TOWN OF OLEAN

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893
 
 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 897

Surname: ABBOTT

D.S. ABBOTT, inventor and manufacturer of saw-mill machinery, was born in Ischua, July 1, 1838. He removed to Olean when sixteen, perfected himself in mechanics, and has long been doing a profitable business in the manufacture of his inventions. He makes lath-mills, lath-packers and trimmers, slab-slashers, shingle-machines, shingle-jointers, drag-saw machines, shingle-bolters, etc. Mr. ABBOTT is a Prohibitionist and was the candidate of that party for sheriff in the election of 1888.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 897

Surname: ACKERLY

I.E. ACKERLY, a native of Kennedy, Chautauqua county, was reared on the farm and in early life clerked in stores, and at the age of eighteen began telegraphing, which he followed until 1870, being a year or two train dispatcher. Becoming acquainted with the oil country and the oil business he was finally appointed agent for the Pennsylvania Transit, a pipe-line concern, and shortly afterward was promoted superintendent of all the company's lines, which position he resigned in 1877. Since 1872 Mr. ACKERLY has been engaged largely in the oil business alone. He is a prominent Mason. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 897

Surnames: ADAMS, THORP, NICHOLS

Ansel ADAMS, son of Thomas and Anna (THORP) ADAMS, was born in Oak Hill, Greene county, July 16, 1804, and married March 4, 1835, Ruth A., daughter of Benjamin NICHOLS, of Windsor, N. Y. In 1838 they came to Olean, where he died in 1886. In 1839 he was chosen deacon of St. Stephen's Episcopal church and for some time was its senior warden. For a number of years he was prominently engaged in dealing in real estate and merchandise and left at his death a widow and three children, the latter being Edgar A., Norman E., and George A., all born in Olean. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 897

Surnames: ALDERMAN, LAWTON

E. E. ALDERMAN is a native of Portville, where his early life was passed as a student and clerk. He was born May 4, 1858, and in November, 1887, came to Olean, where he associated himself with L.F. LAWTON and has since been engaged in the real estate business under the firm name of E. E. ALDERMAN and Co. Mr. ALDERMAN has been secretary and treasurer to the Buffalo Street Land Company, secretary of the Olean Building, Loan, and Savings Association, and a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trade. He has always taken a leading part in the political affairs of the country, and has been the treasurer of the Cattaraugus County Republican Committee.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 897 & 898

Surnames: ALLEN, SHELDON, OOSTERHOUDT

Henry G. ALLEN, son of Stephen and Mary A. (SHELDON) ALLEN, was born in Allegany, May 2, 1838. He began in business as a lumberman. He volunteered in Co. A, 85th N. Y. Vols., July 16, 1861, and served until Nov. 24, 1862, when he re-enlisted in Co. L, 4th U.S. Artillery, for three years, and was discharged at the close of his term of service. March 21, 1866, he married Mary A., daughter of Samuel OOSTERHOUDT. He has since been a farmer in Olean, a lumber merchant of Portsmouth, Ohio, a lumberman and coal dealer in Rexford, Pa., form 1878 to 1881, and postmaster there from 1881 until he resigned in 1885. Since then he has resided in Olean, with a winter residence in Florida. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 898

Surnames: ANDREWS, STODDARD, BLAKE, CAMPBELL

Clarence E. ANDREWS, son of George and Charlotte (STODDARD) ANDREWS, was born in Busti, N. Y., Dec. 1, 1849. His paternal grandfather, a native of Vermont, was one of the first settlers of Busti, and held a captain's commission and led his company against the Indians, who afterward recognized him as their special friend. His maternal grandfather, Rev. A. A. STODDARD, also a native of Vermont, was a prominent pioneer Baptist minister, who son, Rev. I. J. STODDARD, now of Iowa, was one of the first Baptist missionaries to India, where he labored about twenty years. George ANDREWS is a farmer and still resides in Busti. C. E. ANDREWS finished an academic education at Jamestown Academy. At the age of eighteen he became a bookeeper in Minnesota, where he spent two years. He next spent twelve or thirteen years as a traveling salesman. In July, 1882, he purchased the furniture of A. BLAKE and has since been one of Olean's energetic business men. Mr. ANDREWS is a member of the Board of Trade and of the Baptist church, and a Republican. In Jan., 1874, he married Augusta F. CAMPBELL of Busti.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 898 & 899

Surnames: ASHTON, MARSH, BIDDLE, STEVENS

Rev. James William ASHTON, D. D., rector of St. Stephen's Episcopal church, was born in Philadelphia, Jan. 18, 1843. His father was Daniel R. ASHTON, who for many years was a well-known teacher, and his mother was Elizabeth Josiah MARSH, a woman of aristocratic type descended from one of the old Revolutionary families. His grandfather, Colonel MARSH was commander of a regiment of the Pennsylvania line and an aide-de-camp of general Washington during the battle of Princeton. The early years of his life were spent under the parental roof, and at the age of sixteen he entered the University of Pennsylvania. While there the Civil war broke out and the military spirit which he inherited from his forefathers was quickened by the patriotic and Spartan-like disposition of his mother, who inspired him with high and noble aims of life. When the first gun of the Rebellion was fired all the patriotic impulses of his nature were stirred and he desired to offer his service as a volunteer soldier, but in consideration of his studies and his immature age it was deemed best to wait. In the meantime his soldierly spirit was not at rest, for he was a member of the University Light Infantry Company. In 1862 he laid aside his academic gown and nobly took his place with the brave men who were fighting for the preservation of the Union. By appointment of Governor Curtin he received a commission as first lieutenant of Co. C, 157th Pa. Vols. His first military duty was discharged in the neighborhood of the city, where he recruited a number of men, and at Fort Delaware Bay, where for a time he acted as post adjutant and learned the science of war, the drill, discipline, and tactics. For some time he was drill-master of a large part of the garrison of the fort, when there were thousands of Confederate prisoners there. Active service, however, was what he sought and he was soon engaged in the neighborhood of Washington and on the line of the Orange & Alexandria railroad in Fairfax county, Va., where he built a blockhouse to protect the road against the raids of rebel calvary under Rosser and Mosby. He was with General Grant at the front in the spring of 1864 and fought in several engagements, and on the 28th of July he received a severe wound in the right scapula, which, along with other and almost fatal disabilities incurred in the line of duty, obtained for him an honorable discharge. He experienced keen regret at being compelled to leave the army, but when health and strength permitted he proceed to carry out his long-cherished ambition of being a Christian minister. His forefathers on both sides had been members of the Church of England and of the Protestant Episcopal church in this country, but from circumstances which occurred before his birth some of his family had drifted into the Baptist church and in its principles he was reared and at the age of fourteen was received into fellowship. He studied for the ministry first in the Episcopal Divinity School in Philadelphia and then in the Baptist Theological Seminary in Newton, Mass. He prepared some young men for college, among the number two who have distinguished themselves as clergymen, and for months he lectured to a large class of wounded and disabled soldiers at the Government hospital, for which service he was liberally compensated by Miss Elizabeth BIDDLE, of Philadelphia. After graduating at Newton his first charge in the Baptist church was at Waterford, N. Y. , and his second the Central Baptist church of Norwich, Conn. In 1871 he resigned from the ministry and membership of the Baptist denomination and was admitted to Holy Orders in the Episcopal church, being confirmed and ordained deacon and priest by the Rt. Rev. William Bacon STEVENS, D. D., Bishop of the Diocese of Pennsylvania, in old Christ church, Philadelphia, a singular coincidence being that, when he stood in front of the chancel he was immediately above the grave of some of his ancestors, who had once been prominently identified with that church. In this change of religious opinions and ecclesiastical connections Dr. ASHTON was governed entirely by the highest principles of conscientiousness, and from a profound belief that in the Episcopal church he could best serve his Lord and Master. In the Episcopal ministry Dr. Ashton has been rector of the Church of Our Merciful Saviour (now the Annunciation), Philadelphia, where he labored for six years, after which he was rector of Grace church in the same city. In April, 1883, he became rector of St. Stephen's church in Olean, which he still holds, it being the longest rectorship in the history of the parish. He took charge of the church at a time when its condition was one of feebleness, and by the strength of his high personal character, coupled with the faculty of organization which he possesses, its condition is now one of strength and influence, not only to the community, but also in the Diocese of Western New York. The elegant and costly new stone edifice which occupies a commanding position overlooking the park has been built and paid for during his rectorship. As a pulpit orator Dr. Ashton has rare gifts. Not only in the church but also in the community, is his influence and strong personality felt. He received the degree of Master of Arts from his alma mater and the degree of Doctor of Divinity from Hobart College. He is also a member of the Pennsylvania Historical society. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 899 & 900

Surnames: BAIRD, TRACY

G. W. Delmar BAIRD was born in Ripley, N. Y., Sept. 16, 1847. Receiving his education at the Quincy High School and serving an apprenticeship as a painter, he came to Olean in October, 1877, and entered the employ of the Empire Freight Line, of which he has been for some time its chief clerk, having also served as clerk of the Board of Education and treasurer of the First M. E. church. Mr. Baird married, Nov. 11, 1868, H. Amelia, daughter of Kester TRACY of Ripley. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 899 & 900

Surnames: BARROWS, SHEPARD, DAVIS

Erasmus BARROWS, who was born in Freedom on February 11, 1834, was a resident of Olean about twenty-five years, a portion of which time he practiced dentistry. He married, Aug. 30, 1859, Ellen T., daughter of William B. SHEPARD. Mr. SHEPARD's father was an early settler of the county and William B. died aged seventy-three on the farm where he was born. Dr. BARROWS died in Olean, Aril 27, 1882.

David E. BARROWS, D.D.S., nephew of Dr. Erasmus BARROWS, was born in Arcade, N. Y., in 1855. Commencing the study of dentistry with his father when eighteen he practiced with him until 1883, when he came to Olean, where he has since followed his profession. He is a thorough student and is regarded as an expert having successfully treated many difficult cases in dental surgery. Dr. BARROWS married, in 1880, Nettie, daughter of Francis K. DAVIS, of Yorkshire. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 900

Surnames: BARSE, MORRIS, WADE, LEFEVRE

Hon. C.V.B. BARSE, born in Manchester, Ontario county, December 11, 1887, received his education in the common schools and in Penn Yan Academy, and began business as a clerk in a hardware store. On attaining his majority he embarked in general merchandise business from Franklinville, where he remained until 1851, when he removed to Olean, where he had established a branch store in 1848. In 1864, with H.S. MORRIS, he established a hardware shore at Bay City, which was continued five years. His son, Mills W. BARSE, was for four years his representative there. In 1868 he was nominated and elected to the State Legislature. He was the founder of the State Bank of Olean in 1870, which was changed in 1878 to the Exchange National Bank. Mr. BARSE was the only president of these banks until his death in 1885. He was also the first canal inspector at Olean in 1857. Sept. 7, 1841, he married Mary H., daughter of Aaron WADE, a farmer of Franklinville; children: Francis L., born June 20, 1844, married D. C. LEFEVRE, of Albany; Mills W., born Dec. 6, 1846; and William C., deceased. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 900

Surnames: BARTLETT, BARSE

Frank L. BARTLETT was born in Belfast, Allegany county, September 25, 1859, was educated in the common schools and at Friendship Academy, and began his business career in the First National Bank of Cuba. In 1880 he entered the Exchange National Bank of Olean, when the late Hon. C. V. B. BARSE was its active head, and later became assistant cashier. Upon Mr. BARSE's death in 1885 Mills W. BARSE was made president and Mr. BARTLETT was promoted cashier, a position he has since ably filled. He has been chairman of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trade, treasurer of the Electric Light and Power Company, treasurer of the village, and director, secretary, and treasurer of the Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Company. In all of these positions Mr. BARTLETT has exhibited a wonderful executive ability. His decisions are quick, but are wrought with sound judgement, and in all transactions he evinces a keen, shrewd penetration. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 900

Surnames: BAXTER, PHALEN

John L. BAXTER, son of John W., was born in Olean, June 21, 1832, and two years later removed with his parents to Friendship, N. Y,. where the father died in 1863. The son married Ellen PHALEN, of St. John's, Ireland, in 1863, and in 1881 located permanently in Olean, where he engaged in the milling business. Mr. BAXTER is a Democrat in politics. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 900 & 901

Surnames: BELL, DAVIDSON, SELL

C. E. and G. F. BELL (twins), sons of Nathaniel D. and Rebecca (DAVIDSON) BELL, were born in New Hudson, N. Y., in 1854. They received an academic education in Friendship and were farmers until they attained their majority. They began a commercial business at Kane, Pa., in the fall of 1876. In 1880 they removed to the oil country near Bradford and there engaged in producing oil and selling goods until the fall of 1888, when they settled as dry goods merchants in Olean. The firm of BELL Brothers has recently purchased store property formerly known as the Butler store and re-constructed it into one of the finest equipped dry goods stores in southwestern New York. They employ twenty-five clerks. C. E. BELL married a daughter of John SELL, of Warren Pa., in 1886 and had one son, born April 6, 1889. Mrs. BELL died March 3, 1892, in the thirtieth year of her age.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 901

Surnames: BIRGE, WHITNEY, BARNEY, HUMPHREY

Norman BIRGE, son of John, was born in Coventry, N. Y., July 7, 1816. His father was a carpenter and a soldier in the War of 1812. Norman BIRGE received a common school education and was a clerk and an apprentice to the trade of harness making. In March, 1839, he settled permanently in Olean and opened a shop for the manufacture of harnesses, in which he was actively engaged until his death in 1892. Dr. WHITNEY says, "Mr. BIRGE is distinguished as being the owner of the first buggy in Olean." In 1853 Mr. BIRGE married Sarah BARNEY, a native of Vermont, and their only daughter, Jennette, is the wife of Fred B. HUMPHREY, whose children are Grace and James.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 901

Surnames: BISHOP, HIGGINS, MINARD, HAAS

Jason S. BISHOP, son of Levi and Sarah (HIGGINS) BISHOP, was born in Hume, N. Y., Sept 27, 1835. His father was a blacksmith and died in 1847, when the family removed to a farm. In 1857 Jason S. went to Kansas, but a year later returned and engaged in the sale of groceries from the spring of 1859 to 1861. He was next a farmer in Granger and Hume until 1874, then a merchant in Fillmore until 1879, when he settled in Olean, where he has since resided. He purchased twenty-seven acres of the Martin farm and platted it into village lots, which he has been engaged in selling. He is senior member of the firm J. S. BISHOP and Son, general merchants, and has also been engaged in the oil business. He has served three years on the Board of Education and was a prominent member of the building committee in constructing the State Street Academy. He was one of the largest contributors to secure the location of the Quirin tannery in Olean. July 30, 1861 he married Mary S. MINARD. Children living: George L., born Dec. 20, 1863, junior member of the firm of J. S. BISHOP and Son; and Sarah, born May 15, 1865, wife of S. I. HAAS, an architect in Los Angeles, Cal.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 901

Surnames: BLAKE, BUTLER, EATON, GIFFORD, FAUNCE, WILKINSON, BIGELOW

Adoniram BLAKE was born in Milton, Vt, July 1, 1824, and when fifteen years of age moved with his parents to St. Lawrence county, N. Y., where he attended the St. Lawrence Academy at Potsdam. His father, John B., a native of New Hampshire, died in 1840. After completing his education young BLAKE began the study of dentistry in Albion, Orleans county, which profession he subsequently practiced fifteen years, traveling on a circuit with headquarters at Buffalo, and in 1860 located permanently in Olean, where he formed a partnership with N. S. BUTLER in the dry goods business. Three years later he bought the stock of F. R. EATON, taking as a partner in this enterprise L. W. GIFFORD. He sold his interest in this store three years afterward to Bradley FAUNCE and devoted his attention to his hardware trade, which he had previously established as the second establishment of the kind in Olean, and which he sold in 1880, repurchasing it, however, in 1885 and forming a partnership with W. S. WILKINSON under the firm name of BLAKE & WILKINSON. In 1874 he built BLAKE's Opera house at a cost of over $20,000, at that time the finest block in the county. In 1858 Dr. BLAKE married Anna M. BIGELOW of Sardinia, N. Y.. Dr. BLAKE served many years on the Board of Education and the Board of Village Trustees.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 901 & 902

Surname: BLAKESLEE

Manley A. BLAKESLEE, born in Perryville, N. Y., April 4, 1824, came to Olean in 1847, and for three years taught school and clerked. In 1851 he opened the first drug and book store in Olean, which he continued until 1886, except the years 1863 and 1864. Mr. BLAKESLEE is now a surveyor. While in trade as a merchant he was three times burned out. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 902

Surnames: BLESSING, SHELLING, BACON

Conrad J. BLESSING, son of John and Apoleno (SHELLING) BLESSING, was born in Allegany, May 2, 1861. He lost his father while yet a lad and was early apprenticed at the blacksmith trade. He began business for himself in his native town about 1880. In 1882 and 1883 he came to Olean and purchased a shop, which was burned, and erected another on the site. He gives his entire attention to horseshoeing. In 1882 he married Huldah BACON, of Allegany.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 902

Surnames: BLIGHTON, BARGAY, HOYT, OOSTERHOUDT

Elijah C. BLIGHTON was born in Machias, Feb. 24, 1849. His father was Thomas N. BLIGHTON, a carpenter and joiner by trade, who died there June 9, 1861, after residing in the town some fifteen years. Receiving a commercial education at Arcade, N. Y., Eliah C. married, in 1873, Ida C. BARGAY, of Concord, Erie county, who died Nov. 14, 1884; he married, second Minnie A. BARGAY in 1886. Locating in Olean in 1875, in the furniture establishment of HOYT & OOSTERHOUDT, he began business for himself in 1880 as an undertaker. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 902 – 904

Surnames: BOARDMAN, BOREMAN, BORMAN, BORDMAN, HATCH, MARTIN, WARREN, NORTON, RICE, BARTLETT

The BOARDMAN family of American largely descends from Samuel BOREMAN, an Englishman of prominence, who came to Ipswich, Mass., in 1637, and in 1640 permanently settled in Wethersfield, Conn. He was a man of education and property, and his descendants in every generation have held high positions in both church and State.* (footnote here: The name was spelled BORMAN or BOREMAN until 1712, when it became BORDMAN and later BOARDMAN. The line from Samuel to Jehiel is Samuel (1), Nathaniel (2), Nathaniel (3), Nathaniel (4), Jehiel (5).) A log-book of Timothy BOARDMAN, kept on the Colonial privateer Oliver Cromwell in 1778, giving much of value of early times and also a biography of the author, Rev. Samuel W. BOARDMAN, D.D., was published by the Rutland County Historical Society in 1885. The introduction by the secretary of that society says: "The BOARDMANs are all known as a strictly industrious, upright, religious, scholarly race."

Jehiel BOARDMAN (5) was born at Bolton, Conn., Sept. 30, 1761. Emigrating to Norwich, Vt, with his parents in early childhood he, while yet in early youth, commenced active life as a soldier in the Revolutionary army. After the war he became a merchant and lumberman at Norwich, where, in 1789, he married Sally HATCH. In 1795 the glittering reports that came to him concerning the "Western Reserve" (which was just offering itself to civilized occupancy) caused him to take a journey thither. His route was on foot from Norwich to Philadelphia to Pittsburg, finishing his journey to Cincinnati on a government boat loaded with corn. Here General Wayne was drilling his men preparatory to the famous battle with the Indians at Miami. (footnote here: The land where Cincinnati now stands was then selling for $1 an acre, and one mile back from the river it brought twenty-five cents an acre.) Mr. BOARDMAN returned to Norwich with the intention of emigrating to the Western Reserve, but was prevented by the opposition of friends and the dangers and hardships of the journey. In 1799 he removed to Derby, Vt, a few miles from the Canada line. Here he cleared up a farm, commenced lumbering, and subsequently engaged in merchandising. In 1813 he decided to move to the Ohio country. His family then consisted of seven children. The long and tedious journey was made with his own teams, taking with him his household goods. They reached Olean early in 1814, then the head of the navigation on the Allegheny, and where boats were fitted out for going down the river. Pleased with the advantages Olean offered Mr. BOARDMAN decided to settle here, purchased land on the north side of Olean creek (the present site of Boardmanville), and began to clear and make a home in the dense pine forest, building a log house, in which he lived while clearing and improving his land. In 1817 he built a large frame barn 34 x 54 feet and in 1818 erected a commodious frame dwelling 32 x 44 feet. These buildings were built by hand, as there was no machine work in those days, and they are yet in use, the house now standing on First avenue in Boardmanville. Jehiel BOARDMAN was a man well calculated by disposition and inclination for a pioneer. He was energetic, industrious, and scrupulously honest, and for the score of years he lived in the newly-settled town of Olean his influence was greatly felt and duly appreciated by his fellow citizens. He resided in the home he had built until his death, July 27, 1834. His wife survived him seven years. 

Olcott P. BOARDMAN (6), youngest son of Jehiel and Sally (HATCH) BOARDMAN, was born at Derby, Vt, March 28, 1810, and came with his parents to Olean. His childhood days were passed in the pioneer's home, and amid the labors and privations incident to that life he attained a manhood vigorous in the sturdy characteristics which make the worthy man. His school education was necessarily limited, but he made good use of the opportunities afforded, and when nineteen years of age became clerk for Hon. F. S. MARTIN; his next employer was G.E. WARREN, a lumber dealer of Pittsburg. He passed the spring and summer seasons in that city and the winters in the Upper Allegany, where he bought lumber. When twenty-two years old he re-purchased the old homestead (his father having lost his title by the bankruptcy of Hoops) from F. A. NORTON, who had become land proprietor of this portion of "Hoop's purchase." In 1833 Mr. BOARDMAN made very many improvements on the homestead, but during the great tornado of March 20, 1834, his unfinished barn was devastated, his house greatly injured, and of his 200 acres of timber hardly a tree was left standing. This disaster, although destroying most of his property, did not discourage him, and he rebuilt and repaired the buildings which were occupied by his parents. From this time until 1849 he was successfully engaged in lumbering, supplying the markets of the cities on the Ohio river from the pineries of the Allegheny and its tributaries. In 1849 Mr. BOARDMAN remodeled the homestead and made it his home. In 1867 he selected and made extensive purchases of land (covered with valuable timber) in the fertile Red River valley of Minnesota. In 1871 the first iron bridge in town was built over Olean creek at Boardmanville by Mr. BOARDMAN, then highway commissioner, despite great opposition. Boardmanville, comprising about thirty acres of the BOARDMAN farm, was platted in 1878. Over five acres was given to streets fifty feet wide and avenues forty feet wide. The lots were 50 x 120 feet in size. The first sale of lots was made and buildings erected in the fall of 1879. The deeds have a clause prohibiting the sale of intoxicating liquors. There are now more than 100 good homes with a population of 500 people in Boardmanville, showing the results of a wise and liberal policy of dealing and the benefit of the prohibition of liquor traffic. In Nov, 1883, he moved into his fine brick residence, which he commenced to build in Sept, 1882, on the old homestead site, personally superintending its construction, and here he now resides with his wife and granddaughter amid its lovely surroundings awaiting the Master's call. 

Mr. BOARDMAN married, October 3, 1833, Marcia P., daughter of Luman RICE, a prominent pioneer and businessman of Olean. Their son, Luman Olcott BOARDMAN, born at Olean, December 16, 1835, married Emeline C., daughter of Joshua N. BARTLETT of Olean. He died Sept. 11, 1881. Mrs. Emeline C. BOARDMAN died June 1, 1889. Their children were Marcia Rice, born at Olean, and Olcott P., who died Aug. 1, 1871. Mr. BOARDMAN has ever been an important factor in the civil business of the town. In 1838 he was elected justice of the peace at Olean; he was postmaster from 1849 to 1853, toll collector on the Genesee Valley canal at Olean from 1860 to 1862, assistant assessor of United States internal revenue from 1862 to 1866, has also served as town assessor, for years has been a prominent and useful member of the Board of Education, and in many positions of trust has done admirable service. Mr. BOARDMAN is a strong temperance worker and has been a conscientious member of the Presbyterian church for more than half a century. He is a careful and methodical man of business, who has done much service to the community in responsible positions. He stands in the front rank of progress, and the active influence of both himself and estimable wife has been freely given to causes working for the betterment of humanity. 

Ed. Note: This biography includes a photograph of Olcott P. BOARDMAN

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 904

Surnames: BRADNER, ADAMS

John H. BRADNER, the general manager of the large dry goods establishment of George B. ADAMS & Co., is a native of Orange county, and during his residence in Olean has acquired an enviable reputation for honest dealing, strict integrity, and uprightness.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 904

Surname: CONKLIN

William H. CONKLIN moved from his native town (Greenfield, Saratoga county) to Wyoming county in the fall of 1824. In 1843 he removed to the village of Castile, where he established business as a blacksmith and wagon maker, which he moved to Olean in 1860. Here he has carried on business under the firm name of W. H. & D. C. CONKLIN, manufacturing wagons which have acquired a wide reputation. Mr. CONKLIN is one of the leading citizens of Olean. He is esteemed as a man of substantial worth.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 904

Surname: COON

James V. D. COON, M.D. (see also page 157), has doubtless the longest presidential record of any man in Cattaraugus county. Prominent among the Olean organizations of which he has held the position of presiding officer, or of which he is president at the present time, are the Board of Trade since its formation in 1888, the Board of Education, the village, the Electric Light and Power Company, and the Building, Loan, and Savings Association. He has also held other important public positions, being coroner three years, and in all these various capacities, Dr. COON has evinced a broad and liberal mind, absolute integrity, and an intimate knowledge of parliamentary practices. He is an energetic republican and a worthy Mason.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 904

Surname: BULLIS

Spencer S. BULLIS was born in Aurora, N. Y., in 1846, and when twenty years old was engaged in the lumber business in that town, going from there to Port Allegany, Pa., with his brother, and as BULLIS Brothers operated there for five years, when they bought the Fobes mills near State Line, establishing there the town known as BULLIS Mills, and also about the same time building the large mills at Carrolton, both of which are still producing large amounts of lumber. His personal lumber interests are conducted under the head of the Allegany Lumber Company (Limited). It was in 1884 that the various lumberman of Olean and vicinity formed what is called the United Lumber Company (Limited), which was finally succeeded by the Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Company, of which Mr. BULLIS was made general manager, and which does business from the Atlantic to the Mississippi. Mr. BULLIS purchased large tracts along the Red House, Quaker Run, Sugar Creek, and Willow Creek valleys, containing some 40,000 acres and tributary to the Allegany & Kinzua railroad. Mr. BULLIS is a central figure in the lumber transactions of northern Pennsylvania. He is the executive officer of all his business enterprises. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 905

Surnames: CHAMBERLIN, PLATT, WOODRUFF, CLARK, TROY, NORTHRUP, PIERCE

George CHAMBERLIN, son of Moses and Anna (PLATT) CHAMBERLIN, was born in Franklinville, Aug 11, 1821, and was one of a family of fourteen children, eleven of whom grew to maturity. George at the age of twenty-one went on foot to Massachusetts with his cousin Arad WOODRUFF, for the purpose of perfecting a brick-making machine. He remained there about a year without successfully completing the invention, when he left it to his cousin and returned the same way to Cattaraugus county. He next became a millwright, and invented, patented, and perfected a rope-making machine and sold the right for $5,000. About 1848 he came to Olean, where he spent the remainder of his life. Here he established a foundry and machine shop which he continued as a custom and job establishment until he completed and patented his stump-pulling machine, the manufacture and sale of which gave employment to ten men. This business he conducted till his death Oct. 17, 1884. He was a pillar of the Methodist Church and its steward and trustee. Feb. 4, 1846, he married Clarissa CLARK, who was born June 6, 1825, and who died Nov. 6, 1866; children: Henry W., Lewis G., and Ella V.

Henry W. CHAMBERLIN, born March 2, 1847, received a business education in Buffalo, engaged with his father in manufacturing his stump-pulling machines, and was a member of the CHAMBERLIN Manufacturing Company until Feb. 24, 1888, when he became the sole owner of the business and conducted it alone until his death Nov. 9, 1889. The business is continued by Mr. CHAMBERLIN's widow and by Edward TROY, who had long served as book-keeper. Mr. CHAMBERLIN was president of Olean village and a member of the Board of Education. June 9, 1870, he married Emma O. NORTHRUP, of Onondaga county, and they had one daughter, Clara N. Lewis G. CHAMBERLIN was born April 20, 1851, and became a partner in the CHAMBERLIN Manufacturing Company in 1875, where he was engaged until Feb. 1888, when he sold his interest to his brother and engaged in the real estate business and in manufacturing dynamite in Chattanooga, Tenn. He died in Olean, Nov. 16, 1891. May 22, 1877, he married Patience S. PIERCE, of Ischua; children: George L., born Feb. 26, 1878, and C. Husted, born Feb. 9, 1885.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 905

Surnames: CLARK, LUTHER, HARDY

Andrew B. CLARK, native of Rushford, N. Y. , was born in 1847 and came to Olean with his parents when he was seven years old. Receiving a good business education he first learned the carpenter's trade and after building the shops, etc. for James H. LUTHER he began with the latter the trade of pattern making which he still follows. Aug. 8, 1868, Mr. CLARK married Carrie S. HARDY of Rushford, Allegany county.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 905

Surname: COAST

John COAST was born in Venango county, Pa., in 1825. His early business operations consisted of manufacturing iron and fire-brick; he was a pioneer in the oil development, being one of the first to engage in the business, and having since successfully followed it, operating in all the fields. Before pipe lines were established Mr. COAST shipped the oil down the river in barges. With his sons F. T. and J. W. he has conducted an extensive oil business and pushed to a successful issue many other enterprises of note.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 905 & 906

Surnames: COON, FERRIN, WEBER

Sam H. COON, the city and associate editor of the "Olean Daily" and "Weekly Times", has been a resident of Olean about seven years, during which time he has thoroughly identified himself with the material interests of the city. Mr. COON was born at Ashaway, R. I., and at an early age went to Wisconsin,where his youth was spent. He learned the printer's trade in a country newspaper office in Wisconsin, and attended school at Albion (Wis.) Academy and Alfred (N. Y.) University. He began his newspaper experience with FERRIN & WEBER on the "Cattaraugus Republican". Mr. COON has a wide acquaintance in journalism and is regarded as a versatile writer. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 906

Surnames: DOWNS, BULLIS

John W. DOWNS was born in Wellsville, Allegany county, July 4, 1862, and came to Olean in 1877 in the interests of BULLIS Brothers, which firm soon afterward merged into the Allegany Lumber Company, with whom Mr. DOWNS continues as superintendent of the lumber department.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 906

Surnames: DUFFY, LeSTRANGE

Patrick J. DUFFY, born in Ireland, July 9, 1850, became a merchant tailor in Olean in 1880. In May, 1879, he married Mary E. LeSTRANGE, of Pennsylvania. He is a highly respected citizen and a careful business man.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 906

Surnames: DUKE, COKAYNE, REASER, MORGAN, PIERCE

Joseph DUKE, son of William and Elizabeth (COKAYNE) DUKE, natives of England who emigrated to America about 1829, was born in Conklin, N. Y., April 23, 1836. In 1841 the family removed to Scio, N. Y., and July 3, 1866, he married Emily REASER at Hammondsport, N. Y.. He settled in McKean county, Pa., with his brothers, and built up the village of Duke's Center, named in their honor. They bought quite extensively of cheap lands and when it was discovered that they were situated in the Bradford oil belt large parcels were sold. They were also extensive lumber dealers and manufacturers. In the spring of 1875 William and Joseph DUKE went to Bradford and opened there the first lumber yard. Later they bought extensively lands which proved to be good oil territory. Joseph DUKE was a director in the Bradford National Bank and when Bradford became a city he was nominated by the Republicans for mayor, but declined the honor. He was for years intimately connected with Olean and decided to make it his home. He removed hither and purchased one of the most eligible sites in town, upon which he commenced the erection of a fine residence, but died Dec. 25, 1884. The Bradford Oil Exchange, of which he was a member, convened at once, appointed a committee of five members who attended his funeral, and adopted resolutions, in which were these words: "In his death the Exchange loses a member whose quiet, unobtrusive life was a synonym of all the attributes which adorn life and make man respected." Mrs. DUKE resides in Olean. Children: Joseph Hanford, born Dec 25, 1868, of Corry, Pa., and Myron J., born Dec 3, 1875. 

John DUKE, son of William and a native of Corbettsville, N. Y., was born April 14, 1832. After his father's death in 1848 he remained with his mother until he attained his majority, when he became a millwright, which, with farming and lumbering, he followed the ensuing twenty years. About 1868, with his brothers Thomas, Joseph, and Charles, he removed from Scio to McKean county, Pa., and settled in the hamlet now known as Duke's Center, where he continued his old occupation until 1878, when he commenced oil operations by sinking two wells on his own lands, which have since constantly produced oil. In 1881 he came to Olean and built a beautiful residence and a brick block on Union street which bears his name. He is also interested in real estate, and is identified with the denomination of Disciples of Christ at Duke's Center, to which he gave the grounds and most of the funds for the erection of the church edifice of the First Church of Christ, and also planned and laid out the Duke's Center Cemetery. Mr. DUKE married Nancy J., the daughter of Joseph MORGAN, of Scio. They have an adopted son, William C. DUKE, a farmer at Duke's Center, who married Ella PIERCE and has sons John G., G. Wellington, and Daniel.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 906 & 907

Surnames: EATON, LOCKWOOD

Fred R. EATON, born in Springville, N. Y., July 24, 1833, was educated in Springville Academy, and in 1856 became interested in mercantile business in Olean, but for two years thereafter remained personally in Buffalo, acting as under-sheriff under his father-in-law, Orrin T. LOCKWOOD. In 1858 he removed with his family to Olean and was an active merchant here thirty years. During that time his stores were burned four different times and upon two occasions the loss was total. During his business career he built fourteen stores on Union street between State and Laurens, two of which are now standing, all the others having been burned. There are now standing in the city eleven dwelling houses which were also built by him. In politics Mr. EATON has always been a republican, and as such was elected supervisor of Olean in 1863 and 1864. As a member of the town board during the war he successfully resisted an attempt to repudiate town bonds issued to resident volunteers for the purpose of keeping the quota full. In 1879 Mr. EATON was elected president of the village and re-elected in 1880. In 1886 business called him to Duluth, Minn., where he has since spent most of his time.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 907

Surname: EATON

A. T. EATON was born in Cuba, N. Y., and has spent most of his life in banking institutions. After residing a number of years in the west he returned to Cuba, where he entered a bank as collection clerk

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 907

Surnames: EMERSON, ALLEN

Andrew J. EMERSON was born in Allen, N. Y., Feb 28, 1856, and married Lula ALLEN, of the same place, who was born Dec. 3, 1855; children: Susie and Grace. Mr. EMERSON came to Olean in 1886 and shortly afterward established his present business of manufacturing marble and granite monuments.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 907

Surnames: FARLEY, LAMBECK

JAMES FARLEY was born in Havana, Schuyler county, August 6, 1856, and at the age of seventeen located in Olean, where he has since resided. Feb. 8, 1882, he opened the Buffalo House, which he still conducts as a hotel. July 2, 1878, Mr. FARLEY married Anna M. LAMBECK, of Olean. A Democrat in politics he was elected alderman of his (the 3d) ward in 1887.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 907

Surname: FIX

Jacob FIX, born in Batavia, N. Y., August 19, 1868, located in Olean as baker and confectioner in 1886. He has built up a profitable business and a good reputation and enjoys the respect of a large circle of friends. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 907

Surname: FRANCHOT

N. V. V. FRANCHOT was born in Morris, Otsego county, August 21, 1855, and attended and was graduated form the Union School at Schenectady and from Union College in 1875. He began business in Millerstown, Pa., but removed to Olean, Sept. 1, 1878, where he has since resided. His operations have been principally in producing petroleum in connection with the firm of FRANCHOT Brothers, of which he was the senior and active member. He is interested in the Tidewater Pipe-Line Company, in some valuable mines in Canada, and in real estate in Washington and Olean. Mr. FRANCHOT was chairman of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trade its first year. He stands high in the councils of the Republican party, and as a business man and citizen is energetic, progressive, and competent.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 907

Surnames: FRAWLEY, ROACH

John B. FRAWLEY, born in Owego, N. Y., Feb. 20, 1845, began learning his trade of tinsmith in Syracuse in 1863 and located in Olean in 1879, establishing himself in the hardware business, which he still follows. May 29, 1872, he married Margaret E. ROACH of Owego. Mr. FRAWLEY was for some time a member of the Board of Education.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 908

Surname: GALLAGHER

GALLAGHER Brothers, sons of James GALLAGHER, came to Olean in 1878 and engaged in the manufacture and sale of nitroglycerine and dynamite, and did a large business in the Bradford, West Virginia, and Ohio oil fields, where they torpedoed successfully hundreds of wells. James E. GALLAGHER, the senior brother, is the patentee of the valuable "Explosive Weight," which will explode a torpedo or other explosive at any depth and 2,000 feet under water. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 908

Surname: GILLINGHAM

Charles GILLINGHAM, a native of England, came to this country in 1852, when twenty-six years of age, locating at once in Olean. Being a carpenter by trade he soon began contracting and has since successfully followed that line of business. In 1865, after the great fire, he started the Olean Sash Factory. Mr. GILLINGHAM has built many public buildings, among them the Chamberlain Institute and Dow's Bank at Randloph, St. Bonaventure's College at Allegany, First M. E. church and Alumni hall of Ingham University at LeRoy, and the Exchange National Bank and the Methodist, Baptist and Episcopal churches in Olean. Although naturally of a quiet temperament he is relied upon for active work in all philanthropic measures. He is a staunch Republican and a fearless temperance advocate, is a director of the Forman Library Association, and the oldest member in point of service on the Board of Education. Perhaps his greatest efforts outside of business have been in the line of church work. He has long been a member and supporter of the Methodist church of Olean, being for many years superintendent of the Sunday school, and occupying various other official positions.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 908

Surnames: GODFREY, PECK, NORTON, BOUTON, HICKS, OOSTERHOUDT, TUBBS, OLDS, VAN DUSEN

David P. GODFREY, son of Joel and Permelia (PECK) GODFREY, was born in West Bloomfield, N. Y., Sept. 1, 1813, and in the spring of 1827 came with his father to Yankee hill in Ischua. In Dec. 1829, they removed to Pleasant valley in Olean, about two miles north of the village. In 1834 he purchased his first 100 acres of wild land of Frederick A. NORTON, paid for it, and added to it from time to time until he had nearly 300 acres. He has aided in building the local school house and two church edifices for the Methodists, of which church he is a member and trustee. In 1841 he married Abigail BOUTON, by whom he had one son, Elisaph D., born in Jan. 1842. He enlisted in the 154th N. Y. Vols. and received a gunshot wound at the battle of Chancellorsville. Upon recovery he was again employed by the government, which he has continuously served to the present time, being now in the Pension Department as a travelling agent. He married Amanda HICKS; children living: Carrie (Mrs. Charles OOSTERHOUDT); Orrin W. and Frank N., of the firm of D. P. GODFREY and Sons, farmers, breeders of full blood Holstein cattle, milk dealers, who reside on the homestead; I. Mulvin, a farmer in Portville; Elmer M., express messenger; and Fred W., a photographer in Olean. Orrin W. GODFREY, born on the farm where he now resides, Jan 30, 1849, was educated in the common school of his district and in Olean Academy, and has always been a farmer. May 24, 1871 he married Frances H., daughter of John A and Elizabeth C. (TUBBS) OLDS, of Smethport, Pa., who were pioneers of McKean county. Children: Mina A. and Myra E. (twins), born Aug. 15, 1873, and Elizabeth A., born Sept. 13, 1888. Frank N. GODFREY, also born on the homestead, June 29, 1852, married, Sept. 13, 1886, Helen A. VAN DUSEN, of Olean, and has one daughter, Ruth A., born April 1, 1889.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 908 & 909

Surnames: HASTINGS, FOX, SHEPARD

Henry HASTINGS, son of Barnabas and Permelia (FOX) HASTINGS, was born in Cortland county Dec. 5, 1828. In 1836 his parents removed to Sardinia, N. Y., and his mother died in September following. At the age of 15 he began working in summer and attending school in winter, and learned the carpenter's trade in Ontario county, where he resided about five years. In the fall of 1851 he came to Olean, where he has since resided. He has been a carpenter and builder nearly forty years, and is also a farmer on lot 3. Mr. HASTINGS has been highway commissioner four years and with his colleagues in office built the first Iron bridge in Olean. He also served as assessor one term. Sept. 20, 1855, he married Sarah, daughter of the pioneer, William B. SHEPARD; children: Fred B., born Sept. 28, 1856; Ellen S., born Sept. 14, 1858; Wm. H., born Jan. 1, 1874; Frank E., born Jan. 1, 1866, died Nov. 2, 1876.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 909

Surnames: HAUGH, McGUINN

Michael J. HAUGH was born in Ireland, Aug. 15 1853, came with his parents to America when seven years of age, and finally learned the trade of stone cutter, which he followed several years. Locating in Olean in 1879 he established his present bottling works, being also a dealer in ice, and meeting in all his business enterprises with excellent success. June 12, 1881, he married Margaret McGUINN, of Weston's Mills.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 909

Surnames: HEILBRUNN, ROSENBAUM

Joseph HEILBRUNN, a native of Germany, was born May 17, 1848, immigrated to America in 1866, and located in Olean in 1880, where he started a small business in peddlers' supplies, which he constantly increased in volume to the present proportions. His wife is Rosa ROSENBAUM, whom he married in October, 1880.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 909

Surnames: HIGGINS

Orin T. HIGGINS was born in Centerville, Allegany county, August 14, 1826. He successfully followed the mercantile business for many years in Allegany county and was engaged in banking and other commercial enterprises, through which he amassed an ample fortune. Mr. HIGGINS latterly gave his entire attention to his extensive timber and real estate interests, principally in Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota. He was president of the HIGGINS Land Company and treasurer of the Olean Land Company, and was one of the largest individual owners of white pine timbered lands in the United States. He had also extensive real estate interests in this city. He died March 3, 1890.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 909

Surnames: HIGGINS, BLODGETT

Frank W. HIGGINS was born in Rushford in 1856. His schooling was finished at the Riverview Military Academy on the Hudson, after which, at the age of twenty, he went in to trade in Michigan. In 1879 he came to Olean and took the active management of the business of HIGGINS, BLODGETT & Co. who at that time were running a number of stores in the oil country and in Allegany and Wyoming counties. He now devotes most of his time to western land interests. An active Republican, he has been chairman of the County Committee, and was a member from the 34th Congressional District to the Chicago convention of 1888. He did effective work upon the stump during the campaign of that year and is among the recognized leaders of his party in this part of the State. His name is spoken of as a candidate of his party for a State senator. He is president of the Forman Library Association, has been eminent commander of the St. John's Commandery, K. T., was a member of the St. Stephen's church building committee, and a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trade.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 909

Surnames: HOLLY, ALLEN

George J. HOLLY, born in Ceres, Allegany county, in 1860, married in 1881, Emily R. daughter of Dewitt C. ALLEN, of Allentown, Allegany county. He is a member of the 43d Separate Company and his wife is a dealer in hair goods, etc., in Olean. Her father, who died in 1864, was a prominent resident of Allegany county, holding several important offices and being extensively engaged in business enterprises. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 909 & 910

Surnames: HOMER, SEYMOUR, CLARK, ROOT

Samuel R. HOMER was born in Lowell, Mass., Feb. 1, 1817, and died in Olean, March 20, 1889. Mr. HOMER came to Olean about the time of the construction of the New York, Lake Erie & Western railroad in 1841, with which he was prominently connected, being the superintendent of construction of the telegraph lines from Jersey City westward to Little Valley. Upon the completion of the road he took charge of the dining-room at the Olean station, which he conducted for many years. With the exception of about two years Mr. HOMER has been continuously a resident of Olean since 1851. In 1859 he became associated with ex-Governor Horatio SEYMOUR in the lumber business in this town, and the two were jointly the owners for many years of a large tract of real estate north of the city. Their partnership relations were dissolved about 1880, but their personal relations remained of the most close and intimate character until the death of the ex-governor. Until the advancing years brought feeble health Mr. HOMER was actively engaged in business enterprises, in which he was successful in a marked degree. He had led an upright, honorable and useful life. He generously placed at the disposal of the Board of Trade valuable and desirable tracts of land, was prominently connected with the Masonic bodies in the city, and was one of the early members of St. John's Commandery, K. T. He married, Nov. 14, 1845, Sarah A. CLARK; children residing in Olean: Eugene A., George D., and James M. George D. HOMER was born in Piermont N. H., July 27, 1849, and with his brothers is a farmer and stock breeder. James M. HOMER, born in Olean, April 3, 1852, married September 20, 1883, Hattie D. ROOT, of Bolivar N. Y. Eugene A. HOMER is the Olean agent for the American Express Company.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 910

Surnames: HUTCHINGS, SUTTON

William HUTCHINGS, an Englishman by birth and parentage, was born in 1851, came to America, locating in Armstrong county, Pa., in 1869, where he was engaged in the oil business, and in 1883 settled in Olean, where he opened the Genesee House. In 1881 He married Eva SUTTON, of Greece City, Pa.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 910

Surname: IRISH

William M. IRISH, general local manager of the Standard Oil Company, was born at Fair Haven, Mass., July 2, 1829, served as clerk in the customs office at New Bedford during the administration of Pierce and Buchanan, and in 1861 engaged in the petroleum oil refining business at that place, being made superintendent of the New Bedford Oil Company, which was one of the first to engage in refining petroleum. In 1865 Mr. IRISH came to the oil country and became the superintendent and treasurer of the Wamsutta Oil Company, which was located on Oil creek. In 1872 he became the superintendent of the Octave Refining Company at Titusville, remaining with that company until it was sold to the Acme Refining Company in 1876. Mr. IRISH came to this city in May, 1876, taking the position of general manager of the Acme Works, which position he has since held. In point of years of experience he is one of the oldest oil refiners in the country, and has acquired a thorough and independent practical and scientific knowledge of the business. His opinions on the various branches of oil refining are recognized as high authority, and he is frequently called upon as an expert. He was a member of the school board and city council of Titusville for several years, a member of the Board of Education of this city nearly eight years, being president of the board a considerable part of the time, and was president of the first Board of Water Commissioners in Olean, during which administration the works were constructed. He was appointed by Governor Cleveland a member of the Board of Directors of the State Insane Asylum at Buffalo and was re-appointed by Governor Hill. Mr. IRISH is one of the directors of the Olean Electric Light and Power Company, was president of the Board of Trade and remains interested in the growth and advancement of the town. He is now President of the Board of Health and one of the supervisors of the city.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 911

Surnames: JACKSON, PERCIVAL, RAUB

Edward S. JACKSON, son of Dr. Thomas S and Sarah A. (PERCIVAL) JACKSON was born in Portville, Oct. 13, 1859, was educated in the public schools, commenced the study of dentistry in 1878, and was graduated from the Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery in Philadelphia in the spring of 1887. He at once settled in Olean for the practice of his profession, where he is still engaged. He is a member of the Eighth District Dental Society of the State of New York and a member and a steward of the First M. E. church of Olean. June 5, 1881, he married Carrie M., daughter of Dr. L. M. RAUB, of Bolivar; children: Albert H. and Lewis E.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 911

Surnames: JOHNSON, RUSSELL, FOLLETT, STONE, DUDLEY, MARTIN, HARMON, JACKSON

James G. JOHNSON, of English descent, came from Canandaigua to Olean (then known as Hamilton) in 1808 and commenced the first settlement within the corporate limits of the present city. He was immediately joined by Sylvanus RUSSELL and Bibbins FOLLETT. Mr. JOHNSON died early in 1811. At his death his widow, whose maiden name was Sophia STONE, of Scotch parentage and on her mother’s side a descendant of the DUDLEY family, returned to her father’s house in Bloomfield, Ontario county where her son, James G. JOHNSON, who was given his father’s name, was born Sept. 13, 1811. Mrs. JOHNSON remained with her father until 1819, when she returned to Olean. About this time James G., Jr., commenced attending school, which he continued two years, after which his school days were limited to the winter season, and were discontinued when he reached the age of thirteen. At the age of fourteen he left home and for eight months was clerk in a store at Centerville. He then entered the store of Ebenezer Lockwood in Olean where he remained two years, when Mr. Lockwood discontinued business. He was next a clerk with William Bagley. In 1831 he entered the store of the late Judge Martin at a salary of $10 per month and board and washing. Prior to this he had a stated salary with Osborne & Bockes a few months. Young JOHNSON continued in the employ of Judge Martin five years, when he became a partner under the firm name of MARTIN & JOHNSON, which partner-ship was continued nine years. In 1846 he removed to Allegany, where he had previously bought a tract of timber land and a saw-mill, and engaged in the manufacture and sale of lumber and also carried on a mercantile business. In company with Eleazar HARMON, of Ellicottville, he platted into lots and sold the grounds where the village of Allegany has since been built. In 1854, with Gilbert Palen, he built and operated the sole-leather tannery afterward owned by the late J B. Strong. In 1862, at the suggestion of the late Hon.E. Fenton, then member of Congress, he was commissioned by President Lincoln captain and assistant quartermaster, and assigned to duty in the Army of the Potomac. He saw the battle of South Mountain and Antietam and was with the army under General McClellan and General Burnside in its march to Fredericksburg. He was stationed at Aquia creek in the winter of 1863-64 and subsequently at Harrisburg, where he remained on duty until the close of the war. For meritorious service he was promoted to the rank of colonel of volunteers. He returned to Olean with his health impaired, but again established an extensive mercantile business, which he continued some years and resigned it to his sons. He was active in the formation of the First National Bank of Olean, of which he was one of its directors. He was convinced that Olean and Allegany were within the Bradford oil belt, and he so impressed others with his convictions that they, with him, formed a company and sunk the first oil wells in both these towns, on land leased by him to the company. Colonel JOHNSON was first a Whig and an active worker in that party’s ranks. He was nominated by his party in 1848 for the State Legislature and was elected. His brother, Marcus H. JOHNSON, who was residing in the Second District of this county, was nominated the same year by the Democrats and elected over the Whig nominee. In the fall of 1849 his party nominated and elected him county clerk. In 1871 he was appointed postmaster of Olean and filled the position until 1877. He was also supervisor of Olean in 1840, 1843, 1844, and 1845 and of Allegany in 1855.

Elisha M. JOHNSON, son of James G., was born June 13, 1844. With his brother Marcus H., under the firm name of JOHNSON Brothers, carried on for many years an extensive grocery and produce trade. Marcus H. died in 1876 and Elisha M. became an oil producer. He was elected to the Legislature in 1880 and in 1883-84 was a member of the Republican State Committee. Sept. 2, 1874, he married Cornelia Harriet JACKSON, of Avon, N. Y.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 912

Surnames: JOHNSON, MASON

James F JOHNSON, a native of Lisle, N. Y., was born Nov. 3, 1831, was for three years succeeding 1851 a miner in California, and in 1855 located in Olean where he has been a justice of the peace about twenty years, conducting also an extensive real estate business He was deputy sheriff six years. In 1856 he married Mary E., daughter of Dr. John MASON, of Mercer, Pa.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 912

Surnames: JOHNSON, CARR

Julius P. JOHNSON was born March 18, 1847, in Darien, Genesee county, spent two years at and was graduated in 1863 from the Poughkeepsie Business College, and in 1868 located in Olean, where he has since followed the avocation of book-keeper, being also an expert accountant. Aug. 18, 1868, he married Lodema E. CARR, of Byron, Genesee county. Their daughter Nellie S. is a graduate of the Olean High School and a book-keeper by profession. Mr. JOHNSON is a staunch Democrat.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 912

Surnames: JOHNSON, ROOT, RIDER, WARING, OOSTERHOUDT, LATIMER, GOODWIN

James M JOHNSON, son of James S. and Sarah (ROOT) JOHNSON, was born In Ellicottville, April 29, 1856, was educated in the Ellicottville Union Free School and by ex-District Attorney G. M. RIDER and District Attorney J. H. WARING, and was a clerk in the postoffice of his native town two years, after which he became assistant at Hinsdale. Two years later he was employed in a general store in Franklinville. In 1881 he formed a partnership with the late Samuel OOSTERHOUDT in the shoe business. Mr. OOSTERHOUDT died in the fall of 1884, when Mr. JOHNSON sold to the estate of his partner. He soon after purchased the store of L. LATIMER & Co. and has since continued the shoe business alone. He is also interested with a partner in a similar store in Jamestown. He is a member of the Board of Trade, and as a Republican has represented Olean in the county conventions and on the Republican Count Committee. In Jan., 1884, be married Anna S., only child of N. S. GOODWIN, of Olean. They have two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 912

Surname: KERR

Will J. KERR, a native of Liverpool, England, came to America in 1868 and to Olean in 1886, where, about 1888, he commenced the jewelry business, in which he has been eminently successful and maintains an excellent reputation.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 912

Surnames: LEE, ALDRICH

M. L. LEE, youngest son of Lyman (see page 780), was born in Little ValIey, Feb.15, 1839, and has been in the employ of the Erie railroad over thirty years. In the fall of 1860 he married Jane E., daughter of Stephen ALDRICH, of Little Valley, and Oct. 23. 1875, became station agent for the Erie at Olean.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 912 & 913

Surnames: LEWIS, WADE, HUNTLEY, HASTINGS

Stillman E. LEWIS, son of Caleb and Joanna (WADE) LEWIS, was born in Farmersville, Feb. 25, 1845. His father became a settler there in 1832 and cleared a farm where he died in 1856. Mrs. LEWIS died in 1861. Stillman LEWIS received his education in the common schools and in the academy at Arcade. In August 1863, he enlisted under Capt. G. Fred Potter in Co. C, 13th N. Y. H. M. A., and was promoted orderly to the regimental surgeon and later was hospital steward with headquarters at Portsmouth, Va. He was discharged in July, 1865. In 1869 he began the profession of dentistry in Cuba, N. Y., where he was in practice until 1876, when he went to Elmira and remained until 1877. He came to Olean in 1878, where he has since practiced. In 1871 he married Julia A. HUNTLEY, of Angelica, who died in 1873, being the mother of their son Stanley H. In 1877 he married Jennie M. HASTINGS, of Cuba; children: Maud H. and Lina W.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 913

Surnames: LITTLE, McVEY

John LITTLE was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1818, and. coming to America settled in Franklinville in 1843, where he held the office of postmaster from June, 1861, until his death Jan.27, 1886. His son John was born there Jan. 1, 1847, and in the fall of 1882 was elected sheriff of the county, which caused his removal to Little Valley, and at the expiration of his term of office removed to Olean, where he was subsequently appointed under sheriff. In 1870 he married a daughter of Hon. William McVEY.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 913

Surnames: LOCKWOOD, HALL

Thomas LOCKWOOD came to Olean with his brother, Hon. Ebenezer LOCKWOOD, about 1806. He was a lumberman and raftsman, and one of the prominent pioneers of the county. He resided in Olean some thirty or forty years, and about 1850 removed to Hinsdale and settled on a farm on Olean creek, where he spent the remainder of his life. He was supervisor of Olean from 1819 to 1822 inclusive. His son, James M. LOCKWOOD, married Cora E. HALL. He enlisted in the U. S. navy in 1864 and was discharged a year later.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 913

Surnames: LUTHER, STEPHENSON

James H. LUTHER, born in North Scituate, R. I., June 27, 1826, came with his father Peleg to New Hartford, Oneida county, in 1828, but in 1847 returned to Providence, R. I., to complete his trade of machinist. In 1865 he began the manufacture of oil tools in Petroleum Center, Pa., moved thence in 1872 to Karns City, Pa., and in 1880 came to Olean, where he established a foundry and machine shop under the firm name of J. H. LUTHER & Sons, the sons being George H. and Charles P. Upon the death of the father the firm became J. H. LUTHER’s Sons and is now the LUTHER Manufacturing Company. Mr. LUTHER married, in 1853, Mary A. STEPHENSON, of Ansonia, Conn. The LUTHERs – father and sons – have been prominent in the material growth of Olean, particularly in the development of the fire department.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 913

Surnames: MANDEVILLE, POMEROY, EASTMAN

William H. MANDEVILLE, son of John D. and Susan (POMEROY) MANDEVILLE, was born in Millport, N. Y., in 1841. He spent his early boyhood in New York city and his youth in Belmont, N. Y., where he was educated. After a clerkship in a general store of five years he began, in 1863, the business of fire insurance, which he has since continued. In 1865, in company with his father, the senior member of the firm of J. D. MANDEVILLE & Son, he came to Olean and established the first agency of the kind in Cattaraugus county. He has been a commissioned insurance agent a longer period than any other man in western New York. He is now the senior member of the firm of W. H. MANDEVILLE & Co. Since he came to Olean he has paid in losses to the insured more than $1,000,000. Aug.22, 1872, he married Helen L. EASTMAN and has one son, born in Oct. 1875.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 913 & 914

Surnames: MAYER, GOODSELL, GREAR

Rudolph MAYER was born in 1827 in Baden Baden, Germany, where he early engaged in business as a butcher and dealer in meats. He married A. GOODSELL, and in 1855 they came to America and joined his brother, Max MAYER, in Olean, who had preceded him four or five years. He formed a partnership with his brother in a meat market, and about 1860 established a market of his own on Union street, where he was in business until the fire of Jan, 1865, when his market was destroyed. He removed to State street in 1871 and continued in business until his death April 21, 1876. Mr. MAYER was a pillar of the Catholic church and one of the foremost in aiding to build their church edifice. Frederick C. MAYER, his son, succeeded his father in the meat market. April 28, 1881, he married Anna GREAR, of Olean, and has three sons and a daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 914

Surnames: McCORMICK, McCLOREY

John H. McCORMICK is a son of Peter McCORMICK, who came to Olean in 1850, followed farming, was well known throughout the county, and died here Aug. 13, 1888. John H. was born in Olean, Sept.11, 1856, received a thorough business education, and May 28, 1884, married Maggie McCLOREY, of Franklinville. He has been engaged in the wholesale wine and liquor business.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 914

Surnames: MELOY, WILLIAMS

John W. MELOY, born in Greeene, N. Y., Sept. 8, 1834, was educated at the Franklin and Binghamton Academies and entered the law office of Morris & Tompkins, where he remained until 1854, when his father removed to Ellicottville and engaged in mercantile business, where young MELOY assisted him until 1859, when us was employed in the banking office of Stanley Martin in Olean. In June 1860, he married Frances J., daughter of Dr. Thomas J. WILLIAMS, of Ellicottville. In 1863 he was appointed assistant superintendent of the Nashville, Decatur, and Stevenson lines of U.S. military railroads with headquarters at Nashville, Tenn. Subsequently the Chattanooga, Knoxville, and Atlanta lines were added to his charge, and these were almost exclusively used in transporting troops and army supplies to General Sherman. When the march from Atlanta to the sea was begun Mr. MELOY was called to assist in opening the railroads through North Carolina. As soon as the war closed he returned home and was a short time in mercantile business in Jamestown. Returning to Portville in 1865 he engaged in the grocery and provision trade and in buying and shipping lumber. For a number of years he was also in the banking and exchange business. Since 1883 he has had a grocery in Olean.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 914

Surnames: MOORE, JONES, STANTON, CHADWICK

George N. MOORE, son of Isaac and Mercy (JONES) MOORE, was born in Bucks county, Pa., Jan. 10, I827. At the age of sixteen he left home and began to learn the trade of carpenter and joiner. At the age of twenty-five he became a contractor and builder. In 1854 he went to Minneapolis and prosecuted his business through the disadvantages of the year 1857. In 1860 he returned to Bucks county, where he remained until 1865, when he settled in Oil City, where he was a contractor and builder and a dealer in lumber until 1879. He was then an oil producer in the Bradford fields and removed to Olean, where he has since resided. Jan. 10, 1876, he married Kate C. STANTON, who was born in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. Her paternal grandfather was Judge Samuel STANTON, of Wayne county, Pa.; her maternal grandfather was Elihu CHADWICK, of New Jersey, a colonel in the Revolution. Children: Clarence Stanton, born March 19, 1877, and Eva May, born March 19, 1879.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 914 & 915

Surnames: MOORE, GILLINGHAM

W. D. MOORE, a Canadian by birth, born May 1, 1847, in 1864 removed to St. Lawrence county and six years later to Weston’s Mills; in 1875 he came to Olean and engaged in building and contracting. In 1881 he entered into partnership with Charles GILLINGHAM and established the Olean Sash and Blind Factory, which was continued until the buildings were destroyed by fire. Mr. MOORE built the MOORE block in Union street and his factory in Wayne street in 1883. In 1884, by the failure of other parties, he had a stock of furniture precipitated upon his hands, and since then has also conducted a large furniture trade. He has been active in many suburban real estate transactions. Mr. MOORE is a member of the Masonic bodies and has occupied every office in the fire department from pipeman to chief. He is also a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trade.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 915

Surnames: NELSON, WATT, STEVENS, WILLIAMS

Alexander W. NELSON was born in Dunbar, Scotland, Feb. 14, 1852. His parents, Walter and Elizabeth (WATT) NELSON, immigrated to America in 1857 and settled in Lockport, N. Y. He was a farmer until he was eighteen, when he became a railroad employee and a conductor at the age of twenty, which he continued until 1889, when he settled in Olean, where he has since been proprietor of and conducted a steam laundry. In 1880 he married Clara STEVENS, of Lockport, who died in 1886, being the mother of two children, of whom Clara W. is living. In 1888 he married Jennie M. WILLIAMS, of Jackson, Mich.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 915

Surnames: OAKLEAF, EATON, BICKFORD

Frank H. OAKLEAF was born in 1852 in Brooklyn, where his early life was spent, removing finally to Titusville, Pa., where he learned the jeweler’s trade. Coming to Olean in 1874 he was for a number of years engaged in the jewelry business with Fred R. EATON, and subsequently became connected with the book and stationery trade, which he still follows, having added to it a line of wall papers and house decorating goods. Mr. OAKLEAF is a member of the Board of Trade. In 1882 he married Jennie V. BICKFORD, of Nashua, N. H.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 915

Surnames: OOSTERHOUDT, REED, BRONSON, BROOKS, ALLEN, SMITH

Samuel OOSTERHOUDT, son of Zachariah and Polly (REED) OOSTERHOUDT, was born in Franklinville, March 28, 1813, and received his literary education in the common schools. The family removed to Olean in 1817, where Mr. OOSTERHOUDT learned the blacksmith’s trade. When about twenty-three he opened a shop in Olean and used the first money he earned to obtain a deed for his father and mother of the homestead farm. Dec. 20, 1838, he married Mary, daughter of Samuel BRONSON and granddaughter of Cornelius BROOKS. Mr. OOSTERHOUDT died Nov. 12, 1884; Mrs. OOSTERHOUDT died June 16, 1890. He followed his trade four years, when he changed to manufacturing and dealing in lumber, which grew to an immense business and required a small army of men. He began a systematic course of building, erecting business blocks and residences, being the pioneer in that direction and probably doing more than any other in building up Olean. He was a financier of more than ordinary ability and was a successful business man. He was a Republican and served as sheriff, supervisor. town auditor, and assessor. He possessed a harmonious character and was distinguished for his sterling integrity, his honorable dealing, and the modesty with which he bestowed a bountiful charity. He was especially the advisor and friend of young men and set many on the road to prosperity. Children: two who died in infancy; Mary Alice (Mrs. H. G. ALLEN), born May 23, 1845; Samuel Francis, born Dec. 12, 1847; and Eva Elizabeth, born Nov. 15, 1852, married J. B. SMITH, a druggist, and has one son, Samuel E., born Sept. 24, 1879. All reside in Olean.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 915 & 916

Surnames: OVERTON, CLYMER, WILMOT, MUDGE

Major G. B. OVERTON born in Athens, Pa., Jan. 9, 1825, was educated at Lafayette College and afterward studied law in his father’s office at Towanda Pa. He was a lineal descendant of George CLYMER, one of the framers of the constitution of the United States and a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Major OVERTON was for sixteen years in the service of the Bingham estate (of which he was an heir) and for eight years was sub-agent for the counties of Elk, Potter, and McKean Pa. While holding this office he married Maria WILMOT, a sister of the Hon. David WILMOT, of Pennsylvania. In 1860 he was a delegate to the National Convention at Chicago and voted for the nomination of Abraham Lincoln. At the beginning of the Rebellion he was chosen captain of a company of the 1st Pa. Rifles (Bucktails). Later he was appointed captain of tile 14th U. S. Inf., and served in the various battles of the Army of the Potomac. While on the staff of Gen. George E. Sykes at Chancellorsviile Major OVERTON was wounded just above the knee by a canister ball. After carrying the ball for twenty-five years it was extracted by Dr. MUDGE, of Olean, and was found to weigh over three ounces. Major OVERTON held three commissions – captain, brevet major, and Iieutenant-colonel. Soon after the war he resigned his commission in the army, and in 1869 was appointed receiver of the Utah Land District. After holding this office eight years he was tendered the position of register in the land office at Fair Play, Col., which he declined, and returned east. In 1880 he came to Clean, where he has since resided.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 916

Surnames: PAGE, BRETT

Wilson R. PAGE is a son of Rufus L. PAGE (deceased), for thirty-five years a respected resident of Olean, and was born here Dec. 29; 1854. Obtaining his education at Andover and Yale he married, Feb.21, 1881, Nellie F. BRETT, of Olean, and was appointed postmaster by President Arthur and re-appointed by President Harrison. Mr. PAGE is an energetic, public spirited citizen, a thorough business man, and a prominent factor in local politics.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 916

Surnames: PARKER, BROOKS, BURLINGAME, BARTLETT, VAN VALKENBURG, LOTT, NELSON, RANDALL, FARR

Erastus PARKER. son of Robert and Betsey (BROOKS) PARKER, was born in Orleans county, Vt., Aug. 16, 1807. His father was a Revolutionary soldier. His mother died in Essex, Vt., and in 1813 the family settled in Clinton county, N. Y. At the age of seventeen he went to Ohio and subsequently to Michigan, Indiana, and Chautauqua county, N. Y. In 1848 he removed with his family to Olean and settled on the south bank of the Allegheny, where he still resides. Aided by his sons John B. and Allen he also bought with his son-in-law, Asa F. BURLINGAME, a tract of timber land and they were quite extensive lumbermen. Mr. PARKER is a Republican and has been for fifteen years overseer of the poor. Aug. 31, 1828, he married Marra BARTLETT in Michigan. She was born in New Hampshire, March 27, 1808. Children: Emeline (Mrs. Asa BURLINGAME); John B., born July 26, 1832, married, in Jan., 1859, Sarah N. VAN VALKENBURG, of Olean, and has five sons and a daughter; Allen (deceased), born March 22, 1834, married Emma LOTT (deceased), and had a son and two daughters; Laura, born April 2, 1836, the widow of John NELSON; Alinda (Mrs. Addie RANDALL); Electa, born Aug. 1, 1843, married Wm. FARR.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 916

Surnames: PENFIELD, RUSSELL

William Walter PENFIELD, born in Portland, Conn., March 19, 1796, married Permelia L. H. RUSSELL, April 10, 1817, who was born in Canajoharie, N. Y., March 14, 1799. They settled in Allegany county, where he was a farmer and tanner with his wife’s father, Samuel M. RUSSELL, until 1827, when he removed to Olean, where he built and conducted a tannery (the first permanent one in the place). He manufactured both sole and upper leather and conducted a large shoe shop, and employed about fifteen men. He was the landlord of the Olean House at the time of the construction of the Genesee Valley canal. He was always a Democrat and in religion a steadfast Episcopalian. He was one of the organizers of St. Stephen’s church and for years one of its vestrymen. He died Oct. 10, 1873.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 916

Surnames: PIERCE, McCLUER, BOARDMAN

William B. PIERCE, who was born in Fabius, Onondaga county, April 16, 1824, came to Olean in 1848 and followed his trade of carpenter and builder for a number of years, and in 1856 engaged in the grocery business. He subsequently became a dealer in coal, lime, etc, and at one time was one of the oldest business men in town. Feb. 11, 1850, Mr. PIERCE married Eveline L. McCLUER of Olean, a niece of O. P. BOARDMAN.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 917

Surnames: PIERCE, FOLLETT

Ormel W. PIERCE was born in Machias, Feb. 9, 1866. His father, John S. PIERCE, was a native of Franklinville, of which town his grandfather, William PIERCE, was an early settler and an extensive land proprietor. Ormel W. PIERCE came to Olean in 1887 and established business as a manufacturer of galvanized iron cornice, making the first goods in this line in Cattaraugus county. Dec. 22, 1887, Mr. PIERCE married Margaret, daughter of William FOLLETT, of Machias.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 917

Surnames: PRATT, HOSLEY

John W. PRATT, son of Aaron S. PRATT, a native of Vermont, was born in Edwards, St. Lawrence county, April 14, 1849. He completed his education at Friendship Academy and taught the village schools of Bolivar and Little Genesee six consecutive terms. His home was then in Bolivar, to which place his parents had removed in 1866. At a competitive examination in the fall of 1872 he received the State free scholarship at Cornell University and entered that institution, but the change from active labor to a student’s life brought on illness and he was obliged to abandon a collegiate course. Since the spring of 1878 he has resided in Olean, where he has been engaged in the grocery trade. He has been a member of the Methodist church since 1879 and Sunday school superintendent, trustee, and treasurer several years. He was a member of the school board three years. While treasurer of his church he collected and paid the large debt on the edifice. Aug.27, 1879, he married Elnora I. HOSLEY, of Olean, and has two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 917

Surnames: REPP, WOLFINGER, HART

Charles F. REPP, son of Frederick and Elizabeth (WOLFINGER) REPP, was born in Scranton, Pa., June 6, 1866. In 1886 he was traveling agent for the Grand Union Tea Company, and in 1887 settled in Olean and opened a retail store for the sale of that company’s goods. In the few years Mr. REPP has resided in Olean he has gained a high reputation. In 1891 he married Martha HART, of Williamsport, Pa.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 917

Surnames: RILEY, WANDS

The firm of RILEY & WANDS (Millard F. RILEY and Charles R. WANDS) is one energetically engaged in the wholesale and retail grocery trade. Both members have served long in mercantile pursuits. The retail store was established in 1882 and the wholesale in 1887. They have been largely interested In Olean real estate, and in all their enterprises have been signally successful.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 917

Surnames: SHAFFER, BROWN

Charles A. SHAFFER was born in Cuba, N. Y., Oct. 9, 1851. In March, 1878, he came to Olean and a year later was appointed by the village council a policeman. He was promoted chief in March, 1887, and still holds that position, having won the promotion by arresting the famous John L. Sullivan in Olean. May 12, 1870, he married Emily P. BROWN, of Hinsdale; children: Belle and Joseph Francis.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 917

Surnames: SHANBUCHER, HERRING

Jacob H. SHANBUCHER was born in Liberty, Pa., March 22, 1843, spent the early part of his life with his father in farming and lumbering, and at the outbreak of the Rebellion enlisted in the 207th Pa. Vols. as second lieutenant, being mustered out as first lieutenant at the close of the war. He apprenticed himself to the trade of harness making and in 1865 located at Williamsport, Pa., where he was a clothier and merchant tailor. In 1874 he commenced keeping hotel in Olean – the Option House. In 1868 he married Sarah A. HERRING of Brooklyn.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Pages 917 & 918

Surnames: SHEPARD, THRALL, HINMAN, STRONG, BUTT, RICE, HASTINGS

William SHEPARD was born April 7, 1773. He came to Olean with his brother-in-law, Willis THRALL, and the two purchased quite a tract of wild land on both sides of Olean creek. He married Elizabeth HINMAN. Children: Olean the first white child born in the town, May 22, 1807; and William B., born Oct 21, 1808. Mr. SHEPARD died Sept.21, 1809. Mrs. SHEPARD married Jedediah STRONG, who died June 25, 1828; Mrs. STRONG died Oct. 4, 1830. Olean and William B. SHEPARD were married simultaneously in the old school house in their district Feb. 11, 1833: Olean married Rev. William BUTT, a Methodist clergyman, and William B. married Miss Sophia RICE, of Cortland county, and remained on the homestead, where he died Dec. 30, 1883. At an early age he was an Allegheny river pilot and made many trips to Pittsburgh. Mr. SHEPARD was a prominent citizen. He was early identified with the military interests of Olean and was commissioned captain. He was an active Methodist, of which church he was many years a member and trustee. He was a Whig and a Republican at the organization of that party. His children are Sarah, born Aug. 5, 1835, married Henry HASTINGS, Sept. 20, 1855; Ellen; Mary; and William E.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 918

Surname: SIMPSON

W. H. SIMPSON was born in Pittsburgh, Pa. His early life was spent in Buffalo, where he learned the plumbing business, with particular reference to sanitation. He came to Olean in 1879 and established business, which increased as the town grew, and in which he has been very successful. He has been an active man in town affairs, was excise commissioner one term, an officer of the fire department nine years, and was four years its chief engineer. The present efficiency of the department is largely due to Mr. SIMPSON’s efforts and he still takes an active interest in the affairs of the firemen.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 918

Surnames: SLOANE, HOTTON

John SLOANE was born in Pilltown, County Kilkenny, Ireland, Aug. 6, 1852. Until nearly eighteen years of age he attended the National school of his native village and after that was employed in the office of Malcomson Brothers, the great linen and cotton manufacturers having mills at Belfast, Clonmel, Carrick-on-Suir, and Portlaw. He remained with them about two years, when he resigned and came to America, thus realizing the ambition of his boyhood to visit the New World. He arrived in New York city July 11, 1872. From there he went to Buffalo, where he resided five and a half years, during which time he was employed at Dun & Co.’s Mercantile Agency and later at the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern freight office. In Aug., 1879, he came to Olean as assistant to the agent of the Western New York & Pennsylvania railroad. In 1880 he was appointed agent at Port Allegany, Pa., but becoming dissatisfied with railroad business and the position he then occupied he resigned and returned to Olean, where he has since resided. His first employment was in the Acme Milling Company as book-keeper, where he remained six years. He then entered into partnership with Nicholas HOTTON, of Portville, and built the Empire Feed-Mills at North Olean, which he operated three years and sold to the Acme Milling Company. Since then he has been engaged in the wholesale grain and mill-feed business. His industry has been untiring and his ambition to make the most of his opportunities has placed him at the forefront of every enterprise in which he has taken a hand. If he could not succeed in one undertaking he would not hesitate to accept the inevitable and to push on to something better, until now he is a recognized representative of the progressive business interests of this city. He has been active in many other departments. In St. Stephen’s church, of which for eight years he has been a warden, his services as lay-reader, superintendent of the Sunday school, secretary of the Guild, and a member of many important committees of the vestry have been invaluable. He is a member of various societies and orders, in all of which he has held high positions; Master of Olean Lodge, No.252, F. & A. M.; high priest of Olean Chapter, No.150, Royal Arch Masons; prelate of St. John’s Commandery, No. 24, K. T.; and deputy district grand master of the counties of Cattaraugus and Chautauqua; in the A. O. U. W. and Knights of Honor his voice is often heard upon important occasions when wit, wisdom, and eloquence are required to arouse the interest and enthusiasm of an audience. After a recent visit to Ireland he delivered an instructive lecture upon the old country, and while in Ireland he enlightened his countrymen by lecturing upon the institutions of America. He has sympathized with the struggles of the Home Rule party in his native land, and on one occasion he had the honor to address the constituency of its late distinguished leader, Mr. Parnell, in company with the latter. He is a Republican and chairman of the executive committee of the local organization.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 919

Surnames: SMITH, OOSTEROUDT

John B. SMITH was born in Pike, Wyoming county, and in early life went to Wisconsin, where his youth was spent in school and in learning the printer’s trade. For two years he was a salesman in the establishment of Marshall, Field & Co. in Chicago, and subsequently engaged in the dry goods business in Rockford, Ill. Mr. SMITH served one year on the village Board of Trustees, and has taken an active interest in every progressive public movement. He was for a time editorially connected with the Olean Record; he is now engaged in the drug business. Sept. 19, 1877, he married Eva E., daughter of Samuel OOSTEROUDT, and has one son, Samuel E, born Sept.14, 1879.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 919

Surnames: SMITH, PAGE

David L. SMITH was born in Cameron, N. Y, May 1, 1835, and came to Olean in 1865, engaging in the business of harness making, which he still follows. Sept. 1, 1861 he enlisted in the 1st N. Y. Light Artillery and was mustered out as first lieutenant June 23, 1865. Oct. 7, 1867, he married Emma M., daughter of the late Rufus L. PAGE, of Olean. Mr. SMITH speaks with some pride of his participation in Sherman’s march to the sea and earned his commission as lieutenant for brave and heroic service on April 9, 1862, near Warwick Court House, Va.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 919

Surname: SMITH

Norman M. SMITH is a son of Julius R. SMITH, whose father, Dr. Norman, came to Olean about 1814 (see Medical Chapter), and whose only descendants residing here are the son above named and Adeline P. Norman M. was born in Olean, Feb. 29, 1856, and for some time has been transfer agent for the American Express Company. The family has been prominent in Olean.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 919

Surnames: STOWELL, BUTLER

Calvin S. STOWELL was born at Friendship, N. Y., April 11, 1844, where he received his education and lived until 1864, when he came to Olean as clerk for the late N. S. BUTLER, and has since resided here with the exception of two years spent in the lower oil fields during the oil excitement of ‘66. He was under sheriff and followed mercantile pursuits until he accepted the tellership of the Exchange National Bank, which position he held six years. Mr. STOWELL was supervisor of Olean in 1873-74 and for five years subsequent to 1881, resigning the position to accept the office of postmaster tendered him by President Cleveland. He served his town with fidelity and was honored with the appointment as a member of the commission to purchase the armory site and to audit the accounts of the county superintendent. He is a member and has at various times presided over all the Masonic bodies. Mr. STOWELL is a Democrat and a prominent member of the Board of Trade.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 919

Surnames: TARBELL, WILDER

Fred R. TARBELL, son of Dana O. and Frances M. (WILDER) TARBELL, of New England origin, was born in Farmersville, Dec.20, 1863, and received his education in Ten Broeck Free Academy. His father was a farmer and now resides in Olean. Fred R. became a telegraph operator at the age of fourteen and has followed that avocation to the present time. He now has charge of the office of the Postal Cable Telegraph Company at Olean.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 920

Surnames: TAYLOR, DEMMING

B. U. TAYLOR, son of the late Rev. Alexander TAYLOR, a noted and well-known Baptist clergyman, was born in Maine, September 11, 1854, and in his early manhood served three years as apprentice with Rumery, Maxwell & Grant, one of the largest manufacturing firms in Boston, Mass., during which time he received instructions under Prof. DEMMING in the special branches relating to his line of business. He is one of the leading contractors and builders of Olean, and has given special attention to the setting of boilers, being a known authority on all matters pertaining to boiler setting, and has made also a special study to so construct an oven that it would successfully burn wet tan-bark and sawdust. Nearly every tannery company in this section of country can testify to the able and efficient manner in which he has succeeded in this special branch of business.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 920

Surnames: THYNG, GILMAN, PATCH, ROSE, LEONARD

Frank P. THYNG, a native of Perry, N. Y, was born Aug. 9, 1820. His parents, Samuel and Elizabeth (GILMAN) THYNG, were born in New Hampshire and were pioneers on Silver hill in Perry. They had eleven children, of whom Frank P. was the youngest. Sept. 7, 1848, he married Sarah E., daughter of Uriah and Sarah (PATCH) ROSE, of Centerville. Her father was a soldier in the War of 1812 and her grandfather served in the Revolution. They settled on a farm in Centerville and in 1852 removed to Olean, where he was a general merchant until Aug., 1862, when he was burned out. He then began a trade in oil operators’ supplies. He built flat-boats, loaded them with farm produce and supplies, and floated them down the Allegheny river to the first oil field in the vicinity of Oil City. He was an oil operator and dealer and bought and sold oil wells. Mr. THYNG is a Republican. His children are: Eugenia, born Aug. 9, 1849, married Rev. T. S. LEONARD, a Baptist clergyman; Elmont W., born in March, 1854, died aged nineteen; and Capt. Culver G., born Dec. 25, 1857.

Capt. C. G. THYNG, born the last week of 1857, is a native of Olean. He was early thrown upon his own resources, and his great energy, activity, and venturesome spirit carried him into the stirring life of the oil country at the age of fourteen. There he was successively a pumper, tool-dresser, gauger, well-driller, torpedoer, and scout. He was in the employ of the Bradford Oil Company in 1876-78. In 1879 be was correspondent for several newspapers and was also engaged in the torpedo business. He was in the oil-well supply trade from 1881 to 1883, also an oil operater. In 1883 he became the head of the firm of C. G. THYNG & Co., oil producers. Captain THYNG is still an oil producer and now has a third-interest in a mining company with a capital of $1,000,000 which is operating in North Carolina. He is a member of the Board of Trade and captain of the 43d Separate Company N. G. S. N. Y. of Olean, having served as such since its organization, March 17, 1887.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)

Page 920

Surnames: TROY, CHAMBERLIN

Edward TROY, born in Olean, March 13, 1853, received his education in the public schools and, began business as bookkeeper and superintendent for the CHAMBERLIN Manufacturing Company in 1881. Since March, 1890, he has been a member of the company and is its business manager. This concern is still engaged in the manufacture of the celebrated CHAMBERLIN screw stump-puller. Mr. TROY is a Republican.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Pages 920 & 921

Surname: TURNER

Charles Edgar TURNER was born in Buffalo, N. Y., May 23, 1849. He was educated in the public schools and at the age of sixteen began the trade of machinist, after acquiring which he became a fireman and afterward a locomotive engineer, which he followed until 1877, when he came to Olean and took charge of the mechanical department of the O. B. W. narrow gauge railroad, then in construction. He is now the master mechanic of the Olean shops of the Western New York & Pennsylvania Railroad Company. Mr. TURNER was elected president of the village in 1888 and held the position two consecutive terms. At the organization of the city he was elected mayor. He is president of the Olean branch of the National Loan Association and a member of the Masonic orders up to the commandery.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 921

Surnames: VAN CAMPEN, SAUNDERS, KING

Hon. George VAN CAMPEN descended from ancient and distinguished Holland ancestry, many of whom served their country in military and educational capacities. John Aerensen VAN CAMPEN, farmer, the first of the name to come to America, settled in New York (then Amsterdam) in the year 1658 and was soon followed by others of his family. By 1750 several descendants lived in this State, in New Jersey, in Pennsylvania, and in Delaware, and all became more or less prominent, especially as Indian fighters. Cornelius VAN CAMPEN was killed by the Indians on his farm in Pennsylvania. Of his six sons and four daughters was Benjamin, the father of George. George VAN CAMPEN was born Nov.13, 1817. His maternal grandfather, George SAUNDERS, and .great-grandfather, Hezekiah SAUNDERS, both served in the Revolution. From about 1836 until 1843 he conducted the postal service his father had organized in parts of Allegany, Steuben, and Livingston counties in 1826, and Dec. 25, 1843, identified himself in mercantile business in Randolph. In 1851 he exchanged his real estate for timber lands in Allegany, whither he removed March 1, 1869. He came to Olean, where he immediately became identified with the business and social interests. Aug. 4. 1847, he married Sophia T., daughter of Anson and Sophia KING; children: James King, born in 1851; George, Jr., born in 1854; Benjamin, born in 1866; Josephine Maria, born in 1868 and four daughters who died early. In 1863 Mr. VAN CAMPEN was appointed special consul to Liege, Belgium, and in 1867 was elected a member of the constitutional convention.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 921

Surnames: WEBER, HEMSTREET, FERRIN, GREEN

Blanchard B. WEBER is a son of Matthew and Betsy (HEMSTREET) WEBER and was born in Ashford, April 16, 1848. Educated in the public schools and in Griffith Institute in Springville, N. Y., he entered the office of the Cattaraugus Republican in 1871 as assistant business manager and learned also the trade of printer. Jan. I, 1873, he purchased of his brother-in-law, A W. FERRIN, a half-interest in that newspaper (see page 96), with whom and with which he has since been associated. Dec. 1, 1887, with A. W. FERRIN and S. C. GREEN, he became connected with the publication of the Olean Times, the firm being S. C. GREEN & Co, but since Feb., 1891, it has been styled FERRIN & WEBER. In all his newspaper enterprises Mr. WEBER has acted mainly in a business capacity, and to his excellent judgment and shrewd management is largely due the fact that each has proven comparatively successful. He is an active member of the Congregational church.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 921

Surnames: WHITNEY, WILDER

Christopher WHITNEY was a descendant of three brothers WHITNEY who came to America in 1749 and settled at Southold, L. I., whence, in 1765, he moved to Norwalk, Conn. He moved to Tinmouth, Vt., about 1781, where his son Christopher, Jr, was born Nov.12, 1782, and married Rhoda WILDER. They moved to Locke, N. Y., about 1805, and thence to Homer, N. Y., about 1881, where he resided until 1826 or 1827, when he moved to Hinsdale, where he was a farmer. After some years spent in Hinsdale and Allegany he moved to Olean about 1839. He was justice of the peace over twenty years. He died in 1866 in Allegany. He had twelve children, of whom Olive, Noah, Rufus, and John are living.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 922

Surnames: WHITNEY, SMITH

Russell M. WHITNEY, second son of Dr. Lambert WHITNEY, was born in Olean, April 6, I838. With the exception of seven years in the U. S. army his life has been spent in Olean. In June, 1857, he married Lydia S. SMITH, of Northampton, N. Y. He is an extensive manufacturer of wagon hubs. Like his father Mr. WHITNEY is a respected citizen and prominent in political affairs. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 922

Surnames: WILLIAMS, GRIFFITH, WEAVER

Henry WILLIAMS, son of George and Catherine (GRIFFITH) WILLIAMS, was born in Pittsburgh, Pa., in Sept., 1853. He received an academic education and taught three terms of district school. At the age of twenty he became a dealer in musical instruments in Scio, N. Y. In 1882 he settled in Olean, where he has since continued his trade, having added to it the sale of sewing machines. Mr. WILLIAMS married, in September, 1880 Emma, daughter of his partner, Henry WEAVER, who was associated with him until he died in March, 1889. They have four sons.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 922

Surnames: WINTERS, PIERCE

George L. WINTERS, son of Alonzo, was born in Tecumseh, Mich., April 13, 1838, started in life as a school teacher, and upon the breaking out of the war enlisted in Co. C, 154th N. Y. Vols. For meritorious service he rose rapidly to the rank of captain and was wounded in the arm at Gettysburg, where he was taken prisoner and subsequently had his arm amputated by a Confederate surgeon. March 1, 1865, he married Margaret Z. daughter of John and Mary PIERCE, of Ischua, who survived him. Mr. WINTERS was elected sheriff of Cattaraugus county in 1876 and made a most efficient officer. He was always a Republican and a highly respected citizen, and was influential in political affairs in county, district, and State. He studied law and was admitted to the bar, but on account of ill-health never practiced his profession. Mr. WINTERS died in Olean, June 8, 1889.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 922

Surnames: WOOD, DICKINSON, SMITH

George Nathan WOOD was born in Starkey, Yates county, Nov.11, 1857, and died in Olean, Sept. 25, 1887. He was the eldest son of Elisha WOOD. When ten years of age his parents moved with their family to Burlingame, Kan., where young WOOD resided until 1876, when he came to Olean and entered the Times printing office, then owned by his uncle, George DICKINSON. In April, 1883, Mr. WOOD became business manager of the Times, which was then owned and conducted by a stock company, and through his individual efforts the paper was placed on a substantial business basis. In Sept., 1884, he purchased the plant and became editor and proprietor, and almost immediately acquired a high rank among the inland journalists of the State. Mr. WOOD was conscientious, enterprising, progressive, and careful; as a citizen he was public spirited and closely identified with the material prosperity of Olean, giving to every beneficial enterprise a hearty and unstinted support, but scathingly rebuked all corrupt schemes for personal or political aggrandizement. Though he died scarcely thirty years of age he had acquired a reputation and a character as an honorable, upright man, as a kind friend and neighbor, as an exemplary son, husband, and father that is seldom equaled. Aug.25, 1880, Mr. WOOD married Nellie B., daughter of J. H. SMITH, of Randolph and subsequently of Olean, who bore him three daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 922

Surname: WOOD

Willard C. WOOD, of the firm of W. C. WOOD & Co., job printers, was born in Starkey, Yates county, in 1867. He learned the printing business of his brother, George N. WOOD, late editor and proprietor of the Olean Times. He was employed after the latter’s decease in the Times’ office until the spring of 1891. April 10, 1891, he opened his job-printing establishment on Union street, where he executes job, book, commercial, and law printing.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Pages 922 & 912

Surnames: WRIGHT, STULL

William A. WRIGHT was born in Eldred, Pa., in 1842 and came to Olean in 1889, where he has since been a dealer in hay, grain, carriages, and agricultural implements. He married Orsevelle STULL and has had born to him three children, Fred C., Walter W (deceased), and Bertha.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 923

Surnames: YARD, BUOY

John W. YARD, a native of Irwin, Pa., was born Sept. 15, 1835, came to this place in 1879, and has been eminently successful in his profession of architect and builder. May 26, 1870, he married Sarah C. BUOY, of Milton, Pa., who was born Sept. 18, 1838, and their children are James B., born March, 14, 1871; William H., born June 7, 1872; Grace, born Dec. 24, 1874; and Blanche, born Dec. 14, 1878.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bio from:
Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893
History of the Town of Olean – Chapter XXXIX (39)
Page 923

Surname: YOUNG

Peter A. YOUNG, born in Rathboneville, Steuben county, April 9, 1851, located in Bradford, Pa., in 1876, and engaged in the business of producing oil. In 1881 he removed to Olean and established himself as a wholesale dealer in wines and liquors, retaining his oil interests, however, until 1884.
 

Back To Cattaraugus County


If you have anything of genealogical or historical interest to add to this site, or if you are interested in becoming a member of the Painted Hills Genealogy Society, please contact me at:

Painted Hills

This page is maintained by the PHGS
 Last Update January 25, 2004

© 2002 by The Painted Hills Genealogy Society
Main | Email Us | Look-Ups | Members Family Pages
Chat and Meeting Room | Disclaimer

Website designed by Frankie Stonemetz
2002© Painted Hills Genealogy Society
All Rights Reserved