|NOTE: This book was transcribed, 115 years after it
was written in 1889, in an effort to provide people with Cattaraugus county
roots more information about the lives of their families. There are notations
for photos, but we do not have these available yet until someone can find
a copy of the original book so we may scan and add them to the transcription.
Special thanks are due the Painted Hills Genealogical Society, whose members transcribed the vast majority of this book to make it available on the Internet. This team includes:
Sandra Trapp, Bob Hollister, Lowell Mix, Debbie Simm, Ann Higgins, Jim Wynne, Deb Sterner, Terry Gray, Elaine Bingham, Hope Luedeke, Mary Tuma, Jack Hanrahan, Marilyn Cimino, Gerald Woodard, and Alan Malz, and Mary E. Bryant
OLEAN, NEW YORK
ITS HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS
Persons, Sibley & Spaulding, Art Printing House
"The spirit of the times shall teach men speed". - Shakespeare
Manufacturing industries capitalized at three-quarters of a million dollars and with a labor capacity of nine hundred men have located in Olean within the past year.
Population in the same period has increase twenty-five per cent.
These achievements when compared with those of other eastern towns are phenomenal. Natural advantages largely, augmented by the work of a citizens’ Board of Trade, have accomplished this result.
The progression Olean has already made in the commercial world is but the forecast of a time in the immediate future when she shall rank first among the manufacturing centers of the Empire State.
And this will not be by accident; cities do not happen. They are the creation and development of adequate causes whose forces are capable of being determined, and, in a measure, directed. To demonstrate these causes as they apply to Olean, and advertise them, is the object of this work.
The compiler has endeavored faithfully to portray the Olean of today, giving prominence to such features as go to make up the ordinary business and social life of an active, growing town. Historical data is confined to the least possible limit. Biography and portraiture of many of these representative citizens whose activity forms a necessarily important part in the present status, will aid the stranger to a better and more pleasing acquaintance with the "City of Natural Advantages".
In this work the highest existing types of photographic and engraver’s art have been largely employed. The text is prepared with a view of rendering effective the labor of the artists, by conveying intelligently and concisely to manufacturers and investors such descriptive and statistical facts as they would desire to know if seeking a business or resident location. Where more specific information upon any subject is desired than can be obtained from the contents of this book, a letter to the secretary or any other office of the Board of Trade will receive prompt and merited attention.
The Compiler (1889)
On the map Olean is located in the south-western tier of counties of the Empire State, near the Pennsylvania line. In the world, Olean occupies the center of a country whose varied products constitute for it greater wealth than is possessed by any other section of equal area in the United States.
Within a radius of less than one hundred miles, and tributary to Olean , are the almost impenetrable forest of a hemlock belt, among which are interspersed acres of various kind of hard woods ,and from which must come the lumber and bark supply of the nation for years. At the south-west is the largest and most lasting of the yet discovered petroleum oil fields, and adjacent thereto the great natural gas producing territory of Pennsylvania. Among the fertile valleys of the Allegany and over the adjoining hills are lands productive in farming and grazing. To the north and in a highly cultivated country are the salt fields of Western New York, the limit of whose territory is as yet undefined, but known to be extensive enough to furnish the world s salt for ages yet to come, In adjoining counties are the Allegany oil and gas producing districts, and to the south-east, bituminous and anthracite coal and iron mines of the Keystone state. Glass rock superior flag and building stone, and rich deposits of clay abound.
This vast wealth of earth s treasures is incalculable; even the transactions of the day are beyond measure. It is upon this basis, Olean rest her claim of being the city of natural advantages, the particulars of which are treated at length in subsequent pages of this book.
The splendors of our inland scenery and the wonders of man s ingenuity are a sources of American pride, and no where is a country more prolific of the beauties of nature or the marvels of engineer s skill than that in the immediate vicinity of Olean
The wilds of Potter and Forest counties afford a paradise for sportsmen. Deer and bear are successfully hunted in season, while the streams render abundantly of the speckled trout. Lime, Silver and Chautauqua lakes are places of resort and summer carnival. The beauties of Portage Falls, of Kinzua viaduct, and the City of Rocks; the majestic glory of Niagara, and the marvelous processes of oil drilling, and mining, are among the subjects of greatest interest to tourist and sight-seers.
Topographically Olean is situated in a valley made by the junction of the Allegany river and its most important tributary, the extent of which is upwards of three thousand acres. It is built upon an eminence that gradually slopes in either direction from the business portion, and otherwise and naturally is adapted to the purposes of a city.
School No. 1, School No. 3, City Building, Free Academy, Forman Library
THE BOARD OF TRADE
A YEAR’S GROWTH – PURPOSES OF THE BOARD – THE ANNUAL MEETING
Olean is rich in the elements of enduring prosperity. The citizens are possess of the idea, and are in active co-operation with the existing forces, to stimulate conservatively what otherwise would prove a slower, though inevitable growth. A most important factor in engaging the attention of inventors, and presenting to foreign manufacturers the advantages conspicuously possessed by Olean, has been its Board of Trade. This organization, perfected purely for commercially philanthropic purposes, has consummated its projects quietly and in good business form. Its efforts have been strenuously against creating any extravagant or unwarranted claims for Olean, and the present reasonable prices and firm values in real estate surely attest the success of the policy adopted. One feature of the board pleasant to contemplate, is the cosmopolitan character of its membership. Whoever has prospected under the guidance of an espion of the Board of Trade must have been impressed with the absolute good-fellowship which exists among the varied, and sometimes opposing trades and professions. The success, at least of this part of the life of Olean, is due to the lack of those elements of prejudice and retrogression so frequently indulged at expense of the public weal. Organization has precluded the possible indulgence of personally selfish motives by rendering their practice positively unpopular.
The Board of Trade was organized Oct. 6, 1887, under the following
We, the undersigned residents of Olean, hereby associate ourselves together as The Olean Board of Trade, for the purpose of promulgating its business advantages; introducing foreign trade and manufacture and fostering its present industries, to the end that our city shall continue in commercial growth, which by reason of natural and acquired resources, must necessarily result from the united efforts of her citizens.
THE ANNUAL MEETING
Board of Trade Rooms
Olean, N.Y., Oct. 5th, 1888
President Coon in calling the Board to order spoke as follows:
Gentlemen of the Board of Trade
Permit me to congratulate you to-night upon having completed one year in the history of this organization; upon the success that has attended the effort made but a year ago by a number of our citizens to organize for the purpose of better conserving the interests of our young and growing city, and to more fully represents its many and varied advantages as a field for enterprise and capital to make remunerative investment. Located as we are at the junction or terminus of not less than six different rail roads, competing for our carrying trade, in one of the great centers of the oil and refining interest, surround on every side by forests of hemlock and hard woods easily accessible, with a system of public schools and elegant school buildings unsurpassed by any city of its size in the country, with numerous and well-constructed houses of worship, with an abundant supply of wholesome water for domestic use and protection from fire, with street railways and electric lights, no reason could possibly exist for remaining in status quo, save a lack of appreciation of our natural advantages, and lack of enterprise upon our part to properly and wisely present those advantages to capital and labor, that thereby they might be brought to us and become participators in these advantages.
All enterprising citizens grasped the idea and came nobly forward with every kind of encouragement and soon this board was working as one man for the accomplishment of the purposes for which it was organized.
I need not review the work that you have accomplished during the brief year of our existence, as our Secretary has prepared a somewhat elaborate report of the work already done, and our able and efficient Executive Committee will give you a detailed report of how much, and by what means they have through your encouragement and support been enable to accomplish.
I again congratulate you upon your year’s success, much of which is due to the able and well directed services rendered by your Secretary and Executive Committee, both of whom have entered most earnestly into the work and have already proven what may be accomplished by the united efforts of our citizens when banded together in a unity of purpose.
In conclusion permit me to urge upon you the continuance of your organization in healthful, vigor, and not permit it to lapse into a state of indifference, feeling satisfied with what has already been accomplished, but rather, take the success of the past as an earnest of the future, and continue the active encouragement and support already vouchsafed.
Whilst much of the effort of this organization thus far has been spent in inducing outside capital to make investment with us, I believe that its fostering care should be given to encourage our old and well established industries; in suggesting and encouraging improvements that shall benefit as well as beautify our streets, our public buildings and our parks; that shall keep an eye upon public expenditures in order that extravagance and peculation may not waste the substance of the taxpayer. All of these considerations and many more that might be enumerated urge us to continue as an active organization.
Secretary Chapin presented his annual
report. (Full text follows this record.)
President – J. V. D. Coon
L. E. Chapin, Sec’y
A whole volume of significance upon the liberality of Olean in educational matters is found in the fact that the appropriation of $10,000 for erecting the last school building was passed by popular vote unanimously.
Page 6 – Picture caption: Exchange National Bank with the following information:
THE EXCHANGE NATIONAL BANK OF OLEAN, NEW YORK
CAPITAL STOCK PAID IN - $100,000
SURPLUS - $220,000
UNDIVIDED EARNINGS - $25,000
Mills W. Barse, President, Geo. V.
Forman, Vice-President, Frank L. Bartlett, Cashier
A. Exchange National Bank
1. A. T. Brown
A YEAR’S GROWTH
The following is the full text of Secretary Chapin’s annual report:
Mr. President, Gentlemen of the Board of Trade:
It was the intention of your secretary to present in this first annual report statistical information relating to the entire present manufacturing interests of Olean, together with the building operations of the past year, but owing to the lack of promptness on the part of many from whom information was sought, this feature will have to be deferred. It is a work, however, which should be faithfully prosecuted, and the result put in permanent form.* (*This work now appears for the first time in subsequent pages of this book.)
One year ago tonight a meeting of citizens was held in the parlors of the City Club for "the purpose of organizing to further the commercial and manufacturing interests of Olean." At that meeting, over which Wm. M. Irish presided, sentiments of unanimity were so strongly expressed that an organization was perfected which could not otherwise than result in the realization of any scheme it should be deemed worth while to undertake. The officers whose terms expire to-night were elected, and at once an energetic campaign was instituted. Messrs. C. H. Rockwood, J. H. Truesdell and John Troy, of the membership committee, very soon had the signature of every prominent business man and property owner of the city. The commercial atmosphere became invigorating, and those who were possessed of faith in the natural advantages of Olean had their faith strengthened, while those who had none were invested with that which abides, and all joined enthusiastically in the work of the Board. There were no croakers. The word "boom," so frequently adopted, was in this case tabooed, and all ideas of ficticious values were rigorously avoided as being detrimental to the work, and calculated to result disastrously.
The first thing after organization was the issuing of a large number of circulars giving brief and concise information regarding the standing and resources of Olean. These were extensively distributed in the manufacturing centers of other states. As a result of this advertising I have received and answered nearly 800 letters, mostly of inquiry from capitalists, tradesmen and artisans who were seeking business opportunities, many of whom since have become citizens among us. It is proven that printing is a very chap, judicious and potent factor in the carrying out of the objects of the Board.
October 27, 1887, the people were given an instance of the actual workings of organized effort in locating outside industries. Messrs. Jas & W. P. Pierce & Co., of Boston, after prospecting in all the towns throughout the bark region and devoting several weeks to the work, signed with our executive committee. Mr. Pierce tells me so careful were they in selecting a location, that the price of provisions, clothing, building material, rents and all living expenses, as well as school and church privileges, were carefully considered in the interest of their employes. The thoroughness of the investigation and the happy outcome were significant facts and appreciated by our people. The fine tannery plant of the Messrs. Pierce, located upon State street, is now running. The business is capitalized at $250,000. One hundred and twenty-five hands are employed, and an immediate increase of 25 contemplated. The present production is 1,800 sides of leather per week.
The Olean Tooth-pick and Basket Co., organized by gentlemen from Belmont, located here Nov. 3. A new and commodious building was erected upon First street, under the supervision of the manager, Mr. E. C. Hart, and business began several months ago. Thirty-five hands are employed in this industry, and 900,000 boxes of tooth-picks and 25,000 dozens of baskets, or of the latter a car-load every two days, is the rate of annual output. This company had its trade to establish, and so gratifying is the result that a doubling of its capacity the next year is not improbable.
The Olean Electric Light and Power Co. was formed by local capitalists Nov. 9th. Capital stock was placed at $25,000, which was soon subscribed and paid in. Although work was at once begun on the plant of the company, owing to the winter season Olean did not have the benefit of the electric illuminant until June 13th last. The company has doubled its capacity for arc lighting and added the incandescent system.
Messrs. C. A. Rubright and H. O. Dorman, of Corning, located brickworks at East Olean, Dec. 5th. Early spring found operations actively begun, under direction of the superintendent, Mr. Fike. Forty men have been employed the season through. It is the purpose of the proprietors to immediately erect works and introduce machinery whereby the business of manufacture can be prosecuted winter as well as summer, when from 50 to 80 hands will find constant employment. Terra cotta and pressed brick will form a feature of this industry.
The upper-leather tannery of Wright, Clark & Co., though begun in construction just before the organization of the Board of Trade, was completed after the inauguration of its reign. These gentlemen came to Olean without other inducements than the ordinary advantages which exist. They were the first of our more recently acquired institutions to avail themselves of the facilities afforded tanners by our proximity to the bark fields and low tariff.
Page 8 – Picture Caption: Residence of S. S. Bullis, Laurens Street
December 9th negotiations were consummated with W. C. A. Quirin by which a partially constructed tannery plant was to be removed from Eldred to this city. A satisfactory location was purchased by Mr. Quirin upon the Martin Farm, and although many vexatious delays consequent upon a project of that kind have occurred, not least among which were the legal proceedings instituted by the Board of Trade of Eldred to prevent removal, the plant was transported and is now ready for work. Its present capacity is 30 men and 500 calf skins daily.
The building of the Allegany & Kinzua railroad was by Olean capital and enterprise, and for the profit of the United Lumber Company, whose main offices are here. Mr. S. S. Bullis is present and Mr. J. E. Rooney auditor and treasurer. This road, from the heart of the hemlock district, makes it possible for Olean tanners to purchase bark at a lower figure than can be obtained at any other accessible point in this state or Pennsylvania.
January 12th Mr. Geo. V. Forman made the generous offer to the library Association of the gift of the building upon Union street formerly used by him as an office, making the reasonable condition that the library should be properly endowed to insure its permanency. To this time the efforts of the library officials have not resulted to their satisfaction, and the title of the property still remains with Mr. Forman.
J. H. Luther & Sons added to their extensive works in February a fully equipped boiler shop, and employ in that branch 20 men.
The United Lumber Company, through the efforts of the Board, on the 26th of February purchased 75 acres of land at the Erie depot upon which to locate their main distributing yards. When the contemplated operations of the company are fully consummated, from 150 to 200 men will be employed. This enterprise has contributed largely in influencing other institutions to locate that locality.
Page 9 – Picture caption: Dr. J. V. D. Coon, President of the Board of Trade
Picture Caption: D. S. Abbott
Page 10 – Picture caption: Tannery
of Jas. & W. P. Pierce & Co. – Office 143 Summer Street, Boston
First to come were Fishers, Klaus & Co. of Buffalo, to engage in the general business of manufactured lumber. A factory was erected in the early spring, but owing to home engagements of the firm, nothing was done during the summer. In September their plant was purchased by Downs, Shea & McNeil, of Smethport, who at once began work upon an extensive scale. Fifty men will be employed and the business greatly increased.
Clark Bros., of Belmont, saw-mill machinery manufacturers, purchased a site of six acres upon the same tract, and ultimately intend to establish themselves in Olean. Although I have not definite advices to that effect, the transfer will probably be made in the coming year.
The City Steam Laundry located here in March and at once became a thriving business, employing ten hands.
April 10th the $25,000 armory appropriation became a law with the signature of the Governor. This act adds permanency to an institution in which there is justly a local pride. Owing to the necessary delays in official action at department headquarters, it is likely we shall not have substantial realization of this benefit till spring. It is a source of congratulation among members of the company that at their first annual inspection they obtained the high rating of 95.12 per cent and words of commendation from the inspecting officer.
Articles were signed May 22nd between Lee Calflin & Co. and this Board by which a tannery plant was to be built at North Olean. At the time of this report the works are nearly completed, and Nov.1st it is intended by the proprietors to begin the manufacture of leather. From 100 to 150 hands will be employed.
The sum of $10,000 was unanimously voted at a special school meeting July 19 of District No.1,for the erection of brick building No .6 $2,600 has this season been expended in District No. 3 for additions to school property. At a meeting of the Board the suburban localities previously designated Erie Depot, Martin Farm and Fair Ground, were named North, East, and West Olean respectively, and since that time have thus been known. The East Olean Methodist chapel was dedicated July 30th. It cost $2000. August 6th the corner stone of the $27,000 stone church of the St. Stephen parish was laid.
Green & Tothill of Scranton purchased the Myrick foundry, August 15th and are now busily at work. The firm known as Myrick Foundry and Machine Co. contemplate enlargement in the near future and adding to the general foundry business the manufacture of several specialties in saw- mill machinery.
At a special election August 27th $12,500 were appropriated for additions to our water works system , which will include a new pump house and the purchase of a Gaskell pump having 3,000,000 gallons daily capacity.
Through the efforts of the Board, I G. Jenkins of Williamsport, September 12th began the erection of a factory at North Olean for the manufacture of Hall’s patent sheating lath. A general manufacturing business will be connected therewith under the management of Mr. W.L. Frazee. From 30 to 40 hands will be employed from the outset.
The W.N.Y. & P. Ry. Co. have recently acquired additional land upon Reed street by the aid of our executive committee, and are erecting three large buildings thereon for the use in connection with their present shops. Within the past year two complete locomotive engines have been made here, and it is the purpose of the company to increase their laboring force 100 men as soon as the new buildings are complete, and manufacturing coaches. The possible future developments of this company are liable to be greater than we dare forecast. The work of double-tracking the line from this city to Hinsdale, made necessary by increased business is being actively pushed.
The free delivery postal system was inaugurated Oct. 1st with five carriers.
Thurber & Hatch have recently started in the manufacture of saw-mill machinery and general repair work in a shop on Union street. This firm are employing five skilled mechanics and intend extending their facilities by the addition of a foundry
Mr. H.W. Moore, originator of the Black Giant and the Hollis Rams Horn spring, has recently perfected and patented a practically non-explosive steam boiler. The making of these boilers will commence at once at the works of the Myrick Foundry and Machine Co. E.M. Johnson is interested with Mr. Moore in the enterprise and it is the intention of the firm to soon build a factory.
The Keystone Gas Co. has extended its supply of mains between four and five miles this season, and report an increase in the number of new consumers upon the old lines of one hundred per cent more than that of last year. Olean is becoming headquarters for a great number of commercial travelers, which fact is significant. A parochial school by St. Mary’s church is positive. The Riverside cemetery is being beautifully fitted up at an enormous expense, as a fit resting-place for the dead. Resident improvements internal and external have marked the year. Our pioneer industrial institutions report good trade, while in mercantile circles business was never better.
[Photo of "E. E. Alderman, Member of the Executive Committee]
This report purposely contains much of a public nature with which the Board of Trade had not directly to do. Such is deemed necessary to make complete the record of the year’s growth. The Board has of itself, however, accomplished much. Through the able and unremitting efforts of Messrs. Franchot, Bartlett, Eaton and Higgins of the soliciting committee, our citizens have subscribed $13,408 cash, and donated land to the value of $11,255, a sum total of $24,663 which has been distributed to new industries locating in Olean. Besides this gratuity we have voluntarily subscribed $49,000 for church purposes, and voted for extraordinary water, school and sewer purposes $28,100 making $101,763 virtually contributed as a free-will offering for the public welfare. This again, is outside our ordinary annual expenses which are: for schools $22,180; water department $15,475; municipal expenditures $16,000; an aggregate of $69,655 and a grand aggregate of $171,418. And yet our people like it and consider the investments good. These figures seem large, but as a matter of fact the actual tax rate in Olean is lower than that of towns of any magnitude which posses and enjoy the same advantages.
Conservative estimates place our population at 12,500 people, an increase of 2,500 within a twelve-month. The increase of the business at the postoffice for the two quarters just ended is at the rate of $1,700 a year. The last school census shows 12 per cent. increase over the one preceding it.
[Photo of "Hon. James Pierce]
The great length of this report necessarily precludes any reference to our established industries, to which the additions of last year form but a small percentage. As a correspondent has said: "To secure further exalted position requires the continued co-operaton of every citizen." The secret of the success of the Board of Trade lies largely in the fact of a unity of purpose, which, combined with loyal enterpise [sic], has brought about a most satisfactory and healthful growth for Olean.
Respectfully, L. E. Chapin, Secy.
The Hemlock Belt.
Fifteen Billion Feet of Timber and Ten Million Cords of Bark Standing in Virgin Forest
The Pennsylvania Hemlock Belt, upon the northern edge of which Olean is situated, embraces a vast tract of something more than a million acres of yet almost unbroken forests, stretching from the head-waters of the Allegany and the Susquehanna to the mouth of the Clarion river, and back into the very heart of the Allegany mountains. The best is perhaps from fifty to seventy miles square and embraces the greater part of Potter, McKean, Cameron, forest, Elk and a part of Warren county, Pa., and a small corner of Cattaraugus county, N. Y., and is largely on streams which empty their waters into the Allegany river - the Clarion, the Tionesta, the Hickory, Kinzua. Sugar Run, Willow, Quaker, Red House, Tuna, Oswayo, Potato, Marvin and scores of other water-ways of the Allegany and Susquehanna system. It is fairly estimated that the Pennsylvania belt contains more than one-half of the hemlock timber now standing in the United States east of the Rocky mountains. Well imformed [sic] lumbermen estimate that the stumpage of this million-acre tract will run nearly 15,000 feet of hemlock lumber and ten cords of bark to the acre, making a grand total of fifteen billion feet of the former and ten million cords of the latter of these great staples. By reason of the railroad facilities and the peculiar topography of the country, we find here the anomaly of a boundless forest upon the very pathway of trans-continental commerce. Nearly all other great forests now standing are far remote from the through line of travel and freight traffic. But the water-ways and the lateral lines of railroad diverging from Olean into this densely wooded domain, places the Pennsylvania hemlock belt in a peculiarly favorable location.
This magnificent forest, with its rich and almost inexhaustible product, is an important feature of Olean’s natural environment. By virtue of the rail-ways and water-ways converging in this valley, Olean is the distributing point for the greater part of this vast tract. A large per cent. of the product of these forests, whether as raw material or manufactured articles, must pass directly through this city to reach a market either in the east or west. This fact is becoming generally understood and appreciated by the lumber trade, and there has already begun here a concentration of the leading lumber interests of the entire belt and Olean will within a very short time become the largest and most important hemlock market in the world, and the seat of the most extensive tanning interests on this continent. Recognizing the advantages of location and railroad facilities, the Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Company was recently incorporated and began business with its central office and main yards in this city. The company embraces all of the leading operators and holders of land in the hemlock belt, and the purpose of the organization is to concentrate the business in Olean, shipping the product of the innumerable mills throughout the tract to this city, where the lumber is stored, sorted, dressed and seasoned, and again re-shipped to the various markets. New railroads have but recently been built into hitherto trackless and inaccessible forests by which they are made tributary to Olean, and their vast and rich product place at our doors.
The hemlock of the Pennsylvania belt does not embrace the half of its wealth. It is likewise rich in hardwoods of almost every variety. The best cherry in the world grows abundantly on this tract, besides oak, ash, maple, cucumber, beech, basswood, and the finest birch of the various kinds, making a location here peculiarly advantageous for the manufacture of furniture of every description, and the wide range of articles made from natural woods.
The bark supplied from the Pennsylvania hemlock belt possesses fully twenty per cent, more of tannic acid than that furnished from any other quarter, and it sells for a correspondingly higher figure in the eastern markets. It is vastly superior to the bark from the Canadian, Northwestern or Alaskan forests. *
Pennsylvania hemlock bark brings $10 a cord delivered at the tanneries in and around Boston, the quotations rarely falling below that figure. The same product which brings $10 a cord in Boston can be delivered in Olean in any quantity at from $5.25 to $5.50 a cord-effecting a savings to the tanners here over those in Boston of fully 45 per cent.
PHOTO: Hon. C. S. Cary
* An analysis of the hemlock bark of various sectors, made by the eminent chemist, Dr. H. E. Sturkey, showing the following relative strength or presence of tannic acid:
Wisconsin hemlock 6 per cent. tannic acid.
On the item of bark. When the vast amount of bark used in a single year is taken into consideration this becomes an important factor. With ten million cords of bark at our doors, 20 per cent, superior in tanning qualities to any other bark, and at about half the price to any other bark, and at about half the price which eastern tanners must pay for it, it would seem that Olean’s advantages in this direction could not fail to be recognized and appreciated by the tanners of the East. Within the last year this condition has been the means of securing the location here of five extensive tanneries.
Sam H. Coon.
Olean’s public schools are the greatest inducement that can be offered anyone seeking a home.
PHOTO: Wm. D. MOORE - Member of the Executive Committee
Buffalo Evening News: -- Olean is growing. There is nothing new, for it has been growing pretty fast for quite a number of years. But within the past few months in particular, through the force of natural advantages which the place does undeniably possesses and the energetic and effective labors of a Board of Trade which is ahead of that of almost any town in the country, east or west, from push, tact and general efficiency, the town has fallen heir to new industries and acquire improvements which in number and magnitude probably surpass the foundest dreams which the most sanguine and ambitious citizen dared to indulge.
A SCRAP OF HISTORY
OLEAN POINT AS THE HEAD OF NAVIGATION TO
THE WEST-THE KEY TO THE MISSISSIPPI
The first white settlement of Olean was instituted in 1803 by Major Adam Hoops, an officer in the army of General Washington. Major Hoops was attracted hither by the idea that this would be upon the main thoroughfare of emigration from the east to countries along the Ohio and Mississippi, justly reasoning that by embarking upon the Allegany at this point a cheaper and more convenient route would be afforded than the on then in use overland through New Jersey and Pennsylvania to Pittsburgh. A circuit rider of those days has placed it in history that "the only access to the place was by an indifferent road from the county of Steuben to King’s settlement in Pennsylvania, and from thence by river to your destination."
In 1810 a road was chartered by the state "from Canandaigua by the head of Conesus Lake, by the most eligible route to the mouth of Olean river." This was the first departure from the trail of the Indian. The same year a road was opened from Buffalo to Olean, also one from Cerestown, PA to Olean and from thence to the outlet of Chautauqua lake, and to Lake Erie. In 1815 a road was built from Angelica to Olean, and one from Batavia by way of Warsaw. A state road was authorized in 1823 from a point on the Pennsylvania line where the Kittaning road terminates. Then as now, all road lead to Olean. They were the highways through which passed the very heavy tide of emigration that had set in to the north part of Ohio and the Western Reserve.
For several years succeeding the opening of this route, and particularly during the decade which preceded the completion of the Erie canal from Albany to Buffalo, each return of spring the grounds abut Olean Point were covered by the temporary encampment of an emigrant army awaiting the lifting of the ice embargo. It is related that these people were sometimes detained in camp so long that a scarcity of food prevailed – flour bringing $25 a barrel, port $50, and other necessities an equally high price. Emigrants came from Buffalo, Batavia, Canandaigua, Geneva, Bath, Albany and New England, embarking upon flat boats or primitive rafts which were often rudely built by themselves during an enforced stay at the Point. It is estimated that for a time as many as 3,000 emigrants left for the west annually.
It is a matter of record that in 1834 more than 300,000,000 feet of timber were rafted down the river and quantities of salt from the Onondaga salt springs were brought overland and shipped to Pittsburgh and Cincinnati. Efforts were made to navigate the river up stream, but with only partial success. Although as a fact accomplished, the process was so laborious that to transport merchandise from Pittsburgh to Olean cost $1.25 per hundred, whereas, the other way it cost but a shilling.
The projectors of the Erie canal had contemplated it connection not only with Lake Erie, but also with the Allegany at Olean, and it was believed that this branch would prove as important as that from Rochester to Buffalo. Among its advocates were Gov. Dewitt Clinton, Gideon Lee, Thaddens B. Wakeman and the common councils of both New York and Brooklyn besides petitioners to the number of twenty-five hundred from the former city. In the meantime the canal had been finished to Buffalo and traffic largely diverted in consequence.
By the persistent effort of its friends the construction of this branch was begun in 1836. The work dragged slowly along until completion in 1856.
The navigation of the Allegany was all along considered of prime importance by the government and in 1837 congress ordered a survey made by Maj. George W. Hughes, who reported among other things that "the steamboat Newcastle had ascended without great difficulty from Pittsburg to Olean, and could even under present circumstances, make regular trips between these places". Maj. Hughes’ report throughout was very favorable. It was confidently expected that steam navigation of the river would be accomplished, and in conjunction with the canal which was then building, a traffic be established greater than that of any other line in the country. One writer of the time says:
"Either of these improvements will give this county the carrying trade of the eastern section of the United States, to thirteen of the southern, southwestern, and western states. As goods can be transported much safer, cheaper, and earlier in the spring, on the river than the lakes, the river would be preferred, and the trade of the rich extensive valley of the Mississippi will be done through this channel. There is now a communication from Olean, in this county, to more than twenty thousand miles of navigable rivers, into thirteen of the United States, which embrace half the population of the union."
But the tides of emigration and of traffic had so changed with the opening of the Erie canal to Buffalo that nothing was done by the government or by individuals which lead to the improvement of the Allegany, although companies were formed for the purpose - one so late as 1851, of which the Hon. W. F. Wheeler, now president of the First National Bank, was vice-president.
The usefulness of the proposed canal was circumscribed before its completion by the building of the Erie railroad in 851, and although it remained open as water-way for twenty-two years succeeding 1856, it served only the immediate territory through which it passed, the state maintaining it at a loss.
Railroads have made for all artificial and internal navigation lines about the same history. Wherever located they are a tax burden upon the people, whose term of forbearance determines the length of their life. Notwithstanding the pioneers of Olean built their faith in future greatness upon these water-commerce schemes, the realization of which came far short of early expectations, the town, which then had no greater apology for life than any other of Western New York, gradually grew and maintained a vigorous life until the time but a few years ago, when favorable winds caught the sails and sped the bark on to prosperity.
(Photo - Eclipse Lubricating Works, Buffalo Street)
THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS
FORTIFICATIONS AGAINST ANARCHY, ILLITERACY AND SUPERSTITION - WHERE MONEY GENEROUSLY AND GLADLY GIVEN
Of all the wealth of acquired resources there are none in which the resident of Olean feels a greater or more pardonable pride than in the public schools. More than two thousand of the future men and women of the nation are here each day pursuing that mental development which insures good citizenship and consequent good government.
The members of the Board of Education are C. H. Rockwood, President; W. V. Smith, Secretary; A. Blake, F. D. Muckey, J. E. K. Morris, H. W. Chamberlin, Alfred Dickinson, John W. Pratt, Chas. Gillingham. G. W. D. Baird is clerk.
The teachers are, W. L. MacGowan, superintendent, Misses Gertrude Miller, Mary F. Hinds, L. Adelle Willis, Clara W. Curtiss, Lucy E. Hamilton, Edith E. Armstrong, Ella A. Cook, Elizabeth Goode, Mary A. Sweeting, Alice F. Raub, Mary E. Mathews, May L. Lowell, Mrs. Cora E. Pingrey, Misses Georgia McIntosh, Mary E. Ney, Gemella Crawford, Anna K. Feuchter, Hattie F. Crocker, Minnie E. Peck, Victoria E. Bailey, Alice James, Esther F. Barents, Ida A. Dickenson, Mary O’Meara, Ida A. Sanderson, Elnora L. Tate, Mary Larkin, Flora Brooks, Belle Parish, Mary Blackmer, Florence G. Sikes, Jane Simpson, Carrie E. King, Florence M. Breede, Mr. F. E. Mandeville.
The trustees of district No. 3 are A. C. Burlingham, M. J. Haugh. The teachers are F. W. Mundt, principal, Wm. Collins, Misses Agnes Coyle, Mary McCormick, Ella Grear, Minnie Maloney.
Olean has seven new and convenient school buildings, valued, with their grounds at $90,000. The principal of these are models in point of seating, lighting, heating, ventilation, and all that pertains to advanced modern ideas of educational institutions and the comfort and health of the scholars.
At present our academy stands high on the list of the state, and inasmuch as this progress is due to my associate teachers and their predecessors, and not to my influence, I may be allowed to state that each annual report finds us nearer the top of the list.
Our academic curriculum includes forty studies from which students and their parents may choose a course. In the natural sciences it includes botany, zoology, physic, physical geography, physiology, astronomy, chemistry and geology. In mathematics, algebra, geometry plane and solid, trigonometry, book-keeping and astronomy. In languages, German, French, Latin and Greek. In literature and history, American history, English history, Roman history, Grecian history, English literature and American literature, and in philosophy, moral philosophy, mental philosophy, political economy, science of government and logic.
There are five courses of study. First, the preparatory academic course; second, the English academic course; third, the German scientific course; fourth, the Latin scientific course, and fifth, the classical college-entrance course.
There have been 278 graduates from our preparatory academic course, 67
graduates from our English academic course, while 54 have finished the German scientific, Latin scientific and classical college-entrance courses receiving diplomas therefor. Many of our graduates go on into the colleges of our land. One-half of the graduating class of last June will take a college course, while a greater number of the class of ’89 will get a higher education. One fact in connection with the graduating class is worthy of notice. The average age of the graduates is being reduced so that last year we found it to be 17 years and 2 months.
The school library, in the pleasant library room in building No. 3, contains 1,800 volumes at present and will soon be enriched by a large appropriation from the state. The supply of chemical and physical apparatus for the academy, although not adequate is still not meager, having originally cost $1,200.
(Photo - John Sloane)
Nor has growth and progress been confined to the academic department. In the common school course, rapid strides to the front rank have been made. Development is no longer confined to the mental side of the child’s nature. The course in physical culture occupies a prominent place in our schools. Grace of movement and carriage are required and great benefit has resulted from this addition to the course. Formerly, the child was led to express thought almost entirely by spoken word, later on the expression of thought by means if the written page was incorporated into our methods with great benefit. Now we are endeavoring to add to these two principal means, two other modes of thought expression—viz. by drawing and by making. The subject of industrial drawing is receiving more and more attention.
The industrial department and workshop, though comparatively in its infancy, is a feature the benefits of which are growing in importance day by day. When the teachers are questioned about the boys who helped in our little work-shop, they almost always invariably tell me that they worked better afterward. They seemed to acquire an additional interest. Many times a half hour’s work in the shop has completely changed the conduct of a restless and unruly boy.
The board of education has recently introduced a saving bank system into the schools with the view of instilling habits of thrift and economy into the pupils and their homes. Deposits of one cent and upward are received by the teacher every Wednesday morning, and the pupils may draw money on Wednesday morning by giving notice of one week.
(Photo - Prof. E. D. Westbrook)
Every child is furnished with a school saving-bank book free. Checks, receipts and slips of deposit are also furnished by the board and every child above the 1st grade is required to fill them out. This is done not only for the protection of both pupil and teacher, but also to teach pupils to do business in a business way. The week the banking system was inaugurated $236 were deposited.
W. L. MacGowan.
A MINIMUM ON FREIGHTS
The matter of greater or less freights is an important one to every manufacturer. Prior to April 5th, 1887, the time of the inauguration of the provisions of the inter-state commerce law, it was catch-as-catch-can with the various cities as to which should be most favored in railroad rates. The cost of freight transportation was an unstable as the winds. Cut rate followed pool rate – one extreme the other, and each succeeding first of January terminated all. The law has leveled these inequalities and given permanency to the conditions which regular the carrying tariff.
The Olean rate is the same as the Buffalo rate, that is, rates between Olean and New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Cleveland, Detroit, St. Louis, Chicago and other commercial centers east, west, north and south, are identical with those to or from Buffalo and the same places, and the Buffalo rate is necessarily low because of the competition afforded by the Erie canal system to tidewater and the great lakes to the west. Water rates are always low, and Olean, by reason of geographical location, possesses the advantage accruing to Buffalo from this source.
While is on equal footing with Buffalo in the important matter of freights, she can offer manufacturers the further greater inducement of cheaper labor. And this is not at the expense of the laborer, but for the reason that most laborers own their own homes, and where rents are paid, because of cheaper rents and of cheaper living – advantages which cannot be possessed by populous and area-covering cities. Olean’s labor is dignified, intelligent and lives well. We have no "shanty-town."
PHOTO: RILEY & WANDS, Cor. Union and Sullivan Streets
PULP FROM HEMLOCK
A leading pulp manufacturer of the East who has a visiting acquaintance in Olean, in reply to an inquiry, wrote: "Your place is unsurpassed in this country for the manufacture of sulphite pulp from hemlock. Shipping facilities east and west are admirable, and another very important factor is water which can be obtained from wells and is thus uniform in purity thoroughout the year and not effected by freshet. The fuel, either coal or gas is an element of cheapness in manufacture, and combined with the class of labor that can be obtained in Olean, the freight facilities and water, render it possible to materially reduce the present cost of wood pulp."
OLEAN – IT’S NAME
Everts’ History Cattaraugus co., 1879
It appears that up to 1804 the stream went by the Indian name of Ischue or Ischua (floating nettles). From a letter written by Adam Hoops to Joseph Elliott, it appears that the former gentleman wishes to change the name from Ischua to Olean. The subjoined copy of the letter, furnished by Hon. George Van Campen, is the most authentic document bearing upon this subject now in existence:
Canadaigua, N. Y., April 15, 1804
To Joseph Ellicott, Esq., Batavia, New York
DEAR SIR – It was proposed to me at New York to drop the Indian name Ishue or Ishua
(it is also spelt other ways). Confusion might arise from the various spellings, of which to obviate all risks I have concluded so to do as proposed. the neighborhood of the oil spring suggests a name different in sound, though perhaps not different in meaning, which I wish to adopt – It is ‘Olean.’ You will do me a favor by assisting me to establish this name. It may be easily be done now by your concurrence. The purpose will be most effectually answered by employing the terms, when occasion requires, without saying anything of an intended change of the name. To begin, will greatly oblige me by addressing the first letter you may have occasion to write to me, after I receive the survey, to the mouth of Olean. The bearer being properly instructed, there will be thereafter no difficulty. Your co-operation in the matter (the effort of which, though not important in itself, may be so on account of precision) will oblige.
Your obed’t servant,
Whether or not Mr. Ellicott acted at the request of Adam Hoops is not shown, but from careful research we find no definite use of the name of "Olean" to the village proper until 1823. In his admirable series of articles on the early history of Olean, James G. Johnson, Esq., says:
"When the village was first laid out it was called Hamilton, in honor of the great and popular stateman, Alexander Hamilton, but the local designation of Olean Point was generally used, and in course of time entirely supplanted the name of Hamilton. There never was any formal change of names, the substitution of one for the other being made by common custom and consent. I think the first semi-official abandonment of Hamilton and adoption of Olean was in the authorized village map, published in 1823."
In a communication touching the establishment of the post-office at Olean, acting assistant postmaster-general James H. Marr states that the post-office was never officially named Hamilton, but was established at Olean in 1817
1810 – 458
The Rich Deposit which Underlays all of Western New York
When the pioneers of western New York were boiling the brickish waters of the few salt licks here and there found, they little suspected that a hundred feet of solid rock salt was beneath their feet. For all the light which science or state geologists could throw upon the subject, we should be in profound ignorance of its existence to the present hour. Somehow about the time a thing is wanted some one accidentlly or incidentally discovers it. Salt is no exception.
How discovered? It was in this wise. Years ago one of the staid worthy farmers of Middlebury, dreamed that under his farm was a valuable deposit. Night after night this dream was repeated. Finally he made an effort to discover whether his dream "was all a dream" by drilling with a spring pole to the depth of two hundred feet.
PHOTO: J. B. Smith
Nothing but shale rock rewarded his labor. Half a century passed. A son of the old man had made a fortune in oil. He remembered the efforts of his father, he remembered the dream also. Of course he did not believe in dreams but nevertheless for diversion merely, he resolved to put down a well on the old homestead. Result, the discovery of salt.
This was the beginning of the salt industry in what is known as the Wyoming salt field.
It may not be profitable to raise the question how this vast deposit of salt came here. After all our theorizing we have very little proved.
Warsaw was first after Middlebury to put down a test well and the success of the first venture induced others, in Warsaw, Rock Glen, Castile, Mt. Morris, Piffard, York, LeRoy and other places, to push the salt enterprises.
All this extensive business, revolutionizing a national industry, is the result of a vision of the night. Who shall say there is nothing in dreams?
All the processes of obtaining the brine, evaporating the salt and putting the product for market into bags and sacks marked "Liverpool," Ashton Dairy" and other popular brands are now well understood.
PHOTO: B. U. TAYLOR
It is dawning upon many, who must have foreign salt, that they have been paying an extra price for "pure Liverpool," made at Pearl Creek if not at LeRoy. It may do no hurt to know that branded sacks are sent into the Wyoming valley salt field by the car load, filled with as good salt as the world affords, shipped to New York and sent back and sold to those who think no good thing can be produced at home. the present capacity of all the plants in the Wyoming field is about 6,000 barrels per day.
In the town of York, near Piffard, is the Retsof mining company which has put down a shaft to the depth of one thousand feet. Here salt is mined on a large scale. Just step in with me and take a look at things. Never knew anything about a salt shaft? Well it is no marvel that you don’t for this is the only one in the United States. Over the shaft, that is sixteen by twenty-two feet, the company has erected a huge structure of great height and put in boilers and engines capable of developing nine hundred horse power. Take a standing seat in a car and go down to the salt rock. You will observe that the vein now being worked is twelve feet in thickness beneath your feet, below which is a solid salt rock thirty feet in thickness.
The rolls show eighty men engaged in mining, each of whom is furnished with a candle. Mining is done by blasting with powder, no dynamite is used. Twelve mules draw the salt to the shaft on railroads constructed and extended as the salt is taken out. Pillars thirty feet square are left to support the roof of the mine, only about one-half of the salt being removed.
Go up to top of the building and see the cars com up and dump themselves on to a huge screen, taking out all lumps the size of a two quart measure or larger. The balance goes on to rollers and is crushed and screened. The fine called No. 1, goes to the soda ash works at Syracuse. No. 2 is about the size of wheat, while No. 3 is coarser, up to the bigness of beans or larger.
All lumps go to supply a want on the ranches and sheep ranges as well as in city stables. Nos. 2 and 3 are popular with beef and pork packers; Chicago alone takes ten cars a day on a yearly contract.
Eight hundred tons is now the daily output, an amount but little less than the combined product of all the wells in the whole Wyoming salt field.
Another shaft is being sunk about half a mile from the first one, not for the purpose of hoisting salt, but to comply with the law requiring it for ventilation and as a means of escape for the miners in case of an accident. When another shaft shall be sunk in Pavilion at the Lackawanna junction with a a capacity equal to the Restof works, twelve thousand barrels per day, or the enormous amount of four and a half million barrels per annum, shall be brought to the surface and sent into the markets of the country, salt will not be an expensive necessity. That salt can be mined much more cheaply than it can be produced by artificial evaporation is now demonstrated; only one question remains to settle the future method of salt production: is the mined salt as pure as that crystallized in the grainer?
PAGE 22 – Picture caption: Olean Chemical Works
JUST FOR PLEASURE
Aside from the recreation and athletic sport afforded by boating upon the Allegany, Olean’s surroundings abound in opportunities for every day pleasures. There are miles of level drives, the equestrian paths of the woods, the sequestered river banks, the picnic grounds, the city of rocks, and the many and picturesque views attained from the adjoining mountains.
Further away, but subject to cent-a-mile summer excursion rates, are the varied and famous resorts of Western New York. Chautauqua, the seat of the C. L. S. C., and the promotor of laziness and learning; Lime Lake, an hour’s ride and the fisherman’s paradise; Silver Lake, the scene each year of a twenty thousand attended pioneer picnic, and of Methodist and temperance camp meetings; Cassadaga Lake, the resort of the spiritualists; the beautiful falls at Portage with historical surroundings and the high bridge of the Erie; charlotte, the Coney island of the interior, the Kinzua viaduct, the medicinal springs of Sizer and of Avon; the Niagara Falls and the chain of great lakes are all within a day’s visit. As another has said, "Nature’s boldest strokes and brightest bits of color, as well as her most delicate designs are grouped about our city’s walls."
In Turner’s description of the Holland purchase, mention is made of a place upon the "divide" in Allegany county a little east of the Cattaraugus boundary on the Olean road to Rushford, where the waters of the Canadea and oil (Olean) creeks approach each other, and in freshets mingle, affording the facility for trout to pass over the dividing ridge and thus from the St. Lawrence river to the Gulf of Mexico or vice versa.
PAGE 23 – Picture caption: W. H. Simpson, Chief of Olean Fire Department
PAGE 23 – Picture caption: Frank W. Higgins
THE FORMAN STOCK FARM
When one, in doing the sights of the city tires of the wonders of natural gas, the odors of refining and ceaseless din of the various factories, a restful contrast comes in a visit to the stock farm of Mr. George V. Forman---a contrast enjoyed by all, whether city folks or rustic. Here amidst most perfect surroundings is the scientific breeding and care of Jersey cattle studied and practiced, and here can be seen the highest types of bovine perfection. The farm is a rich man’s past-time. Many of the animals not bred by Mr. Foreman are of his own importation from the Isle of jersey, whence he makes occasional visits for the purposes of selection.
In summer over one-hundred of these fawn-colored cattle with glossy coats may be seen grazing upon the broad fields of the farm, or in winter safely housed under one roof where are gathered all the conveniences, even luxuries for cow housekeeping. To the right and left of a broad floor two-hundred and sixty feet long stand the cattle facing. Their stalls being open it front they are secured by a rope tied to a ring which slides upon a perpendicular pole, thus affording greatest freedom to their movements. Each stall is labeled with the name of its occupant. The cows are fed upon the floor, and watered from a series of suspended troughs, which, when not in use are carried above their heads and out of the way by pullies and weights. To the rear of the cattle are broad aisles and conveniently situated are spacious box stalls for the use of the dams and their offspring. The lighting and sanitary arrangements of the great barn are perfect. Five or six men are constantly at work about the place and the uniform courtesy they show visitors convinces one that he is prospecting upon a gentleman’ s estate, even though the master hand is not there. Adjoining buildings upon the same generous plan are occupied by the creamery, the feed mills with their power, the ensilage pits and the fodder storage.
Mr. Forman is a wealthy oil operator who sees in the care of these beautiful cattle the enjoyment of a pleasing fancy, and he lavishly expends of his fortune for the welfare of these pets.
"THE CITY OF NATURAL ADVANTAGES"
The appellation "City of Natural Advantages" was doubtless acquired
before half Olean’s advantages were known, though the exact source cannot
be traced. Its location within the ox-bow formed by the Allegany river
and Olean creek; the perfect drainage thus obtained upon three of its sides;
the fact that it is at the end of the backbone of the Allegany mountains
and at the junction of three widely diverging valleys which render a natural
passage way, and the only one from the north to the south between Binghamton
and Warren, for canals, railroads and highways; and being in the early
days at the head waters of Mississippi river navigation, evidently earned
for Olean the distinction which it enjoyed even before its advantages were
so largely augmented by the discovery of oil, gas, stone coal, iron, salt,
and other products.
PAGE 24 – Picture caption; "Fairview," Residence of R. O. Smith
THE WORLD’S LIGHT – ITS DISCOVERY, PRODUCTION AND SALES
Refined petroleum has become by its cheapness, the people’s light. In the United States are used 220,000,000 gallons a year. It goes all over Europe and the Orient. As one eloquently writes: "It blazes in Polynesia and far Carthay; in Burmah, Siam and Java the bronzed denizens toil and dream, smoke opium and swallow hasheesh, woo and win, love and hate, and sicken and die under the rays of this wonderful product of our faithful caverns."
The most important field for the production of the raw material – petroleum – is in a territory beginning in Allegany county, New York, and extending southwesterly through eight or nine counties of Pennsylvania, making a belt about one hundred and fifty miles long and from twelve to twenty miles wide, and then with an interval, running into Ohio, West Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee, and again into California and New Mexico, where the yield is as yet unimportant. In Russia, Europe, there is a limited territory, producing however, large quantities of oil. The quality however, is such that American oil successfully competes with it in most of the markets of the world.
The Pennsylvania fields, of whose product a greater quantity is stored at Olean, than at any other place, are the largest and most important in the world.
The discovery of oil may be said to properly date back only thirty years, although prior to the advent of the whites in this section, the Seneca Indians gathered it by means of hemlock boughs from springs upon the surface of which it appeared. This was called Seneca oil and was used by the Indians, and later by the white settlers for medicinal purposes. These springs resulted from the oil rock appearing or coming so near the surface as to allow its product to escape through water channels. They were first found along the present Oil creek in Pennsylvania, and one now exists near the village of Cuba in this state. In 1859 Col. E. L. Drake drilled the pioneer oil well, near Titusville. Oil was found at a depth of seventy feet and a hitherto unknown source of wealth discovered to the world. In 1860 with two thousand oil wells begun, the oil fever became universal. Towns and cities sprang up as by magic, full fledged and with all the ways of a metropolis. Fortunes were made quickly and fortunes as quickly lost. With petroleum at $10 a barrel in 1864 the wild-cat drill was swiftly plied, opening up and defining new territories. The excitement continued for some time, but gradually the production of petroleum settled into legitimate business channels, as the fast increasing production rendered the product less valuable. At this date, March 1889, one dollar a barrel for crude oil is being devoutly wished for, while the reigning price is from eighty to ninety cents.
Most oil lands are leased from the owners, at so much cash bonus per
acre and a 1/8 or ¼ royalty of all the oil produced. As each well
will drain the oil from a considerable distance about it, there is an unwritten
law regarded among oil producers that wells shall not be drilled within
such and such distances from the boundary line of another man’s land, and
the one who disregards this custom is held among the fraternity in about
the same light as a highwayman. Wells vary in depth in the Pennsylvania
fields from 1,200 to 2,000 feet, the work of drilling having been greatly
simplified and cheapened since the infancy of the industry.
SHOOTING A WELL
There are usually three strata of oil bearing sand rock in each well, the third being always the most prolific. Oil and gas are contiguous. The presence of gas in an oil well is sometimes of such volume when the vein is struck, as to throw the drilling tools out of the hole, and the oil and broken rocks far above the derrick. When these flows continue or occur periodically, after a well as been connected up to a storage tank, the well is called a flowing well. If either the gas or oil show signs of diminution, the well is "shot" or "torpedoed," an operation which every oil well is treated to sometime during its history. "Shooting" a well is exploding a quantity of nitro-glycerine in the oil bearing rock, thus breaking and loosening it up, making a larger reservoir and extending the cavern from which the well may draw, which usually increased the production of oil. Nitro-glycerine is one of the highest explosives known, and the handling of it is exceedingly dangerous. An accidental explosion recently at a factory at Bolivar Run was distinctly felt one hundred miles away, the sensations being attributed to an earthquake. The quantity of glyercine used varies from forty to two hundred quarts as in the judgment of the driller the case demands. It is enclosed in tin tubes or shells five inches in diameter and six feet long and by means of a hand reel and cord carefully let down to the bottom of the well, where the cord automatically frees itself from the bail and is reeled up for the second shell. Upon the top of the last shell is a procussion cap and when all are in place a glycerine torpedo with fuse attachment and loaded by an iron weight, called an explosive weight or "go-devil," is dropped into the well, and the sightseers if there are any, take to the woods. In an instant if the well is not too deep a slight shock is felt at the surface, and in another instance a terrific roar followed by a stream of oil, bearing rocks and fragments shoots high above the derrick, sprays for a moment or two like a huge fountain, and then settles back into the hole from which it came. The shooting of wells used to be controlled by the patents owned by one firm and the price was as high as $50 per quart. Now the Gallagher Bros. of Olean are the most extensive handlers of the explosive fluid, in the upper field, the price having brought by competition to $1.15 a quart. Nitro-glycerine is many times more powerful than gunpowder, and more dangerous in handling, as even a smart blow upon the can containing it will explode it – no first being necessary as with gunpowder. The towns and cities of the oil country have passed stringent laws prohibiting the explosive from being carried through their streets. The jolting of the spring wagon carrying it has caused its explosion – even the explosion of empty cans, and so fearful was the force in one instance of the latter that a great hollow was made in the ground, trees were stripped of leaves and branches, while the driver was positively and literally exterminated, the horses miraculously escaping unhurt.
PAGE 26 – Picture caption: National Transit Co’s Pump Station
Wells in which the force of gas is insufficient to raise the oil to the surface are attached to the machinery and pumped, either constantly or periodically according to the product. After a time in most flowing wells the pressure of gas lessens so as to become inoperative, but there are instances where it raised the oil for a number of years.
TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE
The history of pipe lines would be incomplete without a brief personal sketch of Mr. Daniel O’Day whom Olean reckons among its best acquaintances. Mr. O’Day was a country boy who, at the age of 18 went into the city of Buffalo without a dollar, and engaged as messenger with the New York Central railroad. His stubborn adherance to work rapidly gained him promotion, but when in 1864 the discovery of petroleum sent a thrill of excitement through the land, he was one of the first to seek the opportunity of winning a fortune in the new industry. From the first he was identified with the transportation of oil rather than its production and he was one who earliest conceived the practicability of a pipe line to the seaboard, and next to the parties who furnished the money for the enterprise deserves the credit of carrying it through.
PAGE 27 – Picture caption: Chas. Gillingham
PAGE 27 – Picture caption: L. E. Chapin, Secretary of the Board of Trade
PAGE 28 – Picture caption: Blighton-Imus Block, Union Street
This was so vast a scheme that most men would have shrunk from it in dismay. Thousands of wells were to be supplied with proper pipe line facilities, hundreds of dissatisfied producers to be conciliated, rival and contending interests to be arbitrated, and a universal prejudice against the innovation to be overcome. But Mr. O’Day was equal to every exigency, and to-day the great oil artery which has its origin in the Bradford filed, stretches over the hills and through valleys of the Empire state, and thence through the farms of New Jersey to the shores of New York harbor – a monument many hundred miles long to Mr. O’Day’s abilities. This work done, the builder of the seaboard line was made the Vice-President of the United Pipe Lines. Mr. O’Day is likewise the general manager of the National Transit Company, a member of the American Oil Company, president of the natural Gas Fuel Company and of the Brush Electric Light Company of Buffalo, and a large stockholder in many other successful oil country enterprises.
The National Transit company has pipe lines and storage tanks in every oil field. When the owner’s tank at the well is full, notice is given, and a gauger goes and measures it and runs the oil into the company’s large storage tanks, for which a certificate is issued the producer. For this storage a certain price per month is paid until such time as the owner desires to sell. The oil certificates of the National Transit Co., are considered as legal tender, being redeemable in cash any banking day at the market price of oil.
A recent number of the Youth’s Companion in an interesting serial, "Patrolling a Pipe," contains this: "The National Transit extends from Olean in western New York, eastward for a distance of three hundred and thirteen miles, to New York city. At Olean there are about three hundred storage tanks, some of which have a capacity of thirty-five thousand barrels each. The tanks are built of boiler iron, and are circular in form, with low, dome-shaped roofs. At one place in Olean they are something like city blocks and squares, with streets between them, and present a singular appearance – the aspect of a city of oil tanks. From this storage town a double line of six-inch pipes conduct the petroleum eastward. The pipes are made very strong, and at intervals of about thirty mile, there are pumping stations where large steam boilers, operating powerful pumps, force the oil forward, day and night on its journey to the sea coast. The last pumping station before reaching New York is at Saddle River, N. J. Here the line divides, one six-inch pipe going beneath the Hudson river and through the heart of Central Park and diving under the East river, to the refineries at Hunter’s Point on Long Island. The other branch, a double line of pipe, extends southward for thirty miles to Bayonne, in New Jersey, where the Standard Oil company has established the largest oil refinery in the world."
PAGE 29 – Picture caption: Wm. M. Irish. Second Vice-President Board of Trade
PAGE 29 – Picture caption: Hon. W. F. Wheeler
The pipe lines which go in as near a bee line as possible are patrolled each day their entire length. They are often laid upon the surface though intended to be slightly covered. The illustrations upon page 26 of the company’s pumping station at Olean gives a view of some of the storage tanks. The Olean section of piping and storage of which Mr. H. L. Scrafford is the superintendent, is the principal one between the field and seaboard. Its storage capacity of ten million barrels is much greater than at any other point in the world. The compound pumping engines, of which there are two of 450 H. P. each, displace a little less than a barrel of oil at each double stroke. The boilers, eight in number, are fired by natural gas which is introduced through the pipes seen entering the fire-box. Owing to hills between this city and Wellsville, the next pumping station, the pump here has a 900 foot head to work against.
An ingenious little traveler has been made to clean the lines from sediment and the parafine which collects in cold weather. It consists of two wheels shaped like the propeller of a steamboat and provided with S knives, so arranged, one before the other, that they revolve independently upon an iron shaft, at the tail of which is fastened a solid disc. This instrument is inserted into an oil line and the action of the pumps pushing the oil against the disc forces it forward which act induces the auger shaped knives to work and whittle their way through any obstruction liable to occur. This traveler or scraper goes at the rate of about four miles an hour, and can be distinctly heard grinding its way along. At every station, of which there are eleven between this city and New York, it is found necessary to replace the worn knives of the traveler with new ones.
The details of all that pertains to the production and manufacture of petroleum are very interesting treated in a little work* Price 10 cents. F. St. John, Gen. Pass. Agt., Chicago, Ill. published by the Rock Island Railway company.
* Price 10 cents. F. St. John, Gen. Pass. Agt., Chicago, Ill.
PAGE 30 – Picture caption: Wm. Horner
PAGE 30 – Picture caption: Capt. C. G. Thyng
For several years after the discovery of the processes of refining petroleum the only product considered of value was illuminating oil. Now all the products of the various distillations are utilized and become articles of commerce.
The acme Refinery plant of Olean has a daily capacity of 4,000 barrels of illuminating oils, naptha, etc., and a cooperage capacity of 2,500 oak barrels. An army of six hundred men is employed, and the products are shipped all over the world.
In the process of refining, the crude oil is first conducted to stills and there subjected to intense heat for from three to four days. These stills are huge boilers holding about 600 barrels each. The vapors arising from this combustion are conducted through worms of pipe submerged in cold water. The water is held in a large tank termed a condensing tank. The vapors circulating through the worms are condensed into liquid and run out at the tail-house, where the distillates are tested for gravity and directed to their proper destination.
First to pass off is from 10 to 20 per cent, of naptha, according to the quality of cruse, then that from which illuminating oil is made, leaving nothing but a dark residuum and coke in the stills.
The distillate is placed in elevated tanks called agitators, where it is treated with sulphuric acid and alkali from caustic soda, which results in bleaching and deodorizing. To complete the process and render the oil bright and transparent it is decanted into shallow tanks called bleachers, where it remains for a few hours and is then in condition to meet the requirements of the trade. The agitation is caused by air being forced in at the bottom of the tanks, which process keeps the liquid in a cold boil.
From the bleaching tanks the oil is piped to storage-tanks, and thence to the filling-rack, where a whole train of tank-card may be filled at once, or to the filling-station where a row of automatic fillers distribute the fluid into barrels – the stream stopping when the barrel is full.
The refinery has its own electric light plant and own fire department. It has its masons, carpenters, boiler makers, painters and plumbers and is in fact an institution complete within itself.
PAGE 31 – Picture caption: N. V. V. Franchot
PAGE 31 – Picture caption: M. W. Barse
Extensive quarries of blue stone and of white sand abound about Olean. The former are worked largely for other markets, any size or dimension which it is possible to procure in stone being easily obtained. The ledge, which is fifty feet in thick-ness produces monument bases, engine beds, stone for buildings, and the finest and smoothest kind of flag and side-walk stone. It is the only rock of its kind which does not become discolored by exposure to the elements.
Page 32- Photo: S. S. Bullis, First Vice-President Board of Trade
The white sand stone is used largely in railroad and foundation work.
There are quantities of sand rock ascertained to be 90 per cent. silica, which is valuable, and is used in the manufacture of glass. There are opportunities for the further and extensive development of these various quarry interests.
Notwithstanding that thousands of the population of Olean are wage-workers, a strike is unknown in its history.
A man cannot live in a hovel and be a good citizen. Careless surroundings beget careless habits, and breed lax principles. Children reared in slothfulness turn out badly. There is a spirit in honest toil which rises above a shanty – which seeks the comforts and conveniences of a frame building with carpeted floors, surrounded by the green-sward of thrift and backed by the garden of prosperity – a home in fact, that may rightfully be called the owner’s castle. It is of such that Olean prides itself. Desirable lots conveniently located can be purchased from $100 to $200 and neat dwellings erected for from $400 to $700. And best of all Olean capital seeks the investment at six per cent. Every inducement is offered workingmen to buy their homes; weekly, monthly or quarterly payments equal to rental value being accepted and applied upon purchase money. In some instances steady men renting, are given the option of having the rent money the pay applied upon the purchase of the house at the end of two years. The cheapness of lumber here and the opportunities offered for paying for a home render it incumbent upon any man, whatever his salary, to buy. The result is as may be imagined – a city of homes, and a contented and prosperous people.
Page 32 - Photo: F. L. Bartlett, Chairman of the Executive Committee
THE FUEL SUPPLY
COAL AND NATURAL GAS—
WHERE THE COST OF FUEL IS REDUCED TO THE MINIMUM
Proximity to the coal and gas fields renders fuel in Olean as cheap as anywhere in the world,
and has been an important factor in influencing manufacturers to locate here. The best grades of bituminous coal are delivered in Olean at from $1.75 to $2.00 at ton, and the price of gas is based upon the cost of coal. So general is the use of natural gas for heating, that it may be said to be the universal fuel for domestic purposes. It is used in furnaces, ranges, heaters, and grates, and the house that is not provided with it remains untenanted. It obviates ashes, dust, soot, the labor of handling coal and the trials of building fires. It lessens the duties and troubles of the kitchen queen just one-half. It is the acme of all other fuels.
Gas is used with economy under boilers and as motive power in gas engines. For producing steam an engineer’s services are dispensed with, the flow being regulated automatically. It is withal the cheapest, safest and best fuel known.
In 1878 there were not ten miles of natural gas pipe lines in the country; now there are over 7,000 miles of lines. Two-hundred companies, with a capital stock of over $100,000,000, are engaged in its production, transportation and sale, while over 300 devices have been patented to render its use harmless, healthful and inexpensive. It is asserted more money has been made from it in five years than has been made from oil in ten.
Oil and natural gas are the products of coal, and coal is the result of the geologist’s carboniferous age. While natural gas is found in oil wells, it is a condition which is not reversed. There are extensive gas fields with hardly a showing of oil. The three elements are contiguous however, and are all found in abundance within fifty miles of Olean.
Anthracite and bituminous coal are the products of the near sections of Pennsylvania, the one coming from the east and the other from the west side of the Allegheny mountains. It is the student’s theory that the volcanic eruptions which evidently disturbed the Eastern portion of the state, subjected what would have otherwise been bituminous or soft coal, to great heat and pressure, rendering it hard and eliminating impurities to the extent of more perfect crystallization. These Pennsylvania coal fields are the greatest of earth so far as discovered.
Aside from the supply of soft water afforded by the river and creek, a stratum of gravel underlying the entire town and its suburbs and varying from fifteen to thirty feet from the surface, gives an unexhaustible supply. This water is practically pure, and contains only 4 deg. of hardness, as ascertained by our resident chemist, Dr. W. H. Sage, which fact renders it particularly desirable for tanneries, paper-mills and other manufactories using large quantities and requiring it free from lime, and of even temperature the year through.
The city supply is obtained from this source by a series of driven wells, the consumption being about 100,000 gallons per diem. Water from the public works is not only utilized for domestic purposes and fire protection, but for driving machinery requiring from 10 to 15 H.P. A pressure varying from eighty to one-hundred pounds, according to elevation, is constantly upon the mains in every part of town, rendering protection against fire as nearly absolute as possible.
A town’s success depends upon the success of its people.
PAGE 34: PHOTO: TANNERY OF THE CLAFLIN MANUFACTURING
CO -Office High St., Boston, Mass
Unexcelled facilities for transportation-many and competing freight lines
The railway development which has covered Western New York and Northern Pennsylvania, with a network of steel, gives Olean peculiarly favorable railroad facilities, and makes this city central point from which lines of travel and traffic diverge like the spokes of a wheel. We are directly on the path of transcontinental commerce, with lateral lines extending in all directions.
Olean is one of the largest and most important points on the New York, Lake Erie & Western railroad, being located on the Western division 394 miles from New York. Besides the Erie, we are in direct connections with all the great trunk lines - the Central, the Pennsylvania, the West Shore, the Lackawanna and the Lehigh, affording competitive freight rates to every point in the country.
Olean is the center of the Western New York & Pennsylvania railroad system, its four important divisions converging here. The Buffalo division runs northward to Buffalo, there intercepting the various roads at that point. The Buffalo division also extends southward to Emporium, connecting with the Pennsylvania system. This division penetrates the Pennsylvania coal and iron districts and the great Pennsylvania hemlock belt, brining the products of these great slopes to our doors at comparatively small carrying expense. The coal and lumber tonnage of the road is enormous. The Valley division of the W.N.Y. & P., built along the bed of the abandoned Genesee Valley canal, has its southern terminus here, and extends to Rochester, passing through the Wyoming salt fields and traversing a rich farm and dairy country, the products of which are tributary to Olean. The river division of the same road, with northern terminus here, extends down the Allegany river valley to Oil City, reaching the lower oil country and also penetrating the Pennsylvania forest. The Narrow gauge division of the W.N.Y. & P. runs from Olean to Bradford, affording easy access to all points in the northern oil field.
Olean is the terminus of two divisions of the Lackawanna & Pittsburg railroad, the main line running to Wayland, NY where, through passenger connections are made with the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western; the Narrow gauge section extending through the Allegany oil field to Friendship and Angelica.
The Allegany & Kinzua railroad, owned and operated by Olean capital, extends into the heart of a vast and hitherto trackless forest, bringing its product to this city, where the lumber is prepared for market and distributed to the various lines of traffic centering here.
Thus these converging railroads furnish avenues for the transportation to this city of the natural resources of a rich and vast territory, which, by virtue of location and railroad development must pay tribute to Olean. This is the natural distributing point for the hard and soft coal, the lumber, the oil and the agricultural products of this section.
Three express companies - the American, the Wells-Fargo and the United States, and the Empire Line fast freight are doing business over the railroads centering in Olean, thus affording low express rates and unsurpassed facilities. Each company has an office in the business portion of the town.
One hundred and forty trains arrive at and depart from Olean daily,
and the facilities for either passenger of freight traffic are unsurpassed.
The freight rates to all points either east or west, are identical with
those of Buffalo.
With the Firemen
Where Practical Service Reduces Loss and Cuts Insurance Rates.
The Olean Fire Department of 200 men is a thoroughly equipped and skilled organization. With a perfect system of water works virtually covering the entire corporation at constant fire pressure, an extended conflagration is rendered impossible. The department is entirely of volunteer service, and maintained exclusively by the pride and patriotism of the individual members of the various companies, among whom at all times there is a spirited though generous rivalry. The fraternal feeling among firemen is at no time better developed than when one Olean company enters a tournament against organizations from other cities. The entire remnant of the department is placed at the command of the contesting representatives, and the matter becomes one of universal concern. A foreman is privileged to select the members of any other company to fill his quota, the matter of serving being deemed an honor. When it comes to coaching in any contest, that duty is always gladly taken by members of other than the company most directly interested. The proverbial good fellowship among firemen seems in Olean to be at its best. A victor returning from a triumphal tour is sure to be met at the train and escorted with becoming pomp to the banquet hall, where felicitous and congratulatory demonstrations are indulged by the entire department.
Page 36 - Photo: Sam H. Coon
Page 36 - Photo: J. M. Johnson
Luther Hose and Chamberlin Hook and Ladder companies have developed running teams of more than ordinary skill, while the handsome boys of Citizen Hose have made Olean famous upon dress parade.
The various companies have elegantly fitted parlors in connection with their apartments, and there are the trophies of victory, mementoes of excursions and the remembrances of interested fair ones tastefully displayed.
The Personelle (sic) of the department is as follows:
Page 37: Photo: First National Bank
Chamberlin Hook and Ladder Co. No. 1
Foreman, A. Peterson; First Assistant Foreman, L.N. Lang; Second Assistant Foreman, W. Smith; Secretary. J. I. Lang; Treasurer, A. T. Eaton; P. Bronold, G. A. Brooks, H. W. Chamberlain, W. H. Curtis, J. Cobb, C. E. Coursen, H. Dean, J. Dotterweich, T. Doyle, T. Dugan, C. Flagg, E, Finger, J. Gaspar, N. P. Gasper E. A. Homer, A. Happle, D. Hahn, C. Hatch, J. Hassett, S. Hughes M. B. Jewell, F. W. Kruse, N. Kemery, J. Knallay, E. McLaughlin, E. Parker, H. Pullman, C. I. Peterson, A. Z. Peckham, E. Ruchte, J. W. Radley, J. W. Roddy, H. A, Smith, C. Smith, J. Shaffer, H. Schamel, J. Sullivan, F. C. Starks, E. Tumser, A. Tumser, F. Vollmer, C. Wichert, J. Van Dusen, F. F. Vanderhoof .
Page 38 Photo: O. T. Higgins
FOUNTAIN HOSE Co. No. 1
Fountain Hose Co. No. 1 was organized August 2 1860, its headquarters are at First street and had 18 names now on its roll of membership. According to the annual report of its trustees in January last it owns personal property to the amount of $1,170. Its officers are, Foreman, W. H. Charles; First Assistant Foreman, C. O. Johnson; Second Assistant Foreman Foreman, J.W. Cook; Treasurer, A. A. Swarts; Secretary, W. L. Myrick; Trustees, A. A. Swarts, C. O. Johnson, J. H. Sigel. Its membership according to age in the company is as follows: A. A. Swarts, O.W. Hamiltom, J. M. Maurer, J. Oosterman, W. H. Charles, J. H. Sigel, W. Bosler, J. Seefried, C. O. Johnson, W. L. Myrick, J. Unferate, N. Asselta, J.W. Cook, W. A. Snow, J. Arnold, O. W. Pierce, George Brenner, E. McDade
CITIZEN HOSE No. 2
President, John Troy, Vice President, P. J. Duffy; Recording Secretary, C. L. Bedford; Financial Secretary, M. T, Jones; Treasurer, A. P. Pope; G. H. Strong; First Assistant Foreman, N. M. Smith, Second Assistant Foreman, L. Hunter. Members W. C. Albrecht, C. E. Andrews, J. C. Beden, C. I. Bedford, a. L. Colony, D. C. Conklin Jr., E. W. Conklin, L. G. Chamberlain, P. J. Duffy, J. B. Frawley, Charles E. French, J. D. Humes, L. Hunter, M. T. Jones, C. H. Martin, F. E. Morian, F. C. Mayer, J. Mayer, R. Mayer, George Mayer, G. S. Martin, W. L. Murphy, F. H. Oakleaf, James O’Brien, I. F. Pratt, A. P. Pope, N. M. Smith, John Troy, Thomas Troy C. G. Thyng, Fred Tarbell, C. Willard, W. C. Wood, P. A. Young.
LUTHER HOSE Co. No.4
President, C. Kiesel; Vice-President, W. Yingling; Foreman, J. M. White; Firat Assistant Foreman, John Allen; Second Assistant Foreman; D. J. Sirdervan; Recording Secretary, M. Lynch; Financial Secretary, M. J. Coffey; Treasurer, C. P. Luther; Members M. Sullivan, Henry Wagner, Thomas Etter, C. Storms, T. W. Coffey, J. Rounds, C. Angelbach, H. Strutter, S. McMahon, W. H. Moulton, J. Kiesel, J. Sirdevan, D. H. Brennen, James Etter, Ed Lee, S. Gallagher, T. Jones, J. Dunlavey, H. Kaine, Frank Allen, P. Toohey, F. Letts, T. Minehan, John Coffey, J. Toohey, C. E. Henderson, W. Kiely.
Page 38 Photo: C. E. Andrews
BARSE HOSE Co. No. 5
President William Quigley; Vice-President, T. Hancox;
Secretary, William Hannifan; Treasurer, J. Heim; Clerk, M. Garvey; Foreman,
D. McMillen; Assistant Foreman, C. Burleigh; Second Assistant Foreman,
N. Miller; Members, A. Moore, W. D. Parker, A. Schelin, A. Stegner, C.
Scheiterle, T. Garvey, H. O’Hara, M. Speisman, C. Blessing, G. Lampack,
A. Marth, G. Kopper, W. Roanolder, J. Vossaler, C. Gillingham Jr., R. Wood,
William Hannon, B. May, P. O’Keefe, T. Hannifan, J. Collins, R. Lippe,
J. Burt, T. Powers, William Haller, F. Shader, A. Frey, C. Meurer, C. Barber.
TURNER HOSE Co. No.6
President, A. J. Barhydt; Vice-President, W. H. Hodges; Secretary, F. C. Rapp; Financial Secertary, E. Yarton; Treasurer, P. A. Moynihan; Foreman; M. F. Hart; First Assistant Foreman, R. Milliken; Second Assistant Foreman, C. Quinlivan; Members, F. Minney, A. Johnson, M. J. Donnelan, George Washer, Joe Ubelhar, F. A. Burg, A, Haller, O. Lindstrum, J. Milliken, F. Horthcote, D. Lynch, Z. Poulson, John J. Fitzpatrick, A. Frey, D. J. Stull, C. Frey T. Haller, T. Milliken, H, McMahon, N. Russell, B. Brown, D. Merritt, M. Ringbauer, T. J. Davis, P. Devitt, J. Dorr Jr., J. Donnigan, F.Battles, W. Foss, J. C. Fowler, P. Kewsaw; Honorary Members, F. H. Steele, E. B. Burdick,M. D., D. Shine Jr. , T. B. Jordon, P. H. O’ Brian.
Page 39 Photo: W. E. Wheeler
Captain, James A. Smith; First Lieutenant, C. S. Hanks; Second Lieutenant, S. D. Linsly; Secretary, W. E. Reynolds; Treasurer, S. A. Mott; Trustee, three years, S. Cole; Trustee, two years, L. S. Whitney; Trustee one year, Hosea Rhodes.
One of the chief purposes of the Olean Board of Trade is to gratuitously serve those who are looking for business locations. Any person in position to investigate Olean’s claims is cordially invited to correspond with the secretary.
"THE OLEAN IDEA"
The secretary’s first annual report to the Board of Trade shows that $13,408 cash and land to the value of $11,255, in all $24,663, has been voluntarily donated by citizens and given new manufacturing industries that located there the past year. The report says: "Besides this gratuity we have voluntarily subscribed $49,000 for church purposes, and voted for extraordinary water, school and sewer purposes $28,000 making $101,763 virtually contributed as a free will offering for the public welfare. This again, is outside ordinary annual expenses for schools, water department, municipal expenditures, and state and county support which amount to $69,655 and make a grand total of $171,418." While these figures seem large, the actual tax rate in Olean is lower than that of towns of any magnitude which possess and enjoy the same advantages.
Page 39: Photo: John Coast
The Jamestown News says: Olean has a Board of Trade that is not in the corpse-like condition in which similar organizations are too frequently found.
Page 40 Photo: Acme Oil Company’s Plant
The Devotees of the Mystic Tie
Olean Lodge, No. 252, Free and Accepted Masons. - Master, John Sloane;
Senior Warden, J. A. Barhydt; Junior Warden, E. H. Austin; Treasurer, C. S. Stowell; Secretary, C. S. Hanks; Senior
Page 41 Photo: James Kelsey
Deacon, A. C. Burlingham; Junior Deacon, E. F. Holiday; Masters of Ceremonies, C. O. Holliday and H. F. Lee; Tyler, Mark James - Organist, G. H. Gillett; Trustee, M. Southeron.
Olean Chapter, No. 150, Royal Arch Masons - High Priest, W. V. Smith; King, W. L. Myrick; Scribe, J. A. Barhydt; Treasurer, C. S. Stowell; Secretary, E. H. Austin.
Olean Council, No.144, Royal Templars of Temperance - Select Council, F. D. Howlett; Vice Councilor, Mrs. E. A. Munger; Financial Secretary. W. H. Weaver; Recording Secretary, T. M. Kriss; Herald, B. U. Taylor; Treasurer, Chas. Gillingham; Chaplain, Mrs. C. Wagner; Sentinel, J. G. Pegler; Guard, Kittie Grossman; Organist, Mrs. W. A. Rapp; Representative to Grand Council, W. H. Weaver; Alternate, L. P. Abbott; Medical Examiner, Dr. J. E. K. Morris.
Olean Lodge No. 471, Independent Order of Odd Fellows - N. G., George Shiber; V. G., C. M. Thorn; Secretary, N. Reynolds; F. S., Martin Derrig; Treasurer, J. H. Smith; R. S. N. G., R. R. McNeille; L. S. N. G., J. P. Caldwell; C., H. Bartow; W., H. Wagner; R. S. S., W. Hucks; L. S. S., C. Burleigh; I. G., M. T. Wilkins; O. G., H. S. McNeille.
Olean Equitable Aid Union, No. 229 - President, W. H. Beers; Vice-President, Mrs. Thos. Randolph; Secretary, H. E. Dickinson; Treasurer, Chas. Moodler; Chancellor, Davis Harris; Accountant, A. H. Rogers; Advocate, E. Seaman; Auxiliary, Miss Maud Wheaton; Chaplain, Mrs. Wm. Farr; Warden, Mrs. W. R. Page; Watchman, Mrs. M. N. Hamilton; Trustee, W. M. Farr; Medical Examiner, J. C. Richards, M.D.; Representative to Grand Union, J. C. Richards; Alternate, Thos. Randolph.
Court Acme, No. 6793, Ancient Order of Foresters - C. R., J. Jackson; S. C. R., C. Biddlecombe; R. S., J. W. Davis; F. S., C. Frey; T., J. A. Barhydt; C. P., E. B. Burdick; S. W., C. McCready; J. W., H. Uhl; S. B., W. Ayrault; J. B., A. Frey; Trustee, J. W. Davis.
Young Mens’ [sic] Hebrew Association - President, H. W. Marcus; Vice-President, I. Max Fischer; Secretary, Simon Reich; Treasurer, David Harris; Trustees, Joe Heilbrun, C. Cohn, H. J. Harris; Librarian and Janitor, Joe Barney.
Page 41 Photo: I. E. Ackerly
Olean Lodge, No. 273, Knights of Pythias - C. C., R. E. Miller; V. C., W. H. Preckle; P., E. B. Moore; K. R. and S., J. M. Maurer; M. of F., E. Yarton; M. of E., J. A. Barhydt; M. at A., J. C. Hamilton; Representative to Grand Lodge, J. A. Barhydt; Alternative, R. E. Miller.
The City Club - President, N. V. V. Franchot; Vice-President, C. W. Green; Secretary, I. E. Worden; Treasurer, C. S. Stowell; Executive Committee, Wm. Horner, W. C. Winsor, L. E. Chapin, G. H. Strong, G. H. Bussell.
Olean Branch 53, Catholic Mutual Benefit Association - President, Thos. Gilligan; 1st Vice-President, John Curran; 2nd Vice-President, J. McMahon; Recording Secretary, William Collins; Assistant Recorder, A. M. Coyle; Financial Secretary, J. A. Heberle; Treasurer, J. B. Frawley; Marshall, M. O’Day; Guard, P. McCarton; Trustees, Joseph Mutchlechner, John Sheehan and P. Connelly.
Riverside Tent, No. 10, Knights of Maccabees - Past Sir Kt. Com., W. H. Nourse; Sir. Kt. Com., Geo. Walhauser; Lt. Com., Geo. Bemis; R. K., W. I. Midbery; F. M., W. R. Wright; Pre., Nathan Danzinger; Sergt., August Kluge; M. at A., Christian Slencker; 1st M. of G., Anthony Jahn; 2nd M. of G., Godfried Leichtie; Sentinel, Geo. Feuchter; Picket, Ambrose Chesner.
Medical and Surgical Club - President, M. C. Follett; Vice-President, W. H. Sage; Secretary, S. J. Mudge; Treasurer, W. C. Dallanbaugh.
Page 42 Photo: Dr. Barrows
Knight of Honor, Olean Lodge, 2117 - P. D., H. F. Lee; D., J. A. Brende’l [sic]; V. D., Henry Gerstenberger; A. D., C. P. Woodard; Reporter, C. H. Rockwood; Financial Reporter, W. C. Winsor; Treasurer, H. C. Whipple; Chaplain, O. L. Davis; Guide, J. A. Johnson; Guardian, Lee Smith; Sentinel, A. C. Burlingham.
Olean Council, 869 Royal Arcanium - Past Regent, N. V. V. Franchot; Regent, C. H. Rockwood; Vice-Regent, F. W. Kruse; Orator, Dr. S. J. Mudge; Chaplain, Rev. J. W. Ashton; Secretary, H. F. Lee; Collector, M. I. Page; Treasurer, C. A. White; Guide, L. T. Mudge; Warden, O. P. Ross; Sentinel, W. A. Rapp.
Olean Council, No. 33, R. & S. M. - T. Ill. M., W. L. Myrick; R. Ill. D. M., A. A. Swarts; Ill. Prin. C. of W., Jno. Sloane; Treasurer, C. S. Stowell; Recorder, C. S. Hanks; Capt. Of G., H. Hartman; Comd’r. of C., E. H. Austin; Steward, W. B. Hill; Sentinel, Mark James.
St. John’s Commandery, No. 24 Knight Templars - Em. Com., F. W. Higgins; Generalissmo, E. A. Homer; Capt. General, M. Southeron; Treasurer, Frank L. Bartlett; Recorder, F. J. Martin; Sen. Warden, Geo. S. Bussell; Jun. Warden, A. A. Swarts; Standard Bearer, S. S. Truax; Sword bearer, Jno. Sloane; Guards, Jas. Barhydt, R. E. Miller, C. L. Bedford; Warden, W. L. Myrick; Sentinel, Mark James.
Olean Legion No. 7, Select Knights - P. C., W. A. Oosterhoudt; C., E. H. Dennison; Vice C., Ed. F. Halliday; Lt. C., Joseph Wilson; Recorder, G. W. D. Baird; F. T., F. S. Oosterhoudt; T., Julius Holzberg; S. B., O. W. Godfrey; S. W., J. M. Williams; J. W., Ira Chappell; Guard, James Jewalds.
Crescent Lodge, No. 60 - P. M. W., Thos. Randolph; M. W., C. M. Thorn; F., E. J. Varney; O., John Newman; Recorder, O. W. Godfrey; Fin., F. S. Oosterhoudt; Receiver, W. A. Oosterhoudt; Guide, Joseph Wilson; I. W., R. Hersh; O. W., A. M. Taylor.
German Relief Association - President, John Herald; Recording Secretary, Paul Tumser; Financial Secretary, C. Lippert; Treasurer, W. Thurman; Trustee, John Fink.
Page 42 Photo: A. T. Eaton, Member of the Executive Committee
Light of the West Lodge, F. & A. M. (Colored) - W. M., T. I. Sanders; S. W., T. H. Barnes; I. W., W. W. Virginia; S. D., George Clark; I. D., W. H. D. Parker; Secretary, George Middleton; Treasurer, Ed. Bonner; Tiler, Abram Mabey.
G. D. Bavard Post, No. 222, Dept of N. Y., G. A. R. - Commander, J. H. Thompson; S. V. C., A. G. Crandall; J. V. C., Wm. Whelpley; Chaplain, J. W. Ashton; Surgeon J. L. Eddy; O. D., S. J. Daniels; Q. M., I. V. Filkins; O. G., Geo. Feuchter; Adjutant, Jno. Merrill; Sergt. Major, E. N. Crandall; Q. M. Sergt., D. S. Yard.
J. L. Eddy Encampment, Sons of Veterans - Captain, Chas.Yaw; First Lieutenant, A. J. Councilman; Second Lieutenant, William Whelpley; Chaplain, Sylvester Cole; First Sergeant, Jno. Unferfate Jr; Quartermaster Sergent (sic), D. McMillen.
Olean Lodge, No. 378, A.O.U.W. - P.W.M., W.D. Chamberlin;
M.W.L.O. Tafel; F., Geo. H. Luther; O. Chas Rogers; R. J. P. Johnson; F.,
C. F. Thurber; Record, N. T. Holmes; G., Joseph Smith; I. W., Richrad McKee;
O.W., A.H. Clark.
Page 43 Photo: F. H. Oakleaf
How One Town Avoids Strikes
From the Albany Evening Journal.
In Olean, where an increase of 25 per cent in population has been provided for in the last three months by additions to its manufacturing industries, through the organized efforts of a board of trade, the capitalists have inaugurated a novel movement which not only aids materially in the growth of the place, but gives such advantages to the laboring men that the chances for strikes and kindred troubles are reduced to the minimum. Any manufacturer locating in Olean is guaranteed homes for his employes built after their own plans and supplied to them at actual value, the tenants paying thereon the rental price of from $5 to $8 per month. Thus is left with the laborer the option of owning his own home, or of paying rent, the terms in either instance being the same, save in the matter of interest upon the unpaid portion, in case of purchase. This the capitalist takes as his profit upon the transaction. In the one instance the man who buys his home paid for it in a few years; in the other the tenant pays in the same time nearly as much, and owns nothing. The example of the moneyed men of Olean is worthy the emulation of those in other towns who growth is retarded by the too conservative policy of capital.
The Westbrook Commercial College.
This college has become an established institution in our city, and Prof. Westbrook’s well known and thorough qualifications are a certain guaranty of its future prosperity and rapid growth. The school is conducted upon honor, and merit s the public confidence, which it receives. The curriculum is the result of several years of experience and careful observation, and its fully acquaints the student with every form of business and how to transact it in the most intelligent and accurate manner. The principal s reputation as a practical educator has been earned by hard and persistent labor and unselfish devotion to the interest of his pupils. The school was a success from the very beginning and its reputation for thoroughness has been such as to attract a number who have attended business colleges elsewhere to take an additional course here. This speaks volumes for the school; and with its able corps of able instructors the Westbrook Commercial College is a credit to the city, and we predict for it a bright and prosperous future. We do not write this note for pay nor at Mr. Westbrook s request, but because we believe in saying a good word for those who deserve it.
Page 43 Photo: C. S. Stowell, Treasurer of the Board of Trade
The Citizen Soldiery.
The 43d Separate Company N. G., S. N. Y., organized and located at Olean is one of the best companies of the state militia. Its membership is made up with reference to soldierly qualifications, so that the skill and ardor of the officers result in intelligent and enthusiastic work by the company. A new armory costing $ 30,000, an illustration of which is given in these pages will be completed this year. The following is the roster of the company:
Captain, C. G. Thyng; First Lieutenant, H. F. Lee; Second Lieutenant, R. M. Whitney; Assistant Surgeon and Fist Lieutenant, S. J. Mudge; Sergeants, L. T. Mudge, G. A. Brooks, E. W. Bevier, A. L. Colony, P. D. Spaulding; Quarter Master Sergeant, J. E. Gallagher; Corporals, H. A. Smith, E. E. Benedict, J. J. Nichols, E. W. Johnson, G. D . Miles, C. H. Martin, C. B. Potter; Members, C. E. Baish, F. A. Ball, R. J. Blighton, C. E. Burge, M. D. Chaffee, W. L. Clark, D. C. Conklin, Jr., F. B. Conrad, C. S. Cooper, H. H. Lockwood, D, McMillen, A,. Moore, C, Mudge, J. H. O Mears, A. Z. Peckham, F. C. Peckham, E. W. Pierce, G. B. Reese, C. R. Root, C. S. Rugg, J. Shaw, H. Sigel, F. P. Smith, H. M. Smith, J. H. Sirdevan, J. H. Van Dusen, C. M. Wager, H. Wagner, E. N. Yates, E. E. Young, I. W. Councilman, C. O. Curry, F. A. Dean, A. DeKay, P. J. Duffy, B. Duffy, F. L. Easton, L. W. Ellsworth, L. M. Fisher, A. Freeman, E. M. Gould, C. C. Griffin, A. Harrison, G. Hart, A. J. Hasting, F. E. Holley, L. Hunter, G. P. Jackson, F. H. Kelly, E. J. Kelly, A. Kent, P. L. Krotts, E. F. Kruse, G. F. Holley, Oscar Wilkins, O. R. Wilkins, H. H. Weber, A. M. Taylor, S. B. A. Bradner, R. I. Feltham, C. W. Worden, C. F. Yaw, C. H. Balch, J. P. Heysel.
Page 44 Photo: 43d Sept. Co., N.G.S. N.Y. Armory
The Forman Library
The officers of the Forman Library and Free Reading rooms are:
President - F. W. Higgins.
As showing the status of this well managed and popular institution, the following from the last annual report will serve best:
In January 1888 Mr. Geo. V. Forman very generously offered, upon certain conditions, to convey to the Olean Library Association a building and grounds admirably adapted to the wants of a library. One of the conditions was that the association should be duly and properly incorporated. Another was that the library should be endowed for reasonable amount. Owing to the large demands which had been and were being made on the public spirited citizens of our community, it was thought by some of the board almost impossible to secure such an endowment as would warrant the acceptance of Mr. Forman’s liberal proposition. The ladies, however, organized to the number of two-hundred, and soon a carnival was planned and well under way when Mr. Forman supplemented his offer with the addition sum of $1000 if $5,000 more could be raised. In eight days the required $6000 was subscribed and before the first of March $810 more.
The carnival was held Feb. 26, 27, 28, and March 1, and netted $1,683.86. Of this $849 were placed in the endowment fund with $336 subscribed by the ladies as dues, and the remaining $834.86 in the available fund.
By the generosity of the people of this community and its friends and the marked success attending the ladies society, the following amounts have been raised and on
Feb 28 we received a deed from Mr. Forman of the premises to which the library was moved on April 2, and which it now occupies:
Received for Endowment Fund:
Making the Endowment fund, $8,000.00
Page 45 Photo: J. E. Rooney
THE LIFE OF OLEAN
From the Randolph, N.Y. Courant:
The Board of Trade of Olean, the metropolis of Cattaraugus county, held its annual meeting and election last Friday, and for a yearling organization is entitled to much praise. The Secretary’s report shows that its labors have been of great advantage to the manufacturing interests of the town, and a continual boom for the past year the result.
The Chadwick Carts,
another important industry established in Olean.
A picture of "The Late Samuel Homer" is in the center of the page.
From Daily Times April 22, 1889.
The latest addition to the constantly increasing list of Olean’s manufacturing industries is the "Chadwick Patent Road Carts," of which some mention has already been made in these columns. The cart will be manufactured by C. G. Thyng & Co.
The new industry is backed by an abundant capital, and the gentlemen engaged in it are men of enterprise, push and business sagacity. The vehicles to be manufactured, which are covered by the Chadwick patents, are recognized as being superior to anything in their line, and there is every reason for believing that the enterprise will develop into a large and successful business, giving employment to many skilled workmen and correspondingly benefiting the town. The new firm took possession of the shops yesterday, and has begun operations. It will take a week or ten days to get business thoroughly organized, when twenty-five or thirty skilled workmen – wood-workers, painters, blacksmiths and trimmers – will be employed. As the business grows the working force will be increased, and we look to see this become one of our leading manufacturing enterprises.
C. G. Thyng & Co., will manufacture three standard styles of the Chadwick carts – the Ladies’ Park Phaetons, the Physicians’ Favorite and the Combination Sulky and Road Carts, all covered by letters patent, the manufacturing firm have the exclusive rights for the United States and Canada. The inventor is Mr. Charles E. Chadwick, late of Syracuse, N.Y., who now is a resident of this city. Mr. Chadwick has had a wide experience in handling this class of vehicles and will be the salesman and representative of the firm.
The special point of superiority which the Chadwick carts possess over others of the same general style is the entire absence of what is commonly called "horse motion." The disagreeable jogging and jolting motion, experienced in riding in all other kinds of two-wheeled vehicles, is overcome in the Chadwick carts by a patent self-adjusting joint or stirrup in which the body hangs entirely free from the shafts. This is one of the principal appliances covered by the patents, and is something entirely new in cart building, and is the essential point of superiority over all other styles. By this means the vehicle is perfectly balanced on the axle, and while obviating the "horse motion," also reduces the weight on the horse’s back so that it is no more than an ordinary pair of buggy shafts.
The Ladies’ Park Phaeton is elegant in style, proportion and finish, combining convenience, safety, utility and durability. The body hangs very low on the patent joint, cross and C springs, and is perfectly balanced on the axle, consequently being especially adapted to the use of ladies, children, aged people, or indeed for general business purposes where convenience in entering and alighting and comfort to the rider are the important considerations. The park phaetons will be made with ordinary leather top or with canopy top. They will also make a ladies’ open park cart, the same in general style, trimmings and finish as the phaeton, without the top. These are stylish and handsome vehicles and are very popular.
The Physician’s Favorite Cart combines all the points of comfort, safety and convenience of the park phaetons, and is constructed with the special object of supplying the physician with a vehicle which will meet all his requirements. The low hang of the body renders it easy of ingress and egress, and is of the lightest draught and without weight upon the horse’s back. The inventor has experimented for five years to produce a cart which would be practical and serviceable to the physician, and such a vehicle has now been produced. Owing to the perfect balance of the cart, it can be used with either shafts or pole which can be done with no other two-wheeled cart.
The Combination Sulky and Road Cart, which will be made a specialty and pushed for all it is worth, strikes us as the easiest-riding, lightest, strongest, most convenience fine cart for horsemen ever produced. It is convenient to enter and alight from as it has no seat bar to step over. The rider is also relieved of all disagreeable side or throwing motion found in other carts when wheel drops into ruts or strikes stones on the road. This great improvement is accomplished by means of the spring hanging in stirrup, connected to shaft by means of the patent oscillating joint, which also lessens the strain on wheels and shaft to a very large extent. It can be used as a sulky as it has stationary stirrups back of cross-bar on shafts, same as sulky, giving direct pressure lengthwise of the shafts in speeding, patent adjustable foot rest or slat bottom which can be taken out or put in place in the shortest possible time, and with great convenience, by simply removing three thumb nuts under seat, allowing the horse to be hitched nearly as close as to a sulky, with no danger of striking when speeding, making the most desirable cart ever produced for that purpose. Wherever shown, this cart has already become a great favorite among horsemen, and is destined to have an immense sale.
Page 47 has pictures of five unlabeled churches in Olean.
Hubbard & Blake of Boston Locate an Upper Leather Tannery.
A picture of Chas. F. Persons centers the column
Since the previous pages of this work went to press, the Board of Trade has consummated arrangements with Messrs. Hubbard & Blake, gentlemen well known to the leather trade, by which they will immediately erect an upper leather tannery at Olean, having a capacity of from 2,500 to 3,000 sides a week, and employing from 125 to 150 men.
This last makes five large tanneries that have located at Olean within eighteen months. They are:
Wright, Clark & Co.;
The recognized conservatism and business ability of these firms commends to tanners generally a consideration of the subject of getting nearer the bark supply. Labor here is cheaper, bark is worth but about half what it is in Boston, and railroad rates and freight facilities are low and unsurpassed.
A Boston Opinion
A picture of Thos. A. Blanchard is featured
There are boards of trade and boards of trade.
This Olean Board of Trade appears to
be a business organization which finds plenty of business to prosecute.
Its object is to "promote trade and manufacture," and it goes about it
in such a thoroughly practical fashion that it states that it has made
such additions to the manufactories of the town within the past three months
as will add 25 percent to the population. As an auxiliary to this movement
or new manufacturing, the capitalists of Olean have arranged to provide
all workmen who may desire them with houses, built according to their own
ideas, at actual value, payment to be made at exactly the rate which would
be paid for rent, with interest on the cost added.
Pictures of W. H. Conklin and Dr. F.
H. Bartlett on p. 49
Institutions Incorporated by the State
Olean Athletic Association: President, Thos. Troy; Vice-president, A. T. Eaton; Treasurer, S. K. Foote; Secretary, George Borden; Directors, J. M. Johnson, J. H. McCormick, J. T. Baxter.
Olean Board American Building and Loan Association: President, J. V. D. Coon; Vice-president, C. H. Rockwood; Secretary, E. E. Alderman; Treasurer, I. E. Chapin; Attorney, F. W. Kruse; Directors, C. E. Andrews, Prof. W. L. MacGowan, Charles T. Clayton, W. H. Simpson, A. P. Pope, Dr. F. H. Bartlett and H. S. Sartwell.
Olean Agricultural and Mechanical Association: President, N. V. V. Franchot; Vice-president, W. D. Moore; Secretary, L. E. Chapin; Treasurer, F. L. Bartlett; Directors, Geo. S. Bussell, C. S. Stowell, F. L. Bartlett, James M. Homer, A. T. Eaton, S. S. Bullis, W. F. Coast, F. N. Godfrey, W. D. Moore, N. V. V. Franchot, John Dusenbury, W. T. Noble.
Olean Electric Light and Power Co.: Directors, J. V. D. Coon, Wm. M. Irish, N. V. V. Franchot, James Kelsey, M. C. Follett, C. S. Stowell and F. W. Higgins; Inspectors, L. E. Chapin, I. E. Worden.
First National Bank: President, Wm. F. Wheeler; Vice-president, J. E. Dusenbury; Cashier, A. T. Eaton; directors, W. F. Wheeler, E. G. Dusenbury, A. W. Miner, J. E. Dusenbury, W. E. Wheeler, L. F. Lawton and A. T. Eaton.
Exchange National Bank: President, Mills W. Barse; Vice-president, Geo. V. Forman; Cashier, Frank L. Bartlett; Directors, Geo. V. Forman, Frank L. Bartlett, R. O. Smith, C. S. Cary and Mills W. Barse.
The Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Company: President, S. S. Bullis; Secretary and Treasurer, F. L. Bartlett; Auditor, J. E. Rooney; Surveyor, General J. W. Wiggins; Directors, S. S. Bullis, Olean; O. H. Smith, G. L. Backus, Boston; C. L. Backus, S. J. Gifford, Smethport; M. P. Dunbar, New York; Peter McNeil, Buffalo; F. E. Brooks, Bradford; F. L. Bartlett, Olean.
Allegheny & Kinzue R. R. Company: President, S. S. Bullis; Vice-president, L. J. Backer; Secretary, C. D. Williams; Treasurer and Auditor, J. E. Rooney; Superintendent, C. D. Williams; Directors, S. S. Bullis, F. E. Brooks, J. E. Rooney, G. L. Roberts, C. D. Williams, R. L. Edgett, J. E. French.
Coudersport & Port Allegany R. R.: President, John Knox; Vice-president, C. S. Cary; General Superintendent, B. M. McClure; Secretary, A. B. Mann; Treasurer, M. W. Barse.
Olean, Bradford & Warren R. R.: Leased by the W. N. Y. & P. R. R. Co. – President, C. H. Allen; Vice-president, A. G. DeCoursey; General Manager, G. S. Gatchell; General Freight Agent, E. T. Johnson; Attorney, C. S. Cary; Division Superintendent, J. W. Watson; Master Mechanic, C. E. Turner.
Higgins’ Land Company – Offices Olean and Duluth, dealers exclusively in pine lands: President, O. T. Higgins; Vice-president, Wm. N. Smith; Treasurer, M. W. Barse; Secretary, F. W. Higgins.
Olean Land Co. – Pine lands and lumber, offices at Olean and Duluth: President, Giles Gilbert; Vice-president, E. K. Wood; Treasurer, O. T. Higgins; Secretary, F. W. Higgins.
Buffalo Street Land Co: President, F. H. Bartlett; Vice-president, Geo. E. Ramsey; Secretary and Treasurer, E. E. Alderman.
National Saving and Loan Association:
President, M. C. Follett; Vice-president, J. P. Caldwell; Secretary, H.
D. Sibley; Treasurer, W. H. Sage; Attorneys, Thos. Storrs and L. T. Mudge.
Men We Meet
Incidents in the Lives of Some of the Best Known Men of Olean
PROF. W. L. MACGOWAN
Professor MacGowan is a native of Ayr, Scotland. For nearly nine years he attended the schools of Liverpool, Eng. He came with his parents to Chautauqua County, N.Y., and there lived till the age of sixteen. In 1878 he finished the classical course in the State Normal School at Fredonia, N.Y. He began to teach in Chautauqua County and ultimately accepted the principalship of the school at Kendall Creek in Pennsylvania. To still further perfect himself, he spent nearly two years at Heidelberg University, Germany, taking a special course in science, and while there, in company with a companion, he made a tour on foot through France, Germany, England, Holland, and Belgium, visiting the most important schools of those countries. Returning to America, he was offered the Kendall Creek school again, but finally went to Smethport, Pa., and as principal officiated for three years. He was elected superintendent of the Olean schools in 1887, since which time he has presided over them with distinguished credit. Prof. MacGowan is an able and decidedly progressive instructor. He has instituted many new and pleasing features in the schools, principal among which are the savings bank and industrial departments. He is a member of McKean Lodge, No. 388 of Bradford Chapter No. 260, Bradford, Pa., of Trinity Commandery No. 58, Bradford, Pa., and of Pittsburg Consistory, having reached the thirty-second degree. He belongs to the Presbyterian church.
HON. JAMES PIERCE
Hon. James Pierce, senior member of the tannery firm of Jas. & W. P. Pierce & Co., is a resident of the city of Malden, Mass. His business interests at Olean command much of his time, and he has come to be regarded almost as a resident. At his home he takes a prominent part in public affairs, having been a member of the city council since its organization and its president five years. He was representative to the general court for three years; senator two years; inspector of the state prison four years; justice of the peace 14 years. He has been a member of the Middlesex County Republican Committee and several years its chairman; is chairman of the senatorial district committee. He has held the position of a member of the standing committee of the Baptist Society, and for many years was chairman of that body. He was vice-president and trustee of the Malden Savings Bank for about twenty years, and at the present time is president of the bank. He is also a director in the Malden National Bank, the Freeman’s National Bank of Boston, and the Boston Belting Company.
B. U. TAYLOR
Mr. Taylor is one of the leading supply dealers, contractors and builders in our city. He has a practical knowledge of work from cellar excavation to chimney top – as well as of the price and quality of all kinds of materials used in the construction of a building of any kind. Among the features of his business to which he gives particular attention is setting boilers and the construction of tan burning ovens and saw dust furnaces. For the last two he has the most improved and perfected plans. The ovens are so constructed that the tan bark dripping from the vats is burned without further process – making a great saving of fuel. Mr. Taylor has remodeled or built nearly all the furnaces for the tanneries and saw mills in the region, and gained for himself the reputation of an expert among users of power and consumers of fuel. The following is a clipping from the Olean Daily Herald of recent date: "Mr. B. U. Taylor is known as authority on all matters pertaining to boiler setting, and for the past two years has made it his special study to so construct an oven that it would successfully burn wet tan bark and sawdust, and the number of new ovens built the past year, besides the repairs and remodeling of older plants throughout a large portion of the country, would lead one to think that Mr. Taylor had succeeded beyond his expectations. Upon inquiry, we learn that he has at his own expense, provided moulds of various designs to shape the fire bricks with which his improved oven is constructed. Nearly every tannery company in this section of country can testify to the able and efficient manner in which he has succeeded in this special branch of business." Mr. Taylor is a son of the late Rev. Alex. Taylor, a noted and well-known Baptist clergyman. He was born in Maine, September 11, 1854, and in his early manhood served three years as apprentice with Rumery, Maxwell & Grant, one of the largest and best manufacturing firms in Boston, Mass., during which time he received instructions under Prof. Demming in the special branches relating to his line of business.
CAPT. CULVER G. THYNG
Capt. C. G. Thyng is one of the leading progressive young men of Olean to whom the city owes much of its present vigorous growth and material advancement. Mr. Thyng is a native of Olean, and was born here on Dec. 25, 1859. He had had an unusually active and eventful career which has been one of marked success. Being placed early upon his own resources, his native activity and venturesome spirit carried him into the busy and adventurous life of the oil country where he successively worked as pumper, tool-dresser, gauger and scout, in the meantime availing himself of every opportunity for self-improvement and finding time during these years to fortify himself with a liberal education. As an oil scout, his shrewdness, tact, quick perceptions and intimate knowledge of the oil developments gave him a wide and favorable reputation throughout the various fields. In 1879 Mr. Thyng engaged in the torpedo business in this city, and later in the oil well supply business. In 1883 he became the head of the firm of C. G. Thyng & Co. and engaged in producing oil, the firm being one of the most successful and extensive in the business. Mr. Thyng is still an oil producer, but his attention is mainly directed to other enterprises. He is now at the head of the Olean Cart company which is engaged in the manufacture in this city of the Chadwick road carts and phaetons, and is also extensively engaged in mining in North Carolina, and is prominently connected with the Interstate Oil and Gas company of Indiana and Illinois. Mr. Thyng is thoroughly identified with the interests of the city, and is a useful member of the Board of Trade, serving efficiently upon the Executive Committee. He is connected with various local organizations, and is the Captain of the Forty-third Separate company, which, under his supervision and command, has become one of the leading and most proficient military organizations of the state. It was very largely through the efforts of Capt. Thyng that state and county appropriations were secured for a $30,000 armory in this city.
Mr. E. E. Alderman ranks among Olean’s most progressive citizens and takes a prominent part in public affairs. He was born in Portville, N.Y., May 4, 1858 and until coming to this city about two years ago, his life was mainly spent in that village. His early life was passed as a student and clerk, well fitting him for an active business career. At twenty-one years of age, Mr. Alderman engaged in a general merchandise business, which was successfully carried on for seven years in Portville, when he came to this city and associating himself with L. F. Lawton, engaged in the real estate business under the firm name of E. E. Alderman & Co. The enterprising firm has placed a number of desirable tracts of land on the market, giving opportunity for men of limited means to obtain homes on easy terms, and thus greatly benefiting the city. Mr. Alderman is secretary and treasurer of the Buffalo Street Land Company, a director in the Harlem Land Company of Buffalo, Secretary of the Olean Building and Loan Association, and a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trade. IN this latter capacity Mr. Alderman has expended much well-directed energy, the results of which are abundantly shown in the recent industrial development of the city. He has always taken a leading part in the political affairs of the county, and is treasurer of the Cattaraugus County Republican Committee.
Was born at Piltown, County Kilkenny, Ireland, Aug. 6, 1852, and educated in the National school. He came to this country in 1872, and resided in the City of Buffalo for five years. He came to Olean nine years ago and entered the employ of the W. N. Y. & P. R. R., and after a short service was appointed agent at Port Allegany, Pa., Shortly after however Mr. Sloane was engaged by Frank Chesbro, who at the time was proprietor of the Olean Mills. The Acme Milling company being formed he was in their employ for nearly six years, when he resigned and engaged with the Seiberling Milling Co. of Akron, as their agent in this vicinity. Two years ago Mr. Sloane formed a partnership with Mr. Nicholas Hotton of Portville, when the Empire Mills at North Olean, were built. Mr. Sloane is warden of the St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church, is a prominent member of all the Masonic bodies, and at present Master of Olean Lodge No. 252, F. & A. M. He is also a Past Master Workman of Crescent Lodge No. 60. A. O. U. W. He is a thorough going Irishman in full sympathy with the noble aspiration of his fellow countrymen. He is Republican in politics, and identified with every progressive movement in which the town is interested.
ORIN T. HIGGINS
Mr. O. T. Higgins, one of Olean’s leading and most highly esteemed residents, was born at Centerville, Allegany Co. N. Y. on Aug. 14, 1826. He successfully followed the mercantile business for many years in Allegany county, and has been engaged in banking, and other commercial enterprises, through which by wise and honorable business methods he has amassed an ample fortune. Mr. Higgins now gives his entire attention to his extensive timber and real estate interests principally in Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota. He is president of the Higgins Land Company and treasurer of the Olean Land Company, which own large tracts of Western timber lands. Mr. Higgins is on of the largest if not the largest individual owner of white pine timbered lands in the United States. Mr. Higgins has also extensive real estate interests in this city and has contributed largely to the growth and advancement of the town. Unostentatious in his benefactions, Mr. Higgins has been a firm friend and liberal support of the benevolent institutions, and given substantial aid to worthy public enterprises.
WILLIAM M. IRISH
Among Olean’s most useful and prominent citizens is Mr. William Irish, general manager of the Acme Oil Company’s extensive refining interest in this city. Mr. Irish was born at Fair Haven, Mass., on July 3, 1827. He served as clerk in the Custom office at New Bedford during the administrations of Pierce and Buchanan, and in 1861, engaged in the petroleum oil refining business at that place, being made superintendent of the New Bedford Oil Company, which was one of the first to engage in the business of refining petroleum. In 1865 Mr. Irish came to the oil country, and became the superintendent and treasurer of the Wamasutta Oil Company which was located on Oil Creek. In 1872 he became the superintendent of the Octave Refining Company at Titusville, remaining with that company until it was sold to the Acme Refining Company in 1876. Mr. Irish came to this city in May 1876, taking the position of General Manager of the Acme works, which position he has since held. In point of years experience, Mr. Irish is one of the oldest oil refiners in the country, and has acquired a thorough and intimate practical and scientific knowledge of the business. His opinions on the various branches of oil refining are recognized as high authority. He is frequently called upon as an expert. A gentleman of high character, broad and liberal culture, and recognized ability, Mr. Irish has been prominent in public affairs wherever he has resided. He was a member of the school board and city council of Titusville for several years. He was a member of the Board of Education of this city for five years, being President of the board a considerable part of the time, and was president of the first Board of Water Commissioners in Olean. He was appointed by Gov. Cleveland as a member of the Board of Directors of the State Insane Asylum at Buffalo, and re-appointed by Gov. Hill. Mr. Irish is Vice-president of the Olean Electric Light and Power Company, Vice-president of the Board of Trade, and actively interested in the growth and advancement of the town.
Mr. William Horner belongs to that class of active energetic young business men, who have given to Olean the wide and favorable reputation he enjoys for enterprise and public spirit. Mr. Horner is the leading clothier and merchant tailor of the city, having been in trade here since 1879, during which he has thoroughly identified himself with Olean’s best interests, and been a liberal supporter of every worthy public enterprise. He was born in Venango county, Pa, and his early life was spent in Franklin, receiving his education in the public schools of that city. In 1876 he engaged in the clothing business at Edenburg, and later at Petersburg, then thriving oil towns in the lower Pennsylvania field. Enterprising and progressive, upright in his social and business relations, Mr. Horner’s career has in a marked degree been successful and Olean recognizes him as one of their most valued citizens and the Board of Trade finds in him a very useful and always active member.
JAMES M. JOHNSON
Mr. James M. Johnson is one of Olean’s leading young businessmen, who takes an active interest in the growth and advancement of the city. He was born in Ellicottville in 1857, and was educated in the common schools of that village. Mr. Johnson began his career as a clerk at an early age, and followed that occupation until 1882, when he engaged in the boot and shoe business in this city. By strict integrity, fair dealing and enterprise, Mr. Johnson has built up a trade in his line of goods which is not surpassed in extent by any retail house outside the largest cities. Mr. Johnson is a useful member of the Board of Trade and a public spirited and progressive citizen.
C. S. STOWELL
Calvin S. Stowell was born at Friendship, N. Y., April 11, 1844, where he received his education and lived until 1864. In that year he came to Olean as clerk for the late N. S. Butler, and has since resided here with the exception of two years spent in the lower oil fields during the excitement of ’66. He was under-sheriff and followed merchantile pursuits until he accepted the tellership of the Exchange National bank, which position he held for six years. Mr. Stowell was supervisor of Olean in 1873-4 and for five years subsequent to 1881. He resigned the position to accept the office of postmaster tendered him by President Cleveland, and which he will probably hold until the expiration of his commission in February, 1890. Mr. Stowell has served his town in the county legislature with fidelity, and has since his retirement from that body been honored with the appointment as a member of the commissioners for purchasing the armory site and for the auditing of the accounts of the county superintendent. He is a member, and has at various times presided over all the Masonic bodies. He is also a member of the consistory at Rochester. Mr. Stowell is an uncompromising Democrat and shares with Hon. C. S. Cary the honor of popularity and support from the opposition in politics. He is a genial gentleman and treasurer of all the societies of which he is a member as well as of the Board of Trade.
CHAS. F. PERSONS
Chas. F. Persons, manager of the New York office of the American Press Association, and senior proprietor of the Olean Herald Printing Establishment, was born in Rushford, August 25, 1854. After the usual time at the common schools, Mr. Persons entered the Cattaraugus Republican office to learn the printer’s trade. In 1873 he was sent to Salamanca to open and take charge of the branch office there, and in 1876 again moved, to take control of the semi-weekly New Era, at Bradford. Soon after the daily edition was started, and Mr. Persons became a member of the publishing firm of Ferrin, Weber & Persons. In 1877 he purchased his partners’ interest in the Era, and continued as its proprietor until 1879, when he bought the Olean Record, the name of which he changed to Democrat. In 1881 the Daily Herald was started, and until January, 1889, Mr. Persons presided over the columns of this daily and of the Weekly Democrat. At that time, having received a very flattering offer from the American Press Association to become its New York manager, he associated himself with H. D. Sibley and P. D. Spaulding, under the firm name of Persons, Sibley & Spaulding, and left the responsibilities of his paper with his partners. Mr. Persons had built up a fine business, and the Herald Printing House is recognized as being equal to any city establishment in resources and equipment. In the conduct of his paper Mr. Persons was ever a fearless advocate of what he deemed as for the best interests of the cause he espoused. He is a trenchant writer naturally, yet graceful when occasion admits, and withal a thorough newspaper man- intelligent and perceptive. In a printing office Mr. Persons has a faculty of accomplishing a vast amount of work with the least possible friction, a qualification which admits of success where the lack of it would presage failure.
I. E. ACKERLY
Mr. Ackerly was born in Kennedy, Chautauqua Co., N. Y. His father died when he as four years old. His family were poor so that instead of obtaining hardly a common education he was kept hustling to drive the wolf from the door. From quite an early age until eighteen Mr. Ackerly did farm work and clerked in stores. He then learned telegraphy and worked for what is now called the N. Y. P. & O. R. R., then the A. & G. W. R. R., until 1870, the last year or so as assistant train dispatcher. While at Jamestown Mr. Ackerly went into the oil country for his health, intending to return as his position at Jamestown was held for him. At Titusville, however, he was offered a place as agent for the Pennsylvania Transit, a pipe line company, at double the salary he had received as train dispatcher, which he accepted. He was within a year promoted to superintendent of their whole lines. In 1872 he became interested in some oil wells at Thomburg, Pa., since which time he has probably had a piece of every oil field that has been opened, and of many for which he as regretted ownership. In 1877 he resigned as superintendent of the pipe line and has since devoted his entire time to his producing interests. Mr. Ackerly is one of the many men of our country, who thrown upon their own resources at an early age and with family encumbrances, fight the battle of life against odds and win. He is a prominent Mason and is enjoying abundantly the fruits of his early struggles. Possessed of ample fortune and in the prime of a vigorous manhood he is in position to follow his own inclinations which will doubtless be in the line of continued business activity.
DR. J. V. D. COON
Dr. Coon doubtless has the greatest presidential record of any citizen of Olean. He is at present President of the Board of Trade; of the Olean Electric Light and Power company, and of the Building and Loan Association. He was first president of the village under its new charter, and formerly of the Board of Education. The qualifications which are recognized by his constituents in thus placing the Doctor at the head of so many organizations are absolute integrity, freedom from prejudices, comprehensive and liberal views, and an intimate knowledge of parliamentary practices. Dr. Coon was born at Nunda, Livingston county, in 1834. In 1856 he graduated from the Electric Medical College, of Cincinnati, and practiced at his native place. Twelve years ago he came to Olean, and has since been identified with every commendable movement instituted by our citizens for the public benefit. Dr. Coon is engaged in the drug business, and has besides, active interests in various oil properties and in a cattle ranch in Kansas. He was county coroner for three years; is an energetic Republican, and a member of the Masonic organization.
L. E. CHAPIN
From the Elmira Gazette.
The Secretary of the Board of Trade was born at Livonia in 1856. After an attendance at various educational institutions he was initiated into the mysteries of the craft at the office of the Dansville Advertiser. He established the Livonia Gazette in 1875, and conducted it two years, after which he purchased the Herald, at Perry. In 1881 he came to Olean and assumed the management of the Olean Times for one year. Upon the organization of the water department he was elected superintendent and served for three years, resigning that position to become clerk of the State Assembly Appropriation Committee, of which Hon. F. W. Kruse was chairman, in the session of 1886. He is now sole owner of the Olean Blue Stone Quarries. Mr. Chapin represents the Second ward in the Common Council. He is a member of various fraternities; Secretary of the Fair Association; Treasurer of the Olean Building and Loan Association; Chairman of the Republican Committee of the First Assembly District of Cattaraugus county, and as the energetic Secretary of the Board of Trade is fully allied with the other enterprising men of his town in pushing to prominence the many and peculiar advantages possessed by Olean for manufacturers and capitalists.
W. H. CONKLIN
William H. Conklin was born in Greenfield, Saratoga Co., N. Y., and lived in that town until he was thirteen years of age. In the fall of 1824 his father moved into Western New York, and settled in what is now Wyoming county, in the town of Castile. In the fall of 1843 he removed to the village of Castile, and, in the spring following, bought a little place on which was a blacksmith shop, built a small wagon shop and commenced business on a limited scale. He sold extensively in and about Olean, becoming well acquainted with the business men of the place, and at that time marked it as one of the best points for his business in Western New York. He finally concluded to remove the works to Olean, and came on here in 1860 and built a shop, and in the fall of that year the machinery and stock were removed, and manufacturing commenced under the firm name of W. H. & D. C. Conklin, and the business has gradually increased to its present proportions. Mr. Conklin is one of the men who never grow old. He keeps abreast of the times, and though rather of a retiring than aggressive disposition, he takes a lively interest in all public affairs and champions every good cause. He attends to the mechanical details of the large and prosperous business of the firm every day, and is capable of doing a journeyman’s work in any department of the vast establishment. Mr. Conklin is quick in judgment and positive in his opinions, which are always on the exact plan of absolute integrity and honor. He has seen in the magnitude assumed by the business of W. H. & D. C. Conklin the result of active and persistent effort when directed to a single purpose. The growth of the firm from a small beginning has been steady and continuous. Solid timber, honest work and true grit are elements which Mr. Conklin has ever deemed essential to success, and his personality enters into a policy based upon these three principles as surely today as it did before the reputation of the Conklin wagon was so well established.
SPENCER S. BULLIS
S. S. Bullis, lumber king, president of railroads, general manager of various syndicates and motive power for many vast enterprises, was born at Aurora, this state, in 1846. When twenty years old he was in the lumber business in that town, going from there to Port Allegany with his brother, and as Bullis Bros. operated there for five years when they brought the Fobes mills near State Line, establishing there the town known as Bullis Mills and also about the same time building large mills at Carrollton, N. Y., on the Erie railroad, both of which are still producing large amounts. His personal lumber interests are conducted under the head of the Allegany Lumber Company, Limited. This is a great lumber producing company and gets out immense quantities of hemlock lumber and bark annually, having shipped during the past year 40,000 cords to New England alone. His transactions in hemlock bark are done under the name of S. S. Bullis and Peter McNeil. It was in 1884 that the various lumbermen of this country formed what is called the Unite Lumber Co., Limited, which was in time succeeded by the Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Co., of which Mr. Bullis was made general manager. The company does business from the Atlantic to the Mississippi, and its annual transactions are over one-hundred million feet. Mr. Bullis purchased in 1884, large tracts along the Red House, Quaker Run, Sugar Creek and Willow Creek valleys. These tracts were of some 40,000 acres and are tributary to the Allegany and Kinzua railroad. Mr. Bullis is a central figure in the lumber transactions of Northern Pennsylvania. He knows all the fine points of the business and socially he is a splendid gentleman to meet. He is the executive officer of every enterprise with which he is connected, and as such acquaints himself with all details. Naturally he is a very busy man, and he seems to infuse his energetic personality into every department, from the army of clerks at his offices to the woodsmen of the forest.
SAM H. COON
Sam H. Coon is the city and associate editor of the Olean Daily and Weekly Times, and has been resident of Olean about three years, during which time he has thoroughly identified himself with the material interests of the city. Mr. Coon was born at Ashaway, Rhode Island, and at an early age went to Wisconsin, where his youth was spent. He learned the printer’s trade in a country newspaper office in Wisconsin, and attended school at Albion (Wis.) Academy and Alfred (N.Y.) University. He began his newspaper experience with Messrs. Ferrin & Weber, on the Cattaraugus Republican, and his journalistic work has been mainly in Western New York. Mr. Coon has a wide acquaintance with the fraternity, among whom he is regarded as a versatile and brilliant writer. He is one of the many gentlemen in Olean it is a pleasure to meet.
W. H. SIMPSON
Sanitation is cleanliness, and cleanliness is next to godliness. Thus is Mr. Simpson made a minister unto men. He was born in Pittsburg, Pa. His early life was spent in Buffalo where he learned the plumbing business in all its branches, and with particular reference to sanitary plumbing. He came to Olean ten years ago and established upon Laurens street. As the town grew his business increased, necessitating removal to larger quarters, which were found at 128 Union street. Mr. Simpson, true to the traditions of his profession, has made money. He has been an active man in town affairs as well as in his business. He has been Excise commissioner for one term, an officer of the fire department nine years, and for four years its chief engineer. The present efficiency of the department is as largely due to Mr. Simpson’s efforts as to those of any other one man. Although now upon the exempt list he takes as active an interest in the affairs of the firemen as ever, and probably will continue to do so even though he march with the veteran corps.
F. W. HIGGINS
Frank W. Higgins was born at Rushford in 1856. His schooling was finished at the Riverview Military academy on the Hudson, after which, at the age of twenty, he went into trade in Michigan. In 1879 he came to Olean and took the active management of the business of Higgins, Blodgett & Co., who at that time were funning a number of stores in the oil country and in Allegany and Wyoming counties. Although at present connected with three stores in Olean, Mr. Higgins has his business so well systematized that he gives but little attention to them, devoting most of his time to the Western land interests of O. T. & F. W. Higgins. Mr. Higgins is an active Republican. He has been chairman of the Country committee, and was a member from the 34th Congressional district of the Chicago convention which nominated President Harrison. He did effective work upon the stump during the campaign of 1888, and is among the recognized leaders of his party in this part of the state. He has stoutly refused to be a candidate for political offices, preferring to accept purely honorary positions in which he can be of service to his town. He is president of the Forman Library association, Eminent Commander of St. John’s Commandery K. T., member of the St. Stephen’s church building committee, and was last year a member of the Executive committee of the Board of Trade, in all of which offices he has proven an indefatiquable and intelligent worker, and oftentimes so at a sacrifice of his personal interests.
W. E. WHEELER
W.E. Wheeler was born in Town of Portville, N. Y., Nov. 21, 1843. He was fitted for college at Cortland Academy, Homer, N. Y., and entered the class of "66 at Hamilton College, but left there at the end of sophomore year, and joined the same class at Yale, graduating from that institution in 1866. He was a member of the university boat crew, and rowed in the race between Yale and Harvard at Worchester, in 1866. After coming home, Mr. Wheeler became interested in the lumber business in Forest Co., Pa. In 1870 he took an interest in the Portville tannery, and is at present the active man in the management of the Portville Tanning Company, in whose business is employed 175 hands, and the finished weekly products of which is about 3,600 to 3,800 sides of leather. Mr. Wheeler is associated in the tanning business with his father and the Dusenbury Brothers and B. F. Thompson & Co., of Boston. He is interested in the lumber business in Forest Co., Pa., and at Manistique, in Northern Michigan, and also in another tannery at Hickory, Pa. He is a director in the First National bank of Olean, and in the National Bank of Westfield, N. Y., and a stockholder in the First National Bank of Ottawa, Kansas. Mr. Wheeler has represented the town of Portville for six terms on the Board of Supervisors. He is a Republican in Politics, and a gentleman who commands the respect and often the support of the members of all parties.
J. C. FRENCH
Mr. French was born at Port Allegheny, Pa., in 1858. His early life was spent at Roulette, that state. His education was finished at Alfred University, after which he took a special course at the Spencerian Business College of Cleveland. Mr. French entered the employ of Bullis Bros., lumbermen, and was located at various times at Carrollton; Buffalo and Olean. He was with the United Lumber Company at Olean one year. In 1885, he went into the lumber and mercantile business at Larrabee, and later moved his offices and residence to Olean. Last year the base of his operations in timber was largely extended in the Kinzua valley, mills being erected at Morrison, Riderville and Alton. Mr. French is manager of the Olean Lumber Company, who are the selling agents of the Pennsylvania Storage Company, and as such has built up a large trade. He is director and sole operator of the Kinzua Valley Railroad. Mr. French is well and favorably known by the lumber trade all over the country, although his greatest sales are made in New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. He is a Mason, an estimable gentleman and valued citizen.
Dr. F. H. Bartlett was born at Portville, April 9, 1856. He graduated at the University of Buffalo in 1879, and the following year took a special course at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of New York City. In this course much study was given to the diseases of the ear and eye. Since the completion of his professional schooling, Dr. Bartlett has practiced medicine in Olean, where he has built up a large and remunerative business. In the winter of ‘86 he took a special course on the eye, ear and throat, at the Post-Graduate Medical School of New York, and is now giving special attention to the treatment of diseases of these organs. Dr. Bartlett is a thorough student of medicine, keeping abreast of the times in his practice and adopting every modern appliance and facility offered for more fully serving his patients.
FRANK L. BARTLETT
Mr. Bartlett was born at Belfast, N. Y., Sept. 25, 1859. He was educated in the common schools and at Friendship Academy. He began his business career in the First National Bank of Cuba. In 1880 he entered the Exchange National Bank of Olean, at a time when the late Hon. C.V.B. Barse was its active head, and later was made assistant cashier. At the time of Mr. Barse’s death in 1885, when Mr. M.W. Barse succeeded to the presidency, Mr. Bartlett was given the cashiership, and in that position has since had the active management of the bank. Mr. Bartlett is the chairman of the executive committee of the Board of Trade: treasurer of the Electric Light and Power Company; treasurer of the village, and director, secretary and treasurer of the Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Company. In these various positions of trust Mr. Bartlett has exhibited an executive ability which in a man of greater years would be considered remarkable. In Board of Trade transactions Mr. Bartlett is a valuable factor. In the west he would be considered a hustler. His decisions are quick, and whatever scheme promises to benefit Olean, business is never so pressing but that he finds time to listen to the unfolding of the project in its minutest detail.
C. E. ANDREWS
Clarence E. Andrews, one of the largest furniture dealers of Western New York and a prosperous business man of Olean, was born in Catechu county forty years ago. His schooling was obtained in educational institutions at Jamestown and Buffalo. He entered commercial life at an early age, and for fourteen years represented the well-known firm of Burke, Fitzsimmons, Hone & Co., of Rochester. He was also with Sweetzer, Pembrook & Co. Of New York. Mr. Andrews came to Olean seven years ago, and as the senior member of the firm of Andrews & Dickenson, purchased the furniture business of A. Blake. One year later he bought the interest of his partner, and has since been the sole owner of the establishment which bears his name. Mr. Andrews has spent much time in the south and west, but is thoroughly and permanently identified with Olean institutions and Olean’s welfare.
D. S. ABBOTT
D. S. Abbott, inventor and manufacturer of saw-mill machinery, was born in Ischua July 1st. 1838. He perfected himself in mechanics and has long been doing a profitable business in the manufacture of his inventions. He makes improved lath mills, lath packers and trimmers, slab slashers, shingle machines, shingle joiners, drag saw machines, shingle boaters, etc. He has by constant study and close attention to business, attained the success deserved. He has perfected the machines in which he is engaged in manufacturing until they are the leading product in their line. His machinery is well and favorably known, and has had large sales in nearly every state in the Union. Where known and used it requires no word of recommendation, as it speaks for itself. Mr. Abbott is a Prohibitionist, and was the candidate of that party for sheriff in the election of 1888.
SAMUEL R. HOMER
From the Olean Times.
The late Samuel R. Homer was born at Lowell, Mass., Feb. 1, 1817, and died at Olean March 20, 1889. Mr. Homer came to Olean about the time of the construction of the New York, Lake Erie & Western railroad in 1851, the road being completed and opened on May 1st of that year. He was prominently connected to the road, being the superintendent of the construction of the telegraph lines from Jersey City westward to Little Valley. At the completion of the road Mr. Homer took charge of the dining-room which was established at the Olean station, and which he conducted for many years. With the exception of about two years, Mr., Homer has been continuously a resident of Olean since 1851, and was closely identified with the early developments and growth of the town. In 1859 he became associated with Hon. Horatio Seymour, ex-Governor of the state, in the lumber business in this town, and the two were jointly the owners for many years of a large tract of real estate north of the city. Their partnership relations were dissolved about nine years ago, but their personal relations remained of the most close and intimate character until the death of the ex-Governor. Until the advancing years brought feeble health, Mr. Homer was actively engaged in business enterprises in which he was successful in a marked degree. He had led an upright, honorable and useful life, his death is sincerely regretted, not alone in this city, but throughout this section. Unassuming in manner, genial in disposition, and straightforward in all his relations with his fellow-men, he passed through life respected by all who came within the wide range of his acquaintance. In the late industrial developments in the city Mr. Homer had taken an especial interest, and had generously placed at the disposal of the Board of Trade valuable and desirable tracts of land. Mr. Homer has been prominently connected with the Masonic bodies of the city, and was one of the early members of St. John’s Commandery, Knights Templars.
D. E. BARROWS, D. D. S.
Dr. Barrow was born at Arcade, Wyoming County, N.Y. , in 1855. He began the study of dentistry with his father when eighteen years of age, and practiced with him until 1883, when he came to Olean and established an office for himself. The doctor has been eminently successful in the practice of dental surgery, and has succeeded in building up a fine business, which is constantly increasing. Dr. Barrows is regarded as an expert in his profession, and has the treatment of many of the most difficult cases to be found in Western New York and Northwestern Pennsylvania. He is a thorough student and keeps fully abreast of the times in all that pertains to dentistry.
HON. W. F. WHEELER
William F. Wheeler was born at Hancock, Delaware county, N. Y., in the year 1811. He received a common school education, and came to Olean in February, 1834, to engage in the lumber business with Henry Dusenbury and others. The firm in that year built a store at South Olean, now Portville, where Mr. Wheeler now lives, which was the first building in that town to be raised without the use of liquor. The lumber business was conducted extensively here and lumber shipped in rafts to Cincinnati. This firm also manufactured lumber at Tionesta and Hickory, in Pennsylvania, which business is now in the care of N. P. Wheeler and Wm. A. Dusenbury, sons of the original members of the firm. In 1870, at the organization of the Olean Bank, which in the following year became the First National Bank, Mr. Wheeler was elected president, which office he has held until the present. About this time, Mr. Wheeler, with others, bought a small tannery, which has been extended and is now conducted under the name of the Portville Tanning Company. In 1879 Mr. Wheeler was elected to the state legislature, served one term, and refused to be a candidate for another. At the organization of the Presbyterian church at Olean, Mr. Wheeler was one of the original members, and later on removed his relation with this church to become one of the founders of the Presbyterian church at Portville. Since 1860 he has been one of the elders of this church. Previous to the opening of the Erie railroad Mr. Wheeler and his partners, in connection with the late Ansel Adams, bought 100 acres of land near the Erie depot at Olean, and gave to the railroad company the land, upon which the present depot buildings are now located. Mr. Wheeler still retains an interest in a portion of these lands. Mr. Wheeler is a gentleman active in all his pursuits; keen in business; philanthropic; honored and respected not only by his townspeople, but in business and political circles wherever known.
A. T. EATON
A. T. Eaton is the cashier of the First National Bank and one of Olean’s most progressive and energetic young business men. He was born in Cuba, Allegheny county, N. Y., and is forty years of age. A number of years of his early life were spent in the west, and upon his return he entered the bank of Cuba as collection clerk, remaining with that institution until it was removed to this city, and coming here with it. Through business industry and faithful service he has been advanced to cashier, which position he has since held, filling the responsible trust with ability. During his residence in this city Mr. Eaton has been prominent in its affairs, and stands among the leaders in all progressive movements. Mr. Eaton has served creditably for three terms as a member of the common council, and in 1884 was president of that body. He is a member of the executive committee of the Board of Trade, and one of the most useful and energetic members of the organization.
Prominently connected with the oil interests of this section is Mr. John Coast, who is the head of one of the largest producing firms in the business. The firm is composed of John Coast and his sons, F. F. And J. W. Coast. Their operations have been in a marked degree successful, and characterized by excellent judgment and conservative but enterprising methods. Mr. John Coast was born in Venango county, Pa., in 1835. His early business operations was the manufacture of iron and fire brick. He was one of the pioneers in the oil development, being among the first to engage in the business, and has since followed it, operating successfully in all the fields. In the pioneer days, before the pipelines were established, Mr. Coast shipped the oil down the river in barges, and has since that time been prominently connected with the oil developments. In company with his sons, Mr. Coast is now operating extensively in Washington and around Pittsburg, Pa. They have also large interests in the Allegheny and Bradford fields. Mr. Coast’s career has been eminently successful, and he is a useful and enterprising citizen.
James Kelsey, born in Grotontown, Thompkins county, N. Y., July 5th, 1835, came to Olean in 1855, and has since been a resident of this city. He started in a modest way a cigar manufactory, which has since grown to large proportions, and has gained a wide reputation for the superiority of the goods manufactured. Mr. Kelsey’s enterprise has grown with the town, and in turn he has contributed largely to the growth of the town. His industry, business sagacity and enterprise have brought him a competency. Besides the cigar manufactory and tobacco business, Mr. Kelsey has been engaged in various other successful undertakings. Always keenly alive to the best interests of the town, Mr. Kelsey has promptly identified himself with whatever contributed to its growth and advancement. He was among the first stockholders and directors of the Olean, Bradford & Warren railroad, and was also prominently interested in the building of the Olean & Bolivar railroad. Mr. Kelsey is at present one of the directors of the Olean Electric Light and Power Company, and a useful member of the Board of Trade.
JOHN S. ROONEY
Mr. Rooney was born at Wellsville, N. Y., Dec. 9th, 1862, and received his education at that place.
He began his business career with the Bullis Bros. when only 13 years of age, and has been with these gentlemen ever since, first at Port Allegheny, then at Bullis Mills, and latterly, since 1885, at Olean. His training has been in lumber, and he so thoroughly and well versed in the business that his knowledge has placed him in a confidential position nearest the chief executive of all the greatest lumber syndicates of this region, Mr. S. S. Bullis. Mr. Rooney is one of the few young men who have wasted no time, hence his high standing in business circles at so early an age. He is auditor of the Pennsylvania Lumber Storage Company, Secretary and Treasurer of the A. & K. Railroad Company, and Treasurer of the Allegheny Lumber Company. He is a shrewd, capable and agreeable gentleman, whom one seldom meets outside his office.
JOHN B. SMITH
John B. Smith was born at Pike, Wyoming county, N. Y., and is forty-five years of age. In early life he went to Wisconsin, where his youth was spent in school and in learning the printer’s trade. For two years he was engaged as salesman in the establishment of Marshall, Field & Co., in Chicago, and subsequently engaged in the dry goods business in Rockford, Ill. Mr. Smith has been a resident of Olean about fifteen years, during which time he has thoroughly identified himself with the growth of the town, and taken an active interest in every progressive public movement. Mr. Smith was for a time editorially connected with the olean Record. He is now engaged in the drug business, his store being one of the leading establishments in that branch of trade in the city. Mr. Smith is an experienced and reliable pharmacist having been in the trade for ten years.
Is a native of England. He came to this country in 1852, when 26 years of age, locating at once in Olean. Being a carpenter by trade he soon went to contracting, and has successfully followed that line of business for over thirty years. In 1865, after the great fire, he started the Olean Sash Factory. Mr. Gillingham has built many public buildings, among them the Chamberlain Institute and Dow’s bank at Randolph, St. Bonaventure’s college at Allegany, First M.E. church and Alumni hall of Ingham University at LeRoy, and the Exchange National Bank, and Methodist, Baptist and Episcopal churches at Olean. Although naturally of a quiet temperament, Mr. Gillingham is relied upon for active work in all philanthropic measures. He is a staunch Republican and fearless temperance advocate. He is a director of the Library Association, and the oldest member in point of service of the Board of Education. Perhaps his greatest efforts outside of business have been in the line of church work. He has long been a member and supporter of the Methodist church of Olean, being for fifteen years superintendent of the Sunday-school and occupying various other official positions. Mr Gillingham is a gentleman whom you know where to find upon every question relating to the public welfare. His life is an active one, and many years are apparently promised him for future usefulness.
THOS. A. BLANCHARD
Thos. A. Blanchard, one of the leading contractors and builders, is a native of Canada, having been born at Bernton, Upper Canada, Sept. 16, 1843. His family came to this country when Mr. Blanchard was quite young, settling in Vermont, and from thence moved to Sheffield, Pa. When about 15 years of age Mr. Blanchard began learning the carpenter’s trade, serving a thorough apprenticeship under an English builder. At the breaking out of the war of the rebellion he enlisted and was three years in active service, being in thirteen engagements, and was promoted to lieutenant. At the close of the war Mr. Blanchard engaged in business in Jamestown as a contractor and builder. Many of the finest buildings, both private and public, in eastern Chautauqua and western Cattaraugus counties were built under contract by Mr. Blanchard. About eight years ago he did his first work in Olean, building a handsome residence for James K Van Campen. Among the other notable buildings erected in this city by Mr. Blanchard are N.V.V. Franchot’s residence, the Van Campen block (Olean House), the Curtis livery barn, the Danforth residence and the Catholic Parochial School house. Mr. Blanchard is a thoroughly competent and reliable builder, and a man of great push and energy. He has been a resident of Olean about five years, and has thoroughly identified himself with its best interests.
FRANK H. OAKLEAF
Among Olean’s prominent and progressive young business men may properly be named Frank H. Oakleaf. He was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., in 1852, and spent his early life in that city. He moved to Corry, Pa., where he learned the jeweler’s trade. He came to this city in 1874, and has since resided here. For a number of years he was engaged with Fred R. Eaton in the jewelry business. He is now engaged in the book, news and stationery trade, having lately added an extensive line of wall papers and house decorator’s goods. Mr. Oakleaf is a useful and energetic member of the Board of Trade and takes a willing and active part in all well-directed efforts to advance the growth of the town.
E. D. WESTBROOK
E.D. Westbrook, principal and founder of Westbrook Commercial College, was born in Tioga, Pa., in 1862. He was educated at the Mansfield Normal school, the Poughkeepsie business college, and the Rochester University. In 1882 Prof. Westbrook established a commercial school at Mansfield, Pa., and in 1886 founded the school which bears his name, at Olean. Prof. Westbrook established a commercial school at Mansfield, Pa., and in 1886 founded the school which bears his name, at Olean. Prof. Westbrook’s methods of teaching have already won deserved success, and the Westbrook Commercial College is an institution in which Olean entertains a just pride. It is a gratifying and significant fact that students at this institution are graduated upon merit and proficiency alone, and as a result command the best positions at highest salaries. In another portion of this work is given an editorial opinion from the Olean Herald, the sentiments of which can be cordially endorsed by many students and patrons in every part of the country.
W. D. MOORE
is a Canadian by birth, being born in that province May 1. 1847. In ’64 he removed to St. Lawrence county, this state, and six years later to Westons Mills. In 1875 he came to Olean and engaged in building and contracting. In 1881 he entered into partnership with Chas. Gillingham and established the Olean sash and blind factory, which business was continued at the corner of Sullivan and Union streets until the buildings were destroyed by fire. Mr. Moore build the Moore block upon Union street and his factory upon Wayne street in 1883. In 1884, by the failure of other parties, he had a stock of furniture precipitated upon his hands, and since that time has conducted a large furniture trade in connection with his other business of contracting and manufacturing. He has also been active in many suburban real estate transactions, and in this direction his faith in Olean’s future has made him some money. Mr. Moore is a member of the Masonic bodies, and has occupied every office in the fire department from pipeman to chief. He is a member of the executive committee of the Board of Trade, and one of the best workers of that organization.
HON. C. S. CARY.
Mr. Cary was born in Hornellsville, N. Y., in 1828. He came to Olean in 1850 and began the practice of law, and has since that time been an honored resident of this city. During the war Mr. Cary held the office of commissioner of the board of enrollment by appointment of President Johnson, and in 1866 he was made collector of internal revenue. In 1881 he was elected to the state assembly upon the Democratic ticket by a majority of 200 from a district which usually gave 1,000 Republican majority. He has been a candidate for state senatorship, representative in congress and judge of the supreme court. In the latter canvass, which was in 1883, Mr. Cary came within about a thousand votes of being elected, the district, comprising Allegany, Cattaraugus and Chautauqua counties, usually going 12,000 Republican majority. Mr. Cary was appointed by President Cleveland as a member of the board to examine the Northern Pacific Railroad, and later, in 1887, as solicitor of the U. S. Treasury. This position he held until the inauguration of President Harrison, to whom he tendered his resignation. Mr. Cary is vice-president of the Board of Trade and a successful lawyer. His candidacy upon the Democratic ticket always carries consternation to the Republican leaders in Olean, for he is reasonably sure of carrying the town within a fraction of its entire vote. Mr. Carry’s popularity is not confined to his home, but extends even farther than his personal acquaintance. He was largely instrumental in building the O. R. & W. Ry., and is at present the attorney of the W. N. Y. & P. Ry. Company which controls it. He has seen Olean grow from a small hamlet to its present size and has always aided every project which would seem to tend to her advancement.
N. V. V. FRANCHOT
Mr. Franchot was born at Morris, Otsego Co., N. Y. Aug. 21, 1855. He attended and graduated from the union school at Schenectady, and from Union College in 1875. Mr. Franchot began business in Millerstown, Pa., but removed to Olean Sept. 1, 1878, where he has since resided. His operations have been principally in producing petroleum in connection with the firm of Franchot Bros., of which he was the senior and active member. He is interested in the Tidewater Pipe Line Co., in some valuable mines in Canada, and in real estate in Washington and at Olean. Mr. Franchot was chairman of the executive committee of the Board of Trade its first year, which fact accounted for the success of that organization probably more than only other. He stands high in the councils of his party, and as a business man and citizen is energetic, progressive and competent.
MILLS W. BARSE
Was born in Franklinville, this state, Dec. 6, 1864. He came to Olean with his father, the late Hon. C. V. B. Barse, in 1851, at the time of the opening of the Erie railroad. Aside from four years spent of Bay City, Mich., Mr. Barse has been a resident of Olean until two years ago when he removed to Buffalo. He has large interests in Olean still. He is president of the Exchange National Bank, an institution which was started by his father as a state bank in 1870, and which in 1878 was re-organized under the national system. He is senior member of the mercantile firm of Barse & Co., vice-president of the Olean Street R, R, Co., and a large owner of real estate in Olean. Mr. Barse is also interested in land in Buffalo. He has shares in one of the richest phosphate mines of Canada, besides extensive oil interests in Pennsylvania. Mr. Barse is a shrewd capitalist and all his investments are made to pay.
OLEAN CHEMICAL COMPANY
Among the most stable of the various manufactories of Olean is the Olean Chemical Company, makers of sulphuric, nitric, mixed, and muriatic acids, aqua amonia, extra distilled glycerine, etc. The company employs a large number of men, is well capitalized, and manufacture standard goods. Mr. P. B. Griffin is the superintendent. The methods and processes of production are secret, and very many of the appliances used by the Chemical Company are of their own invention and for their exclusive use.
ECLIPSE LUBRICATING OIL CO
The Eclipse Lubricating Oil Co., limited, is one of the solid institutions of Olean. The company manufactures lubricating oils, 300 degree fire test refined and various distillates from petroleum, of which they consume about 250,000 barrels per year. The plant, which is its line is regarded as a model of perfection, is located upon Buffalo street, and has switching connection with the Erie and W. N. Y. & P. systems of railroads. Under the management of the superintendent, Mr. C. T. Clayton, the facilities of the establishment will be increased this year. The products of the Eclipse refinery are principally sold in New York, Baltimore and Franklin. The company owning the plant are Pennsylvania capitalists who find Olean’s location best adapted to the requirements of manufacture and distribution. Mr. S. C. Lewis of Franklin, Pa., is president.
RILEY & WANDS
The wholesale grocery house of Riley & Wands is one of the successful business institutions of Olean. The firm, composed of Millard F. Riley and Charles R. Wands, is one energetically alive to the interests and requirements of the trade. Both members have served long in mercantile pursuits and both are giving the business the benefit of their experience and judgment. The retail store was established in 1882 and the wholesale in 1887. The business of the latter has grown to such an extent that the firm are contemplating giving their exclusive attention to it and removing to larger quarters. Whatever pluck, energy and sound business principles will accomplish, that measure of success will be attained by Riley & Wands. These gentlemen have been largely interested in Olean real estate, and to-day have some of the best paying property in the city of Natural Advantages.
SOLE LEATHER PAD COMPANY
The business of the Sole leather Pad Company has been in operation since 1875, when the concern began the manufacture of their famous sole leather pad. The growth in the public demand has been remarkable. The first year were made one hundred dozen; the second were made five hundred dozen, and last year they turned out and sold ten thousand dozen, notwithstanding they had several active competitors. In 1881 they began to make gig, track, express and coupe saddles. Their specialties in patent leathers goods have won warm praise from the better class of dealers, and the house in their many varieties of horse goods and horse clothing do business all over the United States. They are agents for Fennell’s Cynthian horse boots. The firm is well known in Olean and their efforts have been such that they have gained the confidence of their patrons to the fullest extent. The office and factory are at 184 Union street, Olean, N. Y, where a large force is constantly employed. Last season there were seventy-five hands at work. The establishment is recognized as one of the leading industries of Olean and its business will be still further increased the coming year. It will be in the future, as in the past, the aim of this house to produce goods which will recommend themselves in actual use and to give to dealers prices which distances competition by any other class concern. While they make all standard and serviceable goods, they also make the finer styles of gig, express and coupe saddles that in beauty of finish and in quality of stock will bear comparison with any offered the trade.
Page 58 - Photo: Interior Views, Olean Daily Herald Office
Back To Cattaraugus County
If you have anything of genealogical or historical interest to add to this site, or if you are interested in becoming a member of the Painted Hills Genealogy Society, please contact us at:
This page is maintained by the PHGS
Last Update February 2, 2020