TOWN OF NEW ALBION

TOWN HISTORY AND BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893
 
 

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 823 - 826

New Albion, the fourth township north from the south line of the State, in range eight, contains 22,988 acres as surveyed by the Holland Land Company. It was formed from Little Valley on February 23, 1830. A few years before this, several prominent families from Orleans county had settled here and New Albion was named from Albion in the county they had left. The surface of the town is high and hilly, and occupies a part of the "dividing ridge." From the summit of Tug hill a grand panorama of the surrounding country is displayed and a distinct view of Lake Erie can be had. The town is well watered by small brooks and by numerous springs. The streams in the northern part flow into the south branch of Cattaraugus creek, while those in the southwestern part find an outlet into the east branch of the Conewango. The soil is fertile and produces abundant crops of excellent hay and furnishes fine pasturage, which is mainly consumed by dairies. Remunerative crops of Indian corn and other grain are also raised. Fruit is successfully cultivated and the manufacture of maple sugar receives considerable attention. The town is bounded on the north by Persia and Otto, on the east by Mansfield, on the south by Napoli, and on the west by Leon.

A squatter named Matthew DIMMICK, who settled in 1818 on lot 57, is credited with building the first shanty in New Albion for a white man’s habitation, but he did not remain long nor did he make such improvements on the place. James GODDARD the same year settled on lot 9 and was the first permanent settler in town. He opened his log house as a tavern and kept hotel until 1830. Robert GUY, from Otsego county in 1822, settled on the main road to the west. He purchased the interest of David HAMMOND and built a log house for a tavern. He was a prominent man. Judge Benjamin CHAMBERLAIN resided on lot 1 in 1818. In 1824 he sold his improvements to Leicester TRACY, the first supervisor of New Albion in 1830. Jonathan KINNICUTT settled on lot 18 the next year. He came from Montgomery county. The same year David HILL came from the same county and settled on lot 18. He later removed to Gowanda. Smith WATERMAN came about the same time, settled on lot 25, sold to Robert CHAMPLIN, and moved to Perry. John A. KINNICUTT came from Rensselaer county and settled on lot 18 on January 12, 1821. The town was then a part of Little Valley and Mr. KINNICUTT was a justice of the peace in that town; he was the first town clerk of New Albion. Other prominent settlers of the town from 1821 to 1830 were Jeremiah MAYBEE in 1822; Horace SNYDER in 1825; William BUFFINGTON in 1826; William TRAVIS, a son-in-law, who settled near Mr. BUFFINGTON; John S. HARVEY, who had eighty acres of cleared land in 1838 and was then the largest farmer in town: Isaac RICE, who was one of the first justices, and who mysteriously disappeared while on a business trip down the Alleghany river; J.H. and S.B. HERRICK, who settled off lot 4 about 1826; and Robert CHAMPLIN on lot 33 the same year. Abram DAY made a home on lot 34 and was keeper of the light-house at Dunkirk in General JACKSON’s administration. Calvin HARTWELL came from Orleans county in 1826 and Calvin RICH from the same county in 1828. Mr. RICH was one of the most prominent men of the town. His brother Arad settled near him. James and Warren BARNARD came from the same place. Charles SIBLEY, who settled on lot 44, built the first grist-mill in town. The ROSS and PAYNE families and Jacob SMITH all came before 1830. Nicholas EVERTS, James and Jonathan B. JEWELL, Daniel H. POWELL, and Thomas J. WATERS were all early pioneers of New Albion. Hon. Horace C. YOUNG settled on lot 41 in May 1832, where he spent the rest of his life.

Primitive saw-mills were constructed on the streams in different neighborhoods which had water enough to run them. Matthew NEALY erected a mill in 1834 on a branch of Cattaraugus creek on lot 29. John JONES was the next mill proprietor. William KENDALL built a saw-mill on lot 35 quite early. This was operated by Solomon G. WRIGHT, who built for himself, near the mill, a residence which was so unusual in shape and design that his neighbors called it "Solomon’s Temple," a name it still bears. Charles SIBLEY built the first grist-mill in the town in 1836, on a branch of Conewango creek, which served the settlers about 20 years. James GODDARD kept the first tavern on lot 1. He is supposed to have opened his house to travelers as early as 1820. The first white children born in town were Robia A. and Avis C., twin daughters of Mr. And Mrs. Jonathan KINNICUTT, in April 1819. The first wedding was solemnized by a Methodist minister in 1824, the contracting parties being Noel HOPKINS and Sally SIMMONS. The first death in town was that of a daughter of Noah DREW. James GODDARD, who died in 1830, was the first adult who departed this life in New Albion.

The first town meeting was held at the house of John A. KINNICUTT, March 2 and 3, 1830, and made choice of a full set of town officers: Leicester TRACY, supervisor; John A. KINNICUTT, town clerk; John A. KINNICUTT, Isaac RICE, Calvin RICH, Abram DAY, justices of the peace; Josiah PIERCE, Isaac RICE, William ROSS, assessors; James MAYBEE, collector; Timothy GUY, Noah HIGBEE, Isaac P. WOOD, James MAYBEE, constables; James BUFFINGTON, James WILLIAMS, Arad RICH, commissioners of highways; William BUFFINGTON, William HIGBEE, Leicester TRACY, school commissioners; Comfort E. SUMNER, Calvin RICH, John A. KINNICUTT, school inspectors; Robert GUY, Timothy GOWAN, overseers of the poor. The supervisors, town clerks, and justices of the peace since 1830 are as follows:

Supervisors. – Leicester TRACY, 1830; Calvin RICH, 1831-36; John S. HARVEY, 1837; Byron GRAHAM, 1838-42, 1844; Horace C. YOUNG, 1843, 1845-48; William BUFFINGTON, Jr., 1849-50, 1857; John MOSHER, 1851-52; Alson LEAVENWORTH, 1853-54; John P. DARLING, 1855-56, 1858, 1860-61, 1863, 1865, 1867, 1875; Martin HARDENBURG, 1859; Hiram RUMSEY, 1862; John KINNICUTT, 1864; Bolivar R. LAMB, 1866,1871; Horatio N. BABB, 1868; Eugene A. NASH, 1869-70, 1873-74; T.L. TEN EYCK, 1872; Sylvester W. COX, 1876; Gilbert MILKS, 1877; Wilber J. MANLEY, 1878-79; Herbert C. RICH, 1880-81; A.E. SNYDER, 1882-83; Francis M. MOSHER, 1884-85; George LATTIN 1886-87; Sanford F. BURGER, 1888-89; Charles J. RICH, 1890; D.H, CARROLL, 1891-92; William E. MOSHER, 1893.

Town Clerks. -- John A. KINNICUTT, 1830-34, 1835-45, 1847-48; Thomas J. WATERS, 1835; Josiah WHITCOMB, 1846; Reuben J. WATERS, 1849-52; Charles KENDALL, 1853; John COOPER, 1854; Whitney JEWELL, 1855; Hiram RUMSEY, 1856-57; 1859, 1866-67; L.H. MALTBIE, 1858, 1860; Elisha L. JOHNSON, 1861-65, 1868-69; Hiram N. HERRICK, 1870; William C. MAXSON, 1871; Ezra HUNTON, 1872-74; Marion J. RICH, 1875-76; George HUNTON, 1877; Tompkins L. TEN EYCK, 1878; Daniel E. POWELL, 1879; Ara E. MOSHER, 1880-82; Sanford F. BURGER, 1883-86; Walton F. ANDREWS, 1887-88; Orlando WHITE, 1889; Hollen W. RICH, 1890-91, 1893; J.H. SIGMAN, 1892.

Justices of the Peace. – 1831, Comfort E. SUMNER, Linus SUTLIFF; 1832, Isaac RICE; 1833, Charles SIBLEY, Calvin HALL; 1834, Horace C. YOUNG; 1835, John A. KINNICUTT, Calvin HALL; 1836, Abram MATTESON; 1837, John MOSHER, Adonijah BURRELL; 1838, John A. KINNICUTT, William TRAVIS, Robert YOUNG; 1839, Arad RICH; 1840, Calvin HALL; 1841, Solomon G. WRIGHT; 1842, John A. KINNICUTT; 1843, Seth LANE; 1844, Melzer JONES, Arad RICH; 1845, William D. CORNELL, Harrison JUDD; 1846, Levi W. BOARDMAN; 1847, John A. KINNICUTT; 1848, Harrison JUDD, Solomon G. WRIGHT; 1849, William D. CORNELL; 1850, Arad RICH; 1851, Orrin TUBBS, Levi W. BOARDMAN; 1852, Pliny L. FOX, Asa FRANKLIN; 1853, Warren BERNARD; 1854, Beulah TARBOX; 1855, John A. KINNICUTT, Arad RICH, Jason HUNTLEY; 1856, Alson LEAVENWORTH; 1857, Asa PRITCHARD, Allen CAMPBELL; 1858, William C. MILLS, Melzer JONES; 1859, John A. KINNICUTT, Zumri HOWE, Daniel BROWN; 1860, Jared PUDDY; 1861, Arad RICH; 1862, George HUNTON; 1863, George A. PAYNE; 1864, George STRAIGHT; 1865, Arad RICH; 1866, Wilber F. KINNICUTT, George HUNTON, Elias L. MATTESON; 1867, John A. KINNICUTT, John RUSSELL; 1868, Truman MATTOCK; 1869, James H. RIDER; 1870 George HUNTON; 1871, Edwin DAVIS; 1872, William P. PFLUEGER; 1873, Salmon L. JOHNSON; 1874, George HUNTON; 1875, Edwin DAVIS; 1876, Salmon L. JOHNSON; 1877, George STRAIGHT; 1878, George HUNTON; 1879, Edwin DAVIS; 1880, Salmon L. JOHNSON, Myron COOK; 1881, George STRAIGHT, Albert J. EDDY; 1882, George HUNTON; 1883, J.L. HIGBEE; 1884, Albert EDDY; 1885, George STRAIGHT; 1886, Edgar E. WAITE; 1887, George HUNTON; 1888, Albert EDDY; 1889, Henry A. LOCKE; 1890, Edgar E. WAITE; 1891, L.H. NORTHRUP; 1892, Albert EDDY; 1893, Lewis W. MORGAN.

The first settlers in this town largely preferred the hills to the valleys, and the first highways were made on the highlands. The old Chautauqua road is an apt illustration. The early inhabitants on Snyder hill cut a road several miles through the woods to a saw-mill in Skinner Hollow. As the settlements progressed, roads have been opened in all parts of the town and are kept in good condition. The Erie railroad, completed in 1851, traverses the eastern part of New Albion and has a station at Cattaraugus.

Schools were taught in New Albion several years before it was set off from Little Valley. The first one was kept in the summer of 1823 by John ALLEN. Francis WINCHESTER taught one in the Buffington neighborhood in 1826. In 1830 the town had a population of 380; in 1850, 1633; in 1870, 1487; in 1890, 1858. In 1892 there were seven school districts and schools were maintained in each of them, and were taught by twelve teachers. The aggregate attendance was 509. The school buildings and sites were valued at $19,100; the assessed value of the districts was $637,835. The amount of public money received from the State was $1,679.56 and by local tax $5,012.46.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

The Village of Cattaraugus

Pages 826 - 830

Cattaraugus, the principal village of New Albion, is situated in the northern part of the town about eight miles north of Little Valley. The business part of the town is located on the hillside facing the southeast. As late as 1830 the entire site was a dense forest. In May 1851, the railroad was completed and a station erected. The farm of Joseph PLUMB embraced the territory, which he forever dedicated to temperance by inserting in the conveyance of the lots which he had platted for the village a prohibitory clause, by the terms of which the title is forfeited if intoxicating liquors are sold as a beverage on the premises and the property reverts to Mr. PLUMB or his heirs. After several years had elapsed, a Mr. TUBBS began to openly sell liquors on his property. Mr. PLUMB entreated him to desist, but in vain. PLUMB commenced a suit to recover his lot, which was stubbornly contested by TUBBS and his abettors to the Court of Appeals, where the decisions of the lower courts in favor of Mr. PLUMB were affirmed. Mr. PLUMB magnanimously deeded the reverted property to the family of Mr. TUBBS, who had involved himself in debt in the struggle. Simultaneous with the building of the depot was opened the store of Mr. ELLIOTT and the faithful coadjutor of Mr. PLUMB, S.L. JOHNSON. A hotel was also opened to the public by William BUFFINGTON. In the same year, M.F. MALTBIE came and established business in the manufacture and sale of clothing. The firm of DARLING & WILSON opened a general store in the fall of 1852. Other early merchants were Hiram RUMSEY, A.E. LEAVENWORTH, L.D. BOTSFORD, James FERRIS, and Nathaniel CHRISTIE. The village now contains three general stores, a hardware store, a jewelry store, a drug store, two groceries, two merchant tailoring establishments, a harness shop, two carriage shops, several dealers of various kinds, one weekly newspaper, a tannery, an edged-tool manufactory, a barrel and stave factory and flouring-mill, a tin and sheet-iron manufactory, three lawyers, two physicians, a Union Free School and Academy, five churches, a bank, telegraph, telephone, and express offices, two or three hotels, the usual complement of shops, artisans. etc., and a population in 1890 of 878. The village is incorporated and the present officers are William EASTON, president; Fred RICH and John OSBORN, trustees; Danford RICH, collector; F.E. JOHNSON, treasurer. The post office was established with S.L. JOHNSON as postmaster in 1851, and in October 1877 became a money order office. Cattaraugus has had one sweeping cyclone and three fires. The severest fire occurred Sept. 5, 1889.

The Bank of Cattaraugus was organized as a private bank in 1882 and each co-partner is individually liable. At its organization the bank had a paid up capital of $11,000 which has been increased to $22,000. The first officers were O.F. BEACH, president; C. MOENCH, vice-president; H.E. GREENE, cashier. The present officers are S.S. LAING, president; C. MOENCH, vice-president; F.E. JOHNSON, cashier. The stockholders represent $400,000 capital. This institution was re-organized as a State bank March 30, 1892.

The Cattaraugus Union Free School and Academy was organized from school district No. 1 October 29, 1878. The first Board of Education – Rev. J.L. HIGBEE, Dr. T.L. De NIKE, Frank S. OAKES, Christopher MOENCH, and John S. GIBBS – was awake to the advantages of education of the children of their village and at once adopted a policy to make the school it was founding an institution where the young might be thoroughly prepared to enter any college in the country. At the opening of the school there were only 175 children of school age residing in the district and but three teachers were employed. The number of children has increased to 325 and the number of teachers to seven. In 1888 the academic department was inaugurated and placed under the supervision of the Regents of the University of the State of New York. The first class graduated in 1891: Nellie Ethel RICH, Inez P. RICH, L. Lena LATTIN, and Clarence B. FARRAR. A much larger class graduated the year following. During the school year, of 1892-93 there were 300 pupils enrolled. Two students of the year are entitled to Regents’ classical diplomas and six to graduation. Thirty-nine non-resident pupils were in attendance. In 1887 an imposing, well-built, and convenient brick school building was erected, which was burned February 20, 1893. The remainder of the term was taught in rooms temporarily fitted up and the school was closed but one day. The district soon unanimously voted the sum of $18,000 with which to rebuild and furnish, with library and apparatus, a new brick structure, which will be completed in time for the fall term. The site is situated on high ground and surrounded by a beautiful maple grove.

Liberty Park Cemetery Association was incorporated February 1, 1892, with these officers: Albert TEN EYCK, president; William PFLUEGER, vice-president; D.W. KEELER, secretary; R.H. MALTBIE, treasurer. The cemetery is situated within the limits of the village and embraces about five acres, which have been used for a burial place for some years. The present trustees are J.H. JEWELL, D.W. KEELER, O.C. RICH, and A.F. SIGMAN.

The little post village of New Albion, formerly known as HORTH’s Corners, is situated near the geographical center of the township and was for many years the only business place in the town. It contains the hotel erected by Erastus HORTH, who kept the house many years and was succeeded by Thad CORNELL. Since then it has had numerous landlords. For many years the village has maintained two stores, a saw-mill, and a cheese factory. Besides these it now contains one church edifice and a population of about 100. Since the advent of the Erie railroad its business interests have materially decreased. The post office was established as early as 1833 and the mail is now received daily by carrier from Cattaraugus.

The Cattaraugus tannery in Cattaraugus Village, the property of C. MOENCH, was originally built by Martin HARTENBURG in 1851. It was then a small concern operated by two men. June 29, 1865, Mr. MOENCH purchased it, several times enlarged and improved it, and in June 1888, the entire plant except the dry house was consumed by fire. Mr. MOENCH immediately rebuilt and had the present commodious building ready to resume business the ensuing October. The main building is 250 x 60 feet and the dry house is 110 x 40 feet and four stories high. A second dry house is used for finishing upper leather. The business has been conducted by the firm of C. MOENCH & Son since July 1, 1889. From 1865 to 1880 the firm name was C. MOENCH & Co., and consisted of C. MOENCH of Cattaraugus, and Charles A. GAENSSLEN and Mathias GAENSSLEN of Chicago. From then until 1889 C. MOENCH conducted the business alone. They now employ seventy-five men and are building an addition to the tannery which will double its present capacity.

TEN EYCK Edge Tool Company, in Cattaraugus, was incorporated under the laws of the State of New York on April 6, 1883, and had their shops erected and opened for business in July following. The officers at the organization were E.L. JOHNSON, president; L.H. NORTHRUP, secretary; H.E. GREENE, treasurer; Albert TEN EYCK, superintendent. The plant was consumed by fire January 24, 1890, and immediately rebuilt, enlarged, and ready to resume business in April. The company commenced with a capital of $20,000. Their plant covers an area of 200 x 40 feet, besides a convenient office and storage building. The motive power is generated by an eighty horse-power boiler. They manufacture axes, broadaxes, hatchets, and adzes, and employ fifty men. Their annual output averages $50,000. The present officers are H.W. HINMAN, president; L.H. NORTHRUP, secretary, treasurer, and manager; Albert TEN EYCK, superintendent.

The Cattaraugus mills are located on Mill street on the railroad. The motive power is furnished by an eighty horse-power engine. This plant combines a grist-mill with two runs of stone, a circular saw-mill, planers, and matchers, machinery for the manufacture of barrels, and a shingle-mill, and employs to twenty-five men. The mills are owned by S.L. & E.L. JOHNSON.

George M. DAVIS’s saw-mill at New Albion was erected by WAITE & DAVIS in the fall of 1889 near the site of a mill built by Daniel HAWKINS in 1873. The property passed to Mr. DAVIS in 1888. Two mills have been burned on the site, the last one being consumed in 1888. Mr. DAVIS is sole owner. The motive power is steam and the capacity is 12,000 feet of lumber per day.

The Methodist Episcopal denomination was the first religious society to hold regular meetings in town. As early as 1827, a Methodist class was formed on SNYDER hill by Rev. Joseph S. BARRIA, a preacher on the Forestville circuit. The meetings were held at Horace SNYDER’s house – he being one of the members of the class – until Calvin RICH settled there in 1828 and built a larger log house, when they convened at his dwelling the ensuing twenty years. The quarterly meetings were sometimes held in barns. In 1832 a Methodist class was formed at HORTH’s Corners, now New Albion. This class now contains twenty-five members and holds regular service in the Free Methodist church alternate Sundays. Rev. O.G. McENTIRE, of Cattaraugus, is pastor.

January 8, 1857, the Cattaraugus Methodist Episcopal Society was incorporated and Arad RICH, L.D. BOTSFORD, Spencer RICH, Danford RICH, and Ephraim FORD were chosen trustees. Their present church edifice was erected in the Village of Cattaraugus at a cost of $2,500. The Methodist class on SNYDER hill formed the nucleus of this church. In 1877 the title of the society was changed to the "Methodist Episcopal Society of the village of Cattaraugus." The house of worship has been enlarged and much improved and now has a seating capacity for 500 persons. Anson SMITH donated to the society a fine parsonage with ample grounds, valued at $2,000, and Mary RICH has also made it a valuable gift. The whole property is valued at $6,000. The church now has 150 members and over 40 probationers with Rev. O.G. McENTIRE as pastor. The large Sunday school is regularly attended.

A Freewill Baptist society was organized in the eastern part of the town about 1840, which held meetings in the school house of the neighborhood eight or ten years and disbanded.

The Christians organized a society simultaneously with the Freewill Baptists and held their meetings in a log school house northeast of the village of Cattaraugus, near the corner of the town. It existed only a few years.

The Wesleyan Methodist church of Cattaraugus was organized by Rev. F.M. MOSHER on March 8, 1880, with nine members. Rev. Mr. MOSHER became the first pastor. In 1880 the present house of worship was erected at a cost of $1,000. The church now has sixty-two members with Rev. S. BEDFORD as pastor. The present value of the church property is $2,500. The edifice will seat 200 people. The Sunday school has fifty-six scholars.

St. John’s Lutheran church, located in the village of Cattaraugus, was organized January 1, 1886, by Rev. W.E. ROMMELL, who was the first pastor. It then consisted of twenty members and has increased to forty-two. In 1888 the first and present edifice was erected of wood and has a seating capacity for 350 persons. The church property is valued at $3,000. Rev. Lew ULMER is the present pastor. The Sunday school is attended by 15 or 20 scholars with William PFLUEGER as president and William DIETRICH as secretary.

The Free Methodist church, located in the village of New Albion, was organized in 1884 by Rev. Thomas SLOCUM with eight or nine members. The church edifice was built of wood and dedicated July 4, 1885, and will seat 140 people. The membership in 1892 was only three with six probationers. The pastor was Rev. Joseph THOMPSON, of Cattaraugus. The Union Sunday school has forty-five scholars and seven teachers with Miss Ellen BONARD as superintendent.

The Free Methodist church of North America, located in Cattaraugus village, was organized in 1878 by Rev. Mr. ESSEX, who was its first pastor. It originally had nine members, the present being thirty-six with nine probationers. The present pastor is Rev. G.M. ALLEN. In 1880 the society erected their first and present house of worship at a cost of $1,500; this with the grounds is valued at $1,200. This church maintains a Sunday school.

St. Mary’s church (Roman Catholic), of Cattaraugus, was incorporated December 12, 1863, the trustees being Rt. Rev. John TIMON, Bishop of Buffalo; Rev. F.N. LESTER, vicar-general; Rev. John BAUDENELLI, pastor, residing at Dunkirk; and Stephen O’DONNELL and John GORDON, lay members. A plain church edifice was erected. It is now a part of Dayton parish and Rev. Father NASH is the parish priest.

Cattaraugus Lodge, No. 56, A.O.U.W., was instituted January 10, 1877. The first officers were Thomas BABB, P.M.W.; George P. WALTERS, M.W.; William A. COX, F.; M.F. LENOX, R. It now has thirty-five members.

Glen Lodge, No. 888, Knights of Honor, was instituted January 31, 1878, with about thirty members. Thomas BABB was elected dictator and W.W. TERRY, secretary. The present membership is thirty.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 830

Surnames: ADAMS, BENSON, COWEN, CROWELL, JACQUAY, LUCE, WEBSTER

The ADAMS family in America are of English origin. Their ancestors settled in Quincy, Mass. in 1630. Henry ADAMS was the father of John ADAMS, the second president of the United States. John ADAMS was the father of John Quincy ADAMS, "the old man eloquent" and also president. His son, Charles Francis ADAMS, was the father of Charles Francis ADAMS, Jr. Henry ADAMS, son of David, was born in Johnstown, NY, July 18, 1804, and was a lineal descendant of Henry, of Quincy, Mass. Oct. 6, 1831, he married Belinda COWEN, in Hanover, NY. She was born in Martinsburgh, Lewis county, Nov. 17, 1806. Her father was a minuteman in the War of 1812. Mr. ADAMS was a farmer in Hanover until the spring of 1837, when he removed to Snyder hill in New Albion, where he died April 11, 1885. He was employed in digging the Erie canal, and he and his wife early united with the Methodist Episcopal church. He was first an old line Whig and later a Republican. Mrs. ADAMS survives at the age of over eighty-five years. Children: Jane Ann, born June 28, 1832, died May 4, 1850; Marcellus, born Feb. 5, 1834, of Sturgis, Mich.; Martha M. (Mrs. Job BENSON), of New Albion, died in 1876; Marcena, born Aug. 20, 1838, married Hiram H. LUCE, Oct. 23, 1856, who died in April, 1862, at Fortress Monroe; Persis J., born Jan., 17, 1841, married George W. WEBSTER of Big Rapids, Mich.; Marquis Dela, born March 23, 1843, married Mrs. Alice (CROWELL) JACQUAY, and remains on the homestead; and John H., born Aug. 29, 1845, a farmer in Tyrone, Mich.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 830

Surnames: ACKERMAN, BENLARE

John G. ACKERMAN, son of John G. and Barbara (BENLARE) ACKERMAN, was born in Concord, NY, May 2, 1856. His parents were born in Germany, where they were married. They came to America when Buffalo was a small city. The father died when John G. was seventeen and the latter removed from Hamburg to Otto very soon after. There he learned the tailor’s trade. In the spring of 1886, he came to Cattaraugus and became a merchant tailor.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 831

Surnames: BABB, DeMERRITT, HERRICK, WARREN

Horatio BABB, born in Barrington, NH, May 19, 1812, married Oct. 28, 1833, Mary A. DeMERRITT of Dover, NH, and first settled with his parents where his oldest son, Leander E., was born March 20, 1835. He went to Boston in 1835, and in 1836 to Baltimore, and was later a merchant in New York. In 1844 he resided in Steuben county. He was actively engaged in the construction of the Erie railroad and removed to Alfred Center, Alleghany county. In May 1851, he came to Cattaraugus as station agent, which position he filled to the close of his life excepting the time he spent in the army. In 1861 he enlisted in the 64th NY Vols. And served as regimental quartermaster until he resigned on account of ill health. He returned to his position and died Nov. 12, 1871. For many years he served as trustee of the village school and was supervisor of New Albion in 1868. Mrs. BABB died Dec. 8, 1886.

Children of Horatio and Mary BABB:

Leander E. BABB, of Chicago

Mertia D. BABB (Mrs. J.H. WARREN), died Aug. 5, 1871

M. Elizabeth BABB

H. Sue BABB, (both sisters reside on the homestead)

Thomas BABB of Chicago

Albert H. BABB of Chicago

Ben L. BABB of Cleveland, Ohio

Belle BABB, widow of H. M. HERRICK

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 831

Surnames: BEMIS, BOOTH, HUNTLEY, SMITH, TAYLOR, TOWN

Stephen BEMIS, son of Stephen and Clarissa (HUNTLEY) BEMIS, was born in Vermont, April 7, 1799. He removed with his parents to the Holland purchase, and on Feb. 21, 1821, married Sally SMITH, who was born Nov. 19, 1802. In 1829 they came to New Albion and settled on the farm now owned by their son Alonzo. They were active members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. BEMIS died April 30, 1863; Mrs. BEMIS died June 19, 1881. Children: Lucius, born in Middlebury, NY, July 26, 1823; Nancy (Mrs. George BOOTH), born Jan. 19, 1825; Minerva (Mrs. Rufus TOWN), born July 18, 1827; Alonzo, born Feb. 1, 1832, married Alpharetta TAYLOR, May 5, 1877, has one daughter, Rosa May, born Feb. 2, 1879, and resides on the homestead; and Sarah, born Oct. 1, 1842, died age ten months. Alonzo BEMIS, soon after he was twenty-one, assumed the heavy debt against the old home, supported his parents to the close of their lives, and has added to his farm until he now has 110 acres.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 831

Surnames: BLACK, ANDREWS, MOREY

Helen Elizabeth BLACK, eldest daughter of Willis M. and Mariette ANDREWS, was born at East Otto, July 18, 1842. May 6, 1860, she married William W. MOREY, son of Barton MOREY, one of East Otto’s pioneers. William W. MOREY enlisted in April, 1861, in Co. I, 37th NY Vols., dying while in the service at Annapolis, MD, May 26, 1862. Thus widowed so young by ruthless war, she took up the burden of life as a school teacher. Feb. 7, 1872, she married Charles BLACK, who was also a volunteer in the military service of the United States, and who died at New Albion, Aug. 8, 1877. Though twice a widow and childless, her pleasant home is a favorite gathering place.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 831

Surnames: BLAKELY, CLOUGH, CRANDALL, DANLEY, VINCENT

Harry BLAKELY, born in Marcellus, NY, May 3, 1792, died July 26, 1837, He was a natural mechanic, but spent his life as a farmer. He married, in Forestville, Fanny CLOUGH, who was born in 1800. About 1822 he purchased one hundred acres on the Gowanda road in Persia, then a part of Perrysburg, and a year or two later cleared several acres. He returned to Forestville, and in 1826, with a pair of steers and a cart of his own construction, in which was loaded his household goods and family, he came to Cattaraugus county. Mr. BLAKELY was one of the prominent men of his town and held many of the prominent offices. He died on the place where he first settled. Mrs. BLAKELY survived until 1844. Children: Justus, born Sept. 26, 1821; Hiram, born April 1, 1826; Welthy, born May 2, 1828, married Hiram VINCENT of Persia, deceased; Harriet, born in 1831, married Darius DANLEY; Darwin, born in 1833, died in 1834; and Otsy O., born in 1836, married James CRANDALL.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 832

Surnames: BLAKELY, EDDY, FREEBORN

Hiram BLAKELY gained a good English education and began his business life a farmer. He was also a skillful carpenter and cabinet maker, and placed in operation the first planing-mill and cider-mill in Cattaraugus. With his sons and sons-in-law he manufactured thousands of dollars worth of furniture and erected eight houses in Cattaraugus village. He married Fidelia, daughter of Eldridge and Eunice EDDY, of Persia, Feb. 11, 1844. She was the mother of Ermina J. and Edgar E. She died in Dec. of 1849. On March 31, 1850, he married Laura FREEBORN, of Persia. Children: Charles F., Lelia A., Elson J., L. Rosella, Frank N., Walter V., and R. Ernest. Mr. BLAKELY died on May 13, 1893.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 832

Surnames: BLOOD, MANN

H. Frank BLOOD, son of John, was born in Arcade, NY on April 30, 1847. He received a good English education, which he finished at Arcade Academy. His father was a farmer and blacksmith, and he assisted in both avocations until he became twenty-three, when he commenced cheese making, and the year following became a butter and cheese buyer. In 1877 he purchased a half-interest in the general mercantile business of S.F. MANN in Arcade under the firm name of MANN & BLOOD. Two years later he sold this interest and the firm opened a store in Franklinville, of which Mr. BLOOD had entire charge. About 1881 he purchased the interest of Mr. MANN and became sole proprietor. In 1889 he began the erection of his large brick block in the village of Cattaraugus, to which he moved his stock of goods. Mr. BLOOD is a member of the Board of Education.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 832

Surnames: BOARDMAN, CHAPIN, GARFIELD, POWELL, SPENCER

Levi W. BOARDMAN was a son of Ephraim and Sarah (SPENCER) BOARDMAN, natives of Connecticut, who married there. Ephraim was a colonel in the Revolutionary War; his wife’s father, John SPENCER, was a captain. Levi W., born in Otsego County, NY on Sept. 12, 1809, married on Feb. 7, 1831, Araminta D. CHAPIN. He settled there as a farmer, where four of his children were born. In the fall of 1844 he settled a little north of the village of New Albion, where he died on July 20, 1891. Mrs. BOARDMAN died Feb. 5, 1880. He was justice of the peace eight years.

Children:

Albert E. BOARDMAN, born Jan. 25, 1832

Isaac H. BOARDMAN, born June 14, 1835

Maria T. BOARDMAN, born Dec. 30, 1836

Francis D. BOARDMAN, born Sept 26, 1840

Thomas W. BOARDMAN, born Feb. 21, 1847

Francis D. BOARDMAN came to New Albion with his parents, and in July 1859, married Cynthia B. GARFIELD, a relative of the late President GARFIELD. On Sept. 2, 1861, he enlisted in the 9th NY Cav. and in December was confined by rheumatism in the regimental hospital at Camp Fenton, remaining until Feb. 1862, when he was sent to the hospital in Washington and discharged April 9, 1862. He receives a pension. Mrs. BOARDMAN died on March 28, 1873. On March 28, 1874, Francis married Mrs. Isabel W., widow of James A. GARFIELD of Buffalo County, Neb. Children: Carrie E., Ernest L., and Glenn F. Francis BOARDMAN was a pioneer in Buffalo County, Neb. from 1870 to 1881. He served on the first grand jury of that county and was a member of the grand or petit jury of each succeeding court until he left the State.

Isaac H. BOARDMAN married Lucy C. POWELL, of New Albion, on March 17, 1861. In 1863 he settled where he now resides. On Sept. 2, 1864 he enlisted in the 13th N.Y.H.A. and was discharged on June 2, 1865. He has served as highway commissioner and on the Board of Excise.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 832 & 833

Surnames: BURGER, CALVER, GOLDSBOROUGH, OAKES

Sanford F. BURGER, son of Andrew BURGER of Otto, was born in Olean on March 15, 1860. He attended the common schools and finished his education in Oberlin College, Ohio. He taught two terms of district school, the first one in Otto at the age of thirteen. His father was a cabinet maker, and from him he learned his trade. In 1880 he came to Cattaraugus and engaged as clerk with OAKES & CALVER, dealers in cheese factory goods and manufacturers of scale board. He succeeded Mr. CALVER in the business, and the firm became OAKES & BURGER. Mr. BURGER is a staunch Republican. In 1882 he was elected clerk of New Albion and held the position five consecutive years. In 1888 he was chosen supervisor and was re-elected in 1889. He has also been president of Cattaraugus village two years and is now superintendent of the village water works and chief of the fire department. On Dec. 27, 1885, he married Ell GOLDSBOROUGH, daughter of Dr. Levi GOLDSBOROUGH (see page 161).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 833

Surnames: CAREY, DAY, KENYON, WYMAN

Ebenezer CAREY, born in Oxford, Maine, Jan. 25, 1806, went at the age of eighteen to reside in Massachusetts, and married., in Waltham, Susan WYMAN, Jan. 1, 1834, who was born Nov. 8, 1814. Mr. CAREY was a carpenter and settled in Waltham, where he followed his trade until 1843, when he came with his family to Napoli, arriving July 18th, and there followed carpentering and building. Some years later he bought a farm, and two years before his death he rented it and had a home with his son, Charles H. CAREY, in New Albion, where he died July 19, 1886. He was a natural mathematician.

Children:

Suel H. CAREY, born in Massachusetts, enlisted in the Union army, and died in the hospital at Alexandria, Feb. 11, 1862.

George CAREY, born in Napoli, Feb. 27, 1843, enlisted in Aug. 1863, in Co. C, 13th N.Y.H.A., and served to the close of the war, resumed farming, married on Jan. 1, 1868 Melissa M., daughter of Addison and Mary KENYON, and settled on the homestead of her grandfather, Jeremiah KENYON; Adelaide, born in Napoli in March 1845, died in 1876.

Charles H. CAREY was born on April 8, 1848. On Dec. 31, 1869, Charles H. married Elsie A., daughter of Hudson DAY and granddaughter of Erastus DAY, an early settler of New Albion. They settled on the homestead of her father. Children: Herbert S. of Limestone; Grace A.; and Alice M.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 833

Surnames: CARROLL, LUNDERGREN, MOSHER

Daniel H. CARROLL, son of John, was born in New Albion, Aug. 1, 1858. His father was a native of County Tipperary, Ireland, immigrated to America about 1845, and is a farmer in the southeast part of this town. Daniel H., at the age of nineteen, commenced to learn the trade of blacksmith, which he follows, and is also dealing in carriages, sleighs, and agricultural implements. Mr. MOSHER is connected with him in the carriage and coal trade. In politics, Mr. CARROLL is a Democrat and was supervisor of New Albion in 1891 and 1892. On May 1, 1888, he married Catherine LUNDERGREN. They have one daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 833

Surnames: CHAMPLIN, CHAMPLAIN, MOORE, BOARDMAN, MERRILL, METCALF, WILLIAMS, WYMAN

Robert CHAMPLIN, born in Rhode Island on Feb. 20, 1773, married on Newport Island, Mary MOORE. They resided in Rhode Island on the old CHAMPLAIN farm and finally removed to Westchester County, NY, and thence came to Alexander in 1812. In 1828 he came to New Albion, settled on lot 33, and died on the place now owned by his son Robert CHAMPLIN on lot 9. In early manhood he was a sailor on a merchant ship. His Sons were:

William M. CHAMPLIN

Asa CHAMPLIN, who died at the age of twelve years

Robert CHAMPLIN, Jr., born Feb. 24, 1810

Jesse CHAMPLIN, a carriage maker in East Randolph

George CHAMPLIN, who removed to Wisconsin and died in 1889

Dudley CHAMPLIN, a farmer and mechanic in Salamanca

William M CHAMPLIN, who came from Genesee County a year prior to his brothers and settled near the center of Napoli.

Daughters of Robert CHAMPLIN, Sr.:

Hannah CHAMPLIN married Alanson BOARDMAN, and settled in Napoli. Mr. BOARDMAN was a blacksmith. They removed to Wisconsin, and thence to Iowa, where they died.

Mary CHAMPLIN married John MERRILL and settled in Batavia.

Lydia CHAMPLIN married Thomas J. WILLIAMS, first settled in New Albion, and died in Minnesota.

Sarah CHAMPLIN married Erastus WYMAN and resides near Chicago.

Armenia CHAMPLIN married Harvey METCALF, is a widow, and resides on Elm creek in Conewango.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 833 and 834

Surnames: CHAMPLIN, DAY, GILLILAND, GLOVER, GODDARD, HANSON

Robert CHAMPLIN, Jr., came to New Albion in 1827 and contracted for 150 acres on lot 33 and 50 acres on lot 25 for himself, his mother, and his brother George. His brother sold out and removed west. About 1837, he married Ursula GILLILAND and settled on lot 9, where James GODDARD, the first permanent settler in town, located in 1818. The place then contained 130 acres. Mr. CHAMPLIN added to it until he had 600 acres. Children:

William M. CHAMPLIN, born Nov. 10, 1840, married Eva S. HANSON on June 22,1885. Children were Mary and Leland.

Theodore CHAMPLIN, born Jan. 12, 1842, married Emma DAY on Jan. 1, 1880. Children were Willie R., Bessie May, Grover C., and Jesse T.

John CHAMPLIN, born Oct. 4, 1844, married Cora GLOVER in Dec. 1882. Children were Alson and Robert Clayton.

These brothers (William, Theodore, and John) jointly own the homestead of 600 acres, a cheese factory receiving the milk of 400 cows, and give some attention to breeding horses.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 834

Surnames: COOPER, ANDREWS, JEWELL, MERZ

Russell A. COOPER, born in Andover, NY on Feb. 6, 1844, was a hardware merchant in Aiken, PA in the fall of 1878. In 1881 he removed to Cattaraugus and opened a hardware store, which was burned in the fire of Sept. 5, 1888. He soon resumed business and in Feb. 1889, he sold to J.H. JEWELL & Sons. On April 23, 1891, he purchased the grocery stock of J. A. ANDREWS. On Dec 16, 1879, he married Theresa MERZ of Jamestown, and they have one son, Willie R. Mr. COOPER has served as president of Cattaraugus village two terms and on the Board of Education seven years.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 834

Surnames: CROWLEY, MULCAHY

Dennis CROWLEY, a native of Ireland, came to America in early manhood, married Ellen MULCAHY in Ellicottville, and since 1851 has resided in Cattaraugus. When he came here he assisted in building the depot, and was afterward employed as a trackman. He finally became a baggagemaster, which position he still holds. Mrs. CROWLEY died on May 22, 1890. They had fourteen children, of whom a daughter and four sons are living: Julia, P. E., J. J., T. W., and D. R.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 834 & 835

Surnames: DARLING, LEE, ALLEN, ELLIOTT, FREMONT, WHITE

John P. DARLING, son of Rufus and Prudy (LEE) DARLING, was born in Berkshire County, Mass. on Feb 25, 1815. His father was a farmer who settled in Lenox, NY in 1818, and removed thence to Otto in 1824. He died in 1828, aged forty-seven years. Mrs. DARLING survived until July of 1873, aged eighty-six years. She was remarkable as a lady of rare abilities of mind and noble qualities of heart, John P. DARLING received a common school education. In the spring of 1831 he became a raftsman on the Allegheny and Ohio rivers. In the fall he went to Grand Island in the Niagara river and spent most of the winter chopping cord-wood. He labored for the farmers in Otto a large portion of the time until 1834, when he became a clerk in the store of C. B. ALLEN in Otto village, where he remained until 1838, when he formed a partnership with William F. ELLIOTT and continued in trade until 1848, when he conducted business alone. In 1851 he established a branch store in the village of Cattaraugus, and in 1853 he removed thither with his entire business. Here he was in mercantile trade until 1856, when he retired. In early life he cast his lot with the Whig party and was a subscriber for the New York Tribune from its first issue to the close of his life. He was intensely "Free Soil". In 1856 he took the stump for General Fremont and was ever afterward a staunch Republican. Mr. DARLING, besides other town offices, was supervisor of Otto in 1845, 1846, and 1847, and of New Albion nine terms between 1855 and 1875. He was chairman of the board in 1860 and 1861 and at the special session held in March of 1867. In 1850 he was appointed postmaster and held the office through President Fillmore’s administration. In 1851 he was elected treasurer of Cattaraugus County and served three years. In the fall of 1856 he was elected to the State Senate by a majority of 8,000 to fill the remainder of the unexpired term of Hon. Roderick WHITE, who died in the preceding spring. He was renominated in the succeeding fall and re-elected. In the spring of 1864 he was appointed State assessor and resigned the position a year after. Senator DARLING is a conspicuous example of a self-made man. As a business man he was methodical, cautious, and careful. He was an indomitable worker. As a politician he was honorable, a successful organizer, impressed his friends with the feasibility of his plans, and was a natural leader. Mr. DARLING died on June 17, 1882. Mrs. DARLING survived until Feb. 15, 1889. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 835

Surnames: DAVIS, HORTH, LYON

JOSEPH A. DAVIS, born June 1, 1819, was a son of Rev. Eber DAVIS, a preacher of the M.E. (Methodist Episcopal) Church and a pioneer on the place now owned by his grandsons, Emory W. DAVIS and Adelbert D. DAVIS. Joseph A. DAVIS was also a local preacher. His brother John DAVIS was thirty years a Methodist minister and member of conference. Joseph A. married Electa LYON on Nov. 29, 1842, and succeeded to the homestead, which has never been out of the possession of the DAVIS family.

Children of Joseph and Electa:

Giles C. DAVIS, born on July 18, 1844 

Wilbur F. DAVIS, born on May 10, 1846 and died on June 21, 1849

Wilbur F. DAVIS (2nd) born on Sept. 17, 1850

Emory W. DAVIS, born on Nov. 23, 1854

Adelbert D. DAVIS, born on Jan. 17, 1858

Adella DAVIS (twin of Adelbert), born on Jan. 17, 1858 and died on Sept. 17, 1858

ADELBERT D. DAVIS married on June 17, 1879 Ida M. HORTH, who was born on Nov. 2, 1856, a daughter of Alexander HORTH. He was first a cheese maker, then a farmer four years, a merchant three years, and since a farmer, and has served as inspector of elections four years. He owns jointly with his brother Emory the DAVIS homestead, which was first settled by his grandfather, Capt. Joseph DAVIS, a veteran of the Revolutionary War and also a preacher. He has two sons and two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 835

Surnames: DAWSON, WIDHOUSE, COLLINS, HERRICK, HILL, HOWE, LITTLE, SANDERS, VINTON

James DAWSON, born in Ireland on Feb. 1, 1802, married Dorothy WIDHOUSE, who was born on June 17, 1803. Their oldest son was born in Ireland about 1825. In 1828 he came to America in a sailing vessel. They landed in Quebec, remained in Canada two or three years, removed to Boston, Mass., and thence to Windsor, VT. They came with teams to Albany or Troy and thence by the Erie canal to Buffalo and finally to New Albion, where they arrived on Oct. 19, 1841, settling on the place now occupied by P. HERRICK, where he cleared 100 acres. He early became a citizen of the United States, joined the Whig party, and became a staunch Republican. In June of 1862, he enlisted in the army for two years. He died on Dec. 12, 1864, and Mrs. DAWSON on Dec. 14, 1877.

Children of James and Dorothy DAWSON:

Henry DAWSON, a wagon maker in Gowanda

James DAWSON, who married Ellen HILL, of Gowanda, and was killed by the cars in Dunkirk on Dec 27, 1869.

Alexander E. DAWSON

Rose A. DAWSON (Mrs. Ralph HOWE)

Mary J. DAWSON (Mrs. Silas VINTON) of Gowanda.

Alexander E. DAWSON, born in Boston on July 10, 1835, came to New Albion with his parents in 1841. On March 28, 1861, he married M. Caroline LITTLE and began life as a mechanic. On Sept. 2, 1864, he enlisted in Co. D, 9th NY Cav., and was discharged on June 1, 1865. He is a musician and a teacher.

Children: Eva (Mrs. W. COLLINS); James Albert, who married Winnie SANDERS; Charles A.; and Henry E. DAWSON

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 835 & 836

Surnames: DAY, GUY, BIGELOW, JACKSON, PHILLIPS, YOUNG

Abraham DAY was born in Massachusetts in 1800. His father, himself, and younger brother enlisted as musicians in the Seminole war. He was a celebrated drummer and was promoted to drum-major, At the close of the war he went home with General JACKSON as his errand-boy and remained with him until the expiration of his term of enlistment. He married Joanna, daughter of Robert GUY, in Broome County, NY, and in June of 1822, came to New Albion and settled on the homestead of Horace C. YOUNG, where he was a farmer until about 1830, when he received the appointment of keeper of the light-house at Dunkirk from General JACKSON, which position he held until 1841. He resigned and returned to New Albion and again engaged in farming. He was commissioner of highways several years and located many of the roads in his town. He owned a farm of 170 acres. Mrs. DAY died on May 4, 1876.

Children of Abraham and Joanna DAY:

Laura A. DAY (deceased)

Abraham R. DAY, who married Serepta PHILLIPS, and died in 1890, leaving a widow and two sons, who reside on the homestead.

Clarendon Guy DAY, born on Nov. 6, 1832 in Dunkirk, settled on July 10, 1870 on the DAY homestead, which he manages.

Thomas DAY (deceased)

Jefferson D. DAY

Emeline J. DAY (Mrs. Francis BIGELOW), deceased

Lottie M. DAY, a teacher

Clarendon Guy DAY resides in the village of New Albion. He is a Democrat and has been assessor and the nominee of his party for supervisor. He has one daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 836

Surnames: DAY, LEE, LOOMIS, JONES

Erastus DAY, son of Noah and Ann (LOOMIS) DAY, was born on March 4, 1787, married Marion LEE in 1812, and was an early settler and farmer of New Albion. He was a lineal descendant of John DAY, of Hartford, Conn., whose father, Robert DAY, came to America in April of 1634. He first settled in Newtown (now Cambridge), Mass. In 1639 he was a resident of Hartford, Conn. and was one of the first settlers of that place. The children of Erastus DAY: Asahel, born on June 4, 1813; Eli, born on May 10, 1815; Hudson, born on Aug. 28, 1816; Wealthy, born on July 11, 1818; Orrin, born on Jan. 10, 1821 and Elias, born on July 18, 1827

Orrin DAY married Brooksanna JONES of Cattaraugus in 1845. She was born in Milford, NY on Dec. 16, 1825. Her father, Moses J. JONES, removed from Otsego County and settled in New Albion in Feb. of 1835. Orrin DAY was a farmer and teamster, and succeeded his father (Erastus DAY) on the homestead, where he died in 1868.

Children of Orrin and Brooksanna DAY:

Alvin C. DAY, born April 18, 1848 (deceased)

Frances E. DAY, born on Aug. 3, 1951

Estella DAY (twin of Rosella), born on Sept. 17, 1857. Estella married John MEROW of Little Valley.

Rosella DAY (twin of Estella), born on Sept. 17, 1857. Rosella died in January of 1878.

Beorge B. DAY, born Aug. 20, 1862.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 836

Surnames: DUNN, STORUM, WELCH

Richard C. DUNN, son of John and Mary (WELCH) DUNN, was born in Lyndon on Sept. 3, 1856, was educated in the common schools and Franklinville Academy, and commenced his business life in Lyndon as a cheese maker. A year later, he purchased and conducted two factories in Cuba, NY, and followed the business in all about ten years, He came to Cattaraugus in the spring of 1890 and has since conducted the excellent Cattaraugus House, connected with which is a good livery owned and managed by M. S. STORUM.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 836

Surnames: EASTON, TATTERSON, CHAPMAN

John EASTON, whose father came from England, was born in or near the city of New York. Between the ages of twelve and twenty-six, he followed the seas as a sailor, attaining the position of mate. He married Sarah TATTERSON on Long Island, and in 1830 came to Leon from Middlebury, NY, settling there where his grandson, Richard EASTON, now lives, and where he died aged eighty-four years.

John’s youngest son, Erasmus EASTON, was born in Middlebury on Dec. 24, 1822. Erasmus chopped, logged, and cleared land, and in 1842 married Olive CHAPMAN. He resided on the homestead a year, and for five years has resided on a farm near the northwest corner of New Albion. Mrs. EASTON died on Dec. 9, 1889, aged seventy-nine. Children of Erasmus and Olive EASTON: Marvin, Polly, Mary, Elizabeth, Lucretia, Albert, William, and Sarah.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 836 & 837

Surnames: ELLIS, COLE

William N. ELLIS was born at Cherry Creek, NY, on Jan. 14, 1843. He enlisted in Co. K, 9th NY Cav. on Oct. 14, 1861, and re-enlisted in the same organization on Jan. 2, 1864, being always with his company except when he was in the hospital for a sabre wound on his head and a shot through his right arm, both received at the battle of Brandy Station, VA on Aug. 1, 1863. He was discharged on July 17, 1865, and now receives a pension. On Dec. 5, 1866, he married Phebe A. COLE, of Cattaraugus, who was born in Hamburg, Erie County, on June 30, 1845. Children of William and Phebe ELLIS: William H. and Charles E.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 837

Surname: EPLEY

William EPLEY, of German ancestry, was born in Steuben County on July 12, 1828, and reared in Livingston County. At the age of twenty-one he went to Rochester, where he was a clerk in several wholesale houses about ten years. He was in Michigan until 1864, when he enlisted in the 12th Mich. Vet. Inf. Vols., and was discharged on Sept. 31, 1865. He was first sent to Camp Blair at Jackson, Mich., and two hours after his arrival was detailed as a clerk at the headquarters of the colonel, where he was retained four or five months. He then joined his regiment in Arkansas and continued a clerk until he was discharged. In 1880 he settled in Cattaraugus, where he has a merchant tailoring business.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 837

Surnames: FARRAR, JOHNSON, HAWKINS

T. J. FARRAR, son of G. W. FARRAR, was born in Machias July 26, 1844, was raised a farmer, learned the carpenter's trade, and was several years a dry goods clerk. On Jan 1, 1874 he became a partner with S. L. and E. L. JOHNSON under the firm name of JOHNSON and FARRAR. Three years later Mr. FARRAR established an insurance business known as the Cattaraugus Insurance Agency. In April 1890 he sold this, and has since been engaged in the sale of real estate, in which he has had large transactions, mainly in Buffalo. On March 3, 1874, he married Maria HAWKINS, of Buffalo; they have a son, Clarence B. FARRAR, born Nov 27, 1874. The family has recently removed to Buffalo.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 837

Surnames: GARLOCK, HOLMES, KEELER, LEAVENWORTH, SMITH

W. W. GARLOCK, son of William M. and Eliza A. (SMITH) GARLOCK, was born in East Otto on Sept. 4, 1860. His paternal grandparents were natives of Germany. His father was born in America and early learned the trade of shoemaking. He served in the late war and after his discharge, went to Michigan, where he engaged in the manufacture of boots and shoes. His maternal ancestor, Amasa SMITH, was a pioneer of Mansfield, where he settled in 1828. His grandfather, Welcome SMITH, was born in Marcellus and his grandmother was the sister of the pioneer doctor and county judge, Dr. Alson LEAVENWORTH. W. W. GARLOCK, whose mother died when he was ten years old, had a home with his grandmother, who had married her second husband, Rev. Clark HOLMES, of Cattaraugus. In Feb. of 1878, he opened a photographic studio in the village. He holds a certificate from the Photographers Association of America conferring upon him the title of professional photographer. On Aug. 12, 1879, he married Carrie A., daughter of F. J. KEELER. She died on March 12, 1891, and left a daughter, M. Spray, born on June 12, 1886.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 837

Surnames: GOULD, RICH

Frank. B. GOULD was educated in the public schools of Dunkirk and in Waterford Academy in Pennsylvania. He learned the tinner’s trade and in 1872 came to Cattaraugus, where the same year he married Sarah. R., daughter of Danford RICH. He entered the employ of OAKES & ELLIOTT, where he has since been engaged, having the business charge of the establishment.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 837 & 838

Surnames: GUY, STICKNEY, BARTON, CHASE, DAY, VALAIANT

Robert GUY was born of Irish parents in 1774. He married Laura STICKNEY in Otsego County. They resided near Ogdensburg, NY at the time of the War of 1812. They were in Broome County as early as 1816 and removed thence to New Albion in 1821, where they spent the remainder of their lives. They settled in a log house on lot 33. Mr. GUY died on June 10, 1851, and Mrs. GUY on March 19, 1856. He was a Jacksonian Democrat and liberal in his religious views. He was one of the first to open his house as a tavern.

Children of Robert and Laura (STICKNEY) GUY:

Joanna GUY (Mrs. Abraham DAY)

Timothy P. GUY, who was twice married, settled on the homestead, and left a son, Robert E. GUY

Emily GUY (Mrs. Ira VALAIANT)

Laura GUY

Emily GUY (Mrs. Kimball CHASE), deceased

Almira GUY (Mrs. Hiram BARTON), deceased

Himan GUY, who removed to Iowa and died.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 838

Surnames: HERRICK, BOSSELLER, HORNING, PARMELEE

Samuel B. HERRICK, of English descent and of New England parentage, was born on Dec. 8, 1781, married Mary BOSSELLER in Montgomery County, who was born there on Nov. 29, 1782, and first settled in Sennett, NY. In the spring of 1830, Mrs. HERRICK with her children came to New Albion and settled on thirty acres of lot 12. Mr. HERRICK was a carpenter and builder and remained in Sennett to complete some work, and joined his family in December following. He added to the 30 acres 100 more and followed his trade. Mr. HERRICK died at the age of eighty-two. Mrs. HERRICK died later at the age of eighty. Children: Charlotte, Larry, Esther, Jeremiah H., John R., Fanny, Stephen M., George, and Elisha HERRICK.

Jeremiah H. HERRICK, was born in Sennett, NY on March 8, 1820, and came to New Albion with the family in 1830. On Dec 24, 1845, he married Eunice B., daughter of Joshua PARMELEE, a pioneer of Mansfield. She was born in Spafford, Onondaga County, on July 26, 1822. They settled on 75 acres adjoining the homestead on lot 4, and finally, by additions, had a farm of 180 acres. In the fall of 1869 he presented his oldest son the home, on lot 4, and settled where he now resides. He has been assessor twelve years.

Children of Jeremiah H. and Eunice B. (PARMELEE) HERRICK:

Judson HERRICK

Theodocia HERRICK, died on March 5, 1866

Fred B. HERRICK, who married Eureka HORNING

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 838 & 839

Surnames: HIGBEE, HOPKINS, CHRISTIE, LUCE, NASH, PAYNE

William HIGBEE, a native of Connecticut, married Hannah HOPKINS in Turin, NY, where several of his children were born. About 1827, he removed from Barre, Orleans County, to New Albion and settled on Snyder Hill, where W. V. PAYNE now lives. He had four sons and three daughters, all of whom, except his youngest son, settled in the neighborhood. In early life he was a sailor. He was passionately fond of hunting in his old age, and on one of his excursions he gathered a quantity of Lobelia seeds and tried their medicinal qualities on himself. After a hearty vomiting exercise he threw the remainder in the fire. He died aged eighty-five years.

His son Sanford HIGBEE was a preacher and resided on the homestead.

Noah HIGBEE also moved to New Albion about the same time his father came and was a farmer. He married Harriet LUCE.

Jerome L. HIGBEE, son of Noah and Harriet (LUCE) HIGBEE, was born in New Albion on Feb. 16, 1839, and was raised a farmer. At the age of seventeen he became strongly impressed with a desire to obtain an education. He attended the schools of Cattaraugus and Gowanda and Fredonia Academy, and entered the preparatory department of Hillsdale College, in Michigan, in the spring of 1860, graduating therefrom as A.B. in 1866. Three years later he received the honorary degree of A.M. From the time he commenced his studies, he sustained himself by teaching. After graduating, he was two years engaged as a teacher. In the spring of 1869 he commenced the study of law in the office of Col. E. A. NASH at Cattaraugus. He married Martha, daughter of N. CHRISTIE, and at the solicitation of his wife and her father he became a merchant under the firm name of CHRISTIE & HIGBEE. He was elected school commissioner and served three years. About 1874 he entered the ministry of the Freewill Baptist Church and was the pastor of the church at Cherry Creek for one year. He spent the year 1875 in New York as business manager of the Baptist Union and preached there occasionally. In 1876-77 he was the pastor of the Freewill Baptist Church at Hamlet, Chautauqua County. At the same time, he taught a select school as he had at Cherry Creek. He also continued his mercantile business, and for about three years he had an interest in an additional store in Randolph and lived there. From Hamlet he returned to Cattaraugus, where he attended to his mercantile business until 1884. Besides constructing his own house, he has erected in his village twelve or fifteen other buildings. In politics he is a Prohibitionist, and in 1891 was the nominee of his party in his district for State senator.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 839

Surnames: HILL, MOREY, DREW, BOARDMAN, JOHNSON, KINNICUTT

Levi HILL came to Napoli from Chenango County at a very early day. He cleared a farm and set out one of the first orchards in that town, and resided there as late as 1833, when he removed to New Albion, where he was a farmer, and where he died in 1864. He married Philena MOREY. Late in his life, his wife died, and he married widow Ruth A. DREW.

Children of Levi and Philena (MOREY) HILL:

Gardner, Alexander, Clark, Eunice, Clarissa, Jerome, and Sarah HILL

Gardner HILL, was born in Chenango County on Dec. 12, 1821. On Oct. 24, 1845 he married Matilda A., daughter of John A. KINNICUTT, and settled in New Albion as a farmer. He died on March 1, 1854.

Children of Gardner and Matilda A. (KINNICUTT) HILL:

Leroy N. HILL, born Dec 11, 1846, married Martha J. JOHNSON of Conewango, was a farmer until Nov. of 1884, and since then has conducted a general store in the village of New Albion.

Lucius D. HILL, born on March 25, 1849, a merchant of Conewango.

Ellen S. HILL, born on May 2, 1852, married Thomas V. BOARDMAN, deceased.

Charles G. HILL, born on July 24, 1854

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 839

Surnames: HINMAN, BULLIS, BEACH, DEWEY, EDMUNDS, HOYT, LEAVENWORTH, RICE, RICH

Simeon B. HINMAN, born in Rutland VT on Aug. 11, 1800, came to East Otto in 1824. Mr. HINMAN married, in Aurora, NY on Dec. 6, 1826, Keziah BULLIS, who was born in Bennington, VT on June 24, 1806, a daughter of Benjamin and Rachel (HOYT) BULLIS. Mr. BULLIS was a soldier in the War of 1812. Mr. HINMAN, with the aid of his industrious sons, paid for his farm, built good buildings, and accumulated a competency. He was a prominent citizen, and both were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. HINMAN died on March 28, 1890. His widow resides in Otto village.

Simeon B. and Keziah (BULLIS) HINMAN had eight children:

Adaline HINMAN (Mrs. Oscar F. BEACH) of East Otto

Lucy HINMAN, who died at age twenty-four

Hoyt W. HINMAN

Lyman H. HINMAN, resides in Marshalltown, Iowa

Millard F. HINMAN, of East Otto

Benjamin B. HINMAN, of Hinsdale

Rachel J. HINMAN, widow of Hiram DEWEY, resides with her mother (Keziah) in Otto village.

Marshall L. HINMAN, ex-mayor of Dunkirk, and secretary and treasurer of the Brooks Locomotive Works.

Hoyt W. HINMAN, born in East Otto on Feb. 5, 1831, began life laboring by the month for his neighbor, E. A. RICE. Three years later he located on a farm of 200 acres in Iowa, which he owned five years, when he exchanged it for a farm of 150 acres in Otto, which he still owns. In the fall of 1869 he removed to Cattaraugus village, and the past eighteen years has been an extensive buyer of butter and cheese. He purchased the Dr. LEAVENWORTH estate of five acres and has given the house and one acre to his only child, Hattie (Mrs. C. R. RICH). He is a large stockholder and a director of the Bank of Cattaraugus, the largest stockholder and president of the TEN EYCK Edge Tool Company, and owns several village lots. Mr. HINMAN is an attendant of the Methodist Episcopal Church and a singer in the choir. On Oct. 23, 1856, he married Sylvania F., daughter of Salem EDMUNDS, of East Otto, a native of Massachusetts.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 839

Surnames: HORTH, KILBY

Hadley S. HORTH, son of Benjamin HORTH, a pioneer of New Albion, was born on the farm where his father settled, on Oct. 11, 1845. He enlisted in the 72d N. Y. Vols. on Oct. 18, 1861, and re-enlisted as a veteran in Dec. of 1863, serving nearly four years. The first two years he was always on duty. Afterward his health became much impaired and for total disability he was sent to the general hospital and thence to his home. Returning to his regiment, he was made a prisoner in 1865 and paroled three days later. On Nov. 1, 1868, he married Maggie, daughter of James KILBY, Sr. Children of Hadley and Maggie HORTH: Ernest, Louis, and Hattie HORTH.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 840

Surnames: INGERSOLL, EASTON, BROWN

Dorus INGERSOLL, a native of Washington County, was born in 1801. In 1823 he removed from Middlebury, NY, and subsequently to Leon. He was a prominent pioneer and held several town offices, being justice of the peace many years. He married Sarah EASTON, of Middlebury, and had five sons and five daughters. Mr. INGERSOLL died in 1881, and Mrs. INGERSOLL in 1866. Their son, Denzil INGERSOLL, was born in 1843, married Jennette BROWN of Boston, Erie County, in 1866, who was born there in 1847, and settled on the homestead in Leon. In the fall of 1875 they removed to their present home in New Albion.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 840

Surnames: JEWELL, BENSON, BURRELL, DENTON, HENDERSON, MORRIS, PRATT, RUSSELL, WEBSTER

THOMAS JEWELL, the progenitor of a numerous race in America was probably born in England about 1600. The name was written as JULE, JOYELL, JEWEL, and then JEWELL. The first authentic account of him is in the early part of 1639, and shows that he then had a wife and one child. He received a grant of land the 24th day of the 2d month, 1639, of four acres for three heads – 12 acres – upon the covenant of three shillings per acre, located on the "Mount" near Boston, Mass. The "Mount" was Mt. Woolaston, first settled in 1625 and incorporated as Braintree in 1640. He was a miller. His sons were Thomas, Joseph, and Nathaniel. 

Joseph, born April 24, 1642, first lived in Charlestown (Mass.) and conducted the ferry between that place and Boston, and his son Joseph [Jr.] assisted him. When about 50 years old, he removed to Stow and there owned a grist-mill, which for years (as late as 1815 at least) went by the name of "JEWELL’s mill". This old mill-site was as late as 1860 occupied by a carpet factory and the stream is the dividing line between Sudbury and Stow. He died at about the age of 94. His second wife, Isabel, lived to be over 103.

Their son Joseph JEWELL [Jr.], born in June, 1673, was married in Boston to Mary MORRIS by Rev. Cotton MATHER, Sept. 14, 1704, and died in Dudley, Mass. in 1766.

Their son Nathaniel JEWELL, married Elizabeth WEBSTER, March 20, 1739, and died in Dudley, Mass. in 1782. 

The son of Nathaniel and Elizabeth, John Morris JEWELL, was born Sept. 4, 1739, married Sarah PRATT, and died in Cherry Valley, NY on March 20, 1828. He raised quite a family.

[Ed. NOTE: dob was Sept 24, 1739 per "Jewell Register" pub. 1860]

The son of John and Sarah, Jared JEWELL, was born March 8, 1780, married Esther BURRELL, and died on Dec. 26, 1820.

The sons of Jared and Esther JEWELL:

James, Jonathan, Osborn, and Jared (who died in infancy)

James JEWELL (of Jared) came to New Albion from Westford, NY about 1831. On Jan. 20, 1836 he married Hannah GUY.

Jonathan JEWELL (of Jared) married Amanda DENTON in Otsego County, NY on Oct. 27, 1825. In 1832 he came to New Albion and located a farm on Lot 53. He died on April 13, 1887; Amanda died on Feb. 18, 1886. 

Children of Jonathan and Amanda JEWELL:

John D. JEWELL was born Dec. 7, 1829 and died Dec. 15, 1854 in Auburn, NY, where he was keeper in the State's prison.

Hannah JEWELL was born in 1832 and died in 1834.

James H. JEWELL was born Sept. 23, 1836 [in New Albion, NY]. He received an education in the common schools and Randolph Academy. In June 1854, he married Jane HENDERSON, of Otisco, NY. James began life as a live stock buyer and farmer, which business he continued several years. Since 1873 he has been an extensive dealer in cheese and is also the senior member of the firm J.H. Jewell & Sons, of Cattaraugus, dealers in hardware and crockery. Mr. JEWELL is a Democrat, and has been assessor nine years and was postmaster of Cattaraugus through Cleveland's first administration.

Children of James H. and Jane JEWELL:

Frank D. JEWELL

William N. JEWELL

Osborn JEWELL (of Jared) was born Feb. 25, 1810, married Electa RUSSELL on Sept. 24, 1849, and was a merchant in Buffalo. 

Their son John R. JEWELL, was born in Buffalo, married Harriet E. BENSON, daughter of George BENSON, in New Albion, and has spent his life as a seaman. He has passed through all the grades from the cook's helper to master, and still holds an American and British shipmaster’s certificate.

[NOTE: Information herein is a direct-line of ancestors of Jared and Esther JEWELL and their sons – James, Jonathan, and Osborn JEWELL. Anyone researching the JEWELL ancestry will find a wealth of information in "The JEWELL Register", published in 1860 by Pliny JEWELL and Rev. Joel JEWELL. This book attempted to identify all descendants of Thomas JEWELL (ca 1600), and includes about 2000 family members. As "The JEWELL Register" is now about 139 years out of date, a number of JEWELL descendants are contributing information to update our lineage. Any JEWELL information will be greatly appreciated. -- Arthur J. Burch -- Cincinnati, OH

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

JEWELL Family of Cattaraugus County

Bio from personal database.

Surnames: JEWELL, BROWN, HALL, HENDERSON, McWHORTER, MOORE, PEPPERDINE, SWANK, TULLER

James H. JEWELL was born Sept. 23, 1836 in New Albion, NY. He married Jane M. HENDERSON in June of 1854. James died in 1909 in Cattaraugus Co. Jane died in 1915, also in Cattaraugus, Co. They had four children:

Frank D. JEWELL was born in Aug. of 1854 in New Albion, NY. Frank married Anna D. MOORE abt 1880 in New Albion. Frank died in 1920 in Cattaraugus Co. Anna died here in 1905. They had five children

William N. JEWELL was born on Nov. 24th, 1857 at Otisco, Onondaga Co., NY. He married Capitola McWHORTER, who was born in 1860 in Cattaraugus Co. She died here in 1895, at age 35. For over fifty years William lived in Cattaraugus, being associated with his father (James) and brother (Frank) in the hardware business. Later he became a jeweler, which profession he followed both in Cattaraugus and in Rimersburg, PA until illness forced his retirement. William died in Rimersburg, on Jan. 29, 1936, and is buried at Liberty Park Cemetery in Cattaraugus. [NOTE: Information indicates a daughter, Alice JEWELL, to have married Merle PEPPERDINE in Cattaraugus Co.]

Alice A. JEWELL was born in 1862 in Cattaraugus Co. and died here in 1880 (age 18). She is said to have married Maurice TULLER, but we have no further information.

Arthur R. JEWELL was born in 1874 in Cattaraugus Co. and died there in 1887, at the age of 13.

Children of Frank D. and Anna D. JEWELL (all of Cattaraugus Co.):

Harry JEWELL was born in 1880 and died in 1888

Jennie JEWELL was born (and died) in 1884

Mercy A. JEWELL was born in Dec. of 1884, married Olin HALL, and died in 1950.

Helen Vivian JEWELL was born in Oct. of 1892, married W. Leone BROWN, and died on Feb. 9. 1952. W. Leone and Helen have two children (still living). More information regarding the heritage of W. Leone BROWN is posted elsewhere in the Cattaraugus BIOS.

Homer W. JEWELL was born in 1886, married Victoria SWANK, and died in 1944, in Nevada.

[NOTE: Information provided through the combined efforts of Arthur J. Burch and Wende Butler Brock.

Persons requiring further information, or wishing to provide additional details regarding this family, may contact either of us.]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 840 & 841

Surnames: JOHNSON, HAMILTON, JEWELL, ELLIOTT, PLUMB

Salmon L. JOHNSON was born in Cortland (then Homer) N. Y. April 6, 1818. In 1824 his parents removed to Fredonia, in 1825 to Ellicottville, and in 1826 to Ashford, where his father practiced his profession as a physician until 1846, when he removed to Otto and died there in 1870. S. L. became a clerk at the age of eighteen. He received an academic education and taught a district school one winter (1840-41). In 1841 he became a partner of his uncle, David B. JEWELL, as a general merchant in Ashford. In 1844 this partnership dissolved and in 1845 he became a partner in a like business in Otto with the late William F. ELLIOTT. In 1851 this firm established an additional store in Cattaraugus, and shipped their first goods from Dunkirk on a construction train before the railroad was formally opened. There were then only four small framed houses within the present incorporation of Cattaraugus village. In religion he is a Presbyterian, but is a regular attendant of the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics he is a staunch Republican. He was influential in establishing the postoffice at Cattaraugus in 1851 and was its first postmaster, serving as such about fifteen years. He was three terms justice of the peace, and it was at his suggestion that Mr. PLUMB decided to insert in all his deeds conveying his lands in Cattaraugus village the clause forever prohibiting the sale of intoxicating liquors on the premises conveyed. Several years afterward a petition was circulated praying Mr. PLUMB to rescind this prohibitory article and Mr. JOHNSON was the only one who refused to sign it. May 12,1861, he married Lucy E., daughter of Zane A. HAMILTON, who was born Aug. 5, 1828.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 841

Surnames: JOHNSON, BUGBEE, HOWE, BENEDICT, RICH

Elisha L. JOHNSON was born in Ellicottville, May 10, 1828. His father, Elisha JOHNSON, was a physician of the old school and a graduate of Geneva Medical College. The son received his education in common schools and in Fredonia Academy. In 1845 he began to learn the moulder's trade at Fredonia and alternately pursued his studies in the academy. In 1850 he was a journeyman moulder in Gowanda, and in 1851 in Buffalo. In the spring of 1852 he entered the store of his brother in Cattaraugus as a clerk. In 1856 or 1857 the partnership of S. L. & E. L. JOHNSON was formed for the sale of general merchandise, which continued until the great fire. In 1866 the firm became the joint owners with O. W. HOWE of the Cattaraugus mills, of which, in 1868, the JOHNSON’s became sole owners, and which E. L. has since conducted. Mr. JOHNSON has served as town clerk several years. He married, first, Malvina BUGBEE, of Gowanda, who was the mother of both his children: Mary (Mrs. S. J. BENEDICT) and Grace B. (Mrs. Charles J. RICH, Jr.). Mrs. JOHNSON died in Oct., 1886, and in June, 1889, he married Mrs. Emily, widow of Rev. L. H. BUGBEE, D. D.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 841 & 842

Surnames: JONES, FRASIER, SMITH, BOSWORTH

Melzar JONES, born in Washington, Vt., Jan. 18, 1807, came to Candor, N. Y., in 1813, where his father, John JONES, was a pioneer. He was a manufacturer of pine lumber at the age of twenty-one, and in 1838 he settled on a farm of 53 acres on lot 5 in New Albion. About 1864, on account of failing health, he removed to Cattaraugus village. He assisted in building the school building and the Methodist Episcopal church, and was present and helped raise the first frame building and sat on the first jury at a justice court. He was elected a justice of the peace, but refused to accept the office; he has served as assessor seven years. In Sept., 1826, he married Tabitha JONES, who was born March 29, 1807, and died March 23, 1875. Children: Hiram A., Chauncey M., Colby, Ansel M., and Melzar B. The latter was born on the homestead Oct. 1, 1841. He finished his education at Hillsdale College in Michigan, and in 1863 took a commercial course in the office of the president of Bryant & Stratton's Commercial College in Buffalo. He then took charge of the theoretical department of the institution and was next a merchant in Ellicottville with W. A. BOSWORTH. In Aug., 1864, he enlisted in the army and served five months. He then resumed teaching. Feb. 22, 1865 he married Jennie A. FRASIER, of Ellicottville, and settled on the homestead. Ten years later he came to the village of Cattaraugus and is now the proprietor of the Cattaraugus Marble Works. He has two sons and two daughters. The daughters are Emma M. (Mrs. Charles SMITH) and Jessie.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 842

Surnames: KINNICUTT, CHAPEL, HORTH, ROPPS

The KINNICUTT family in America is of Scotch origin and is descended from Roger KINNICUTT, who early emigrated to Rhode Island. John Anson KINNICUTT, born in Pittstown, R. I., in 1800 came from Livingston county, N. Y., to New Albion on Jan. 12, 1821, and brought his wife, Sophronia CHAPEL, and their child to his shanty on lot 18. He was prominent in the early settlement of Little Valley and in the town of New Albion. At the organization of this town he was elected its clerk and held the office seventeen years. He was also justice of the peace in Little Valley and in New Albion forty years. He had five sons and five daughters. Their son, John Albertus KINNICUTT, was born in Jan., 1828, and was elected supervisor in 1864, the last year of the civil war, when the amounts levied in the county reached hundreds of thousands. The board held six sessions during that year. He married, in 1851, Helen, daughter of Benjamin HORTH, who was the mother of his sons, Anson C., Bion P. (died aged thirty-three), and Robert A. In 1874 Mr. KINNICUTT married Nellie ROPPS, of East Randolph; Children: Norman N. and Nora A. (twins).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 842

Surnames: LAMB, VARNUM, BARNARD, MANNING

Jehiel LAMB, son of David, was born in Vermont, March 3, 1787, married Lois VARNUM, Jan. 1, 1810, who was born Jan. 2, 1789, and settled in Warrensburg, N. Y. In 1829 they came to Otto with two yoke of oxen and a heavy wagon followed by their single cow, making the journey in twenty-one days. They settled in "North Otto." He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and was class-leader and superintendent of the Sunday school. About 1836 he sold his improvements and removed to Mansfield, where he died Jan. 30, 1870. Mrs. LAMB died Jan. 12, 1856. They had nine children. Their youngest son, Bolivar R. LAMB, was born July 6, 1830 and has always been a farmer. Oct. 17, 1853, he married Mary E. BARNARD, of New Albion, and purchased the homestead of Warren BARNARD, his wife's father, where she was born Feb. 20, 1834, and where they still reside. He is in sympathy with the Methodists and a worker in the Sunday school. He served as supervisor in 1866 and 1871. He has one daughter, Effie M., born June 6, 1865, the wife of Rev. W. W. MANNING.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 842

Surnames: LEWIS, FLYNN, WEED, BLOOD

Earl M. LEWIS, son of George and Mary J. (FLYNN) LEWIS, was born in Freedom (q. v.). He was a clerk in the store of E. W. WEED & Co., of Yorkshire Center, and is now engaged with H. F. BLOOD in Cattaraugus. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and a teacher in the Sabbath school. His maternal grandfather, Rev. William H. FLYNN, was a clergyman of the Freewill Baptist church about thirty years. When he retired from active work as a preacher he settled in Cattaraugus, where he spent about twenty years. He now resides at Yorkshire Center with his daughter, Mrs. LEWIS, widow of George LEWIS. He and his wife celebrated their golden wedding in Feb., 1890.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 842 & 843

Surnames: MALTBIE, BROWN, ROSE, GRANT

Lucius H. MALTBIE, born in Weedsport, N. Y., in Jan., 1828, lost his father at the age of five years, and his mother and stepfather, Mr. ROSE, settled in Otto about 1837, where Lucius H. learned the trade of tailor of his older brother. In 1851 he came to Cattaraugus, built a shop of boards, and began business as a merchant tailor. About 1878 he changed to groceries. In 1881 he added a line of drugs and medicines. He was appointed postmaster under General GRANT and held the position seven years. He has served as town clerk. In Oct., 1856, he married Kerrella, daughter of Charles BROWN, of Forestville. She died March 29, 1888. Children of Lucius and Kerrella MALTBIE: Ralph H., Burt L., and Bertha A. MALTBIE

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 843

Surnames: MANLEY, FRENCH, McDUFFIE, VOSBURGH, WOODWARD

Nathaniel MANLEY, son of Jesse and Betsey (FRENCH) MANLEY, was born in Dummerston, Vt., June 29, 1817. June 22, 1832, his father and family arrived Mansfield and were fourteen days making the journey. Mr. MANLEY was a man of good education, had taught school, and had served as selectman in Vermont. He died in 1862 and Mrs. MANLEY in 1849. Nathaniel MANLEY, on Dec. 4, 1842, married Mary VOSBURGH, of Schuyler, N. Y., and succeeded his father on the homestead. He has been for many years an extensive buyer of butter and cheese. He was first a Whig and afterward a Republican. Mrs. MANLEY died April 26, 1887. Children of Nathaniel and Mary MANLEY: Martin H., Wilber J., Emmett F., and Jennie MANLEY (married Frank WOODWARD).

Wilber J. MANLEY, born March 9, 1847, was educated in the common schools, in Jamestown Union School, Randolph Academy, and Bryant & Stratton's Commercial College in Buffalo. On April 27, 1871, he married Henrietta, daughter of Angus McDUFFIE, of Otto. In 1870 he began buying butter and cheese, which business he has since followed, except the years 1882, 1883, and 1884, when he pursued farming. In politics he is a Republican, and he held the office of supervisor of New Albion in 1878 and 1879, has served three terms as a member of the school board, and has been president of the village. Children: Robert E. and Roscoe.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 843

Surnames: MOENCH, DIETRICH, GREEN, WEBSTER, AGLE

Christopher MOENCH, son of Christian, was born in Wurttemberg, Germany, June 22, 1835, and was apprenticed to the trade of tanning from 1849 until 1853. He then came to America and found employment at his trade in Versailles with Mr. GREEN. He was next a journeyman in the employ of Walter WEBSTER, of Gowanda, until Sept., 1861, when he bought out his employer and formed a co-partnership with F. AGLE, which continued under the firm name of C. MOENCH & AGLE till May, 1865, when Mr. MOENCH sold his interest to his partner and purchased the Cattaraugus tannery. In October following he organized the company of C. MOENCH & Co., which continued until 1880. He conducted the business alone until July 1, 1889, when the present firm of C. MOENCH & Son was formed. At the organization of the Bank of Cattaraugus he was elected vice-president, which position he has since held. He has served several years as a member of the school board. June 29, 1865, he married Caroline DIETRICH, of Hamburg, Erie county. Children: Henry L., Amelia L., Carrie A., Hattie F., George E., Dora C., Alice M., and Harmon F. MOENCH

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 843 & 844

Surnames: MOSHER, POTTER, SIBLEY, ELLIS, PARMELEE, BABCOCK, MILK, LOWE, De NIKE, CARROLL, MURDOCK

John MOSHER, son of John, was born in Hoosick, N. Y., married Eliza POTTER, and settled in Middlebury, N, Y. In the Spring of 1827, he removed to New Albion and settled where his youngest son, Reuben H. MOSHER, lived. He took an article for 300 acres, which is all in the hands of his sons and grandsons. He was a prominent and influential citizen and held several town offices. He was supervisor in 1851 and 1852. He died Feb. 9, 1874. Mrs. MOSHER died May 13, 1886. Children who lived to mature years:

George H. – A farmer, who settled in the northwest corner of New Albion and died there

Mary A MOSHER – Widow of George SIBLEY, of Great Valley

William P. MOSHER – Married Elizabeth ELLIS (died Dec. 10, 1889), settled on the south half of the homestead, and has served as assessor nine years

Cordelia MOSHER – Married J. PARMELEE

Alfred T. MOSHER – Born Sept. 18, 1827, married Ann BABCOCK (died Sept. 5, 1860), settled on a farm adjoining the homestead, where he now resides, and about 1864 married Susan MILK

Reuben H. MOSHER

Reuben H. MOSHER was born Aug. 16, 1834, and always lived on the homestead. He died Jan. 19, 1893. He married Betsey LOWE. He was assessor three years. "No man more completely enjoyed the confidence and respect of the people than did Reuben Henry MOSHER. He was rich in honest thoughts, and his self-respect raised him above receiving or bestowing flattery. He chose to pass for what he was – a plain, outspoken, and deserving man. In his business relations his word was a bond, which was sacredly kept. In his family he was considerate and kind. His friendship lived through adversity and was highly prized by his neighbors." Children: Ara E., Frank H., and De Lora J.

Ara E. MOSHER, born on the homestead, was first a clerk, and succeeded T. L. De NIKE as a druggist in Cattaraugus in 1879. He was twice burned out. He is now manufacturing a horse tonic, which is rapidly gaining in favor. He is also a dealer in farm implements and is associated with D. H. CARROLL in the sale of carriages and coal. In Sept., 1879, he married Gertrude E. MURDOCK, of Leon.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 844

Surnames: NORTHRUP, TOWN, BEACH, MALTBIE, HOAG, TEN EYCK

Luther Herbert NORTHRUP, son of David and Keziah (TOWN) NORTHRUP, was born in Otto, Feb. 12, 1854. At the age of ten his father died and his mother removed to the village of Cattaraugus. He became a clerk in a general store and began his first business enterprise at the age of eighteen as a dealer in ready-made clothing under the firm name of MALTBIE & NORTHRUP, and later as HOAG & NORTHRUP, general merchants. In 1879 he was a member of the Cerbat Mining Company and spent two years in Arizona. He has also been a railroad station agent and an insurance agent. He is a stockholder, secretary, and treasurer of the TEN EYCK Edge Tool Company, and president of the Board of Education and a magistrate of New Albion. Oct. 8, 1878, he married Addie, daughter of Oscar F. BEACH, of East Otto. Children: Anna, Arthur B., and Kate NORTHRUP.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 844

Surnames: OAKES, RICH, CALVER, ELLIOTT, BURGER

Frank S. OAKES, son of Nichols and Mary (RICH) OAKES, was born in Arcade, N. Y., Dec. 26, 1844. Raised a farmer, he was educated in the common schools and had a few terms at a select school at Yorkshire Center, and at the age of twenty began learning the tinner's trade in Otto. In the spring of 1869 he came to Cattaraugus. In 1873 he had invented and patented his famous Common-Sense milk pan and then formed a partnership with M. G. ELLIOTT for their manufacture, which continued four years. He has since been engaged in the manufacture of everything in the line of cheese factory and creamery supplies, the present firm being OAKES & BURGER (S. F. BURGER, q. v.). Mr. OAKES has been a member of the school board over thirteen years. Sept. 11, 1872, he married Jennie CALVER and has two sons and a daughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 844

Surnames: OSBORN, HARWICK, EVANS, PEEBLES, GAMPP

John W. OSBORN, son of Roderick and Mary A. (HARWICK) OSBORN, was born in Farmersville, Jan. 11, 1851, where his father, a native of Windham, N. Y., settled in early manhood. He married Mary A. HARWICK, of Centerville, N. Y., and died in Farmersville Center in 1874. John W. was a cheese maker for twelve years, beginning with one factory and increasing the number to five. He also bought cheese, which business he has largely pursued the past eight years, but deals as well in butter and farmers' produce. Under a contract with Joseph R. PEEBLES's Sons Co., of Cincinnati, Ohio, he arranged with J. GAMPP of East Otto, to make a cheese of mammoth size. This is described on page 556. May 23, 1873, Mr. OSBORN married Mary L. EVANS. They have one daughter, Nellie A.OSBORN, born Dec. 6, 1875.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 845

Surnames: PAYNE, LUCE, PHILLIPS, PARK, HIGBEE, HILLEBERT, ALLEN, HERRICK, HORTH

Harrison PAYNE, son of Stephen PAYNE, was born in the town of Pompey, N. Y., July 17, 1800, and removed with his father to Barre, N. Y., where he married Abigail, daughter of Joseph LUCE, and settled as a farmer. In 1829 he removed to Snyder hill in New Albion, where he died Aug. 19, 1867. He was an old line Whig and afterward a Republican, and was poor-master, highway commissioner, and assessor. He was early a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. His wife died in May, 1868. Children of Harrison and Abigail (LUCE) PAYNE: Nathan W.; William V., born May 26, 1826; George A.; Betsey, widow of Smith PHILLIPS, of Randolph; Judson S.; Stephen; Joseph W.; Nelson F.; Harrison , Jr.; and Lorenzo R. PAYNE

William V. PAYNE, married Martha PARK, of Bradford county, Pa., and resides on the Sanford HIGBEE farm. He is a Republican and has five children: Amanda E. (Mrs. Warren HILLEBERT), of Dayton; Helen Victoria, an artist; Judson H.; Mary A. (Mrs. Burt ALLEN) of Persia; and Ida B.

Lorenzo R. PAYNE, born on Snyder hill Feb. 6, 1843, married, Nov. 3, 1867, Lana E., daughter of John HERRICK, and settled on the Erastus HORTH farm. In Sept., 1861, he enlisted in the 64th N. Y. Vols., and served until June 17, 1864, when he was made prisoner. He was confined in Andersonville prison until exchanged Dec. 16, 1864. At the first battle of Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862, he received a wound in his left leg from a minie-ball, which confined him in the hospital two months. Children; Maud D., Lee J., and three who died in infancy.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 845

Surnames: PEPPERDINE, BUTLER, WINSHIP, THORPE, RICH, BATES

"Thomas PEPPERDINE, of the Parish of Scopwick, bachelor, and Mary BUTLER, of this parish, spinster, were married in this church, by Banns, with the consent of parents, this sixteenth day of March in the year one thousand eight hundred and twenty-four, by me, Samuel WINSHIP, curate of Buckington. This marriage was solemnized between us. [Signed] Thomas PEPPERDINE, Mary BUTLER. In the presence of William BUTLER, Joseph THORPE." – From Parish Register, Buckington, County and Diocese of Lincoln, England.

In 1827 Mr. and Mrs. PEPPERDINE, with their first born son, William, emigrated to America in a sailing vessel and landed in New York after a voyage of thirteen weeks. They came to Rochester, where Mrs. PEPPERDINE died six weeks later. Whilst he and his wife were very ill in Rochester he was robbed of quite a quantity of valuable merchandise, consisting of silks and linen. On his recovery he spent a year in Syracuse, where he married Mary RICH, and in Nov., 1828, they came to New Albion and located on Snyder hill. He moved twice after he first settled, and died in the south part of the town. He was a local preacher of the Methodist church.

William PEPPERDINE, born in Lincolnshire, England, April 13, 1825, came to America with his parents, and Dec. 29, 1844, married Harriet, daughter of Calvin RICH. About 1864 he began dealing in live stock, which he followed nearly fifteen years.

Melvin N. PEPPERDINE, son of William, was born in Cattaraugus village, Aug. 26, 1852, received a good English education, and Jan. 6, 1876, married Chloe R., daughter of Joseph BATES, and settled where he now resides. He is also dealing in cattle, sheep, and hogs. He is a staunch Republican and has been assessor. Children: Emma M. and Merle E. PEPPERDINE

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 845 & 846

Surnames: PFLUEGER, SIGMAN, JOHNSON

William PFLUEGER, born in Wurttemberg, Germany in 1838, came at the age of fourteen to America in a sailing vessel. He came to Dunkirk, where one of his uncles resided, and became a farm laborer. In 1856 he removed to New Albion and in 1858 he married Catherine, daughter of Martin SIGMAN. He became a citizen of the United States at the age of twenty-one and in Aug., 1862, enlisted in Co. B, 154th N.Y. Vols. He never missed a roll-call until May 2, 1863, when at the battle of Chancellorsville he received a severe wound in the left leg, which caused a compound fracture of the bone. He was taken off the field a prisoner and paroled May 16th, when he was transferred to the Union hospital and his wounds dressed for the first time. He was discharged in Dec. following. For twenty-five years he then had charge of the saw-mill of S. L. & E. L. JOHNSON.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 846

Surnames: PHILLIPS, SMITH, LUCE, KINGSLEY, PAYNE, FREDERICK

Henry PHILLIPS, born in Otsego county, Feb. 29, 1788, married Susannah SMITH, in Lenox, N. Y., in Dec., 1820, who, was born there May 20, 1806. As early as 1832 he settled in New Albion on Snyder hill, where Frank LUCE now lives. He died in New Albion in the spring of 1860. Mrs. PHILLIPS died October 18, 1875. Of their seven sons and three daughters only three sons are now living: George, the oldest, born May 18, 1821; William M., born Aug. 15, 1830; and Andrew J. PHILLIPS

Jacob PHILLIPS, son of Henry, was born in Niagara, N. Y., Nov. 4, 1828. April 1, 1852, he married Harriet, daughter of Rev. Alanson KINGSLEY. They first located on Snyder hill. In 1873 they settled in Cattaraugus, where Mr. PHILLIPS died June 8, 1883. He was a skillful carpenter and builder.

John S. PHILLIPS, son of Henry, was born in Barre, N. Y., March 5, 1825. He labored by the month for a time and Dec, 31, 1855, he married Betsey M., daughter of Harrison PAYNE, and became a farmer on Snyder hill. He died at East Randolph in June, 1890 leaving to each of his three sons a good farm. Children: Elmer, Frank E., and Fred M. PHILLIPS

Andrew J. PHILLIPS, born in New Albion, April 20, 1836, married, Aug. 8, 1857, Sarah C. FREDERICK, of Johnstown, N. Y., where they first settled. He enlisted from Johnstown in the fall of 1861 in Co. E, 44th N. Y. Vols., and served until he was discharged on account of illness in 1863. Since regaining his health he has been a carpenter and painter in Cattaraugus.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 846

Surnames: PRITCHARD, SLOAN, WOOD

Asa PRITCHARD, son of Nathan and Olive (SLOAN) PRITCHARD, was born in Lenox, N. Y., Aug. 30, 1815. His grandfather, a native of England, settled first in Connecticut, where his son Nathan and most of his family were born. He removed to Georgetown about 1795, where he was one of the earliest pioneers. He was a farmer and frequently a town officer. He resided in Georgetown to the close of his long life, aged nearly ninety. His son Nathan was born Dec. 16, 1785, and with his wife was a pioneer of Lenox, N. Y. In 1832 he removed to Evans (now Brant), Erie county, where he died in Aug., 1871. His wife survived until May, 1877. Their son, Asa PRITCHARD, in 1856 removed to the farm on Snyder hill on which he now resides. He added to his farm until it contained 342 acres, which he finally sold to his youngest son. He is a Republican and has served as justice of the peace four years and assessor three years. June 4, 1840, he married Hannah WOOD, who was born in Eden, Erie county, Feb. 22, 1821. They celebrated their golden wedding June 4, 1890. Children: Cyrenius A., of Ellington, Chautauqua county; John W., who died of heart disease May 14, 1889; Amos L., of Leon; William J., of Leon; and Edwin C., who resides on the homestead. They also have seventeen grandchildren and one great-granddaughter.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 846 & 847

Surnames: RICH, OLMSTEAD, JOHNSON, FORD, PEPPERDINE, FREEBORN, EASTON, SNYDER, BABCOCK, BURTON, ANDREWS, SHERMAN, KINGSLEY, PHILLIPS, GOULD, BUFFINGTON, LAWRENCE, IABEL, PAYNE

Calvin RICH was born in Windham, Vt., Nov. 7, 1790, where he married Hannah OLMSTEAD, a native of Ridgefield, Conn., who was born May 21, 1788. About 1821 he removed to Barre, N. Y., and settled at the hamlet named in honor of his family, "RICH's Corners." In Dec., 1828, he came with his family to New Albion, where he died Jan. 6, 1862. Mrs. RICH survived until July 21, 1881. Mr. RICH was a prominent citizen and almost constantly in some town office. He was elected supervisor at the second town meeting and held the office six consecutive years. He and his wife were Methodists and in their large log house were held many church services and quarterly meetings. He was class-leader and steward during nearly the whole of his residence in town. He also taught school in early life. Children of Calvin and Hannah RICH:

Heman RICH, born Sept. 24, 1811, of Cattaraugus

Justus O. RICH, born Aug. 28, 1813, a clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal church and many years a presiding elder, now residing in Farmington, Minn.

Zalmon RICH, born March 2, 1816, a farmer and a local preacher, died in Dayton, July 28, 1884

Bela RICH (twin of Milla), born Nov. 29, 1818 – Bela served in the 64th N. Y. Vols. and died Sept. 22, 1862, on Cranie Island

Milla RICH (twin of Bela), married Gile JOHNSON, died March 20, 1858, in Dayton

Lorinda RICH, born April 13, 1821, married Ephraim FORD (deceased)

Harriet RICH, born Aug. 27, 1823, married William PEPPERDINE, and died Feb. 18, 1868

Calvin RICH, born July 12, 1826

Charles J. RICH

Charles J. RICH, born May 15, 1829, on the homestead, which he owns and where he has always resided, married, June 5, 1849, Lucy A. FREEBORN, of Cattaraugus, who died Feb. 27, 1891. Mr. RICH has always been a farmer, but has dealt largely in live stock and farming implements, and was interested with his sons about fourteen years in the hardware business. He served his town on the Board of Supervisors in 1890. Children: Herbert C., for fourteen years a merchant in Cattaraugus, now an extensive lumberman in Pennsylvania, and supervisor of New Albion in 1880 and 1881; Burdett A. (see page 402); Clayton R., of Cattaraugus, and a merchant of Gardeau, Pa.; Fred L.; and Milla M. (Mrs. H. B. EASTON).

Bela RICH married Almyra, daughter of Horace SNYDER, the pioneer. He was a farmer and justice of the peace and officiated at several weddings, and was a member, steward, and class-leader of the Methodist Episcopal church. Children: Orsavell M., who married A. L. BABCOCK and resides in Cattaraugus; O. Monroe, who died at the age of eighteen; Olin G., proprietor of the Cattaraugus House and a real estate dealer in Buffalo; and Odell C., who married Florilla BURTON and has been ten years a grocer in Cattaraugus. Olin G. RICH was born in Persia in 1849. After his father's and an older brother's death he managed the farm which his mother still owns. At the age of twenty-two he engaged in the oil business in Clarion county, Pa. He has been proprietor of a hotel the past thirteen years and is now engaged in the sale of real estate in Buffalo. Nov. 25, 1889, he lost his hotel, the Cattaraugus House, by fire. In Dec., 1871, he married Eva A. ANDREWS, a music teacher of considerable talent.

Calvin RICH, son of Calvin, came to New Albion with his parents, and alternately worked on his father's farm and attended the common schools. He married, March 8, 1846, Malinda SHERMAN, who was born in Barre, Orleans county, May 1, 1826. They settled on a farm half a mile north of Cattaraugus, and in June, 1856, removed to the farm he now occupies on Snyder hill. Mr. RICH is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal church and has been class-leader about thirty-five years. His wife,who was the mother of his children, died Sept. 25, 1885. April 15, 1887, he married Mrs. Harriet (KINGSLEY) PHILLIPS, niece of Rev. Bishop KINGSLEY and daughter of Rev. Alanson KINGSLEY. His children were Emma (Mrs. J. B. JOHNSON), of Clymer, Chautauqua county, who was born Jan. 9, 1849, and died Sept. 3, 1888; Wallace O., born June 17, 1852; Elton S., born Sept. 26, 1854, a physician in Kennedy, N. Y.; and Truman H., born Nov. 26, 1860.

Arad RICH, born Oct. 6, 1797, married, March 21, 1816, Nancy OLMSTEAD. In Dec., 1828, he and his brother Calvin and their families removed from Barre, N. Y., to New Albion. He took an active part in town affairs and like his brother held several offices. He served as justice of the peace from Jan. 1, 1840, until his death Feb. 26, 1869, except one year, and in that time he presided at numerous law suits and weddings. He and his wife were consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mrs. RICH died April 24, 1878. Children: Leonard, born Dec. 20, 1816; Almeda, born Jan. 2, 1818; Danford, born Feb. 3, 1821; Joseph, born June 6, 1823, died Aug. 16, 1851; Joshua, born July 3, 1825, died June 5, 1891; Phebe A., born June 22, 1830; Lewis J., born June 4, 1833, died Feb. 2, 1856; Amanda C., born May 20, 1837, died April 24, 1878.

Leonard RICH, son of Arad, came to New Albion with his parents in 1828. He was born in Lake Pleasant, N. Y., Dec. 20, 1816, and has always been a farmer. Jan. 8, 1837, he married Betsey SHERMAN, who was the mother of five sons. He began on a farm and in 1866 removed to the village of Cattaraugus. Mrs. RICH died in Nov., 1850. In 1857 he married Mrs. Mary BUFFINGTON.

Hiram B. RICH, third son of Leonard, was born Aug. 28, 1842, and supplemented his education with a few terms at Randolph Academy. He taught common school one term, and became a dealer in live stock. Dec. 21, 1865, he married Mary, daughter of Philip RICH, and has since been both a farmer and live stock dealer. He has been village trustee and assessor. Mrs. RICH, the mother of his two daughters, died Aug. 14, 1875. Sept. 21, 1876, he married Ella, daughter of William PEPPERDINE, and has one son. Both are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he has been steward and trustee 11 years.

William Frank RICH, fourth son of Leonard, was born May 26, 1844. He taught eight winter terms of school and May 16, 1868, married Ellen M., daughter of Henry and Sally A. LAWRENCE, of New Albion. Mr. and Mrs. RICH first settled in Persia. Both are members of the Wesleyan Methodist church. He produces and buys cream which he ships to Buffalo and Bradford. Children: Ida A., born May 25, 1869, married Edward C. IABEL, a partner with his father-in-law; Bertha M., born June 27, 1875; and Grace I., born June 1, 1877.

Danford RICH, second son of Arad, settled where Moses SHERMAN now lives, where he resided about twenty-five years. After another year spent as a farmer he has since been an extensive dealer in butter and eggs. In April, 1839, he married Mary SHERMAN, who was the mother of all his children, of whom only Ira Orson and Sarah (Mrs. F. D. GOULD), are living. Mrs. RICH died Aug. 31, 1875. In Dec., 1875, he married Mrs. Clara A., widow of Dr. Daniel GOULD, of Dunkirk.

Charles James RICH, oldest son of James H. and Emma E. (JOHNSON) RICH, was born in Persia, June 15, 1863. Losing his father at the age of two years he had a home with his grandfather, Jesse JOHNSON, of Perrysburg, as did also his mother and infant brother, Hollen W. Charles J., at seventeen, became a merchant's clerk. In the spring of 1884 he engaged with Elwood & Co., of Buffalo, as traveling salesman. In 1887 he formed a partnership with his only brother, Hollen W., under the firm name of RICH Brothers, and opened a general store in Cattaraugus, which was burned Sept. 5, 1889. They immediately resumed trade and have more than doubled their business. Feb. 27, 1888, Charles J. RICH married Grace B., youngest daughter of E. L. JOHNSON. Hollen W. RICH, born in Persia, Aug. 3, 1865, at about the age of eighteen became a clerk in Cattaraugus and later in Jamestown, and in 1887 formed with Charles J. the firm of RICH Brothers. Mr. RICH is serving his third term as town clerk. Feb. 14, 1886, he married Gertrude, daughter of N. W. PAYNE.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 849

Surnames: SANDERS, CRAWFORD, GALLOWAY, DERMONT, WILDER, ACKLEY, JAMES

John SANDERS, born in Argyle, Washington county, July 8, 1808, removed with his parents to Hannibal, N. Y., and married there Mary CRAWFORD, Feb. 14, 1833, who was born in Washington county, Jan. 1, 1815. He came to Otto and settled on a farm of 100 acres, which he purchased of the Holland Land Company. He was a blacksmith, but after coming to Otto he followed farming entirely, and finally exchanged his place for a large farm near by. In Sept., 1861, he enlisted in Co. C, 64th N.Y. Vols., served about a year, and was disabled by rheumatism and discharged; but before his papers reached him he was with his regiment and going into battle on the field of Antietam, where he received a severe gun-shot wound. He went to the hospital and upon recovery joined his regiment again participated in the battles of Gettysburg, Chancellorsville, and others, and was discharged in Oct., 1864. He died greatly respected. 

Children of John and Mary SANDERS:

John J. SANDERS, who married Mary L. GALLOWAY, of Hannibal, N. Y., has a farm of 334 acres in Otto, and resides in Cattaraugus village

Mary J. SANDERS (Mrs. Martin DERMONT)

Lucinda SANDERS (Mrs. Charles WILDER)

Nettie SANDERS (Mrs. Frank WILDER)

James C. SANDERS, who married Cora ACKLEY

Walter SANDERS, who married Mary JAMES and died July 18 1878, his wife dying in 1877.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 849

Surnames: SAUNDERS, BATES, RICH, DAVISON

James A. SAUNDERS, son of Benjamin and Rosanna (BATES) SAUNDERS, was born in Collins, N. Y., Feb. 12, 1846. His father was a blacksmith and was born in Vermont. His mother's family came from Massachusetts. In March, 1862, he enlisted in Co. A, 64th N. Y. Vols., and served three years, being discharged in March, 1865, as first sergeant. He participated in the battles of Fair Oaks (where he received and still carries a bullet in his left shoulder), Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettvsburg, Auburn Hill, Bristoe Station, Mine Run, Wilderness, Po River, Spotsylvania (where he received a shell wound on his right foot), siege of Petersburg, Ream's Station, and Hatcher's Run. He returned to Gowanda and resumed his trade of moulder. He went to Pennsylvania in 1866 and became an expert driller of oil wells. The past four years he has been an extensive jobber in Cattaraugus county in drilling water wells. Dec. 8, 1869, he married Alice F., daughter of Joshua RICH, and has one daughter, Winnifred A. (Mrs. James A. DAVISON).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 849

Surname: SCUDDER

Charles B. SCUDDER, D.D.S., son of Buel, was born in Randolph, Jan. 29, 1858, and was educated in Chamberlain Institute. Oct. 1, 1887, he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, where he was graduated as a D.D.S. June 26, 1890. Oct. 20, 1890, he commenced the practice of dentistry in the village of Cattaraugus, where he still resides.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 849

Surnames: SHERMAN, LAWRENCE, HALL, PRINCE, BUFFINGTON

Hiram SHERMAN came to New Albion from Orleans county about 1828 and settled on Snyder hill. His first wife was a LAWRENCE and the mother of six children: Ira L., Moses S., Mary, Fannie, Malinda, and Martha. In 1845 he married Phebe, daughter of Justus HALL. Children: Albert L.; Alvin H., a harness maker at Dayton; and Lucy, widow of Frank PRINCE, of Cattaraugus. Mr. SHERMAN died Aug. 1, 1860, aged sixty-four.

Albert L. SHERMAN was born in New Albion, April 20, 1847. June 12, 1864, he enlisted in Co. F, 65th N. Y. Vols., and participated in six general engagements. March 25, 1865, he was slightly wounded at the battle of Fort Stedman and April 2, 1865, was severely wounded before Petersburg and Richmond. He was discharged at York, Pa., June 16, 1865. He learned harness making and spent nine years railroading. Since 1878 he has manufactured harnesses and dealt in horse furnishing goods in Cattaraugus. He has served as constable several years and is now commissioner of highways. April 1, 1867, he married Clara, daughter of Jerry BUFFINGTON, and has a daughter, Hattie.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 850

Surnames: SIGMAN, CRAMPTON

John H. SIGMAN, son of Martin, was born in New Albion, Nov. 23, 1850. Martin SIGMAN, a native of Germany, was a skillful stone cutter who learned his trade in his native country. In constructing the Erie railroad be was employed to cut the stone for the culverts and bridges. He settled on a farm in the central part of New Albion, where he was both a farmer and stone cutter, and where be died Sept. 29, 1872. His widow owns the homestead and resides in Cattaraugus village. John H. SIGMAN received a good English education and followed farming while his father lived and until 1880, when he removed to Cattaraugus and engaged in general mercantile trade. Oct. 19, 1882, he married Laura CRAMPTON, of Cattaraugus, and has one son, Fred Irvin, born Jan. 11, 1889.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 850

Surnames: SMAIL, KRAGER, DAY

Fred C. SMAIL, born in Germany, June 14, 1833, married Sophia KRAGER, emigrated to America, and arrived in New Albion, July 14, 1861, where he owns the Hudson DAY farm. Children: Fred J., a cheese maker in Ellicottville; Mary, of Little Valley; Carrie; and William F., a graduate of Chamberlain Institute class of 1891. He has taught school and in politics is a staunch and active Republican.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 850

Surnames: SMITH, RICH, PAYNE, RUMSEY, PULLIN, LEE

Jacob SMITH, born March 21, 1809, came to New Albion about 1830, and settled on Snyder hill. In his lifetime he cleared in all 400 or 500 acres of land, and died on the farm now occupied by his son James R. He was interested in the political affairs of his town and county and was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Dec. 22, 1830, he married Delaney RICH, who was born May 14, 1816, and died Dec 22, 1864. Children: Catherine, born June 30, 1832, married George A. PAYNE; Charles M., born June 25, 1834, a physician in Evansville, Wis., and a volunteer surgeon in the Civil war; James R., born Jan. 10, 1836; Judson, born April 29, 1841; Arvilla, born Dec. 13, 1843, married C. M. RUMSEY; Mary R. (Mrs. Rev. C. M. PULLIN), born May 23, 1848; and Matilda D., born Oct. 13, 1855, married Orson RICH. Judson SMITH remained with his father until his death March 13, 1879. July 4, 1865, he married Martha A., daughter of Danford RICH, who died June 10, 1882. Dec. 24, 1884, be married Lucy A. LEE, and they have two daughters and one son.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 850

Surnames: SNYDER, KELLOGG, HOWARD, NEWELL, CHAMBERLAIN

Horace SNYDER, born in Onondaga county March 21, 1803, received a good English education, and commenced life as a pioneer in 1825 in New Albion, where his son Ambrose E. now lives, on Snyder hill, named in his honor. He died Nov. 14, 1890. He stood full six feet tall, was broad shouldered and athletic, enterprising, and a man of influence. May 3, 1827, he married Olive KELLOGG, with whom he lived fifty-three years. She died July 11, 1882. Children of Horace and Mary (KELLOGG) SNYDER:

Serepta SNYDER, born Jan. 18, 1828, died June 20, 1860

Horace SNYDER, born Aug. 2, 1831, died May 24, 1834

Marsella SNYDER, born July 25, 1839, died April 19, 1860

Ambrose E. SNYDER, born Feb. 6, 1843.

Ambrose SNYDER received an academic education and in the fall of 1866 became a law student in the office of Frank A. NEWELL, Esq., of Gowanda, being admitted to the bar of this State in Oct., 1869. In May following he accompanied the firm of CHAMBERLAIN & NEWELL to Emporia, Kas., where he practiced his profession a year. He then became the partner of Mr. NEWELL and was in Waseca, Minn., about a year. In 1873 he returned to his home on Snyder hill, where he now resides. Mr. SNYDER, like his father, is a Democrat, and was elected supervisor in 1882 and 1883. Feb. 16, 1873, he married Phebe, daughter of George HOWARD, of Persia; they have one son, Ralph H. SNYDER, born Aug. 31, 1883.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 850 & 851

Surnames: TEN EYCK, SWARTZ

Albert TEN EYCK was born in Sharon, N. Y., Sept. 2, 1841, and a month later his father, Barrent J., settled in the valley just outside of the present corporation of Cattaraugus. He was a farmer and formerly an axe-maker in Cohoes, where he assisted in constructing the first axe factory in that city. He subsequently removed to the farm of his son Abram, in Mansfield, where he died about 1869. Albert TEN EYCK went to Cohoes where he learned the business of axe-making, and in 1876, he organized the TEN EYCK Axe Manufacturing Company. Aug. 27, 1881, his plant was destroyed by fire. April 6, 1883, he was instrumental in organizing the TEN EYCK Edge Tool Company, of which he has since been superintendent and manager. He served on the Board of Education four years and as a trustee of the village three years. In 1864 he married Lucy M. SWARTZ, of Cohoes. Children: Fred R., Lottie M., and Loren F. TEN EYCK.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 851

Surnames: TULLER, BURDEN

Albert TULLER, born in North East, Pa., May 6, 1837, received a common school education and in 1856 entered the freight department of the Lake Shore railroad. He learned telegraphy and in 1857 assumed the position of operator at North East, which he held until 1861, and was then stationed at Belvidere, N. Y., until June 13, 1872. He then accepted the position of station agent at Cattaraugus, which he has since occupied, being also express agent. Jan. 19, 1859, he married Caroline BURDEN; Children: Maurice and Bessie.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 851

Surnames: VAN AERMAN, ETHRIDGE, JOHNSON

John VAN AERNAM, son of Jacob, was born about 1814 and came to Mansfield with his parents when a lad. He married Martha ETHRIDGE, of Mansfield, and first settled on a farm. Later he was the proprietor of the old Salamanca Hotel in West Salamanca. About 1849 he went to California, where he was an extensive farmer and a hotel keeper, and where he died in 1863. His oldest son, Wallace S., born about 1842, joined his father in California in the spring of 1863, was proprietor of a mail route, and was killed with his escort by a band of Indians a year or two later.

Frank VAN AERNAM, youngest son of John was born in Mansfield on March 14, 1846. In the fall of 1862 he went out with the 154th NY Vols. as the helper of his uncle, the regimental surgeon, Dr. Henry VAN AERNAM. He remained several months. In 1864 he enlisted in the 9th NY Cav., and was discharged at the close of the war. On Dec. 21, 1865, he married Jane JOHNSON, of Mansfield, and was a farmer until 1887, when he settled in Cattaraugus and became proprietor of a meat market. He has five children.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Pages 851 & 852

Surnames: WAITE, ELLIS, MONTONYE, WYMAN, BUCHANAN, HIGBEE, PRITCHARD, WRIGHT, WILBER, KINNICUTT, HORTH

Stephen WAITE was a son of Rev. William WAITE, a Baptist clergyman who went from Rhode Island to Little White Creek, Washington county, and spent his life there preaching the gospel. Stephen came to Napoli and settled at the geographical center of the town in 1824. His sons were Isaac, George, Reuben, Peleg, James, William, and Oliver; his daughters were Sarah, Anna, Virtue, and Delilah. The sons of Isaac are Martin, in Wisconsin; David, in Easton, Washington county; Jonathan, died in Leon; George, in Collins, N. Y.; Isaac, died in Michigan; Benjamin, died in Leon in 1891; and Butler, in Iowa. His daughters were Bathsheba, died in Leon; Mary Ann, resides in Machias; and Jane, lives in Leon. George had no family. Reuben's sons are Thomas, a farmer, a soldier in the Civil war, and resides in Cold Spring; Alexander L., a farmer, also a soldier in the Rebellion, and resides in Napoli; Worden B., a farmer in Napoli and a soldier for the Union; and Warren W., also a soldier, and a farmer in Kansas. His daughters are Jemimah and Almedia. The sons of Peleg are Stephen, deceased, who served in the late war and died of disability; James, a farmer in New Albion; Zina, a farmer who died in New Albion; George, a soldier, now a farmer in Napoli; Peleg, a farmer in New Albion; and Orrin, a soldier, now a farmer in Napoli. His only living daughter is Delilah (Mrs. Eli ELLIS), of Little Valley. The sons of James are Guerdon, a mechanic in Michigan; Amasa, a soldier, deceased; James, a soldier, now a farmer in Napoli; and Noah, a soldier, now a farmer in Chautauqua county. His daughters were Nancy, deceased; Hannah, deceased; Sarah, deceased; and Emily (Mrs. MONTONYE), of Napoli, who resides on the homestead. The sons of William were Bartimus, died in Napoli; Harvey, died in New York city; and Adelbert, of Salamanca. His daughter Maria died in Wyoming county. The sons of Oliver are Isaac, a soldier and farmer living in Iowa; John, a soldier, now a farmer in Cherry Creek; and Oliver, who went to the Black Hills and has not since been heard from. His daughters were Virtue, deceased; Abbie (Mrs. P. WYMAN), of Salamanca; Catherine, deceased; and Almina, deceased.

Peleg WAITE, son of Stephen, was born in Washington county and came to Napoli with his family in 1824. He married Jane BUCHANAN and settled on the farm now occupied by his son Orrin, where he died aged about eighty years. Mrs. WAITE died at the age of about seventy-eight. Peleg WAITE, Jr., was born on the homestead Sept. 11, 1838, and Jan. 13, 1864, married Theodosia, daughter of Sanford HIGBEE, a lady who has woven thousands of yards of carpet and as high as 1,200 yards in a single year. They settled on a farm in Napoli and two years later removed to Snyder hill. Children: Emma (Mrs. Edwin PRITCHARD), John H., Fenton E., and Horace L.

Zina WAITE, son of Peleg and Jane (BUCHANAN) WAITE, was born in Napoli, March 28, 1831, married Lucinda A., daughter of Jesse and Susan (WRIGHT) WILBER, Aug, 1, 1852, who was born Dec. 4, 1831, and settled in Napoli, where he was a farmer until March 1, 1869, when he moved onto a farm of 200 acres purchased of John A. KINNICUTT two miles west of New Albion. In Nov., 1874, he sold this and removed to a smaller farm near the village of New Albion, where he died July 9, 1884. Mr. WAITE enlisted twice in the service of his country, but was rejected on account of disability after being three months in the service and on drill at Black Rock. Mrs. WAITE died March 20, 1885. Children: Darwin D., born June 18, 1856, a cheese maker; and Edgar E., born Aug. 19, 1859. The latter was educated at Chamberlain Institute and at the age of nineteen he taught his first term of district school, teaching in all nine terms. At the age of twenty-two he was elected inspector of election and in 1886 was chosen justice of the peace, being the trial justice of his village. March 11, 1883, he married Adda M., daughter of George HORTH; they have one son, Harold, born Dec. 7, 1885.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 852

Surnames: WHITE, BARR, LOWE

Orlando WHITE, son of George W., was born in Irving, Chautauqua county, July 29, 1845, was graduated from the Gowanda Academy in June, 1861, and in Sept., 1861, went with Dr. George W. BARR, surgeon of the 64th N. Y. Regt., as his helper. About seven months later he returned to Gowanda and engaged in the printing office of the Gowanda Reporter where he remained until Aug. 11, 1862. He enlisted in Co. K, 154th N. Y. Vols., and served until July 1, 1865. He participated in nine battles and several skirmishes, and escaped with a single wound, which he received May 30, 1864, after which he was assigned to the quartermaster's office in Louisville, Ky. Completing his trade as a printer he has since followed that avocation, being now engaged on the Cattaraugus Times. He was editor and publisher of the Lyndon Record in Michigan from Feb., 1878, to May, 1880, and was town clerk of New Albion in 1889. Oct. 23, 1873, he married Della LOWE, of Leon; they have three sons and two daughters.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 853

Surnames: WOODWARD, MANLEY

Frank WOODWARD, born in Gowanda, Erie county, Jan. 20, 1855, came when about ten years old with his parents to Dunkirk, where he remained until July, 1876. He attended the High School and learned the trade of jeweler, and in 1875 spent about nine months in Coudersport, Pa. Prior to this he was a traveling salesman three years. In July, 1876, he came to Cattaraugus and opened a jewelry store. After the fire of Oct. 22, 1881, he bought his present lot, on which he erected a frame store which was burned Sept. 5, 1888. He immediately rebuilt and resumed business Dec. 15th. Feb. 25, 1880, he married Jennie M., daughter of N. MANLEY, of Cattaraugus, a pioneer of Mansfield. They have one son.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of New Albion – Chapter XXXVIII (38)

Page 853

Surnames: YOUNG, ROSS, KELLOGG, WALKER, BAILEY, ARNOLD, STEVENS, TECHENTIEN, MARSH

Hon. Horace C. YOUNG, son of Henry YOUNG, Jr., was born in Fenner, N. Y., Aug. 28, 1806. His father was born in Martha's Vineyard in 1775. His grandfather, Henry YOUNG, Sr., was a native of Scotland, emigrated to Martha's Vineyard, and married there Lydia ROSS. He was a graduate of Edinburgh University and a teacher most of his life. His mother, Philena KELLOGG, was a native of Williamstown, Mass. The family emigrated from Williamstown to Fenner, where Henry YOUNG died in March, 1852, and his wife in 1865. Horace C. YOUNG assisted his father as an architect and builder, and Jan. 19, 1831, he married Laura P., daughter of Gideon and Barbara WALKER, a native of Whiting, Vt. Her father lost his life at Fort Niagara in the War of 1812. In the spring of 1832 Mr. YOUNG removed to New Albion, where he purchased the "improvements" on 58 1/2 acres of land. The only building was a log shanty, roofed with bark and without a door or window. During the remainder of his life he carried on both his farm and the business of architect and builder. He was elected a justice of the peace in 1833 and supervisor in 1843, 1845, 1846, and 1847. In the fall of 1848 he was elected to the Assembly and re-elected in the fall of 1849. He was State senator in 1862 and 1863, was school commissioner ten years, and was assessor and commissioner of deeds about four years. Mr. YOUNG was a man of more than ordinary ability. He began his political life a Whig and joined the Republican party at its organization. He was liberal in his religious opinions and was well known as honorable and in no sense aristocratic. He was a thorough temperance man and a friend of the young. He was often an administrator in settling estates. Every good enterprise met his hearty support. He died May 19, 1879. Mrs. YOUNG survived until May 18, 1890, aged nearly eighty-three. Children: Helen P. (Mrs. George H. BAILEY), of Chicago, deceased; Laura P. (Mrs. E. Y. ARNOLD), of Ellicottville; Caroline E., a teacher ; Louise E. (Mrs. David STEVENS), of Conewango; Mary Z. (Mrs. F. C. TECHENTIEN), of New Albion; and H. Olin, who married Mary J. MARSH and is a lawyer in Ishpeming, Mich.
 

Back To Cattaraugus County


If you have anything of genealogical or historical interest to add to this site, or if you are interested in becoming a member of the Painted Hills Genealogy Society, please contact me at:

Painted Hills

This page is maintained by the PHGS
 Last Update January 25, 2004

© 2002 by The Painted Hills Genealogy Society
Main | Email Us | Look-Ups | Members Family Pages
Chat and Meeting Room | Disclaimer

Website designed by Frankie Stonemetz
2002© Painted Hills Genealogy Society
All Rights Reserved