersport, where at the home of her husband’s relatives she passed her remaining years, alternately with her children. She would have been 81 in June.
She leaves four children, Mrs. John D. Archbold, of New York, wife of the Standard Oil magnate; Mrs. George Stahl of Chicago, whose husband is also an officer of that company; Mr. George J. Mills of Decatur, IL, a prosperous hotel man; and Samuel Mills, Colonel of the Fifth Artillery and who expects to leave for Honolulu, April 5th, having been placed in charge of US troops in these new possessions.
JUDGE LYMAN NELSON – One of the few remaining pioneers. Moved with his parents, Cephas and Eunice Nelson from Hebron, Washington County, NY to Lymansville when he was seven years old. Was 82 years, 2 months, and 27 days old. In 1832 married Anner M. Hall and built a home in Eulalia Township. Family of nine children; all living except one. Died at his home on Oak Street, Coudersport, Monday, March 11, 1895.
OSCAR A. NELSON died Dec. 31 (30), 1897. Stricken with malarial fever about three months ago. As he improved and was able to leave his bed his friends thought a change would do him good. He and wife went to Gold to her parents; for awhile he improved, but was taken worse and died. Funeral at Gold on Sunday, Jan. 2nd at 2 o’clock. Was 52 years old. Member of Masonic Fraternity and I.O.O.F. Was son of Henry and Speedy Clark Nelson. Born in Allegany Township. One of a family of eight; five living: Daniel, of Pe Ell, Wash.; F. B. of Coudersport; Fordyce A., of Allegany; Mrs. Darling, of Steuben County, NY; and Mrs. Presho, of Allegany. One sister, Mrs. Butler, died some years ago. Chas. H., youngest of family, died six years ago.
Some 20 years ago was married to Ellen, oldest daughter of Asa F. Raymond, who survives.
DR. G. W. NORTHUP passed to His reward at advanced age of nearly ninety-one years. Funeral last Thursday.
George Washington Northup was born in Pike Township, Bradford County, PA, April 11, 1822, and died at Potter Brook, PA, March 17, 1913. Funeral Thursday, March 20, in Presbyterian Church, Knoxville. Rev. A. C. Shaw, DD, pastor, emeritus of Harrison Valley M. E. Church officiating. Interment in family plot at Austinburg in Woodlawn Cemetery
Dr. Northup was left fatherless at early age; from age of 12 was entirely dependent upon himself for support and education. Acquired sufficient education to teach school and with funds obtained in this and other ways was enabled to carry out his plan of becoming a physician.
In the late forties he graduated from Hobart College, Geneva, NY, with the class which voted to admit Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman physician in the US, if not in the world. This act was at a time when public opinion was almost unanimous against the "new woman" and illustrates the large mindedness of the class of individuals.
Soon after completion of his medical course he married Mary Ellen DeWolf, of his native township and with his young bride moved to Brookfield, Tioga County, PA, and settled down to the strenuous life of a country doctor.
They were two of a little company that organized the first and only Presbyterian Church in the township of Brookfield. Three children were born to them. May, now Mrs. M. N. Edwards, of Potter Brook; the late Clement D. Northup, well known as one of the lecturers of the State Board of Agriculture; and Anna Ellen, deceased wife of W. J. Ankeny, of Ft. Morgan, Colorado. Soon after the birth of Mrs. Ankeny the beloved young wife and mother was called to her heavenly home.
The doctor’s second wife was Mary Maria George, of Brookfield, who passed away in 1906. To this union also were born three children, daughters, two of whom died in infancy. Another, Louisa Genett, married W. D. Jordan, of Troupsburg, but departed this life in 1907.
Dr. Northup moved to Knoxville in 1889 and lived there until the death of his second wife. He united with the Presbyterian Church and became one if its ruling elders. Gained many friends by his genial manners and kindly spirit. It was with regret that his friends saw him depart from his farm in Troupsburg, where he lived until a little less than two years ago, when he went to reside with his only living child at Potter Brook.
Dr. Northup was a gentleman of the old school, genuinely hospitable, truly friendly, worshipping God with a faith that never faltered, charitable toward all the world, cherishing no mean or unworthy thoughts, exemplifying in his daily life those lofty ideals he acquired from a constant study of the Word of God. His presence in the home or the church was a benediction of peace; his life a sermon more eloquent than many a one delivered from the pulpit. His thoughtfulness and unselfishness were unobtrusively displayed even in the trivial acts of everyday and when his last brief illness came, his chief concern was for the welfare of those who cared for him. Truly he leaves to his descendants a heritage of true, manly living more valuable than silver or gold.
Besides his daughter he leaves to mourn his loss, one daughter-in-law, Mrs. C. D. Northup, of Osceola; fifteen grandchildren and eighteen great grandchildren.
CLINTON H. OLMSTED – Born in Coudersport, October 1853 the second son of Henry J. and Evalena (Cushing) Olmsted. Died at the home of his wife’s parents at Ashland, PA, Sunday, April 21, 1918 of heart disease. Married in 1875 to Miss Florence Andrews. Two daughters born: Bessie, now Mrs. James Mack of Rochester, Minnesota, and Edith, now Mrs. Robert Morris, of Upland, Indiana. Mrs. Olmsted died in 1889 and his daughters kept his home until a few years ago when he was married to Miss Augusta Vasage and since that time made his home in Bradford where a son, Lewis, was born. Besides the widow, son, and two daughters, four brothers and two sisters survive. Arthur, Sumner, George, and Daniel of Coudersport, Mrs. Dell Sparrow of Warsaw, NY and Mrs. Frank Andrews of Coudersport.
Was for several years partner with his father and brothers in hardware store in Coudersport and for several years managed a branch store in Emporium. For past 12 years traveling salesman for the Emery Hardware Co. of Bradford. Republican and Master Mason; also member of the S. H. G.
MRS. EDWARD OLMSTED – The remains of Mrs. Edward Olmsted of Williamsport were brought to Coudersport today, November 10, 1915, for burial in Eulalia Cemetery. They were taken to the home of Mrs. Frank L. Andrews who is a niece of the deceased, and at whose home the funeral will be held tomorrow at 10 o’clock, Rev. J. F. Leffler conducting the services.
Many years ago Mrs. Olmsted was a resident of this town when her husband conducted a dry goods store here. They owned and lived in the house now owned by Charles Armstrong. (corner of East and First Street, south west corner.) Her maiden name was Lydia L. Cushing. She and her husband moved from here to New York, thence to Williamsport where they have since made their home. Mr. Olmsted died a few years ago. One daughter, Mrs. Estelle Creager of Fredonia, Kansas, survives and accompanied the remains here. Mrs. Olmsted was eighty years of age.
J. ARTHUR ORMEROD – Born in Coudersport November 7, 1874. With exception of some time spent in Buffalo has been resident of Potter County. After return from Buffalo, began study of law. Admitted June 15, 1897. Soon after opened a law office in Austin. Remained till about two weeks ago. Was serving on United States court juror when ill with typhoid fever, which he had contracted in Austin. Came home last week, Tuesday or Thursday. Died Wednesday night, 11 o’clock, October 31, 1900.
He was born in the City of New York, April 4th, 1772. Four years later was taken to Elizabethtown, NJ. Was married to his first wife Sept. 28, 1803, lived with her ten days when she died of yellow fever. Was married to the widow who now survives him on Aug. 2, 1808. Emigrated from Elizabethtown to Potter County and arrived at the place where he died on May 23, 1811. He had two children at that time and seven others were born later. These nine children, the youngest, thirty-six, are all living. Eight of them in this county, and these have forty-three children, thirty-seven of them whom are in this county.
When John Peet moved here there were but four other families in the county. There were no roads, mills, stores, school houses and none of the comforts of civilization. He was a small sized, slender built, feeble looking man. But he was temperate in his habits, industrious, economical, persevering, upright, and determined; and so was enabled to endure all the hardships, which followed. And to support a large family under difficulties that would have made it impossible to an ordinary man.
The first gristmill he went to after moving here was at Jersey Shore, Lycoming County, distance of 72 miles. Trip was made with two yoke of oxen and took eighteen days. He went by way of Pine Creek, which stream he crossed eighty-two times. The only house on the route where he could find shelter and refreshment after leaving Lymansville, was at the Big Meadows.
After this for nine years, the nearest gristmill was that of Francis King of Ceres, McKean County, distance of 25 miles. The road to this being very bad, and the trip having to be made with oxen, it took four days to go to the mill and return. There was no house on the road, so that one night, going and returning, had to be passed in the woods. In the wintertime, he necessarily suffered much on these trips.
Notwithstanding these difficulties, he and his equally faithful wife continued to support and educate their large family. He found time and had the inclination to supply the place of minister at all the funerals in the county for more than twenty years and to minister to such other congregations as desired his presence.
His farm consisted of seventeen acres of cleared land, not naturally of the best. He prospered on this small farm because he did thoroughly all his work and spent no money for intoxicating drinks or other useless things, had no lawsuits, and attended to his own business. Never held either county or township office, but once and at the end of his life term said, "he did not see the use of offices of any kind if people only would live right."
His youngest son, Jacob Peet, married Eliza Colcord, daughter of Joseph and Sally (Dickinson) Colcord of Bath, NY and sister of David Colcord. She was born in 1828 and died Dec. 8th, 1908. She came to Coudersport with her brother David about 1841 or 1843 to attend the Academy. She taught school one term before her marriage to Jacob Peet. They took up land in what is known as the "South Woods," three miles south of Coudersport, being one of the first settlers in that almost unbroken forest. Jacob Peet, Jr. died in 1892. Had a large family, but lost four in the diphtheria epidemic in 1862.
JOHN PEET died February 20, 1900. Funeral services by Rev. Bennett, of Oswayo, at Colesburg, February 22. Son of John and Sarah (Moorhouse) Peet. Born in Eulalia Township, 1819. In 1843 married Rachel VanWegen, who died a few years ago. Three children: Elmira, now Mrs. Jacob Kimm; and Horace and Orso, both deceased. Mind was clear to time of death. First recollection went back to age of six when, but one little patch was cleared in what is now Coudersport. Located about where the jail is now.
MRS. JOHN PEET – On June 16, 1895, word came that Mrs. John Peet had died some time during the previous night. While feeble with age, she was not ill. She was out of bed ministering to her husband, who is in very poor health, when he heard her groan and going to her side, found her dying; lived but a few minutes.
Rachel (VanWegen) Peet was born Nov. 1, 1814. Married John Peet, July 4, 1843. Funeral at residence on Monday, June 17th. Rev. Joseph Dennis conducted the service, assisted by Park Methodist Church choir. Text: Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord. Brought to Eulalia cemetery for burial.
ELIZA (TAGGART) PFOUTZ died in Renova, Dec. 9, 1898. Daughter of Seth and Rhoda (Peet) Taggart, youngest daughter. One member of this family left: Mrs. Sarah Colcord, mother of Julius Colcord. Eliza died at age of 48 years, nine months. Married David R. Pfoutz, of Renova, August 1873; lived in Renova since, where she reared two boys, now young men. About a year ago she was afflicted with what was thought to be cancer of stomach and constant and excruciating pain caused her to look forward to death as a relief. Buried at Renova, after service in M. E. Church, of which she had been life-long member.
VERNIE BELL PHENIX died at Pike Mills, Nov. 13, 1880, of diphtheria, daughter of Joshua and Anna Phenix, age 3 years, 11 mos. 22 days.
JOHN L. PHOENIX died in Gaines, Tioga Co., Jan. 5, 1877, age: 75 years. 7 months. 26 days.
JAMES O. POTTER died suddenly Friday evening, August 4, 1922 at his home, corner of Oak and Isabel St. in Coudersport. Suffered heart trouble for several years; survived ten months in Andersonville Prison during Civil War.
Funeral services at the home. Rev. J. B. Harry, pastor of M. E. Church, Coudersport. Burial in Eulalia Cemetery with Ritual of the G.A.R., conducted by the Arch F. Jones Post. Those from out of town attending the funeral: Dr. Woolsey, B. Potter and wife, of Olean; Mrs. Minnie Wilson, of Williwanna, sister of Mrs. Potter; Miss Beatrice Reynolds, of Sayre, PA; Mrs. George F. Anderson, of Detroit; W. J. Grover; W. M. Grover and wife, of Newfield, PA; Mrs. W. W. Toombs, of Olean; Mrs. Mary Farrier and children, of Ridgewood, NJ
James Potter was the son of Oliver and Frances (Paul) Potter, born
in Harrison Township, August 29, 1842. Attended public school at
Coudersport and studied one term at Ulysses Academy, Ulysses. In
early life was a farmer in Harrison Township. In 1865 went into
mercantile business. Removed to Coudersport in 1892 where he has
since followed the trade of wagon maker.
He married (first) Phoebe L., daughter of A. Myron and Sabra (Dunkley) Grover, who was born in Warren County, NY in 1843 and died at Coudersport March 15, 1901. Mr. Potter married (second) Orvilla (Goodsell) Bassett, daughter of Albert and Mary (Carr) Goodsell, who was born at Coudersport, Sept. 1, 1859. She was there educated in the high school. By her first marriage to William Bassett, she has a daughter, Mary, born at Coudersport March 12, 1897.
Children of James O. Potter and Phoebe L. Potter: Milton J. Potter, born at Lewisville (Ulysses), PA Nov. 7, 1867; married Lettie Gordnier. Mary, born at Lewisville Jan. 17, 1869; died at Raymond, PA, 1897; married John T. Smith of Allegany Township. Woolsey Burtis Potter, born at Lewisville, July 24, 1876, physician and surgeon.
LOUIS A. PRADT – Wausau, Wisconsin, June 27, 1934
Another of Wausau’s leading citizens has been called to his eternal home and again the people of the city, especially the elder ones, are called upon to mourn.
Louis A. Pradt had been a resident of this city for more than fifty years, except for the time he was occupying an important position as assistant attorney-general in Washington, and during all that time has stood for the very best things in life. He was active in every movement, which had for its aim a better Wausau and a better country; he was a pioneer and a prime mover in many organizations which have helped to make Wausau the city it is. He achieved and maintained a very enviable position as an attorney-at-law. He was for thirty-two years the senior warden of St. John’s Episcopal Church; a charter member of the American Red Cross, when it was organized at Washington, and its first counsel; He was the organizer of the Marathon county Chapter of that organization during the World War and its first president; he was the founder of the Wausau Country Club; and one of the founders of the Rotary Club of this city; he was a natural leader of men.
To the Record-Herald his death, following so closely that of B. F. Wilson, secretary and treasurer of the Record-Herald Company, comes as a great shock. For more than eighteen years he has been the vice-president of the company, and much of the success of this paper has been due to his kindly advice. The people of Wausau and Marathon county will miss him, but not so greatly as those of us who were thrown in daily contact with him in business and social life.
Wausau can ill afford to lose him. He was also one of the founders of Wausau Hospital.
Editorial: Louis A. Pradt, former assistant United States attorney-general at Washington, and since 1872 a resident of Marathon County, Wisconsin, died shortly before noon to day while seated in a chair reading at the family home, 501 McIndoe Street. He was apparently in good health and had been active in legal and other affairs.
Mr. Pradt was born in Coudersport, PA, November 11, 1851, a son of Charles R. and Esther (Emmons) Pradt. The family located at Plymouth, Sheboygan County, where the father developed a farm and where he joined the 14th Regiment of Infantry. He fought in the Battle of Shiloh and was injured while in service. He returned to Sheboygan County at the conclusion of his term of enlistment and in 1872 he located in the western part of Marathon County where he took up government land and cleared and operated a farm. In the early 80s he retired from farming and made his home in Wausau where he spent the remainder of his life.
Mr. Pradt acquired his rudimentary instruction in the rural schools of Sheboygan County and after attending the Racine College entered the University of Wisconsin where he received the degree of Bachelor of Laws. He taught school at the age of sixteen years and for twelve years taught in the rural schools in Sheboygan and Marathon Counties. He completed his law course with the earnings he derived from teaching and after his admission to the Wisconsin bar in 1881 he opened a law office in Wausau. With the exception of his service as US Attorney-General at Washington, he practiced law in Wausau ever since.
One of his early partners was the widely known Neal Brown. In 1884, in association with Mr. Brown, O. H. Holway, who afterward served as state adjutant general, Howard Hoyt and B. J. Pulling, he formed the Wausau Law and land Association. C. S. Gilbert and Fred W. Genrich were later members of the association. In February, 1932, Mr. Pradt withdrew from the association and with his son, Louis A. Pradt, Jr., who had been practicing law with his father since his service as lieutenant in the World War, formed a law firm with offices in the First American State Bank Building, where he practiced up to the present. In 1890 he became city attorney and was appointed assistant attorney-general of the US by President McKinley and was placed in charge of the work in the court of claims with which he was identified until 1906, when he resigned. He also served under Pres. Roosevelt.
Among the noted cases defended by Mr. Pradt as government counsel were the insular claims growing out of the Philippine Islands procedure as an aftermath of the acquisition of that territory. Another important case was the double prize claim in behalf of Admiral Dewey and his officers and crew, resulting from the battle of Manilla. Mr. Pradt successfully defended the government as a matter of duty, despite his personal good wishes for the Admiral and his gallant seamen. He also defended the Indian claims in the case of the Cherokee tribe of Oklahoma versus the United States, opposing Senator Owen for the plaintiffs.
While in Washington he participated in many noted events. His name appears in the Act of Incorporation of the American Red Cross in 1905, serving as first counsel for that organization. At the time of the World War he was an organizer of the Marathon County Chapter.
For thirteen years his practice has been confined largely to the affairs of the Employers Mutual Liability Insurance Company and workmen’s compensation cases. Was for many years counsel for the Chicago and Northwestern Railway and also for the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad.
Was vice-president and director of the Record and Herald Company and senior warden of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church for thirty-two years, in which office he was serving at time of his death. He lectured before law students of the University of Wisconsin on procedure of the court of claims. He was a staunch Republican and chairman of the Republican Committee for Marathon County from 1890 to 1896. Was vestryman of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church while at Washington and a member of the Chevy Chase Club and the Cosmos Club. Was founder and first president of Wausau Country Club and was for two years president of the Wisconsin State Golf Association.
In 1887 was a member of the Light Guards, in which he was second sergeant, and which military company that year won first place in the international drill competition at Garfield Park in Chicago, as the best drilled organization.
Was member of Forest Lodge, F. and A. M. and of Wausau lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.
He was married in 1890 to Miss Charlotte Atwater, a native of Newton, Iowa, and a member of an early colonial family who survives him with their three children, Louis A. Pradt, Jr., of Wausau, Alan Pradt of Menasha, who was formerly private secretary to Senator Irvine Lenroot, and Mrs. Marshall Smith of Menasha.
Funeral arrangements have not yet been completed.
LUCIEN B. PRADT died in Coudersport, Dec. 30, 1850, of dropsy to the brain. He was the son of Mr. Charles R. Pradt, aged 2 years, 8 months.
ARTHUR LYMAN PRESHO, son of Esq. Presho, of Allegany, died at 10 AM Feb. 26, 1877, age 23 yrs. 11 mos. 2 days. About one yr. ago he married Miss Sarah Conable. He was teaching school on Pine Creek when taken sick. Was brought to his father’s home. Funeral in meeting house at Raymond, Feb. 28. Elder WIlliam Storrs, of Ulysses. Text: "I was dumb, I opened not my mouth, because thou didst it." (Selected by his father.) Buried near his mother who died when he was four or five years old.
JOHN QUIMBY was killed at Keating Summit, Nov. 7, 1899. Was freight conductor. Car being switched at the hardwood mill siding; Mr. Quimby and brakeman Ostrander were on top of it. Although moving slowly it left the track and went down a steep embankment. Ostrander escaped but Quimby was caught in the truss rods and carried under the car. Head was crushed. Had wife and four children.
LEVI S. QUIMBY died at 11 o’clock, Monday morning, July 15, 1901. Poor health for some time. Born in Caroline, Thompson County, NY, 1821. One of seven children. Father died when Levi was 18. Removed to Steuben County and worked and worked in Addison and Woodhull at various occupations. For six years was commercial traveler. In 1843 married Susan Northup; to them born six children: Alice A., now Mrs. Eli Glaspy, of Homer; Alda, now Mrs. Wm. Crosby, of Homer; Wilber M., of Mina; Truman N., of Coudersport; A. J., of Homer; and John A. Quimby. In 1866, with his family removed to Homer Township; purchased a farm; he worked at carpenter trade and sons managed farm. Wife died in 1867. In 1869 he married Mrs. Sally M. Northrup, of Oxford, NY. To them born two children: Homer N. and Minnie M., now Mrs. Horace Vredenberg. In 1885 sold his farm and moved to Coudersport and purchased the Commercial House, which stood where Gates store now stands. Was proprietor several years. Retired when hotel burned. Enlisted in 1862 – Co. G, 141st NY Vol.; served till close of war. Member of G.A.R. And F. and A.M., the latter attending funeral in a body. At family residence, Rev. MacClellan. Burial in Homer.
DANIEL RAYMOND – Journal, August 24, 1893
Died Sunday morning, Aug. 20, 1893 at home of his son, David L. Raymond, Allegany Township, Potter County, PA., age 99 years, 10 months 15 days. In 1836 moved with his family from Tioga County, NY, settled on wild tract of land he had bought in Allegany Township, near Raymond. No wagon road within three miles of where he settled. Had to go to Williamsport for their corn, which was $3.50 a bushel in Potter County. The old homestead is still owned and occupied by his sons.
RHODA RAYMOND died at Raymond, PA, Sun., Nov. 26, 1876, wife of Amos Raymond in 63rd year.
ABNER REDNER died in Hector April 18, 1899 at age 103. Born in Ulster County, NY, September 24, 1875. Moved to Tompkins County, NY in early manhood, where he met and married Miss Margaret Douglass, who died in 1887 at age 90. They moved to Hector in 1838 and located on a farm where they lived out their lives. Five children; four survive; Orris Redner; William Redner; Letty J. Abbey, of Hector and D. W. Redner, of Penn Yan, NY.
MRS. CAROLINE S. REES died of apoplexy April 10, 1899, at Costello, age 77-3-14. Lived at Costello 57 years. Eleven children: Mrs. M. A. Lamonte, Odin; Mrs. C. R. Westfall and Mrs. E. C. Champlain, of Costello; Mrs. S. A. Moore, Horseheads, NY; T. B. Rees, Coudersport; Eli Rees, Lakeland, FL; A. S. Rees, of Odin; O. A. Rees, Austin; G. W. Rees, Coryville; C. V. Rees, Savoy, PA. Funeral Thursday April 12 at Rees school house; Rev. W. H. Smith of Harrisburg. Largely attended. Burial in Rees Cemetery. By her request, no flowers, just the white ribbons.
Caroline Rees born in Andover, Allegany County, NY, December 27, 1821; moved from Andover in fall of 1827 with her father, Luther Strong, who purchased the land where many industries are now running; Ellison’s grist and saw mill, a hub factory and where the large glass plant is under construction.
Luther Strong was one of the pioneers of Coudersport, erecting on the above named premises the first grist and saw mill in Potter County. (A damned lie! Isaac Lyman had mills long before this. He may and probably did, erect the first one in Coudersport)
She taught school; one of her pupils was D. D. Colcord, of First Fork, PA. (check) Married to Thomas M. Rees February 2, 1842 by Wales Butterworth, J. P. 13 children; 11 living. In 1837 she embraced the Wesleyan faith; about 1866 joined the United Brethren Church and continued to study diligently; finally accepted the Seven Day Sabbath in 1883. Kept diary for last two years. Last record, April 9, 1899: "E. D. and E. H. just back from Quarterly M. Reports many sick; storm kept others away. One man resolved to start out and lead a new life, etc., etc.
BENJAMIN RENNELLS died Wednesday morning, May 16, 1917 at his residence on First Street, after failing rapidly for a week or more, at the advanced age of 95.
Born in Bradford County where Canton now stands, April 5, 1822. His father, Ezra Rennels came to Potter County when Ben was nine years old, but afterwards returned to Bradford County to care for his parents. He came here to work on the Coudersport and Jersey Shore turnpike, the first outlet for Potter County to the outside world. Of the four boys, Ben, Alvin, George, and Ezra, remained in Potter, which was then a most primitive settlement. Ezra was killed by a fall in the Coudersport stone quarry, while Alvin lived to a good old age as a farmer in Summit Township. They had two sisters, but now all the family are dead.
Even at 95, Mr. Rennells had a clear recollection of his early life and the stirring events incident to the settlement and development of this back woods section. He made his home with Major Isaac Strait while a young man and upon reaching his majority, learned the blacksmith trade, at which he worked continuously, with the exception of three years when he engaged in farming to improve his health. He maintained a shop in Coudersport until his 60th year.
In July 1847, he was married to Maria Nelson and to them three children were born. One died in infancy, and a daughter, Martha, died at 18. The son, W. Cyrenus, married Ella Strait, and they have three children, Cora, a teacher in the Coudersport schools; Edna, wife of Lee Vorhees, a banker in Okmulgee, Oklahoma, and William, also of Okmulgee. W. Cyrenus Rennells has held many boro and county offices, and is at present county auditor. He and his good wife have given the aged father the most patient care during his declining years.
Benjamin Rennells has been one of the most highly respected of the many noble pioneers of Potter County, a man of sound judgment, total abstinence, kindliness and rugged honesty. He was a member of the M. E. Church, in which he was for many years, a veritable pillar. He was a charter member of Eulalia Lodge, F. and A. M., of which he was Past Master.
The funeral will be held Friday at two o’clock at the house.
HENRY ROGERS died in Allegany, Aug. 21, 1878, son of Mrs. Hannah Rogers, 21 years 2 days. Several years ago while living in the west he was bitten by a rattlesnake and has not been in good health since. In 1877 he passed a surgical operation by Dr. Freeman, of McKean Co., removing large swellings from the neck. Last Christmas, he took to his bed. Thanking a kind Providence that the surgical operation prolonged his life in preparation for death.
CAPTAIN DAVID ROSS – Was a native of Grafton County, NH, born 1795, died 1872. Father was Revolutionary Soldier. David Ross came to PA in 1820, engaged in lumbering business in Ceres, PA. In 1827, moved to Coudersport, where he was for several years a surveyor and local land agent for sale of Bingham lands. Also viewed and surveyed roads.
In July 1827, married Mary Ann, daughter of John and Seclinda (House) Knight, who was born Jan. 21, 1810 near Syracuse, NY. John Knight, a native of Ireland, of Irish-English parentage, came with his father’s family to Philadelphia about the close of the 18th century, and established iron works there. John Knight was educated in the Moravian School at Bethlehem, and in 1807 came to Onondaga County, NY. In 1808 married Seclinda House. Was in War of 1812, died in 1815. Seclinda House was a daughter of Jonathan and Mary (Smith) House and was born in Bennington County, VT, in 1788. Her father was with Gen. Stark at Battle of Bennington in August, 1777. Ancestors of Mary Smith House and lived in Plymouth Colony. Jonathan House and family moved to Onondaga County, in 1797, which was a new country, few houses and no churches. Four years after the death of John Knight, Mrs. Knight married John L. Cartee. In May 1825, she came with her husband and daughter, Mary Ann Knight, to Coudersport. Mary Ann taught school at Lymansville and in July, 1827, married David Ross. Their children were: Sobieski, Mary, Pulaski, and Ellen. (Further information on these children is listed in their obituaries)
ELLEN ROSS, second daughter of David and Mary A., born in November 1836 and in 1860 married A. G. Olmsted. They had two children: Nellie, born July 19, 1861, died Sunday noon, November 1, 1942, at her home in Coudersport. Married William F. DuBois, December 26, 1893, and had one son, Arthur W. DuBois, married Helen Welfling, 1921, and they have one son, Arthur Frederick Dubois, born June 1927. Helen Welfling born June 1895. Robert, son of Ellen Ross and A. G. Olmsted born ?? , married Katherine Fizzell of Bradford, PA. They have two sons and one daughter.
(W. F. DuBois born March 24, 1860. Arthur DuBois, son of W.F. and Nellie, born January 14, 1897)
GEORGE F. ROSS, son of Sobieski, born June 19, 1859 at Coudersport. Received early education here and attended Academy at Washington, PA. After leaving school, was engaged in a bank and a custom and flouring mill. Married July 3, 1878, Miss Frank Brown, daughter of William Brown of Mansfield, PA. Died September 27, 1887.
Another obit: At five o’clock, Tuesday morning, Sept. 27, 1867, after a few days illness, George Fox Ross quietly passed away.
Was born in Coudersport June 19, 1859 and has always lived here. Was of kind, free hearted disposition, always ready to lend a helping hand to those in distress. At time of his death was staying with his grandmother, Mrs. Mary Ann Ross, whose favorite grandson he was, his wife and two small children having gone to Mansfield where Mrs. Ross’ parents reside.
He was sitting in a chair, took a kitten in his lap, and commenced to play with it, when he fell from the chair dead. A physician had remained with him from Monday evening until three o’clock Tuesday morning when he said he would go to sleep. Shortly after he rose, dressed and went downstairs and sat down. He only breathed two or three times and passed away without a struggle.
Death entirely unlooked for and, consequently no one with him except his grandmother and a young girl.
JOHN S. ROSS, son of Sobieski Ross, born at Coudersport, PA, January 7, 1848. Completed his education at Andalusia College, Bucks County, PA. Being of studious and literary nature, he spent much time in study of geology and collected a large cabinet of geological specimens and a library on the subject. In 1872, married Miss Lydia S., daughter of W. J. Colegrove, of Smethport, PA. After his father’s death, he devoted his time and energies in the management of the large interests, which were left. Died December 14, 1882, at Jersey Shore, PA.
SOBIESKI ROSS - Funeral at his residence last Sat. PM. Rev. E. Wood, of M. E. Church assisted by Rev. S. C. McElroy, of Presby. Church and Rev. J. S. Johnson, of Baptist Church. Places of business closed. Buried in Eulalia Cemetery.
His will dated Sept. 9, 1876 was witnessed by John M. Hamilton, A. F. Jones, and M. S. Thompson. Executors are: John S. Ross, W. E. Jones, and A. G. Olmstead.
Just debts and funeral expenses to be paid. Lymansville farm (Pfuntner) is bequeathed to his wife, Isabella Ross, in trust, for George Fox Ross and Thomas Ross, she to have complete control of farm until the sons reach age of 25. To his dau., Mary is given all his musical instruments, all the silver plate, marked "M. R." and all the furniture in what is known as her room. To his sons, John, George, and Thomas, all his books, maps, and mathematical instruments. To Isabella Ross, all household furniture and plate, except that before mentioned. All other personal property, miscellaneous, and real estate is given to the executors in trust, to pay debts, bequests, etc. To his mother, Mary Ann Ross, the sum of $1,000. All rest of estate to be paid to Isabella Ross, John, Mary, George, and Thomas Ross, share and share alike.
The executors to have full power to dispose of and give title to all property until the children shall reach age of 25 years; are directed to apply for the use of each the necessary amount yearly for education, etc.
If any die before age of 25, his or her portion shall be equally divided among others, unless lawful issue is left, in which case the parent’s portion shall go to said issue. The home property in the village of Coudersport was deeded to the elder children some years ago. A. G. Olmsted was relieved from acting as executor at his own request. Value of estate is unknown. Unless there are unknown claims, it will foot up to a comfortable sum for each heir. Consists of ordinary personal property, a large amt. Of judgments, and a considerable amount of land in Potter, McKean, and other counties, most of which must appreciate in value.
Judge Sobieski Ross shot himself in the barn on his premises in Oct. 1877.
Brief bio: Sobieski, born May 16, 1828. Attended Coudersport Academy. In fall of 1845 was working in the Bingham Land Office. Also taught school. In 1850 was nominated for State Legislature by the Whig Party, but was defeated. In 1852 was appointed Associate Judge by Gov. Johnson. In the early 50s made large purchases of land, known as the Fox and Ross lands and as the Ross lands. Was president of the Coudersport and Port Allegany R. R. Company, when it was organized early in the 70s. Was elected to the 43rd Congress and reelected. to the 44th. Died October 24, 1877.
He married in October, 1846, Mary Spangler, born Feb. 1828. By this marriage had three sons and one daughter: John Sobieski, Mary, Henry Dent, and George Fox.
The mother of these children died November 22, 1862. In 1864, Mr. Ross married Isabella Haven, daughter of Samuel and Ann (Churchill) Haven. One son was born, Thomas Haven Ross, a physician in Buffalo, NY.
JOHN SOBIESKI ROSS, eldest son of Sobieski, born January 7, 1848, died Dec. 14, 1882. Was credited with being the most scholarly man in the village.
Another obit: John S. Ross of Coudersport died at Jersey Shore on Thursday, Dec. 14th and was buried in Eulalia Cemetery on Sunday. Taken ill Tuesday with chronic inflammation of the stomach, complicated with spinal congestion. Born in Coudersport and has always resided here. Had a detailed and accurate knowledge of Potter County. Was a good surveyor and at the death of his father, a few years since, he took charge of the estate. About twelve years ago married Miss Lydia Colegrove of McKean County, who survives him. Mr. Ross would have been 35 years of age next month.
MARY ROSS, daughter of David and Mary A. Ross, born August 1830, married in September 1848, Capt. Archibald F. Jones, merchant of Coudersport, who died March 8, 1879. One child, William Knight Jones.
PULASKI ROSS, second son of David and Mary. A., born December 1833, died February 1841.
MARIA HOWLAND ROUNSEVILLE, wife of Abiathar Rounseville died at family residence at Coudersport, Saturday morning, Oct. 6, 1888, age of 61 years and ten months, after long and most painful sickness. Born in Eulalia Township, resident of Coudersport most of her life. Kind hearted, generous, and a Christian lady. No words can express her great suffering, through all of which she was patient, praying only for the end. Cause of death was of peculiar nature, which had troubled her many years. She expressed a wish that after her death a post mortem examination might be made which was done Saturday p.m. by Dr. Ashcraft, in presence of Drs. French, Buck, and Ellison. The result we give:
"On right side of abdomen, in what is known as the ascending colon, was found a singular deformity. The colon was doubled upon itself, forming a curve, resembling the letter S. This had probably existed for years and had been the cause of retarding the free passage of feces along the course of the bowel, which sluggish condition, had, in turn produced considerable irritation, and at times quite a degree of inflammation. As a result of this inflammation there were some inflammatory adhesions, binding the bowels together and increasing the already unnatural deformity. And as this deformity was increased, the bowels became more sluggish, and the consequent irritation, inflammation, and adhesions increased until the bowels became entirely occluded, which ended in death."
It is a satisfaction to know the condition was such that had an operation been attempted, it would have been abandoned when the condition was revealed, or resulted in death.
Funeral from residence Monday afternoon.
WILLIAM H. ROUNSEVILLE – Death occurred December 30, 1916
at Mills. Funeral at Park M. E. Church, Rev. Witham officiating.
Relatives present: his widow, a cousin, Mrs. F. M. Shafer of Dansville,
NY; sister of the widow, Mrs. Hattie Maginley of Dansville; his
son, Don and wife of Ulysses, sisters, Mrs. Mary Pierce and Mrs.
Ellen Nelson; nieces, Mrs. Marie Schadenberger and Mrs. Nellie Brown
of Hornell. Deceased born in Coudersport, the first child born after
the boro was incorporated, the eldest son of Abiathar and Maria
(Howland) Rounseville. Was past 67 and had lived here nearly all
his life. Married to Addie Wambold, April 20, 1869, who survives
with their only son, Don. Four brothers and three sisters also survive.
They are: Mrs. W. W. Wykoff of First Fork; Mrs. Mary Pierce of Coudersport;
Mrs. W. Nelson of Boston; James E. Rounseville of +
HON. WILLIAM SHEAR – In the death of Hon. William Shear, Coudersport loses one of its best known and most highly honored citizens. Seldom, if ever, does it happen that one comes to the end of life more universally loved by young and old, more highly held in esteem and confidence for integrity and uprightness than was Squire Shear. His genial presence and friendly manner will be greatly missed from the scene of his daily activities. Almost to the last he continued in the routine of his office, to which he had been thrice elected without opposition, his nomination being ratified by both parties. His popularity in office won for him the patronage of a large constituency, as is testified by the large number of marriages performed and of cases tried.
William Shear was of Scotch descent, being born June 7, 1826, in Kelso, Berwickshire, Scotland. When seven years of age he came with his parents to Duffins Creek, Province of Ontario, Canada, where he received a common school education. As the oldest among ten children, he was early endured to hard toil. He came to Coudersport in 1863 and engaged in the tanning business, being associated with Pierre Stebbins and others, and later with Hon. C. S. Jones.
In 1879, by a condition of the Democrat and Greenback parties, he was elected to the Legislature, where he served his constituents faithfully and with uncompromising integrity. During his term in the House, bills were presented for damages in the Pittsburgh Riot and Border Raid Cases, aggregating three million dollars or more. Mr. Shear was a leader of the opposition, being convinced that the bills were excessive. He was approached with an offer of fifteen thousand dollars. Notwithstanding the fact that at the time his business was advertised at sheriff’s sale, Mr. Shear maintained his integrity and the bill was defeated by one vote.
In Masonic circles, Hon. Shear held a most influential position. He was initiated into the Order January 9th, 1862, in Columbia Lodge, No. 60, Columbus, PA. Was admitted to the Coudersport Lodge, Nov. 9th, 1864. Three times he held the office of Worshipful Master, 1866, 1871, and 1874. For a long number of years he has been the faithful chaplain of the Blue Lodge and many Masons all through this section of the country will lament his death. For many years he has been a 32 degree Mason and has assisted in conferring the degrees on a large number who will cherish his memory with affectionate esteem.
He was a faithful and devoted member of the Presbyterian Church of this place, uniting by letter in 1870. Few were more faithful in attendance or gave more generously according to their means. His generosity was unostentatious and was with his great kind-heartedness, one of the outstanding traits of his character. He gave help wherever needed, never turning any away. He had a large, warm place in his heart for children and he counted many young people among his friends. Contrary to prevailing tendencies, he did not live to accumulate money, but ever gave out of his store, though depriving himself. Giving help to others was a joy to him.
For several years his health was gradually failing. About six weeks ago he was compelled to take to his bed, and on Tuesday afternoon, Oct. 4th, at 2 o’clock, he fell peacefully asleep. He is survived by a son, William A. Shear, well known to the business life of Coudersport, and three sisters, residing in Norwich, Connecticut, and one brother. To the bereaved we extend our heartfelt sympathy.
The funeral services will be held at the home of his son, on Hill Street, on Friday morning at ten o’clock, Rev. E. S. Toensmeir, his pastor, will have charge of the service. The Masonic Blue Lodge will conduct their services at the grave, and an escort of the Knights Templar will convey the body to its resting place in Eulalia Cemetery, where his wife and son are also buried.
HARRIET M. SHUMWAY, Pioneer Woman – From Leader-Dispatch, November 5, 1914:
"With the death of Harriet M. Shumway at the home of her son, C. H. Francis, of this place (Galeton), antoher of the fast disappearing pioneers of this section passed to her last reward.
Born in Charleston Township, Tioga County, July 20, 1825, she came of hardy pioneer stock. Her father, Israel Merrick, was a wealthy slave holder, by inheritance in the state of New Jersey. After reaching maturity he saw the iniquity of holding human souls in bondage, and as under the laws of the state of NJ, should he liberate his slaves they could be picked up by anyone who found them without a master, he packed his household goods and started through the wilderness to Pennsylvania.
After many hardships they reached Charleston, her mother, Mrs. Merrick, being the first white woman who ever came over the township road from Mansfield to Dartt Settlement, which had to be cut and logged almost the entire length to give the wagon of household goods a passage. Here her father gave all his slaves their liberty, and as in those days was of no value, he thus voluntarily gave up nearly all of his worldly possessions.
Early in life the deceased married John Francis of Tioga County and the couple set up housekeeping in Delmar Township which at that time was practically an unbroken wilderness. In 1868 they moved to Ulysses where they lived for nearly thirty years until the death of Mr. Francis.
From this union there came children, eight of whom survive. About six years after the death of her first husband she married W. P. Shumway, of Shumway Hill, who died about six years ago since which time she has been living with her children.
As an instance of the sturdy stock from whence she sprang we are informed that at the time of her death she was the head of eight families of eight generations, all living, a record which we doubt can be equaled anywhere.
She was a good Christian woman, having first joined the M. E. at Ulysses, shortly after she came there and has been a member of Shumway Hill Church and Galeton M. E. Church successively since leaving Ulysses. She was a member of the Galeton Church at the time of her death.
We have permission to print a letter received during her last illness from the Dean of the State Experiment Station, which shows in a measure the esteem in which she was held.
State College, PA August 11, 1914
Mr. J. K. Austin Hammersley Fork, PA
My dear Mr. Austin: I am pleased to receive your note of August 8th but regret to hear that Grandma Shumway is poorly. Please remember me to her and tell her that I consider it a great privilege to have known her for even a short time, such a Godly character. She made a profound impression upon my children. I took occasion to refer to her life before our Sunday School a few weeks ago. The influence of such people who have implicit confidence in the heavenly Father, must be very good and I know her life has been a benediction to thousands.
Yours very truly, R. L. Watts
She had complained for years of pain in her side and about four months ago while staying with her daughter, Mrs. E. O. Austin, it became severe. It was finally decided that with the winter coming on she should be brought where medical attendance could be quickly obtained and on October 6 she was brought by automobile to Galeton. She stood the trip well but gradually grew weaker and on Tuesday evening, October 27th, just at the setting of the sun, her soul quietly slipped its early moorings and she slept the last sleep. During the time that she was here all but one of her children were able to visit her and receive her last blessing.
Her father was the grandfather of Hon. George S. Merrick, Mrs. M. F. Elliott, Mrs. Roy Harrington and Mrs. Wm. Matheram, all of Wellsboro.
The children who survive are: Mrs. Clara Losey, Of Wellsboro, Clarence H. Francis, of Galeton, Mrs. E. O. Austin, of Hammersley Fork, Henry Francis, of Bingham, Leroy Francis, of Raymond, William Francis, of Ulysses, Mrs. Cornelia Knapp, of Westfield, NY, and Sherman Francis of Hickox, PA.
Prayer held at home of her son, C. H. Francis on Thursday morning, October 20 at 7 AM, funeral from Methodist at Ulysses at 1 PM, same day. Rev. C. H. House, officiating. Interment in Ulysses Cemetery.
(Her father, Israel Merrick, Sr. had a son, Israel Merrick, Jr. who married Julia Ann Erway, sister of George Kelsey Erway, of Harrison Township, Potter County and daughter of John and Christine (Arter) Erway. George Merrick, the son of Israel Merrick, Jr. and Julia Ann Erway, b. March 27, 1838, married Ione Butterworth, November 25, 1866; born in Coudersport January 19, 1838, daughter of Appleton and Mary (Wilmot), sister of Hon. David Wilmot, Butterworth. Ione died at Wellsboro January 1, 1918)
MRS. ANDREW J. SIMPSON died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Frank Raymond, in Coudersport, March 28, 1919 in the 90th year of her age. Funeral at the Raymond home, Mar. 30 and burial will be at Woodhull, NY, when the roads become better. Remains placed in vault in cemetery at Coudersport.
Amelia M. Olmsted was born in Massville/Masonville, Delaware County, NY Dec. 17, 1830. Daughter of William R. and Elizabeth Holmes Olmsted. Married to Andrew J. Simpson, Feb. 18, 1851 with whom she lived 55 years. He died in 1906. Her family consisted of three children, of whom Mrs. Raymond is only survivor.
MRS. LOUISE WAMBOLD KNOX SIMPSON died very suddenly Aug. 26, 1919, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. L. E. Halsey, in Hornell, NY, neuralgia of the heart being cause of her death.
She was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wambold and was reared in Coudersport, and taught school a few years before her marriage, 1872 to Oscar D. Knox. With him she moved to Bolivar, MO, where four daughters were born: Jennie, now Mrs. W. F. Hilton, of New York City; Nettie, unmarried; Nora, now Mrs. Walter F. Sanford of Jamestown, NY; and Josephine, Mrs. L. Edson Halsey, of Hornell.
After Oscar Knox’s death, Mar. 11, 1885, the widow returned to Coudersport with her daughters and resided there until her marriage to Judge Simpson, who took her back to Bolivar, MO, where she has since resided. She was on a visit East when stricken, the day that her sisters, Mrs. Hattie Maginley and Mrs. Addie Rounseville, and her brother, Charles, were to meet her for a family reunion at the home of her daughter, Jo. Remains will be brought to Coudersport for burial. Funeral at home of James L. Knox, Friday PM, at two o'’lock, Aug. 29, 1919. Rev. Donehoo officiating.
(Nettie later married Judge Simpson)
MRS. SLAUGHTER, died in Hebron, Aug. 15, 1878, of dropsy, widow of the late B. P. Slaughter.
COLLINS SMITH died at his home in Irving, Kansas, Dec. 20, 1879 after long illness.
TOBIAS FREDERICK SMITH died at Sheridan, Michigan last week, was born in Hesse Kassel, Prussia, in 1849. Was Principal of the Sheridan school where he lived about six months. The school building, the two churches, and the house where Mr. Smith boarded were draped in mourning. Memorial services in the M. E. Church Sunday evening and at the house Monday morning, previous to the departure, when the boy was followed to the railroad station by a number of friends. Messrs. Reissman and Stone were met at the depot by a number of friends who did every thing possible for their comfort. The body was prepared by C. C. Merritt of Greenville and was in good condition when it arrived here. (Coudersport)
WILLIAM SNYDER died at his home in Sweden, Nov. 17, 1910; son of most highly respected residents of county. Heart trouble last two years; was cause of death. Born 1840 in Livingston County, NY, moved with his parents to Sweden when two years old. Married Dec. 23, 1866 to Mary Neefe. She died in 1880. Five children born: Arch Snyder, of Sweden; Mrs. Grace Dodd (Peter), of Eldred; Mrs. Lena Simmons and Mrs. Katherine Klady, and one son, Carl, deceased.
In 1886 Mr. Snyder married again; to this union two children were born; One of whom, Kent, is living. A brother, Ole Snyder, of Buffalo and a sister, Mrs. J. W. Neefe, of Sweden, survive. Funeral at home, Saturday, November 19. Schutt and Gillon, had charge of funeral. Rev. Carlton Atwater, Baptist minister, preached sermon.
Addendum to above: Ole Snyder was born of Norwegian parents in October, 1852 in the Ole Bull Colony. His mother died. Have heard Mrs. E. W. Lyon say she was only sixteen years old. She may have been mistaken. She also said that the Snyders took the baby when the Norwegians were leaving the settlement. Be that as it may, Mr. and Mrs. Michael Snyder adopted him and educated him, or at least assisted him to educate himself. Studied law at University of Michigan; practiced law in Port Allegany and in Buffalo, NY. Died in 1929, in Paris, while enroute to visit his parents’ home in Norway.
Mrs. William Snyder’s funeral was held on May 18, 1880, the day of the big fire in Coudersport. Many of the Coudersport citizens were in attendance at this funeral during the time so much of Coudersport was destroyed. Mrs. Klady was a babe, a few months old.
LORENZO D. SPAFFORD died near Coudersport March 27th, father of O.J. Spafford, of Williamsport and Mrs. J.E. Rogers, of this Boro, age 75 yrs.
REV. C. B. SPARROW died April 13 or 14, 1899. Born in Hastings County, Ontario, Canada, April 11, 1844. When 17 came to US and joined the Union army – 2nd Regt. Mass. Vols. Much active service; was with Sherman before Atlanta. His famous lecture, "March to Sea" has been called a masterpiece of descriptions and eloquence.
Joined Genesee Conference in 1871. Ordained a deacon in 1873 by Bishop Levi Scott. Ordained an elder in 1875 by Bishop E. G. Andrews. Served churches in Warsaw, Attica, Holly, Scottsville, and other towns and cities before his transfer to Holston Conference, Tennessee, where he occupied pulpit at Knoxville and served as presiding elder of Knoxville district.
Returned to Genesee Conference in 1892; served Attica and Hamburg churches. 1895 appointed to Grace Church, Buffalo; health failing was appointed to lighter work, Kensington Church, 1897. Fulfilled his duties till nine weeks ago.
Remains of Charles B. Sparrow brought to Coudersport, 15th, Saturday. Sunday brief service at home of H. J. Olmsted. Burial in Eulalia Cemetery. Funeral in Grace Church, Buffalo, Saturday. In state from 11 to 1 o’clock. Presiding Elder, P. S. Merrill and Comrade Chas. A. Orr
In 1870 married Miss Ardell Olmsted, daughter of Henry J. Olmsted. Three children, John, Clara, and Marlin.
ASSOCIATE JUDGE CONSIDER STEARNS – Residents of upper East Street were startled on Monday forenoon, March 11, 1895 by screams from the home of Judge Stearns. Mr. Stearns who is an old man, while alone, had cut a large gash in his throat with his razor, but failed to sever the juggler vain. He was still trying to complete the awful work. Fred Andrews was the first to reach the house and a few minutes later Sam Thompson arrived. They attempted to get the razor, but were threatened by the desperate man, who finally retreated into the bedroom and locked the door. Other men came and the window was broken and through that they prevented the fatal stroke being given. After a long parley the razor was secured and Mr. Stearns apparently gave up the attempt and allowed his wounds to be dressed. Later in the day he swallowed some Paris green which he had evidently secreted in the cellar. This was done during a momentary absence of those attending him and as soon as discovered, a physician was called, who applied the usual remedies. He was still alive, but unconscious. His family relations were harmonious. He had taken his wife on his knee, prior to the attempt and bade her good bye three times. He then pulled the razor from his pocket and declared his purpose to end his life. She gave the alarm, but before assistance could reach the house, he had made the attempt.
Later – as we go to press we learn that he is dead.
MRS. SARAH STEARNS died at her home, Shinglehouse, Sept. 12, 1888, wife of Consider Stearns, in 70th year of her age. Born in Alfred, Allegany County, NY, June 26, 1819. When about thirteen she came to Hebron with her parents, George and Britty Stillman. They were subject to trials of pioneer life. When about 18 she became a subject of saving grace. Baptized by Rev. W. B. Gillett and united with Seventh Day Baptist Church of Hebron. In 1848 married Consider Stearns and spent her married life in Hebron and Eulalia until recently her home has been at Shinglehouse. Leaves husband and two children, Roscoe C. Stearns and Lydia, wife of Dr. Tassell. Buried at Hebron. Rev. Jared Kenyon, of Independence.
SARAH G. STEARNS – Potter County Journal, May 11, 1893
Sarah G. Stearns died at her home in Hebron, April 29, 1893. Eldest child of George and Laura Weimer, born Oct. 29, 1844 at Williston, Potter County. Taught seventeen terms in Potter and McKean Counties.
June 4, 1871 married Roscoe C. Stearns, of Hebron, where they resided till 1888, when they removed to Coudersport. Remained there until a year previous to her death. Mother of three children; two survive. Member of W.C.T.U. In Coudersport and Ladies Aid, of Hebron. Funeral in Hebron Church, May 1. Rev. Chas DeWoody, Text: Job 15:22, "Are the consolations of God small with thee?"
PIERRE A. STEBBINS – Born July 8, 1808 in New York State. Died in Coudersport at age of 76 years. In 1850 removed to Ulysses Township and came to Coudersport in 1853, having been elected Sheriff; has since resided here. Wife died some ten years ago. Four sons and a daughter remain.
JASON W. STEVENS died at his home in Harrison Valley, Sunday evening, March 10, 1893, 53 years, 9 months, 10 days. Born in Cortland County, NY. Parents settled in Harrison Township when he was 10. Stayed at home till outbreak of Civil War. Oct. 6, 1861 enlisted in Co. G, 53rd PA Vols. Re-enlisted as a veteran Dec. 20, 1863 in same Co. and Regt.; served till close of war. Was twice wounded; first at Fredericksburg, Dec. 14, 1862; again in front of Petersburg, June 18, 1864. Was commissioned Captain of his Company, Aug. 26, 1864, and served till mustered out June 30, 1865.
After war, engaged in farming; fall of 1866 was elected treasurer of Potter County for term of two years. ? In 1869 embarked in mercantile business in Harrison Valley in which he has since successfully continued.
Served as postmaster from 1869 to 1885, a term of 16 years. Member of Ulysses Post, G.A.R. Twice married; first wife was Angie Darling, of Allegany Township, this county, by whom he had one son, Archie. Second wife was Rilla Rexford, of Tioga County, PA, by whom he had four children: Lina, Mildred, Arthur, Lura. Was highly respected in his community, and Harrison Valley, as well as Potter County has met with a great loss in his death; sympathy of all is extended to his bereaved wife and children.
FANNIE STRYKER died in Allegany Twp. Dec. 26, 1879, of diphtheria, after sickness of 14 days, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Marshal Stryker, age 3 yrs. Also the same morning, after illness of six days, JIMMIE, their only son, age 8 yrs. Both laid in one grave on Saturday.
REV. JOHN L. SWAIN – For more than thirty years the beloved pastor of the Presbyterian Church at Raymond’s, was born in Westfield, NJ, March 12, 1820. Graduated from Princeton College in 1849 and during the summer of that year was employed as a Bible colporteur in northern New England. Graduated from the Theological Seminary at New Albany, Indiana, now the McCormick Theological Seminary of Chicago, IL.
For seven years after his graduation he taught. One year was spent at Grand View Seminary, IL. Five years were spent in Virginia, one at Fairfax, two at Wickliffe, and one at Ferry. The last year he was engaged at Frenchtown, PA. During these years he preached as opportunity offered itself – by his teaching, doing his Master’s work in helping others prepare for the Gospel ministry.
He was ordained by what is now the North Philadelphia Presbytery in October 1859. His first field of labor was at Spring Mills, NY and adjacent points. In April, 1863 he came to Raymond where he has spent the remainder of his life. The erection of the church at Raymond is largely due to his faithful and self-denying efforts. The church was dedicated in May, 1867. In August, 1867 he married Miss Sarah J. Presho. Though an invalid she has been a faithful companion and an earnest co-worker.
In September, 1863 Mr. Swain was honorably retired from the active ministry by the Wellsboro Presbytery. Owing to his many services throughout the county, his many ministrations at weddings and funerals, he was widely known throughout the county.
He died on March 21st and was buried at Raymonds, March 23rd. Rev. E. S. Toensmeier of Coudersport, conducting the services.
Unassuming in life, courting not the praise of men he sought to live so as to daily grow nearer his Master. Faithful as a pastor and a preacher, he served well his own generation and his works shall follow him. His death has called forth many expressions of his true worth and noble character and nowhere more beautifully shown than in the gentleness and loveliness of his home life. Survived by his wife and adopted daughter, Miss Fannie Swain. "Though dead, he yet speaketh."
LYMAN B. TAGGART died February 8th, 1888, Wednesday morning. Recently of Emporium, died in Coudersport at home of his sister, Mrs. Luman F. Andrews. Had been ill about a year – was never very rugged – but had given up his work for only about three months. Declined rapidly last two weeks. Was a great sufferer, but his quiet endurance was manly and he exhibited traits of patience and consideration which were characteristic.
Number of Masons and Fire Dept. from Emporium were present. Services at Methodist Church and at grave by Rev. K. P. Jervis and Masonic fraternity.
SETH TAGGART died January 1, 1877, after long illness at his home in Eulalia, age 68.
ALFRED J. TASSELL – Son of Benjamin Tassell, of Coudersport, accidentally and instantly killed in saw mill at South Bend, Indiana, Friday, April 6th, 1888. On receipt of sad news a younger brother, George B. Tassell, started for South Bend, returning to Coudersport Monday, April 9th. Would have been 26 on April 10th, the day on which he was buried. Left Coudersport three years ago.
MRS. ROSE TASSELL died February 26, 1898, age 26. Sick three months with organic disease of the heart. Daughter of Ezra and Ann Armstrong married to Chas. O. Tassell in 1891. Leaves husband, sister, one brother and mother. Funeral in M. E. Church, burial in Eulalia Cemetery.
MRS. CORA THOMPSON died Nov. 8th at one o’clock a.m. 1899. Had been visiting her daughter Marion, at Kingston, PA. On return was taken ill and stopped in Ulysses, sending word for a nurse to meet her there. Mr. Thompson, accompanied by Mrs. A. C. Perkins went to Ulysses on noon train, Tuesday, Nov. 7th and returned with her on p.m. train. Last evening her condition was not considered serious, but she became worse and died at one o’clock.
M. S. THOMPSON – On Monday morning at a few minutes after midnight, occurred the death of Mr. M. S. Thompson at his residence on the corner of East and Fifth Streets at the age of 72 years. Some four years ago he suffered a severe attack of stomach trouble from which he so far recovered as to be able to attend to his store business and also, his duties as a railroad official. But his health gradually declined until ten weeks ago he was taken suddenly with a stroke, from which he did not rally.
Funeral held from the residence at 3 o’clock Tuesday afternoon. Bearers: John M. Clark, Wm. A. Shear, M. S. Harvey, Milton J. Potter, E. J. Stocking and Dr. R. B. Knight.
Melville Sirrilus Thompson was born at Norwich, Chenango County, NY, March 11, 1839, where he spent the first 20 years of his life in the acquirement of an education at home and in the common schools of the village. In 1859 he came to Coudersport and worked for his brother, Z. J. Thompson as a wheelwright for three years. Then he entered the employ of P. A. Stebbins and Son in the Mercantile Business until the fall of 1866, when he became associated with the late Dr. Ellison in the Drug business, at which time possessed a cash capital of $100. The firm name was Ellison and Thompson until 1868 when the late John S. Mann acquired Dr. Ellison’s interest and the name was changed to Thompson and Mann and again in 1879 to Thompson and Co., which name has became famous all over this section and still exists.
Mr. Thompson was appointed Postmaster in 1869 by President Ulysses S. Grant. He held the office continuously for 18 years.
On Sept. 30, 1868 he married Miss Cora E. Mann, daughter of the late John S. and Mary W. Mann of this Boro. She died Nov. 8, 1899 and to her memory has been erected the beautiful marble drinking fountain on the corner of Main and Third Streets. To them no children were born, but they adopted two girls, daughters of his sister, Mrs. Freeman, who died in Kansas leaving a family of small children. They both survive and are married. Marcia, the elder, being the wife of W. A. Stevens and Marion, the wife of Louis Stocum of Coudersport.
MILES THOMPSON – born February 9, 1802; died June 13, 1867; buried at Cross Fork, Potter County, PA.
WILLIAM W. THOMPSON passed away July 9, 1928 at his home in Coudersport. He was the son of Z. J. and Julia A. (Stuart) Thompson. Born at Mansfield, PA, Oct. 7, 1849. When a small child he with his parents and his sister, Ella, moved to Coudersport. Here he was educated in public and private schools and in 1865, at the age of 16 began his apprenticeship to the printing trade. In 1867 he purchased the Potter County Journal and was associated with Mrs. Vesta Dyke. Four years later he sold out to his partner, Mrs. Dyke, and went to Kansas. Three years later he was called home by the sickness and death of his younger sister, and in spite of a great desire to return to the west, he remained with his bereaved parents.
Again he went into the newspaper business. A stock company was organized of which he was the principal stockholder, and became the editor and publisher of the Potter Enterprise. He was a heavy loser in the fire of 1880, his office and all of his equipment being destroyed. Two hours after the fire was under control, he was at work in the Journal office, and in the morning an extra edition was ready for distribution. In 1886 he sold out his business and opened a jewelry store. Later he retired from that and took up optical work and in that he continued until his death.
In 1882 he married Eva D., the daughter of Mrs. Vesta C. Dyke, his former partner, and to them one child, Vesta Ellen was born. His wife, the daughter, Mrs. D. G. VanDeBoe, of Camp Hill, PA and three grandchildren, Gretchen, Evelyn Dyke, and Wilhelmina, survive him.
Mr. Thompson was an ardent Mason. Was the first secretary of the Coudersport consistory and held the office for fourteen years. In 1921 was made a life member of the Coudersport bodies, A. A. S. R. He was a charter member of the Fire Department, and of the Potter County Historical Society. He was a loyal Democrat, and except in local matters always voted a straight ticket.
In the last ten years Mr. Thompson has done considerable writing and has collected valuable historical data. His efforts to collect material in connection with the Norwegian settlement of Ole Bull have been tireless. Also he has collected valuable data and personal experience of old settlers in connection with the Passenger Pigeon. From his own experience he wrote many stories of local history and always in connection with this work, he aimed to be absolutely correct. He was an extensive reader and had a wonderful memory and so had a wealth of material to draw on.
ZENAS J. THOMPSON died at the home of his son, W. W. Thompson Thursday morning, January 8, 1902. Had been a resident of Coudersport since 1857 and was 82 years old. Is survived by one son, two brothers, M. S. Thompson of this Boro, Monroe Thompson of Madison County, NY, and one sister, Miss Elmira Thompson of Chenango County, NY. His daughter, Ella, died some years ago in early womanhood, leaving her parents grief stricken, her mother mourning her life away till three years ago when she joined the daughter.
Mr. Thompson was born in Plymouth, Chenango County, January 3, 1820. In 1848 he married Miss Julia A. Stuart (Shuart?) of New York State, who died three years ago. Came to Coudersport in 1855 and engaged in business as a wagonmaker. His establishment was burned in the fire of 1880 and he afterward engaged in the grocery business in which he continued for some years. Funeral services conducted Friday by Rev. Frances Yarnell of the Episcopal Church. Burial in Eulalia Cemetery.
E. H. TUCKER died in Andrews Settlement, Tuesday, Sept. 20, 1887, age 26. Upon the ever memorable 12th day of April, 1861, a baby boy first opened his eyes here in Andrews Settlement. The youngest child of Henry and Emeline Tucker and never knew anything of a father’s care and guidance, but well and faithfully did his mother train him in habits of truth and industry.
His sturdiness won for him the name of "Crockett," and the industry of the boy has marked the man all through his brief life, for he early showed marked aptitude for trade, having rare, good judgment for value of mercantile commodities. For years has been known as a successful dealer in whatever he chose to touch.
When he concluded to leave the road and settle down, he attended Elmira Business College and graduated with highest respect of teachers for his business ability. He then built a small store here and through close attention to business and skillful advertising, soon built up a trade, which necessitated a larger building. Through all business enterprises success seemed to attend him.
His illness was brief and neither he nor his attendants realized how serious until near its termination. The case of his invalid sister prejudiced him against taking medicine and to the last he wished to get along without a physician and rejected all medicine offered him.
Last rites conducted by Rev. W. Miller and hosts of friends offered finest display of flowers ever seen in this vicinity, and with his death goes out one of the brightest, shrewdest and withall kindest mercantile lights of this county.
SAMUEL WAKELY of Clara, died Wednesday morning, Aug. 29, 1888, suddenly and unexpectedly. Found dead in bed. Supposed to be heart disease. Born in town of Junas, Yates County, NY, Feb. 14, 1811. Came to Potter 51 years ago; highly esteemed. Leaves one son and two daughters. One son died in army.
MRS. O. R. WEBB – After nearly two years of continuous pain and suffering, the noble spirit of Mrs. Webb was set free on Monday evening, February 11. All that medical skill or loving hands could do seemed unavailing to stay the malady that was destroying the vitals, or to assuage the pain that finally wore out a strong constitution.
She died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. L. F. Andrews, on Cartee Street, this boro, where she has been cared for during her last sickness as only a filial daughter can care for an aged mother. The funeral services are being held today (Wednesday) at 2 o’clock in the M. E. Church, conducted by Rev. Rogers.
Polly Ann Lyman was a daughter of John Lyman, one of the pioneers of this county, a family well and favorably known through many highly esteemed members. She was married to Alva Taggart in 1848 at the age of twenty and two children blessed that union, Dora, now Mrs. Andrews, and Alvin, now a respected citizen of Cross Fork this county. Mr. Taggart died in 1861 and his widow married Orin R. Webb a few years afterwards. For many years they lived on the homestead just below Coudersport, where Polly Ann, as all her friends called her, was regarded as the ‘Good Samaritan’ of the neighborhood. Where sickness and death, or poverty and want were found, Polly Ann was found tenderly caring for all who needed help and many besides her own children will rise up and call her blessed. Her death will be mourned by a large circle of acquaintances who knew her kindness of heart and loved her for her many virtues. Yet the three score years and ten allotted to mortals had been given to her, and more, and she has entered into that rest which pain and sorrow of this mortal life makes welcome for the faithful soul. (1903)
CHARLES WEFLING who died a few days ago in Germania was one of Potter’s best men and citizens. Born in Flehingen, Germany, in 1839. Came to this country at age of 17. While living at Doylestown, Bucks County, married Francis Kerhley, and with her set about to provide for the future.
Some years later, hearing of the wonderful resources of the little village of Germania, decided to come to this county and live among his own people. How great his disappointment must have been when he first gazed upon that place, which was pictured to him as a magical fountain, to see only a spring of hardship and toil.
With that indomitable spirit and perseverance he sought a little home as the robin would seek its place to build. Purchased a little farm upon which he zealously worked for 33 years, success attending his noble efforts in all of his undertakings. Besides a widow following children survive: Hannah, (Mrs. Robert Craig), Charles Jr., Jessie Alexander; John, Catherine, Sadie, (Mrs. John McCaffery), R. O. Welfling, Phippina and Adolph Welfling. Philappina is called "Pinchen," was later called "Bina."
WILLIS D. WEIMER of Pleasant Valley, died of dysentery, Nov. 6, 1887, age 38 years, 2 months, 9 days. Married Miss Eva Drake seven years ago. Father of three children, who with wife, survive him. Sick but a few days, but great sufferer.
One of most influential men in Pleasant Valley Township. Was serving his second term as justice of the peace, and was a candidate for county auditor.
Funeral held Tuesday, Nov. 8th; Rev. C. H. Norris, pastor of M. E. Church, Port Allegany, conducted services. Large funeral.
WALTER WELLS – Ex-Sheriff Wells died at his home in Oswayo, Monday night, Aug. 14, age 57 years, 5 months, 19 days. Born and reared in Oswayo Township where most of life was spent. Began life as a farmer and lumberman, and for twenty-five years, engaged in mercantile business.
Married Nov. 13, 1858, Sarah M., daughter of Eliazer and Mary E. (Hollister) Lyman, of Oswayo, formerly of Vermont. They have four children: Arthur G., Ernest L., Myrtle W., and J. Walter. Served as sheriff from 1874 to 1877. Postmaster of Oswayo, 1872-73 and from 1879 to present time. Has held nearly all local offices in the township and was much respected for his sterling integrity and good judgment by his fellow townsmen as well as by his many friends throughout the county, who join in extending sympathy to his bereaved family and mourn his demise as a loss to the county that cannot be replaced.
JOHN BRODHEAD WENTWORTH – The Rev. John Brodhead Wentworth, DD, born in Bristol, New Hampshire, Aug. 29, 1823, died in Buffalo, NY, Aug. 6, 1893, in his 70th year. He descended from William Wentworth, of Dover, NH, the founder of the family in America. Was cousin of Long John Wentworth, of Chicago.
After pursuing special course in philosophy, in addition to the work of his class, and having led the entire college in pure mathematics, he stood third in the class at graduation. After spending several years teaching in Dover, NH, he entered the ministry of the M. E. Church and joined the Genesee Conference in Western NY.
In 1851 was appointed principal of Coudersport Academy and served in that capacity with marked efficiency for two years. His greatest service to the church was in the pastorate. His appointments included Williamsville, Batavia, Brockport, Medina, Lockport, Leroy, and Evanston, IL, where he was transferred by request of that church in 1875. Was twice pastor at Perry, NY and of Asbury Church, Buffalo. During his latter pastorate Asbury church was rebuilt in 1870. Dr. Wentworth was three times Presiding Elder, serving in all ten years on the Troy, Genesee, Buffalo District.
While pastor at Medina, 1866, a revival attended his ministry, resulting in a large number of accessions of many business and professional men to the church.
In 1863-64 Dr. Wentworth was stationed at St. Mark’s Church, Buffalo, during the most critical period of the war. He dealt stalwart blows with voice and pen against slavery and in defense of the Union, although repeatedly threatened with personal violence. He refused carry fire arms for self defense, trusting in his fearless integrity.
His last pastorate was at Grace Church, this city; after two years of successful service in that field, he took the presiding eldership of the Buffalo District. After four years in that capacity, and owing to failing health of himself and the death of his wife, he turned aside from his labors to rest in the homes of his devoted children. The death of his eldest daughter, Mrs. Elizabeth Wentworth Hartwell, of this city (Buffalo) probably shortened his life.
Dr. Wentworth was one of the most eminent preachers of his time. Was loved, honored and trusted by a large circle of admiring friends far beyond the bounds of the Genesee Conference. Aside from the two years he spent in Evanston, IL, and a year in Texas and a summer in Europe, his labors were confined to Western NY and Western PA.
Received many distinguished honors. Doctor of Divinity from Univ. of Vermont in 1864. Was form many years trustee of Genesee Wesleyan, at Lima and of the Syracuse. Six times elected to represent his conference in the General Conference of his church.
He possessed an unusually strong and positive character. Champion of what he believed to be right. Had an intense nature, doing with his might whatever he found to do. Had a rugged, commanding personality, refined and noble in bearing, appearing outwardly severe and harsh. In public debates he was the admiration of his friends and the terror of his foes. Displayed tremendous power in controversy in times of great public interest or emergency. On such occasions he would stand with perfect self-possession, yet unconscious of self, with stern expression and knitted brows, and with impassioned language would pour forth such torrents of logic, such strength of thought, such withering sarcasm and cutting irony that few adversaries cared to encounter him a second time.
But perfect honesty, candor and good nature attended his several utterances. In the circle of his intimate friends was jovial and no one could laugh more heartily. In time of trouble and anxiety he was the most tender and compassionate of friends.
In the field of literature, Dr. Wentworth had secured an enduring fame. Not mentioning minor works, his great literary monument is "Logic of Introspection," which also contains a criticism of Dr. McCosh’s work, "The Intuitions of the Mind Inductively Considered," brought out and edited by Dr. G. W. T. Shedd, Dr. Wentworth’s old professor in college. Upon this work the fame of Dr. Wentworth as a philosophic thinker and writer depends.
MRS. O. WENTWORTH – On Sunday morning, August 28, 1887, Mr. and Mrs. O. Wentworth started from Millport to Coudersport and when about half a mile from home, Mrs. Wentworth was taken ill and they stopped at Mr. Witters. But, after a short time, she, feeling better, they started again for this place, and after driving a short distance, Mrs. W. was taken ill again. Mr. Wentworth drove back to Mr. Witter’s as fast as he could and when they arrived there, Mrs. W. was unconscious. They carried her into the house where she died a few minutes afterwards.
Mrs. Wentworth was the mother of Mrs. R. L. Nichols and Mr. E. L. Wentworth of this place. As soon as possible word was sent here, but before Mr. E. L. Wentworth and his sister, Mrs. Nichols could get to her, life had passed away. Had suffered several years from heart disease and about a year ago had a severe shock of paralysis and two or three slight shocks since. Burial in Almond, NY. Mrs. W. was about 55 years of age.
A. D. WHITE died in 1877 in Sweden, on the 20th ult., son of David White and Martha White, in 34th yr.
MILES WHITE – Born in Dryden, Tompkins County, NY, March 22, 1824. Died May 6th, 1887. Twenty-seven days after being stricken with paralysis. Came to Potter County in 1845 where he has lived most of the time. At one time deputy sheriff and afterward elected to sheriff. Was Justice of Peace in Coudersport number of years. Baptized in 1873. Member of Episcopal Church. Old and respected member of Eulalia Lodge F. and A. M., No. 342; buried with Masonic honors at 3 o’clock, Sunday p.m.
(Mrs. William Gifford, of Smethport, is sister of Mrs. Miles White)
MRS. MILES WHITE died at home of son, Mackey, on Water Street, Coudersport, Friday, July 12, 1901, in 71st year. Invalid many years. Born in Addison, NY, Oct. 6, 1830, daughter of Seth and Electa Hackett One of nine children; three now living: Mrs. Samuel Thompson, Coudersport; Seymour S. Hackett, of Emporium, Henry H. Hackett, Philadelphia. Parents moved to Burtville about 1840 where Mrs. White resided until marriage to Miles White, Oct. 7, 1858; since then residing at Nelson, Keating Summit, Westfield, and Coudersport until his death in 1887. Three children: Carrie M. White, Coudersport; Meylert White, Eldred, and Mackey White, Coudersport. A stepson, Chas. Y. White, lives in Eldred. Funeral at house, Sunday p.m., Rev. Yarnall, Episcopal rector. Eulalia Cemetery.
GARDNER WILBER died at Sayre, August 14, 1904. Randall Clark Wilber and wife Mary, (Mrs. Archibald Logue) are buried at Andover, NY. She died March 3, 1910.
Biographical notes: From census of Wharton 1870: July 6th, Arch Logue, 54, farmer; Mary Logue, 50; Garner Wilber, 19; Anna Logue, 15; Mary A. Logue, 7: Jesse M. McConnell, 14.
PERRY WILBER was the elder son of Randall Clark Wilber. He was born at Whitewater, Wisconsin, in 1845. After his father died in 1855 his mother moved to Potter County with her four children, Kate, (afterward Mrs. John W. Brown), Perry, Addie, (now Mrs. Ben F. Berfield, and Gardner. Mrs. Berfield alone survives.
MRS. RANDALL CLARK WILBER, born 1820 and died 1910, married 2nd Archibald Logue, born 1816, died 1883. She was the daughter of Benj. And Diana (Gardner) Perry, of Washington County, NY
W. GARN WILBER married Nancy Ellen Brooks, b. March 2, 1855, in 1872. Garn Wilber was born at Alfred Center in 1851. Their children were Katherine (Mrs. Timothy Kenealy), lives in WV, Dora, lives in WV, Elmer, married a Miss Kelley, from Austin PA, lives in Rochester, NY, Mary, (Mrs. Bert Sherwood) lives in Belmont, NY, Clark Wilber lives in Port Allegany, PA and Warren Wilber, Buffalo, NY.
REV. EDWIN WILDMAN, A. M. – Funeral of Rev. Edwin Wildman, a widely known and highly esteemed educator and clergyman, and whose death at Sorrento, Florida, was announced last week, was held Thursday, may 5th, at Oramel, NY in Methodist Church. Rev. John J. Shotwell, resident pastor, assisted by the Rev. John Smallwood, a brother of Mrs. Wildman (second wife). Interment in family plot of the late Col. James P. Rounsville (father of Mr. Wildman’s first wife, Helen P. Rounsville.) Here are buried the wife of his youth and their two little daughters. Of the quartet that sung at the services at the grave, the tenor, alto and soprano voices were the same that over 18 years ago sang the same selection, "They sleep in the Valley" by the grave of Mrs. Wildman. The soprano, Mrs. Wallace, was bridesmaid at their wedding in 1858, nearly 30 years ago. Mr. Wildman was widely known throughout Western New York and Northern Pennsylvania, both as a clergyman and an educator and ranked very high in his denomination as a scholar and a thinker. Entered the ministry early after graduation, the church at once called him into higher responsible educational work and he continued with conspicuous success and eminent usefulness the greater part of his life. To his old friends he was always Professor Wildman. He prepared for college at Alfred and Lima, graduated from Union College, with highest honors of his class. After teaching for a season in Natchez and Memphis, he returned to this state and began his career as an educator, rising with great rapidity, by a series of promotions to the highest grade of trust. Among the academies and seminaries may be mentioned the schools at Rogersville, Perry, Olean, Williamsport, and Mansfield Normal, which he rebuilt and reorganized. Also, at Batavia Collegiate Institute, of which he was president until he entered the itinerary, to which he borough talents of rare excellence, a scholarship broad and sympathetic by years of educational experience and spiritual earnestness that laid every earthly ambition upon the altar of sacrifice and duty. Leaves a widow and five children and thousands of others who, not sharing their sorrow, yet as pupils and parishioners in days gone by, will kindly remember their former teacher and pastor and revere his memory.
ESTHER WILDMAN, daughter of Rev. E. and Helen Wildman, died in Coudersport on 7th inst., age 3 mos. and 10 days.
HELEN R. P. WILDMAN, wife of Rev. E. Wildman, of the Genesee Conference, and daughter of Colonel J. P.Rounsville, died of congestion of brain and lungs after illness of ten hours. Age 35 yrs. 2 mos. Graduated from Genesee Wesleyan Seminary in 1855 with the wife of the late Rev. M. H. Rice. Elected preceptress of the Rogersville Union Seminary, then a Conference Seminary, and was married Dec. 5, 1858. Her husband being called to the principalship of PA State Normal School in 1860, she was elected preceptress and held the position about three years. Afterward was preceptress of Batavia Collegiate Institute, which burned in 1865.
Another obit: Helen PE Wildman, wife of Rev. E. Wildman, of the Genesee Conference and daughter of Col. P. Rounseville, died at Coudersport, July 31, 1869, of congestion of brain and lungs, after illness of only 10 hours Age 35 yrs. And 2 mos. Experienced religion at age 14. United with M. E. Church. From 15 to 20 she spent in seminaries. Graduated from Genesee Wesleyan Seminary in 1855 with the wife of the late M. H. Rice. In August 1858 she was elected preceptors of Rogersville Union Seminary, then a Conference Seminary, and was married Dec. 5, 1858. Her husband was called to the principalship of PA State Normal School in 1860 where she was elected preceptors and held the position for about three years. She was afterward preceptors of Batavia Collegiate Institute which was burned in 1865.
Still another: Mrs. Helen P. R. Wildman, wife of Rev. Edwin Wildman, A. M., of Genesee Conference, and daughter of Colonel James P. Rounsville, died at Coudersport, PA, July 31, 1869, of congestion of the brain and lungs, after an illness of only ten hours, age thirty-five and two months. She experienced religion at the age of fourteen years and united with the Methodist Church. From the age of fifteen to twenty-one she spent in the best seminaries of learning to prepare herself for her life work. She graduated from the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary in 1855 with the wife of the late Rev. M. H. Rice and many other noble spirits who have blessed the world with their Christian labors. Mrs. Wildman was a leader of the female prayer meetings connected with the Seminary during her course of study. From the day of her conversion to the day of her death, experimental religion was her daily topic of conversation. In August, 1858, she was elected preceptors of the Rogersville Union Seminary – then a Conference Seminary – and was married December 5, 1858. Her husband being called to the principalship of Pennsylvania State Normal School in 1860, she was elected Preceptors, which position she held about three years. Mrs. Wildman was afterward Preceptors of Batavia Collegiate Institute, consumed by fire in 1865; since which time, till her decease, she devoted herself to the faithful discharge of the duties of wife and mother in her own family. During a residence in Corning, NY, in connection with the discharge of her domestic duties, she found much time to devote to the Church, the Sunday School class, and prayer meetings. And many rise up to day in Corning to call her blessed. Whole families there are praising God because of her prayers and labors. A friend in Corning thus writes of Sister Wildman: "She spake for the Master to the perishing. She sought the needy. Whole families were led to Jesus through her persevering endeavors. These call her blessed. Here was a successful life. Now, that she rested from her labors her works follow her. She was a lady of fine accomplishments, peculiarly gifted in social qualities, readily winning confidence and retaining it by her kindness and worth; an able instructor and devoted to the spread of the truth." Mrs. Wildman was emphatically a co-partner with her husband in all his labors, rendering him most efficient aid in all the material and spiritual interest of the Church. Her powers of song, her persuasive eloquence, her experience and exhortation, and her almost unrivaled prayer of faith will never be forgotten by those who heard her. She sung the songs of men to move men to love the Saviour. She spoke to convince by her own position and exultant experience. She prayed with a faith that expected to be answered. Her Gospel labors were answered by God. While holding quarterly meetings in the vicinity, the house of Colonel Rounseville was one of my desirable homes. Here the writer became acquainted with Helen, then a young convert and but recently, a member of the Church. Her piety, intelligence, and sprightliness won upon my esteem, and I regarded her with the affection of a parent for a daughter, and to me, the news of her sudden decease was extremely painful. A beacon had been extinguished, a brilliant career had been terminated; and she lives on earth, as well as in paradise by the influence of her example and pious labors. She left three children, one of which has followed her to her heavenly home. (C. D. Burlingham)
MRS. CORDELIA A. WILLIAMS died in Columbus City, Iowa, Sept. 23, 1866, wife of G. B. Williams and daughter of L. D.Spafford, of Eulalia Twp., age 37 years, 5 months, 3 days. Her sister Augusta, arrived from the east a few hours before her death. Died of consumption.
DELILAH WILLIAMS died January 10, 1898 at 7:20 a.m. in home of her son, Moses G. Williams, where she made her home since the death of her husband, Daniel Williams, who died in 1881. She was born in Nichols Township, Tioga County, NY, Sept. 26, 1816. Age therefore was 81 years, 3 months, 15 days. Married to Daniel Williams in 1833 and they moved to the East Fork of the Sinnemahoning Creek, Wharton Township, in 1855, where they lived up to the time of their death. She was mother of nine children, all surviving her, except one: Joseph Williams, John Williams, Zeb Williams, Moses Williams, Mrs. L. B. Johnson, Mrs. Henry Berfield, Mrs. Washington Bailey, and one daughter who lives in New York State. Mrs. Delilah Williams was converted when 16 years old. Funeral in Wharton Church on Wednesday, January 12th, 1898, Rev. E. E. Mulliner, officiating. Though it rained hard the house was filled to overflowing with relatives and friends who had come to pay their last respects to one they loved so well. This township has lost a good neighbor, the children have lost a good mother, and the church a good member. Rev. E. E. Mulliner preached from text in Rev. 14:13, "Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord."
ASSOCIATE JUSTICE HENRY W. WILLIAMS born at Harford, Susquehanna County, July 30, 1830. Began study of law at Montrose, PA, January 1852. Became a citizen at Wellsboro, in 1852. Admitted to the bar of Tioga County, 1854. Admitted to practice in Supreme Court in March 1855. Admitted to U. S. District and Circuit Courts, 1856. Presented by Tioga and Potter Counties for Congress, 1862; Appointed additional Law Judge, March 1865; Delegated to Chicago Convention, which nominated Grant and Colfax; Elected President Judge 4th Judicial District, 1871; Supported by Northern Pennsylvania for Judge of Supreme Court, 1872; Appointed one of seven commissioners to revise the new constitution, 1876; Sent by the Presbyterian Church in the United States as delegate to the general convention at Edinburgh, Scotland, 1877; Elected Vice President International Sunday School Convention in Toronto, Canada, June, 1881; Reelected. President Judge of the 4th District by the unanimous vote of the four counties, comprising the District, November 1881; Nominated Judge of the Supreme Court on First Ballot, Aug. 17, 1887; Elected a Justice of the State Supreme Court, November 8, 1887; Elected Eight Worshipful Grand Master of the Grand Masonic Lodge of Pennsylvania, December, 1898. Died in Philadelphia, January 25, 1899. (The old 4th Judicial District composed of Tioga, McKean, Potter, and Cameron.)
JANE WARD WILMOT died at Titusville, PA, at the home of her daughter, Monday, October 15, 1894. Mrs. Jane Wilmot Leete, age 72 years. Her body was taken to Coudersport, Potter County, PA, and laid beside the husband of her youth, Mr. Wales Cheney Butterworth, and her little daughter, Jennie, in Eulalia Cemetery, October 18th. She leaves a husband, Hon. Ralph Leete, of Ironton, OH, four daughters, Mrs. Ida Thomas, of Titusville, PA, Mrs. Imogene Canfield, of Florence, CO, Mrs. Louise Randall, of Frazee, MI, and Mrs. Josephine Powell, of Redwood Falls, MN. Mrs. Leete was born at Bethany, Wayne County, PA, Sept. 19, 1822. She was a sister of Hon. David Wilmot, (half sister), of Towanda, author of the famous Wilmot Proviso. She was known and loved as a woman of rare gifts and abilities, of genial social qualities, and as faithful and true to her friends and to her God, trusting in His mercies and relying upon His strength to the last. Although having been for years a great sufferer, and almost utterly helpless for some months before her death, she longed for release and rest, as she often expressed in her letters, which were received with great regularity by a dear friend until within one month of her death. Being gifted and original as a letter writer, they were always gladly received, and the good words of helpfulness and cheer will be sadly missed by one, and we doubt not, by many others, who were counted as her friends, and shared in her messages of love. They were filled with words of unshaken faith in the one "who doeth all things well," although at times she felt her suffering was almost greater than she could bear. In her last letter, (Sept. 17) she said, "My dear friend, pardon my crooked work; I am very poorly from a sleepless night of mental worries, but felt I must write you. Tomorrow I shall be seventy-two, but I know God has not forgotten me, and soon I shall hear His voice, and the Saviour has promised to go through the dark Valley with me." Her residence in Sparta dated about 1863 to 1879. (She married on February 10, 1862, L. H. Bancroft, of Sparta, WI, by Rev. J. H. Parsons, in Coudersport.) She was familiarly known as "Aunt Jane Bancroft." Mr. Bancroft died in May 1875. She continued to have a strong attachment for Sparta and its people, and in one of her late letters said, "Sparta is one of my Meccas," and she had a longing desire to visit the place once more. Many hearts will feel saddened at her death. C.M.F.
Coudersport, November 22, 189: As we missed, very much to our regret to have for the Potter County Journal any notice of the death, far away, and the burial in this place of an old friend, and for many years a resident of Coudersport, Mrs. Jane W. Leete, I offer even at this late date, a few words of remembrance. No persons beyond her own family could be more interested and indebted to her than are the Journal and its editors. When the paper was in the hands of her son-in-law, Thomas L. Chase, she wrote a number of literary articles for it that were of high merit, and what she has written has always been valuable and very welcome. We, the old settlers of the village, the few that are left, remember her as a young girl. She came here, I think, in 1837 or ’38 and soon attracted the interest of the reading and thinking part of the community; an interest that never lessened. She married very young and went to housekeeping in very primitive style, as she used to tell: "We arranged the house in the forenoon, had dinner, and I went with some other girls to the woods for cowslip greens in the afternoon." Later, when four little girls had come, she was one of those who formed a sewing society to help sustain a temperance paper, started by two brave young men, S. E. Alvord and Addison Avery. When that was discontinued, the society went on to start a little public library, which has grown ever since. Mrs. Leete was faithful in all she undertook, independent in thought and judgment, a progressive woman who is and will long be widely missed.
JOHN V. YEOMANS died at residence of his brother-in-law, Geo. W. Boyer, in Coudersport, on Friday the 15th, of consumption, age 29 yrs., 9 mos. and 11 days.
©2000 Painted Hills Genealogy Society
Main | Our Mission | Email Us | Membership | Look-Ups | News and Events | Members Family Pages |
Other PHGS Links | Chat and Meeting Room | Disclaimer |