TOWN OF RANDOLPH

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893
 
 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1039 & 1040

Surnames: ABBEY, STANLEY

Orange ABBEY, born in Vermont about 1802, came to Randolph from Onodaga county when young and located where L. Carter now lives. He contracted to cut the pine timber growing on the grounds surrounding Chamberlain Institute. He subsequently sold out and located where Allen Archer now lives. He married Mary, daughter of Joseph STANLEY. He sold his place to Reuben Archer and settled on a farm given to his wife by her father and now owned by his son, Jefferson M. ABBEY. He died in Oct., 1877. Mrs. ABBEY survived until April, 1890.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1040

Surnames: ADAMS, PHELPS, CAMP, CRANE, LEWIS, CRAVENS

Charles P. ADAMS, son of Edwin and China (PHELPS) ADAMS, was born in Greene, N. Y., Dec 3, 1825, received a common school education, and in 1844 began as a clerk in a general store at Fredonia. He finally settled in Randolph and opened a store with William H. CAMP under the firm name of CAMP and ADAMS. About a year afterward he bought the interest of his partner and conducted a general mercantile business alone until 1866, when his brother became a partner, which relation continued until 1874, when he sold to his brother and was instrumental in organizing the State Bank of Randolph, having held the position of cashier continuously ever since. Aug. 31, 1852, he married Cornelia F., daughter of Judge John CRANE, of Fredonia. Children: Frances, (Mrs. H. R. LEWIS) and Douglas C. Douglas C. ADAMS was born May 31, 1864, received his education at Chamberlain Institute, and is a hardware dealer in Randolph. Sept. 15, 1888, he married B. M., daughter of O. B. CRAVENS.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1040

Surnames: ADAMS, CROWLEY, RATHBONE

Theodore E. ADAMS, brother of Charles P., was born in Corydon, Pa., Oct. 26, 1839, became a clerk in a general store in Fredonia at the age of fourteen, and later he spent several terms at Ellington Academy. In 1857 he came to Randolph and was his brother's clerk until 1865, when he became a partner under the name of C. P. ADAMS and Co. Since 1874 he has continued alone. Dec 14, 1865 he married Mary L., daughter of Asahel CROWLEY. Children: Theodora (Mrs. William D. RATHBONE), Percy C., and Florence C.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1040

Surnames: ADAMS, MORGAN, SCOFIELD, BASSETT, CARPENTER

Frank W. ADAMS was born in Livingston county, Sept. 28, 1842. He was graduated at the "Old Round House" in Le Roy, N. Y., and commenced the sale of dry goods there in 1863 in the firm of MORGAN & ADAMS. In 1880 he sold out and went to Jamestown, N. Y., where he continued in the firm of SCOFIELD & ADAMS until 1887. He then became a general merchant at East Randolph in the firm of ADAMS & BASSETT and is now conducting the business alone. Aug. 9 1871, he married Irene CARPENTER, of Le Roy. They have two sons and a daughter. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1040

Surnames: ALEXANDER, McLEOD, RUNDALL, COLLAR

William L. ALEXANDER, son of William and Margaret (McLEOD) ALEXANDER, was born in Port Hope, Ontario, Canada, Aug. 10, 1856, and is of Scotch descent. He attended Toronto University, and received his pharmaceutical education in the Albany Medical College. He became deputy recorder in McKean county, Pa., which position he held about seven years. He studied medicine, and in March, 1885, came to Randolph and purchased the drug and stationery business of D. F. RUNDALL, which he still continues. He is a trustee for the village. Sep. 12, 1883, he married Minnie COLLAR, of Smethport, Pa. They have two sons.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1040

Surnames: ANGLE, CLARK, COVERT, BRACE

John N. ANGLE was born Feb. 1, 1795, and married, March 11, 1817, Betsey CLARK, who was born Oct. 9, 1797. Children: Nicholas, Eleanor, Almira A. (Mrs. Anthony COVERT), Mary E. (Mrs. Elisha BRACE), Nancy M., Emily, Lucinda, and Phebe J. Mr. ANGLE came to Randolph about 1828. He was assessor and prominent in town affairs. At one time he owned and operated a shingle-mill where Freedon L. Jeffords now is. For a short time he resided in Michigan, but returned thence to Cold Spring, where he died aged 85. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1040 & 1041

Surnames: ARCHER, CASWELL, BRACE, WILLIAMSON

Benson ARCHER came to Randolph from Henrietta, N. Y., in 1824 and resided about two years on lot 48, whence he removed to 100 acres on lot 21, now known as the ARCHER district. He was a river pilot and made frequent trips down the river and also in harvest-time went on foot to Monroe County to labor in the harvest fields. He and his wife were members of the Baptist church and he was its deacon many years. He also served several terms as poormaster. Deacon ARCHER died instantly of apoplexy Nov. 5, 1871. Mrs. ARCHER died as suddenly in 1874. They had twelve children. Rueben ARCHER, their oldest son, was born in Henrietta, N. Y., April 7, 1922, and came to Randolph, attended the common schools, and married Narcissa, daughter of Sylvester CASWELL, Sept. 21, 1848. He eventually owned the homestead in addition to his own home, altogether some 350 acres. He was highway commissioner and died Sept 21, 1876. His widow resides with her only son, Allen ARCHER. They also had one daughter, Etta (Mrs. Russell BRACE), who resides on the homestead. Allen ARCHER was born Sept 7, 1854, was educated in Chamberlain Institute, and April 26, 1888, married Maggie WILLIAMSON. He is his father's successor on the homestead and has added to it until his farm now contains 240 acres. He is a breeder of high grade Durham and Holstein cattle and Shropshire and Oxforddown sheep. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1041

Surnames: ARCHER, REEVES, SHEPHERD

John ARCHER, son of Deacon Benson, was born Nov. 18, 1833, was educated in the common schools and Randolph Academy, and became a teacher. Jan. 21, 1860, he married Mary J., daughter of Warren H. REEVES, of Onoville, and settled on the farm where Mrs. ARCHER now resides. He dealt in butter and served as school commissioner of the Second District of Cattaraugus County three years, and was superintendent of Indian schools of the Alleghany and Cattaraugus Indian reservations about seven years, holding the position at the time of his death May 4, 1881. He was a magistrate four years and in politics, was a staunch Republican, serving frequently in county conventions. Of his six children five are living: Anson B., of Conewango; Lewis J., of Corydon, Pa.; M. Bertha (Mrs. Herbert H. SHEPHERD), of Fredonia; Roy R.; and Carrie B.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1041

Surnames: ATWOOD, BUCK

Joshua C. ATWOOD, son of Joshua and Elsie ATWOOD, was born in Hillsborough, N. Y. July 16, 1838. In 1840 his parents emigrated to Kiantone, Chautauqua county. His father was a shoemaker and continued the trade fourteen years. He was also a stone cutter in Boston. In 1852 he removed to Randolph and located where Joshua C. now lives, and followed both stone cutting and farming. Mr. ATWOOD died Nov. 14, 1881. Mrs. ATWOOD died ten years later.

Joshua C. ATWOOD learned the stone cutter's trade of father, but was obliged to abandon it on account of weak lungs. He is now engaged in farming. He is serving his sixth consecutive year as assessor of Randolph. July 6, 1859, he married Kate BUCK, of Cold Spring, and has two sons and two daughters. Mrs. ATWOOD died April 16, 1887.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1041

Surnames: BARBER, MILES

Charles BARBER, son of Oliver, emigrated first to Westfield, N. Y. and thence to Randolph in 1833, marrying the same year Diana MILES, by whom he had nine children. Mr. BARBER died Jan. 31, 1893. His widow resides with a son in Conewango.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1041

Surname: BENEDICT

S. J. BENEDICT was born in Danbury, Conn., May 3, 1838. He lost his father at the age of nine years and in early youth began to support himself. He educated himself in the common schools and in Danbury, Conn., and served as an apprentice to the trade of machinist in New Haven, Conn. In 1857 he came to East Randolph and began the manufacture of steam engines, boilers, and machinery, which he still continues.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1042

Surnames: BERRAY, GOODRICH, SCUDDER, BLOOD

Henry L. BERRAY, son of Seth and Anna (GOODRICH) BERRAY, was born in Walton, NY June 21, 1812. He is the 13th and only surviving child of 16 children. He came to Randolph with his parents in 1836 from Victor, NY and settle dwith them on lot 47, where he has since resided. His father was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, a brick and stone mason by trade, and died May 14, 1847. The mother survived until Oct. 8, 1860. Henry L. married Rumina SCUDDER, Oct. 3, 1837, and has always been a farmer. He has served as magistrate and assessor. They had 12 children, of whom 10 grew to maturity. One son served in the Rebellion. They celebrated the 50th anniv. of their marriage Oct. 3, 1887. They have, living, 40 grandchildren and 4 gr-grandchildren. Their son, James H. BERRAY, was born July 22, 1850. Oct. 15, 1872, he married Ellen E. BLOOD of Cold Spring, and March 11, 1874, settled in the village of Randolph, where he is extensively engaged in the manufacture of shingles, slack barrel staves, and cider and apple jelly. He is a Republican in politics and has served as constable. He has 6 children, and another died in childhood.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1042

Surnames: BROWN, WOODWORTH

William M. BROWN, son of William M., Sr., a native of Connecticut and finally a settler of both South Valley and Cold Spring, dying in the latter town May 3, 1863, was born in Portland, Chautauqua county Dec. 18, 1830. He early became identified with lumbering enterprises in southwestern New York and subsequently and recently has been quite extensively interested in oil opeations. When a partnership existing between his brother Norman and himself was dissolved he acquired the sole title to a tract of land in Cold Spring, where he pursued farming and lumbering for several years. In 1852 he established a mercantile trade there, which he continued 18 months. Sept. 13, 1855, he married Emeline M., daughter of Madison WOODWORTH, of Cold Spring, and has had 4 children. Mr. BROWN was elected sheriff of Cattaraugus co. in 1870 and for 6 years was supervisor of Cold Spring.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1042

Surnames: BURLEY, CASWELL, ABBEY, WILLIAMS

Charles W. BURLEY, born in Oswego co. Mar. 20, 1858, removed with his parents to Conn. and in 1878 the family came to Randolph. With an older brother he purchased of David ABBEY the mills now known as the BURLEY mills, under the firm name BURLEY Bros. They rebuilt the plant and put in steam-power. C.W. bought the interest of his brother in Aug. 1890, and now conducts the business alone, and with Frank WILLIAMS of East Randolph, has purchased a tract of 640 acres of timber land. He also conducts a grocery store. In May, 1886, he married Cora S., daughter of Alonzo CASWELL; children: Adah and Blanche (twins) and Ona.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1042

Surnames: BURT, HEALY, CARD, PHILLIPS, FENTON

Hezekiah O. BURT, son of Nathan and Rebecca (HEALY) BURT, ws born in Conewango, Dec. 2, 1823. His father settled in Conewango in 1821 and was a farmer there until his death in 1837. At the age of 24 H.O. began the trade of carpenter and joiner and later he was an expert millwright, and built numerous saw-mills along the Allegheny and its tributaries. Sept. 10, 1861 he married Mary CARD, who was the mother of his only son, Frank C., a farmer in Conewango. In 1863, he settled on his farm, a portion of which he purchased when he was 23 years old, and now has 370 acres. Mrs. BURT died in Nov. 1865. Jan. 10, 1870, he married Mrs. Minerva PHILLIPS, daughter of John FENTON of South Valley; they had one daughter, Mary, born Dec. 19, 2870. In 1873 Mr. BURT and his family returned to East Randolph, where he has since resided. He also deals in oil territory and conducts a store in the oil regions. He has been president of the Cattaraugus County Agricultural Society two terms and was its vice-president and director.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1043

Surnames: BUTCHER, NEWTON, ELLSWORTH

Frederick BUTCHER, senior member of the firm of F. BUTCHER & Son, was born in Ashburton, Devonshire, Eng., in 1835, came to America with his mother in 1851, and learned the trade of clothier of Daniel Hazeltine at Jamestown. In Feb., 1864, he enlisted in the 112th N. Y. Regt. and was mustered in as a musician in the brigade band of the 4th Brigade, First Division, 24th Army Corps, and was discharged Aug. 14, 1865, in Richmond, Va. In June, 1877, he bought the wollen-mills at East Randolph of E. Holdridge and has since then been engaged in manufacturing woolen goods with his son Fred D. Mr. BUTCHER is a good musician and teacher of cornet bands and is the leader of the East Randolph band. In Jan., 1856, he married Almira L. NEWTON. Children: Fred D., Myrta M. (Mrs. H. J. ELLSWORTH), Leo NEWTON.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1043

Surnames: CARPENTER, ADAMS

Elroy V. CARPENTER, son of Warren, was born in Lyndon, N. Y., June 3, 1857. He was educated in Ten Broeck Free Academy and began his business life teaching in the common schools, which he continued eight terms. In 1884 he became a member of the firm of W. CARPENTER & Sons, proprietors of the Carpenter combination of five cheese factories. He has charge of factory No. 2 in Randolph. In company with his brothers Thomas and Samuel he is also engaged in breeding trotting horses. Oct 6, 1880, he married Arabelle, daughter of Jason ADAMS, of Farmersville. They have two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1043

Surnames: CARSON, JOHNSON, WOOSTER

Robert CARSON, born in Bellefonte, Pa., May 31, 1825, was raised in Akron, Ohio, began his business life as a grocer's clerk at the age of twelve years, and when twenty he traveled and sold gun-powder six ensuing years. In 1850 he went overland to the gold fields of California, where he remained seventeen years. In 1870 he came to Cattaraugus county, where for several years he was a merchant in Steamburgh and Red House. He has resided the past eighteen years in Randolph. In March, 1850, he married Emma JOHNSON, who was the mother of his son, Robert A. CARSON. Mrs. CARSON died in California in 1856. In 1858 he married Catherine E. WOOSTER, of California; children: Blanche, Paul, a graduate of Dartmouth College, and Phillip.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1043 & 1044

Surnames: CARTER, HOTCHKISS, PERRY, MYRES, STRUNK, McCONNELL, BENTLEY, MACAPES, EVANS, VAN RENSSELAER

Thomas CARTER was born in Connecticut in 1797. In childhood he removed with his parents to Onondaga County, N. Y. His father was a tanner in Fabius, and about 1840 removed to Randolph, where he died in 1854. Thomas CARTER learned the trade of tanner of his father, and married, in Amber, Abi HOTCHKISS. In 1824 he removed to the present site of the village of Cherry Creek and erected a tannery, the second one built in Chautauqua County. In 1827 he sold his property in Cherry Creek and removed to Napoli Corners, where he purchased the improvements, including a primitive tannery, of Mr. Bennett and was a leading business man in Napoli until 1854. He enlarged his tannery, which he sold in 1847 to the original builder, Mr. Bennett, and gradually became a farmer. He was also one of the earliest merchants of the town. In 1854 he sold his large farm and removed to a farm near Oberlin, and now resides in Riceville, Pa.

Ladwick H. CARTER, son of Thomas, was born in Otisco, Onondaga County, Jan 18, 1824, and removed with his parents to Cherry Creek in March following. Reared in Napoli he spent his youth attending the common school and in grinding bark in his father's tannery, and finished his education at the Fredonia Academy. In 1854, he removed to Randolph and engaged in mercantile business until 1873, being also an extensive dealer in lumber. He now gives his attention to his farming interests and also deals in real estate. May 22, 1848, he married Jane A. PERRY, of Centerville, Pa., who was the mother of all his children : Mary E. (Mrs William C. MYRES), Gertrude A. (Mrs Frank STRUNK), Frank P. (deceased), Jennie J. (Mrs. P. H. McCONNELL), Harriet S. (Mrs. Charles BENTLEY, who died July 16, 1889), Carrie Belle (Mrs. J. Clayton MACAPES), and Kitty Jane (Mrs. Harry C. EVANS). Mrs. CARTER died April 9, 1887. March 3, 1890, Mr. CARTER married Ellen, daughter of Henry VAN RENSSELAER, of Randolph.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1044

Surnames: CASWELL, COOK, NEWTON, ARNOLD, BURLEY

Joseph CASWELL, born in Henrietta, Monroe County, married there Julia, daughter of John COOK, and there his oldest two children were born. In March, 1826, he came to Randolph with his family and settled on the farm now occupied by Ogden Scudder within the village corporation. Shortly afterward he sold his claim and made a permanent settlement on Sample Hill, where he died. He and his wife were members of the M. E. Church. Their son Alonzo, born Feb 4, 1822, in Henrietta, came to Randolph at the age of four years and has always resided here. In Feb., 1856, he married Samantha NEWTON, who died two years later. March 22, 1859, he married Lapantha S. ARNOLD, of Napoli, who is the mother of his only daughter, Cora S., who married C. W. BURLEY. Mr. CASWELL served six years as assessor and is a farmer on the Jackson Sample homestead, where the first white child was born in town.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1044

Surnames: CHAPMAN, DE LAND

Jeremiah W. CHAPMAN, son of Welcome, a pioneer of Conewango, was born about one and a half miles northeast of the village of Conewango, April 22, 1850. Raised a farmer he was educated in the district school and in Chamberlain Institute, and Sept. 9, 1870, he married Mary DE LAND and settled on a farm in his native town, where he resided until 1877, when he removed to East Randolph. Children: William D., Nettie O., Grace L., and Herbert L.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1044

Surname: CHAMPLIN

Jesse CHAMPLIN came to Randolph at the age of ten years. A family sketch appears on page 833. (See Robert CHAMPLIN family of New Albion and Robert CHAMPLIN, Jr. family of New Albion, pages 833-4).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1044

Surnames: COOK, ARNOLD, SAXTON, NEWTON, KORTRIGHT, GRISWOLD

Elisha R. COOK, born in Williamstown, Mass., in 1799, married first, Lydia E. ARNOLD and soon after settled in the west part of Randolph in what is known as the COOK district. In the spring of 1821 his brother Josiah came on foot from Rochester and located a farm in the neighborhood. The next spring Elisha R. came on, cleared a small patch, planted it with potatoes, built a log cabin, and returned to Rochester. In July, 1822, he brought his wife and household goods from Rochester with an ox-team and sled. Mrs. COOK died in 1824, leaving an infant daughter, now Mrs. Nancy SAXTON. His father and step-mother joined him soon after and in 1831 he married Mary NEWTON, a native of Vermont. He was a staunch Democrat and died Nov. 19, 1887. Mrs COOK died Oct 3, 1881. Children: James Henry, who died in infancy; Russel M., born in Dec., 1834, married Phebe KORTRIGHT, and settled where he now resides; and George W., born Oct. 15, 1837, married, June 8, 1859, Sarah, daughter of Hiram GRISWOLD, of Randolph, succeeded his father on the homestead -- children: Nellie E. (who died aged twenty-six), Lottie (Mrs. George TIMMERMAN), Frank A., and Leo. Mr. COOK is a Democrat, and F. & A. Mason and a member of the A. O. U. W.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1044 & 1045

Surnames: CORNWELL, HULL

Miles C. CORNWELL, son of Levinus and grandson of Benjamin CORNWELL, who came from England to America and settled in New England, was born Jan. 12, 1831, in Sardinia, N. Y. Benjamin CORNWELL was a peddler. His son Levinus settled in Concord, Erie County, and was a tanner and currier in Springville. He next located in Sardinia, where he built a grist-mill, which was completely wrecked by sinking into quick-sand. He finally abandoned milling and returned to his trade of shoemaking, and was also a farmer. He died in Sardinia about 1879. Miles C. was first a carriage maker, and soon settled in Springville, where he prosecuted his trade several years. He was in Hamburg about three years, and in 1876 he came to Randolph and formed a co-partnership with his son, Eugene CORNWELL, under the firm name of C. CORNWELL & Son. Eugene, his only son, was born in Sardinia, N. Y., Nov. 25, 1854, married Ella C. HULL, in March, 1876, and has two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1045

Surnames: COWEN, SEAGER, CROWLEY, FENTON

Dr. John N. COWEN, son of John M. and Rachel (SEAGER) COWEN, was born in Conewango, Dec. 23, 1854. Educated in the common school and at Chamberlain Institute, he was a student four years in the University of Michigan and was graduated fro the Dental Department of that institution in 1878 with the degree D. D. S. He commenced the practice of his profession at East Randolph the next fall and in 1884 he settled in the village of Randolph, where he now resides. Dr. COWEN has served on the village Board of Trustees and is one of the Board of Directors of the Bank of Randolph. Oct. 23, 1881, he married Mrs. Emma F. CROWLEY, daughter of John FENTON. She died July 2, 1886.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1045

Surnames: COWLES, FORD

Sylvester COWLES, D.D., son of Amos and Dolly (FORD) COWLES, was born in Otisco, NY Jan 28, 1804. He was graduated from Hamilton College with the degree of A.B. in 1828, and was ordained by the Onondaga Presbytery on Sept. 5, 1831, after a theological course in Auburn Theological Seminary. He at once began an active ministry in Napoli and continued his labors in Cattaraugus Co. about half a centry. He preached in many of the towns, and organized churches in Randolph, Olean, Portville, and other villages. His alma mater, Hamilton College, honored him with the degree of D.D. in 1874. He was an advocate of temperance and was fond of the natural sciences, especially of geology, of which he gathered a valuable cabinet. He was 3 times married and died in Randolph about 1890.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1045

Surnames: COY, TANNER, FENTON, WOODWORTH, HILLER, MARSH, WANAMAKER

George COY was born in Vermont April 3, 1799. Feb. 27, 1823, he married Esther TANNER, a native of Mass., who was born Feb. 12, 1798. Soon afterward he came to Cortland, NY where he resided 12 years. In the fall of 1836 he came to Randolph and settled on the farm now owned by George Boyle. In 1865 he removed to this village, where he died June 19, 1868. Mrs. COY died Sept. 3, 1873. Children: Harriet (Mrs. H. N.FENTON), Corinth (Mrs. George WOODWORTH), Mrs. Emily HILLER, Emily M. (Mrs. Hollis MARSH, Rosette (Mrs. J. Z. WANAMAKER), Andrew (deceased), and Frances (deceased).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1045

Surnames: CRAVENS, OAKS, LYONS, ADAMS

Orvan B. CRAVENS was born in Crawford County, Pa., May 21,1835. His father was an expert weaver, and settled on a farm in Randolph, Pa., where he carried on the double occupation of weaver and farmer and was also an auctioneer. He died aged forty-five. Orvan B., at the age of twenty-one, bought the homestead. In Oct., 1862, he enlisted in the 169th Pa. Militia, was discharged in July, 1863, re-enlisted in the 83d Pa. Vols. in March, 1864, and was discharged in July, 1865. He was in the Fifth Corps of the Army of the Potomac and participated in many of its battles. He received a flesh-wound from three buck-shot in his left arm May 8, 1864, which incapacitated him until Aug. 1st. In the fall of 1865 he went to Petroleum Center and engaged in oil producing. In 1871 he began dealing in oil property, which business he still continues. In Oct., 1880, he became a citizen of Randolph, where he still resides. In Sept., 1859, he married Jane LYON of Lyon's Hollow, Pa. She died in Jan., 1865, and in Nov., 1867, he married Mrs. Eliza OAKS; children: Mittee (Mrs. Douglas C. ADAMS), Hattie S., and Orris D.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1045 & 1046

Surnames: CROSS, NILES, GRIFFIN, WAITE, PRICE

Isaiah CROSS, born in Grafton, N. H., in 1812, came to Randolph with his parents in 1828 or 1830. He purchased a home, where his wife now resides, in 1837, where he died June 23, 1885. Jan. 17, 1838, he married Sally NILES. She died in Feb., 1876, and was the mother of eleven children. Aug. 7, 1877, he married Mrs. Mary (GRIFFIN) WAITE, and they had one daughter.

Asa B. CROSS, son of Isaiah, was born Feb. 22, 1867, and when 22 went to Nebraska, where he was a farmer and dealer in real estate about two years. June 5, 1884, he married Verie, daughter of Alfred PRICE, of Randolph, and settled on the farm where they now live.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1046

Surnames: CROWLEY, TODD, JOHNSON

The CROWLEY family in Randolph are of New England ancestry. Walter and Mary (TODD) CROWLEY were born in Attleboro, Mass., came with their parents to Vermont while that state was known as New Hamphire Grants, and settled in Mt. Holly, cleared a farm, and raised four sons and three daughters, all of whom eventually came to Randolph. Asahel, their son, born in Mt. Holly, Feb. 14, 1809, came to this town in 1831, where he still resides. The ensuing two winters he taught common schools, being also a lumberman. In 1833 he engaged in merchandizing. In 1835 his brother Addison came from Vermont and in 1836 joined him in business with Joseph Stanley. They conducted a general mercantile trade, erected a large store, and were the largest dealers of the place. They also dealt extensively in cattle and lumber. Mr Stanley retired from the firm about four years later, and subsequently their brother Alvin became a partner. They also manufactured lumber, which they rafted to market down the Allegheny and Ohio rivers. They established a lumber yard at Cincinnati, of which Alvin had charge. They drove cattle to the eastern markets and were extensive farmers and builders. Asahel CROWLEY had charge outside while Addison conducted the store. Asahel CROWLEY married Clarissa M. JOHNSON, of Mt. Holly, in 1836. She was born May 3, 1815. Mr. CROWLEY has seconded all the enterprises for promoting the interests of the town: the bank, the Randolph Academy, the Home for Homeless Children, the railroad, and other institutions.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1046

Surnames: CROWLEY, SHATTUCK, CASLER, CHAMPLIN, FENTON, SAUNDERS

Addison CROWLEY came to Randolph in 1835 from Mt. Holly, Vt., where he was born March 8, 1811. He taught in the common schools and in 1836 joined in business with his brother Asahel and Joseph Stanley. Addison was interested in the organization of Randolph Academy and a liberal contributor to its stock. He was one of the original incorporators of the Bank of Randolph, was its first vice-president, and is now its president. He also gave his aid and influence to establish the Western New York Home for Homeless and Dependent Children. Now a staunch Republican he was first a Whig and the first year he was in Randolph he cast the only Whig vote in town. In 1855 he called the first Republican caucus held in Randolph and was the only one in attendance. In 1840 he subscribed for Horace Greeley's "Log Cabin" and has had the "New York Tribune" continually since its first issue. He was supervisor in 1846, 1847, and 1854. In 1849 he was sheriff of the county and again in 1855. He was appointed by President Lincoln, postmaster at Randolph and immediately resigned the position when Andrew Jackson assumed the presidency. He was a trustee and treasurer of Randolph Academy. Jan. 10, 1839, he married Mary E. SHATTUCK, of Warren, Pa., who was the mother of his daughter Ella M., who married B. G. CASLER, of Randolph. She was also mother of his son Melvin A., (deceased). Mrs. CROWLEY died in Nov., 1843, and in May, 1851, he married Arvilla M. CHAMPLIN, of Napoli; of their seven children four are living: Addie M. (Mrs. Erie W. FENTON), Kate S. (Mrs. Walter B. SAUNDERS), Jerome A., and Libbie E.. Mrs CROWLEY died Oct. 24, 1887.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1046 & 1047

Surnames: CROWLEY, WEED

M. Johnson CROWLEY, son of Asahel, was born in Randolph, Aug. 3, 1841. He attended Randolph Academy and assisted his father as a lumberman, cattle dealer, and farmer. He began business as a merchant in company with A. Wentworth, Esq., at Little Valley, in the fall of 1860. In the spring of 1861 they removed the store to Randolph, where Mr. CROWLEY enlisted in the 64th N. Y. Vols. and was mustered in Sept. 17, 1861, as first corporal of Co. B, being discharged Dec. 30, 1861, upon a surgeon's certificate of disability. He was graduated from Bryant & Stratton's Business College at Cleveland, Ohio, in May, 1863, and became his father's partner in the lumber and cattle business, but again enlisted in the same company and regiment Feb 14, 1865, being detailed on special duty in Elmira. Joining his regiment in April he received a warrant to rank as first sergeant of Co. B from March 1, 1865. He resumed lumber and cattle dealing with his father and alone until 1875, when he retired from active business. Aug. 29, 1865, he married M. Addie, daughter of W. F. WEED, of Franklinville. Their son William A. died Dec 14, 1877.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1047

Surname: CROWLEY

Hon. Rufus CROWLEY was born in Rutland County, Vt., July 25, 1800. He was a captain of militia, a merchant, and member of the Vermont Legislature. In 1841 he removed to Yorkshire, where he was in the mercantile business with Lorenzo D. Cobb, now of Buffalo, most of the time for seven years. In 1847 he was elected to the Legislature by the Whigs. In 1848 he removed to Randolph, where he resided until his death in 1872. In 1857 he was again elected to the Legislature by the Republicans. For many years he was secretary of the Board of Trustees of Randolph Academy.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1047

Surnames: DEXTER, SCUDDER, BUXTON, ABBEY, SPAULDING

Maj. Osmond N. DEXTER, a native of Connecticut, came from Dexterville, Chautauqua County, to Randolph at an early day and erected a blacksmith and trip-hammer shop on Dry Brook in company with his brothers Edward and Frederick, and manufactured axes, hoes, and forks. Later he removed to the farm now owned by his sons Marcus M. and Henry B., and there erected a business in blacksmithing and farming. Later they divided the farm and Major Osmond N. continued the business alone. He died in Feb., 1872. Mr. DEXTER was a superior mechanic, an extensive reader, a Democrat, and quite a politician. He early took an interest in military affairs and rose through all the grades to major, hence his title. He married Rozilla, daughter of Joel SCUDDER, who died in July, 1881. Children: Frances M. (Mrs. J. BUXTON), Albert, Isophene (Mrs. Warren ABBEY), Marcus, Henry.

Marcus DEXTER was born in Randolph, Feb. 19, 1854, was educated in the common schools, and Jan. 16, 1882; he married Bertha SPAULDING, of Randolph. He settled on the homestead in company with his brother Henry and is engaged in farming.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1047

Surnames: DIXON, GREEN, DAVIS, WARREN

Homer DIXON, youngest son of Daniel, was born in East Randolph, May 12, 1837. He was a natural mechanic and followed the trade of carpenter. In 1860 he embarked in the grocery trade, in which he is still engaged. In Oct., 1867, he married Justina GREEN; children: Mary E. and John Leonard. Mrs. DIXON died Nov. 3, 1874, and Oct. 12, 1888, he married Mrs. Martha (DAVIS) Warren, daughter of Rev. Austin DAVIS. Mrs. DIXON was a resident of Washington eighteen years and much of the time a clerk in the Treasury Department. Miss Mary E. DAVIS is a painter and a portrait artist of more than ordinary ability.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1047 & 1048

Surname: DIXON

Andrew J. DIXON, son of Daniel, was born in East Randolph, Feb. 15, 1830. He, too, is a natural mechanic and began business about 1848 as a carpenter and joiner, which has been his life work. Many of the finest residences in East Randolph are monuments to his skill as an architect and builder.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1048 - 1050

Surnames: DOW, NUTTING, MASON, JOHNSON

Albert Gallatin DOW was born in Plainfield, Cheshire County, N. H., Aug. 16, 1808, and was the eighth of the ten children born to Solomon and Phebe DOW. The family soon removed to Hartland, Vt., and from there in 1816 to Pembroke, Genessee County, N. Y. Here his boyhood days were spent, his experience in no wise differing from that common to pioneer life. Educational advantages were few, the labor required was severe and exhausting the fare was plain and the clothing scanty, but these external disadvantages and discomforts and privations laid the sure foundations of industry, economy, and self-reliance upon which the superstruction of a successful life has been built. The common school in the log house and three months' attendance at a private school afforded the only training received by him outside the home circle during the ten years spent by him in Pembroke. His father died Nov. 9, 1822, and soon thereafter, in his fifteenth year, he began the battle of life upon his own account and commenced the business career which has continued uninterruptedly for seventy years. After leaving Pembroke he resided in Batavia, Genessee County, one year, and thence removed to Panama in Chautauqua County, where he remained about six months. In 1827 he removed to Silver Creek, which he made his home for about nineteen years. In 1845 he removed to Randolph, where he has since resided continuously for period of forty-seven years. In Jan., 1840, then in his thirty-second year, he entered the hardware business, having George S. FARNHAM as a co-partner. This partnership continued about a year and on its dissolution, Mr. DOW conducted a hardware store at Sinclairville about a year and a half. In the fall of 1842 he resumed the same business at Silver Creek in co-partnership with Horation N. FARNHAM and this continued until his removal to Randolph in 1845. In 1843 he opened a dry goods store at Randolph, his nephew, James NUTTING, being associated with him. This store they conducted as co-partners until 1851. Upon his removal to Randolph in 1845 he opened a hardware store in that village. He continued in this business until 1863, associating his son Warren as a co-partner in 1860. In 1860 he established a private banking business, which, after his retirement from the hardware trade, occupied his entire attention until 1880, when it was discontinued. In October, 1875, his son Charles M. became a partner in the banking business, which from that time until discontinuance was conducted under the firm named of A. G. DOW & Son . In 1881 he organized the Salamanca National Bank at Salamanca, being its principal stockholder and first president, holding that office until his resignation in April, 1890. Since that time he has continued as director of this institution, but has not been otherwise actively engaged in business except to supervise and guard his investments. Such is the brief history of an unusually long and remarkably successful business career. A fine fortune has been accumulated from the slow gains of legitimate business. There has been no sudden rise followed by an equally quick collapse. A steady growth in prosperity has been the result of close application, unremitting industry, sure judgment, and undoubted integrity. Pre-eminently a careful and prudent man, Mr. DOW has always shown a broadmindedness and generosity of disposition which have won the respect and admiration of those who know him best.

Mr. DOW has found opportunity in the midst of engrossing business cares to interest himself in public affairs and to discharge faithfully and well the duties of various public offices. In his political affiliations he was a Democrat until the war of the Rebellion sundered his party ties. Since 1861 he has found his convictions best represented in the principles of the Republican party, and for upwards of thirty years he has been an active and unswerving member of that organization. He was early elected to local office at Silver Creek and commencing in 1848 he was for eight years a justice of the peace at Randolph. He has served as supervisor of the town ten years and in 1863 and 1864 served in the Legislature as member of Assembly from the Second District of Cattaraugus County. In 1873 he was elected State Senator in the Thirty-second District, composed of Cattaraugus and Chautauqua Counties, and served as such on term (1874-75). In all of these positions he displayed the good sense, broad judgment, and faithful devotion to duty which characterized him in private affairs. In 1850 Mr. DOW joined his neighbors in organizing Randolph Academy, which, continuing under that name until 1866, was then changed to Chamberlain Institute, and has been for upwards of forty years a great power in the intellectual and moral development of western New York. He was one of the original trustees of this school and has held that office uninterruptedly to the present time. He has taken an active part in religious work. In Silver Creek he united with the Presbyterian Church. Upon removing to Randolph he joined the Congregational Church of that village, has never dissolved his relation therewith, and has served it in various official capacities. Oct. 4, 1829, shortly after completing his twenty-first year, Mr. DOW married Freelove, daughter of Wheaton MASON, of Batavia. To them were born five children: James, born July 1, 1830 (deceased); Warren, born Jan. 15, 1833; Sarah, born Jan. 22, 1837 (deceased); Mary (Mrs. James G. JOHNSON), born Jun 12, 1842; Albert G., Jr., born April 17, 1844. Mrs DOW died Aug. 21, 1847, and April 23, 1850, Mr. DOW married her sister Lydia A. This union continued upwards of forty years and afforded a home life of rare happiness. Mrs DOW possessed a strong and winning personality, which gave her great influence over her surroundings. At once tender and forceful, unassuming, and yet full of courage and resources, she gave herself without stint to the service and happiness of others. To remarkable executive faculty she joined the happy power of stimulating other to action. Kind by natural impulse, her unostentatious charities were regulated by such good sense they never demoralized the recipients. Interested in all good works, she exerted a strong influence for truth and right living, and her gracious memory will never depart from the hearts of those who knew her. Her sad and untimely death, June 11, 1891, was occasioned by an accident at a railway crossing near her home in the village of Randolph. To this marriage was given one son, Charles M., who was born Aug. 1, 1853, and upon arriving at majority engaged in banking with his father. He organized the Jamestown National Bank in 1888 and has been the president of that institution from its beginning.

A plain and temperate mode of living has brought Mr. DOW the reward of long life and his eighty-sixth year finds him in good physical health accompanied by unabated mental vigor. He is quietly enjoying the prosperity won by long years of industry, sagacity, and integrity. Throughout his long life he has been plain, unassuming, actuated by honorable motives, sincere in all his dealings, a strong friend, a kind neighbor, and an upright citizen. He has been pre-eminently a just man. Starting in life with no advantages except such as flow from health and inherent integrity, his indomitable purpose to accomplish the tasks set before him what he values more – the respect of the community in which he lives and the friendship of all classes.

Ed. Note: This biography includes a photograph of Albert Gallatin DOW

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1050

Surnames: DOW, GATES

Amos DOW, born in Hartland, Vt., May 22, 1811, came to Pembroke, N. Y., with his parents in 1816, where his father died in 1822 and his mother in 1826. After the age of twelve he supported himself and thus early learned self-reliance. At the age of eighteen he opened a shoe shop at Silver Creek. In 1838 he was proprietor of a tannery and shoe shop combined. In 1846, having previously sold his tannery, he changed to mercantile business. He served in Silver Creek as commissioner of schools and about five years as justice of the peace. From 1855 for eighteen years he was a merchant in East Randolph. In 1872, he purchased the private bank of Thomas Chamberlain, which he continued until the fall of 1891. In 1863 he represented Randolph on the Board of Supervisors. In his long and extensive dealing with men his established reputation for sterling integrity is beyond a doubt. In politics he is a staunch Republican and is liberal in his religious sentiments. In 1827 he married Eliza A. GATES, by whom he had five children.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1050

Surnames: DOXSTADER, VEEDER

Abraham V. DOXSTADER was born in Johnstown, N. Y., came to this town in Nov., 1836, and cleared a farm of 260 acres. He has been a man of push and perseverance and has contributed liberally to church, educational, and charitable objects. In the retirement of old age he enjoys in his present home in Randolph Village the esteem and confidence of a large circle of friends. He married Ann VEEDER, who died Nov. 25, 1881. Children: Sarah C., Margaret, Alida, George A., and Loraine (deceased).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1050 & 1051

Surnames: EDDY, WINSLOW, BERRY, SHELDON, LAKE, PHILLIPS, WALKUP

The EDDY family in America is of English origin and descended from two brothers who came from England in 1630 and settled in Rhode Island. The race in the United States are distinguished as preachers of the gospel. Walton Almy EDDY, son of Job and Fanny (WINSLOW) EDDY, was born in Middlefield, N. Y., Jan. 7, 1821. Job EDDY, son of Zephaniah, was born in Rhode Island, Dec. 6, 1780, and moved with his family to Otsego County in 1794. He married, in Otsego County, Fanny WINSLOW, June 3, 1810, who was born Feb. 17, 1789. He was a farmer and in the fall of 1825 moved to Cherry Creek, Chautauqua County, where he was a pioneer. He died Feb. 6, 1866. His first wife was the mother of his six children, who are all living except the oldest, Barton EDDY. Mrs. EDDY died Feb. 10, 1836. Walton A. EDDY became a carriage maker. March 15, 1843, he married Sarah M., daughter of Thomas BERRY, of Cherry Creek. In August following he settled in Waukegan, Ill., where he opened a shop and prosecuted his trade about four years. He settled in Randolph in 1858, where he has since resided. Mr. EDDY has been a carriage manufacturer and inventor and patentee of several parts for carriages. He devoted his time for seven years to manufacturing a patent carriage seat, his own invention. About 1870. with his son, F. J. EDDY, he built a side-wheel steamboat and launched it on the Allegheny at Cold Spring, christening it the" W. A. EDDY". They ran the steamer down the river, jumped the eight-foot dam at Corydon, Pa., and landed it at Ironton, Ohio, where they sold it. In 1874 he built another, "The Randolph", sixty feet long, in company with C. C. SHELDON (his son-in-law) and his son, and sold it in Louisville, Ky. The same season E. C. Topliff and Chauncey Harding built a similar steamer, "The Cattaraugus", which they sold on the Ohio River in West Virginia. Mr. EDDY is now serving his third term as overseer of the poor. Children: James D., born in Illinois, died in infancy; Evaline, born in Illinois, Dec. 28, 1845, married George LAKE; Clara, born Jan. 24, 1849, at Cherry Creek, married Edward L. PHILLIPS (deceased); Fanny and job (twins), born Nov 1, 1851, at Cherry Creek -- Fanny married Charles C. SHELDON and Job married Ella WALKUP; and Janette B., born in Randolph, Oct. 31, 1863.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1051 - 1053

Surnames: EDWARDS, BAKER

Hon. James T. EDWARDS, D.D., LL..D.,* was born in Barnegat, Ocean county, N. J., Jan. 6, 1838. His parents were influential, well-to-do people, and among his large connection are many names of men whose influence has been felt as a power in moulding the character of society and the church. James EDWARDS, his great-grandfather, fought with Washington at the time of Braddock's defeat and during the whole of the Revolutionary war, in which he was severely wounded. His parents were Job and Susanna EDWARDS. The former was known as an eloquent local preacher and twice served as a member of the State Legislature. The latter was a woman of unusual force of character and in her earlier years was a teacher. She made sacrifices to give her son a liberal education and always warmly sympathized with his aims. Dr. EDWARDS prepared for college at Pennington Seminary in New Jersey and graduated from Wesleyan University in Middletown, Conn., in 1860. After graduation he filled the chair of natural science in Amenia Seminary in Dutchess County, N. Y. Having served one year in this institution he took charge of the same department in East Greenwich Academy in Rhode Island. The study of law had many attractions for him, and he decided to make that his profession. Arrangements were made for him to enter the office of Hon. William L. Dayton, of Trenton, N. J., but Mr. Dayton was shortly afterward sent as minister to the court of France. The professor's plans were thus frustrated, and before any new arrangement was made he found the work of teaching so congenial that the idea of practicing law was permanently abandoned. His favorite departments of instruction were the sciences and belles-lettres, and to this work he devoted himself with an unfailing enthusiasm which was contagious and inspiring. Besides training his classes in the lecture-room he was constantly delivering addresses before institutes and teachers' associations throughout the State. For a long time he was a member of the Executive Committee of the State Teachers' Association and at the time of his leaving Rhode Island was its president. He married, in 1862, Miss Emma A. BAKER, daughter of Rev. Charles BAKER, who by her varied accomplishments and unfailing interest in his studies and work has been to him a "helpmeet" indeed. They have three daughters: Grace, Laura, and Florence; the first named is the wife of S. Winsor BAKER, of Jamestown, N. Y.

In the fall of 1862 Professor EDWARDS enlisted as a private in the 1st R. I. Vols., but immediately received from Governor Sprague a commission as second Lieutenant, and was soon after elected first lieutenant of a company composed of members of the Young Men's Christian Association of Providence. Afterward he was made adjutant of the parole camp near Alexandria, Va. While in this position he rendered valuable service by his humane treatment of the paroled prisoners, who, when he entered upon his duties were shamefully neglected. Upon leaving the army he was elected principal of the seminary at East Greenwich. For more than sixty years this school had done excellent work in educating the youth of Rhode Island and other States, but a burdensome debt of $22,000 had for a long time hung over it to the great annoyance of its friends. Through Professor EDWARDS' earnest efforts the entire debt was lifted by subscription. In addition to his duties as principal of the seminary he was elected and served as State senator when he was twenty six years old, being the youngest member of that body. During this session he distinguished himself as a ready debater in and exciting discussion upon the military record and expenditures of the State during the war of the Rebellion. He was elected to the Senate the second time and also chosen presidential elector on the ticket which elected General Grant for his first term, and stumped the State in his support. Professor EDWARDS took and active part in the discussion of the fifteenth amendment, which was carried in the Senate, but defeated in the House, at this session. He was elected the third time to the Senate and made chairman of the Committee on Education. During this session the temperance question was pressed to the front and legislators were compelled to give it attention, whether in sympathy with the cause of not. The professor was an earnest advocate of a prohibitory bill which was triumphantly carried in the Senate, but failed to become a law because of its defeat in the House. He also took an active part in the establishment of the first Normal school in the State. During this session he made a speech upon the "just limitations of the pardoning power" which attracted general attention and exercised a marked influence in effecting a wholesome reform in the use of that prerogative by the governor of Rhode Island.

In 1870 Professor EDWARDS moved to this State to take charge of Chamberlain Institute at Randolph. In 1872, its brick boarding hall, erected at a cost of $50,000, was destroyed by fire, being insured for only $10,000. Through the exertions of Professor EDWARDS and the liberality of its friends it was rebuilt by subscription in less than a year, and stands in its beautiful proportions, free from debt. In 1876 Allegheny College at Meadville, Pa., conferred the degree of D.D. upon the professor and in 1890 he was made Doctor of Laws. He continued at the head of Chamberlain Institute for the long period of twenty-two years, resigning in 1892. During this time 6,000 students were in attendance; 450 graduated from its several departments; and more than 500 certificates were received from the Regents of the State University. There was an average attendance for sixty-three terms of 167 students whose average age for the whole time was seventeen and one-tenth years. Probably there is not a town in Cattaraugus and Chautauqua Counties which does not contain representatives from this old school. Its patronage during the administration of Dr. EDWARDS was drawn from quite an extended area, often embracing several States. In the educational gatherings of this section Dr. EDWARDS has long been a familiar figure, often lecturing, dedicating school buildings, and engaging in kindred work. As a minister he has preached frequently, being especially called upon for anniversaries, church dedications and funerals. He has been twice elected delegate to the "General Conference," the lawmaking body of the M. E. Church, and three times reserve delegate.

Dr. EDWARDS is an ardent lover of the natural sciences and has endeavored to make these studies of practical value in this region by discussing, at agricultural fairs, farmers' institutes, and conventions, their principles as applied to agriculture. He built the first silo in southwestern New York and showed the wholesomeness and utility of ensilage. He is the author of numerous published addresses and of two volumes entitled respectively "The Grass Family" and "The Silva of Chautauqua Lake." Dr. EDWARDS has been identified with the great Chautauqua movement from its beginning, for most of the time in the three-fold capacity of trustee, professor, and lecturer. For nine years he has had charge of the department of physics and chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts. In the fall of 1891, he was nominated by "certificate" as senator from the Thirty-second District, in accordance with a law passed in 1890 permitting a nomination of senator on the presentation to the secretary of State of the certified names under oath of 500 voters desiring such nomination. Seven hundred and fifty names were forwarded and the nomination was endorsed by a People's convention which met in Jamestown and by the regular Democratic Convention held the same day. He was elected by over 1,000 majority. As chairman of the Committee on Education during the last session he was influential in passing three important bills which bear his name, viz., : The "University Bill,: covering all the higher education in the State; the "Library Bill," which appropriates $55,000, annually to school and township free libraries; and the "School Commissioner Bill", which allows women to vote for school commissioners. Dr. EDWARDS is a many-sided man and the people instinctively regard him as their man. It can not be said that he is a politician. Positions have sought him. He has been called to places of trust by the people because they judged him fitted by intelligence, a broad statesmanship, purity of life, executive abilities, and eloquence as a public speaker to represent them as a lawmaker. He has always taken an active part in public affairs and held the theory that every citizen who enjoys the blessings of a free government should be willing to bear his share of its responsibilities. He is an attractive, scholarly speaker, with an agreeable voice well balanced by a graceful delivery, and always receives a hearty welcome whenever he appears in the pulpit or upon the platform. Senator EDWARDS, in addition to his duties as legislator, holds the position of extension secretary of the Chautauqua system of education. *

1.* By Dr. Theodore L. FLOOD, editor of the "Chautauqua".

2. * Dr. EDWARDS, since the sketch was written, has been appointed president of the McDonough School for Boys at Baltimore, Md., founded in 1875 by John McDonough, who left $1,000,000 to educate poor boys. The professor took charge of this institution in August, 1893, and makes his home there.

Ed. Note: This biography includes a photograph of James T. EDWARDS

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1053

Surnames: ELLSWORTH, JENKS, BUTCHER

Herbert J. ELLSWORTH, son of Stiles B. and Victoria (JENKS) ELLSWORTH, born in Conewango, June 23, 1865, received his education in Chamberlain Institute, and commenced business as a salesman in his father's store. A Democrat in politics he was elected town clerk of Conewango when he cast his first vote and was postmaster there in 1887, at the age of twenty-two. May 11, 1891, he bagan business in East Randolph in the sale of groceries and crockery. Jan. 10, 1888, he married Myrta, daughter of F. BUTCHER.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1053

Surnames: EWING, MORFORD, WILLIAMS

Samuel EWING was born in New Jersey in 1788. He served an apprenticeship at coach making and married Margaret MORFORD. He removed to Rochester as early as 1816 and later resided in Victor several years. About 1830 he came to Randolph and settled on the east line of the town where Joseph Macapes now lives. He was first an old line Whig and later a Democrat, and was an active politician. He was supervisor, assessor, highway commissioner, and town superintendent of schools and served two years as county superintendent of schools. He also served as justice of the peace and assessor in Ontario County. He practiced land surveying in Cattaraugus County. Mrs. EWING died in Jan., 1881, and Mr. EWING in Jan., 1885. His son Joel was born March 31, 1830, married a daughter of George WILLIAMS, and is also a land surveyor.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1053 & 1054

Surnames: FISHER, NUTTING

Simeon FISHER, born in Wardsboro, Vt. in 1793, came to Randolph in the fall of 1839 and engaged in the manufacture of chairs, being the first in that line in Randolph. He continued till his death in 1854. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church and several years a magistrate and town clerk. His oldest child, Lucy Celinda, born in 1817, married Orton NUTTING in 1839

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1054

Surnames: FOSKIT, CROSS

Davis B. FOSKIT, born in Madison county, N. Y., Feb. 22, 1808, removed with his parents to Homer, N. Y., and in the fall of 1827 came to Randolph, where he was a farmer and a lumberman. About 1834 he married Sally CROSS. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1054

Surnames: FOY, GOODSPEED

Dallas FOY, son of David, was born in Poland, N. Y., July 29, 1844. Educated in the common schools and Randolph Academy he was reared a farmer, and Aug. 21,1864, he enlisted in Co., G, 13th N. Y. H. A. Joining his regiment near Portsmouth, Va., he did garrison duty until the close of the war, and was discharged June 22, 1865. Feb. 15, 1882, he married Rose S., daughter of Ansell GOODSPEED, and settled on a farm in Randolph. They have a son and a daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1054

Surnames: FRENCH, SWEENEY, MERRILL

Horace H. FRENCH, son of Harrison and Almira (SWEENEY) FRENCH, was born in Russell, Pa., May 16, 1835. His father was bon in Hopkinton, N. H., and came to Chautauqua, N. Y. His mother was born in Massachusetts. He began business as a merchant and lumberman in East Randolph and engaged in the latter occupation at Cold Spring in 1859. He enlisted in Co. F, 64th N. Y. Vols., Aug. 20, 1861, and was promoted sergeant. He was disabled by illness and served as a recruiting officer with headquarters at his home in East Randolph. He participated in the battle of Chancellorsville, where a shell bruised his shoulder. At Gettysburg he lost his right arm by a wound from a mini-ball, which caused its amputation, and was in the hospital about eight months, being discharged Jan. 28, 1864. He was orderly-sergeant when he was wounded and after his discharge was commissioned (brevet) second lieutenant by Gov. R. E. Fenton. Upon his return in February he was elected collector and constable of Randolph and has served six years as deputy sheriff of Cattaraugus county. He has been an extensive operator in oil. March 28, 1860, he married Mary S., daughter of Archibald C. MERRILL, of East Randolph. They had an only daughter, Mabel V., who died March 9, 1882.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1054

Surnames: GILES, JENKS, EDWARDS, GATES, INGRAHAM

Ephraim F. GILES was born in Pawlet, Vt., May 18, 1813. He married Maria JENKS, of Schroon, Essex county, N. Y., Jan. 1, 1843. March 27, 1843, he came to Randolph and was "the village blacksmith" thirty-one years. Since then he has not pursued any regular avocation. Mr. GILES has a remarkably retentive memory and is especially prominent for originality and eccentricity. He is an independent thinker. During his forty-eight years' residence here, he has visited Jamestown only twice, East Randolph, one and a half miles away, but four times, has never been in Steamburgh, has never seen the Allegheny river, and has never rode on any of the railroads in Cattaraugus County. In his younger days he had the reputation of being a first-class wag, and was never known to be outdone in stories of the Baron Munchausen kind. He has been the author of half a dozen such books that have never been printed. On one of his four visits to East Randolph he purchased a broom of E. McManus, agreeing to pay for it the next time he came to his store. He did not visit that village for years and not until Mr. McManus had left it. Now at nearly four-score years he is an oracle on the events which have transpired in Randolph since he came here. His mind is clear and his health is good. Mrs. GILES died Dec. 8, 1859. Children: Lydia M. (Mrs. C. S. EDWARDS), of Syracuse; James M.; Delia, widow of Adelbert GATES, who died of disabilities incurred in the Civil War; Agnes (Mrs. W. F. INGRAHAM), of Jamestown; and Walter F., a popular salesman in Randolph

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1055

Surnames: GOODSPEED, CRAWFORD, RICE, WAIT

Ansell GOODSPEED was born in Warsaw, N. Y., April 9, 1828. His father, Oliver GOODSPEED, was a farmer. At nineteen years of age Ansell was an apprentice to the trade of tanner and currier. In 1851 he married Phebe CRAWFORD, of Java, N. Y., who was the mother of a son and a daughter. In 1856 he removed to Napoli, where he was a farmer three years. He then removed to East Randolph and resumed his trade as a currier. In 1878 he bought a small farm in Randolph (Mud Creek District), where he has since been a farmer. He served Napoli as assessor. Mrs. GOODSPEED died March 24, 1880. Oct. 30, 1883, he married Mrs. Cordelia (RICE) WAIT.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1055

Surnames: GORSLINE, SEELEY, HALLENBACK, DAWSON

Gilbert O. GORSLINE, born in New Haven, Vt., in 1810, removed at the age of nine years to Salt Point (now Syracuse), N. Y., and resided with an older brother about a year, when the latter died. He was apprenticed to the trades of tanner and currier and shoemaker and in 1829 came to Randolph and purchased the Latham tannery (the first erected in town), where he carried on all his trades until about 1836. He was then a lumberman in Napoli (now Cold Spring) about three years and ran his lumber down the Allegheny and Ohio Rivers to Cincinnati. He started the first raft from the bridge over the Little Conewango at Randolph village. In 1839, he became a farmer in the Cook neighborhood in Randolph. He subsequently sold that and settled on the farm his son Wallace now occupies. Mr. GORSLINE has been highway commissioner, assessor, school commissioner, and constable. Feb. 1, 1829, he married Adaline R., daughter of William SEELEY, of Batavia, N. Y. Children: William Wallace, born Feb. 18, 1836; and Gilbert O., Jr., born July 3, 1839. Colonel McCunn, was drill-sergeant of the post at Elmira, went to the front with the 35th N. Y. Inf., and after the first battle of Bull Run was on the staff of General Wadsworth as bugle major. He was transferred to the staff of General Patrick and also served on the staffs of Generals Pope, McDowell, King, and Hooker, and was discharged at the close of the war. He is now a farmer. Sept. 6, 1868, he married Marguerette HALLENBACK, who was the mother of all his children – three sons and one daughter. She died May 6, 1883. May 4, 1886, he married Mrs. Eva DAWSON, of Cattaraugus.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1055 & 1056

Surnames: HALL, PARMALEE, RATHBONE, CHAMBERLAIN

Philemon HALL, born in Guilford, Conn., about 1772, was a cook in the Revolutionary War. He married, in his native town, Mary PARMALEE and a year or two later removed with an ox-team and sled to Bloomfield, N. Y. and located on his father's claim of 150 acres given to him for service in the Revolutionary War. He was there a farmer and later a hotel keeper in Bloomfield village, where he was burned out. In 1820, he settled in the southwest corner of Napoli. In 1822, he built a saw-mill on the location now occupied by the grist-mill of Enoch Holdridge. About 1824, he built a grist-mill on the same dam and near the saw-mill. He brought the few irons from Bloomfield and the mill-stones were wrought from a pebble rock in Great Valley. Mr. HALL carried on quite a business. He died in 1857 and was succeeded by his sons, Joel, Horace, Amos, and Erastus, of whom only Erastus, an octogenarian, is living. He was born in Bloomfield, N. Y., May 24, 1809 and is a natural mechanic. As a millwright he has built numerous mills in western New York and in Canada. He invented and patented a shingle-mill, and is now the senior member of the firm of E. HALL & Co.. In sept., 1827, he married Emeline RATHBONE, who has been his helpful companion sixty-four years. Children: Lyman, Milo, Henry, Philander (a soldier in the Civil War), and Mary (deceased, who married Jefferson, a nephew of Judge CHAMBERLAIN.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1056

Surnames: HALL, JONES, HOLDRIDGE

Amos A. HALL, son of Horace and grandson of Philemon HALL, was born in Napoli, May 24, 1837, one of twelve children. Sept. 4, 1860, he married Frances JONES. In Aug., 1862, with three brothers, he enlisted in Co. E, 9th N. Y. Cav. Oct, 1, 1863, he received a severe wound from a mini-ball in his right knee joint and amputation of his leg was necessary. He was transferred to the general hospital at Central Park, where he remained until he was discharged Aug. 23, 1864. In 1865, Hon. Enoch HOLDRIDGE, postmaster of East Randolph, resigned in favor of Mr. HALL, who held the position until displaced by Grover Cleveland. During this service he became a jeweler and afterward conducted a jewelry store sixteen years. His wife and son Lewis C. succeeded him. He died April 4, 1888. Children: Fred A., of the firm of HALL & WATERS, harness makers in East Randolph, Lewis C., Cora L., George W., and Charles P. HALL Brothers (Lewis C. and George W.) are clothing dealers.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1056

Surnames: HAMMOND, BENNETT, HANSON

John HAMMOND, son of Jared and Hannah (BENNETT) HAMMOND, was born in Ridgebury, Pa., Nov. 17, 1832. His father, a native of Connecticut, was a farmer. His mother was born in Pennsylvania. John was raised a farmer and enlisted in Co. G, 171st Pa. Vols., in Oct., 1862. He joined his regiment at Suffolk, Va., and was discharged as corporal Aug. 8, 1863. In June, 1864, he settled permanently in Randolph, where he has since been a druggist, tinsmith, and manufacturer and dealer in the Willard & HAMMOND Champion milk-pan. Since discontinuing the latter business he has been engaged in producing oil in McKean County, Pa. May 5, 1880, he married Harriet HANSON of Gloversville, N. Y.; they have one son, Rex.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1056 & 1057

Surnames: HELMS, JEFFORDS

Albert HELMS, a native of Otsego County and the oldest of thirteen children, was born June 13, 1796. At the age of sixteen he was a soldier in the War of 1812 and was present at the battle of Sacket's Harbor. He married Asenath, sister of Freedom JEFFORDS. In 1826 he came from Rush, N. Y., to East Randolph, where he resided until his death Feb. 28, 1889. When he settled here he purchased a tract of wild land and at once began to convert the pine trees into lumber. He was also for years a merchant and a manufacturer of potash and pearlash. Late in life he was a farmer. Mr. HELMS had three children by each of his three wives: Mortimer A., Emily A., Romina L., Asenath M., Eunice R., Mary A., Adelbert H., Cordelia, and Gaylord. Adelbert H. HELMS was born in East Randolph, where he now lives, Nov. 22, 1842. In 1864, he enlisted in Co. G, 9th N. Y. Cav., and served to the close of the war. He is a carriage and ornamental painter, grainer, and sign writer. Recently he has done some fine landscape painting. He is a trustee of the village, to which position he was elected in 1888, and is the secretary of the Board of Water Commissioners. May 1, 1865, he married Eliza J., daughter of Chauncey C. HELMS. They have one son, Clair A., born July 6, 1877.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1057

Surnames: HINES, WHEELER, TERRY

T. Frank HINES, born in Evans, N. Y., Dec 3, 1844, early learned the tinsmith's trade, and served in the Union Army three months. He followed his trade as a journeyman eighteen years. In 1880, he opened a general hardware store in East Randolph, which he continued a year and a half, when he sold and came to Randolph. In 1885, he bought the tin shop of his employer, George Mason, and a year later purchased the general hardware store of B. G. Casler, which he conducted alone until Sept., 1888. He then formed a partnership with C. W. TERRY under the firm name of TERRY & HINES. In May, 1890, he purchased the interest of Mr. TERRY. In Feb., 1874, he married Ida WHEELER, and had three children. Mrs. HINES died Sept. 25, 1887.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1057

Surname: HELMS

Chauncey C. HELMS and his brother, Christopher C. HELMS, came from Monroe County, N. Y., to East Randolph and built a saw-mill and grist-mill. They contracted for several hundred acres of wild land and also had a pearl and pot ashery in operation before 1830. Christopher C. died in 1830 and Chauncy C. conducted the business alone. In 1832, he built another dam farther down and put a double saw-mill. He was a leading merchant and was supervisor of Randolph in 1834 and 1835. He died in Nov., 1866. Byron and Christopher C. HELMS, sons of Christopher C., early became lumbermen and Byron was a competent river pilot. Later they were manufacturers and dealers in lumber and were partners in lumbering and farming, which they conducted twenty-two years. Byron HELMS is now proprietor of the Commercial House. Christopher C. is a farmer, liveryman, and owns the Brooklyn House.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1057

Surnames: HOBART, DOUD, STANLEY, MIGHELLS

The HOBART family in America is of English origin and descended from Edmund HOBART, who landed at Charlestown, Mass., in 1633. Abel Bradford HOBART, of the eighth generation from England, and a son of William, was born in Potter, N. Y., Feb. 6, 1798. He married in East Bloomfield, Feb. 6, 1822, Marana, daughter of Thaddeus and Elizabeth (DOUD) STANLEY. She was born in Goshen, Conn., July2, 1796, and died in Randolph, May 3, 1872. Soon after his marriage he removed to Phelps, N. Y., where he carried on the business of tanning leather about five years. He moved thence to Napoli, where he resided twenty years. He lived in Carroll, N. Y. three years and in Randolph Twenty-two years. Here he was a deacon of the Congregational Church fifteen years, when he resigned. For many years he was employed as colporteur in the distribution of Bibles. He died at Le Roy, N. Y., while on a visit, Sept 6, 1871. Children: Homer Harrowby, Elizabeth H. (widow of Florentine F. MIGHELLS), Harlton S., Ellen E., Helen Wooster, Huldah M., Harlo D. S., and Howland Bancroft.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1057 & 1058

Surnames: HOLDRIDGE, ROBINSON, MAYBEE, WOODWORTH

Hon. Enoch HOLDRIDGE, eldest son of Rev. PRICE and Lydia (ROBINSON) HOLDRIDGE, was born in Nelson, N. Y., Aug. 29, 1818. His father, a pioneer preacher of the Methodist Episcopal Church, settled in Napoli in 1832. He traveled hundreds of miles through forests, storms, and sunshine. Enoch came to East Randolph in 1838, and worked for Capt. Amos HALL one year at $12 per month, and continued with him about fifteen years, transacting a large amount of business along the Allegheny, Ohio, and Mississippi Rivers. He has been engaged on his own account in lumbering, farming, and merchandizing, and now owns with his son Ernest D. the "upper grist-mill" in East Randolph, located on the site of the first grist-mill of the place erected by Philemon HALL in 1824. Mr. HOLDRIDGE also has a half-interest in the Randolph Mills in East Randolph Village. He married Sarah, daughter of Jeremiah and Mary MAYBEE. She is the mother of his three children: Josie, born Feb. 22, 1846, wife of Rev. W. W. WOODWORTH; Gertrude, born April 26, 1849, died Dec. 27, 1852; and Ernest D., born May 20, 1856. The latter was educated in Chamberlain Institute, engaged in teaching, and began the study of law, but was obliged to abandon it on account of ill-health. Enoch HOLDRIDGE was first a Whig and joined the Republican Party at its organization. He has received many political honors. He has served the town of Conewango as justice of the peace twenty-one years, supervisor eight years, and in 1872 was member of Assembly. In 1861 he was appointed postmaster of East Randolph, and voluntarily resigned in 1865 in favor of the veteran soldier, A. A. Hall, who lost a leg in battle. He has served as a trustee of Randolph Academy and at the organization of Chamberlain Institute was elected trustee, which position he still holds. He has been an efficient, honorable, and upright man and officer.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1058

Surnames: HUBBARD, THURSTON, McCULLOUGH

George HUBBARD, son of William C. and grandson of Dr. H. H. HUBBARD, of Springville, N. Y., was born in Randolph, May 6, 1854. His mother was Adaliza, daughter of Daniel THURSTON, one of the pioneers of Randolph. Nov 5, 1879, he married Isabel L., daughter of Orris McCULLOUGH, of Evans, N. Y., and settled on a farm. He also manufactures and deals in lumber and wood.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1058

Surnames: HUBBELL, HUXLEY, MERCHANT

Spencer E. HUBBELL, son of Eli and Mary (HUXLEY) HUBBELL, was born on the HUBBELL homestead Nov. 7, 1844. His father was a pioneer of Conewango. In the spring of 1863, he removed with his parents to Randolph and was a student in Chamberlain Institute until he was graduated in 1867. He began business as a merchant in Randolph Village, but abandoned it about 1870 on account of failing health. In 1867 he married Maryette E., daughter of Abel MERCHANT, one of the first pioneers of Napoli. When he left his store in Randolph, he purchased the MERCHANT homestead of his father-in-law, and added to it fifty-five acres, making a farm of 220 acres, which he still owns. He removed to it and remained there until Dec., 1888, when he purchased a stock of general merchandise of Adams & Co. in East Randolph, where he is now a merchant. Mr. HUBBELL was secretary and treasurer of the Axeville cheese factory six years and treasurer and salesman of Spring Valley Factory six years. He served Napoli as supervisor in 1887 and 1888, and held several minor town offices. In politics he is a staunch Republican. He is a member of the M. E. Church, superintendent of the Sunday School at Napoli, and is now a steward and trustee of the Church of East Randolph.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1058

Surnames: HUGHES, HINDMAN, DAVIS

William B. HUGHES, son of Isaac B. and Sarah (HINDMAN) HUGHES, was born in Jefferson County, Pa., Dec. 11, 1847. His father was a farmer. He learned harness making, and manufactured and dealt in harnesses, horse furnishing goods, etc., until the fall of 1890. He enlisted in the Union Army in 1864 and was discharged at the close of his term of enlistment. He has always been a Republican and an active worker in that party. He was prominent in East Randolph, where he resided twenty years, and was elected one of the Board of Trustees, when the village was incorporated. In the Republican County convention held in Sept., 1891, he was the nominee for sheriff and was elected by a majority of 1,450 votes. Feb. 22, 1872, he married Sarah DAVIS, of Mansfield, daughter of Robert DAVIS.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1058

Surname: HURD, PARSONS

Jonathan C. HURD, born in Bridport, Vt., March 24, 1824, received a good English education, and began business as a clerk in a general store. In 1845, he came to East Randolph, where he has since resided. He purchased a tract of pine timbered land and engaged in lumbering four years. In 1847, he was elected constable, which kept him employed until 1853. In 1853, he opened the first drug store in East Randolph with his brother-in-law, Dr. A. B. PARSONS, and has been a druggist most of the time since. Mr. HURD was originally an old line Whig and joined the Republican party at its organization. He was deputy sheriff eight years. From 1870 till 1877, he was in the dry goods trade in East Randolph, and thence removed the business to Sawyer City, Pa., where he still continues a general store. He has also bought largely of farmers' live stock, and produce. In 1871, he was one of the organizers of the State Bank of Randolph, and has been most of the time one of its directors. He is a member of the Congregational Church of his village.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1059

Surnames: INGERSOLL, SMITH, CHRISTIE

Hon. Erastus S. INGERSOLL, son of Peter and Lois M. (SMITH) INGERSOLL, was born in Ellington, N. Y., on the 24th of April, 1837. He obtained his education in the common schools and in Ellington Academy and taught district schools from 1856 till 1860. He began merchandizing at Cattaraugus in 1860 and continued until 1865; since then he has been a merchant in Randolph, and since 1880 has had a branch store at Kennedy, N. Y. He has always been a Republican and has several times represented his district as a delegate at State conventions. He has served seven years as supervisor of Randolph, was trustee of the Chamberlain Institute twenty years and three years president of it Board of Trustees, and chairman of a committee to erect a building in place of the one burned in 1872. He was the chairman of a committee to erect the buildings for the Western New York Home and has since been one of its trustees; he has been several times president and trustee of the village of Randolph. Mr. INGERSOLL was elected to the Assembly of the State Legislature in 1886 and served on the Committees on Claims, Indian Affairs, and Joint Library. He was re-nominated for the position by acclamation and elected by a plurality of 756 votes. He was placed on the Committee of Ways and Means, was chairman of the Committee of Roads and Bridges, and a member of the Committees on Public Health and Joint Library. Aug. 22, 1860, he married Lizzie J., daughter of N. CHRISTIE, Esq., of Cattaraugus. Children: N. Christie, born May 9, 1868, and Ralph E., born July 19, 1877.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1059

Surnames: JEFFERDS, HELMS, BENTLEY, ARNOLD, KIRKPATRICK, PACKARD, FOY

Liberty JEFFERDS, son of Matthew and Salla (HELMS) JEFFERDS, was born in Rush, N. Y., April 18, 1813. His father died in 1819 and his mother removed to East Randolph during his boyhood. He married, first, a daughter of Robert HELMS, who was the mother of his son Lucian, a lumberman in Sheffield, Pa. His second wife was a daughter of Eldred BENTLEY, of Chautauqua County. Mr. JEFFERDS settled in East Randolph and was there engaged many years in manufacturing and dealing in pine lumber and hand-made pine shingles, which he rafted down the Allegheny and Ohio rivers. Later he was a farmer and lumberman in Randolph and Cold Spring about twenty years. He now resides with his son, Lyman JEFFERDS, in Tyrone, Pa. Mrs. JEFFERDS died Nov. 30, 1887. Children: Cordelia (Mrs. Joseph ARNOLD); Freedom L., born in Randolph, Dec. 23, 1838; Marcus, of Pennsylvania; Delilah (Mrs. Charles KIRKPATRICK); Lyman; and Lydia (Mrs. Marion PICKARD). Freedom L. JEFFERDS was raised a farmer and lumberman. Sept. 13, 1863, he married Clarinda, daughter of Samuel FOY, an early settler of Napoli. Mr. JEFFERDS now owns and conducts the JEFFERDS steam mills near the east line of this town, where he manufactures annually from two to three million feet of lumber. He also conducts a farm of fifty acres.

Freedom JEFFERDS was a native of Monroe County, N. Y., and one of a large family of children. His father was a prominent man in that county, being familiarly known as Judge JEFFERDS. Freedom JEFFERDS, one of the younger sons, married, in 1848, Lurancy D. WILLARD, of Attica. N. Y., and soon after settled in East Randolph, where Mr. JEFFERDS was engaged in the mercantile business in company with Horace H. HOLT, the firm name being HOLT & JEFFERDS. In 1848, having been in partnership with Mr. HOLT since 1840, Mr. JEFFERDS sold his interest in the store to Merrick NUTTING and soon moved onto a tract of timber land in Cold Spring, where the village of Steamburgh now stands. Large mills were at once erected. Lumbering was followed as a business for a number of years and the land upon which he had settled in a few years developed into a splendid farm, where he resided until his death. Mr. JEFFERDS followed this line more or less during the remainder of his life, farming being looked upon by him as an unremunerative "side issue". The lumber, as fast as sawed, was drawn to the Allegheny river and there rafted and run to Cincinnati for market. Freedom JEFFERDS was one of the most prominent men in the town of Cold Spring and well known throughout the county; he was an ardent Democrat and never neglected an opportunity to further the interests of his party, though he was in no sense a politician; he was active in educational interests; measures for the material improvement of the town always met with his hearty approval, and if financial aid was needed in the furtherance of any project his name was always found at the top of the subscription list. He gave lands upon which to build a hotel and stores in Steamburgh and subscribed liberally toward the erection of suitable buildings. He was one of the original stockholders in the Randolph Academy and Female Seminary, and freely gave a right of way across his farm to the Atlantic & Great Western Railroad Company and materially aided that corporation in the building of their line. J. C. Calhoun, the auditor of the Railroad Company, was a close friend of Mr. JEFFORDS and a frequent guest at his home. During the war he was an enthusiastic supporter of the Union cause and was largely instrumental in causing resolutions to be passed authorizing money to be raised for volunteers and to provide means for the support of their families; the action of the town authorized bounties of from $150 to $600 per man. Mr. JEFFERDS represented the town of Cold Spring on the Board of Supervisors in 1856, 1857, 1860, and 1863. He was a charter member of the Conewango Lodge, No. 340, I. O. O. F., instituted at east Randolph in 1850. In the latter years of his life he was agent for the Devereux Land Company and disposed of large quantities of land held by that company in Cold Spring and surrounding towns. He was a man of many friends, of imperturbable good nature, and a practical joke was one of his chief enjoyments. His old-time friends, to this day, relate many a lively story of his pranks and side-splitting escapades. He was charitable to a fault and many a poor family has cause to bless the liberal heart and hand of Freedom JEFFERDS. He was not a church member, though he contributed liberally to the church, and was never known to use an oath. He succeeded in obtaining a competency and had about concluded to retire from actual business, but while yet full of plans for the future welfare of his family, and the consideration for his own comfort, he was stricken with an incurable disease, and, suffering much pain, he passed away in the prime of his manhood, leaving a widow and four children surviving him.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1060

Surnames: JEFFERDS, WILLARD, HARDING

Owel M. JEFFERDS, son of Freedom and Lurancy D. (WILLARD) JEFFERDS, was born in Steamburgh, Feb. 20, 1854, received his education in Chamberlain Institute, and commenced business as a druggist in East Randolph, where he was engaged five years. He was teller of the State Bank of Randolph five years until Sept., 1887. He was railway postal clerk from Hornellsville to New York from Sept., 1888, until May 1, 1890, when he resigned to accept the position of editor of the "Courant" at Randolph. In Aug., 1877, he married Emma J. HARDING, of East Randolph; children: Lamont A. and Wynne I.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1060 & 1061

Surnames: JOHNSON, STONE, WILLOUGHBY

Marcus Hamilton JOHNSON, son of James G. and Sophia (STONE) JOHNSON and brother of Hon. James. G. JOHNSON, was born in Olean, Oct. 21, 1809, and is credited with being the first white male child born within the limits of the city of Olean. Through his long business career he was a merchant in Ellicottville and Randolph. He was supervisor of Randolph in 1847, and appointed treasurer of Cattaraugus Co. by the Board of Supervisors in 1841 and again in 1842, was elected to the Assembly in the fall of 1843 and reelected in 1847, and was appointed in 1855 United States Indian agent for the State of New York and held the office four years. Feb. 12, 1833, he married Sophronia WILLOUGHBY and has had one son, James G., an attorney in Randolph.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1061

Surnames: JOHNSON, RICH, WHEELER

Bela R. JOHNSON, son of Gile and Millie (RICH) JOHNSON, was born in Dayton, N. Y., Jan. 11, 1843, was educated in the common schools supplemented with a few terms in the academies, and in 1873 located in East Randolph and opened a general hardware store, which he still continues. He is a staunch Republican and has served Conewango as supervisor two terms, justice of the peace four years, and for over ten years has beena trustee of Champerlain Institute. He is a member of the M. E. Church, its recording secretary, trustee, and class-leader, and has served as superintendent of the Sunday school a long time. Dec. 30, 1868, he married Bettie WHEELER. They have two sons.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1061

Surnames: JONES, SEABURY, SHELDON, GREENE, CLAPP

Harvey L JONES, son of Abner P. and Lydia (SEABURY) JONES, was born in Poland, N. Y., Nov. 29, 1832. His father was a native of Vermont and a carpenter and joiner by trade. His mother was born in Rhode Island. Abner P. removed with his family to Cold Spring in 1835, where Harvey L. spent his youth attending the common schools and learning the blacksmith's trade. At the age of eighteen he became a pilot on the Allegheny and Ohio rivers, which business he continued for more than twenty-five years. He was also a mason. About 1846 he came to Randolph. In 1854 he was elected constable and continued in office until 1861. He was appointed deputy sheriff in 1857 and served about two years. At the first call for troops he enlisted in Co. B, 64th Regt. after the battle of Fredericksburg until he was discharged Jan. 11, 1863. He escaped with two slight wounds, one received at Fair Oaks, the other at Antietam. He served as constable, policeman, deputy sheriff under Sheriff Welch, and deputy U. S. Marshal. In Feb., 1859, he married Cordelia, daughter of Mason SHELDON, who was born in Clear Creek, Chautauqua County. Their children were Addie L. (Mrs. Horace L. GREENE), Genevieve S. (Mrs. Charles W. CLAPP), Howard H., Ida G., and one deceased.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1061

Surname: KEECH, CASE, NICKERSON, DIX, MAROLE

Nathan KEECH, a native of Otsego County, removed with his parents to Augusta, Oneida County, when he was seven years old, where he married Matilda CASE. He removed with his bride to Randolph about 1828 and first settled on what is now known as the NICKERSON farm. He was quite a dealer in real estate, and frequently sold his improvements. After about three years he returned to Augusta and remained there until 1861, when he returned and bought a farm on the south line of Conewango, now known as the DIX farm. He sold this to his son, Esau P. KEECH, and removed to an improved farm on the Jamestown road and finally to the place now owned by his son Esau P., in Randolph, where he died about 1874. He had ten children, six of whom attained maturity. Esau P. KEECH, born in Augusta, N. Y., in 1835, married Mary Emogene MAROLE in 1859. Previous to this he spent three years in gold mines in California. In 1861 he settled on a farm in Conewango and in 1863 became a farmer in Canada. Returning about 1868 to Conewango he settled in 1882 where he now lives. He has been an indomitable worker and has chopped hundreds of cords of fire-wood.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1062

Surname: LARKIN

Frederick LARKIN, M. D., son of Edmund, was born in Thompson, Conn., Feb. 12, 1814. His father was a skillful physician and surgeon in Thompson. The son was educated in the common schools and studied medicine with his father, but mechanical work being more congenial he abandoned the medical profession and learned the watchmaker's trade. He opened a jewelry store which he conducted about twenty-five years. He came from Chautauqua County to Randolph in 1841. Since coming to Randolph he has been an extensive dealer in real estate and quite a manufacturer and shipper of lumber. Fifteen buildings in the village erected directly or indirectly by him are standing witnesses of his industry and energy. He is a man of fine scientific attainments and a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He filled the chair of professor of physiology in the Randolph Eclectic Medical College, which was afterward merged into the New York Central Eclectic Medical College at Syracuse, which institution conferred upon him the honorary degree of M.D. The doctor is an able and eloquent lecturer on scientific subjects and possesses a special liking for physiology and archaeology. He wields an able and racy pen and has written numerous logical articles on science and several on religious questions. He is not considered "orthodox" by the clergy. He is versatile and lucid, and has a happy manner in communicating information to others.

Ed. Note: This biography includes a photograph of Frederick LARKIN

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1062

Surnames: LARKIN, HOVEY

Frederick LARKIN, Jr., was born in Randolph, Dec. 25, 1858. He attended the public schools and Chamberlain Institute and was an apprentice at the watchmaker's trade with his father. In 1879, he opened a jewelry store. As a memento of his handicraft he has made from the crude material a watch, constructing all its parts with such tools as are found in an ordinary jeweler's shop. June 2, 1887, he married Kittie M. HOVEY, of East Randolph.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1062 & 1063

Surnames: LEACH, WOODWORTH, SCUDDER

Enfield LEACH was born in Genessee County, Sept. 12, 1816. In 1822 he came with his parents to Randolph. In the fall of 1836 he taught school in the "red school house" near Joel SCUDDER's tavern and was next engaged in the Livingston county two and a half years. Since returning to Randolph he has led an active business life. He has been a merchant and an extensive dealer in lumber with partners and alone most of the time since the fall of 1839. In the fall of 1842, he married Mary A., daughter of Zebedee WOODWORTH.

John E. LEACH, son of Enfield and Mary A. (WOODWORTH) LEACH, was born in Randolph, Sept. 15, 1849, received his education at Randolph Academy, and commenced business as a clerk at the age of fifteen. He was superintendent of Indian schools for the Allegany and Cattaraugus reservations in 1883, 1884, and 1885. In the spring of 1886, he was appointed inspector of post offices, which position he held until the fall of 1889. In Dec., 1875, he received the appointment of kitchen keeper at Sing Sing prison from Capt. R. R. Crowley, inspector of State prisons, and served until Feb. 22, 1877. In the spring of 1868, he was special agent of the Erie canal with headquarters at Tonawanda, and served one year. He was early town clerk of Randolph several years. In Aug., 1890, he succeeded his father as a general merchant. April 26, 1870, he married Ida, daughter of Buel SCUDDER, of Randolph. Children: Charles B., born March 2, 1871 and John B., born June 14, 1881.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1063

Surnames: LEE, WALLACE

William LEE, of Scotch-Irish origin, and son of Col. Edward LEE of the British Army, was born in New Bliss, Ireland, in 1824. He came to America when quite young and began an extensive business as a railroad contractor, early developing great ability as a manager of laboring men. He so organized his men that none excelled him in pushing work to rapid completion. He was a bold contractor and after successfully completing several large railroad jobs he was appointed superintendent of construction of the Atlantic & Great Western railroad. He had resided in Sidney, Ohio, fifteen years and removed thence to Randolph in 1866. He owned a controlling interest in the town of Leetonia, which was named in his honor. Mr. Lee, during his residence of six years in Randolph, endeared himself to the people, and was distinguished for his great energy and force of character and for his social qualities and kind hospitality. He died Feb. 9, 1872. He married Anna WALLACE, in Perrysburg, Ohio, June 2, 1856. They have two sons and two daughters: Edward Wallace LEE, a prominent physician in Omaha, Neb.; James B. LEE, a member of the Ogalalla Cattle Company, who resides at Ross, Wyoming; Elva LEE, a student in Bryn-Mawr Female College; and Ellie LEE, who died in infancy. Mrs. LEE, having decided to make Randolph her future home, erected a palatial residence and is interested in all the improvements of the village.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1063

Surname: LYMAN, JOHNSON, WHITCOMB, FOSTER, HUNTINGTON

Deacon Alvin LYMAN, son of Jabez and Lois (JOHNSON) LYMAN, was born in Royalton, Vt., Oct. 20, 1809. Feb. 12, 1832, he married Eleanor, daughter of Amos and Lydia (WHITCOMB) HUNTINGTON, of Bethel. Vt., who was born Jan. 7, 1813, and settled on a farm in Bethel. In 1835, they removed to Napoli. About 1841, they settled in East Randolph, where Mr. LYMAN had built a good residence. In the fall of 1868, they removed to a farm within the limits of Randolph village now owned by their son, Capt. J. H. LYMAN, and now reside on Jamestown street. Mr. LYMAN was a millwright and farmer and followed both avocations. Both were members of the Freewill Baptist Church of East Randolph, of which he was a deacon twelve or thirteen years. He also served this town as justice of the peace and assessor and was a highway commissioner in Napoli. Four of their seven children died in childhood; those living are Joel H., Mary E., and Helen A. J. H. LYMAN, born in Randolph, May 11, 1845, enlisted in Aug., 1861, in the 9th N. Y. Cav., and served with the Army of the Potomac and with General Sheridan in the Shenandoah Valley. At the battle of Port Republic he was shot through his right leg by a musket ball. He was mustered out as quarter master-sergeant in Nov., 1864, and was then ordered to Florida to join his regiment. He was made adjutant-general on Gen. J. G. FOSTER's staff in Sept., 1866, and served in that capacity and commanded his company until 1870, and resigned as captain in 1871. Since then he has resided in Elmira, N. Y., and in Randolph.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1064

Surnames: MACAPES, DOW, TURNER

Major MACAPES was born about 1798 and came to Randolph about 1825, locating within the limits of the village on land now owned by A.G. DOW and his son Charles. He reared two sons and two daughters and died on the homestead in May, 1883. Mrs. MACAPES died in Feb. 1883. Their oldest child, Emily, the wife of James TURNER, is the only one of the family who resides in Randolph.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1064

Surnames: MARSH, KING, SHELDON

Harry MARSH, a native of Oblong, Conn., born May 29, 1787, removed with his parents to Bristol, NY in his childhood. He served in the War of 1812, and married, July 13, 1814, Louisa KING. They settled in Randolph in 1829 on Sample hill. About 1859 he retired to Randolph village where he died July 26, 1875. Mrs. MARSH survived until Jan. 14, 1887. Mr. MARSH was a deason of the Congregational church from its organization until old age, and being a strong advocate of temperance he raised the first frame building in town without the used of intoxicating liquor. Of his eleven children ten grew to maturity and seven are still living. The youngest son, Albert MARSH, was born in Randolph, Feb. 15, 1831, and followed farming until Aug. 1861, when he enlisted in Co. B. 64th NY Vols. and served until May 12, 1864, when, at the battle of the Wilderness, after capturing the flag of the 44th Va. Regt., he received a wound in his back and a severe shell-wound in his right leg, which made amputation necessary at the thigh. For this he was promoted second lieutenant. He has been collector a number of years and postmaster about three years. He and his sister, Delia A. MARSH, have a home in Randolph village. Lieutenant MARSH was voted the best soldier of his company and received the prize of $100 therefor as pledged by Alexander SHELDON.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1064

Surnames: MARSH, WADSWORTH

George MARSH, oldest son of Deacon Harry, was born in East Bloomfield, NY July 30, 1817. In Jan., 1829 he came to Randolph with his parents. At the age of 22 he began business as a lumberman in Cold Spring (now Elko). He was a lumberman for thirty years and in 1862 added a feed-mill to his saw-mill. In 1870 he removed to Kansas, where he was engaged in farming seven years. Since then he has resided in Randolph. He was first an Abolitionist and at one election he cast the only vote of his party in town. He has been a Republican since the organization of that party. Aug. 25, 1840, he married Almira WADSWORTH, or Cortland, NY. They have had eleven children. Their oldest son, Duane W., enlisted in Co. A, 154th N. Y. Vols., July 24, 1862, was taken prisoner at the battle of Gettysburg, July 2, 1863, confined on Belle Island, transferred to the rebel hospital on account of illness, and was paroled and sent to the Union hospital at Annapolis, where he died Aug. 23, 1863. George, their youngest son, resides in Randolph.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1064 & 1065

Surnames: MARSH, SCUDDER, BUSH, COY

Hollis MARSH, son of Hollis and Polly (SCUDDER) MARSH, was born in Kiantone, NY Aug. 30, 1837. This branch of the MARSH family is of Welsh origin and is descended from three brothers, one of whom settled in Maine, one in NH, and the other, the great-grandfather of Hollis, second, in Vermont. His grandfather, Joseph MARSH, came from Vermont and settled at the "forks", the confluence of the Little Conewango with Conewango creek, about 1830. He was a farmer. Some time in the forties he removed to Michigan, where he died. His son Hollis married Polly SCUDDER, taught school, and later engaged in merchandizsing in Randolph in company with A. G. BUSH. He died of pneumonia in May 1837. Hollis MARSH, his son, born after his father’s death, was reared a farmer, and in Oct., 1861 enlisted in Co. E, 9th N. Y. Cav. At Washington he was ill with pneumonia, was sent to the hospital, and was discharged an invalid. Dec. 15, 1858, he married Ellen M. COY of Randolph. The last ten years he has been secretary and superintendent of Randolph Cemetery. They have a son and a daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1065

Surname: MARSH

Otis MARSH, son of Hiram H., was born in Sinclairville, NY Nov. 25, 1838. His father, a miller, went to California by the overland route at the time of the gold excitement and died there. Otis enlisted in Co. C, 9th NY Cav., in Sept. 1861, and served to the close of the war, re-enlisting as a veteran in the same company and regiment. He has three children.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1065

Surnames: McINTYRE, SMITH, HUNTLEY, TUBBS, PIKE

Aaron D. McINTYRE was born in Villenova, July 10, 1836. His mother, Sophronia SMITH, who married Justin McINTYRE, is yet living, and her mother, now 96, is a pensioner of the War of 1812. Aaron D. learned the tanner’s trade at Silver Creek and settled in East Randolph about 1865, where he was employed in the tannery. In 1874 he came to Randolph village, where he still resides, and where he is now a beekeeper. Sept. 4, 1862, he married Addie PIKE: children; Ida S. (Mrs. Jacob HUNTLEY), George, and Nellie O (Mrs. Charles TUBBS). Mrs. McINTYRE died Nov. 8, 1888.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1065

Surnames: McMANUS, HOPKINS, MAIN, PINGREY

Edwin McMANUS was born in Hanove,r NY, March 29, 1825. His father, Joseph McMANUS was a farmer. His grandfather, Christopher McMANUS, served in the war for our independence and his father served in the War of 1812. His ancestors were of Scotch-Irish descent. Edwin McMANUS was a school teacher for two years and then entered the general store of George HOPKINS of Villenova, as a clerk. Two years later he was sent by Mr. HOPKINS to Cherry Creek to take charge of a branch store, which he conducted about two years. In 1865, in company with his brother-in-law, Sidney U. MAIN, of Batavia, he came to Randolph from East Randolph and opened a drug store. In 1880 Mr. MAIN retired form the firm and was succeeded by Edwin P. McMANUS, the firm name being E. McMANUS & Son. This ceased in 1882 by the death of the junior member. Since then Mr. McManus has conducted the business alone. At the organization of the Episcopal church he was elected its treasurer and one of its wardens, which positions he has since held. He aided in establishing the present system of water works and was influential in erecting the Union School building. First and old line Whig he has been a Republican since the organizaiton of the party. He has served three consecutive terms as a justice of the peace and was the trial justice of the town. He married Sophoronia PINGREY; children: Edwin P. and Cora Belle.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1065 & 1066

Surnames: MERRILL, BENEDICT, HAZELTINE, GOODWIN, BENSON, De LAP, WASHBURN

Isaac MERRILL, born in Connecticut, April 14, 1879, came from Westmoreland, NY in 1821 and settled on lot 54 in Cold Spring, where he resided until approaching old age. He died Oct. 18, 1858. He married Rebecca BENEDICT Jan 31, 1804. She was born in connecticut, Mar. 11, 1781. Children: Isaac NEWTON, b. Sept. 3, 1807; Joseph M., b. June 9, 1809; Lucyette, b. June 15, 1811; Archibald Crosswell, b. Dec. 3, 1812; Albert Nelson, b. Dec. 15, 1814; James Henry, Aug. 22, 1817; and Burr Squires and Mary Squires (twins) b. Jan 25, 1819. Archibald Croswell MERRILL came to Cattaraugus Co. with his parents. At the age of 13 he was apprenticed to Daniel HAZELTINE, of Jamestown, to the clothier’s trade. He supplemented his common school educaiton with a few terms at Allegheny College in Pennsylvania. In 1837 he married Emily C. Goodwin, of Jamestown. In 1838 he came to E. Randolph and in 1841 removed to Concord, Ohio, and established business as a cloth-dresser and wool-carder. Eight years later he returned to E. Randolph, where he was a merchant, farmer, postmaster, and assessor many years. He was a member of the M.E. church from 1831 and all of the time officiated as class-leader. He was also a steward and atrustee, and for 25 years was a trustee of Chamberlain Institiute. He died in E. Randolph, July 19, 1885. His widow survives and resides with her son Marcus F. MERRILL. Children: Mary S., Marcus F., Lucyette (Mrs. Van M. BENSON, deceased); and Clara C. Marcus Fenton MERRILL was b. in E. Randolph, July 7, 1840, was educated in the common schools, and Randolph Academy, and enlisted in Co. E, 9th NY Cav., Oct. 7, 1861, being discharged Oct. 27, 1864. He was engaged with his father as a clothier until the spring of 1866, when he went to Chicago, where he was a dealer in flour and feed, and express messenger, and a carpenter and joiner. He married there, in 1868, Mrs. Mary M. (De LAP) WASHBURN. In 1870 he returned to Randolph, where, with his father, he was a furniture dealer and undertaker. He continues as the successor of the firm and is now postmaster of E. Randolph. He is a prominent member of the M.E. church, a trustee, steward and class-leader. As a soldier he was commissary of his company.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1066

Surnames: MIGHELLS, DOPKINS, BURLEY, HOBART, HOWE, MORSE, ABBEY, DEWEY

Florentine F MIGHELLS, a descendant from a Norwegian family was born in Lima, N. Y. in 1806. He married, at Lancaster, Nov. 3, 1830, Sophronia D. DOPKINS, who was born at Hoosick, NY Oct 5, 1809. Soon afterward he settled in Burford, Canada West, where five of his children were born, and where he was proprietor of a flouring-mill and saw-mill. Between 1838 and 1840 he removed to Ellery, NY where he was a farmer until about 1845, when he located in Randolph village and engaged in general merchandise trade. He also owned a tract of timber land comprising the whole of lot 35 and a part of lot 36, containing 525 acres, and built the first saw-mill in "Bowenville" the one now owned by Charles W. BURLEY. He spent over four years in California and when he returned he settled on this property where his widow and youngest son now reside, and where he conducted quite a large lumber business. He was a member of the M.E. church and one of its stewards. Mrs. MEGHELLS died in Randolph, March 6, 1851, being the mother of 10 children. Dec. 28, 1859 he married Mrs. Elizabeth H. (HOBART) HOWE, who survives him; children: Sophronia (Mrs. MORSE, Ellen (Mrs. ABBEY), Eldora (Mrs. Nelson DEWEY) and Elliot C.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1066

Surnames: MIGHELLS, WATERS

Florentine C. MIGHELLS, son of Florentine F. was born in Ellery, NY, Jan 1, 1842. He early became a lumberman and farmer. He enlisted in the 64th NY Vols, Aug. 17, 1861, and at the battle of Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862, he received a gun-shot wound in his right ankle. He was in the hospital from Sept. 17, 1862, until April 21, 1863. Nov. 15, 1865, he married Rhoda A. WATERS, of Conewango, and settled on 100 acres given him by his father.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1066

Surnames: MOORE, HOTCHKISS, HENNINGER

Wesley MOORE, son of Frederick, was born in Kiantone, Chautauqua county in 1837, and removed with his father to South Valley at the age of seven where he resided until 1867. In the fall of 1866 he married Abigail HOTCHKISS, of South Valley, and the next spring removed to his present location and began the manufacture of lumber, becoming possessor of the entire property in 1873. He is engaged in manufacturing butter and breeding Jersey cows. Mr. MOORE resides in Jamestown and has resigned his farm affairs to his only son, Eugene, who married Sylvia HENNINGER.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1066

Surnames: MOORE, ARMSTRONG, PIPER

Patrick L. MOORE was born in Jamestown N. Y. in 1853. In 1868 he was an apprentice at the blacksmith’s trade with Andrew ARMSTRONG in Randolph. About 1875 he opened a shop for himself in Randolph and a few years later added a wagon shop, being now in partnership with Henry PIPER. Mr. MOORE has been an extensive trader and dealer in horses and early studied their physiology. In 1887 he took a course in the Veterinary College of New York city.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1067

Surnames: MORTON, MONROE

Louis L. MORTON, son of Stutley, was born in Poland, N. Y. Aug 7, 1842, and Dec. 5, 1861, enlisted in Co. B, 12th NY Vols. He was disabled by rheumatism and discharged Jan. 2, 1863. Feb. 8, 1869, he married Adda M. MONROE and in 1873 settled where he now resides in E. Randolph, where he manufactures shingles, staves, etc. Children: Robert L. and Harry J.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1067

Surnames: MYERS, CHAFFEE, CARTER

Chauncey MYERS, son of Frederick, was born in Smithfield, N. Y. Jan 6, 1814. His grandfather, a native of Germany, emigrated to New Jersey, where the father of Chauncey was born. In 1842 Chauncey MYERS settled in Connewango and was there a farmer and lumberman about 25 years. He served 4 years as poormaster, and was first a Democrat, then a Free Soil Democrat, and a Republican when that party was organized. About 1867 he removed to Randolph, where he also engaged in farming. About 1873 he sold his farm to his son and retired from active business. In 1838 he married Melissa CHAFFEE, of Smithfield, who was born on an adjoining farm in the same month and year and attended the same school. They had five children of whom William C. is the only one who lived to adult age. Mrs. MYERS died Jan. 8, 1883. William C. MYERS was born in Conewango, Aug. 2, 1845, and finished his education at Randolph Academy. He began business as a farmer and continued that avocation until 1889, when he became a furniture dealer and undertaker. In Nov., 1889, he took a full course in the United States College of Embalming of New York city, from which he was graduated. Sept. 20, 1870, he married Mary E., daughter of L.H. CARTER, of Randolph and has three sons and two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1067

Surnames: OSTROM, FARNHAM, SEARLE, NUTTING, HURD, LONG

Isaac L. OSTROM, born in Saratoga, N. Y., Sept. 15, 1794, early learned the carpenter’s trade, and at the age of 21 went to Forestville, Chautauqua Co. where he married Dorcas FARNHAM, Dec. 13, 1821. She was born in New Hampshire, Oct. 30, 1799. In 1839 they removed to Villenova and about 1848 settled in E. Randolph, where he died Nov. 4, 1870. Mrs. OSTROM died. Feb. 23, 1864. Mr. OSTROM was a competent mechanic and jobber and builder. Many buildings now standing in the locations where he resided are examples of his skill and industry. He was one of the charter members of Elm Creek Lodge, F. & A. M., now Randolph Lodge, No 359. He was a member of the M.E. church and served as class-leader and steward. Children: Irvin F., born Dec. 21, 1822, died in California; Jane, born Sept. 3, 1824 (Mrs. T. H. SEARLE) of Villenova, NY; William, born Oct. 15, 1826, died in California; Aurelia, born April 17, 1830, widow of Solomon D. NUTTING; Thomas L., born Feb. 1, 1837; and Rush H., born Aug. 1, 1839, served in the 37th NY Vols and was discharged for disability. Thomas L. OSTROM was educated in Chamberlain Institute, began business as a clerk at the age of 18 with J. C. HURD, enlisted in Co. D, 14th N. Y. Inf., May 17, 1861, was promoted second lieutenant, and was discharged May 22, 1863, at Utica. In 1875 he and his nephew, W. E. SEARLE, organized the firm of OSTROM and SEARLE in E. Randolph, for the sale of general merchandise, which continued until 1887. May 7, 1861, he married Helen M., daughter of Dr. Aaron LOONG of Long’s Corners, now Corfu, NY. They have an only daughter, Bertha, born in May, 1863.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1067 & 1068

Surnames: PALMER, RHODES, SAMPLE, MERRITT, HOWE

The PALMER family in America is descended from Walter and Abraham PALMER, brothers, who landed in Charlestown, Mass in 1629. Warren PALMER is the 7th generation and is descended from Walter. He was born in Columbus, Chenango county, Aug 26, 1806. He married Eliza RHODES, a native of Rhode Island, Sept. 27, 1827, and followed the trade of mason in his native town until 1841, when he was a farmer in Gerry, N. Y. Three or four years later he was a merchant in Ellington. In 1849 he settled permanently in the west part of Randolph on the farm where his son, Guernsey PALMER, now resides. He was a prominent business man and quite an extensive dealer in wool. He died in Jan 1886. Children: William, born in 1828; Polly, born in 1833, married Freeman E. SAMPLE in 1853; Charles, born in 1835; Emily, born in 1837, married D.L. MERRITT; Maria, born 1841, married A. D. SAMPLE; and Guernsey, born Jan 5, 1844. The latter attended the academies at Ellington and Randolph, and Oct. 17, 1876, married Etta J. daughter of R. S. HOWE, a native of Gowanda. They settled on the homestead, where he has always been a farmer. Children: Ray H. and Ralph H.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1068

Surnames: PIERCE, CROWLEY, GREENE, WOODRUFF, JONES, MAY, PINGREY, CHAMPLIN

Zebediah PIERCE, born in Brattleboro, Vt, Nov. 3, 1795, came in Nov. 1835 to Randolph, and in 1836 settled in the village on Jamestown street, where his son John C. now resides. He was a carpenter and joiner and his first job was in assisting in finishing the joiner work of the old Scudder House, which is still occupied and is known as the Union House. He built several other buildings still standing, including the homestead, which are monuments of his handicraft. He died March 3, 1849. He was a member of the Congregational church and one of its deacons. He married, in Mt. Holly, Martha CROWLEY, Dec. 4, 1823, who was born July 1, 1804. Mrs. PIERCE survived until Aug. 9, 1853. She was an exemplary Christian lady and their house was always open to the clergymen of all denominations. Children: Sally P. (Mrs. C. S. GREENE), of Portsmouth, OH; Mary Roxana (Mrs. Austin WOODRUFF), of Randolph, died in 1856; John CROWLEY, born in Mt. Holly, Vt, June 1, 1829; Addison, born in 1834, married Oct. 2, 1856, Lucetta JONES and died May 16, 1890; and W. Duane, born in 1839, married Mary MAY, and died July 8, 1889. John C. PIERCE married Marion A., daughter of Aaron PINGREY, June 16, 1857. She was born in Mt. Holly, March 16, 1835, and came to Randolph with her parents in Dec., 1840. He spent his youth in the employ of his uncles, A. & A. CROWLEY and A. CROWLEY & Co. In 1854 with Jerome CHAMPLIN, he bought the mercantile property of the CROWLEYs and together conducted a general store one year. Mr. PIERCE then purchased the interest of his partner and continued business 3 years longer, when his health failed and he has since dealt in cattle and cultivated his farm. He has been a Republican since the organization of the party. He was town clerk, constable, and collector a number of years, deputy sheriff, and assessor. He has an only daughter, Grace Adele, born June 7, 1858, a poet and writer of marked ability.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1068

Surnames: PIERCE, CHAMBERLAIN, ROBERTS

Eli B. PIERCE, born in Lyons, N. Y. Aug 30, 1822, married Nov. 18, 1856, Eliza A. CHAMBERLAIN, who was born July 25, 1832. She was the adopted daughter of Judge Benjamin CHAMBERLAIN, and was graduated from Phipps Union Female Seminary, of Albion, NY. Soon after his marriage Mr. PIERCE established himself in E. Randolph as a merchant tailor and later engaged in the grocery business. He died May 5, 1890. Children: Tibbets C., born Sept. 6, 1857, was graduated from the commercial department of Chamberlain Institute; and Lucy B., born Jan 16, 1864, was graduated from Chamberlain Institute, and married George W. ROBERTS.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1068

Surnames: PIPER, MOORE, WEEGAR

Henry G. PIPER ws born in Newfield, N. Y. in 1854. At the age of sixteen he began business on his own account and in the fall of 1874 came to Randolph, where he learned the trade of blacksmith, which has been his avocation. In 1886 he became a partner with P.L. MOORE under the firm name of MOORE & PIPER. Dec. 25, 1880, he married Miss H.E. WEEGAR. They have one daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1069

Surnames: PRICE, GROW, POPE, DELAND, POTTER, METCALF, SMITH, DRAYTON, CROSS, LANE, ABBEY

Meletiah H. PRICE, son of Meletiah and Hannah (GROW) PRICE was born in Cortland county, N. Y., Dec. 1, 1808. He settled with his father where Steamburgh now is about 1827, on a tract of pine land of some 250 acres, which included the entire village. They were lumbermen, and despairing of ever making a farm of the claim MH exchanged it for a farm partly cleared in Conewango now owned by A. POPE and R. DELAND. He removed to it about 1838 and his father died there about 1850. About 1856 he sold this farm and went to Wisconsin, but returned in the following fall, and eventually bought a farm on log 17 in Randolph, which he sold finally and removed to South Valley, where he died Feb. 12, 1879. He married Lucinda POTTER of Cold Spring, May 15, 1833, who was born in Connecticut, March 14, 1815. They had nine children. Their oldest son, Alfred B. PRICE, was born in Conewango, Oct. 7, 1838, and enlisted in the 64th NY Vols in April 1861, but the quota being filled he was rejected. In Aug. 1861, he enlisted in Co. C, 9th NY Cav. and at Westfield was attacked with typhoid fever, for which he was sent to the hospital and thence discharged. Aug. 2, 1862, he enlisted in Co. A, 154th NY Vols. and participated in all the battles of his regiment being discharged at Elmira, June 21, 1865. July 27, 1865 he married Ellen, daughter of Zalmon and Mary (METCALF) SMITH, of Napoli. Mr. PRICE has been a farmer and lumberman in Randolph. Children: Minnie (Mrs. Alfred DRAYTON), Verie (Mrs. A. B. CROSS), Nora (Mrs. T. S. LANE), and Zalmon. The latter married Lillie ABBEY, and is a farmer with his father.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1069

Surnames: RATHBONE, VAN BRUNT, SPIKING

James RATHBONE, son of Philander and Cynthia (VAN BRUNT) RATHBONE, was born in Albany, N. Y. Oct. 8, 1826. He moved with his parents to Abbott’s Corners, N. Y. where he remained until he attained his majority. He spent several years as a clerk and began business as a merchant with his father in Sinclairville, Chautauqua county. Later he was there associated with others. In 1875 he removed with his family to Randolph and for two years conducted business in Red House and Forestville. In 1877 he opened a grocery store in Randolph, which he continued until his death, Feb. 14, 1886. Feb. 5, 1856, he married Mary A. SPIKING, of Sinclairville. His son, William L. RATHBONE, succeeded his father in business.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1069

Surnames: RICH, YOUNG, MYRES, FENTON, SEARLES

Charles C. RICH, son of Zalmon and Julia A. (YOUNG) RICH, was born in Persia, July 18, 1851. His father was a farmer. Charles C. began business as a clerk in a general store in Cattaraugus. In 1872 he came to Randolph and opened a hardware store in company with his brother, H. Clarence RICH, the firm being styled RICH Brothers. This continued until Oct. 1880, when the business was divided, C. C. RICH taking the furniture part and H. C. RICH the hardware. Charles C. continued alone until his health failed. In 1883 he purchased the opera block and resumed trade. In 1884 his brother William H. became his partner which continued until Feb. 1890, when William H. sold his interest to William MYRES. Mr. RICH is a stockholder and a director of the Randolph State Bank. In June, 1874, he married Louise, daughter of John FENTON. She died in 1881. In Nov. 1883, he married Eugenia A. SEARLES. H. C. RICH was supervisor of Randolph in 1882.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1069 & 1070

Surnames: ROGERS, WILES, SAMPLE, FOSKIT

William ROGERS, born in Salem, NY, Feb. 20 1807, removed with his parents to Cortland county when he was 8 years old, and married, in Cincinnatus, N. Y. Sept. 11, 1830, Hannah WILES. He was a farmer there until 1836, when he removed to Randolph, rented a farm four years, and in the spring of 1840 permanently settled on the place he still owns on lot 28. Mrs. ROGERS died Dec. 12, 1865, and in 1873 he left the homestead and has since resided with his oldest son, George ROGERS. Children: George, born Feb. 19, 1831; Giles, of Sheridan, N. Y.; Gilbert, a soldier in the Union army: Jane (Mrs. Alfred SAMPLE), of Kennedy, N. Y.; and Jerome, who died at the battle of Malvern Hill. George ROGERS began business as a lumberman and manufactured extensively hand-made pine shingles. Oct. 7, 1856, he married Emily, daughter of Davis B. FOSKIT, and settled where they now reside.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1070

Surnames: SAMPLE, SHEFFER, HESS

Frederick SAMPLE settled on Sample hill in 1823 and was soon after joined by his brothers Samuel, John, Jackson, and Jacob. The neighborhood of this colony of the SAMPLE family soon became known as Sample hill, which name it still bears. John SAMPLE was born in Herkimer county, N. Y., April 21, 1797. Dec. 5, 1819, he married Betsey SHEFFER, who died July 21, 1822, being the mother of his daughter Margery. In 1825 he came to Randolph and located on lot 63. He returned to his home and Nov. 2, 1826, married Mary HESS. Mr. SAMPLE had a good education for his day and taught several terms of common school. He was assessor, supervisor, and magistrate a long term of years. He died March 4, 1873. Mrs. SAMPLE died June 29, 1890.

Surnames: SAMPLE, PALMER

Freeman E. SAMPLE, oldest son of John, was born on the homestead in 1828. He married Polly PALMER in 1853 and settled on eighty-five acres of land in Poland, where he died July 9, 1889. He was an ambitious scholar, received a good academic education, began teaching when sixteen years old, and taught in winters until he was twenty-five. He became prominently identified with the Patrons of Husbandry and was a worthy member of Union Grange, NO. 244, of Jamestown. He was supervisor at the time of his death. Children: Eric H. and Ethel E.

Surnames: SAMPLE, HOYT, DEWEY

Jacob SAMPLE settled on Sample hill in 1823, where his son Andrew J. now lives. He was born May 13, 1808, and married Clarinda HOYT, Jan 8, 1827, who was born Sept. 5, 1804. Mr. SAMPLE died Jan. 7, 1870, and Mrs. SAMPLE Aug. 14, 1870. Of their eleven children five are living. The youngest, Andrew SAMPLE, was born on the homestead April 24, 1849, where he has always resided, having succeeded his father by buying the interests of his brothers and sisters. Jan. 5, 1871, he married Laura, daughter of Lucius DEWEY. Children: Clayton L., born Nov. 7, 1872; Lelia V., born Aug. 31, 1875 ; and Viola A., born April 10, 1882. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1070 & 1071

Surnames: SCUDDER, GOULD

Ezekiel SCUDDER, a native of Massachusetts and a Revolutionary soldier, married Cynthia GOULD, of that State, where his first child, Marvin, was born. With his family he came to Victor, N. Y., where he was one of the earliest settlers. He remained there a quarter of a century, cleared a farm, built and operated a grist-mill, a saw-mill, and a carding and cloth-dressing-mill, and thence removed to Phelps, where he was a farmer. In 1827 he came to Randolph and settled on lot 14, where the widow of John ARCHER now lives. He died on lot 55. Children: Marvin, Joel, Laura, Calvin, Malana, Betsey, Enos, Roena, Clarissa, and Freeman.

Surnames: SCUDDER, BOUGHTON, HUNTINGTON

Capt. Marvin SCUDDER, son of Ezekiel, was born in Albany county, N. Y., Oct. 31, 1791. He married Deborah BOUGHTON in Victor, N. Y., Nov. 12, 1812; she died Dec. 26, 1862. He died Dec. 14, 1871. Mr. SCUDDER settled on a farm in Victor and was also proprietor of a saw-mill. He was captain of a militia company in the War of 1812. In 1832 he came with his family to Randolph and located where the Park block now stands, and there opened his house to the public. Later he built the hostelry now the Central House and conducted it as SCUDDER's Hotel. About 1840 he went to Michigan and Ohio. Returning to Randolph he conducted a general store and his farm. He and his wife died in Oneida, IL. Buel SCUDDER, his son, born in Victor, Jan. 22, 1816, married Almira HUNTINGTON in Napoli, May 17, 1842, and settled on Cold Spring street about a half-mile south of the village. He has resided on his present farm since 1860. Mrs. SCUDDER died Sept. 24, 1889.

Surnames: SCUDDER, CRONK, SEARS, BERRAY, FENTON, DOCKSTADER

Joel SCUDDER, son of Ezekiel, was born in Victor, N. Y., Dec. 5, 1793. He served in the War of 1812, married Hannah CRONK, and engaged in farming. In 1830 they moved to Randolph, where he bought the Benjamin Clark farm, which included the grounds occupied by the railroad depot, and about two years later opened his house as a tavern. About seven years later he removed to Carroll, Chautauqua county, where he resided ten years and kept hotel. Returning to Randolph he followed farming until his death March 3, 1866, his wife dying the same day, both being buried in the same coffin. Of their six sons and four daughters six are living: Polly, widow of Nathan L. SEARS; Rumina (Mrs. Henry L. BERRAY); Joel, of Kiantone, N. Y.; Elizabeth, widow of Hon. Reuben E. FENTON, of Jamestown, N. Y.; Albert; and Lester. John Dempster SCUDDER, son of Joel, enlisted in the Civil war and was killed in battle in 1865. Lester SCUDDER, the youngest son of Joel, was born in Randolph, Sept. 21, 1833, and inherited the homestead, which he still owns. Feb. 15, 1866, he married Alida C., youngest daughter of Adam DOCKSTADER, and has one son, Frank L. 

Surnames: SCUDDER, SALISBURY, LOUX

Spencer SCUDDER, son of Marvin, was born in Victor, N. Y., Sept. 17, 1814. Oct. 3, 1836, he married Caroline SALISBURY in Randolph. Children: Egbert M., Ogden H., Ambrose S., and Adaline A. He married, second, Ann LOUX, of Ellery, N. Y., who was the mother of his son A. Hamilton. Mr. SCUDDER died in Galesburg, Ill., Sept. 29, 1878. He was a justice of the peace twenty consecutive years and was supervisor in 1852.

Surnames: SCUDDER, GOULD

Hon. Samuel SCUDDER, son of Joel, was born in Randolph, April 3, 1830. He received his education in Chamberlain Institute, and was engaged in farming, in the lumber business, and in the production of oil. A staunch Republican he represented his town as supervisor seven years and was elected to the Assembly in 1875. June 28, 1853, he married Amanda M. GOULD. Children: James T., born in 1855; Jennie E., died in infancy; Bertie, died aged eighteen ; and Genevieve P. Mr. SCUDDER died Aug. 7, 1883.

Surnames: SCUDDER, GUERNSEY

Ogden H. SCUDDER, son of Spencer, was born in Randolph, Nov. 23, 1838, attended the common schools and Randolph Academy, and in 1859 went to Illinois. In Aug., 1862, he enlisted in Co. E, 89th IL. Vols. He participated in the battles of Chickamaugua, Missionary Ridge, Rocky Face Ridge, and Resaca, was captured at New Hope Church, May 27, 1864, and sent to Andersonville prison, to Charleston, and to Florence, and was paroled at City Point, March 2, 1865. He was discharged June 2, 1865. On his return he was a conductor on the New York, Pennsylvania & Ohio railroad until 1876 and on the Bradford & Eldred railroad from 1876 until 1800. Since then he has been a farmer and breeder of registered Holstein cattle. Aug. 20, 1868, he married Antoinette, daughter of Dr. O. GUERNSEY, and has a son, and a daughter.

Surnames: SCUDDER, FENTON, GOODWILL, YORK

Alvin L. SCUDDER, son of Buel, was born in Randolph, Sept. 8, 1843. He was educated in Randolph Academy, has followed farming as an avocation, and has also dealt in cattle. He now resides in Randolph village. May 30, 1864, he married Lodema M., daughter of John FENTON, of South Valley. They had an only daughter, Lizzie Lodema, born in Randolph, June 7, 1868. She married, Feb. 4, 1891, Fletcher GOODWILL, of Buffalo. Mrs. SCUDDER died Sept 19, 1868. Jan. 6, 1874, he married Addie E. YORK, of Meadville, PA.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1072

Surnames: SEAGER, WOODARD, MYERS, BIGELOW

Hector SEAGER was born in Simsbury, Conn., March 14, 1793. In 1813 he emigrated to Phelps, Ontario county. He began business as a school teacher. Nov. 14, 1813, he married Sally, daughter of Captain WOODARD. In 1831 he removed to Conewango and settled on the old Chautauqua road, his being one of the two settlements in that town. He died Aug. 16, 1859. Mrs. SEAGER died Sept. 15, 1857. Mr. SEAGER was supervisor and often did conveyancing. He was a member of the Methodist church and for years a class-leader. He had eight children, six of whom were born in Phelps and two in Conewango. Their youngest son, George E. SEAGER, born Feb. 6, 1833, now residing in Randolph, owns the homestead. In 1874 he removed to Randolph to better conduct his large business in butter and cheese, which he began in 1870. In 1884 he was elected village trustee and was influential in establishing the present water works, negotiating the bonds, and being superintendent of construction. In 1886 he was elected president of the village and held the position four years. April 15, 1858, he married Ruth C. MYERS, of Conewango; children: Minnie L., a graduate of Allegheny College, of Meadville, Pa, and now the preceptress of the Union Free School of Randolph; and Frank L. Mrs. SEAGER died in Aug., 1869. In 1871 he married Nettie BIGELOW, of Conewango.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1072

Surnames: SEARLE, OSTROM, WOODFORD

William E. SEARLE, son of Tyler H. and Jane (OSTROM) SEARLE, was born in Villenova, Chautauqua county, in 1850, was educated in the common schools and in Forestville Academy, and commenced business as a clerk in the general store of Amos Dow & Son. He was also a traveling salesman, and in 1876 he formed a partnership with his uncle, Thomas L. OSTROM, in a general merchandise trade in East Randolph, where they continued until 1877. At the organization of the State Bank of East Randolph Mr. SEARLE was chosen cashier, which position he now holds. April 19, 1877, he married Lelia W., daughter of H. J. WOODFORD. They have a son and a daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1072

Surnames: SHELDON, CROWLEY, CALHOUN, EDDY, MERRILL, ROGERS

Thaddeus Spencer SHELDON was born March 3, 1818, in Rupert, Vt. His mother died when he was about nine years old. In 1836 he came to Randolph and soon developed business talents of the highest order. His store was the place of exchange for every kind of commodity produced by the farmers. He was prosperous and accumulated a fair fortune. He was a leader in all public enterprises for the improvement of his town. He was one of the founders of Randolph Academy and next to judge Chamberlain was the largest contributor to its establishment. He also contributed largely to the erection of the churches and to all benevolent enterprises of the town. He was deeply interested in the construction of the railroad. Mr. SHELDON married, May 4, 1839, B. Rosetta CROWLEY, who died March 4, 1847. Nov. 16, 1847, he married Agnes E. CALHOUN, who is the mother of all his children, and who survives. Mr. SHELDON died July 17, 1868. Their son, Charles C. SHELDON, born in Randolph, Aug. 17, 1848, began business as a salesman for A. & A. CROWLEY when ten years old and is now a merchant in his native village. Nov. 22, 1870, he married Fanny, daughter of W. A. EDDY; children: James C., born Nov. 10, 1871; and Charles E., born Feb. 16, 1874. Their daughter A. R. married Charles MERRILL, secretary of the Home for Homeless Children, president of the village, and station agent. Their other son, Thaddeus S., was. born Jan. 9, 1859, served five years in the regular army, and was an ambulance driver two years longer. The past six years he has been a salesman in the store of his brother C. C. In Feb., 1887, he married Abbie L. ROGERS, of Salamanca.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1072 & 1073

Surnames: SMITH, WILCOX, METCALF

Ira SMITH came to Randolph about 1830 and removed in 1847 to Conewango where he died Aug. 7, 1879. His wife, Eliza WILCOX, bore him ten children, of whom Zalmon lives in Napoli and Jeannette (Mrs. D. M. METCALF), in Cold Spring.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1073

Surnames: STANLEY, ABBEY, KIERSTEAD, MILLS, DEWEY

Isaac C. STANLEY, born in 1820, came to Randolph with his father from Cortland county, N. Y., about 1831. His father, Joseph STANLEY, settled where his grandson, Jefferson ABBEY, now lives. Mr. STANLEY was a prominent settler and gave each of his seven children a farm. Isaac C. STANLEY married, first, Eleanor KIERSTEAD, who was the mother of his sons Luther and Joseph. She died in March, 1850. In May, 1851, he married Julia MILLS, of Cherry Creek; children: Ellen S. (Mrs. L. J. DEWEY), and Addison C., born in 1854, a farmer on the homestead. Isaac C. STANLEY died in April, 1875. Addison C. is a member of the Masonic fraternity, in which he is a W. M., and in June, 1891, was a, delegate to the Grand Lodge held in New York city.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1073

Surnames: STEWART, REED, ZIBBLE

Arthur A. STEWART, son of J. F., was born in Randolph in 1854. Educated in the public schools he began business as proprietor of the mill which he now owns and conducts, the capacity of which he has at least increased three-fold. In Sept., 1890, he married Mrs. A. M. (REED) ZIBBLE.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1073

Surnames: STONE, WOOD, HOLLENBECK

Edwin STONE, born in Brownville, N. Y., June 24, 1831, began business as a carpenter at the age of eighteen years. In the fall of 1850 he came to Conewango. Nov. 17, 1851, he married Orlantha Priscilla, daughter of Gaius WOOD, and settled as a farmer in Rutledge. Mr. STONE has 37 acres in the village of Randolph, where he has resided since the spring of 1876. He has been a dealer in real estate, has built and renewed several farm buildings, and built and conducted a cheese factory two years. In Sept., 1864, he enlisted in the Rebellion, and was discharged June 23, 1865. While moving, a building at the company quarters a roof fell upon his head, which fractured his skull and incapacitated him from further duty. Children: Frank A., who married Emma HOLLENBECK, of Leon; and Minnie.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1073

Surnames: SWAN, PEASE, SALISBURY, ALLEN, WHITE

Horace D. SWAN came from Madison county, N. Y., to East Randolph as early as 1827, and there built the first iron foundry in town, which he and his partner, James PEASE, conducted about a year, trading his interest for a saw-mill in Cold Spring. He conducted a lumber business two or three years, and was a resident and merchant in Randolph, where he was also justice of the peace five or six years from 1832. Returning to Cold Spring he was a farmer and served as supervisor from 1839 to 1842 inclusive, and also kept a country hotel. He finally became a farmer in Napoli, and died at Oil City, Pa., while marketing produce, aged sixty-two. He married, in Madison county, Polly SALISBURY, who was born in 1800, and who survived until Dec., 1878. Of their five sons four are living: James A., of Dakota; Daniel S.; and Alonzo F. and Horace D., of Napoli. Daniel S. SWAN, born in Villenova, Chautauqua county, June 23, 1829, was a clerk in a country store at the age of seventeen, and six years later opened a store in company with Deacon ALLEN in Cold Spring, where he was engaged two years. He then removed to East Randolph and opened a general store. In 1867 he removed to Randolph, where he has since resided. He was a merchant about five years, a lumberman four years, and has run a large number of lumber rafts down the river. Since 1877 he has engaged largely in producing oil. A staunch Democrat, he has been supervisor, justice of the peace, and overseer of the poor. In 1864 he married Lizzie M., daughter of Andrew P. WHITE, of Ellington, Chautauqua county. Children: Eva M., Agnes W. (deceased), Lizzie M. (died July 1, 1886), and Arthur W. (born in 1880).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1074

Surnames: TERRY, CLARK, HURD, FOX

Charles W. TERRY, son of William A., was born in Franklinville, March 25, 1846. At the age of eight years his parents removed to Sugar Grove, Pa. At the age of fourteen he was employed by a Mr. CLARK in the lower oil field and at fifteen was sent to Blossburg, Pa., to superintend the sinking of a test oil well. In 1861 he enlisted in the 9th N. Y. Cav., but was rejected on account of age and size and not having permission of his parents. In 1862 his parents moved to Conewango, and Charles attended school at what is now called Chamberlain Institute, walking about four miles night and morning. In Aug., 1864, he enlisted in the 9th N. Y. Cav., and was with Sheridan on his raid from Winchester to Appomattox. After being discharged he again attended school at Chamberlain Institute, and received a State Regents' certificate as an academic scholar in Nov., 1867. In the winter of 1869 he was one of the teachers in Chamberlain Institute under Professor Post, and had charge of the common English department and advanced classes in arithmetic, algebra, and geometry. In 1868 he engaged in the drug business with J. C. HURD at East Randolph as clerk, and continued in the business as clerk and proprietor till 1876. He married Adelle M., daughter of A. B. FOX, of East Randolph, Feb. 19, 1870. They had one son, Leland B., born July 3, 1874. In Feb., 1875, Mr. TERRY was elected justice of the peace in Randolph for four years. In the fall of the same year he moved into Conewango and the next spring was elected town clerk. In Feb., 1877, he was appointed justice of the peace for one year and was elected for four years from Jan. 1, 1878, and in Feb., 1881, was re-elected for four years more. In 1876 he entered the office of M. V. Benson at East Randolph and read law three years. June 1, 1877, he was appointed by the collector of internal revenue at Buffalo deputy collector for the counties of Chautauqua and Cattaraugus, and held the position till July 1, 1882. In 1877 he was elected journal clerk of the Board of Supervisors, and was re-elected continuously till the fall of 1882, when he was elected county clerk for three years. At the expiration of his term as county clerk he moved to Randolph and in the spring of 1887 was elected supervisor of the town, and has been re-elected each succeeding year, being the present incumbent of that office. He has always taken a lively interest in politics, is an ardent Republican, and has been several years a member and secretary of the Republican County Committee.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1074

Surnames: THOMA, SMITH, HALL, BARBER, MILKS

Dominicus THOMA was born in Baden, Germany, July 21, 1815. In 1832 he emigrated to America in a sailing vessel. Sept. 1, 1833, he came to East Randolph from Montgomery county, and was engaged in the sale of German clocks until 1841. In Dec., 1839, he married Mary E. SMITH. About a year later he settled on a farm in Randolph, where he resided about three years. In the fall of 1844 he removed to Fredonia, N. Y., where he was engaged in manufacturing and dealing in lumber until the fall of 1857. He then returned to East Randolph, and with three others purchased the foundry and machine shop then standing on the site now occupied by S. J. Benedict's establishment. Three years later he sold to his partners, and opened a grocery store, which he continued five years. Since then be has been a sawyer. He has served several years as town clerk of Conewango. Children: Marion, widow of C. E. HALL; A. Jennie (Mrs. Frank BARBER); Blanche E.; and R. Adaline (Mrs. Manly D. MILKS). In Oct., 1840, he received his naturalization papers from Judge Benjamin Chamberlain, and cast his first ballot in November following for Martin Van Buren. In 1856 he joined the Republican party,

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1074 & 1075

Surnames: HOMPSON, CURTIS

D. Hart THOMPSON, youngest child and only son of Jabez and Clarissa (CURTIS) THOMPSON, was born in Leon in 1848. His parents were natives of Connecticut and settled in Leon about 1830. Jabez bought cattle and drove them to eastern markets, and owned and conducted a grist-mill, distillery, general store, and a farm of 400 or 500 acres. He subsequently removed to Randolph and retired from business. He died in March, 1891. Mrs. THOMPSON died in June, 1888. D. Hart THOMPSON began business as a merchant in Leon. He removed to Sinclairville, where he continued his mercantile career ten years. In 1882 he came to Randolph, where he was a merchant two or three years. Since then he has been engaged with William E. Smith & Co., of New York, in buying cheese. The last two years he has also superintended their combination of cheese factories.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1075

Surnames: THURSTON, TORRANCE, TORRENCE

Daniel THURSTON was born in Oneida county, N. Y., Oct. 20, 1809. His father died about 1814 and he resided with his mother until twenty years of age, when, in 1829, he came to Randolph and purchased fifty acres of wood-land on lot 38. April 7, 1831, he married Lodensy TORRANCE [sic], who was born Oct. 11, 1810. in Bristol, N. Y., and died May 21, 1891.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1075

Surnames: TORRENCE, HITCHCOCK, STEDMAN, PHILLIPS, WOODWORTH, KENT

The TORRENCE family in America is of Scotch-Irish origin and descends from Thomas TORRENCE, who was father of Samuel, whose son Timothy M. was born in Bristol, Conn., Sept. 6, 1786. When young he removed to Henrietta, N. Y., where he married Zervinia HITCHCOCK, and where he settled as a farmer. In Feb., 1824, he removed to Randolph with a heavy sled and two yoke of oxen, bringing his wife and four children. He lived in a log shanty on lot 46, where his grandson, Joel B. TORRENCE, now resides. His farm contained 230 acres of solid woodland. He held several town offices. Being one of a committee appointed to name the town he suggested "Randolph" in honor of John RANDOLPH. He was a devoted Christian and for many years, was a member of the Baptist church. He died in Aug., 1871. Mrs. TORRENCE died in September of the same year. They had twelve children, of whom eight attained mature age: Seymour, of Michigan; Lodensy (Mrs. Daniel THURSTON), died May 21, 1891; Permelia (Mrs. A. STEDMAN), died in May, 1891; Garwood M.; Lovisa (Mrs. Philander PHILLIPS); Romeda (Mrs. William PHILLIPS); Olive (Mrs. C. WOODWORTH); and Fanny (Mrs. William KENT).

Surnames: TORRENCE, BASSETT, CROSS, BOYINGTON, FOSTER, BABCOCK, GILBERT, WALLACE, CHURCHILL

Garwood M. TORRENCE was born in Henrietta, N. Y., Aug. 4, 1814. He married Persis, daughter of Dea. Joel BASSETT, of Napoli, who was born April 5, 1817. He settled in life as a farmer and eventually owned the homestead, and died June 16, 1885. Mrs. TORRENCE died Oct. 2, 1890. Children: Joel B. ; Lucy C., born March 7, 1841, married William H. CROSS; Emeline L., born Nov. 15, 1843, married Benjamin BOYINGTON; Mitchell T., born July 3, 1845; Carrie P. (Mrs. James H. FOSTER) ; Mary M. (Mrs. David BABCOCK); and Rena V. (Mrs. Anderson GILBERT). Joel B. TORRENCE, born Oct. 28, 1839, resides on the homestead. He had a few terms at Randolph Academy and Sept. 6, 1862, enlisted in Co. H, 154th N. Y. Vols., being discharged June 11, 1865. Oct. 13, 1869, he married Ella WALLACE, of Perrysburg, Ohio, who died May 23, 1873. Sept. 25, 1876, he married Hattie CHURCHILL, of Ellington, N. Y., daughter of Cullen CHURCHILL, a pioneer of that town. Mitchell T. TORRENCE married Sarah J. CROSS, of Randolph. Dec. 11 1863, he enlisted in Co. H, 14th N.Y. H. A., was confined in the hospital with typhus fever three months in the summer of 1864, and was discharged Aug. 26, 1863. In 1867 he settled on the farm where he now resides, and where he also deals in cattle, fruit, and poultry. He has four sons and two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1075 & 1076

Surnames: TURNER, JONES, BENSON, MUNSON, PARMOUR

Thomas TURNER, born in Oxford, England, in 1803, came to America in March, 1852, and the next June married Elizabeth JONES. He settled in the village of Randolph, where be died in 1878. Mrs. TURNER resides in Franklin, Pa. Children: Mary, of Oakland, Pa; John E., born in 1856, a butcher and dealer in meats; Sarah (Mrs. John BENSON, Jr.) of Napoli; Rachel (Mrs. Charles MUNSON), of Spokane Falls, Wash.; Susan (Mrs. Harry PARMOUR), of Indianapolis, Ind.; Thomas E., a butcher with his brother John E.; and Joseph, of Jamestown. Thomas was a landscape and market gardener.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1076

Surnames: TURNER, SEARLE, HACKETT, MOORE BUTLER, HODGKISS

Thomas TURNER, a native of Ireland, was born Jan. 25, 1829, came to Randolph in 1850, and married, that year, Anna SEARLE. He was a farmer and died Feb. 19, 1891. Children: Ellen (Mrs. J. HACKETT), deceased; Richard (deceased); Anna (Mrs. P. L. MOORE); Martha (Mrs. BUTLER); Thomas J.; Joseph C., of Leon; and Melvin, John, Ida V., and Eva K. Thomas J. TURNER is a farmer on the Knox place and also deals in horses. He resides in Randolph village, where he has served as street commissioner. Feb. 13, 1890, he married Celia HODGKISS. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1076

Surnames: VAN RENSSELAER, SCUDDER, CARTER, OWEN

Henry K. VAN RENSSELAER, son of Dr. D. S. VAN RENSSELAER (see page 174), was born in Otisco, N.Y., March 12, 1820. He received an academic education and commenced business as a merchant. He has been a farmer and for the last twenty-five years has been engaged in the insurance business. Originally a Democrat he joined the Republican party at its organization, and has been a trustee of Chamberlain Institute continuously since its inception in 1866, serving most of the time as secretary of the board. In 1842 he married Eliza C. SCUDDER, who was the mother of his daughter, Mrs. L. H. CARTER. Mrs. VAN RENSSELAER died in 1850. April 23, 1857, he married Miss A. A. OWEN; children living: Leland D., a partner in the insurance business with his father; Mattie, a teacher; and Henry Herbert, an electrician.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1076

Surnames: WATKINS, JORDAN, SNOW, WEEDEN, PHILLIPS

Lieut. George W. WATKINS, son of Lyman and Abigail (JORDAN) WATKINS, was born in Bethany, N.Y. June 27, 1821. His father was a native of Vermont and his mother of Maine. In 1834 the family came from Titusville, Pa., to Napoli. His father was a blacksmith, and at Napoli Center he opened a shop which he conducted about two years, when he returned to Pleasantville, Pa., where he died. George W. remained in Cattaraugus county. Feb. 8, 1842, he married Alvira, daughter of Nathan SNOW, of Conewango. He followed his father's trade until the Rebellion broke out, when he began to fill up Co. B, 64th Regt. N.Y. State Militia. Mr. WATKINS went to the front as orderly-sergeant, was promoted first lieutenant, and discharged June 18, 1863, for disability. He was in the battles of Antietam, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, and Chancellorsville. He now resides in the village of East Randolph. Four of his six children are living: Lucelia V. (Mrs. Lafayette WEEDEN), Deloss, Lucetta (Mrs. Oliver PHILLIPS), and Myrtle.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1076

Surnames: WILLIAMS, OLIN, WRIGHT, BLACKMER

Davis WILLIAMS, son of Solomon and Sally (OLIN) WILLIAMS, was born Jan. 16, 1800, and died in East Randolph, Oct. 7, 1890. He married Juna, daughter of Jason and Huldah (WRIGHT) BLACKMER; she was born June 18, 1803. Jason BLACKMER was a son of Samuel, who was a son of Samuel, New Englanders, and died in Bennington, Vt., March 9, 1849. The children of Davis WILLIAMS were Sophia B., Huldah J., Aarah A., Norman D., Abigail P., Mary A., Rollin B., and Saraette M. Mr. WILLIAMS was a pioneer of Cattaraugus county, and resided in Leon, Otto, and East Randolph villages. His wife survives him.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1076 & 1077

Surnames: WILLOUGHBY, COLE, FITCH, BARR

The WILLOUGHBY family in America trace their ancestry back as far as the eleventh or twelfth century. Their record in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, describes them as descendants of Sir John de WILLOUGHBY, a Norman knight. Tracing from him through a lineage of lordships we find George WILLOUGHBY, the seventh baron in the line of descent, who was doubtless the father of Joseph WILLOUGHBY, who was born in 1691. "Being a young man of great intelligence, master of the fine arts, expert in fencing, a charming musician, and of pleasing address, he was a great favorite of Queen Anne, reigning sovereign of England, and was chosen by her one of her 'Life Guards.'" "The Lord Chamberlain attempting to enter the Queen's bed-chamber dishonorably, he resented the indignity, fought the Lord Chamberlain, and slew him. Instead of being executed for murder he was banished from the Kingdom about 1714, and went to Carthagenia, South America, where he resided about two years. He then emigrated to Norwich, Conn., and settled there. Later he removed to Northville and settled on a farm, where he died in 1751."

Bliss WILLOUGHBY, his oldest son, was born in 1721, and married, second, Rosanna COLE in 1771 or 1772. He had settled in Shaftsbury, Vt. He preached the gospel and was also a magistrate and government surveyor, and surveyed a large portion of the southern part of Vermont. He was sent to England to ask religious toleration of the Queen and accomplished the object. With a large number of "New Lights," as adherents of his creed were styled, he became a Baptist. He died Sept. 27, 1807. His son Bliss was born and lived on the Shaftsbury homestead, where his son, Rev. Bliss C. WILLOUGHBY, was born Jan. 23, 1807. When the latter attained the age of twenty he came to Sheridan Center, N. Y., where he resided three years. In 1830 he settled in Rutledge, where, in 1831, he experienced conversion to Christ and where, in 1832, he married Joanna M. FITCH, who died Dec. 10, 1888, aged eighty-one. Children: one died in childhood; a daughter died Feb. 4, 1886; and Albert F., born in Rutledge in Conewango, Sept. 3, 1833. Rev. Mr. WILLOUGHBY, a few years after his conversion, placed himself under the able tutelage of Rev. William Arthur, father of the late President Chester A. Arthur, then pastor of the Baptist church of Perry, N. Y. He afterward attended the academy in Wyoming and soon after was licensed to preach. He was ordained July 27, 1841, and has been pastor of the following churches: Clear Creek, Cherry Creek, Randolph, Kennedy, Fredonia, Rutledge, Eden, Warren (Pa.), Meadville and Pleasantville (Pa.), Sinclairville. and Union City (Pa.). He closed his regular pastoral labors with the church at Randolph. Since then he has supplied the church of Napoli two seasons and still occasionally preaches a sermon. Nov. 8, 1890, he married Mrs. L. D. BARR, of Cranberry, Pa.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1077

Surnames: WOOD, SNOW

Oscar C. WOOD, son of Gaius and grandson of Gen. Seth WOOD, an early settler of Conewango, was born there April 16, 1844. In Nov., 1863, he married Rosetta L., daughter of William SNOW, and settled on a farm of 175 acres, which he sold nine years later and bought in East Randolph the farm he now owns. He was proprietor of five creameries from 1873 until 1885, in which he manufactured both butter and cheese, his sales from one factory in 1873 aggregating $60,000. Since Sept., 1887, he has conducted a hotel in East Randolph. His hostelry was burned May 14, 1888, and he has since erected a handsome brick structure on the site. In connection he has a livery stable. He has served as constable several years.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Pages 1077 & 1078

Surnames: WOODFORD, FILLMORE, WOODIN, WHITTAKER, SEARLE

Capt. Samuel WOODFORD, born in Connecticut in 1784, married there Phebe FILLMORE, cousin of Millard FILLMORE. In 1831 they were farming in Ellicottville and June 10, 1837, they settled on a farm in Napoli a short distance from the corporation of East Randolph. This they sold and came to the village of East Randolph, where he died Jan. 10, 1857. He served in the War of 1812 under Gen. William Henry Harrison and led his company as captain at the battles of Lundy's Lane, Kingston, and others. He served as commissioner of highways in Ellicottville and Napoli. He and his wife were members of the Baptist church. She died May, 13, 1867. Of their eleven children five are living: N. S., Cyrus Fillmore, John V., Emily S. (widow of David WOODIN). and Henry J. Henry J. WOODFORD was born in Ellicottville, March 4, 1833. He was proprietor of the Half-way House between Randolph and Little Valley and subsequently of the East Randolph House, which he conducted with a livery about fifteen years. Since then he has been engaged in the hardware business, in oil speculation, and in dealing in real estate. He has also bought and sold many high blooded horses. He owns the famous horse "Barnum,' long "king of the turf." Mr. WOODFORD married Sarah J. WHITTAKER, a native of Vermont, Aug. 6, 1853. Children: Elva Augusta, Lelia W. (Mrs. W. E. SEARLE), Bertie (died Feb. 4, 1857), Frank McClellan.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1078

Surname: WOODRUFF

Austin WOODRUFF, born in Aurora, N.Y., July 6, 1820, was educated in the academy at Aurora. His father, a farmer and lumberman, died Jan. 14, 1838. He was a clerk in a store in Machias a year, and then returned home and managed the farm and saw-mill until 1844, when, with his brother, Henry Seymour WOODRUFF, he opened a general store in Yorkshire. In 1846 and 1847 he was proprietor of the Globe Hotel in Yorkshire. In 1849 Austin came to Randolph, where he still resides. Here he has been a merchant and a dealer in live stock. Originally a Whig he joined the Republican party at its organization, and has been assistant revenue assessor several years, resigning the position in favor of Capt. F. C. Jones, a veteran of the war; he was also for six months in the Pension Bureau at Washington. He has served a number of years as assessor of this town and was long a trustee of Randolph Cemetery.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Randolph – Chapter XLIV (44)

Page 1079

Surnames: WOODWORTH, BEMIS, LEACH, COY, SEYMOUR, PIERCE, ELLIOTT

Capt. Zebedee WOODWORTH was born in Rensselaerville, N. Y., May 14, 1779. His father removed with his family to Fenner, N. Y., and in 1825 Zebedee came to Randolph and settled on Sample hill. Later in his life he removed to the village and gave his attention to his lumber business. He filled most of the town offices, being supervisor six years, and in the militia rose to the rank of captain. Captain WOODWORTH died Nov. 25, 1867, the day of the fifty-second anniversary of his settlement in Randolph. Children: Mary A. (Mrs. E. LEACH), George, Sophia W. (Mrs. S. HOLBROOK), deceased, Charles, Spencer, and Susan (Mrs. BEMIS), deceased, George WOODWORTH was born in Madison county, Jan. 14, 1823. He has principally followed farming, but has also manufactured and dealt in lumber and for forty-five years was a dealer in cattle. Mr. WOODWORTH now resides in Randolph village and has retired from active business. In Sept., 1846, he married Miss C. COY. Children: Mina (Mrs. Henry SEYMOUR); Lewis, who married Cora PIERCE, and is a farmer and deputy sheriff; and Flora (Mrs. Frank ELLIOTT.)
 

Back To Cattaraugus Main Page




If you have anything of genealogical or historical interest to add to this site, or if you are interested in becoming a member of the Painted Hills Genealogy Society, please contact me at:
Painted Hills

This page is maintained by the PHGS
 Last Update January 25, 2004

© 2002 by The Painted Hills Genealogy Society
Main | Email Us | Look-Ups | Members Family Pages
Chat and Meeting Room | Disclaimer

Website designed by Frankie Stonemetz
2002© Painted Hills Genealogy Society
All Rights Reserved