OLEANDER, REVIEW AND OUTLOOK
Published 1922 by the Association of Olean Old Timers, in Behalf of the Olean Historical Association, Inc.
Transcribed by Sue Carney, February, 2004
Note: This wonderful book about the history of Olean contains many photos of various Olean residents from the early 1900s. To see if a member of your family is mentioned in the book, use your Edit/Find function of your word processor.
Many thanks to Sue Carney for transcribing the entire text, and to Lee Billington for scanning all the photographs so I could add them to the digital document.
Laura Greene February 2004
Coordinator, Cattaraugus County Bio and Census Index Projects
This Section--Part One
Oleander, Review and Outlook
Comprises descriptive and illustrated evidences of the Progress and Enterprise of the City of Natural Advantages, indicated by Historical matter in relation to the Churches, Banking Institutions, Hospitals and the Medical Profession Generally.
The Circular Diagram Map which forms the central figure on the front page of this cover graphically shows the central location in Western New York of Olean and indicates its manifest importance as a focus for trade, travel and traffic of an extensive territory which is manifesting unmistakable signs of still further expansion not excelled by any other section of the same proportions in the Empire State.
THE NEXT SECTION, PART TWO of the publication will be devoted to the Industrial, Commercial, Real Estate, Hotels, Restaurants and other important interests of the steadily growing city and among other novel features, a number of striking views of "Olean by Night" will be printed and likewise an outline map of the Liberty Highway between Binghamton and Jamestown will be featured.
REVIEW & OUTLOOK
An Illustrated Compendium
MUNICIPAL, RELIGIOUS, EDUCATIONAL,
RESIDENTIAL, INDUSTRIAL, FINANCIAL, COM-
MERCIAL AND GENERAL
Compiled and Published under the
Auspices of the
Association Of Olean Old Timers
In Aid of the
Olean Historical Association
Richmond C. Hill
Note---The views of the Silent Policeman shown on the Corners of this page exemplify the central location of Olean
In Western New York. Note the direction of the arrows.
Since the above pictures of the Silent Policeman were made the name
Buffalo has been substituted in the place of the Belmont arrow.
The Why and the Wherefore
The primary idea and purpose of the publication of THE OLEANDER is to raise funds for the support of the Olean Historical Association, an organization which was first suggested by the Association of Old Timers. The proposition was heartily endorsed at a joint meeting of the Kiwanis Club and the Old Timers on Jan. 26, 1921, at which meeting the following resolution was unanimously and enthusiastically adopted: Resolved--that this meeting heartily approves of the movement set afoot by the Association of Old Timers for the organization of an Olean Historical Association the primary object of which is the collection and safeguarding in the Public Library of local literature, pictures, and other matters of public interest, for the educational and commercial benefit of coming generations of our city.
The Dean of the Old Timers, in association with Secretary Hill, greets with
Approval the charter of the Olean Historical Association, Inc.
The Historical Association was granted a charter by the Regents of the University of the State of New York, under date of March 31, 1921, the charter members were: Louise K. Ballard, Katherine E. Bradley, Clara H. Kinley, Evelene Wallis, William M. Abrams, Jr., Frank N. Godfrey, John P. Herrick, B. U. Taylor and Richmond C. Hill The officers subsequently chosen were: President, John P. Herrick; vice-president, Mrs. Katherine E. Bradley; treasurer, Mrs. Clara H. Kinley, and secretary, Richmond C. Hill. John G. Pelton later was elected a past president of the Association, and Mrs. Marie Perkins was chosen as librarian.
The first president of the Association of Olean Old Timers, elected at its organization on Feb. 22, 1917, was the late Wilson R. Page. The present officers are: President, John Sloane; vice-president, W. C. A. Quiren; treasurer, H. W. Marcus; secretary and historian, Richmond C. Hill, who constitute the executive committee.
IN outlining the salient features of an intelligent review of the past and existing conditions of Olean as a civic, commercial and industrial center a few indisputable facts may properly be presented as satisfactory evidence in a generally favorable summing up. During the periods of its growth and development as a village, town, and city, Olean has steadily expanded until it is recognized today as one of the leading communities of the southern tier of New York State. Among the evidences of its substantial character may properly be mentioned:
The extent and importance of its leading industries, which include the Pennsylvania R. R. shops, the Vacuum Oil plant, the Clark Brothers plant, the Weston Mills, the Acme Glass company and others.
The growth of its Educational department.
The extended importance of its two daily newspapers.
The amelioration in its street railway system.
The already established and daily growing importance of automobiles, of various styles and characters, for business and private uses.
The extension and growth of the business thorofares, notably on State street; the development in East Olean and Boardmanville, and across the river on Seneca Heights and vicinity.
REPRESENTATIVE OLD TIMERS - A DOZEN OF THEM
AND THERE ARE OTHERS TO BE SEEN ELSEWHERE IN THE PAGES OF THE OLEANDER SEE EXPLANATION
They Can Tell
Any one of the Eight Olean Old Timers, whose Portraits appear Herewith, can Furnish information as to the ages and histories of the various structures and stores reproduced above.
The pictures will serve as a comparison with the buildings, etc., which characterize Olean up-to-date. 1922-1923
C. D. Judd Geo. T. Keith W. W. Virginia
J. W. Davis D. A. Pratt E. W. Bevier
W N Deabold T. H. Barnes
That there are good grounds for optimism can hardly be questioned as far as local conditions are involved. The solution of the various national industrial problems will surely come sooner or later and a desirable normal condition will be restored.
As a result it is reasonable to assume that there will be a revival of activity in Olean industries and a consequent improvement in all branches of local affairs and general business.
One phase of encouragement for the future is the continual operation of enterprises whose origin dates back to other days familiar to members of the Association of Olean Old Timers, among which may be mentioned as still active and alert, T. B. Barnes, Bell Brothers (N. S. Butler), J. B. Black, J. H. Bradner, (R. O. Smith), F. R. Brothers (Dr. J. V. D. Coon), Charles Cradduck, W. L. Crannell, P. C. Foley, Luther Mfg. Co., (Luther & Sons), H. W. Marcus, Mayer Brothers, O. S. McClure, Otto Miller, (Herman Scheultz), E. M. Oakleaf, (F. R. Eaton & F. H. Oakleaf), Olean Hardware Co., (C. V. B. Barse), A. M. Palmer, C. H. Rafferty, M. F. Riley, A. A. Swartz, W. H. Simpson, P. J. Spindler, John Troy, B. U. Taylor, E. D. Westbrook, H. C. Whipple, Smith & Seeley (F. W. Higgins), W. C. A. Quirin.
The coming of the automobile age has already added greatly to the business and pleasure purposes of Olean and made the city a most important center for the various branches of the new vehicles of travel and traffic, and will continue to grow and expand.
Changes in the traffic arrangements of the railroad systems reaching Olean from various directions have largely increased the work of the local post office, especially in the matter of transfer of mail in transit to points in this territory. In various other ways the business of the post office calls for increased service and responsibility.
PHOTO: J. P. Herrick
Many Olean people interested in oil will be interested to know what Mr. J. P. Herrick has to say about the forecast. He made a report to the New York State Oil Producers' Association recently, at which time he was president of the association, but has since resigned to become president of the executive committee. Mr. Herrick said in part: "A careful survey of the oil industry throughout the world leads me to believe that the bottom has been reached in crude prices, providing mid-continent producers hold fast to their agreement for a partial shut-down in new drilling and the agreement reached a few days ago by Wyoming companies operating in the great Salt Creek field is not disturbed and the lid left on that wonderful oil structure. The consensus of opinion at that moment is that crude oil prices ought not to advance before next spring. However, there have been so many false alarms in crude prices during the past two years that is has become hazardous to even venture a prediction either way. With Mexican oil fields partially out of the running, the coal and rail strikes settle, the manufacturers flooded with rush orders, the tariff bill a law, a big increase in demand for fuel oil and a schedule calling for two million new automobiles a year, many disturbing factors are being swept away like chaff before the wind. Changes come quickly in the oil business. If I were to venture a prediction it would be that the looked for upturn in crude prices will come sooner than anticipated--say early in the new year."
Another factor which gives evidence of the growth of Olean, in the matter of education, is a comparison of the registration in the public schools. Ten years ago, Sept., 1912, the registration in the High School was 422, and in the Grammar Schools 2,533, a total of 2,955. The registration last year, Sept., 1922, for the High School was 808, and the Grammar Schools 3,571, a total of 3,379.
PHOTO: N. V. V. FRANCHOT
FIRST MAYOR OF THE CITY OF OLEAN -Two Terms, 1894-95; 1896-97
PHOTO: View of Union Street, from Laurens to State Street, as it appeared after the great fire of Jan. 16, 1866. Note the muddy roadway. This was long before the days of automobiles and trolley cars. The church spire on the left is that of the first Catholic Church.
OLEAN'S EARLY HISTORY
In a publication of the especial character and purpose of THE OLEANDER more than would be undesirable, although a few of the outstanding facts of general interest may properly be enumerated.
That history began in 1804, when Robert and Adam Hoops purchased a tract of 20,000 acres from the Holland Land Company, and Robert Hoops built a log house on land which is now occupied by East Olean. Adam Hoops was a government agent, and had been a major in the Revolution. With him came Cornelius Brooks, also a Revolutionary soldier. Adam Hoops is spoken of as the real founder of Olean, which was called Hamilton for many years, although the river port, called "Olean Point" on the Allegany River, was extensively known even in those early days. There was no formal change in the name of the village, but it became commonly called Olean instead of Hamilton, so that about 1836 the former title became permanent.
PHOTO: View of Union Street from Laurens to State Street, as it appears up-to-date--end of 1922.
This is the same site as that shown at top of page after the great fire of January 16, 1866.
Photo: An old time view of Olean, looking north-west, date undetermined, showing the former high school building,
The Presbyterian church of early days, with the Strong residence property on the left.
In the early part of the nineteenth century the Allegany River was navigable as far as Olean Point, which was a very important gateway for the westbound tide of emigration in the pioneer period of the Union. Cheap rates of transportation filled many flat boats and lumber rafts in those days, and Olean Point was a busy place in the open season. The first settlers occupied their time in lumbering, rafting down the Allegany River, hunting fishing, and cajoling the aboriginal Indians; agricultural pursuits came later. To these settlers came the Quaker, Catholic, Baptist, Presbyterian, Episcopal and Methodist missionaries, exhorters, emissaries, and itinerant preachers, on foot and on horseback; services were held in the homes, and later shanties and make-shift structures were erected as church buildings, from which were evolved the fine edifices of the present day.
After the early settlement days came a period of comparative quietude, in which lumbering and some primitive farming were the chief occupations, until in 1851 the Erie Railroad was built and completed through the north end of the village, which resulted in a limited business boom. Then in 1872, when the Buffalo and Washington Railroad (now the Pennsylvania) was finished, Olean began to develop and add to her importance. About the year 1875 the petroleum operations in the Bradford territory began to affect this section, and Olean became the principal oil center of the Bradford region. Olean's population increased steadily, as shown by the following figures: 1851--899; 1855--1,611; 1860--2706; 1875--3,103; and the five years from 1880 to 1885, saw the population doubled, from 3,500 to 8,650, due to the oil developments. Into the growing town was infused a spirit of enterprise, and many important improvements were the consequence. Businessmen, who had large interests in the oil fields, settled in Olean, thus emphasizing its advantages as a place of residence.
The foregoing in a general way is an epitome of the earlier history of Olean. As a matter of record the following facts may be added:
The first industries established in Olean were a saw mill, on the banks of Olean Creek in 1807, built by William Shepard and Willis Thrall, and a grist mill built by Robert and Adam Hoops in 1809.
The first hotel was a log tavern, opened in 1811 by Levi Gregory on the site of the present Olean House.
The Post Office was established May 23, 1816, the first postmaster being Horatio Orton, appointed by President Monroe in 1817.
The first store was opened in 1818 by Levi Gregory.
The first newspaper in Olean was the Hamilton Recorder, a weekly, published in 1819.
The first school house was built in 1822-23 by Seth Simmons, and his son, Ephraim, both carpenters, on the site now occupied by School No. 3.
The first local bank, the Bank of Olean, was established in 1840.
The first refinery built in Olean was that of Wing, Wilbur & Co., erected in 1877.
The first daily newspaper, the Olean Daily Times, in charge of the writer, was published in 1879.
OLEAN AS A CITY
Olean was incorporated as a city April 25, 1893. Its mayors have served as follows: N. V. V. Franchot, 1894-1895; 96-7; G. H. Strong, 1898-9; J. H. Waring, 1900-1901; P. C. Foley, 1902-3; J. H. Waring, 1904-5; E. D. Westbrook, 1906-7; W. H. Mandeville, 1908-9; P. C. Foley, 1910-11-12-13; W. H. Simpson, 1914-15; Foster Studholme 1916-17-18-19; W. Z. Georgia, 1920-21; P. C. Foley, 1922-23.
1. Country Club
Clubs 2. K of C Club
33 3. City Club
1. Country Club4. 4. YMCA
2. K. of C. Club
3. City Club
4. Y. M. C. A.
1. School No. 10
2. School No. 2
3. School No. 3
4. School No. 7
5. School No. 4
Courtesy of the Chamber of Commerce
OLEAN IN 1922-1923
The officials of the city for the present year (1922) and for 1923 are: Mayor--Peter C. Foley; President of the Common council--C. P. Burley; Clerk--A. E. Turner; City Auditor--George M. Mayer; City Attorney--Henry Donnelly; Superintendent of Streets--D. L. Lawler; City Engineer--G. R. Miles; Chief of Police--J. C. Dempsey; Chief of Fire Department--L. G. Rodgers; City Treasurer--F. P. Heberle; Overseer of Poor--E. E. Bacon; Commissioner of Public Works--C. P. Luther; Police Justice--D. W. Keating; City Physician--Dr. E. H. Madison; City Historian--Richmond C. Hill; Sealer of Weights and Measures--J. T. Williamson; Stenographer--Bernice Whitcomb.
Mayor Peter C. Foley - 1922-23. Also served 1902, 1903, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913
The eleven aldermen, who constitute with the Mayor, the Common Council, and the wards they represent are: first--William Schultze; second--J. C. Miles; third--H. C. Perkins; fourth--C. P. Burley; fifth--R. H. McGraw; sixth--John Wholeben; seventh--H. C. Olson; eighth--W. S. Murphy; ninth--F. E. Brennan; tenth --M. J. Wiggins; eleventh--H. W. Spencer.
The chief officers of the Department of Public Health are: its director. Dr. W. E. McDuffie; City Milk Inspector and Bacteriologist, Dr. J. P. Garen; Sanitary Inspector and Registrar, W. H. Keeney; V. D. Clinic Physician, Dr. L. J. Atkins; Plumbing Inspector, L. C. Rogers; Public Health Nurse E. Geraldine Gibbons, Sec. Lauretta Ruchte.
The Park Commissioners are: E. H. Allen, president; Mrs. Marcia B. Bradner, Joseph M. Streb, John Keim, E. W. Fitzgerald, and clerk, Mary M. Seuling.
The Civil Service Commissioners are: President--Henry J. Zimmerman; secrtary--Albert M. Gibbs, and P. F. McAllister.
The Water Commissioners are: Geo. H. Ball, president; Charles Warren, superintendent; H. W. Stone, clerk; C. E. Banfield, and C. A. Shafer.
The Assessors are: Charles Breder, chairman, and M. A. Brunner, and W. J. Quigley.
The Plumbing Board comprises: James E. Shortell, president; P. J. Collins, and D. E. Sullivan.
The Board of Supervisors comprises: first ward--E. W. Wheeler; second-- W. E. Lennon; third--B. J. Both; fourth--C. C. Bisett; fifth---J. J. Connell; sixth--H. J. Zimmerman; seventh--C. B. Cole; eighth--S. P. McLoughlin; ninth--James Hickey; tenth--W. H. Nutting; eleventh--W. R. McGavis.
The trustees of the Board of Education are: Dr. S. Judd Earley, Harry S. Coburn, Peter J. Spindler, John T. Quilter, John F. Turner, Charles S. Smith, Raymond J. Dorson, J. Grafton Murdock, and Samuel M. Gaylor. From these have been chosen the following officers: President--S. Judd Early, D. S.; secretary--Harry S. Coburn; treasurer--T. Clark Boyd; clerk and colletor, E. H. Keeney. The administrative department consists of: William C. Greenawalt, superintendent of schools; Fannie Stowell, secretary to Superintendent; Mary Weinman, assistant secretary; Alexander D. Cobb, superintendent of buildings; Benjamin W. Wilcox, assistant superintendent of buildings; James L. McCready, attendance officer; C. A. Greenleaf, medical inspector; Jane J. Dotterweich, R. N., school nurse; M. Lucile Sprague, D. H., dental hygienist.
PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF OLEAN
The people of Olean have always taken a great pride in their school. They have looked upon the schools as one of the avenues through which their children could seek opportunities. They have taken a keen interest in education and want the best that available funds can secure.
The aim of the elementary school is to give pupils a perspective in the rudiments of education so that, if they will be obliged to terminate their technical training with the completion of the course in the elementary school, they have obtained the most that a well balanced elementary course of study can provide. In each revision of the elementary course of study one circumstance governs to a larger degree than any other and that is that a limited percentage of pupils who complete the elementary course will also complete the high school course. For this reason, if for no other, the elementary school has a great responsibility. It must function first of all, in the interests of those pupils who will not finish the high school course. Secondly, the elementary course must be so organized that it will train pupils properly for entrance to a high school.
The aim and purpose of the high school course of study is to offer students in high school an academic training general in its scope and character, acquainting them theoretically with the commercial, industrial, local and national institutions of our country, assisting them in the development of an appreciation of the cultural, and contributing toward the realization of a national consciousness and a national ideal. Secondly, the high school course offers such courses of study that will prepare adequately those students who wish to continue their technical training in higher education.
Besides the features contained in a high school course as outlined the Olean high school offers courses in industrial education. The aim of this course is not to make a mechanic, but to teach students something about different Industries with a view of enabling them to select a suitable vocation to a better advantage.
The home-making courses carried on in both the elementary schools and in the high school aim to supplement in a technical way the education which girls receive in their homes. The average girl becomes a home-maker. Education must recognize this fact and should offer a certain type of training for it.
The function of the part-time school, organized recently in this State by legislation act is to give students who must leave school, on account of some misfortune before completing the course of study an opportunity to supplement their vocational training with related technical training.
1. St. Mary of the Angels
2. St. John's
1. Olean High School
2. St. Bonaventure's College
3. St. Elizabeth's Academy
4. Parochial School, 1923
A new school building is in the Course of erection
DR. S. JUDD EARLY
President of the Board of Education
WILLIAM C. GREENAWALT
Superintendent of Schools
The evening schools in Olean have three main objectives. First, courses are offered in general commercial and home-making subjects. Secondly, courses are offered to give instruction in English and citizenship for those who feel that they can profit by pursuing these courses. Lastly, courses in trade extension are offered. These courses are organized for men who work in shops or in trades and wish to learn something more technical than their daily employment might offer.
During the past few years great progress has been made in this city in public health education. Two of the most outstanding achievements along this line are the study of conditions causing underweight in children in the first four grades of the elementary schools. In the former an attempt is made to suggest or prescribe a diet for pupils whose physical condition is below normal. In the latter a dental hygienist brings the need of dental treatment for individual pupils to the attention of parents.
Much of the success achieved in the health department has been done through the excellent cooperation of the various Parent-Teacher Associations of the city who made funds available to supply milk and other food for some pupils in the several schools, the Anti-Tuberculosis Society who made an open air school possible, and the local chapter of the American Red Cross who assisted in establishing the course in dental hygiene.
Recently the school district approved a city wide building program. When this program is completed the serious crowded condition in our schools will have been overcome and schools will be so located that they will be accessible to all pupils.
The schools of a nation comprise one institution upon which that nation has a right to depend for developing and perpetuating a national feeling, a national spirit and a national ideal. Olean will always pride itself in its contribution toward the realization of this national consciousness.
THE PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEM
As explained by the President of the Board of Education
The development of Olean's Public School System has followed closely the City's material advancement, industrially and commercially the city has always realized that the most potent factor in the advancement of any community is the care with which it trains its boys and girls for American Citizenship and increases their ability not only to make a living but to live a well balanced, useful life among their neighbors.
E. H. KEENEY
Clerk and Collector, Board of Education
The present group of well equipped schools with the staff of competent principals and teachers is the outgrowth of the old Olean District School. The historical records of the county furnish meager information regarding the early educational advantages, but the outstanding fact is that almost immediately after the founding of the Village in 1803 a sustained effort was made to furnish some schooling in the common branches to the children of the settlers.
The Olean Academy came into being through the efforts of private citizens at about the time the Erie Railroad was completed in the Village and was a recognition of the necessity of more advanced institutions than could be furnished by the Common or district School. Being a private enterprise a small tuition was charged and in spite of discouragements the institution prospered and was well supported by the surrounding country.
In 1868 Olean Union Free School District was organized under the laws of the State and at the same time an appropriation of $2,000.00 was made to purchase the Olean Academy building which was later replaced by the High School now in use. From these humble beginnings the present splendid school system has been developed, growing from the single room log school building with one teacher to an organization of about 150 teachers housed in ten buildings and caring for the educational needs of more than 4,500 young people.
During the past year the District, under the pressure of overcrowded conditions in practically all the schools, voted favorably upon a bond issue of six hundred thirty thousand dollars and made possible a comprehensive building program covering the needs for more school room in the four outlying districts of the city, together with a new grammar school on Sullivan Street near the High School. In addition a new building to care for the Physical and Manual training departments is being constructed on the high school grounds
Manual training departments is being constructed on the High School grounds.
PHOTO: HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES-1922
Top row-- Alice Brown, Thelma Brown, Philip Austin, Helen Marlatt, Roy Reck, Mary Clare Crowley, Nathaniel Jewell, Robert Clark, Charles Ducey, Ora Rogers, Metcalf Shaffer, Lloyd Guile,
2nd--Louise Dawson, Betty Burger, Mildred Spears, Dorothy Wickwire, Rena Bergreen, William LeStrange, Cathryn Wilson, Melville Follett, Wilhelmina Gallmeier, Robert McCartan, George Geuder, Gladys Lax, James Gibney, George Vorhies.
3rd--Catherine Holmes, Mallie Forrest, Margaret Webster, Helen Hickey, Clarence Redstone, Helen Coburn, Harold Foster, Marion Buckley, Lillian Orcutt, Carl Schnell, Julia Slinker, Ora Sikes, Mae Duffy.
4th--Margaret Larkin, Harold Woodfill, Helen Osborn, Hazel Hand, Iola Mallery, Agnes Quigley, Marion Proudfoot, Katherine Campbell, Olga Anderson, Florence Kick, Dorothy Schelterle, Vernice Lampe, Catherine Karl, John Gavin.
5th--Rose Pfeiffer, Raymond Fulmer, Marie Sweitzer, Doris Wixon, Maude Pennoyer, Nolia Coates, Gardiner Gibbs, Cora Allen, Beatrice Hill, Helen Becker, Gertrude Havens, John Leahy.
Seated--Emily Tothill, Lawrence McNamara, Rose Duffy, Claire Naylor.
PHOTO: H. L. SACKETT
Principal of High School
The Olean Public Library is maintained as a part of the school system as the result of a transfer to the District of the Forman Library, more recently this library with additions has been provided with a beautiful library building through the generosity of Mr. Andrew Carnegie. The Board of Managers of the Library consists of five members chosen by the trustees of the School District with the Supt. Of Schools and the President of the Board of Education as ex-officio members. The Board of Trustees of the Olean Library for the present term are: W. C. A. Quirin, President; E. W. Fitzgerald, vice-president; N. B. B. Franchot, treasurer; W. L. Pelton, secretary; C. P. Luther, W. C. Greenawalt, and S. Judd Early.
The spirit of this generation which demands the best in education for the youth of the entire community without regard to circumstances, creed or race and the cooperation of all citizens in support of this demand makes the future of Olean Schools seem unusually bright.
Few Boards of Education in Cities the size of Olean have the opportunity of the Olean Board to put into effect, without partisan interference, the measures which make for a proper expansion of the school' influence and service to our young people. The Olean Board of Education feels its responsibility, recognizes the opportunity and believes that the next few years will offer sufficient proof of the Board's desire to aid in making Olean's Public Schools not the largest but the best system in the State.
WESTBROOK COMMERCIAL ACADEMY
In these days of enterprise and hustle, the manufacturer or merchant requires his office help to be efficient in every way, with a thorough knowledge of modern business methods. Those how are the best qualified are the ones who secure the positions and make good in them. It is with this intention of fitting young women and men of today to take their places in the business world that up-to-date commercial schools are conducted, and in Olean we have such an institution in the Westbrook Commercial Academy, where the highest standard is maintained.
This school was originally established in Mansfield, Pa., in 1882 by Prof. E. D. Westbrook, and was removed to Olean four years later. It occupies the entire third floor of the Tower building on North Union Street, having five large adequately equipped and well-lighted rooms. The course of instruction embraces thorough training in all the practical branches of business, including book-keeping, short-hand, and typewriting, with spelling, penmanship, grammar and business practice incidental.
Prof. Westbrook gives his personal attention to every detail of the school, and carefully studies the individual characters of his students. He has 125 students enrolled this year from Olean and surrounding towns, who all seem busy and interested. The graduates of the Westbrook Commercial Academy are widely distributed, and are to be found in many of the largest commercial, financial and industrial institution in the United States.
PHOTO: ST. MARY'S PAROCHIAL SCHOOL
Now in course of construction Corner South First and Henley Streets
A new school and convent are now being built on the lot adjoining the church. Both buildings will be complete in every detail, and the estimated cost will be upwards of $250,000. The old school property has been sold to the city for a site for a new grade school: the contract between the parish and the city calls for delivery of the site within three years from March, 1922, for the sum of $32, 000.
President of the Council
Alderman Wholebin Alderman Brennan
Alderman Miles Alderman Murphy
Alderman Perkins Alderman Wiggins
Albert E. Turner--Acting City Clerk
Alderman Olson E. E. Bacon - Overseer of the Poor
Fire Chief Rodgers
F. H. Heberle - City Treasurer
THE OLEAN PUBLIC LIBRARY
Its History and Ideals, as set forth by the Librarian, Miss Maud D. Brooks
PHOTO: The Olean Public Library, South Union Street
The Olean Public Library, located as it is near the Federal Post Office, the City Hall, The first National Bank and opposite Lincoln Park, and with both urban and inter-urban trolley cars passing its doors, has few rivals in situation as an educational and civic center. On March twenty-fifth of this year (1922) the library rounded out its fifty-first year as an organization. It was first known as the Olean Library Association and continued as such until March twenty-eighth, 1889, the name then being changed to "Forman Library," in appreciation of Mr. George V. Forman's generous gift of the building and grounds on South Union Street. During 1906 the matter of making the library a free institution was discussed and measures taken to transfer the property to the Board of Education, School District No. 1. On the completion of this reorganization, the Olean Public Library was opened for service, January 14, 1907. It was soon evident that the Library would need larger quarters to accommodate the growing demands of its patrons. Correspondence was begun with Andrew Carnegie, which resulted in a cablegram being received, July second, 1908, stating that he would contribute $40,000 for a new building, the local authorities to pledge at least ten percent of that amount for annual maintenance. Additional land was purchased and on September 21, contracts were let for the erection of the present building. The following April the books and equipment were moved into rooms on the second floor of the City Hall, remaining there until the Carnegie building was ready for occupancy. The corner-stone was laid, with appropriate ceremonies, July third, 1909, and the formal opening occurred May twenty-first, 1910.
Two days later the new building was opened for registration of readers and service has continued, without interruption, ever since. According to the latest records, there are now 6750 registered borrowers, about 16,000 volumes on the shelves supplemented by some 2,000 pamphlets and an extensive clipping collection. The Library is open daily from 9 A. M. to 9 P. M., and its book collection and administrative methods compare most favorably with similar institutions. The staff consists of a librarian, three assistants and usually a student worker. The resources of the library are freely used by many from neighboring communities. A lecture room in the basement is frequently used by literary, educational, civic and patriotic organizations and committees and for various community gatherings, the average use being ten meetings a month. In a large room on the upper floor, many attractive exhibits are held from time to time. During the War, the Library was a center for all kinds of war work, culminating in a reception on April first, 1919 to Olean's returned heroes.
One of the large rooms on the second floor has been equipped for the special use of teachers. Between five hundred and six hundred books on educational subjects and some thirty professional magazines, being on the shelves. Adjoining this department is the Childrens' room, known as the "George V. Forman" room. A small endowment fund has been set aside for the purchase of books in this department.
While each year the Library receives from patrons, friends and publishers, a number of newspapers, periodicals, books and miscellaneous material, the largest gift was the bequest of $2,000 from Frank Wayland Higgins in 1907. This sum was used largely for the purchase of reference and scientific books and the collection has been further enriched by a number of handsomely bound sets, gifts from Mrs. Frank Sullivan Smith, who also has presented a life-size oil portrait of her brother, the late Governor Higgins. Another bequest of $100 was received in 1919 from Mrs. Mary Herse.
One of America's foremost librarians and thinkers, Mr. John Cotton Dana, has said that "The library is the one public institution which can serve as a center of pleasure and learning for all the city. To its service all can give their sympathy and aid without restraint of politics or creed, and without thought of difference in station or in culture. Recreation, good cheer, research, business, trade, government, social life, conduct, religion, all of these in every aspect can turn to books for help." To be more specific--It is the helpful friend of the young mother, who needs to know how to feed and care for her children, the boy, who is constructing a radio station, the little girl, who is making a dress for her doll, the high school student, who is looking up material for debate, the carpenter, who desires to learn more about his trade, the minister seeking information for his sermon, the housewife, who wants a new recipe for dessert, the chemist, who is searching for a certain formula, teachers interested in the latest educational methods, and farmers making inquiries about markets or tractors; each one of these has a claim upon the public library. In fact, every kind of information is sought from the naming of the baby to the writing of epitaphs. Aside, however, from meeting the practical and intellectual needs of the community, the library is also one of the chief recreational centers.
Life for most of us is sufficiently dull and colorless and one of the easiest means of escape from the monotony of daily routine is through the pages of book, and preferably a good story. Fiction is but a form of literature and many of the noblest thoughts, the finest types of characters and greatest reforms have been presented through novels.
Thus the library's ideal is to help men live "not by bread alone, but by every word of God," who, through good books has been speaking to the generations of men, not only for their instruction but even more for their delight.
PHOTOS: ANOTHER GROUP OF CITY OFFICIALS
W. H. Keeney Dr. J. P. Garen
Sanitary Inspector City Bacteriologist
D. L. Lawler, Superintendent of Streets
H. S. Coburn P. J. Spindler
Trustee Bd. of Education Member Board of Education
Henry Donnelly, City Attorney Dr. C. A. Greenleaf, City Physician
Community Service Activities
PHOTO:Miss Marian Luther
A notable addition to the training of the young people of the city is that afforded by the Community Recreation Service. The only way we can hope to build for "that better day ahead" is to have specialized groups in the community working for one certain object--others working for others--but all working in harmony without spending too much time in coordination of efforts. The Olean direction of: F. W. Forness, president; Mrs. J. H. Bradner, vice-president; J. G. Lynch, treasurer; E. W. Fitzgerald, secretary; F. J. Consedine, G. M. Hancock, F. T. Heenan, Mrs. F. E. Larkin, Rev. C. C. Bentley and John T. Quilter, Miss Marian Luther is executive secretary and field leader.
The items on the recreational program for the winter of 1922-23 are to be varied according to the needs of the community. Among the opportunities included are indoor recreation, consisting of gymnasium classes, games, folk dances, etc., for both adults and children. At intervals social evenings and parties are to be put on by members of the Recreation Center.
A most popular recreation is provided by games of basket-ball, volley-ball and indoor baseball. Recreation centers have been selected in the different neighborhoods of the community, and twice a year exhibitions are to be organized to demonstrate activities in progress. The play-grounds laid out by the service are essential parts of the children's life of the city, with complete equipment and congenial supervision to ensure popularity with the kiddies. A skating rink is one of the sport-exercise fostered, and also skiing, tobogganing and hiking. At Christmas time a Community Christmas tree is planned, with carol singing by the school children, aided by the churches of the city. Boxes of candy and toys make glad the hearts of the children on that occasion.
A Dramatic Club has been organized in Olean to produce plays and to foster good dramatic productions in Olean. A membership of over one hundred gives assurance of success.
PHOTO: Community Service :: Indoor Exercises
Olean's Public Parks and Playgrounds
The additions, equipment, and improvements made in Olean's public park system have added materially to the attractiveness of the city and provide pleasant recreation grounds, especially for the younger generations. They are distributed in favorable locations and the disposition of the city government is to increase their facilities and add to their general attractiveness whenever possible. Money judiciously spent on the parks in up-keep and floral ornamentation is a good investment not only in adding to the pleasure of residents, but also in creating a good impression of our city in the minds of visitors.
PHOTOS: Another Group of Representative Old Timers
I. P. Collins Wilbur Reed
W. L. Myrick George Oliver
W. P. Hannifan
Millard. F. Riley Guy Duke
M. L Lee George Crocker
O. S. McClure Tom Randolph
Dr. M. C. Follett Chas. Cradduck
J. B. Smith L. H. Ballard
Dana Jewell E. W. Conklin
The busy four corner--State Street, East and West--Union Street, North and South-- The Post Office and First National Bank
The City Building, corner East State and North Union Streets, with Masonic Temple and Olean House in the background
MAIN ENTRANCE TO ST. MARY OF THE ANGELS' CHURCH
Olean, New York
Upper Group, Junior Holy Name Society :: Lower Group, Senior Holy Name Society
PHOTO: St. Mary of the Angels' Church
Among the religious missions of North America which began their activities in the seventeenth century, those which came from France were without doubt the most active and successful in their efforts to promote Christianity among the Aboriginal Indians. The influence of these French Catholics is in evidence in the building of communities that have developed during the last hundred years in which the Church history and the general history of Western New York is involved,--consequently also in the territory in which Olean is now a very important centre.
The following outline is mainly derived from "The History of the Catholic Church in Western New York," by Rev. Thomas Donahue of Buffalo, published in 1904.
Olean started off with an early boom, and some of her over-sanguine citizens fondly imagined that the town would rival Buffalo in growth and in importance, on account of its location. It was the head of navigation on the Allegany River, and offered facile transit to the east. In those days of flat bottom boat travel the location was promising, but as soon as railroad traffic began Olean resumed her normal condition.
During the construction of the railroad many Catholics were employed; and these were visited occasionally by priests, who said mass for them in their shanties, or in a hall or school building, when these were convenient.
The Rev. T. McEvoy, from Java, was the first who is reported to have said mass in Olean. The Rev. Fathers Doran, McIvers, Fitzsimons and Walsh, also said mass here in the homes of the settlers before the little church was built. There were only forty members when the congregation was organized in 1850 by Father Doran, but the opening of the railroad in 1851 brought more Catholics to the town.
The Rev. Joseph McKenna, who was located in Cuba, collected money along the railroad to purchase a lot and build a little shanty church in Olean. He had three hundred dollars subscribed in the fall of 1853, and he authorized Mr. McCarthy to secure a lot in his own name, because the bishop was then absent from the diocese. Father McKenna said mass in the poor little shanty. He had thought of putting up a building for $100, but it was evident that this could not have been much of an improvement over the little shanty used for services.
The congregation increased, and when the Franciscans took charge in 1855, it was necessary to build a larger edifice, which was begun in 1858 and opened for services in 1860, under the patronage of St. Mary of the Angels, so called after the famous shrine in Umbria where St. Francis obtained the Indulgence of the Portuncula and which the saint "loved better than any other place in the world." It was under the direction of the Franciscan Fathers from St. Bonaventure's College until 1876, when the late Rev. J. J. Hamel was appointed as its resident pastor.
In the history of the Catholic Church of western New York there have been no more prominent figures than the two pastors who have controlled the temporal and spiritual affairs of the principal parish of the denomination in the town and city of Olean, and it is hardly possible to overestimate the power for good which those two estimable clergymen have exercised during the past forty-six years, not only in the parish of St. Mary of the Angels, but in the community at large. The first of this remarkable pair began the good work and carried it along with extraordinary success until his greatly regretted demise in 1912. His successor has, with increased opportunities, carried out the earlier efforts of his predecessor in a wider field with a necessarily larger measure of success. The two "wise and holy" men, whose names are venerated by many thousands of citizens of both sexes, regardless of creed, are V. Rev. J. J. Hamel, and Rev. E. J. Rengel.
The Rev. J. J. Hamel was born in Brooklyn, May 17, 1850, was graduated from St. Bonaventure's College at Allegany with high honors, ordained priest Aug. 2, 1875, and served for a time as assistant in St. Joseph's Cathedral at Buffalo. In 1876, Nov. 24th, he was placed in charge of St. Mary of the Angels' Church at Olean, being its first resident pastor. Rev. Hamel enlarged the church shortly after taking charge, and in 1879 gave additional room, so that it would seat 900 persons. He also built a fine school and convent. The school was opened in 1890, and now gives instruction to 400 children. Rev. Hamel was made dean of the district comprised in Cattaraugus, Allegany and Chautauqua Counties, by the Rt. Rev. James Edward Quigley, then Bishop of the Diocese of Buffalo and later Archbishop of Chicago. While ministering assiduously and wisely to the affairs of this district at large, and to the parishes of Olean in particular, Rev. Hamel found time and occasion to enlarge his experiences by travel abroad, visiting the Holy Land, India, China, Japan, the Pacific Islands, and made three pilgrimages to Rome. Father Hammel died Jan. 15th, 1912, regretted by thousands of parishioners, friends and admirers. Of him and his influence it has been written: "To the Rev. Father Hamel the City of Olean owed much. The influence for good exercised under his masterful and vigorous police, the widening and broadening of the church, have all been material factors in the growth and prosperity of the city."
After impressive services in Olean, his remains were taken to Brooklyn and buried in St. John's cemetery in that city with those of his deceased parents, Jan. 15th, 1920, the body was exhumed and brought back to Olean to his old parish, and placed in a vault in the new church building.
V. Rev. J. J. Hamel, V. F., L. L. D.
Rev. E. J. Rengel, L. L. D
Rev. Edward Joseph Rengel, the present pastor of St. Mary of the Angels' Church, was born in Lancaster, N. Y., Aug. 8th, 1869; he was ordained June 29th, 1894, and was pastor successively at East Aurora, East Pembroke, Andover and Ellicottville, until he was appointed to Olean. He took charge April 10, 1912. Plans were prepared for the erection of the new edifice by Emil E. Uhlrich of Cleveland. As the space of the church property of Henley Street was limited, the adjoining Gilligan property was purchased for the sum of $9000, to provide room for the new building and also for a rectory. In response to an appeal made for the necessary funds for a new church, $45,000 was pledged in ten days and the balance of $50,000 required was assured by the congregation assembled on Sunday, December 15th, 1912. The old church was moved to the vacant lot which Father Hamel had purchased from the Dotterweich Brewing Company during the Winter of 1913, and immediately the work of grading and excavating was undertaken. In July a contract was made with the Pennsylvania Marble & Granite Company for the stone work at $56,000, and with William Stokes and Sons for the general contract work complete at $52,000.
The corner stone of the new church was laid with appropriate ceremonies Nov. 2, 1913 by Bishop Colton. Archbishop Bonzano of Washington paid a visit of inspection to the parish in September, 1914. On May 15th, 1915, the capstone on the last tower completed, was laid by Father Rengel. A new bell, cast from the metal of the two old bells, was consecrated on May 25th, 1915, by Very Rev. Dean O'Brien. The completed new church was opened Sept. 26th by Monsignor Baker of Buffalo, (Bishop Colton, who was especially interested in the church, having died May 13th.) The total cost of the church was $200,000. It was consecrated June 29th, 1919, for which occasion the new stained glass had been put in, completing the church structure in every detail. The consecration was performed by Bishop Turner of Buffalo and the sermon was preached by the Most Reverend Archbishop Hayes of New York City, a class-mate of Father Rengel, it being the twenty-fifth anniversary of his ordination to the priesthood. At the evening services Bishop Shahan of the Catholic University preached the sermon.
St. Stephen's Episcopal Church
PHOTO: St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, South Barry Street
The Episcopal Church, St. Stephen's, of Olean, was incorporated in 1830 by David Day, William W. Penfield, Horatio Orton, S. Russell and Rev. W. W. Bostwick, a missionary . In connection with these names on the early record appear also those of Ebenezer Lockwood, David Bockes, William Lowe and Nathaniel Goodspeed.
In the year 1833 a plot of land on North Barry Street was given by Frederick A. Norton, to whom Olean owed many of her earlier improvements, on the condition that a church building should be erected within five years. Accordingly, the Episcopalians went to work to complete their organization and erect their own church, which was well under way in 1836. During the building the congregation worshipped in the school house, which was blown down by a memorable tornado in 1834. After this disaster they met in an unfinished second floor room in the home of David Day--afterwards the Barse residence--located where the present beautiful home of the late Governor Higgins was constructed in more recent years.
In its early days the parish was small, but comprised earnest workers, and after tireless efforts the required amount, ($3,882.00) was raised, and, on Sept. 7th, 1839, a new church entirely free from debt was duly consecrated by Bishop DeLancy of Western New York. In 1842 a bell for the church was purchased in Troy, N. Y., being brought to Olean on a canal boat. It is related that the elevation of the bell was a great event in the village, for nearly everyone in the community took part in observing it.
In 1862 during the rectorship of Rev. G. W. Dunbar, the seating capacity was increased and eight pews added. Then in 1839 a recess chancel was added; this was during the rectorship of Rev. G. B. Seibt. From October, 1878 to November, 1882, during Rev. J. J. Andrew' rectorship, alterations were made in the church by removing the gallery, adding new pews, building an organ room, and installing a new organ.
In 1883 the Church debt was generously cancelled by Mr. G. V. Forman. The building was renovated and redecorated, and in 1884 the ladies of the church purchased a site for a rectory on Clinton Street. Later it was reported that a sum of $25,000.00 had been subscribed for a new church building, and in the spring of 1885 the old church structure was removed to the Clinton Street lot previously purchased for a rectory. This old building was afterwards removed to the corner of East State and Barry Streets, where it has been improved and is occupied by the Christian Scientist organization.
On August 6th, 1889, an imposing ceremony marked the laying of the cornerstone of the new church edifice, in which numerous clergymen participated, as well as the ministers of the local churches. On this notable occasion the wardens were: C. P. Moulton and John Sloane, and the vestrymen were: George V. Forman, N. V. V. Franchot, Frank W. Higgins, C. S. Stowell, E. M. Johnson, M. B. Bennie, Manley A. Blakeslee and Horace Beardsley, the only survivors of whom are Mr. Franchot and John Sloane.
The Rev. J. W. Ashton was rector at this time and had been since 1883, coming to Olean from Philadelphia. He continued his rectorship until May, 1914, when he resigned from active service. For his long, faithful and efficient services, alike to the city and the community, he was made rector emeritus of the parish. Dr. Ashton was succeeded by Rev. H. Cowley-Carroll in 1915, who resigned in 1917. The next rector was Rev. John N. Borton, who came Jan. 1st, 1918, and resigned the following year.
The present rector, Rev. Cedric Bentley, who had been senior assistant at Grace church, New York, assumed the duties of pastor Sept. 1st, 1919, since which time he has introduces modern measures of church organization with increased efficiency. For example, the budget has been augmented greatly, and the total gifts for outside purposes have been considerably increased.
The affairs of the Chapel in Boardmanville under the care of the parent church, have taken on new life, with regular services and Sunday School revision. In the past three years 179 have been confirmed and 250 baptized, and the number of communicants have increased from 515 to about 800.
On Jan. 1st, 1921, Olean was made by the Bishop of the Diocese a center of an Associate Episcopal Mission, which gives the rector of St. Stephen's the charge of Bolivar, Franklinville, Hinsdale and adjacent territory.
The position of choirmaster and organist is efficiently filled by G. Harold Brown, who was an Associate of Round College of Organists of London, England. Rev. Bentley is a member of the Masonic Bodies.
A most important addition to the functions of the church, and to the advantage of the community will be the erection of a Parish House, especially designed for the young people of the city. This new building will be added in the rear of the present chapel, in such a way as not to detract from the appearance of the edifice. It will be of brick trimmed with sandstone, two stories in height and a basement, and will be about 30 x 40 ft. in dimensions. The building committee is composed of N. V. V. Franchot, John Sloane, R. A. Conklin and C. A. Wallace. The architects are Godley & Sedgwick of New York City; Frederick Godley of this firm is a son-in-law of Mr. N. V. V. Franchot.
The material and spiritual condition of St. Stephen's Church augur well for its future progress and prosperity.
The First Presbyterian Church
PHOTO: First Presbyterian Church
Corner of Laurens and Second Streets
At the dedication of the church building now in use, August 28, 1913, the following data was read: The region west of the Genesee river, at an early period was visited by missionaries from various societies. The first of the, it is believed, was Rev. David Perry of Richmond, Mass., representing the Berkshire and Columbia Missionary Society, in 1800. The most distinguished missionary, however, who operated in what was known as the "Holland Purchase," was Rev. John Spencer, familiarly called "Father Spencer," a native of Connecticut, who served as a soldier in the War of the Revolution. He died in 1826.
Another missionary in the same field was Rev. William Stone. Born in Guildford, Connecticut, likewise a soldier of the Revolution. Graduated from Yale College in 1876 and being ordained, he came to New York State, where he performed ministerial duties, assisting in organizing the First Presbyterian Church of Olean, August 28, 1822. The meetings are said to have been held in a room of a store then occupied by Hoyt Webb, located upon the site now occupied by the Olean Hardware Company. The members at that time were Cornelius Brooks, John Boardman, Anson King, Sophia King, Norman Smith, Abigail Smith, Abigah Warren and Bathsheba Warren. The same day, Anson King, Abigah Warren and Norman Smith were chosen ruling elders, the first named as deacon and the last as clerk. The society was received under the care of the Presbytery of Bath, September 11, 1822. The extent of territory covered by the Presbytery reached from Elmira to Olean, with a width of about thirty-six miles. In 1828 it included twenty-five churches with fifteen ministers. On request of the western members, a new Presbytery was organized November 25, 1828, including the churches west of the dividing line between the counties of Steuben and Allegany. The original members were; Ministers--Rev. Robert Hubbard, Rev. Moses Hunter, Rev. Reuben Hurd; churches--Ossian, Allen, Almond, Andover, Angelica, Black Creek and Olean. This was known as the Presbytery of Angelica and belonged to the Synod of Geneva. At a meeting of the General Assembly in May 1834, this Presbytery, on account of its geographical position, was detached from the Synod of Geneva and annexed to the Synod of Genesee.
The Olean church was of slow growth. In 1828 and 1829 their representative, Rev. John T. Baldwin, preached in Olean and Franklinville. Subsequently the church lapsed in interest, but was revived in 1836 under the ministerial care of Rev. Reuben Willoughby.
A very interesting paper on the subsequent history of the early days of the church was prepared by Miss Maud D. Brooks of the Public Library and should be embodied in a record of the Centennial Celebration held October 28 - November 1, 1922, if such a record is published, as has been suggested.
In an autobiography of William F. Wheeler of Portville, which will be referred to later in THE OLEANDER, he explained that: "As there was no Presbyterian Church in the county (at that time, about 1839) it was thought best to organize one in Olean, as that was, as it is now, a central point. This was accomplished, he states, by people living in Hinsdale, Allegany, Portville and Olean, and founded in 1839. With Mr. Dusenbury he was active in the organization of the church, as was also Judge Atkins, later his father-in-law, and they with their families attended church regularly in the wagon-house in Olean purchased for a church, Mr. Dusenbury paying on-half of the amount, and the rest of the church--(of which he doubtless was the major part) contributing the remainder.
Undoubtedly the First Presbyterian Church of Olean at the outset was organized largely through the efforts of Anson King before mentioned as attested by the "Confession o Faith and Covenant," which are preserved in his handwriting.
The old record book of the "Society of the First Presbyterian Church," states: "On December 9, 1841, Henry Bryan, William F. Boardman and James G. Johnson were elected trustees. The book also contains the records of the society from 1841 until 1883.
In 1842 there was a great revival in the church, conducted by Rev. Samuel G. Orton, one of the most powerful evangelists of the time. There was a period of almost complete exhaustion during the years 1847-8, and it was at this time that Rev. Sylvester Cowles was again called on for assistance in resuscitation, but this time he was called as pastor. He was installed in 1849 and remained here until 1860--a period of interest and service of 24 years in all. But he began with a membership of 17 and a salary of $600, $100 of which was paid by the Mission Board.
But the church thrived, for five years later a subscription paper, dated April 5, 1854, "for the purpose of erecting a church edifice," had on it the names of 42 subscribers, the largest single amount being $300. The dedication of the church took place in 1856, the building having cost $6,000.
When Rev. Mr. Beaumont was pastor, the church was repaired and a new organ purchased, the total cost being $4,000. In 1870 the manse was built, at a cost of $2,150, the lot on which it was placed costing the church $1,167. In 1874 and 1880 the church was enlarged, wings being added and other improvements made. In 1876 a great revival was held under the pastorate of the Rev. Mr. Curtis, bringing 63 into the church.
The church celebrated its centenary Oct. 28 to Nov. 1, 1922, inclusive and was in all its features successful.
Photo: REV. W. BISHOP GATES
PHOTO: First Presbyterian Church
This building was replaced by the one on the preceding page.
THE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION--1922
The celebration began Saturday evening, Oct. 28, with an informal reception for members of the church and the members of the Centennial Committee, by the elders and trustees.
It was opened more formally at the Sunday morning service. A feature was the sermon by the pastor, the Rev. William Bishop Gates on the subject: "One Hundred Years That God Has Blessed.' In the evening the Rev. Ruff, a former pastor, preached an appropriate sermon. The church auditorium was tastefully decorated.
Monday, October 30, was known as Community Day. In the afternoon tea was served by the women of the Presbyterian Guild to all friends of the church in the church parlors from 4 to 5 o'clock. A Community Recognition was the event of the evening with W. L. Pelton presiding. Addresses were made by Rev. G. R. Williamson, pastor of the first M. E. church, Rev. J. W. Ashton, rector emeritus of St. Stephen's church and Mayor Peter C. Foley, with a response by the Rev. W. G. Gates.
A delightful Church Dinner, preceded by a concert, was served on Tuesday afternoon to more than 300 members and friends at which addresses were made by: Rev. J. Quincy Adams, Auburn Seminary; Rev. Charles Scovel, delegate from the synod, and pastor of the Cortland Presbyterian church; Rev. Robert McAlpine, delegate from Buffalo Presbytery; Rev. Louis F. Ruf of Cleveland and Rev. Harry Burton Boyd of Erie, Pa., the last two named having been former pastors of the Olean church.
The concluding items on the excellent three days' program were a Devotional Service followed by a Church Family gathering at which reminiscences, anecdotes and questions about old times were the interesting features.
During the Centennial an exhibit of articles of historical interest were held in the church parlors. It included portraits of former members, pictures of old time Olean, ancient documents and costumes and articles of household furniture, including a collection from the Olean Historical Association.
One of the very interesting features of this Centennial Celebration of the Presbyterian Church, was the exhibit of old-time reminders, many of which have been deposited in the Olean Historical Association's collection in the Public Library building.
The First Methodist Episcopal Church
According to the records traced by former Senator Frank N. Godfrey, the First Methodist "class" was formed in this section in 1821, at a meeting in the school house between Olean and Hinsdale, near the home of Zachariah Noble and his daughter, Eunice, who were among the members. As was customary in those das the simple services were conducted as opportunity offered by circuit riders, who traveled on horseback distributing religious literature and were entertained at the homes of the farmers along the route they traveled. The home of Judge James Brooks in Pleasant Valley was a favorite stopping place for these itinerant ministers.
In 1857 Olean became the headquarters of what is now the Olean district. The first quarterly meeting in the winter of 1820 was conducted by Gleason Filmore, who was the first presiding elder, and was held in George Martin's ball room in Olean. The class was formed in Olean village, September 25, 1836, with twenty-two members in charge of Rev. A. C. DuBois. The organization grew intermittently and in 1850 there were the names of fourteen presiding elders on the roster of the Olean district. In that year Rev. Albert C. D. Wilbor was the presiding elder in the Olean district. He was the father of Rev. C. D. Wilbor, later for several years pastor of the church. The first sermon preached by a Methodist minister in Olean territory was at the funeral of William Shepard, September 23, 1809. The deceased was the father of William B. Shepard, one of the early trustees of the church and grandfather of Mrs. Barrows, whose death took place September, 1921.
The first official record traced was the following, dated May 24, 1851: "The male members of full age and congregation of the First Methodist Church, Olean, will meet at this house, on Monday the 9th day of June next, at four o'clock in the afternoon for the purpose of electing trustees of said church;" which notice was read in church on the two preceding Sabbaths. In response to this call a meeting was held in the Baptist Church with James Brooks as chairman and C. H. Thyng, clerk. The following were elected trustees: James Brooks, Reuben A. Brooks, Thos. V. Oviatt, Henry K. Montgomery, Charles Thyng.
A meeting was held in February, 1852, called by Rev. Schuyler Parker, in the village school house, with James Brooks as chairman and C. H. Thyng, clerk. The following revised Board of Trustees were elected: Judge James H. Brooks, Charles H. Thyng, Thos. V. Oviatt, LeCompt Moncy, David P. Godfrey and William Shepard.
"The First Methodist Episcopal Church, Olean," was the name adopted and it was resolved to build a church as promptly as possible, at a cost not to exceed $2,000. The amount was not considered sufficient, and a plan was evolved for the construction of the church on a lot that had been purchased of Ansel Adams, the cost to be met by partial payments. Those interested at that time were farmers living in Pleasant Valley, except C. H. Thyng, who was a merchant in Olean Village.
The new church was completed by January, 1853, and "slips," as the pews were then called, were sold to raise money to pay part of the debt incurred. The church edifice raised on the site occupied by the present church was in 1882 removed to Ninth Street, where it is still in service. The same year the new church was completed.
August 16, 1860, at a meeting of the trustees a resolution was considered and adopted that "a committee should have the unpleasant duty of removing C. H. Thyng, former trustee and prominent church member, from the house unless he ceased to disturb the meeting." Another resolution adopted was, "that the corporators, and members of the First Methodist Church Congregation and Society of Olean, have a choice of the Minister who shall preach to us and receive our patronage.: Rev. W. A. Willing and S. J. Noble appear to have acted at this meeting as chairman and clerk, respectively.
PHOTO: First M. E. Church, Corner Union and Hamilton Streets
To meet the expense of the new church, in 1854 each of six trustees gave a note for $150 payable in six months. There was then only about fifty members. In 1860 this number had increased to 82. In 1872 there was a drop to only 28 on the roll on account of a division which ad occurred as to the kind of Methodism which should prevail. From that time on until 1880 the church grew in influence and membership, under the pastorates of C. Burlingham, L. A. Stevens, E. B. Williams and L. D. Chase. The membership had grown, which made it desirable that there should be increased facilities, and the matter was put in the hands of a building committee, comprising Charles Gillingham, George Chamberlain, Anton Spreter, M. C. Follett, and F. W. Kruse. The two latter are still living to testify to the obstacles and difficulties that had to be overcome. The Bishop of the district assigned Rev. J. L. Sooy to aid the committee in their undertaking, and Rev. Sooy proved to be "just the man for the work." The building contract was let March 17, 1881, to Charles Gillingham and Company for the sum of $17,000. The new church was dedicated March 19, 1882 by Bishop Simpson and Dr. Ives.
The cost of the building was increased from the first contract price to $26,000 at the time of dedication. Out of a subscription list of $12,000 only $8,000 was realized, but by persistence the balance of $14,000 was subsequently raised.
The present efficient and popular Minister of the church is Rev. Gilbert R. Williamson, who came here from Meadville, Pa., October 14, 1914, and who has been continued up to the present time and is serving his ninth year.
PHOTO: REV. GILBERT R. WILLIAMSON
OLEAN AS HE SEES IT.
Dr. Williamson, the well-beloved minister of the First Methodist church of Olean, in a recent address, expressed the following opinion on the community in which he has ministered most effectively both as a convincing pastor and a good citizen:
Olean as a city is beyond the experiment stage. She has arrived. Her banks, her stores, her private residences, and her churches now rank beyond the average in cities of twenty thousand population. Her schools while up-to-date, in teaching staff and management, lack sufficient room to accommodate comfortably all her pupils, yet we have taken the steps to at once relieve any embarrassment here. Her parks and playgrounds are assured, and her future seems from all human reckoning to be secure.
In 1887 the Ninth Street M. E. Church was organized, also the People's Church of East Olean, with R. C. Grames as pastor.
However, seven years previous to that date, in 1882, when the new First M. E. Church was dedicated by Bishop Simpson, he suggested that the old church, instead of being sold, should be moved to a growing section of the village of Olean and be used for Sunday School purposes as a nucleus to a church organization later on. The old church had been advertised for sale by the trustees, but as no bids were offered over $300.00 it was concluded to adopt Bishop Simpson's recommendation.
The trustees, in company with Bishop Simpson had looked over the village, which at that time a population estimated at 4,000 inhabitants and concluded that two vacant lots on Ninth Street owned by A. Bozard, one of which he would donate, would be a very acceptable site. Mr. Bozard was at that time superintendent of a Union Sunday School, made up mostly of Baptists and Methodists, which was holding its sessions in School Building No. 2 at the corner of State and Eleventh Streets.
The arrangement was made that the old church should be moved upon the Ninth Street site, remodeled to some extent, and used by the Union Sunday School, at no expense to the Sunday School.
Mr. Bozard continued to act as Superintendent for about two years, when an election of officers occurred and a Methodist was elected to take his place.
Mr. Bozard then left the Union Sunday School, most of the Baptists following with him. The Methodist then sent a committed to the Sunday School Board of the First M. E. Church asking that a member of the First Church be sent to Ninth Street to act a Superintendent. The Board then organized a Methodist Episcopal Church Sunday School, with officers and teachers, and assigned John W. Pratt as superintendent. Mr. Pratt found a Sunday School of 35 members all told, with little or no equipment for Sunday School work and a debt of some $25.55. The officers and teachers went to work with great enthusiasm, and in less than three years had paid the debt, bought all the Sunday School supplies, furnished fuel to heat the church, purchased a Mason organ at a cost of $75.00, and paid $100.00 on the church debt. The Sunday School had increased in this time to an average yearly attendance of 120 members.
PHOTO: HON. FRANK N. GODFREY
On January 11th, 1888, Dr. Buckley, editor of the New York Christian Advocate, dedicated the Ninth Street Church and on that occasion raised by subscription $1,100.00 for
the purpose of building a church in East Olean, where, in the month of March a lot was purchased. The church was built at a cost of $2500.00, and dedicated July 29th, 1888.
In 1888 the People's Church became a part of the Ninth Street charge under R. C. Grames. On April 5th, 1892 a cyclone struck the People's Church and damaged the building to such an extent that a new church was built. The moving and changes in the old church had cost about $2,500.00.
Previous to the appointment of R. C. Grames as pastor, preaching services in connection with the Sunday School had been rendered in 1887 to 1888 fall conference by D. C. Huntington, nephew of Dr. D. W. C. Huntington. He was assistant pastor to Dr. Huntington, pastor of the First M. E. Church. From 1888 until 1899 E. C. Swarts, assistant pastor to Dr. Huntington, preached at Ninth Street and East Olean.
As a closing paragraph, it might be stated that a mortgage of $200.00 was found on the lot Mr. Bozard had donated to the church, which the trustees of the First M. E. Church had to pay to obtain a clear title to the site of the Ninth Street Church. In the year 1889, the title to the Ninth street property and the East Olean property had been turned over by the trustees of First M. E. Church to the newly elected trustees of the Ninth Street Church. All church history since 1889 will be found in the records of the official Board of Ninth Street M. C. Church.
The Ninth Street M. E. Church
The Ninth Street Methodist Church was organized 1887, as was also the Peoples Church of East Olean, with R. C. Grames as pastor. As related elsewhere, in 1882, when the new First M. E. Church was dedicated, the old church building was used for Sunday School purposes as a nucleus to an anticipated church organization.
By an arrangement with A. Bozard, who owned lots on Ninth Street, the old church was moved there, remodeled to some extent and occupied by the Union Sunday School Mr. Bozard in the earlier days was superintendent of the Union Sunday School, made up mostly of Baptists and Methodists, which was holding its sessions in School Building No. 2 at the corner of State and Eleventh Streets. Mr. Bozard continued to act as Superintendent for about two years, when an election of officers occurred and a Methodist was elected to take his place. A Methodist Episcopal Church Sunday School with officers and teachers was organized and the late John W. Pratt was chosen as superintendent. Mr. Pratt found a Sunday School of thirty-five members all told, with little or no equipment for the work and a debt of some $25.00. The officers and teachers went to work with great enthusiasm, and in less than three years had paid the debt, bought all the Sunday School supplied, furnished fuel to heat the church, purchased a mason organ at a cost of $75.00 and paid $100.00 on the church debt.
The Sunday School increased in the meantime to an average yearly attendance of 120 members.
On January 11th, 1888, Dr. Buckley, editor of the New York Christian Advocate, dedicated the Ninth street church, and on that occasion a subscription of $1,100 was secured for the purpose of building a Methodist Episcopal church in East Olean. In the month of March a lot was purchased, the church was built at a cost of $2500.00, and dedicated July 29th, 1888.
PHOTO: Ninth Street M. E. Church
In 1888 the People's Church became a part of Ninth Street charge under Rev. R. C. Grames. On April 5th, 1892 a cyclone struck the edifice and damaged the building to such an extent that a new church was built. The moving and changes in the old church ad cost about $2500.00.
Previous to the appointment of Rev. Grames as pastor, preaching services in connection with the Sunday School ad been conducted in 1887 to 1888 by Rev. D. C. Huntington, pastor of the First M. E. Church. From 1888 until 1889 Rev. E. C. Swarts was assistant pastor to Dr. Huntington and conducted services at the Ninth Street church and also at East Olean. A mortgage of $200.00 was found to be unsatisfied on the lot Mr. Bozard had donated to the First M. E. church which the trustees of that church paid.
In the year 1889, the title to the Ninth Street property and the East Olean property had been turned over by the trustees of the First M. E. Church to the newly elected trustees of the Ninth Street Church. The church history since 1889 is to be found in the records of the official board of Ninth Street M. E. Church.
People's Church M. E. Church
During the pastorate of Dr. Huntington at the First Methodist Episcopal Church, a hall known as "Muckey's Hall," stood on the site now occupied by the Foote Flats, 651 East State street. The ceiling was so low, and the ventilation was so poor that when a large gathering was assembled in the room the air was almost suffocating. With such conditions the task of speaking could only be laborious. In this place Dr. Huntington came in the late spring of 1887 and held religious services. This was the
Beginning from which grew the present society. These services were continued at irregular intervals until D. C. Huntington, a nephew of Dr. Huntington, finished college and became assistant pastor of First Church, some time during July of the same year, and held regular services in Muckey's Hall. These were the first regular services held by Methodists in East Olean, and were continued until the first chapel was dedicated. In the latter part of December, 1887, the site on which the present church stands was purchased from J. S. Bishop, and in the following January, a dedicatory service was held in the Ninth Street Methodist Episcopal Church and subscriptions were taken for the purpose of erecting a chapel in East Olean. About eleven hundred dollars was pledged and paid at this time. The first chapel was built, lot and building costing twenty-five hundred dollars, and at the dedication, July 19, 1888, the remaining fourteen hundred dollars were provided for. L. F. Lawton was the most liberal subscriber to this project, donating five hundred dollars. Many other gave liberally according to their means.
On subscription worth of special notice was one of one hundred twenty-five dollars, given by Ladies Aid Society, all of which was paid within one year. Worship was continued in the new chapel until April 5, 1892, when, during the pastorate of the late R. C. Grames, the edifice was demolished by a cyclone. After the cyclone services were held in the school house until a hall could be erected for temperance and church purposes. In this hall services were held in the school house until a hall could be erected for temperance and church purposes. In this hall services were held until the present church was dedicated, July 16, 1893. Numerous improvements have been added from time to time, notable among which was the installation through the help of the late Andrew Carnegie, of a magnificent Moeller pipe organ, one of the finest in the city.
At the present time the church and parsonage stand free from debt and plans are under way for adding new Sunday School and recreation rooms, at an estimated cost of ten thousand dollars.
First Church of Christ Scientist
The theories and beliefs of Mrs. Baker Eddy as set forth in her publication "Science and Health" gradually found acceptance in Olean over fifty years ago and it has been generally known as Christian Science and has found a gradual increase in the number of believers. The first demonstration in the case of healing from invalidism occurred in 1886 and the interest has increased from year to year in a marked degree. The first regular meeting was held with Mrs. Carrie R. Gale on Laurel Ave. These meeting were continued for a number of years. In 1892 a Sunday school was started and in 1898 the First Church of Christ Scientist, Olean, was organized with eleven members, with headquarters for regular services in the city building. The first lecture was given in 1902. In 1903 a hall was rented in the block, corner of West State and First Streets. In 1905 the church society purchased the Millspaugh property on North Barry St., the house being rented and the receipts forming the nucleus of a church building fund. About 1906 the Congregational Church building on the corner of East State and Barry Street was purchased and the sale of the residence property was made to the Y. M. C. A. The edifice thus secured was originally built by the congregation of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church in 1839 and in 1888 moved to the present site and used by the Congregational Society. The mortgage which was given by the Christian Science Society was fully paid up this year. Various repairs and improvements have been made in the building and regular meetings, conducted on the plan approved by the Christian Science organization, are held.
First Evangelical Church
This thriving church was organized and erected in 1880 and was reconstructed in 1917, during the pastorate of E. L. Tiffany. Other former pastors were: Rev. Pfeiffer, W. J. Schenck, 1886; E. F. Boller, 1889; J. Pries, P. Sachs, I. K. Devitt, C. Hardel, C. Minch and H. Koch. R. M. Bunts, the present pastor, was selected in 1918 and under his administration many improvements and betterments have been made. A new Moeller pipe organ was installed in 1919, and a new heating plant was provided in 1920. The parsonage was remodeled in 1921, and a garage built in 1922. This church is self-supporting and has been removed from the list of Mission churches. Five very successful revival campaign have been conducted, resulting in some four hundred conversions and a three-fold increase in membership.
PHOTO: REV. R. M. BUNTS
Pastor First Evangelical Church
St. John's Church (Catholic)
The growth of the population of Olean necessitated in 1896, another Parish to serve many Catholics living in the northern part of the city, and the Bishop of the Diocese was petitioned to give his consent to the formation of such a Parish. In the absence abroad of Father Hamel, the Rev. Thomas Haire was assigned the work of organizing the new congregation of St. John's. A desirable site on upper Union street, on land was purchased from the United States Leather Company for $2500. And building a church and pastorial residence was begun in April, 1896, on plans prepared by Architect Post of Buffalo. The cornerstone was laid July 5, 1896, with ceremonies conducted by the Very Reverend Dean Cannon of Lockport. Father Haire had charge of the church until his death in September, 1899. Rev. Father James F. Mooney was appointed his successor. Father Mooney was born Oct. 22, 1864. He was ordained to the priesthood May 31, 1890, and officiated as priest of St. John's Church for five years. He died Oct. 10, 1904. Father Charles Duffey acted as assistant to Father Mooney. Father John F. Gardiner came to Olean November, 1904, and has had charge of St. John's for eighteen years. The Franciscans have aided Father Gardiner.
The First Baptist Church
Early in the summer of 1830 the Rev. Eliab Going, a Baptist Minister preaching at Angelica, Franklinville, and Hinsdale, organized a Baptist membership in Olean Village (under the act of incorporating religious societies) consisting of twelve members, preaching to them one Sunday every month. Olean at that time had a population of four hundred, or to be absolutely accurate, four hundred and four. This society subsequently had three pastors: Rev's. Tillinghast, Rufus W. Griswold, and B. L. Thomas. At a covenant meeting held in March 1844 at the home of Jacob Yapp, it was voted to disband, all members receiving letters. At no time the membership in this society exceeded forty members.
In July, 1836, Frederick A. Norton, who had already donated a building site to the Episcopalians, gave the Baptist society a plot of land at the south east corner of State and Clinton streets with the proviso that it should be occupied in five years or the gift contract would become null and void. Consequently the Episcopalian were at that time the largest land holders in the central part of the village. At that time there was but one house of worship in Olean (Presbyterians), various religious meetings of the Baptists and other denominations being held in the school house or the several homes. The Baptist members at a meeting in the school house decided to erect a suitable house of worship. The undertaking seemed difficult. Money was scarce. It was deemed wisdom to wait. Removals and death had weakened their numbers. They were unable to comply with the conditions of the gift and so lost their building site. Land was less valuable then than now, money less plentiful.
In the spring of the year 1845 the Rev. Samuel W. Titus, a young Baptist Minister from Humphrey, came to Olean to conduct a funeral service. He made a very favorable impression not only on all the Baptists present but on many others. They invited him to come over and preach to them some time (he had already organized the church at Humphrey.) He came early in 1846. He found some fifteen families here of Baptist principles and began to talk church organization.
In April, 1846, in a house owned by Elkanah Day the church was definitely organized under the name First Baptist Church of Olean, with twenty members. They joined the Baptist Association the following summer with twenty-seven members. They reported 656 members at the association held in 1922. May 1, 1847 they bought Foote's Exchange. Dr. Lambert Whitney and Rev. S. W. Titus had borrowed $100.00 of G. W. Smith, giving their joint note to Judge Chamberlin. The building was moved its width east and served as the meeting house until 1860, when it was sold to Seth W. Warren.
A new church, built in 1860, was constructed at a cost of $6000.00 and dedicated in 1862. This church edifice was destroyed by fire with all its contents March 1, 1883. The corner stone of the present church was laid August 28, 1883, and the dedication services were held December 10, 1884. It was built at a cost of $40,000, with a membership of 252. Rev. D. T. MacClymont was pastor, Dr. Teddie of Newark, N. J., preached the sermon. Three pastors served the first society.
The following have been resident pastors since the first three already named: Rev. S. W. Titus, Robert Fisher, Ezra Crane, Rev. William Tilley, Levi Stowell, Asa L. Farr, William N. Tristle, William Q. Tower, S. M. Calkins, William Mudge, L. W. Olney, D. D. Brown, J. B. Smith, David G. MacClymont, Rutger Dox, Frederick Fowler, Thaddeus G. Cass, C. W. Bacheldor, Will C. Gates, Percival H. Lynch and Dr. A. F. Houser, the recently chosen minister.
PHOTO: The First Baptist Church, South Street, Opp. Lincoln Park
At the time the engagement of Cr. Houser was made to become pastor of the church there was a definite understanding that one of the first important undertakings should be the erection of a building to accommodate the Bible School of the church, for which he and Mrs. Houser had already outlined plans. The proposition was discussed among the church members and real enthusiasm was aroused in relation thereto. There were numerous consultations of the leaders and a strong organization was effected to push the project to its completion. At the annual business meeting of the church in January, Dr. Houser presented the name of Dr. F. H. Devine of Brooklyn as a safe and sane leader to conduct the financial campaign and secure pledges for the amount required to carry out the building plan. As the result of conferences of representatives of various branches of the church work, an active corps of workers headed by W. K. Page was organized. The appeal for subscriptions to the fund made during Sunday, February 25th, when the amount desired, $50,000, far exceeded the most sanguine expectations, so the erection of a new building during the spring of this year, 1923, was assured.
(The Editor is indebted to Mrs. H. Austin for much of the information published in the foregoing.)
REV. A. FRANK HOUSER
Pastor First Baptist Church, South Street
FIRST CHURCH OF CHRIST SCIENTIST ST. JOSEPH'S SYRIAN CATHOLIC CHURCH
Corner Fourth and Reed Streets Corner Barry and East State Streets
IMMANUEL LUTHERAN CHURCH
Corner Fourth and Laurens Streets
(Other matters relating to Olean Churches will be found on a later page)
Olean's Banking Institutions
Very much of the development of business enterprises and the general prosperity, in a commercial and industrial sense at least, of a growing city, one for example endowed with the natural advantages which Olean enjoys, depends upon the character of its banking institutions, which care for and foster its financial needs and general monetary requirements. In this essential particularly Olean has been singularly fortunate, inasmuch as her leading banking institutions, founded on substantial principles, have been directed with unswerving integrity and the most judicious foresight.
The First National Bank is claimed, and doubtless the claim is founded on absolute fact, to be the oldest National Bank in Cattaraugus County. It began business as a co-partnership, with the title of the Bank of Olean, as a branch of the Cuba Banking Company (then operated over in Allegany County ), the chief members being William F. Wheeler, Nelson S. Butler and Lafayette F. Lawton, the cashier, who came from Cuba, and with him from Cuba as bookkeeper also came Augustus T. Eaton, the only one left of the originals in later years. This was in 1870. A year later in September, 1871, its name was changed and it became the
Chartered First National Bank of Olean. The presidency of William F. Wheeler of Portville at that pioneer period led later to the infusion of considerable Portville energy and enterprise, particularly of members of the Wheeler and Dusenbury families, and of the Westons of Weston's Mills. "See personal record in the Portville Chapter, Part Two of THE OLEANDER.) On its board of directors were also at various periods George McIntosh, Col. J. G. Johnson and his son, Elisha M. Johnson. Of the old time directors and operative staff all went to their eternal rest, save directors James F. Johnson and Wilson R. Page, whose names until very recently were in the list of still active Old Timers.
Prominent in the direction of the affairs of the bank today are William A. Dusenbury, President, a young member of that family, and Wallace Weston, Jr., how upholds the business prestige of the Westons of Weston's Mills at the new Weston Factory on State street.
The first home of the Bank, when known as the Bank of Olean, was located on the second floor of the building on the west side of Union Street now occupied by the store of the F. R. Brothers Company. This was in 1870, during which year a new building on the same side of the street (No. 107), a little southward, was being erected, and into this the bank's equipment was moved in 1872, and there the steadily increasing business of the institution was conducted until its present substantial building was completed and occupied in 1916. With its commanding exterior and commodious yet withal compact and convenient interior arrangement, most Oleanders of today and many others from near and far, are now familiar. They have noted likewise the apparently impregnable Security and Safe Deposit vaults, and the bank rooms and the general offices above the banking floor. One especially notable item in the divisions of the building is the Corporation Room on the front of the mezzanine floor. This conveniently placed and appropriately equipped enervator is not entirely set aside for the bank's use, but may be secured for other and appropriate meeting purposes by permission of the bank's officers.
PHOTO: The First National Bank ~ A Night Scene
PHOTO: A View from the Roof of the Exchange National Bank, looking North-west
FRANK L. BARTLETT
Born December 25, 1858
Died December 6, 1922
For his memorial record, see later pages
PHOTO: Exchange National Bank
Olean's Banking Institutions ~ Continued
The building now occupied and the business transacted therein by Olean's other big monetary institution, the Exchange National Bank, is constructed and conducted on a considerably expanding scale, being at the same time equally stable and wisely administered, although on a somewhat different plan. While, of course, Olean men have had much to do with its growth and continuous expansion, it has received very much of its impetus from elsewhere as will be noted presently. The Exchange National Bank originated with the State Bank of Olean, which was doing business in the early seventies of the nineteenth century, some years before the advent of the oil era in this territory. C. V. B. Barse was the president of the State Bank, and his son Mills W., was the cashier. The bank was located on the east side of Union Street, adjacent to the Mayer's Meat Market. Its business was taken over, continued and expanded by the Exchange National Bank which was incorporated in 1878 and which in 1882 bought new quarters in the rear part of the building on the south west corner of Laurens and Union Street, erected for and by the Olean Oil Exchange and other business in connection with the petroleum oil trade and developments. At that time the chief officials of the Exchange Bank were: President, C. V. B. Barse; Vice-President, Mills W. Barse; Teller, C. S. Stowell; Bookkeeper, F. L. Bartlett; Assistant Bookkeeper, C. D. Clark; Clerk, G. E. Follett
Mark M. Holmes
President of Exchange National Bank I. E. Worden
H. F. Klee
Cashier of Exchange National Bank
With substantial Oleanders as officials of the bank came a strong infusion of the newcomer element supplied from the serried ranks of the little army of oil men, producers, speculators and the like, prominent among whom were George V. Forman, R. W. Evans and N. V. V. Franchot, who came rapidly to the front in the business, and other affairs of Olean. Mr. Forman, especially was a man capable of directing, wise in council, and an all round good citizen, willing at all times to aid in any effort in behalf of the community or any meritorious enterprise likely to be of value to it. He became a local leader, and his later removal to Buffalo was a distinct loss to Olean.
Into the early affairs of the Exchange National Bank came from another quarter a young man destined to be a dominate force in the up building of the bank's business and prominent in other affairs of Olean. This young man, who was raised on a farm and by no means ashamed of the fact, came to Olean from Belfast, Allegany County, going first to Cuba and clerking in the First National Bank in that brisk little burg. But he didn't stay very long in Cuba, for he was "wanted in Olean." He probably did not realize then how much his persistence, patience and general ability was needed in Olean. At any rate he came to Olean in 1880 and took a modest position in the Exchange national Bank and until his death the bank's president and the financial arbiter of very many important fiscal matters and manufacturing enterprises in the busy, bustling city of Olean. Space will not permit the publication of a list of the positions he efficiently filled in the larger communistic affairs of Olean; his name, appeared on dozens of rosters of officers, prospectuses, and subscription lists of all kinds, and for all purposes, philanthropic and otherwise, it is almost needless to say this was Frank L. Bartlett. He was a quiet but effective booster, but never a boaster. He was willing to be behind, and push hard and steadfastly for any worthy project, and in all cases of true merit he was as liberal "as they make them."
Frank L. Bartlett, whose comparatively sudden taking off was very lamentable in many ways, especially as far as it affected the Exchange National Bank. As far as its financial and material developments were concerned, these features had been so well founded under his administration that it was not entirely impossible for others who had been trained in big methods to continue the business without any loss of prestige or efficiency. In the readjustment which followed Mr. Bartlett's death a selection of officials at the annual meeting, January 9, 1923, was made which met with very general public approval. The following re-arrangement was made: The board of directors was enlarged from nine to twelve members. Those re-elected were N. V. V. Franchot, senior vice-president for many years, who was chosen Chairman. The new directors selected were former Justice Fred W. Kruse who had just retired from the bench of the Appelate Division Fourth, Department of the Supreme Court; John H. Bradner, and Henry F. Klee in the place of G. Howard Strong, who had removed from the city and declined re-election; A. I. Williams, M. F. Quinn, I. E. Worden and M. M. Holmes.
The consequent election of officers resulted as follows: President, Mark M. Holmes; Vice-Presidents, M. F. Quinn and I. E. Worden and Henry F. Klee who succeeded Mr. Holmes, as Cashier; Assistant Cashier, E. G. Sisson.
Mark M. Holmes, especially qualified by business experience and financial ability, was born in Sharon Township, Potter County, Pa., January 8, 1876. He came to
(Olean's Banking Institutions ~ Continued)
Olean as a boy with his parents and went to school in this city. He worked for two years in order to provide the money to go through high school and graduated from the Olean High School in the class of 1895. In the same graduating class were his two brothers, Ralph C. Holmes, now vice-president of the Texas Oil Co., and Earl D. Holmes who is in the hardware business in Caspar, Wyo.
Mr. Holmes went to work immediately after leaving school and in June, 1896, he entered the employ of the Exchange National Bank. He began at the bottom of the ladder in the bank and worked his way through the successive positions until January, 1911, when he was made assistant cashier. On January 14, 1919 he was made cashier. Messrs. Worden and Klee are well qualified for the positions they occupy.
These stores occupied part of the site, corner Union and Laurens Streets,
On which the new Exchange Bank building was erected
Two Scenes near the Corner of West State and North Union Streets
Night view of the fašade of the Olean Trust Company
The Olean Trust Company
This valuable and prosperous institution located on the west side of North Union Street about midway between Laurens and State streets, was developed from the Olean National Bank, organized in 1910. It began business with the present title September 1, 1914, with John P. Herrick as President; Thomas H. Quinn, Vice-President; C. A. Keener, Secretary-Treasurer.
Its present staff-principals comprise: President, Thomas H. Quinn; Vice-President, C. L. Bockmier; Secretary, Carl E. Dittrich; Treasurer, H. C. Carpenter. The members of the Board of Directors are: W. A. Dusenbury, William A. Flynn, William J. Foss, M. J. Haugh, M. M. Holmes, Dr. T. B. Loughlen, and Quinn have served continuously since the date of organization. The late F. L. Bartlett and F. C. Olds also served on the Board of Directors from the date of organization until their deaths in 1922.
President Quinn is a leading official in the various branches of the extensive operations of what are generally known as the Quinn Interests, which include the manufacture of wood and other fine chemicals, oil production, lumber manufacturing and the operation of general stores in the State of New York, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Ohio and Washington, with home offices in the Exchange National Bank Building of Olean, which business is more fully described elsewhere in THE OLEANDER.
Vice-President Bockmier was born and raised in Allegany and started his banking career February 1913 with the Manufacturers and Traders' National Bank, Buffalo New York. In August 1915 he took a position with the Bradford National Bank at Bradford, Pa., with which institution he was actively identified until joining the forces of the Olean Trust Company in August 1918. He was made Secretary of that institution January 21, 1920 and on December 13, 1922 he was advanced to his present position of Vice-president.
Carl Dittrich has been with the Trust Company from the date of its organization and was made assistant Secretary January 16, 1918; Treasurer, January 21, 1920 and Secretary, December 13, 1922.
The present treasurer, H. C. Carpenter, has likewise been with the Trust Company fro the date of its organization with the exception of two years service in the World War. He was advanced to the position of treasurer December 13, 1922.
In addition to conducting a general banking business the Trust Company performs various responsible functions, the Trust Company performs various responsible functions. It is legally empowered and qualified to act as Executor under wills or as Administrator where there is no will or with a will annexed: also as Guardian of a minor or incapable person and as Trustee to serve in various capacities for bond issues and in any fiduciary capacity. Likewise it is competent to assume the duties of Receiver or Assignee in the case of business embarrassments. By reason of its stability and the experience of its officials in handling estates and trusts and assuming other legal financial responsibilities and for the further fact that its fees are no higher than those allowed to an individual, its efficiency as a corporate executive trustee is becoming more popular and more extensively used by more people as time goes on. Its officials are prepared at all time to discuss confidentially any and all problems relating to estates, trust or any phase of the banking business and without obligation or charge.
The banking institutions of Olean have always commanded public favor and high universal esteem both for their impartial and wise business methods and the impeccable character of those having control and direction of their affairs. It is rare indeed to find in a city of the size of Olean three banking institution each so well equipped for the adequate and effective transaction of their respective business, as the First National, the Exchange National and the Olean Trust Company. Both the First National and the Exchange are now installed in splendid and substantial buildings and all three institutions have a roster of loyal and reputable adherents and customers, whom the officials of each strive to deal with to their mutual satisfaction. In architectural style the two largest bank building are imposing and artistic, although in most respects different in exterior appearance. Their dominating policies are not precisely the same, neither are they equal in the extent of their financial transactions as the official figures show. The Exchange Bank has more space, as well as more capital, in and with which to transact its operations, but on the other hand as joint bank and office building the First National can justly claim some equality.
Both Banks have had a long, successful and honorable career, as the records show, and while both of them are institutions of which not only Olean but Cattaraugus County may well feel proud, both of them are very largely indebted to Allegany county for the public favor and well earned prosperity they enjoy, proof of which fact will be demonstrated later in this article.
Frank L. Bartlett, president of the Exchange National bank of Olean died Tuesday morning, December 6, at 2:30 o'clock at the Hotel Biltmore, New York city. Death was due to cholemia and uremia.
With him at the time of his death were his wife and daughter, Nancy, and M. M. Holmes, cashier of the bank.
Mr. Bartlett had been in ill health for the past four or five months, his illness becoming serious and later critical only recently.
In his death Olean has lost one of its most powerful men, both as a citizen and as a financier. His various activities during life indicated that he found happiness in providing pleasure for others. As a banker he was know throughout the state, principally on his reputation in banking circles.
His loss was a heavy blow to the community and undoubtedly will continue to be felt for years to come. He had always been an optimistic advocate of the city's advancement and believed implicitly in the future prosperity, aiding liberally with his person al influence and resources, every worthy enterprise having for its object the building up and stability of the community.
Frank Laverne Bartlett, youngest son of Ebenezer Bartlett was born December 25, 1858 near Belfast, N.Y. He was educated in the public schools and grew up on the farm. In 1879 he took a position as clerk in the First National bank of Cuba and on June 14, 1880 came to Olean, where he held a similar position in the Exchange National bank. In five years he worked his way through successful promotions to the position of cashier, being elected to that office, November 21, 1885. He had found his true vocation and had so established his value as a financier upon his associates that on January 9, 1895 he was elected president of the bank and continued in that position until the time of his death.
He was made an honorary member of the Veteran's Association, Buffalo Division, Pennsylvania Railroad system, at a meeting held on September 10, 1921, at Rock City. That honor was conferred upon him in recognition of the great value of his services.
Through his deep interest in the local plant of the Pennsylvania Railroad company he was instrumental securing for that company additional property in Olean which led later to enlarging the shops. He took a similar interest in the activities of the Vacuum Oil company, Clark Brothers and many other industries in the city.
Two of Mr. Bartlett's economic hobbies were the development of the Hamilton Country club and the Higgins Memorial hospital. Through his untiring efforts he brought about the existence and maintenance of the club and aided in making the hospital one of the most modern. He was president of both the country club and the hospital.
He also took a great interest in the Randolph Home at Randolph, N.Y., and had been chairman of the endowment fund committee for a number of years.
Mr. Bartlett was a director of the old Olean Board of trade and since the formation of the Chamber of Commerce had been active in that organization.
He was a member of the Olean flood abatement commission and his efforts aided greatly in bringing the miles of dyking in Olean to realization.
Up until last year Mr. Bartlett was president of the Bankers' Association of Cattaraugus and Allegany counties and was instrumental in its organization. Last year he declined to accept the presidency.
As previously said Mr. Bartlett was well known in banking circles throughout the state, but he was prominently known in both New York city and Buffalo. He was a member of the Bankers' Club in the metropolis, and on his frequent trips to New York dined with prominent bankers of that city.
Nearly every year Mr. Bartlett would leave in the spring with his family for Lakewood, N.J., where he sojourned and realized his recreation in golf. He was also
frequently seen on the links at the Hamilton County club.
At the bank Mr. Bartlett was infallible. He arrived at the office early and as a rule stayed long after the institution closed. He was known as a man who was quick to make a decision and usually his interviews were brief as a result of this characteristic. He was literally wrapped up in his life's work and although he often said that he would retire he kept on, until his recent illness compelled him to spend many days in confinement.
He was prominently identified during the World War with the Liberty loan campaigns in Cattaraugus county and gave considerable of his time to put them "over the top."
In politics he was a Democrat, although he was not a politician and never allowed his name to be presented for public office. He always made a study of the candidates, both state and national, also of the party platforms. At one time he was asked to become a candidate for the office of mayor of Olean and although it seemed his election would be certain he emphatically declined to enter the race.
He loathed ostentatious publicity and as a result many of his benefactions were unknown except in some instances to his most intimate friends. Needless to say many of these benefactions will continue unknown to the general public of Olean.
Under Mr. Bartlett's alert and wise management, the Exchange National bank has had a most successful history. Now handsomely located in one of Olean's most imposing and attractive buildings, with a capital of $1500,000, it challenges comparison with any bank in the United States or situated in a similar locality.
Mr. Bartlett was instrumental in bringing the addition to the bank and the adding of five stories to the building, together with the construction of the buildings now occupied by the Olean Electric Light & Power Company and the Derby-McCarthy company.
Mr. Bartlett was a director of the Olean Housing corporation and the Park Improvement association.
He was a member of Olean Lodge, No. 252, F. & A.M., St. John's Commandery, No 24, Knights of Templar, Ishmailia Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Buffalo; Olean Lodge No. 471 I.O.O.F., City Club.
Mr. Bartlett was a member of the congregation of the First Presbyterian church and contributed a large amount toward the erection of the new church edifice.
by R. C. HILL
A SECOND MEMORIAL SERVICE
Further tributes to the memory of Frank L. Bartlett were paid at a second memorial service held in the Presbyterian Church on the evening of Friday, June 9, 1923, at which every profession and walk of life was represented. The Rev. William Bishop Gates, pastor of the church, presided and introduced the speakers. Dr. Boothe C. Davis, President of Alfred University, of which Mr. Bartlett was a fellow trustee, read a memorial prepared by former Justice Edward W. Hatch of Friendship, N.Y., also a trustee of the University. This memorial related that Mr. Bartlett was born on Christmas morning, 1858, at the home of his parents, Ebenezer and Corinthia Bartlett, in the town of Belfast, Allegany county. The father descended from a family distinguished in the annals of New England, some of the Bartlett ancestors having fought in the war of the Revolution. One of these, Josiah Bartlett, was one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. Like his son the father was born in the town of Belfast in 1824 and died in November, 1910. He was a farmer and quite a remarkable man. He conducted a successful business retiring about 1895. Mr. Bartlett's mother, who originated in Steuben county, came with her family to Belfast in 1839 and was educated in the district schools of Belfast, finishing her education at what was then the Seminary at Alfred, afterwards becoming part of that notable University. She still survives at the age of 93.
With this sturdy parentage, Mr. Bartlett derived some of the sterling qualities which characterized the days of his manhood.
He was educated in a district school of Allegany county, where he began his studies in 1876. After leaving school he obtained a position as bookkeeper in the First National Bank of Cuba, serving a year or so without compensation. He early mastered the elements of banking as applied to the then country bank system and was then appointed by C. V. B. Barse, President of the Exchange National Bank of Olean, to the position of janitor in the institution.
Judge Hatch noted that to "the end Mr. Bartlett's story reads like a tale from the Arabian Nights," as after successive promotions from various positions to that of cashier within five years, five years later he was chosen President of the bank.
Among his other endowments and qualifications he quickly comprehended business propositions and analyzed almost by intuition any proposal that came to him either in a matter of finance or relating to general business. He was independent in political and commercial action and, "he walked a highway of his own and kept the company of his self-respect." He declined political preferment and was content to remain a private citizen, actuated only by a consuming desire to ameliorate the condition and make happier the people of his locality and ; to build the financial institution of which he was the head as a bulwark for the needs of the people, in which work he experienced great satisfaction.
His private benefactions are numerous but seldom made public. He founded the Hamilton Country Club which became his special care and was the scene of his occasional recreations. He was a true patriot and during the great war did a remarkable service in organizing various forces in the county of Cattaraugus for the general welfare of the republic and its share in the great conflict.
The progress of his life's work was one of upward growth and his courage was not daunted by any obstacles, growing stronger as the years of his service advanced.
Dr. Davis followed with an earnest tribute of appreciation of Mr. Bartlett's various public activities, especially those incident to the World War and the various Liberty Loan campaigns and remarking that he was convinced as head of the Alfred University that Mr. Bartlett revealed in every respect the ideal qualifications for a University trustee and was induced, reluctantly , to accept the place on the Board of the University. Thereafter he became a dynamic force in the conduct of its affairs and as an illustration, at the second meeting of the Board he proposed one of the most important and far reaching measures ever put before it. The degree of Doctor of Laws was conferred upon him in June, 1922.
Mr. Job E. Hedges of New York, who had been a friend of Mr. Bartlett for many years, paid his tribute in a brief address that was marked by sound philosophy epigrammatically expressed.
FRANK LAVERNE BARTLETT
Born December 25, 1858 - Died December 6, 1922
The prime mover in the establishment of a hospital in Olean, and President of the Board of Directors of the institution from the
time of its incorporation until his death.
PHOTO: THE LATE FRANK WAYLAND HIGGINS
Several of Olean's citizens have attained especial prominence in public life. Prominent among them none have gained higher honor than the late Frank Wayland Higgins, who in early life was active in the civic and business affairs of Olean and whose career in the state legislature was progressive, popular and distinguished. He was born at Rushford, Allegany County, Aug. 18, 1856, coming to Olean with his father O. T. Higgins, a most estimable citizen and business man. His chief enterprises were in the lumbering business resulting in successful investments in the early days of the development in Oregon and in the neighborhood of Duluth.
His Son, Frank's business career in Olean was marked with gratifying success, and his ability and activity in affairs of state by his advancement in various legislative capacities, principally in the Senate 1893 to 1902, where he acted on several important committees, later as Lieutenant Governor in 1902-1904 and finally as Governor of the Empire State 1904 to 1906, passing away Feb. 12, 1907.
The accompanying portrait of Governor Higgins, an excellent likeness, is a reproduction in half tone of a life sized painting by Thomas C. Corwen of New York, which is housed in the Historical room of the Public Library, the gift of his sister, Mrs. Clara A. H. Smith.
Higgins Memorial Hospital : : Group of buildings, from Main Street
On Saturday evening, January 12th, 1895, the first discussion of an Olean Hospital project was held in the pleasant parlors of the Olean House, and a temporary organization was perfected. There were present at this meeting Rev. Dr. J. W. Ashton, Rector of St. Stephen's Church, Wm. M. Irish, F. L. Bartlett, F. W. Kruse, Mrs. F. W. Higgins, Mrs. C. C. Green, Mrs. S. J. Mudge, Mrs. C. H. Doran, Mrs. D. W. Sheehan, Miss Kelsey, Miss Johnson, Miss Bussell, and Miss Lorini.
Mr. Irish presided and F. D. Leland acted as secretary. Dr. Ashton talked earnestly of the necessity for such an institution, and said he felt assured of success is all the members of the community would co-operate. Means of raising money for the project were discussed, and arrangements were made to give a bazaar at the Academy of Music the evenings of Feb. 13th, `4th , `5th and 16th, Mr. Leland having donated the use of the Academy for that purpose on those dates.
Following this memorable meeting, various drives were made for money, fairs and entertainments were also given until sufficient funds were accumulated to purchase what was known as the Dean property at Coleman and First streets. This old residence was remodeled somewhat to make what at that time was considered a very well equipped hospital, and adequate for many years to come; this was in 1898. A number of rooms in the building had been equipped and furnished by various organizations in Olean, and much enthusiasm was manifested at the opening of the Olean General Hospital, Incorporated, also in 1898.
Later it was realized that Olean needed a much larger and better equipped institution, as the city was growing so rapidly. A generous gift of $65,000 from Mrs. Clara A. H. Smith, in memory of her brother, Governor Frank Wayland Higgins, made possible the erection of a new building, and the land and some equipment was paid for out of the sale of the old hospital on Coleman street. The new building was erected on Main street in Boardmanville, and was a handsome and substantial structure. Among others who contributed generously at the time of the erection of the new hospital was Mrs. Kate C. Higgins, who gave $10,000. On the completion of the building there still remained a deficit of $10,000, and it was learned recently that Mr. F. L. Bartlett gave his check at that time, for the full amount, desiring that no publicity be given as to his donation.
Again it seemed that the new hospital would meet all needs of the city for years to come, but barely three years had elapsed before the hospital became so crowded that additional room was required. In 1915 Mrs. Higgins again contributed generously so that the Nurses' Lodge was erected as a memorial to her son, Orrin Thrall Higgins. In 1916 the present poser house was built, giving room in the basement of the main building for additional rooms. The funds for this building were raised by the board of directors, in addition to another gift from Mrs. Higgins.
This year, 1922, another beautiful and useful building had been added to the hospital, and is to be used for maternity quarters. The building is beautiful in itself, and its importance to the community can be readily understood. At the formal opening of the maternity building, September 13th, Dr. Gilbert R. Williamson spoke in behalf of the Kiwanis Club, which had inaugurated the drive for money to meet the necessary expenses. Mr. M. G. Fitzpatrick made a fitting response, accepting the presentation of the building on behalf of the trustees of the Hospital board, in place of Mr. Bartlett, President of the board, who was unavoidably absent. Mr. Fitzpatrick gave a resume of the history of the Olean Hospital, and complimented those people of Olean who have contributed generously and often to maintain and improve it. It is certain that now Olean has a hospital which ranks with the first, located in adequate buildings which are a credit to the city and worthy of the purposes of the institution.
Mr. Bartlett turning the first sod on the site of the [General] Hospital main building
FRANK WAYLAND HIGGINS
Born August 18, 1856
Died February 12, 1907
Governor of New York, 1905 - 1906
A distinguished citizen of Olean, in whose memory the main building of the
Higgins Memorial Hospital was given in 1912 by his sister, Mrs. Clara A. H. Smith
JAMES F. JOHNSON
Born November 2, 1831
Died December 8, 1922
For sixty-seven years a resident of Olean, who gave evidence of his sympathy for unfortunate and
Suffering humanity by bequeathing practically all of his considerable fortune to the Hospital.
By the will of James F. Johnson, for many years a resident of Olean, who died in the Olean General Hospital December 8, 1922, the institution was made the beneficiary of a trust created out of the estate after the payment of certain bequests, the income of which was to be used in defraying the cost to poor but worthy persons either in or out of the hospital who reside within the limits of the city of Olean. The amount of this trust it is estimated will amount to about $150,000. The executors and trustees under the provisions of the will of Squire Johnson are Frederick W. Kruse and Allen J. Hastings. The will was written by Mr. Johnson himself in 1910, which also made certain bequests to Charles S. Hubbard, his brother-in-law, who had been associated with him in a business capacity for many years.
EDGAR G. DUSENBURY (of Portville, N.Y.)
Born October 31, 1941 (appears to be a typo in original book)
Died December 25, 1920
Banker and leader in industry who was generous in his benefactions to
many philanthropies and institutions, including the Higgins Memorial
Hospital, in which he always maintained a deep interest.
Wards in the Maternity Building : : Higgins Memorial Hospital
Group of Nurses, Higgins Memorial Hospital
Top row, from left to right: Gretchen Nind, Gladys Albro, Alice Woodard, Mrs. Ethel H. Bates, (Superintendent), Maybelle Renfrew,
Iva L. Hastings, Esther B. Fitzgibbons. Second row: Catherine Taylor, Bessie Hanchett, Louise Barkhill, Helen Warren.
Third row: Bertha White, Irene Richard, Fannie Ellis, Gladys Reed, Marie Markert, Theresa Ringbauer.
Fourth row; Queen Ives, Margie Morrow, Helen Levett, Anastasia McGrath, Lunora Stillman, Gladys Crandall.
Officials of the Higgins Memorial Hospital
Officers for 1923 - Edward H. Wright, President; Malachy G. Fitzpatrick, Vice-president; Helen M. Seely, Secretary; Allan B. Williams, Treasurer.
Executive Committee - Allan B. Williams, Mary A. Sheehan, Mark M. Holmes.
Board of directors - William A. Dusenbury, Malachy G. Fitzpatrick, Mark M. Holmes, Thomas B. Loughlen, M. D., Martin F. Quinn, Helen M. Seely, Mary A. Sheehan, Allan B. Williams, Edward H. Wright.
Officers of the Olean General Hospital Visiting Staff for 1923 - Dr. J. P. Garen, President; Dr. Earl D. Kilmer, Vice-President; Alice B. Woodard, R.N., Secretary and Treasurer.
Members of the Olean General Hospital Visiting Staff for 1923 - Dr. J. Ross Allen, Dr. Leslie Atkins, Dr. F. H. Bartlett, Dr. J. P. Boothe, Dr. E. B. Burdick, Dr. W. A. Cowell, Dr. J. P. Garen, Dr. C. A. Greenleaf, Dr. Clifford Hackett, Dr. Mary B. Jepson, Dr. J. A. Johnson, Dr. John Kane, Dr. Earl D. Kilmer, Dr. T. B. Loughlen, Dr. W. E. MacDuffie, Dr. Donald MacDuffie, Dr. J. E. K. Morris, Dr. R. B. Morris, Dr. W. B. Potter, Dr. A. L. Runals, Dr. A. E. Smith, Dr. C. W. Stewart, Dr. L. W. Tindolph, Dr. Benj. Van Campen, Dr. Duncan Wormer.
Hospital Staff and Other Assistants for 1923 - Ethel H. Bates, R.N., Superintendent; Pauline L. Osgood, Night Superintendent; Iva L. Hastings, R.N., Operating Room Supervisor; Gladys Albro, R. N., Maternity Supervisor; Gretchen E. Nind, R.M., Training School Instructor; Alice B. Woodard, R.N., Case Record Clerk; Winifred C. Fitzgibbons, Secretary; Elizabeth S. Warner, Admitting Clerk; Catherine Hartnett, Housekeeper; Maybelle Renfrew, Dietitian.
In the group picture of the Higgins hospital staff printed on another page the Doctors Morris are prominent. The Doctors, John E. K. and Raymond B., father and son, each of whom enjoys a wide spread reputation as a physician and surgeon. The senior member of this capable partnership came to Olean from Eldred in 1885, after he had graduated from the Buffalo General Hospital in Buffalo. Raymond B., the son, received his medical education and graduated from the Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore. Among other connections they represent the Pennsylvania Railroad in this territory. They have well equipped offices on the corner of First and Laurens Street.
Another practitioner in the group is Dr. Donald A. MacDuffie who limits his practice to treatment of the eyes. He began work in Olean in 1913, and conducted a general practice work for five years, the remainder of that he specialized in Eye Work. In connection with the offices at 126 N. Union Street, Olean, N.Y., he has a complete optical department. The Lens-Grinding Room is equipped with four large grinders where three skilled mechanics are employed who turn out work accurately and promptly. The stock and equipment of this atelier makes it the most complete of its kind in this state.
Individual references in regard to others on the Hospital staff who are pictured in the group will be found on later pages.
Higgins Memorial Hospital
The Maternity Division
THE MATERNITY BUILDING
The views on the right show the interior arrangements of the Maternity Dormitory,
With a group of infants shown below.
DOCTORS OF THE HOSPITAL STAFF
Top row (standing) J. P. Garen, (President) J. E. K. Morris, T. B. Loughlen Second row (seated) F. H. Bartlett,
C. A. Greenleaf, L. W. Tindolph. Third row (seated) E. A. Smith, E. Dodd, W. B. Potter, W. E. MacDuffie, E. D. Kilmer, H. E. Shaver.
Fourth row (seated) D. L. Wormer, J. A. Johnson, R. B. Morris, J. F. Kane, J. Boothe.
Bottom row, J. W. Cowell, D. MacDuffie, J. Ross Allen.
Among the many contributors to the material and financial needs of the Hospital and especially of the Maternity Division none have been more generous or more actively interested than Mrs. Fannie E. Bartlett, who during the life of her late husband manifested in many ways her solicitude for the successful functioning of that important division of the Hospital services. Her special attention has been given to the needs of the maternity division and to all that appertains to the successful conduct of its important work.
In their annual report for 1922 the Directors of the Higgins Hospital referring to Mrs. Bartlett said:
From the inception of the Olean General Hospital Mrs. Frank L. Bartlett has felt a particular deep interest in the maternity department, furnishing not only all the baby clothes and blankets for all the 1921 babies that have been born in the hospital up to Dec. 31st, 1922 and the necessary renewals, but most if not all the fittings and furnishings of all the private rooms and wards of this department. We are assured that she is not weary in well doing and proposes to continue the good work; all praise to the spirit which does not falter at such rapidly increasing and continuing service.
Also in reference to the philanthropy of Mrs. Kate C. Higgins.
In 1915 Mrs. Kate C. Higgins gave the Nurses' Lodge to the hospital through her generous gift of approximate $36,000. The Nurses' Lodge is a memorial to Mrs. Higgins' son, the late Orrin Thrall Higgins. In 1916 the present power plant was built, which relieved the basement of the main building from the laundry and heating plant, making available some very valuable rooms. Mrs. Higgins contributed $21,000 to the erection of this plant.
The various branches of medical and surgical practice are well represented in Olean by men and women of authenticated capacity and acknowledged skill. Some of them follow reliable line of long accepted ideas, while others are specialists, practicing by more modern methods and goodly measures of patronage partially by reason of beliefs conceived by patients themselves suffering from various forms of afflictions. Besides those who appear in the group picture of the staff shown on page 63, there are sill some who are regarded as reliable specialists. For example:
Dr. Carroll W. Perry is a leading authority on the efficacy of Osteopathy, and who incidentally is or has been much interested in the affairs of prominent fraternities. He originated in 1884 at Elizabethtown, N.Y. of American parentage, of English, Welch and Dutch ancestors. In due time he graduated from the Saranac Lake High School, class of 1902 and after active participation in several branches of athletics, he made his entry into professional life from the class of 1906 of the American college of Osteopathy, Kirksville, Mo. A year later he became an assistant in the Helmer Infirmary, New York City; thence practicing his professional creed at Niagara Falls and Salamanca, N.Y. Since 1911 he has been established in Olean, his office now being at 517-518 Exchange Bank Building. As results of his fraternal affiliations he is a Past President of the Alpha Chapter Theta Psi Fraternity; Past President of the Olean Kiwanis Club; Past Grand of Olean Lodge 471 I.O.O.F., Past Chief Patriarch Allegany Encampment 102; Past District Deputy Grand Patriarch, Cattaraugus District, Encampment Branch I.O.O.F. Among other organization of which he is a member of the New York Osteopathic Society, and of the First Presbyterian Church, Olean, N.Y.
PHOTO: Carroll W. Perry, D.O.
Dr. W. B. Eldridge came to Olean in 1911; being the oldest Chiropractor in point of service in this part of the state, located in a private residence next to where the Clinic is now. After moving into larger quarters four times, he is now located in the Riley and Wands Bldg. He was personally acquainted with the founder of Chiropractic, Dr. D. D. Palmer, even before he discovered the principles of Chiropractic, so having seen the work grow from its small beginning of six students in the first class until now. There is estimated to be over 20,000 Chiropractors in the U.S. alone, all within the short space of 25 years. When he first came to Olean his work was new and untried, and being so different from the methods then in use, was consequently frowned upon until people began to rid of the ailments, and told their friends about it, and then the work grew, until now, the records in his office show that over one thousand eight hundred of Olean's population have been to his office for chiropractic adjustments at one time or another.
W. B. Eldridge, D.C.
Dr. Fenton B. Weaver was born at Elmira, N.Y. in 1892. He graduated from the public school and Elmira Free Academy, also from the University of Buffalo in 1018. He seen service on the Mexican Border and was with the Dental Reserve Corps in the World War. One year was spent in Rochester Dental Clinic in children's work and Army Dental Surgery. One year he was associated with Dr. J. B. West of Elmira, N.Y., studying Diseases of the Mouth and Teeth, specializing in Pyorrhia and Extraction. Coming to Olean in June 1920 he was associated with the Skaden Dental Office until the completion of the New Exchange Bank. His office is now located at 508-09 Exchange National Bank building.
F. B. Weaver, D.D. S.
J. P. Garen, M.D.
Dr. J. A. Johnson graduated from the New York Homeopathic Medical College. He spent one year at the Rosewell P. Florence Hospital of New York City. Later he took and eighteen months course in the New York Post Graduate Hospital. His office is located at 182 1-2 N. Union Street, where he specialized in Pediatrics-(care of infants). He is active in the Red Cross, Public Health Center, acted as advisory physician at the Infant Welfare Station. He served with the A. E. F. in France from April 1, 1918 to March 17, 1919. He acted as Health physician of Olean from 1916-1922.
Dr. J.A. Johnson
Diversified Practitioners (Continued)
The efficient work and service which Dr. S. Judd Early is rendering to the City's Educational Department is duplicated in his professional occupation as a dentist of long experience and with a large constantly growing clientage, which is emphasized by the steady expansion of his waiting list. His skill and good judgment even in the most difficult cases are manifested fully by the satisfactory results achieved. It goes without saying that his office and operating rooms are fitted up with the most approved furniture and appliances as complete as can be found at the highest class dentistry in this or even in the largest city establishments. He is located at 602-603 Exchange National Bank Building.
Dr. W. Irving Hewitt, located at the corner of First and Sullivan streets were he has lived and practiced his profession for the last twenty-eight years. He at first established the Olean Sanitarium at his present location. He was the first physician in western New York who employed and used in his profession electricity from a medical standpoint. His offices are fully equipped with the most modern electrical appliances used at the present time. He is a prominent citizen and is always ready and willing to contribute to the best interests and welfare of all interests, advancements and prosperity of the city of Olean. He is well known throughout the country and enjoys high standing with his associates and the general public.
W. I. Hewitt, M.D.
Dr. Mary B. Jepson, a native of Syracuse, graduated from the Cortland Normal School, and later a teacher of languages and history, Dr. Mary B. Jepson early in life began the study of medicine and after graduating from the Hering Medical College of Chicago, she was assigned to a position as resident physician at the Women's Homeopathic Hospital in Philadelphia, where she saw active service for three years. In 1898 she started practice in Olean where she soon acquired a most desirable reputation and a continually growing list of patient, of her sex of course. She is the only woman practitioner in Cattaraugus County and adjoining territory, except Jamestown. Dr. Jepson is much interested as a citizen in the development and growth of Olean, while she is a faithful member of the Presbyterian church. She maintains a comfortable home at 21 N. Second street, with a sister, Miss Lena Jepson, and has her professional head-quarters at the same address.
M. C. Follett, M. D. S. J. Earley, D.D. S.
J. P. Boothe, M.D. A. I. Runals, M.D
Earl D. Kilmer, M.D. J. D. Repp, M.D
Mary B. Jepson, M.D., D.S. S. E. Lewis, D.D.S.
BENJAMIN UNDERHILL TAYLOR
By the death of Benjamin Underhill Taylor-"B. U. Taylor" as he was widely and familiarly known, not only in the community which he labored constantly for a quarter of a century to benefit, but in church and other circles elsewhere, his energy and eloquence will be sadly missed. It was always characteristic of him to enter heartily into the spirit of a meeting whether secular or sacred and he was never at a loss to say the right thing in the right place, whatever the occasion.
After several months of failing health and in spite of all that could be done for his relief, his death occurred on July 21st, 1923, at his home on West Sullivan street, where the funeral services were held the following Tuesday, with the Rev. G. R. Williamson in charge; burial being in the family plot in Mount View Cemetery.
Surviving him are his widow, to whom as Harriet M. McFarland, he was married in 1882 at Grand Menan, New Brunswick. Also seven daughters, Mrs. Charles E. Foster of Los Angeles, Cal., Mrs. Jerome H. King, of Youngstown, O., Mrs. Ray W. Sherman of Elmira, N.Y., Mrs. Hartley F. Pratt and Mrs. Howad C. E. Becker, of Olean, N.Y., Mrs. Kirby W. Martindale of Albany, N.Y., and Mrs. John W. Larkin of Boston, Mass. And one son, B.U. Taylor of Fort Worth, Texas. Also three brothers, E. H. Taylor of Cliftondale, Mass., F. E. Taylor of Bolivar, N.Y. and C. A. Taylor of Olean, N.Y., and eight grandchildren.
Mr. Taylor was born in Lenneus, Maine, September 11th, 1854. When seventeen years of age he left home for Boston, Mass. Where he learned the building business from the beginning, specializing in the bricklaying and mason trade. For thirty-six years he has been one of Olean's most active and progressive business men. He first occupied an office at the corner of Wayne and Third Street, but for about thirty-five years had conducted his business in a building owned by him on North Union Street, where his office came to be one of the best-known land-marks of the business section. From a small beginning, by his untiring energy he built up the extensive business now housed in the Coleman Street warehouses: also a large contracting business. He always took a keen and active interest in all the affairs of the city: being a member of the Board of Education from 1897 to 1900, and serving four terms as President of the Chamber of Commerce, from 1911 to 1915; retaining his membership an acting as a Director to the time of his death. Largely due to his efforts and influence, several new industries were located in Olean, including the Clark Bros. Co. machine shops from Belmont, the Van Atta Co., Dunlop Silk Mill and American Hone Co.
For thirty six years he was a faithful member of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Olean, President of the Genesee Conference Epworth League for two terms, 1895 to 1899, and aiding in the organization of many Epworth League Chapters in Olean District. For over thirty years he was a member of the Official Board of his church and also secretary and treasurer of Olean District Board of Stewards. Also for many years a trustee of the Blocher Home for the Aged near Buffalo. To all of these offices he brought the same interest and enthusiasm that he bestowed upon his own affairs.
Mr. Taylor was a member of the Olean Masonic Lodge and Scottish Rite Bodies in this city and in Buffalo. He was a charter member of the I.O.O.F., joining Commonwealth Lodge in Boston, Mass. In 1874. He was also a member and much interested in the Olean Historical Association and the Association of Olean Old Timers. A Director of the Olean General Hospital and the New York State Coal Dealers Association , and for two years Coal Administrator of Cattaraugus County. He also held membership in the New York State Association of Builders and the Retail Lumber Dealer' Association of Western New York, where his counsel and influence will be greatly missed, as in his personal business known as the B. U. Taylor Co. which is being continued.
Group of Old Timers, resting on the lawn of Dr. Stephen Mountain's California style residence, on Memorial Day, 1923
Standing, left to right: W. C. Duke, John Sloane, W. K. Page, F. H. Godfrey, F. d. Leland, H. W. Richardson, N. I. Jones, S. McClure
Seated, left to right: Willard Reazs, J. Shaner, Dr. Boothe, J. W. Davis, R. C. Hill, Thomas Barnes, F. B. Georgia, B. U. Taylor
PHOTO: The Mountain Clinic Hospital - A Most Worthy Institution
For twenty years a wise man, a practical philanthropist, a skilled physician and surgeon in our midst fostered the idea of a refuge for suffering humanity which was to be one of the most attractive, well planned and most perfectly equipped, model and modern institutions in this part of the country. Through its portals were to assemble the sick and suffering of the land, there to receive adequate medial and surgical treatment, administer with most compassionate sympathy, with skillful and unremitting solicitude, care and attention. There those afflicted with a curable malady, disease or injury were to be cared for and maintained in a most efficient and effectual manner without regard to race, creed or color.
And so it came about that on the first day of March, nineteen hundred seventeen, the first turf was turned on the corner of East State and Barry Streets were the ideal enterprise was capably materialized into a three story brick, tile and concrete fire-proof building in the heart of the city - environed by good park air and under heaven's unobstructed light.
The Mountain Clinic Hospital
This great institution which soon became famous and appreciated was completed in one year at a cost of one hundred thousand dollars. It was formally opened for the public service in March, 1918, with a capacity for patients of thirty-five beds, ten private rooms and two semi-private rooms. Each of these apartments were equipped with a lavatory, has numerous electric appliances for convenience of treatments, electric signal service and every modern detail of equipment necessary to do the best possible work in the most desirable and scientific way.
During the first year over seven hundred patients were served at the hospital. The second year over on thousand were admitted. The demand for more space was so great that an enlargement of the hospital became necessary. An addition to the main building was made in nineteen hundred nineteen, at a cost of forty thousand dollars. A beautiful space for obstetrical patients was provided, also a large hall room for men, making a total bed capacity of fifty. On the third floor is a spacious assembly hall where lectures and scientific meetings are conducted weekly.
In the erection and operation of the Mountain Clinic Hospital by William H. Mountain and Stephen V. Mountain - doctors of medicine - a wonderful undertaking has been put in operation.
DR. STEPHEN MOUNTAIN
DR. WM. H. MOUNTAIN
Dr. HARRY MADISON
DR. G. B. JACKSON
The Clinic X-Ray Laboratory
The Clinic Chemical Laboratory
The Clinic Roof Sun Parlor
MISS MARY JUANNE SHEEHAN
Superintendent of the Clinic since the Opening in 1918
David A. Mountain Home for Aged Physicians
This country has been slow to realize the importance of providing sufficiently for those how, having given their lives for the welfare and advancement of mankind, are in their later years incapacitated and unable to perform the duties of their vocation, perhaps even to provide for their own needs. War pensions have been granted to soldiers and sailors; civil pensions are given to superannuated Federal employees, teachers, policemen, and firemen are pensioned in several states and cities as are also civil employees in some cities. Ministers of certain denominations are provided for in old age and a few industries provide pensions for aged employees.
The bulk of people, however, face old age without the certainty of means whereby they must sustain life properly after their powers fail. Even those who have some property are harassed when incapacitated through age by the thought that it may not last them to the end of life if the end should be postponed for long.
The David A. Mountain Farm, in Western New York, which has been presented by the two physician sons, Drs. William H. and Stephen V. Mountain, as a home for aged and infirm physicians, the same to be a Memorial to their father, David A. Mountain.
To no body of people does old age bring greater need than to the physicians who have served long and faithfully, giving of their time and money to aid the poor and near poor, weakening their physical powers by excessive work and exposure, and compelled to bear heavy expenses to keep up the standards of professional life. Many break down in what should be the prime of life while many others reach old age without adequate means of support. The people think well of their doctors, but they realize all too little the economic burdens which keep generous hearted men from accumulating resources against the time when through accident, disease, or old age they are no longer able to serve.
It is a happy announcement to the physicians of the country and their friends is about to be softened by the establishment of a great memorial home where physicians who are aged, incapacitated, or infirm may pass their final years in comfort, surrounded by all of the means of contentment and physical care that their grateful friends may provide and in the companionship of others of their own professional interests and of libraries and laboratories where they may keep up their interests in their life's vocation.
LOCATED IN WESTERN NEW YORK
In the valley of the Genesee river in western New York where the romance of Indian life left an imperishable impress stands the site of a former Indian village, from which it received its name. Among the pioneers of this valley was David Mountain, who developed out of the forests a splendid farm on the slopes of the hill two miles from the village. Here he raised a large family and inspired them all with the zeal for higher education. The whole resources of the newly developed land were spent in their education. For fifteen years this farm supported from one to three of the family in college. Six members graduated from higher institutions of learning. Two
of them became physicians and surgeons of distinction, and these two have now taken to heart the problem of their fellow practitioners and have opened they way to a hopeful future for those who are aged and infirm. The old home farm of two hundred acres which has been developed by modern methods and equipment to a high state of cultivation has been presented by the two physician sons, Dr. William H., and Stephen V. Mountain of Olean, New York, founders of the Mountain Clinic, as a home for aged and infirm physicians, the same to be a memorial to their father, and to be known as the David A. Mountain Memorial.
PHOTO: David A. Mountain and Family. This picture was taken in 1888.
The gift has been made to an organization called the Physicians' Home, Inc. of which Dr. Robert T. Morris is president; Dr. Ralph Waldo, Vice president; Dr. Silas F. Hallock, 26 East 65th St., New York City, secretary, and Dr. Albert G. Weed, 152 West 57th St., New York City,
treasurer. In addition the Board of Directors includes Drs. Warren Coleman, Max Einhorn, Wolff Freudenthal, Francis Huber, and Stephen V. Mountain.
It is the intention of the Board of Directors to occupy the farm house at once and to build a modern house a soon as possible. Plans for the erection of buildings contemplates an expenditure of $250,000 as a beginning. Under the present tentative plans, there will be two large dormitories in one of which will be installed laboratories for experimental purposes. Golf links, tennis courts and croquet grounds are being laid out and there will be a complete gymnasium, including swimming tanks, bowling alleys and billiard rooms. Provision has been made by the Board of Supervisors of Allegany County in which the institution is located for construction of a paved road from the village to the farm. Many additional features will develop as the plan grows.
In addition to the dormitories and sanitarium, the Board of Directors may find it advantageous to build small cottages where physicians and their wives may live by themselves and yet have the advantages of the facilities of the institution.
It will doubtless happen, too, that many physicians, who have small amounts of money may desire to purchase with it the privilege of care for the rest of their lives, thus making their small savings permanently provide for their care throughout old age. The home will offer also a resting place for doctors whose health may have become broken in their work. It will combine, therefore not only the features of an institutional home, but also of a sanitarium.
Meeting, as it undoubtedly will, a great social need, this institution may be expected to grow to large proportions. Many developments unthought of a present, will take place, bringing nearer and nearer the ideal of social security to those who have done so much to make others secure.
The Mountain Clinic Nursing Staff
Dr. Laurence Gregory Raub
Dr. Laurence Gregory Raub is an original Oleander, having graduated from the High School in 1917 as president of his class. He completed his medical studies at the University of Michigan where he gained distinction as instructor of Clinical Dentistry. To this he has later added skill and efficiency in Oral Surgery and in addition to being especially well equipped with all the latest inventions and medical requirements of modern methods of dentistry. Although his office adjoins the Clinic building he is recognized as an important member of the Clinic staff. He is entirely competent to handle all the up-to-date requirements in that line of practice.
Dr. Frank E. Howard
Dr. Howard came to the Clinic, as a member of the staff, from Cuba, New York
PHOTO: The Marcus Metro Station, Corner of North Union and Main Streets
ANCIENT AND MODERN LANDMARKS
Casual visitors to a town or city are quick to especially notice novel structures along the various thoroughfares which are quite familiar and a little heeded by the local residents. The pictures shown on this page will serve as timely reminders.
Entrance to Oak Hill Park, Corner Fourth and Putnam Streets
Union Street, Olean, Looking North
View of State Street, Looking West
Dignitaries of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church
The early history of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, with a view of the main edifice, will be found on page 25.
Dr. J. W. Ashton, Rector Emeritus
Rev. C. C. Bentley, Rector
Rev. B. M. Rutledge, Assistant Rector
Relating to Olean Churches
On the bottom of page 33 will be found a statement that "Other matters relating to Olean churches will be found on a later page."
By reason of many combinations of adverse circumstances and conditions, several errors were passed without being noticed until too late to make the necessary corrections. They are (1) On page 27, there occurs a repetition of facts in connection with the Centennial Celebration of the First Presbyterian church, there being two paragraphs which practically comprise the same matter.
(2) On Page 29, at the bottom of the page, the word dedicated is misspelled.
(3) The paragraph below the picture of the Ninth Street M. E. church on page 30, beginning with the words, "In 1888" is a repetition of the paragraph which appears in the previous column at the top of the same page.
The succeeding paragraph in the second column of page 30 should read: "As already stated, at the People's church in East Olean, preaching services," etc.
At the conclusion of the article in relation to the Ninth Street M. E. church the following paragraph should have been added:
The present pastor, in 1923 is the Rev. Arthur Partington, who came here from Kenmore, in the Buffalo district of New York in October 1922. He has already infused a desirable spirit for the advancement of the interests of this branch of the M. E. church in this locality.
In the record of St. Stephen's Episcopal church an omission was made of the fact that the position as assistant to the Rector is capably filled by Beecher Rutledge and that G. Harold Brown has since resigned as choir master and organist.
BETTER LATE THAN NEVER
The above old-time saying may well apply to this issue (Part One) of the Oleander, which is a tangible evidence of progress in a partial accomplishment of the plan formulated at the outset. The subscribers will be furnished with their quota of Part Two, in due course.
While there has been a considerable increase in building operations in recent years, especially in various streets in Olean's 10th and 11th wards, the most notable addition now within the city's area, increases in population and building developments have been brought about by the enterprise of the Olean Housing Corporation in laying out a city addition and establishing attractive domiciles on Seneca Heights, to the south, across the Allegany River, covering a territory of some 150 acres, now officially included as a part of the Second Ward.
The superior character of this splendid and comprehensive addition to Olean's new city area is evidenced by the pictures shown on this and following pages of this Part One of the Oleander Review and Outlook.
PHOTO: One of the products of community co-operation, a close-up of a corner of Seneca Heights.
New school - completed Fall of 1924, A. W. E. Schoenberg, Architect
A close-up of a Spanish - American bungalow on York Street
Three distinct expressions of the Colonial type
There are many home sites available with old Mt. Hermans a near "neighbor"
English and Colonial architecture - neighbors on York Street
Olean Housing Corporation
"The Builder of Seneca Heights"
A. E. EWING, President
J. P. HERRICK, Vice-President C. L. BOCKMIER, Treasurer H. C. CARPENTER, Secretary
E. W. FITZGERALD, Chairman A. E. EWING J. P. HERRICK
C. L. BOCKMIER W. A. DUSENBURY A. D. EWING E. W. FITZGERALD
J. P. HERRICK M. M. HOLMES E. H. WRIGHT
Serves Olean and Vicinity
THE OLEAN BRADFORD AND SALAMANCA RAILWAY COMPANY, with one hundred (100) miles of track serves the Olean and adjacent territory with frequent trolley passenger service.
Also interchanges freight, both package and car-load, with all the steam railroads in this section.
A detail description of the operation of the O. B. & S. Railway System will appear in a subsequent Part of THE OLEANDER.
Without successful utilities a community cannot be a good place in which to live and do business. Public Utility service is so much a part of modern living conditions that the utilities and the communities they serve go forward or backward together.
No agency has played a more important part in the removal of burdens from the toilers' backs than electricity. Utility service takes the energy from coal or rapid running water and delivers it at your home or office, or store or factory as electricity to make your work easier, to save your time, to add to your comfort.
In terms of convenience, labor saving and human happiness, the value of electric service cannot be calculated. It can only be appreciated when you try to think what living would be without it.
Good service to the public is the aim of the company.
OLEAN ELECTRIC LIGHT & POWER CO.
The New Olean House
As far back as the most ancient Old Timer can recall, and years before that time the Olean House has been the principal hostelry of the City of Natural Advantages. During the past few months remarkable improvements and enlargements have been in progress, a complete illustrated description of which will appear in Part Two of the Oleander.
The reading public of Olean and the surrounding territory comprises a great population of those who are deeply interested in vicinity happenings and incidents and in the general developments of week-day public affairs. There is no journal which covers the ground more accurately, comprehensively and completely than the
BUFFALO EVENING NEWS
The tremendous volume of its afternoon and night circulation, which is constantly growing, is an unquestionable evidence of its merit.
The midnight edition devotes ample space to agricultural affairs -- including the latest market reports, notices of meeting s and other valuable information and news from the Western New York localities. This great newspaper also has a complete radio section together with a magazine and woman's page, two pages of stories and special features; a page of the very latest pictures; a page of comics, featuring fun, not silliness; two pages of sport news with Karpe's Comment, a big sport feature; services of the two greatest news gathering agencies, the Associated and the United Press, a score of special writhers and hundreds of correspondents.
The Mid-Night Edition, mailed late in the evening, will reach you by carrier in the morning within a few hours after the edition is off the press, and the subscription price is but 50 cents a month. Treat yourself to the best in the line of newspapers by SENDING YOUR SUBSCRIPTION TODAY to the---
BUFFALO EVENING NEWS
216 Main Street
Back To Cattaraugus County
This page is maintained by the PHGS
Last Update July 31, 2006
© 2002 by The Painted Hills Genealogy Society
Main | Email Us | Look-Ups | Members Family Pages
Chat and Meeting Room | Disclaimer
Website designed by Frankie Stonemetz
2002-2006© Painted Hills Genealogy Society
All Rights Reserved